Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Generic SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

The SYLVANIA Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player is fully compatible with DVD, DVD+/-R/RW, MP3 and JPEG.
Average Customer Rating:
3.091 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation64%14 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 15 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

You Get What You Pay For!

07/07/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am so disappointed with the Sylvania DVD Media Player. The price was fantastic and my family and I were going on a 1300 mile road trip and I purchased this to keep the toddlers entertained. It worked great for the trip to the destination. The only problem is that we have to return and now we have to purchase a new system because the player randomly "died". Thinking it might be the movie that was currently in the player that was causing the problem, I changed the movie and....nothing.
Considering this DVD player was $40....I guess you get what you pay for.
My suggestion is pay more and get a player that is more reliable and will last.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Perfect for my 6 yr old!

03/02/2014
By ,
Taberg, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 6 yr old to use on long car trips. It was easy enough for her to use w/o help and the price was good. The screen swivels around to fold flat making it easier to hold w/o accidentally hitting any buttons. FYI- when charging make sure the off/on switch is off or it won't charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Very good for the price!

05/29/2013
By ,
Conroe,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to keep my granddaughter occupied on a six hour car trip and to use in hotel room! It kept our trip from becoming frustrating! Walmart was the only place I could find a portable dvd player! it was easy to use and came with everything you needed for a roadtrip including the cable to hook it up to tv!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Good choice for an older child

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought it for two younger children because it was cheap and durable. I would recommend for an older child because of the volume control which is tricky for an adult to master. I do like it , the picture is good, it seems like it is a good value for the price. The battery life could be longer, but I was aware of that when I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Don't Bother!

07/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item the first time for my five year old granddaughter to watch movies during an 18 hour trip. The screen would not even come on to play from minute one from opening the box; all we got were burned in lines across it. After driving a couple of states, we returned it and exchanged it for another. The second one would turn on and then stop playing seconds into the movie. Needless to say, it was a LONG car ride. These things obviously were poorly manufactured with no quality control standards in place. Don't even attempt to purchase this item!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Bought 2, 1 did not work

09/02/2014
By ,
Brockton, MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased 2 of these, 1 did not work. Tried to return to Walmart couple weeks later, told had to go through the manufacturer as over return period for electronics. Now have to pay to ship item and for item insurance. Even though I bought the protection plan! Not covered until warranty runs out. Overall not happy. The one that works is okay, cheaply made product. What do you want for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Great DVD player, but controls are hard to use.

03/24/2014
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The battery life seams a little short. Controls for volume and navigation are not as easy to use as other models I have used. On the plus side, the swivel feature works great, and as long as you plan ahead the device will have enough charge for one movie. If you forget it isn't to bad having it plugged in while driving.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

2 ports didn't work

05/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The AV output port did not work. The USB port recognized the drive, but could not find the movies that were on it, so maybe it does not read MP4 like it claimed to. Without these, I simply returned the device the very next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Cheap but good

04/22/2014
By ,
Ville Platte, Louisiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The only problem with this little player is that the volume can`t be turned up very loud, I guess because it is low wattage or amps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Excellent Product for the money

07/06/2013
By ,
Topeka, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the fact that it came with every kind of adapter imaginable. That meant my daughter could watch in the car without me having to get a new charger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Just what we were looking for!

09/12/2013
By ,
Mass
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had a long road trip and a 2year old. This kept him entertained and the ride stress free. Great deal for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player
08/08/2013
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works better then you would think for the price. The sound doesn't get real loud but worked well with headphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

hated it

06/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I didn't care for this products. I returned it after buying this for my dughter. The buttons were to confusing and it didn't come with a car charger were I use it the most. No remote and there was not a clear picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Bought 2, both stopped working

08/07/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My son is almost 6 & had the same dvd player for several years & it finally died so we bought the sylvania dvd player. The first one stopped working after 3 weeks so we took it back....by the way sylvania customer support is a joke! They wanted us to pay $7 to ship it to them to repair. We got a 2nd sylvania dvd player & it quit working after a couple of hours. Both had the same issue...you put a dvd in & it says no disc. We tried multiple discs & rebooting...still nothing. Worst dvd player I've ever owned!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Great investment!

11/14/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this item for my grandson and he loves it .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Feel apart after 1 use

07/30/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This feel apart after one use. The entire board inside of the player shifted to where it was no longer functional. Was returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Very Good DVD Palyer

07/30/2013
By ,
Mount Vernon, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DVD player. We love this dvd player so much, my teenage daughter wants one for herself. It's great value. We love, love the fact that it hooks up to the TV and it comes with all plugs and even an adapter for the car. You cant go wrong with this purchase. Good sound, great quality picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

Doesn't work

12/29/2013
By ,
Clinton, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible! Turned on but would not play dvds. Returned for a similar Phillips brand that works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

OK for occasional use

01/09/2014
By ,
Manassas, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this for our three and a half year old grandson to watch videos in the car. It's a good little player with one HUGE drawback - it doesn't have a way to attach it to the back of the headrest! Our grandson had to hold the unit whilst watching which is not easy for a little one to do for any length of time.
Seriously considering returning this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SYLVANIA SDVD7040 Premium 7" Portable DVD/Media Player

It just Ok

01/02/2014
By ,
youngstown, oh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is DVD player i bought for my daughter. I work fine but sound is not loud. For this price is ok. But if you can spend put more money for better than this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next