Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

The Samsung HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer is a sleek way to project quality sound throughout the room. Audio from music and movies sounds crisp and clear thanks to the 120W speaker. It works with Bluetooth so it can stream music wirelessly from compatible devices. A bracket is included so you can mount the bar to the wall, saving space and optimizing sound projection. This unit makes a powerful addition to your Samsung home theater system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.812 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation78%25 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great Soundbar, Good Price, but use digital input

01/21/2014
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this soundbar to use with a 50" LED. I had tried a few others including one made by Boston Acoustics(TVee 10) and had been disappointed with them. The volume was much too low for them to be worth using, at best they added a little rumble. Then I saw this system and decided to give it a try. I'm very glad I did. This system can produce wonderful sound clarity and range. The volume is rather loud in our living room. We typically keep the volume around 18-24 and the max is 50.
Some have said the volume doesn't go high enough. I would guess they didn't use a the digital input. I noticed that if I hook up the same TV to this bar via the RCA jacks(red and white 2 channel) the sound volume is lower at the same setting, also the quality suffers. So if you want optimal performance I suggest you spend another $10.00 and get an optical tosslink cable and use it to connect your TV. Setting up the Digital processing features and selecting a sound preset(Music, Drama, Movie, Sports, etc) and 3D surround setting to match will enhance and/or improve the sound quality under some conditions also. Overall after trying a few soundbars, this seems to be about the best you can find under $200.00. If you are willing to spend $300-400 you can get a much better bar, but that is 2x the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 2 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer

12/16/2013
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is the first home theater system I've purchased and it is far and away better than my TV's speakers. It comes with a sound bar and a subwoofer and I was able to set it up in minutes. The speakers bring a depth and clarity to your TV's sound that you never thought possible. Easy to use and works best with an optical cable (not included). Using this hookup option, you will be able power on the sound system with your TV (Samsung brand and not all of them; see online manual to check your particulars), which makes things a bit easier. Even without this cable, it's still a great product. Recommended to those wanting to upgrade your TV sound on a budget!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 3 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Unbelievable Value/product.

12/14/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this sound bar because I was tired of the room my surround sound system was taking up, not to mention all of the wires that show. My surround sound has 5 speakers and a subwoofer, which sound awesome. Once I set this sound bar on, I was amazed. It astonishes me that one bar can throw sound like it does. I absolutely LOVE this!! I would've gotten one sooner but luckily, since I waited until Black Friday, I got this for $98 +Free S&H :) VERY PLEASED!! A+++++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Nice review!
Posted 02/27/2014
Did you hook-up using RCA jacks or Optical cable jacks? If you have a choice what hook-up gives the best performance?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

It's a good product for the money

02/19/2014
By ,
Mobile, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This sound bar is not state of the art, but it's a good value. The sound quality is good, much fuller than the TV speakers. It's not Bose-quality by any means, but you have to pay more for that. Bottom line, you won't feel like you're in a movie theater, but you will have pretty good sound with a small footprint and easy setup.
It was easy to set up, but not everything you needed came in the box. The mounting bracket for the sound bar was included, but screws to attach the bracket to the wall were not. (odd, but not a big deal) It came with an AV-type cable to connect to the TV but not an optical audio cable. This would not have been a big deal had I known about it in time to buy a low cost cable online. My local Walmart didn't carry the cable, so I ended up paying too much for one at an electronics store. Without the cable snafu, it would have probably taken about 30 min to mount and connect.
We specifically bought a Samsung sound bar because we thought it would interact better with our Samsung TV. Our TV is two years old so the enhanced connectivity with the sound bar does not work, disappointingly. You need a very new TV for the TV and sound bar to seamlessly integrate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great Product

12/10/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product.. Super easy to connect and use. My only complaint (if you would call it that) is that when you hit the mute on the TV, it doesnt mute the soundbar at the same time. You have to hit the mute for both tv and bar..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FlyOverStates
Posted 01/15/2014
What brand and model of TV are you using this with?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

very good sound.

03/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the fact that it is very compact in size, yet produces a clear un-distorted sound. The added bonus of a sub-woofer makes for a nice system, for a very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 7 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

OK FOR 32" TV

11/15/2013
By ,
CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like to watch good horror movies cause sound effect are good , sound bar is good but the subwoofer did not deliver that boom we like to hear
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 8 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Value Soundbar for a bedroom or small room

09/24/2013
By ,
Hampton, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Just purchased this unit and was simple to hook up. It does not have an HDMI connection, and the included RCA's are way to short for hanging the unit on the wall. Also there is no center hole in the wall hanging bracket, so you have to drill a small hole above or below to feed your wires through the wall. The sound is adequate for a bedroom and the bass is not going to shake the walls but is better than the TV's sound. The cool factor is the Bluetooth. I played audio from my droid and it was impressive. All in all it is a decent upgrade from your TV speakers, and is a good deal for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

good sound bar for bedroom only!!!!

