Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Make the most of your favorite movies and shows with high-definition 3D sound and Crystal Amp Plus. Browse movies, shows, the Internet, apps and even get recommendations on what to watch. A simple interface lets you stream music, videos and photos from your compatible smartphone or tablet.
Average Customer Rating:
3.905 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation81%17 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

No wireless rear speakers as described in store

12/01/2013
By ,
Allen, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this system for my mother to complement her new Samsung 55 inch HDTV which has 3d but no smart features.
The 2nd phrase in the store description placard for this theater system said "wireless rear speakers", which is a must for her installation. However, upon opening the box, I discovered that the rear speakers must be connected with wires to the Blu-ray unit and are NOT wireless.
So, I must return it.
That's a shame, because it is supposed to have great sound and nice features according to almost all of the 40 or so reviews I read.
By the way, here are answers to some questions others asked:
1. The included Blu-ray player also plays CD's and DVD's.
2. It has an FM radio tuner built in.
3. It does not include HDMI, optical audio, or RCA audio cables. You must furnish your own.
4. Besides the HDMI and optical audio inputs, it also has RCA auxiliary audio inputs #1 red and 1 white.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+20points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jacksonville Beach
Wireless connection..
Posted 12/01/2013
Does anyone know a model with these same features & components but that the speakers truly do connect wirelessly?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

User friendly, interactive system

07/27/2013
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third attempt in finding an effective home theatre and I am happy to say that my search is over. With the quick installation guide I took no more than 20 minutes to install. The color coded speakers and wires simplifies the set up. Of the three options given to the consumer, I found that the third option (using only HDMI wires) was the simplest method of installing the system. All the features of the home theatre system pay for itself. The only downfall was the poor customer service; the call support is useless, they don't seem very well trained and because of that they have a poor understanding of their product. However I can't complain, Samsung has impressed me with its innovativeness and affordability. I will update my review the following month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+20points
Review 3 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Network Chip issue - Newegg sells refurbished

12/13/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm a tech buff, was very excited getting it, rather easy setup, connected easily to our wireless router, started watching Netflix... after 5-10 minutes into watching, the network connection to the wireless router is broken... the system lost the network information to connect to the router, sometimes it just loses connectivity, network password is still stored, but you have to manually reconnect it to the router.
Looking up Samsung for the product manual, that page is not found and it's marked as 'Support Product Only'. Googling it a bit more, I find that Newegg sells it as refurbished product. I suspect because of this 'bug', but no info to be found.
Other than that, it's a fine system. So, if you don't plan on using any internet connectivity features of that system, just use it as TV/DVD/Tuner/etc. it's fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Great buy!

08/23/2013
By ,
Cedar Park, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I had been trying to improve the sound forever and had purchased and returned two other systems that wouldn't give us full volume while watching cable. This system is budget friendly and has amazing sound. We are both technically challenged but this was super easy to install and it did a LOT more than we ever expected. Highly recommend. It has 1 HDMI in and 1 HDMI out which was what we ended up using rather than the optical.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Sound system does a good job

01/19/2014
By ,
North Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Everything works as it should and is easy to set up. If you have a router, this unit makes it easy to download from the internet any upgrades. Same brand as my TV so they share common remote features. Speaker wires attach at back of unit and are color coded to make it easier (like the majority of this type and aren't real tight as the old style RCA type plugs). But they work fine, just treat-em gentle. Unit does a good job for surround sound and even playing music for our small living room. I gave it a three because I believe it too be over priced (as most things are these days). But on the other side of that coin, you would have to spend a lot more money to get better. So I would buy it all over again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Very Good Value for the money

12/08/2013
By ,
Riverside, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this system for my 65" Samsung LED TV. The system has been in use for just a few days. It was fairly easy to set up. It serves as a replacement for a SONY system (4 yrs old), which is being connected back to 55" SONY LCD TV, it came with. I consider it a very good value for the money. The quality of sound and product itself, seems a notch lower than the SONY system, it has replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

awesome

12/15/2013
By ,
madisonville, tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great price 278$, awesome sound for gaming(xbox), movies and radio. its so loud that i cant turn the volume up more than 20 out of 50!! it rattles the whole building. i will definately recommend!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Some Missing Specs

