Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

The Hamilton Beach Toaster Oven is the ultimate in kitchen convenience. This handy appliance will toast, broil or bake all of your favorite foods and its compact design takes up less counter space making the Hamilton Beach Toaster Oven great for a small kitchen or work area. Want to toast a bagel or bread? No problem. Or bake a small chicken or pizza? Done. With the Easy Reach Toaster Oven, you can do your baking without ever turning on your regular oven, saving energy. You'll love the unique roll-top door that provides easy access to food and is removable for easy cleanup. This Silver/Black 4-Slice Toaster Oven is the perfect size for toast, snacks and meals. This oven has a 30-minute timer so you can set your desired cooking/toasting time or use in "stay on" mode, and includes a bake pan and broil rack with two positions.
Average Customer Rating:
3.696 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation70%16 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

Delighted With This Option...

02/27/2014
By ,
Sacramento, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
...over the carafe models. I'd hoped to find an alternative in my online search of products, including Target's offerings. Even though there were no online Wal-Mart reviews on this product, I bought this based on the product description/specs and photo/colors. For some reason, the online reviews were about the Hamilton Beach Toaster Oven -- NOT matching the product shown.
My last coffeemaker was a GE 5-cup [with carafe] which lasted almost 3 years. This attractive option, personal brewer, takes up less space on my counter top. A quirky surprise was the intermittent brewing sound, which reminds me of my mother's old olive green percolator from the 1970's.
There is a slight plastic-like odor I detected during the first few processes, which fade after a few brews &/or more than a couple of plain water cycles before using for your coffee. Overall, it produces a great cup of coffee using my favorite Yuban decaffeinated coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sacramento, CA
Additionally
Posted 03/03/2014
I've found that the the 5 cups is equal to 3, 8 oz. cups of water per brewing cycle.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

Nice Product

02/01/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pot actually does hold five 8 oz cups of water and brews those in about 3 minutes. There is a water level gauge, but it appears it's based on a 6 oz/cup. The removable basket easily holds enough grounds for five cups of coffee unless you are one who likes coffee so strong that you can walk on it. The filter has a retaining lip that keeps grounds in as coffee is poured. The electrical chord is long enough to allow for pouring with it still plugged in. It is no longer or shorter than most counter top appliances. Cleaning isn't all that difficult, either. A soft, bristle brush or sponge will work nicely. Size is the same as a normal peculator type unit. I purposely turned the pot off for an hour to see if it would keep the coffee warm. It did. Only two negatives to report and the first one lowered my overall rating a bit. That one is that the lighted, on/off switch is on the back side of the pot. Since this pot does not have an auto cut-off, I consider that an issue since you can't tell if it is on or off without turning the pot around. Secondly, red is a not a standard kitchen appliance color. Hamilton Beach should have figured that out and, at the very least, given consumers a color choice of black.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

Great for RV - no glass, lightweight, hot coffee

09/22/2013
By ,
U.S.A.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to use in our camper, where we have limited space and avoid glass since it can break easily while we are driving. Comes with a reusable filter but you can use the small paper filters (4 cup size). It makes about five cups, but the grounds you can use are a bit limiting, if you prefer a VERY strong brew. I prefer to use a "rounded tablespoon" of grounds per cup of coffee. With the 5 cup Personal Brewer, if you use 5 rounded tablespoons, the sprayer arm is so close to the grounds that it displaces the grounds into areas that are a bit hard to clean.
Solution: If you are like me and prefer a strong brew, you can make 4 cups at a time, which is about all I can drink in the mornings anyway. Or, place a small paper filter over the top of the grounds to prevent them from spraying around.
Overall, I really like this brewer and it has such a nice sleek appearance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

Best for traveling or camping (in an RV)

10/17/2013
By ,
San Francisco, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This makes coffee just fine, it was easy to brew coffee in just a few minutes. Normally, I use a small french press to make coffee and this was just a bit large for my taste.
The cleaning of this was also difficult since you had to wash out the part that holds the coffee, but not get the soapy water into the rest of the brewer. I prefer something a bit easier to clean or something that you can throw into the dishwasher.
Not having glass parts or a carafe is nice if you're traveling on a road trip and need to bring a coffee brewer to use in a hotel (not sure why you would need to since you can buy coffee at most places), or if you're camping in an RV, or just accident prone.
Unfortunately, I wouldn't see myself using this very often. I'll be sticking to my french press.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

Great coffee pot for us

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The coffee pot works great, we make 4 cups which is just right for our 2 mugs. It's quiet and keeps the coffee hot. Great buy. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

Great coffeemaker for those quick cups!

