Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

The Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Coffee Maker (47950) has all the winning features of a BrewStation Coffee Maker, with a removable water reservoir. We've made brewing a full 12-cups of coffee even easier with the latest addition to our line of BrewStation Coffee Makers. A removable-reservoir means no pouring and no spilling. Simply fill the reservoir to the desired level, place on the base and brew. This Silver/Black Dispensing Coffee Maker dispenses one fresh cup at a time. Just press your cup or travel mug on the dispensing bar and fill. There's no carafe to spill or break and no hot plate to scorch your coffee's flavor. A gentle warming heater keeps unused coffee tasting fresh for up to four hours. Customizable brew settings include bold, regular, small batch and a new dedicated program for brewing iced coffee on this Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Coffee Maker (47950).
Average Customer Rating:
3.815 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(200 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
100
4 stars
41
3 stars
12
2 stars
16
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation76%152 out of 200reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 162 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
100
4 stars
41
3 stars
12
2 stars
16
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

HB Brew Station- nice concept-poor design

08/21/2014
By ,
Greenville, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In my opinion, the power cord is too short for the design. You have to pull the whole machine away from the wall at least 10-12 in. to get to the water dispenser, which pulls out from the back of the machine. (See photos below-which wouldn't rotate 90 degrees on this site for some reason). If the water dispenser just came out the side of the machine, it would be a much better design. Unless you have the capability (room) to have the machine in a location with nothing behind it-so you can access the back of the machine without having to move it out from a back splash or out from under a cupboard etc., you need an extension cord- & few people have that kind of set up.
Otherwise, I like the concept of the dispenser-style machine-rather than a canister on a warming plate & I love the addition of the syrup dispenser on the side!!! I haven't had it long enough to comment on its durability. So I recommend it but WITH RESERVATIONS.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Wrong comment.
Posted 10/11/2014
ToLiveIsChrist is reviewing the wrong product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Bright Light, Noise

07/17/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The light on the front of the machine is too bright. One can hear the simmering during the keep warm cycle (moderately loud). The heating plate was buckled near one of the screws holding it on.
We like the idea of the brew station and it performs as expected.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Way better than our first carafe free machine

04/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We like "carafe free" coffee makers because it has one less thing to wash (and we hate doing dishes) and one less thing to break, which was always the demise of our carafe style machines. The carafe got broken so many times until replacements were no longer available.
This machine is feature rich, including some we will never use like making iced coffee. We like the separate fresh water reservoir as it imparts no taste to the fresh water. It comes apart for easy cleaning. Will with stand cleaning with white vinegar (some will not)
The clock face is very bright which you may or may not like. We like the extra night light. Easy interface if you read the book. You can fit those tall insulated mugs under the dispenser with no problem. And makes a decent cup off coffee but seems to take a little longer than our old machine. We like the "1 to 4 cup" brew cycle as usually it's just the two of us.
Drawbacks: It's big. Takes up quite a bit of counter space. And the stainless steel parts show fingerprints like crazy. And it cost a bit more that other coffee makers but there is more to it.
We are happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Terrible

12/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
had it only a week, when my counter was covered with water, finally figured out why, it forms condensation then drain below the coffee holder, and will overrun if your pot stays on. What good is a coffee pot that can not be on... will be returning it, I should have read the reviews before buying, but I was out of town due to a death in the family, ran into Walmart and pick this coffee pot up, so everyone could have coffee...since then we have had 5 more deaths in our family, so it has been non stop running for me, but as soon as I can I will be returning this to Walmart's. I paid full price and found out the next day it was on sale, but the person that check me out charged me full price.... did not know due to the circumstances. Did not have the time to go back to the Walmart's I bought it at. I would not recommend this pot to anyone, I cleaned it with vinegar as stated and now the one button paint has even came off.....do not buy this coffee pot.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Great machine, great coffee...

