Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Whether you're entertaining guests or taking a single-serving to go, the Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 49983 gives you the flexibility to brew exactly what you need. When you need a single cup on-the-go, choose the one-cup option. You can use your favorite grounds or a K-Cup pack to brew into a travel mug or standard mug. For the days you want to enjoy cup after cup of hot coffee, choose the 12-cup full pot option and brew into the carafe. Whichever way you decide to brew, you can have a great-tasting cup of coffee whenever you need it. The single-serving side can brew an 8 oz. cup of coffee using a K-Cup pack in 2.5 minutes and the carafe side is programmable up to 24 hours in advance with a two-hour auto shutoff and regular/bold brew strength settings. This Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 49983 will not only look great in your kitchen but also provides the flexibility of brewing that you need and desire.
Average Customer Rating:
4.109 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(165 Reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
39
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation82%135 out of 165reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 173 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
39
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

WOW! Love this FlexBrew Coffee Maker!!

08/27/2014
By ,
Elgin, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this FlexBrew Coffee Maker!! It more than meets my expectations in flexibility as we can use not only the 12-cup and the k-cup but also uses pods or ground coffee in the single/mug side!!! It does take a little long to brew the 12-cups, though we use the programmable timer and it is ready when we get up, so no big deal!!! The carafe has an awesome (my husband calls it manly) handle that ensures confidence when picking up a full 12-cup pot. And finally, the carafe has a spout that is practically spill proof, which is great especially since most pots seem to run off to the side when pouring that first cup.
Absolutely our favorite coffee maker EVER!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Works out wonderful

08/03/2014
By ,
Valdosta Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love it!---2 way is great!---great tasting coffee!
Mine has a small flaw in the water window (like water is trapped), but I still give 5 stars.
I bought a 12 cup filter (1 cup side came with one) and bought a travel mug.
It had the smell of melted plastic on k cup side so I ran vinagar through both sides and after making 2 cups of coffee there is no bad smell now.
My lid has no wrap problem like some say they have in reviews.
On the k cup side I make 12oz, but you can make 14oz max, but favor is weaker.
The only-- reusable k cup pod-- that I find will fit is Cafe Cup reusable pod so you can choose your favorite coffee grounds that way other than using the-- Hamilton Beaches grounds do dad (that came with the pot).
Be careful-- it is sharp, but on the Hamilton Beach's k cup do dad (not the one for grounds#--- pull back #it is spring loaded) on the bottom k cup hole puncher and slip the full Cafe Cup reusable pod in. It fits.
I'm very happy happy with this coffee pot!
Hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
coma, wa
Posted 09/01/2014
I was giving this product just last christmas. I do really enjoy it makes very good very good coffe. I do have a problem with thr k cup side. I just would like a single cup of coffee snd the window for the water must hsve an air bubble in it because I can not get the water to go all the way down to make just a single cup. I have to mess with it to pop that air bubble.. I worked at it for an hour yesterday and ended making a whole pot of coffee. If I would have know that before when it was giving to I would have taken it back. It is a wadte of time and money when it does not work.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Good product with some design flaws

01/04/2014
By ,
pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: 1) only need one coffee machine on counter top; 2) has loose coffee grounds basket for single cup included and it works great; 3) it works pretty good once you understand the limitations.
Cons: 1) heater under large pot comes on when using single cup side of coffee maker; 2) has problems with some K-cup brands (pods that have K-cup top but only filter on bottom, these pods appear to be over packed, which results in half a cup of coffee and steam/hot water pressure release when removing pod), but works good with normal K-cup designs; 3) can only put in max 10 ounces of water for single cup. Which means you can't have a full reservoir of water and use the single cup side of machine. It appears to be a safety feature, so it just won't work. 4) If pod clogs, be careful about removing K-cup holder. This will cause the backed up hot water to be released into the K-cup, resulting in hot water entering unsealed K-cup and washing coffee grounds out the hole in the top of the K-cup and down into your cup of coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+130points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Best Coffee Maker Yet!
Posted 04/26/2014
I have owned quite a few coffee makers and have never written a review till now. I can pour the coffee from the pot without spilling any. Every one before this one spilled no matter how slow you poured it. I can see how much was poured into the tank and it matches the amount on the pot. I would buy this unit again if I needed a coffee maker.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Not what I expected

11/05/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very much looking forward to a machine that could do carafes of coffee as well as k-cups. Okay, this product does both. However, I did not know until I read the care instructions that for the k-cup function you can only put in a maximum of 14oz of water; you cannot fill the entire reservoir as it will beep at you until you get rid of some of the water.
I was looking for something similar to my current k-cup machine: fill the entire reservoir, then choose 4oz, 6oz, 8oz, or 10oz. Carafe coffee makers allow you to fully fill the reservoir, too. I was hoping the 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker would allow me to completely fill the reservoir and do multiple k-cups in quick succession. This is not possible and therefore inconvenient.
I sincerely hope that Hamilton Beach will come out with a new machine that will do k-cups and ground coffee (as well as full carafes) that allows you to fill the entire reservoir and lets you choose how many ounces you wish to brew.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Warwick
questions answered
Posted 05/07/2014
I was trying to figure out if it had a large water reservoir for the single cup side & if you could choose cup size & this review answered my questions. Yes I hate having 2 machines on the counter but until these options are available on the HB I will stick with my 2 machines
0points
Customer Avatar
Athens, OH
Reservoir vs. no reservoir
Posted 03/16/2014
I'd rather put in what I am going to use. Have never liked Bunns or any other coffeemaker where the water coming out may have been setting for several days or even longer.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

