Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Otterbox OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Otterbox OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

The OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Case features a two-piece polycarbonate inner shell that snaps together around the device for added protection. It has a built in screen protector that helps to prevent scratches to the touch screen of your mobile phone. The Galaxy S4 Defender Series case has a rugged outer slipcover that provides additional impact protection as well. This is an excellent choice to keep your mobile phone safe throughout your normal day and while traveling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation98%43 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Perfect Phone Protection

12/17/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you value your new Samsung Galaxy S4 you would be foolish not to protect it. This OtterBox Defender Case although slightly bulky provides the necessary protection for your phone. You definitely can't go wrong purchasing an OtterBox Defender Case. The case fits the S4 as tight and seamless as possible. Two piece hard case plus rubberized exterior pull-over provide protection that is the best I've found available. It is easy to assemble and take apart when you do need to get the phone out. It has the proper openings for camera, flash and speaker on the back and for sensors and speaker in front. It has pull out tabs for headphone and mini-USB jack, which helps in keeping dust out. These tabs are now reinforced with plastic, an upgrade from my last Defender case purchased. The bottom of the case does not interfere with the home key or soft touch keys at the bottom of the phone. The raised lip on the case surrounding the screen provides perfect protection from scratching and it comes with a built in screen protector that doesn't affect the sensitivity of the screen whatsoever. I did come across one minor issue, when pressing the side buttons you do have to press a little hard, but for the protection you get, it's fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Keeps the phone clean

04/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1. Enclosed case will keep the phone clean and scarfree.
2. The case plastic has blemishes. I tried two other cases; not one was plastic case was clean.
3. The case is bulky but when I take the belt clip off, it's about the same size as mist cases.
4. I don't see how the case is waterproof, especially since the plug and headphone plugs are exposed.
5. The case head phone hole is not aligned with the Samsung 4 placement of the jack.
6. The case muffler the sound. I remove the c Ade when I need the my sic to get Loud.
For the price, I would recommend it. Not bad du or all the safety issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Pretty and Protective

11/14/2013
By ,
Oceanside, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cover is very protective for my phone. I do not have any concerns about dropping it or scratching it. It is easy to hold and nice to look at. The color choice and cost is much better than the same brand and style of cover available at Best Buy. Only issue is overall cost. It is the market value for this type of cover, but phone covers seem to be expensive for what they are.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Just what I was looking for

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Provides good protection, not bulky and comes with a belt clip holster.
In addition, the GS4 has a slippery exterior and was constantly slipping off of whatever surface where I placed it. This case solves that problem too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Great phone protection

01/10/2014
By ,
Prescott Valley, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Otterbox is the best phone protection without making the phone too bulky. I had one for my Droid X and now for my Galaxy S4.
WalMart's online price cannot be beat, even in the store. Do yourself a favor and order it online with a ship to store option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Great Product for Samsung Galaxy S4

02/10/2014
By ,
N. Calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As per other reviews, the setup instructions are inadequate. But I was able to easily figure it out.
Haven't had the chance to check for its' protective features (knock on wood) but it seems to provide a good barrier for accidental drops. Doesn't seem to cause any problems with using the touch screen as I was concerned about. All touch commands are easily executed. I would recommend to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Best case for my samsung galaxy

03/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first purchased an off brand case for my phone thru ebay for $14. Wasted my money on that case. Too bulky, and big. Then decided i needed to just fork out the money for an otter box case. I ordered my case online and did the pick up at my local walmart store. It was my first time purchasing online from walmart ever. I went over there the next around 7:30 in the morning, and a very nice walmart employee was able to pull the order up and see that it should be delivered that day but could not find it. I told her id come back later. As i was walking out the door, i received a text saying it was ready for pickup. I only payed 38.00 thru paypal. And I didn't have to pay for shipping. Well worth buying from Walmart then purchasing thru my carrier. I'd recommend going thru walmart.com to everybody.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Good protection; difficult to open case

