Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nintendo Nintendo DSi, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nintendo Nintendo DSi, Black

Choose your Nintendo DSi <a href="#" onClick="window.open('http://www.gamespot.com/live/walmart/?path=dsi.asx','_blank','scrollbars=auto,resizable');return false";> Click to watch video demo
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
92
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation95%106 out of 112reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
92
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nintendo DSi, Black

Great toy

12/19/2012
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It Keeps my grandson busy when we travel!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Nintendo DSi, Black

great

04/17/2009
By ,
salinas ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like ds with way more features and nice looking and bigger screen totally recommend
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 3 for Nintendo DSi, Black

well worth it

04/29/2009
By ,
Lowell, Ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 12 year old loves this. There are so many additional features with the camera. This was the best present I could have bought her. I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+85points
Review 4 for Nintendo DSi, Black

DS Individual

04/17/2009
By ,
Mt.Sterling, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When i got my DSi at the midnight launch i was so amazed with how heavy the box was when i got in the car i set everything up and started playing i immediately noticed that my games run smoother and the controls are improved like a polished DSlite the camera is a good feature most people say its horrible but there is so much you can do with it (i use it like MS paint) with features like resemblance where you can take a picture of two faces and see how much they relate the music player is actualy really good quality (AAC) the only thing i did not like is that u have to have AAC or some file extention of it you can manipulate and record your own sounds and put the into songs the shop i liked they give you ten dollars to start with and a free internet browser if you like the old features of the ds lite or original DS they are still available like pictchat and DSdownload play i highly recomend this to someone who really likes their portable gaming in the best quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Nintendo DSi, Black

Good but not great

04/10/2009
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because my sister had the ds lite. I figured this was a little more pricey but had more featres than hers did. I got it yesterday finally. Not all you would have expected. The Music player is the most troublesome, as it only plays files in a AAC format. Which means you have to convert them and send them to an SD card before you can play them. I have converted the files 2 times now and it still hasnt detected the music. Once last time and Im done.
The camera is actually pretty cool though it gives you lots of options and the pictures come out pretty good.
The sounds are ok, something my 8 and 5 year old would enjoy more though than I would.
All together there are some very good features but like I said the music player makes it a little less enjoyable. i think if it could be a person organizer it might actually be more worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Nintendo DSi, Black

Pretty slick!

04/11/2009
By ,
Camp Pendleton, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice flat-black color and still streamlined in design. The entire DSI is slightly larger than a DS, and at the same time it is slightly thinner than a DS (meaning a case for a DS will be too small for a DSI). Screen is a bit bigger than the DS and is as clear as ever. You can change the screen brightness four times compared with only two on the DS. Stylus is slightly longer than the other versions. Camera takes good pictures, more along the quality of a webcam vs. a digital cam. Software for pictures is fun to use and holds 400+ pictures without a SIM card (which only takes a card HIGHER than 2GB). Has a fun voice recorder and music player that work great! We're still finding out more about it, but so far we think the investment of the new DSI is worth what we spent on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Nintendo DSi, Black

Awesome item

12/31/2009
By ,
West Plains, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kids and adults love to play! This item is great, whether for games, pictures, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 8 for Nintendo DSi, Black

My son loves it

04/13/2011
By ,
Broken Arrow, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son had a DS so this purchase was just an upgrade for his 9th birthday. He loves that it has a camera and he can access the internet through wifi. It also plays all the DS games he had. Great gift for his age.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 9 for Nintendo DSi, Black

More than expected.

05/19/2011
By ,
Ada, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son had wanted a "DS" for some time, we got this for his birthday, he's 12. The games did not arrive at the same time but we didn't need them. He has had so much fun with the camera and being able to alter them. He can change his voice and draw pictures. We did buy a game so he would have one but he has had more fun playing with the other features of the DSi.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 10 for Nintendo DSi, Black

full of fun technology!!