11/29/2013
By ,
South Bay Area, No. California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those who are wondering, as I was, this system has 1000 Watts total power output, and apparently includes the Samsung BD-F5900 3D Blu-Ray DVD player. So, with Wireless Rear speakers included, I'd have to say it's a pretty cool bundle, altogether!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System
09/08/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good unit!! Works good, ample sound, no [problems. I recommend this unit to anyone wanting good home theater.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Awesome all the Way Around

09/02/2013
By ,
Stockton, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this about a month ago, and I love it! Great HD video and sound!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 11 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

great product from samsung

12/29/2013
By ,
monroe, la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this system for my bedroom and all i can say is wow... easy to setup. sound is very good for the little speakers. had a little issue with the apps saying not available but cleared it up. playback is very good as well. if youre looking for a small system and not too much on the wallet i say get this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Samsung Ht Fm53 5 1 Channel Home

12/07/2013
By ,
Placerville, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awesome sound quality; Since I have TiVo & Roku as well, was & is a problem in working/linking my electronic systems together... takes a bit of concentration, however, the Samsung Ht Fm53 5 1 Channel Home is the Best system (we are lower income) we now have!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

This system is powerful

09/04/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took the first unit back thinking it was defective but it wasn't. I needed two HDMI cable to connect the unit to my television. The one HDMI goes from the receiver to the television and the other is output from the television to my receiver. Once I I figured this out this system works flawlessly. I recommend this home theater system. It has a FM tuner, open web browser, bluetooth connectivity, wireless wifi connectivity and an included blue ray player. Great combo deal. The internet browser takes some getting used to but it is pretty smooth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 14 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

GREAT SOUND EASY TO INSTALL

10/13/2013
By ,
NORWICH CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THE OPTION OF STREAMING MOVIES FROM REDBOX OR NETFLIX AND THE SAMSUNG SMART TV HUB
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Good system for average living area

09/26/2013
By ,
Plano, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good system for average living area. Wanted wireless rear speakers but didn't want to spend the extra money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Great product, sounds and looks amazing.

12/16/2013
By ,
Port St Lucie, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this home theater, my TV is a Samsung as well, I do not know if that plays a roll on this device being so good. Great sound, wireless wifi works great. The only downside is that the holes on the back speaker are very small and the speaker mounts do not fit on it even with the adapter. After a little adjusting on my husband part, he made the speaker mounts work for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Great Home Theater with Great Sound....

12/09/2013
By ,
RIDGECREST/CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my First Home theater and Soud is amazing and what I Want......
Not satisfy with ONLY one APP in the Smart player and i.e Web browser... It is too slow...
And if you have KEYBORD for enter any thing then its easy otherwise its time taking for find letter with remote keys!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Nightmare!!!

12/27/2013
By ,
Dothan AL.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried to set it up on Christmas Day. Ran into a snag trying to get online. After Samsung tech support hung up on me TWICE, ONLY after (of course) being on hold around 10 minuets each time, I decided to contact my internet provider. After close to an hour of being on being hold, as well as being hung up on twice by them as well, I called Samsung one last time! FINALLY they hook me up with someone who could help! Only to find out after around 25 mins. of troubleshooting, the unit was BROKEN!!!! Should've known better... Seeing as I have a Samsung Stratasphere phone which ALSO STINKS!!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Review 19 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Not capatiable with all TVs !!!!

11/16/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this system and it would not play a picture on one of my TVs! For some odd reason it wasn't compatible with the flat screen in the living room no matter what I tried or used yet had no problems with a TV in another room! Very disappointed and Samsung customer service was as useless as can be! Ended up bringing it back to Walmart and exchanged it for the Sony BDVE2100 which had no problems and works like a dream... after all I saved $30 seeing it was cheaper than the Samsung brand
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Review 20 for Samsung Ht-Fm53 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Going to return to Walmart.

02/02/2014
By ,
Truckee,CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor quality speakers. Going for the Samsung Bar
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next