Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

The Playstation 4 Console is the best place to play with dynamic, connected gaming, powerful graphics and speed, intelligent personalization, deeply integrated social capabilities, and innovative second-screen features. Combining unparalleled content, immersive gaming experiences, all of your favorite digital entertainment apps, and PlayStation exclusives, the Playstation 4 Console centers on gamers, enabling them to play when, where and how they want. The Playstation 4 Console enables the greatest game developers in the world to unlock their creativity and push the boundaries of play through a system that is tuned specifically to their needs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.241 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation83%20 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

If You Are Unsure On Which Console to Get

09/02/2013
By ,
Kingstree,SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are still unsure on which console you should get feel free to read this review. The consoles are not out yet so I can only state facts and not biased opinions.
Heres's reasons why you should pick the PS4
1. 100$ cheaper. 40$ cheaper if you want to include the camera
2. The Ps4 is more powerful than the X1(Xbox One)
3. The Ps4 offers Free-to-play games which you don't need a subscription for.
4. The Ps4 remote's new touchpad will enhance gameplay and add more possibilities.
Here's reasons why you should pick the Xbox One
1. The new kinect 2.0 will undoubtedly be superior to the PSEye, If your'e into motion gameplay
2. The X1 will allow you to stream TV
3. TV
4. TV
5. Oh, and you can watch TV. Im joking around
6. The restrictions have been released.
7. Good exclusives.
Me, I'm getting a Ps4 because it's a better deal, games that appeal to ME, and because I can always watch TV on my Television.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
+31points
Review 2 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

Powerful, Great Price, & No Crazy Restrictions

06/14/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The PS4 has no crazy restrictions unlike the XBOX ONE. The PS4 does not require an internet connection to play games and loaning games to friends is as simple has handing them the disk. The power you get from the PS4 for only $399 is also amazing! The PS4 is 1 1/2 to 2 times more powerful than the XBOX ONE so multiplatform games will look and run better on the PS4 and the first party games like Killzone will look just stunning! The specs & info on both consoles are a google or wiki search away so do yourself a favor and buy the console with the fewest restrictions and most power which is the PS4!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+147points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
US
No Internet keeps you safe from SONY being hacked
Posted 06/28/2013
That offline feature comes in handy "if" the PlayStation Network gets hacked again, goes down for a month & 77 million accounts have thier info stolen. While at Walmart I suggest getting one of those disposable credit cards just in case. No manditory internet connection is such an awesome feature that it should have been offered years ago by everyone!!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Changed
Posted 06/23/2013
It dosent require a internet connection and you can loan disks like the 360
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

Awesome buy!

06/14/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, my main reason for getting this console is:
1. Always been a Sony fan but swapped to the 360 when it was released due to the price of the PS3
2. Final Fantasy X has always held a special place in my heart and being able to play that again on the PS4 ROCKS!
3. Again, Final Fantasy! I know it's not exclusive anymore but it wouldn't feel like I'm playing FF on anything other than a Playstation.
4. No need to connect once a day, which this really isn't an issue for me.
5. PS4 Offers a wider selection of Anime!!!! AND THE PS4 IS A $100 CHEAPER! Plus, Sony has really showed they care about their consumer being happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+65points
Review 4 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

Great Console

08/29/2013
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the next generation of gaming. This defines the next gen. The PS4 is hands down one of the most powerful, if not the most powerful gaming console on the planet. The speed and graphics have improved, and the visual appearance of the Playstation 4 is gorgeous. The console itself is very slim, slightly smaller than the PS3 slim. When you compare the PS4 to the Xbox One in size, the Xbox One is double the size, and same for it's "chunky" Kinect sensor. The Playstation 4 is a very slim console, fitting anywhere in your living room. The Playstation sensor as well is very sleek and small.
The Playstation is very cheap as well. For only $400 you get the next gen. console, the reinvented controller, and a mic. The online service is extremely cheap as well. As some people might think that requiring PS Plus for online multiplayer is bad, it truly isn't. And the truth of the matter is, Playstation Plus is much more cheaper, and better, than Xbox Live. PS Plus is $50 a year, while Xbox Live is $60. But you don't only pay for online service when you purchase PS Plus. You receive up to 12 free games every month. Not only that, but paying for an online service (PS Plus) allows Sony to give us, the Playstation members, a better gaming experience.
If you're looking for a console to buy, their shouldn't be any hesitation on which one you should buy. Playstation 4 is the way to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 5 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

PS4 For the Win

06/17/2013
By ,
SLC, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When it comes right down to it, both XBOX and PS4 will offer similiar gaming experiences. Better RAM on the PS4 is an edge, but not one that any human will really be able to discern in gameplay. It comes down to the restrictions placed on the XBOX one and price. PS4 is cheaper and has a bit of an edge for quality hardware. Never had a RROD on my PS3, but my XBOX definitely did. PS4 all the way.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+62points
Review 6 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

