Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

LeapFrog LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

The LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Learning Tablet is the ultimate learning tablet! Built from the inside out just for kids, LeapPad Ultra features Wi-Fi with kid-safe Web and access to LeapFrog's educator-approved library of apps, games and more.
Average Customer Rating:
3.987 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(148 Reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
20
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation74%107 out of 145reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
65 Questions | 100 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
20
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

My 2 year old loves it!

11/25/2013
By ,
Myrtle Beach, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my sons 2nd birthday and in just 3 months he knows his alphabet, numbers, and colors! So far we have not had any problems but I would recommend getting the warranty just to be safe. My son spends a lot of time playing with this toy and it is wonderful for long car rides. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
QUESTION
Posted 09/14/2014
DOES IT COME WITH THE PEN?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

Great Learning Tool!

08/20/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product! I am an elementary teacher and have taught kindergarten for the past 6 years. The LeapPad has been my students’ favorite product, but this one is WAY better! First off, I love that the LeapPad Ultra has a rechargeable battery that can last up to 9 hours. My students no longer have to beg me for batteries! It is included with 11 learning apps. All of these apps hit many different curricular areas, especially in reading and mathematics. It is able to be differentiated. When you set up each child’s profile, you can select Early Pre-K level up to a 6th grade level. All of the learning apps will then adjust to that child’s level. Another neat feature is that the LeapPad Ultra has built in Wi-Fi. It is a completely kid-friendly and safe way for students to search the web, including videos and photos. Leapfrog gave me this product to test as a Leapfrog Teacher Ambassador. All I can say is, I am SO pleased and can’t wait to share this with my students this school year!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

5 year old loves it!

01/25/2014
By ,
san diego, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so far we have really enjoyed the leap pad, my son has been working through the levels of his games and has taken interest in being creative with the apps. The only problem is he wants to play with it all the time now! I highly recommend this as a first tablet for your child. I was debating upgrading to a standard tablet like the apple mini or kindle and am glad that I did not invest the extra money, this is perfect. it's made for kids his age and I don't have to worry about him accessing anything that is not intended for children as he can play and create at his own free will with this tablet without me looking over his shoulder and checking up. I really like the fact that all the games have some type of educational value, not like some of the apps i've downloaded on my iPad for the kids to play that are just a plain waste of time. With the leap pad they are playing and learning at the same time. You cannot beat the bundle price at Walmart either, I couldn't find a lower price for the case/game/tablet bundle. awesome value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green
08/26/2013
By ,
Kannapolis, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How I feel about this new Leap Pad Ultra. Hmm....I purchased the Leap Pad on 8/17/2013 and so far it has factory reset itself twice (automatically) since. In doing so it completely erases everything your child has saved on to the Leap Pad. All the music I took the time to upload, all the pictures he has taken, even the progression he has made on his Cars 2 cartridge game COMPLETELY GONE! Despite my current dissatisfaction, he's keeping it, because he loves it. And I don't desire to have a World War 3 on my hands. However, the day this bad boy doesn't turn on or the screen goes out (as i have had a Leap Pad 2 do on me) it goes back. If your going to make this purchase GET THE WARRANTY, KEEP THE ORIGINAL PACKAGE and SAVE YOUR RECEIPT. I have done all of the above and am fully prepared.=)
SN: I thought about purchasing a few apps to go on it. Thank God I didn't. They would have been lost as well, I'm sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

Be careful with the warranty.

05/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased two of these for my kids for Christmas. The set up was easy but I admit took me a minute to navigate thru all the games. What I was disappointed about was that the "Kid Friendly" web access does not allow you to go to say Nick Jr. you are only able to access LeapFrogs web. My biggest issue with this tablet that for the price you would exspect a decent warranty. After my son pressed to hard with his stylus and popped the back screen. This is not covered by the warranty. I was advised and double checked that accidents are not covered. The only thing that is covered is if the tablet it self falls apart. Think of recall status. Luckily we also purchased the store replacement warranty but am truely discouraged from purchasing LeapFrong products in the future. Especially at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Emeryville, CA
Posted 07/30/2014
The screens for our devices have gone through extensive pressure, drop and kid testing to ensure the highest quality possible for the nature of the device. They even come with an added layer of protection so in the event a crack happens, there are no added safety concerns for you or your little ones.
While we do not offer replacements for accidental damages, our Customer Support team is happy to help offset the cost of a replacement through our online store. However, if you purchased additional coverage through Walmart, filing a claim through them directly would be your quickest option in getting this taken care of locally.
We are always happy to pass your feedback along as well, thanks for taking the time to provide your review of the LeapPad Ultra!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

Had to be replaced after 6 monthes

08/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My son loves his Leappad Ultra but after 6 months of use if stopped working one day. We connected customer service since his was still under warranty and they sent out a new one very quickly and without any problems. I am now just a little worried if the new one is going to last.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

Great product, durable and fun!

