Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Otterbox OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Otterbox OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

The OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Case features a two-piece polycarbonate inner shell that snaps together around the device for added protection. It has a built in screen protector that helps to prevent scratches to the touch screen of your mobile phone. The Galaxy S4 Defender Series case has a rugged outer slipcover that provides additional impact protection as well. This is an excellent choice to keep your mobile phone safe throughout your normal day and while traveling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.582 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%65 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Perfect Phone Protection

12/17/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you value your new Samsung Galaxy S4 you would be foolish not to protect it. This OtterBox Defender Case although slightly bulky provides the necessary protection for your phone. You definitely can't go wrong purchasing an OtterBox Defender Case. The case fits the S4 as tight and seamless as possible. Two piece hard case plus rubberized exterior pull-over provide protection that is the best I've found available. It is easy to assemble and take apart when you do need to get the phone out. It has the proper openings for camera, flash and speaker on the back and for sensors and speaker in front. It has pull out tabs for headphone and mini-USB jack, which helps in keeping dust out. These tabs are now reinforced with plastic, an upgrade from my last Defender case purchased. The bottom of the case does not interfere with the home key or soft touch keys at the bottom of the phone. The raised lip on the case surrounding the screen provides perfect protection from scratching and it comes with a built in screen protector that doesn't affect the sensitivity of the screen whatsoever. I did come across one minor issue, when pressing the side buttons you do have to press a little hard, but for the protection you get, it's fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Great for those who are clumsy!

07/28/2014
By ,
Hamilton, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The outer covering really does a outstanding job of keeping my phone "crack free". I like the clear screen protector included, but dirt gets into it and is hard to keep clean. Overall, it protects the phone well, so that's all that really matters!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Nice case

07/24/2014
By ,
Park Hills, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This case has already paid for itself. Within the first week I dropped the phone pretty hard. No problems with the phone whatsoever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Great

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This case works beautifully plus I heard that they have a lifetime guarantee
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Great phone protection, not too big easy to carry

07/21/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone case it doesn't interfear with the phone at all
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Great protection for my phone

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good protection short of being waterproof. I had a Defender case for the previous two years with my Galaxy S2 phone which was great except for the belt/pocket clip (which failed repeatly.) This new model appears to have a greatly improved belt/pocket clip, so far so good on the new clip design. I work in construction and service work, and so far the defender cases have worked for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Great Product

07/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very happy with this product so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Nice

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a little bulky but what do you really expect if you want adequate protection. This does exactly what it is supposed to, if want it to not be bulky, be ready to buy another phone when you drop it. I like that it has the belt clip, which really makes it nice when your active and sweating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Protection Plus

07/09/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Though it makes the size of my phone much bigger, it is great protection for it. I don't have to worry about minor bumps and drops. It is well worth the money as it is much more elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Works Great!

05/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm known as the phone killer in my family. Two weeks after getting my new phone, it fell out of the car into a gutter. The Otterbox protected the phone. There wasn't a ding or scratch on it. Yes the OtterBox Defender makes the phone bigger and heavier, but if you are tough on phones or have kids that are, this is the case to get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Too bulky and heavy

05/10/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Defender case made my phone too heavy and big. Definitely not for someone who keeps their phone in a pocket. I keep mine in my purse and even then it was too bulky and hard to fit. It is of very good quality and I'm sure it would be a good fit for a construction worker, a farmer, or someone who needs extra protection and carries their phone on their belts, for example. I also disliked the screen protector. I returned it and got the Prefix Otterbox, which I loved it. It kept my phone protected and sleek, for half of the price of the Defender series.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

great case for a great phone

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great case that offers plenty of protection. It was easy to install, and all phone functions work great with the case.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Pretty and Protective

11/14/2013
By ,
Oceanside, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cover is very protective for my phone. I do not have any concerns about dropping it or scratching it. It is easy to hold and nice to look at. The color choice and cost is much better than the same brand and style of cover available at Best Buy. Only issue is overall cost. It is the market value for this type of cover, but phone covers seem to be expensive for what they are.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

great gift for husband

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves it and it looks great and it works very well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Worth the money

06/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to protect my phone from... well myself. I am very clumsy and drop my phone about every 30 minutes. This cover has done an outstanding job of making sure that I don't ruin my phone. I recommend it to anyone who is clumsy and/or in a tough working environment
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Great phone protection

01/10/2014
By ,
Prescott Valley, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Otterbox is the best phone protection without making the phone too bulky. I had one for my Droid X and now for my Galaxy S4.
WalMart's online price cannot be beat, even in the store. Do yourself a favor and order it online with a ship to store option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

I like the otterbox very much. Good price.

06/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not had one before but it is the best price at Wal Mart. Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

fabulous!

06/19/2014
By ,
Maryville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price! Works great!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Good protection; difficult to open case

12/03/2013
By ,
Midwest US
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Am glad I purchased this case for my Samsung Galaxy S4. It fits perfectly and seems to provide increased protection from daily wear and tear--time will tell. I like the exterior texture which makes the phone less slippery. Also happy with the built-in screen protector. The case does increase overall bulk of the phone; not a problem in a purse, but maybe too large for a pocket. Very difficult to separate/open the two sections of the inner case and the directions that accompany the case are no help. I wish Otterbox would provide specific written instructions (not only photos/videos) on how to separate the two sections.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Works very well

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next