04/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So much more than a game console. Can listen to my music and play games as well as take pictures of my friends and make them look funny . Just a great gadget for all ages.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 11 for Nintendo DSi, Black

Excellent Device

04/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Bought this for my children who have not had any handheld game systems and they absolutely Love It. The camera and its features are very fun to fool around with. The web browser is very slow however it doesnt take form the quality of the product. If you dont already own a handheld game system I highly recommend picking this one up, you wont be dissapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Nintendo DSi, Black

DSi me?

04/11/2009
By ,
Clarksville, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was m first thing I had ever baught me. Even though you can't play the GBA Games, it was worth buying it. You can't play Guitar Hero anymore, it's sad. They should lower cost on games and make a connector to play GBA games on the DSi. I bought this the morning it came out. I can't afford buying games for the system, but they should have more free games. I really like the fact I can get on the internet, music, and pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 13 for Nintendo DSi, Black

Highly Overrated

03/11/2009
By ,
in a van down by the river
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Heres the thing,when i first found out about this thing i was excited! I mean two cameras, SD slot, bigger screens, even a store to download games!
But you can only play music off your SD card in AAC format...lame:[ then the cameras run at under a megapixel meaning it gonna look worse then a webcam.....come on nintendo step up ur game! please!
I spent $129 on my DS lite, i love the fact you can actually play old Advanced games on it.:)
so if you got the cash, dont care for pokemon, dont care for old advanced games or just wanna picochat with like one of ten people, thats most likely not even in your age group then by all means go for the DSi!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for Nintendo DSi, Black

Cheap

04/19/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Everything about it feels cheap and I mean everything to low speaker volume, low headphone volume, camera, and also it don't look like it well last for a long time cause it feel like it can break easy. The button make clicking sound like plastic. I prefer the lite instead, but brought this because my brother broke my lite and decided to pay half and half for this one. For only 40 buck extra than the lite, better then nothing! If you have a ds lite and thinking about getting this one, its not worth it trust me because the ds lite is 2 time better in sound and quality, the only different is just wider screen a camera. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who want the most out of it!, But would recommend those who love fancy things, but be warn cause its very fragile!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Review 15 for Nintendo DSi, Black

I am extremely disappointed.

04/18/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
*It can't play GBA games.
*It won't transfer pokemon from Emerald/Sapphire/Ruby/FireRed/LeafGreen in PalPark. (This is the result of the above reason--no GBA games.)
*It can't be used to do any Pokemon activities (trading, battling, etc.) with friends who have a DS/DS Lite. (As such, you'll be limited to doing things with only those who have a DSi--which is relatively few due to the system being new.)
*It won't fit in a case made for DS/DS Lite.
If you want to take pictures, then buy a digital camera.
If you want to use the Internet, then buy a computer.
The only real improvement that the DSi grants is a larger screen. But is that really worth everything you give up (like playing GBA games)? I don't think so. I suggest you purchase a DS Lite instead & use your extra money to buy a DS game.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-8points
Review 16 for Nintendo DSi, Black

Great Gift!

04/23/2011
By ,
Detroit, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this game for my nephew and he loves it! Looks like I'm gonna have to buy another one for my other nephew.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Nintendo DSi, Black

Great product!

01/10/2012
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a Nintendo for each of my children, they can snap photos and then do crazy artwork with them, write notes to each other while in separate rooms. Very user friendly, my 8 year old loves it and learned the uses without needing to read the manual! My 12 year old loves being able to connect with friends and challenge each other on games!
Wonderful purchase, should have done sooner :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 18 for Nintendo DSi, Black

Fun handheld gaming system

01/09/2012
By ,
Myrtle Beach, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 8 yr old son for christmas and he loves it! I like to play it as well. There is a cool feature that takes pictures and then you can edit them with crazy and fun options. You can browse the web, play other gamers online, and other cool stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Nintendo DSi, Black

Nintendo DSI

04/14/2009
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 11 yr old son and he loves it, before he goes to bed he is playing it, and since the children are on spring break he wakes up in the morning playing it, it has internet alway, it keeps him quiet for hours. he also has the old Nintendo DS and he got really bored with that. Parents if you want peace order this for your child. Its a great game.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Nintendo DSi, Black
01/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was purchased for my son who was turning 5 years old. He loves it. It was purchased as a bundle so the value was exceptional. I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next