01/23/2014
By ,
Stony Point, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this product because it seemed to be just what we needed to make coffee without too much effort. And it does deliver. Setup is quick and easy. Programming is simple. Coffee and water setup could not be simpler. The no carafe is an okay idea. The amount of coffee to water ratio may need to be adjusted depending on your taste but that is basic coffee 101 as each machine brews a little differently.
I do agree the timer light is too bright. A little black electrical tape took care of that quickly. And you do have to be careful not to hold your cup too firmly against the machine while dispensing coffee as you may push the machine across your counter. But all things considered it is a good coffee maker. Regarding durability, we'll have to see as we use this "BrewStation" over the next few months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

NO CARAFE TO BREAK!

06/24/2013
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a had a "no carafe" Hamilton Beach coffee maker for almost ten years. And then it died!
( I'm a 12 cup, plus, everyday coffee drinker.) I was devastated when I thought they did not make them anymore... This one is even better than my old one. Has several more features, plus iced coffee (cool)!!!! Easy to program and to see the controls right on the front at eye level. Especially like the silver and black finish. Very aesthetic!
Love the fact that I can go ahead set up coffee to perk for the next day and not have to dump the coffee reservoir first.
Will have to change the shelf height where my coffee maker sits as the new one is a bit higher than the old one (About 1/2 inch!) which interferes in removing the reservoir and filter basket!
Otherwise, it is super and a great deal at the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Best coffee ever

03/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
That's the bottom line, this coffee pot makes better coffee than any drip coffee maker I have ever owned. The design with a separate reservoir to carry to the sink and fill makes it easy, coffee is hot, and stays fresh tasting for the full 4 hour 'keep warm' period. Buy it, you will not regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Loved it at first.

11/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It started leaking after the first month and has gotten progressively worse.
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

It isn't worth the price

01/12/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Needing a coffee maker quickly, I bought the Hamilton Beach BrewStation, the beginning of this month hoping its many features would serve me well for at least a couple of years. The ONLY plus this coffee maker has going for itself is the lack of a carafe that can break. Even when the coffee maker first brews the coffee it is dispensed at a lukewarm temperature at best. My hot tap water comes out hotter than this freshly brewed coffee does. What a disappointment!!! It's only after the "keep warm" feature has been activated for at least a half hour is the coffee somewhat hot. On top of that, the "Bold" brew feature is mediocre. What comes out is nothing close to a Bold brew, even when using extra ground coffee. This coffee maker went right back to the store after only one week. I'd suggest everyone completely disregard this coffee maker and go for something that knows what the word "HOT" and the word "BOLD" means.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

BrewStation -- You mean DroolStation, don't you?

11/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First off, it does make a great cup of coffee. I also love the new water reservoir -- so easy to measure. Great idea. Also love that there isn't a carafe to clean. Those are the pluses.
I was really disappointed when I noticed that the BrewStation wasn't yielding the 12 cups of water that I put into it. Always closer to 10 cups. Hmmmm..... And then on several mornings, I noted water coming from beneath the BrewStation. What's going on?
Turns out that water collects just beneath the coffee "pail." It then flows out onto your countertop -- unless you're careful to either sponge it up before you use it again. And by the way, did I mention that the coffee pot is just about a month old? Yep...started having problems while it was still new.
So while I offer kudos to the new design, you may want to make sure you've got plenty of paper towels handy. You'll be using them.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Worst ever

03/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had it 2 months started to leak. HB said either pay to send it back or cut the cord and send a picture. Cut the cord, paid $13 for shipping of tHe new machine. Took over 2 weeks to get it. Machine worked for 2 months and just stopped. Threw it away and will buy anything but an HB product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Tried others, they didn't measure up

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First I must say that I never do review reviews, but as I get older I have had to rely on such reviews for help, therefore I'm hoping to help other shoppers--------
I have used different models Throughout the decade of Hamilton Beach brew stations, but had problems finding them in the store. They usually are only available online. Of course, I took a break and tried other coffee makers (not cheap), but they failed to give me the real "coffee" taste. Ease of use, Convenience played a factor in it too. I May be wrong but I think Hamilton Beach actually pioneered this CARAFE free style coffee system, therefore other people have tried to copy and put out whatever and it just didn't work(cuisine art). I always go back to my HBBREWSTATION!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Good Value

