Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

Black & Decker Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

For making front and back yards look beautifully groomed without a lot of work, the Black & Decker 14-inch Grass Hog is a great tool to have. It's powered by a 4.8-amp electric motor that spins the line at 9,500 rpm. An automatic line-feed system eliminates the need to bump the trimmer against the ground every time the line breaks. And the 30-foot, factory-wound spool is easy to install and replace.
Average Customer Rating:
4.382 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation84%46 out of 55reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

AMAZING

05/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Black and Decker Grass Hog, where have you been the past 5 years of my life?! I'm NEVER buying Weed Eater brand again!
Suffice it to say that this product is more than worth the money. I have a smallish yard, but could actually do the whole yard with this without a mower. This trimmer cut through some fern that we've been unable to get even the mower to cut, let alone my old Weed Eater wouldn't even touch it and would shut down instead. This one cut through it like it was nothing. I actually enjoyed doing the job with it as it's so light weight and user-friendly. My husband is outside right now just to play with it a bit, and it's nearly impossible with the old one to get him to even touch it.
Make sure you follow the directions and wear eye protection if you have a lot or tall stuff to weed. It has quite some power, and does throw it out and up, even with the large guard.
Needless to say, I will be recommending this to all my friends and family. THANK YOU BLACK AND DECKER!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

Better then expected

06/12/2008
By ,
Highland Village, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for the value, but I would recommend it based on performance. It rocks! I was especially surprised how well it edges. Easy to use, very light and comfortable, plenty of power to get through all kinds of growth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

An Excellent Value

03/07/2009
By ,
Zebulon, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit, I'm biased. Every B&D product I've ever owned has far exceeded expectations. I started out by reading all the reviews on trimmers/edgers this morning, because I needed to buy one specifically to cut down all the border grass around my and my neighbor's properties. I bought this one because I wanted quiet operation, power for tough jobs, and something that would last a few years. Well, I just spent about 5 hours outdoors working the daylights out of this thing, and it's just great! The auto-feed is perfect - no bumping! Can't wait til something grows up so I have to use it again. This would be worth twice what they're asking for it. Go For It!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

Expectations surpassed!

03/29/2010
By ,
Waxahachie Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this trimmer today. Pulled it out of box
put it together in under 5 minutes, was using it in ten minutes!. It slice through a weed that was about 12 inches tall like it was butter. I read a review about the cord comming unplugged. I bought a package of 3 8 inch extention cords for use with power adapters to plug in power strips and plastic tie straps. Secured the cord. Works great.
Thank you for all your reviews. They were the deciding factor. I am glad I listened to you guys.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

Amazingly Impressed

07/01/2010
By ,
oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was doubtful of buying a electric weedeater my mother has a ryobi and i hated it, the power on it was very weak. I do not want the hassles of gas weedeaters anymore, based on reviews i bought this one. All i can say is WOW.
in 5 minutes we had it snapped together, and i used it for the first time today. very very powerful to cut the tuffest of weeds. when you have the trigger pulled all the way in, it is strong enough to chip the skirting of a mobile home ( i know i did). It also moved gravel around that was in my flower bed (pretty good size chunks of driveway gravel). Since i never used one i had to play with the trigger to get use to what speed i needed but i love it.
The cord did come out on me a few times but it is a corded weedeater its the price to pay im sure there is a way to keep it from coming out, but it did not bother the performance any.
All around it is a good weedeater and i wold buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

its ok

05/12/2009
By ,
texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this thing seems like itll hold up for a while. we've owned it for a few months and it does a good job. 2 problems though...1st is the part where the extension cord plugs in...its ALWAYS falling out. ive figured out just wrapping the extension cord around the neck of the weedeater fixes this problem. 2nd is the string feeder. its ALWAYS getting tangled. i'll go half way down the sidewalk and i have to stop and fix it. SO annoying. otherwise good buy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

Problem prone

07/01/2010
By ,
Asheville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The automatic line feed doesn't appear to work on my unit. I have to stop every couple of minutes to remove the cap, feed out some extra line, and then put the cap back on to continue.
This may be partially my fault since the line spool came loose allowing a bunch of line to unwind. I carefully rewound the line but may have not done something right. Still, at this point, the unit is barely satisfactory so that is the way I am rating it.
It is unfair to the product to either recommend it or not recommend it due to not enough use but the review system won't let me leave that section blank.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

parts out of reach

06/06/2009
By ,
Houston,Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've owned this product for a while, wonderful, except cannot finds parts when needed. Gone to Home Depot and Lowe's no parts,Not the one I need, which is the housing part, the part where the spoil set in. So i can not use the trimmer until then.
Need to provide housing unit in store which can wear out in time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