The System To Get

06/12/2013
By ,
Atlantic City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Simple terms, no restrictions. Enough said.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+160points
Review 7 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

will be the best one out there

06/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its already been said - no restrictions. will this system my friends and i can trade and play games with no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/20/2013
i stand corrected. still everyone should still purchase the ps4 anyway. jk its a a free country.
0points
Customer Avatar
south florida
Posted 06/19/2013
no more restrictions on the xbox one
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)
08/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its awesome because
1. it dosent cost 500 dollars like xbox
2. it is cool looking
3. its not as big
i reccomend this
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
moreno valley
The truth
Posted 08/31/2013
I'm writing this review because i see that a lot of the reviews on here are ignorant.
-Ps4 is 100 bucks cheaper because xbox one has a kinect included.
-xbox one will also include a game while still keeping the $499 price tag.(the game is still to be announced in the U.S. but europe will get fifa)
-ps4 will charge now to play online games. psn plus will be required.
-the ps4 has newer ram but the ddr3 ram on the xbox one is not going to drop the performance. both of the consoles have just about the same performance over all and graphics will not be better on ps4.
-xboxone has the exact restrictions as the ps4.(they dropped the used game policy and the checking online policy)
that being said, these are just about the same console with same policies. i went with ps4 because it is 100 bucks cheaper and i do not need something like the kinect. i also have a feeling that most of my friends and colleges will get it for the same reason.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

The Playstation Value.

07/31/2013
By ,
Summer Hill, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never owned an Xbox product. With that aside I've played Xbox with my friends and couldn't see paying for online access multi gaming or paying an extra $100.00 for basically the same experience. There will always be two sides. But for me, PS4 just has the value with the whole gaming package. I call it the "The Playstation Value".
AAAAAAAAAAA++++++++++++++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
+6points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
USA
to tony
Posted 09/02/2013
that is mostly true, paying for online gameplay for ps4 is correct but the seamless connection your talking about playstation 3 had it i could plug anything in it and there it would be like a mp3 player external hard drive and what not what you dont realize not only is the playstation 4 going to be better than xbox one while your stuck with your xbox one hard drive the ps4 hard drive can be replaced with any notebook hard drive 2.5" so while ur on a 500gb hard drive ps4 players can up theres at anytime to a terabyte or 2
+2points
Customer Avatar
melbourne
paying for net
Posted 08/16/2013
too bad you will have to pay for internet gaming just like xbox. and you won't get half of the options xbox has.processor and ram are almost the same but xbox will run a windows os which means all other devices will seamlessly connect.
-3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

AWESOME Game system

06/13/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony Playstation 4 is going to be a REALLY TOTAL AWESOME game to play on
I give it 5 stars "high recommended" to go & buy this game system from Sony
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ivanhoe,Ca.
A real customer
Posted 06/17/2013
All these comments sound like they were written by Sony employees. All I care about is "Will the player play all Playstation games. I get the feeling "It Does Not" So I don't think I will get it. When I asked before I was told that a player that plays them all is a waste and if I wanted to play the other games to buy the player that plays them. Well I will again when mine stop working.
-3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

The future of home entertainment is here.

06/11/2013
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Playstation 4 is as much as a competitor as it is an innovator. Granted, the console is not drastically different than a midrange gaming PC, but it delivers a standardized experience for a regulated cost. For the price of the console, it is a PC, entertainment and media device, jukebox, and lest-not-forget a gaming console.
The console replaces the media streamer (aka Roku, Apple TV, WDTV, etc), yet also serves as a networked gateway to every bit of media stored on one's own PC. The capabilities of consoles to match a custom PC's might for gaming will never equalize, but the PS4 takes a good leap into the efficient yet powerful category. Everyone playing the same game on the same console must compete on skill and internet connection speed; in the PC world, more variables exist.
For some, the device may serve a limited function. The Playstation 4 is most certainly capable of taking on many functions, depending on the user's knowledge on capability. The strengths of the PS4 include media playback, gaming, networking, and connectivity. Sony's focus on this is evident in the PS4. Anything beyond those traits is optional and dependent on the user.
Yes, it is quite different than previous versions. Everyone has different expectations for the PS4, but in the end, it is a superior product compared to previous iterations of the PlayStation name. Do not fear disappointment for the PlayStation 4, but expect to learn how to utilize its full potential!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-149points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Espanola, NM
Question?
Posted 06/13/2013
What can the PS4 do that the PS3 can't? I'm not seeing a reason to pre-order over even buy the PS4 for a couple of years till it's established and the PS3 is obsolete.
-6points
Customer Avatar
@boodog
Posted 06/13/2013
HAHA the first 360 didnt even have built in wifi, they charged you an arm and a leg for the console and then a toe for the wifi adapter...
+3points
Customer Avatar
Detroit
Hmmm....
Posted 06/12/2013
Ahhhhhh i see, so it can finally do what the 360 has been doing for years? Nice! I had faith they would catch up sooner or later.
-31points
Customer Avatar
TX
what innovation
Posted 06/11/2013
What innovation? Streaming content is not new xbox 360 and even my phone can stream content. The only real changes from the ps3 are changes in input devices and hardware.
-33points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 12 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

You have to pay to play online

07/12/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sony changed their online policy, now a monthly subscription will be required if you want to play multiplayer on the PS network . I think we all saw this one coming.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-32points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Newark, OH
Agreed.
Posted 09/15/2013
You are correct you do have to pay to play online for the PS4. This was obviously going to happen sooner or later, so yes most of us did see this coming. However, the thing is the PS+ is better and has a lot more features than Xbox Live Gold Membership for $10.00 USD less. In short while it may seem to be a pain or an unnecessary cost, the PS+ membership is more of an asset than a burden.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

GeniousCreation!!!