09/04/2013
By ,
Dupont, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm loving this Leappad Ultra for my son. I'm not looking for him to master an iPad because to be honest, it would end up shattered. So this is perfect because its durable while still making him feel like he's being a "big kid" using an iPad.
The internet connectivity might be my favorite thing about this, it lets my son connect to a kid-safe internet. The apps are just as great as LeapPad2, just a bit of a better camera.
One cool thing about this one is the peer-to-peer capability but my son is too young to use it but I'm sure we'll be using it in the future.
All in all, we have been really pleased with this because it feels and acts like a tablet but still maintains the durability and youthfulness of a toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

They put down my smart phone!

08/11/2013
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only tablet you need to buy! My children put down my smart phone to text each other with the Pet Chat App. There were able to pick from pre-approved text and send it to each other as their pets! They also used the camera to put their faces on animal pictures. They were in love with the LeapPad Ultra from the moment it came out of the box. Every year I find myself buying toys to play games, art stuff, eReaders, and camera products. This toy has all of those in one box! I HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone with children. I am also a working Mom and participating in the LeapFrog Teacher Ambassador Program so I receive free LeapFrog products in connection with the program. You will be glad you bought this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

sadly disappointed

11/01/2013
By ,
florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I preordered this in July and have had many issues since.
(1) The battery indicator fails miserable and caused leappad to shut off after being fully charged.
(2) Leappad lags many times after being powered on sometimes freezes, causing me to power of then back on.
(3) The screen randomly goes black, again needing to power off then back on.
(4) Tried to fix leappad buy using their "fix" option however it stated it wouldn't delete anything on leappad but it did.
These are just a few that come to mind ,my son loves his leappad but now we're stuck waiting for leapfrog to confirm leappad isn't working properly to ship me a new one back .
In conclusion I'm very disappointed in this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

colorful

11/16/2013
By ,
westminster, ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The tablet is slow, often become unresponsive to the stylus pen or finger touches, slow and laggy, wifi connection purpose is to connect and send usage data back to the company.
It does have a solid build and quality feel to it. The problem is only the touchscreen and slow, laggy (the apps skip a lot, like a scratched dvd movie), and unresponsiveness of the touches.
with $60-$90 tablets being sold pretty much everywhere these days, this might not be most cost effective FOR the performance of this device.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

Hard to Improve on the LeapPad2, but they did it!

09/07/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was sent the Leapfrog Ultra for the purposes of this review, however all opinions are my own.
My son has the LeapPad 2, and it’s been a favorite around here since he got it. When we heard about the LeapPad Ultra, it was a no brainer that we needed to try it out!
While the LeapPad2 was hard to improve upon, the Ultra somehow managed. One of my favorite features is the ability to connect via Wi-Fi to download apps. I always found it annoying having to connect to the computer & run the LeapFrog Connect software every time I wanted a quick new game for my son, so being able to download new apps on the device is a huge plus. &That Wi-Fi isn’t just good for downloading apps- you can play with other LeapPad Ultras that way! There’s also a kid-friendly browser that can access ONLY websites pre-selected by LeapFrog, so your kids can have fun browsing the web without you having to worry.
We have two Ultras, and so I was able to race against my son in one of the racing games. It was so much fun to actually be able to interact with him while he played! It also was a great demonstration on how the LeapPad games cater to your child- we each used separate units, and in the beginning of each round it would ask you to identify numbers. My son, being just barely 4 years old, knows his numbers to about 20. The questions on his unit reflected that, asking him to identify those numbers he already knows. Mine, however, adjusted after the very first round because of how quickly I identified those numbers. Soon it went to the twenties, then the thirties, and then bigger numbers! It only took a couple of rounds to show just how quickly & perfectly the games customize themselves to suit your child’s level. They aim to teach further without challenging so much that they discourage the child, and that is definitely achieved.
The screen is beautiful on the LeapPad Ultra- it’s 7 inches and hi-res, and the child version of myself that had a green-lit game system is incredibly jealous. Per usual, it has an incredibly kid-friendly design {which my son seems to want to test repeatedly as he drops this thing far too often} and includes the double camera as well. I like that you barely have to tap things on the screen to get them to work- it’s not overly sensitive but you don’t have to push down hard, which is great for little hands. &Thanks to the Wi-Fi, you can access over 8,500 games, eBooks & more, including all educator-approved & educator-created content- so no more bored kids!
The LeapPad Ultra is intended for kids 4-9 but many games cater to even younger children. The Ultra really is fun for the whole family!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

LeapPad Ultra gets Grandma's Seal of Approval!