12/11/2013
By ,
mcallen tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the sound bar is not loud enough for a living room what makes it not be loud enough is the subwoofer is very quite u do hear deeper thump to the sounds but not loud enough to tell a difference from the tvs regular speaker once i placed it in a smaller enclosed room able to hear and feel the vibration a bit more better
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 10 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Money well spent

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It improved the quality and quantity of my tv's audio immensely. Sound bar has different settings for various types of programs. Only negative is that is doesn't come with a digital optical cable for installation. You may have to go into your tv's audio settings and switch to external speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 11 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great Product for Price

02/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This definitely improved the sound quality with our TV and without going broke on a home, stereo system. Some pros I'd like to highlight:
- Easy setup and quality build.
- The sound effects are nice, such as Music, News, etc.
- Nice integration with my existing Samsung TV.
- A subwoofer was nice add-on for the price.
- Bluetooth works nice, though I have to turn off my Wi-Fi on my phone, but that could just be an issue with my specific phone make/model (not Samsung).
There are a few problems/issues I'd like to highlight though:
- There is no Digital Cable contained in the packaging, so you will have to buy one separate.
- Some of the sound options have too much echo built in to the sound. A little for the Cinema effect, for example, is nice, but this goes a bit too far.
- In the beginning, my TV was having some static issues with the sound bar being near it, in front of it on my TV stand with several inches between it and the TV. It went away after turning the TV off and on a few times and I have yet to see the issue again. I recently rearranged my setup and the sound bar is no longer as close to my TV as it was and on a different shelf now.
Overall, I'd recommend to some who is looking to get better audio than their TV speakers for a good price, with the option of playing music from their phone via bluetooth.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 12 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

did not even unpack order. Made mistake in order.

05/29/2014
By ,
Las Cruces, Nm
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Did not use!!!! Ordered by mistake. Returned immediately, upon receipt.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
-7points
Review 13 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

The bar works good, the subwoofer is useless.

04/26/2013
By ,
Hartsville, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No "woof" comes out of the subwoofer, even when on full blast. It was like it was not even on. We can't understand how a Samsung product could perform so poorly. It is going back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Make sure you attach the Thermite clip to the sub
Posted 05/25/2013
As per the instructions attach the grey thermite clip to the subwoofer cable by looping it through the middle twice before clipping it shut. I did this and the sub was twice as good after I added it. Also use 3d mode music or movie to make it sound the best.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

So So

05/03/2013
By ,
Ft. Worth, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would I recommend this product? It depends on what they want. If all they want is some boost to their TV sound, then this product is for them. On 3D mode and the woofer turned up all the way they will get a boost to their TV sound, but that is about all. We have a lovely 55" Smart Samsung TV (which we love) so we decided to boost its sound with a Samsung sound bar. This particular bar did boost the sound, but not by much. The sub woofer is sub par. We've used the bar for about two weeks and I am thinking of returning it. I want "boost" but a little more "boost" than what this delivers. Also, be prepared to use two remotes -- one for the TV and one for the sound. I was not able to integrate the sound remote into the TV remote. Perhaps there is a trick to it that I don't know. Also, there are four sound modes which I found somewhat useless. The 3D setting is a fifth mode which we like the best. It is clear, loud, and the woofer comes through the best in that mode. I may be spoiled as far as sound goes, though, because I have an older 6.1 Onkyo system that I didn't want the TV tied into it because that system can blast you out of the house when it's on and the TV is up against the bedroom wall. My wonderful DH retires early and he would be able to hear the TV through the wall if the TV was plugged into the Onkyo system. So, currently I am debating as to whether to return the Samsung sound bar and try another one. The problem is I don't want to spend a lot more money on this thing, and perhaps at this price point this Samsung one may be as good as it gets -- don't know.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 15 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

It's going back . . . I expected more

12/09/2013
By ,
Toms River, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As another reviewer stated, the sub is worthless. The sound bar is clear, but not particularly strong, seems week. It never hit that "sweet spot", the part of your favorite song that makes it your favorite song.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Good price, but not good sound

04/07/2014
By ,
Kingsville, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My old soundboard stopped working and I decided to go with a Samsung and was disappointed. I upgraded from a 4 year old Vizio VSB20 and was very disappointed with the sound quality coming from the Samsung.
If it's on sale, buy it. If not, don't bother.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Unit overheats poor tech support

05/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shuts down after 10 to 20 minutes of use due to over heating problems. Tech support was of no use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 18 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Worth it for the price

02/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Must use with an optical cable though. Order one on ebay I did for 8 bucks and im telling you the sound is so much better than the rc cables. Definitely a good sound bar but i would say for a bed room or possibly small living room
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 19 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

awesome value

12/16/2013
By ,
st louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great for my small bedroom. great sound and value. I was able to hide the wires through the wall to a walk in closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Nice

04/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next