10/16/2013
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This system is the work of a Gamer God.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

No Internet Required

10/13/2013
By ,
fayetteville,nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
if the people that got onto the website and looked at the ps4 and wrote negative reviews about xbox one without taking the same amount of time to overview it they would realize that IT HAS NO RESTRICTIONS!!!!! read it people you DO NOT have to have internet on it at all times and you can share games just like you can with xbox360 ps3 and ps4!!!! they knew what problems it would create after they announced all of those things and fixed that problem right away!!! but for the price and the fact that you don't have to pay to play games online, the ps4 is an outstanding device and I am looking forward to owning one as soon as it comes out no ifs and or buts
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
0points
Review 15 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

ps4 is slightly better than the xbox one

06/25/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
after microsoft's flip on its policies xbox one has more buyers and catching up to the ps4 fans. now it all comes down to the exclusives. if you love first person shooters i suggest you buy the xbox one and if you want better RPGs and few FPS exclusive , i suggest yo buy the xbox one. And if your a "hardcore" gamer who's "ps4 all the way" well you have not made a bad decision buying both! :P
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
-71points
Review 16 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)
08/30/2013
By ,
20004
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been playing this console for awhile now and love it. Best graphics, best online play, best support. Nothing comes close to the PS4 in terms of value, performance, and game play.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-11points
Review 17 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)
07/29/2013
By ,
Boston
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just Very Disappointed. Another generation of modern warfare games. Better off spending your money on ps3 or Xbox 360 for the same games. Nothing new here worth the extra money your spending. SADLY this is what video games has succumbed to. Again it's just my opinion.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-354points
Review 18 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

The Gamer's Next-Gen Console

06/23/2013
By ,
Blackwell, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Upcoming/Current Gen Console Comparison
WiiU - Entry Level; Found to be for "Economic" Households; Bad "Casual" rep from predecessor; Tablet-Like main controller; Backwards Compatable; "Family Friendly"
Exlusive Series: Mario, Metroid, DonkyKong, Kirby, SmashBrothers, Mario&Sonic@Olympics(yr).
PS4 - Successor to PS3; x86 (64-bit) AMD Architecture; Comparable to a modern mid-range Gaming PC; $50 "Plus" online membership fees for multiplayer Annual; Recommended for RPG, Driving, Third-Person shooters. Known Caveats: PlayStation Eye is back, and will be below par with the new Kinect; Not Backwards Compatible (New Architecture); Favorite of "Otakus" (Japanese Pop-Culture Nerds)
Well-Known Exclusive Series: Uncharted, inFamous, God of War, Gran Turismo, Kingdom Hearts (Non-Hand-Held)
Xbox One - Successor to Xbox 360; Comparable to Modern lower-mid-range Gaming PC; $45-50 Annual "Live" Subscription for most multiplayer/features; Not Backwards Compatible (New Architecture); New Kinect is more responsive, but required to turn console on. Known for DLC Deals (Early/Exclusive) with both EA and Activision; Sports Fans/FPS Fan's Console.
Well-Known Exclusive Series: Halo, Gears of War, Crackdown
Note: After E3:2013, Microsoft issued a press release stating the changing in their DRM policy due to potential consumer feed-back. This means both PS4 and Xbox One will support Non-LAN/WAN gaming and used-disc purchasing. Article: http://www.maximumpc.com/article/news/microsoft_abandons_planned_xbox_one_drm_used_games_policies_wont_budge_price499
This review is in hopes to help any buyers make an educated guess, and to call to attention that no review is of the final product. (Yet.) So don't take these review's to heart yet. Study up on the consoles, their terms of services, and privacy policies. And if you're going to get some facts, make sure they are cited or came from the source. Also, all reviews are opinionated, even ones with facts. (This is why I wish my local Walmart still had the game demo stations to try-before-you-buy. Oh well...)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
 
My Product Recommendations
Xbox One Console - Day One Edition
3.9 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
 
 
-83points
Review 19 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

It's ok

06/22/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Better graphics but not much else. Doesn't offer much more than an Xbox 360. Playstation network doesn't come close to Xbox live. If they drastically improve online than it would be a lot better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
-290points
Review 20 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)
06/16/2013
By ,
south florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
just a more powerful PS3
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
-427points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mobile,Al
Hello,
Posted 06/19/2013
I am sorry that this product does not live up to your expectations. We know little about the current product and will be providing more details in time. While it will be like the ps3 in operation it will most likely contain more advanced features that are not able to run on the ps3 hardware. The ps4 will be released later this year and i hope the you will be pleased with the console once it is released for purchase
+13points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next