DOESN'T HOLD UP

04/23/2009
By ,
Springfield, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PRODUCT DID NOT EVEN LAST A SUMMER. BECAME OVERHEATED, SMOKED AND SEIZED UP. WISH I HAD NOT BOUGHT MULTIPLE SPOOLS OF LINE.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

doesn't feed line well

06/14/2009
By ,
oklahoma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this last year to replace the weed eater brand bump advance one i had for 5 years after it quit working. I don't like this trimmer. The line always gets stuck and doesn't advance properly (a problem I never had with my weed eater), and I even tried the factory wound line thinking I was winding it wrong...I wasn't, it's the trimmer. I do like the fact that the head rotates and not the handle, much easier, however that does not make up for the problem of the line not advancing correctly. I am currently online looking for a replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

Very Cheap but Works GREAT!

05/16/2010
By ,
Upper Marlboro, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this from the store to trim around my landscaping and my walkway. My nephew used it today and he cut my backyard, trimmed out my landscaping edges and trimmed my walkway. He was very impressed with it and said it worked better than the more expensive gas trimmers. He said this item was a 10.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

Powerful light weight trimmer,edger

12/03/2008
By ,
Rutledge,Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Light weight and easy to use. I am 66 yrs. young and I have no problem using it. Does a great job. I only got to use it twice before winter weather set in. But I really liked it. You can't go wrong if you buy it. Love the automatic line despence no more taping to get more line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

Long Time User

08/22/2010
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used a Grass Hog for 8 years and it never failed me. I bought another one for my daughter.It does a cleaner, better job than when a professional does my yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

Great but buy line in bulk

05/29/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like it alot and love not having to bump to feed, but was very surprised at how quickly I run out of line.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

Auto feed for edging is a bust!

08/16/2010
By ,
Central Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price is great, weed eating function is great, but the edging feature is a bust. It appears the auto line feed feature only allows the line to come out about 3" from the spool which is not far enough to "edge" using the edge guard along a sidewalk or curb. I tried numerous times...the only way to get a deeper cut was to retract the edge guard and manually edge your sidewalks. Retracting the edge guard allows you to lower the trimmer closer to the ground, but now you are trying to edge a straight line with no guide. The auto line feature actually has room to feed the line out 6" before it hits the line cutter blade; so, not sure why it doesn't feed out past 3". I'm taking it back to WalMart tomorrow and finding a manual/bump type line feed weed eater!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

Great Product BUT......

08/15/2009
By ,
Central California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this same model before. This morning it totally broke where the length adjustment is done. I was very happy with the product so, off I go to WalMart to get another. During assembly I noticed that the upper handle would not assemble properly. There is a black spacer used to grip the main tube for stability of the handle. It was impossible to use this spacer so I assembled it without it. The handle is not as secure as it could be but it will work. I noticed that I had installed the handle on my old one the same way, probably for the same reason. It makes on wonder if the mfrs ever assemble and us any of their products themselves. Overall, the product works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

My Review

08/19/2010
By ,
Wilmington, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the product, especially for the price. The only thing that REALLY frustrated me was the way the instructions were laid out. I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to put the thing together. The diagrams were counter-intuitive and didn't match up to the pictures. It was very confusing. I kept having to look at the box to see the picture of how the guy was using it. When I finally figured out how to use if correctly, it worked great! I'm happy with it. But, honestly, I've only used it once. But, I worked with long, thick, high, heavy weeds. It cut right through really fast and efficiently.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

Grass Hog

07/12/2010
By ,
Oden, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have previously used this type of trimmer and really liked it. The motor in my other one finally burned out. It was about 5 years old. I got it from a friend. I have used it all around the house and five out buildings. As well as our patio area which is about 1,000 sq feet. So it has done it's job. I am well pleased with the Black And Decker Grass Hog 14" trimmer. I also saved money by getting it on line instead of going to a Walmart store. Thanks .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

Best Electric Today

06/03/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the years, I have owned electric and gas trimmers of various sizes. This trimmer gives you electric instant-on convenience with nearly the power of smaller gas trimmers. If you have the typical modest residential lot and Bermuda that you keep in reasonable condition, this is all the trimmer you'll need. If your lot is bigger and you keep a nice assortment of weeds, you'll want the portability of gas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker Grasshog 14"4.8-Amp Electric Trimmer/Edger

looks gd. but!!

07/15/2009
By ,
central il.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
after charging 48 hr. before using 1st. time, the battery lasted about 13 min.. will try to return today for gas trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next