Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Samsung SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

The Samsung HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer is a sleek way to project quality sound throughout the room. Audio from music and movies sounds crisp and clear thanks to the 120W speaker. It works with Bluetooth so it can stream music wirelessly from compatible devices. A bracket is included so you can mount the bar to the wall, saving space and optimizing sound projection. This unit makes a powerful addition to your Samsung home theater system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation78%35 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 62 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great Soundbar, Good Price, but use digital input

01/21/2014
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this soundbar to use with a 50" LED. I had tried a few others including one made by Boston Acoustics(TVee 10) and had been disappointed with them. The volume was much too low for them to be worth using, at best they added a little rumble. Then I saw this system and decided to give it a try. I'm very glad I did. This system can produce wonderful sound clarity and range. The volume is rather loud in our living room. We typically keep the volume around 18-24 and the max is 50.
Some have said the volume doesn't go high enough. I would guess they didn't use a the digital input. I noticed that if I hook up the same TV to this bar via the RCA jacks(red and white 2 channel) the sound volume is lower at the same setting, also the quality suffers. So if you want optimal performance I suggest you spend another $10.00 and get an optical tosslink cable and use it to connect your TV. Setting up the Digital processing features and selecting a sound preset(Music, Drama, Movie, Sports, etc) and 3D surround setting to match will enhance and/or improve the sound quality under some conditions also. Overall after trying a few soundbars, this seems to be about the best you can find under $200.00. If you are willing to spend $300-400 you can get a much better bar, but that is 2x the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Substandard Sound

02/27/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The quality of the sound is not as crisp as I expected. The subwoofer is barely noticeable when turned all the way up. Also when playing in conjunction with TV speakers it creates an echo effect instead of a stereo or surround sound. I prefer my TV's amplify sound to the dull non stereo sound produced by the sound bar.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great for TV, mediocre for music

12/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This soundbar sounds much better than any TV speakers could sound. The sub is small but sounds good. I use it with a Samsung TV that uses soundshare and it works flawlessly and the only wires are for electricity and the sub.
It connected easily via bluetooth to an iPhone but the sound is okay, not excellent. On music it sounds like a small speaker (which it is) TV and movies sound great though.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Worth the Money

01/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Before I get into the review portion, I want to say this first. DO NOT buy this system unless you plan on purchasing a Digital Optical cable. It DOES NOT come with one. It does come with a a/v cable but, most newer TV's can not accommodate. I bought one from Walmart.com for less than $2. :)
Not the most powerful system I've owned but, glad I have it for now while living with the in-laws. It's sits right in front of our 55" Samsung Smart TV and is barely noticeable. I haven't had a chance to crank the volume all the way up but, so far I like what I hear. There are different modes like Movie, Music, Drama etc so, make sure to try each one to get the best sound for what you're watching. There is a 3D sound mode but, I can't really tell a difference whether it's on or off. I do like the fact that you can adjust the sub separately from the main volume controls. One word of advice on the SUB, don't set it right up against the wall. There's a speaker on the back side and it needs some "breathing" room. I've already tried out the Bluetooth feature and it is very easy to use. Just sync with your Bluetooth device and set the bar to BT and you're good to go! My only complaint so far is, the remote is a bit bulky for such a simple system. At the time of this post, the price list is $138 but, if you keep checking back, you should be able to get it for cheaper like I did ($99). There ARE better systems out there but, if you're on a budget like me, this is a good buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Perfect sound for medium size room

01/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plug and play with new Samsung smart TV. Sound is great. WIFI a plus. Great product for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Money well spent

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It improved the quality and quantity of my tv's audio immensely. Sound bar has different settings for various types of programs. Only negative is that is doesn't come with a digital optical cable for installation. You may have to go into your tv's audio settings and switch to external speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

It's a good product for the money

02/19/2014
By ,
Mobile, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This sound bar is not state of the art, but it's a good value. The sound quality is good, much fuller than the TV speakers. It's not Bose-quality by any means, but you have to pay more for that. Bottom line, you won't feel like you're in a movie theater, but you will have pretty good sound with a small footprint and easy setup.
It was easy to set up, but not everything you needed came in the box. The mounting bracket for the sound bar was included, but screws to attach the bracket to the wall were not. (odd, but not a big deal) It came with an AV-type cable to connect to the TV but not an optical audio cable. This would not have been a big deal had I known about it in time to buy a low cost cable online. My local Walmart didn't carry the cable, so I ended up paying too much for one at an electronics store. Without the cable snafu, it would have probably taken about 30 min to mount and connect.
We specifically bought a Samsung sound bar because we thought it would interact better with our Samsung TV. Our TV is two years old so the enhanced connectivity with the sound bar does not work, disappointingly. You need a very new TV for the TV and sound bar to seamlessly integrate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Unbelievable Value/product.