12/03/2013
By ,
Midwest US
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Am glad I purchased this case for my Samsung Galaxy S4. It fits perfectly and seems to provide increased protection from daily wear and tear--time will tell. I like the exterior texture which makes the phone less slippery. Also happy with the built-in screen protector. The case does increase overall bulk of the phone; not a problem in a purse, but maybe too large for a pocket. Very difficult to separate/open the two sections of the inner case and the directions that accompany the case are no help. I wish Otterbox would provide specific written instructions (not only photos/videos) on how to separate the two sections.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Great phone protection

03/29/2014
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very durable, excellent quality. Well worth the money for the protection it provides.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

It does a great job of protecting my Galaxy!

11/12/2013
By ,
Wilsonville, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It fits perfectly, it was easy to put on and I feel secure that my phone is protected with this case. I like the fact that I can put on the belt clip part if I am not wanting to carry a purse. Everything works through the screen protector and I have no problem plugging in the charger.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Good Product but had Price Jump

03/24/2014
By ,
Stuttgart, Ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Walmart Decided to raise price from $26.00 to $46.00. I had bought three products and the price increased the next week. After purchasing for $46.00 the price went down to $29.00. the next day. Not Happy with Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Great Product

03/25/2014
By ,
Parker, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good protective device. Price at Walmart much cheaper than at Verizon store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Good product assumed instructions.

03/13/2014
By ,
Ostrander, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was recommended to me for my new S4 from a family member. The instructions were a few pictures that were not clear enough about how to put the item together. I had to get someone else to look at it to figure out how to get the item out of the original packaging. Instead of just pictures, it would be nice to have some actual words of instructions with the pictures.
It is working very well and I fell comfortable if I drop the phone now that it will be protected.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

GREAT PRODUCT... IT'S AN OTTERBOX

01/25/2014
By ,
Hub City, Wes Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EXCELLENT fit & protection for your valuable G S4. I've owned anOtterbox for my IPhone 5 which protected the "HOME" KEY but with the S4 the key is exposed. However, I realized the design of the phone would not allow the key to be protected because of the menu & back button location. The phone didn't seem as bulky as I thought it would be, with such a solid case. It is a Galaxy S4 which is why I wanted a bigger screen with the freedom the DROID SYSTEM allowed over its competitors so this OTTERBOX meets all my needs in protecting my investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Best cell phone case I ever owned

02/04/2014
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Otter Box For the Samsung Galaxy S4 is by far the best case I've owned thus far.
It is rugged, able to protect the phone from dropping, and keeps the elements from damaging the phone. The case is made of very good rubberized material and is easy to grip in the hand, this helps to prevent the phone from slipping out of your hand. The built in button covers work very well for performing functions on your phone. the belt clip case fits very snug and close to the body, unlike some of the older cases that bulged and got caught on chairs and tables and whatever else you passed by. I have not mastered the one hand phone release yet, so it takes both hands to release the phone from the belt clip carrier when needed. Overall this is a great case for protecting your cell phone investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

excellent complete protection

03/16/2014
By ,
port byron n.y
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Def a must have....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Great protection

03/06/2014
By ,
DFW, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I feel my phone is safe in this case. It even has a screen cover, so you don't have to worry about adding one of those. I can't, for the life of me, understand why all these cases are so expensive, but I do really like this one. Not much else to say except that it seems to do its job well, adds very little bulk to the phone, and I think it will last!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Holds up

12/07/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this case from previous experience with otterbox of another phone. This one is much slimmer and better clips that keep it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Great Case

03/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't go wrong with this case if you are looking to protect your s4
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for OtterBox Samsung Galaxy S4 Defender Series Case

Love it

08/30/2013
By ,
Bridgeport, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The otter box has the been the best case protector I've ever had. When my husband bought my first otter box I thought he was crazy spending so much money. After dropping my phone several times and nothing I mean nothing not even a scratch was on my phone. That's when I said I will never bought anything but an otter box case. With Cell phones being so experience you want to protect it at all times.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next