08/09/2013
By ,
Comstock Park, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy for the opportunity to let you know about the new LeapPad Ultra which LeapFrog sent me for free to review. They asked for me to give my honest opinion and this is something which is really easy for me to do! This past Christmas we bought Josiah a LeapPad - and he LOVES it! I was really impressed with everything the LeapPad could do, but I have to say, LeapFrog has taken the LeapPad to a completely new level with their new LeapPad Ultra!
LeapFrog says, "Built for children, inside ad out, LeapPad Ultra is the 100% kid-perfect tablet with a 7" hi-res screen, Wi-Fi and instant access to a best-selling library of 800+ educational games, eBooks, videos, music and more developed or approved by leading educators and designed by game experts. LeapPad Ultra has a sleek, new look and is packed with exciting features:
Front and back camera and video recorder
MP3 player
Rechargeable battery for up to 9 hours of uninterrupted play
AC adapter
8GB for storage and apps
LeapPad Ultra offers Wi-Fi with a kid-safe web browser which allows children to only access high-quality, age-appropriate content, pre-screened by LeapFrog's learning team."
I know when a company writes about their products, they are going to put them in the best light possible, but I can honestly say the LeapPad Ultra lives up to the "hype"! There is so much to tell you about . . . more than I want to put in just one post, so I'll let you know about some of the things on LeapPad Ultra I especially like and then finish up my review tomorrow with more of the details about all the new features!
There is really much to like about the LeapPad Ultra; I like the larger design, I appreciate the new features such as the MP3 player and I, for one, am really happy to see they added a rechargeable battery and AC adapter! I consider this to be a "Parent-Grandparent-friendly" feature!
I am a totally "non-tech" person, so I am very happy to see how easy it is to use, how clear the instructions are and how engaging the apps are. Josiah (my grandson) - was thrilled to open the box with the LeapPad Ultras when it arrived and was able to sit right down and start using the programs which LeapFrog loaded for our review. He played a couple games, took photos and made a video (one of his favorite things to do with his regular LeapPad). At first he was not happy the LeapPad Ultra didn't have a stylus but, he very quickly got used to just using his finger and when I asked him if he liked the LeapPad Ultra, he said, "I LOVE it!!!" Apparently it has this almost five year old's seal of approval!
I give the LeapPad Ultra my "grandma seal of approval" because it is a great way to help kids learn! Math, reading, geography, science and so much more becomes fun play as kids learn through all the apps, games and eBooks. I'm particularly happy to learn the game cartridges and apps we have already purchased for Josiah's LeapPad will also work with the new LeapPad Ultra! I'm extremely impressed with LeapFrog for making the decision to allow this compatibility between their machines - it seems so often when companies upgrade one of their items you have to purchase all new programs for the new machines. I'm very glad this is not the case with the LeapPad Ultra!
There is so much more to say about the LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra . . . and I will do so tomorrow . . .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Comstock Park, MI
grandma23boyz
Posted 08/10/2013
Yesterday I wrote about some of the things I like the most about the new LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra today I want to let you know about some of the wonderful new features which help this LeapPad to stand out from all the other options on the market for touch learning pads for children.
One of the most surprising features on this new LeapPad is the way it allows children to explore the internet with a 100% secure web browser. LeapFrog says, "Only LeapPad Ultra has LeapSearch powered by Zui. Children can use LeapSearch to browse age-appropriate videos, images and sites from the web which have been reviewed and approved by LeapFrog's Learning Team and in a safe walled-off environment. The Wi-Fi access also allows parents to easily purchase and download content to their child's LeapPad Ultra and offers kid-sae peer-to-peer play across devices using Wi-Fi where two or more LeapPad Ultra tablets connect locally."
This is just cool! Not only is the LeapPad Ultra a learning tablet with a wealth of apps, games and eBooks, but since children can connect to the web with the secure LeapSearch, it opens up a whole new "world" of learning possibilities! There are literally dozens of categories for kids to discover, such as sports, arts and crafts, animals and the one my grandson explored on robots! There is nothing else like this which provides a completely secure opportunity for children to explore the web and learn! Very cool!
Another new and unique to LeapPad Ultra feature is the opportunity for children to play games with other children who have LeapPad Ultras! New games provide the opportunity for two player games and this is so much fun! I played LeapFrog Kart Racing with my grandson - and although I kept running into the walls, mud, trees, mountains, etc, it was a lot of fun! Along with being fun, this game helps children learn and develop their math skills! It is more than just a game for sure!
One of Josiah's favorite new features is the "Pet Chat" feature where he can "chat" with someone who has another LeapPad Ultra. Chat is limited to pre-selected words/phrases and emoticons, so it is absolutely secure and safe, but gives kids a fun way to interact with others!
LeapFrog sent me the new LeapPad Ultra for free so I could spend some time reviewing all the new features which make the LeapPad Ultra, "ultra" and I have to say in my opinion, the LeapPad Ultra is completely impressive! My grandsons LOVE their LeapPad Ultras and I know along with having a lot of fun with them, they will be learning . . . and discovering how learning can be fun which is a huge benefit!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

LeapPad Ultra = Academic Success!