03/10/2014
By ,
Muncie, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some of the reviews, I wasn't going to purchase this coffee maker. However, I am glad I did. It is tall, but it would have fit under my cabinet if I didn't have it sitting on the gliding tray I purchased online for easy access. It is also wider than my last BrewStation, but that's fine too. The light is bright, but I am not going to use it in the bedroom, so that's not an issue either. It does make a noise, but it is so low and intermittent, that I hardly ever hear it. And I usually don't like the coffee from a new maker, but my coffee has been excellent. Don't miss out on a great coffee maker!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Great for keeping coffee fresh

08/30/2013
By ,
Sterling, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love, love, love this coffee maker. This is my second one, my first I had for 5 years. I love the improvement they made by adding the side water compartment making it much more user friendly. I am thinking of purchasing one for my office as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Love It!!!

04/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love how the coffee can sit for 4 hours and not taste even a little bit burnt. And the iced coffee function is so easy and it tastes great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Love it

11/06/2013
By ,
St Pete Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a high end coffee pot prior to this one but love this one more. The best feature is the removable water tank. Several reasons. You can take it to the sink and you can easily clean it because it removes. It brews great coffee, has a stay warm timer that goes up to 4 hours. I use 1 hour so the coffee doesn't get burned then I just heat up a cup in the microwave. The only thing I am not pleased with is the light on the clock. It is bright, real bright but I can live with that. It looks very nice on my countertop too.
As for durability I certainly cannot comment on that after owning it for only a few weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

4th one

03/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first one I owned lasted 3 years, when they changed to this model i had 2 last 8 or 9 months. I have had this 4th one for 10 months. I am going to order a new one as I am living in Ecuador now and can't get these here. So picking up another when I fly back to the US. I love not having the carafe. it does tend to scorch the coffee a little after 4 hours or if it is low. You have to soak it and scrub with the scotch brite pad. The problem I had with the 2 was it would not register that there was water in it. But I will never go back to the old style coffee pot again.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Its a shady product.

03/13/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I always wanted one of these, but not anymore. It works fine, brewes great. However, when its brewing, they made a dumb choice with what to do with the condensation. If you remove the holding tank where the coffe, you'll see 2 channel's on either side of the heater. Thats where it goes. So you have to constantly have to figure a way to remove the water from that. If you dont, you get a nice puddle under your maker. Giant waste of time having to worry about that.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

lemon

12/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have only had this coffee maker since May. Since day 1, I have had problems with it. The first thing I noticed was that it leaked water all over the counter. About a month after purchase, I figured out why it was leaking water - it retains water below the holding tank. I have to unplug it and dump it out over the sink every couple weeks so that water doesn't pool on my counter.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup BrewStation Dispensing Coffee Maker with Removable Reservoir, 47950, Silver/Black

Best model I've purchased so far!

02/24/2014
By ,
Magnolia, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my third Hamilton Beach Brew Station and the best one by far. The separate water reservoir is a wonderful improvement over the last two models I owned. The design of the removable coffee tank is much better, too. It is sturdier than the last one that had small pieces on the bottom that eventually broke. The display window and control buttons are larger for easier reading and programming. I have used this model for over 2 months so I can't address the problems with leaking that plagued the others after a longer usage period. I do not anticipate that issue with this model, but I am trying to avoid that problem by not removing the water reservoir tank daily but filling it while it is in place on the unit. I even keep a funnel close by to eliminate spills. It works great! The only suggestion I have that would improve the design for me would be to modify the coffee basket so that it drains better into the coffee tank. When I remove the filter holder there is still a small amount of coffee in it that drips if there is not a cup or trashcan to catch the excess. Please correct this and I will rate 5 stars for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 197 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next