10/21/2013
By ,
Fountain Hills, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice coffeemaker... different concept from the glass carafe. Coffee still drips but stays contained in the pot, almost like an electric percolator. Makes good, hot coffee, and real easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

I'm so happy with my new red coffee maker!

07/15/2014
By ,
central CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I get 2 big mugs per setup. Its just what I need....
All in one, so you pour your brew, kinda retro....
Looks sharp out on my counter top.
I can wipe it out. I'll run a brew with water and a little vinegar monthly.
Go ahead, you'll be satisfied, I am.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

Fast and simple.

05/28/2014
By ,
Mount Shasta, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's large, bulky and rather funny looking. But it is so easy to use and it makes two perfect mugs of coffee every morning. I strongly recommend the unit. I have discovered that it will only take four spoon fulls of grounds in the coffee basket. Any more than that and it will overflow into the dispenser. My regular coffee pot needed five to make the brew flavor / strength I enjoy. So, not only is this unit easier and faster to use but I am getting the same flavor of coffee using one less spoon full. Not a fortune in savings ... yet ...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

Not strong enough taste

07/14/2014
By ,
San Bruno, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: comes with a re-usable filter, small so it doesn't take a lot of space.
Cons: cannot make a strong cup of coffee. So if you like your coffee on a stronger side, this may not be for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

Excellent

01/20/2014
By ,
Huntington WV 25703
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fill and prep, and just rinse out when done. Please keep in mind that it only makes 5 small coffee cups, but fills two coffee mugs perfectly. I am extremely pleased...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

Good Coffee Maker

06/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's easy to use and easy to clean up. I like the retro look.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

I would not purchase this coffee brewer

05/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was excited when I got my coffee brewer until it limits you to how much coffee can used per cup. Everyone's taste is different and I like my coffee strong. I filled it to the 5 cups of water and I would normally put 5 1/2 tablespoons of coffee. There is no room for 5 1/2 or 6 tablespoons of coffee,there is a max line not to exceed only 1 tablespoon per cup.. I have never heard of any coffee make limiting the amount of coffee you can put to make your coffee. So, I returned it today and I will buy a Farberware perculator. Sorry Hamilton Beach this is a design problem, I want to use as much coffee as I want without any limits.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

OKAY

11/17/2013
By ,
PORTSMOUTH, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
HARD TO POUR WITH SHORT CORD THAT IS NOT DETACHABLE, AS ADVERTISED
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

Do not buy this coffee pot

02/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A ridiculous coffee pot. The cord does not detach, There is a very small hole for the water, and impossible to clean
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

I wanted a perculator. This is not a perculator

05/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
hard to clean.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

Excellent for office

01/17/2014
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a small brewer that still kept coffee warm without having to brew each cup. Great for my office. Red is my favorite color also.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

Great coffee pot for the price

04/04/2014
By ,
Prescott, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this coffee pot for my RV, however, my Bunn coffee pot stopped working so I had to bring this in house to use until I bought another coffee pot for the house.. Design is cute. Coffee pot holds 5 cups so we make 2-3 pots every morning and I am very satisfied. You also can't beat the price for this coffee pot.
'
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

i DID NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT.

08/29/2013
By ,
Eugene Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ORDERED THE PRODUCT BUT I did not accept delivery because I could not find enough information about the product. There was no way of knowing about an electrical connection or cord in the description nor on site at Hamilton Beach.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White

great coffe maker

12/04/2013
By ,
tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
satisfied
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hamilton Beach 5-Cup Personal Brewer Coffee Maker, 43700, Silver/Red/White
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5