12/14/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this sound bar because I was tired of the room my surround sound system was taking up, not to mention all of the wires that show. My surround sound has 5 speakers and a subwoofer, which sound awesome. Once I set this sound bar on, I was amazed. It astonishes me that one bar can throw sound like it does. I absolutely LOVE this!! I would've gotten one sooner but luckily, since I waited until Black Friday, I got this for $98 +Free S&H :) VERY PLEASED!! A+++++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Nice review!
Posted 02/27/2014
Did you hook-up using RCA jacks or Optical cable jacks? If you have a choice what hook-up gives the best performance?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

I love it!!

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its awesome!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

very good sound.

03/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the fact that it is very compact in size, yet produces a clear un-distorted sound. The added bonus of a sub-woofer makes for a nice system, for a very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Sound bar

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice sound.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

This product is a joke

01/10/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just got back from returning the sound bar to get another one, and it doesn't work either. Both boxes had been opened and re-sold as new. I will be returning this as soon as WalMart opens in the morning.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer

12/16/2013
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is the first home theater system I've purchased and it is far and away better than my TV's speakers. It comes with a sound bar and a subwoofer and I was able to set it up in minutes. The speakers bring a depth and clarity to your TV's sound that you never thought possible. Easy to use and works best with an optical cable (not included). Using this hookup option, you will be able power on the sound system with your TV (Samsung brand and not all of them; see online manual to check your particulars), which makes things a bit easier. Even without this cable, it's still a great product. Recommended to those wanting to upgrade your TV sound on a budget!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

leaves much to be desired

12/23/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the sound is horrible. It has very little bass response.the subwoofer is wired, which in this day and age should be no nonsense to have it Wireless.
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Very surprised

12/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought both my sons one of these for their bedrooms, they sound great ,was easy to set up , takes up minimal space for the sound it puts out. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone that is looking for good sound at a reasonable price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

OK FOR 32" TV

11/15/2013
By ,
CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like to watch good horror movies cause sound effect are good , sound bar is good but the subwoofer did not deliver that boom we like to hear
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Value Soundbar for a bedroom or small room

09/24/2013
By ,
Hampton, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Just purchased this unit and was simple to hook up. It does not have an HDMI connection, and the included RCA's are way to short for hanging the unit on the wall. Also there is no center hole in the wall hanging bracket, so you have to drill a small hole above or below to feed your wires through the wall. The sound is adequate for a bedroom and the bass is not going to shake the walls but is better than the TV's sound. The cool factor is the Bluetooth. I played audio from my droid and it was impressive. All in all it is a decent upgrade from your TV speakers, and is a good deal for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Low end sound bar

12/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The sound while watching TV is a little better than the speakers in the TV. The sound is much better when streaming music from my ipad. I have a Panasonic Plasma, and I am disappointed that I can't control the volume with my TV/DISH remote. I wouldn't purchase this sound bar unless I had a newer Samsung TV that can take advantage of soundshare.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

awesome value

12/16/2013
By ,
st louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great for my small bedroom. great sound and value. I was able to hide the wires through the wall to a walk in closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SAMSUNG HW-FM35 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

The bar works good, the subwoofer is useless.

04/26/2013
By ,
Hartsville, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No "woof" comes out of the subwoofer, even when on full blast. It was like it was not even on. We can't understand how a Samsung product could perform so poorly. It is going back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Make sure you attach the Thermite clip to the sub
Posted 05/25/2013
As per the instructions attach the grey thermite clip to the subwoofer cable by looping it through the middle twice before clipping it shut. I did this and the sub was twice as good after I added it. Also use 3d mode music or movie to make it sound the best.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next