08/11/2013
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a kindergarten teacher of English Language Learners, I'm really excited about the new LeapPad Ultra. I have students who are at very different stages in their development and it provides personal skill levels for each student! It will be perfect for independent centers where each student can enjoy learning and feel successful.
Things I really like:
* The 7 inch screen.
* The stylus slides right into the LeapPad.
* The charger!!
* It came with 11 apps including music!
* Child friendly size and texture.
I know that this LeapPad Ultra will support my students personalized instruction and lead to their academic success! I am a LeapFrog Teacher Ambassador, and receive free products for my kindergarten classroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
orlando, fl
Mom
Posted 08/23/2013
How do you become a teacher embassador?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

My six year old grew tired of it in two weeks.

01/09/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The games/academic apps that are available do not teach what they are marketed to teach. They are for amusement only. The ad for the $10 Planes app says that it teaches math reasoning, weather, seasons, spatial reasoning, and measurement, but it does not. It is a game that allows your child to fly a plane vertically and horizontally to hit floating circles for extra points. The speed at which you navigate the course will award you extra points also. This is not what I wanted from their learning software. My advice to you is to go to a store, and play with one for a bit to see what it would be like to own one. Then, make your decision at that point. The device has wifi access, but only to download more of their software. Other than that, you can't do anything with the feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

Absolute Waste of Time & Money:

04/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this for our son for Christmas 2014 and started regretting it shortly after. The device is a great concept with poor execution. When we started to set up the Ultra, it automatically downloaded apps from the previous Leap Pad. It would have been nice to have the opportunity to decide which apps we wanted to download and which ones we did not want to download. Felt like it took a year to download them all. Finally got it working, but at times the device would run slower than molasses during a winter vortex. My wife purchased new apps recently that my son can't even use because the Ultra is too full. But it is not allowing her to delete the apps. So, I decided to install the LeapFrog app on my computer - thinking it would speed things along for setting up and managing the Ultra. NOT! After taking what felt like a century to download the apps, now the Ultra is "syncing". Started last night around 9:00 PM. Want to know what percentage was when I got up at 6:00 AM this morning to check? 15%. In the meantime, the Ultra will probably die from battery starvation, and I will have to begin the syncing process all over again. Complete waste of time and money. Not to mention that the tablet is so big, even Hagrid from Harry Potter would probably gawk if he saw it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

Love the LeapPad Ultra but it's very slow!

12/03/2013
By ,
Lenexa, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My 5 year old had the original LeapPad when she was younger and LOVED it! It was such a great learning toy that I had to buy my 3 year old the Ultra the day it came out. I love the bigger screen and new apps it comes with but it is so slow my 3 year old gets impatient with it. Sometimes it even freezes and you have to turn it off and wait for it to come back on. Very frustrating! I'm going to try to contact Leap Frog to replace it, but from reading other reviews, it seems like this may be just the way it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

Great Upgrade from LeapPad 2

09/01/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4 year old was already obsessed with the LeapPad 2 and I really had a hard time thinking of how it could be better. The LeapPad Ultra doesn't disappoint. The screen is a fantastic size--think iPad mini. The wifi access makes learning endless. Instead of blocking what comes in--LeapPad only allows the good stuff in. Wifi access allows for peer to peer play so you can play friends or classmates in education games. I also love that the LeapPad Ultra comes with the chargeable batteries built in and a LeapPad Ultra charger. The stylus is built in better, sliding completely in a hole for more convenient storage. My 4 year old spends hours drawing on his LeapPad Ultra, which he never did on the LeapPad 2--I think the larger screen is the reason. He really loves his LeapPad Ultra and will play on it for a long time independently. I cannot wait to explore more games.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

Another hit for LeapFrog!

08/09/2013
By ,
Lexington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I receive products to test with my kindergarten class as a LeapFrog Teacher Ambassador. I love the LeapPad Ultra! This tablet is kid friendly straight out of the box! With wifi I was able to easily access previously purchased apps. The LeapPad Ultra has a beautiful 7 inch screen. I am thrilled with the built in battery. My son loves the camera and video features. The LeapPad Ultra is a perfect blend of learning and fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green

good step up from the leap pad 2

11/13/2013
By ,
chicago, illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i like the larger screen and the internal, rechargeable batteries. the wi-fi is a little clumsy to log on, but i managed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LeapFrog LeapPad Ultra Kids' Tablets for Learning, Green
09/05/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A little hard to find start or power button. Styllus seems to be on a short string especially if holding up. What adjustments do you have for "lefties?" Looks like it comes with more games loaded on homepage than the Lead Pads.
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next