NOT what i expected

04/07/2014
By ,
Campton NH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Product is a good idea in general, sometimes i want a full pot and other times i need just 1 cup. But it is not a Keurig. I purchased this Product yesterday and Have made several diffrent types of K-cups and none of them taste good.. I think the K-cups and designed for fast brewing times and this coffee pot take 2-3 minutes to brew a 10 oz cup of coffee. The 12 cup side brews a decent cup of coffee, but any coffee pot can do that. I was looking for the convenience of a keurig, but i guess you get what you pay for. It has some serious design flaws which i over looked in my desire to declutter my counters ( i did not want 2 pots on the counters) first you have to add water for every k-cup you make, it does not have a reservoir, and if you add to much water by accident you need to wait for the water to brew out of it on the 12 cup side, because you will get an error message. This coffee pot is going back to the store today..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Good idea, but not this pot!!

12/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A good idea , but needs alot of improvements. First off when you go to make a whole pot of coffee, it works great. Then, right after the whole pot you want a single cup of a flavored coffee you have to pull the electric plug out of the wall socket. Yes that's what I said "YOU HAVE TO UNPLUG THE COFFEEPOT TO CHANGE SETTINGS EVERY TIME !!!! If you take to long to plug it back in you have to reset the clock and auto brew timer. HA HA HA!!! Then I had to put cardboard underneath the pot because if it's not level the water would not come out on the single cup setting and it leaks, alot. Oh, one more thing, the carafe spills a good bit of coffee out the top as your pouring and spills all over the place. I wouldn't recommend this coffee pot to my worst enemy let alone family and friend. Sorry Hamilton Beach, but this coffeepot is a flop.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

I adore this machine.

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want the convenience of a keurig with more options then this is the thing.
I love it. The carafe is a 12 cup (larger than kruerig's carafe) and the individual brew side will accept as much water as you need for whichever size cup you use (you have to brew at least twice to get more than 10 oz from a keurig and the new model with the carafe does not take the reusable cups). I've had mine for going on 2 weeks now, and I've used it every day. The kcup side takes cups and also has a little basket if you want to use grounds/loose tea/anything not in a kcup. :)
Mostly wanted this because my dad can taste the hazlenut coffee I make for days if I brew in the same pot as the regular coffee. This is super convenient and well worth the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Stop Looking around! This is it.

08/14/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost didn't buy this maker. I was looking for the model with the thermo holder on the right but it wasn't available so I took a chance on this one. I am certainly glad I did. Of all the coffee makers I have ever had, and believe me I've had many, some costing double what this one does, this is the best, hands down. I can not think of a single con to complain about. I've had it less than a month but we have really put it to use and it has give us perfect HOT! coffee every time. So stop looking around and go for it. You won't be disappointed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

great coffee maker

10/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent coffee maker for both types of brews.I have always used KEURIG,but this HAMILTON BEACH is a better value. Price is great and brewing is easy and the taste is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Hamilton Beach 12 Cup 2 Way Flex Brew Coffee Maker

10/30/2013
By ,
Detroit, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Hamilton Beach not only has a nice look but is very functional! It brews 12 cups of coffee fully in about 15 minutes, no drips when I remove the carafe from the unit to pour the coffee and the carafe does not leak coffee onto the counter when being poured. The single serve side is very convenient when I would like a cup of specialty coffee or a hot cocoa. Just make sure that your cup is in place before you start the process. I pressed the lever down and some of my hot cocoa was prematurely dispensed onto the maker! I make sure my cup is in place before I start the process. The coffee tasted good from the first cup...no plastic taste at all. I used this maker to replace the Kitchen Aid I purchased and only kept for two weeks...another twenty dollars higher in price but better performance and better tasting coffee!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+166points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Worst Engineering Ever

12/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First problem was a carafe that was improperly packed. Fell out of package and broke. You cannot just choose between a full pot or a keurig type packet. If there is too much water in the reservoir you get an err message and unless you want to unplug the pot to take it to the sink to empty the water you must turn to full pot mode and wait for the pot to perk the water out. The water level is on the back side and almost impossible to see without turning the entire pot. You must put "exactly" as much water as your cup will hold as there is not a selector switch for the amount to brew. The water reservoir is on top right back of the pot and a small opening to pour the water in. Whoever engineered this pot never used it. This is the worst coffee brewer I have ever tried to use. Will return it at the first opportunity.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Great purchase for what i wanted

12/30/2013
By ,
Manchester, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect for what I wanted. a quick cup or a full pot, I have the choice. Happy that you didn't have to buy separately the ground coffee filter for the k-cup side like you do with the other brand, so that is a plus. I've used now all 3 services, but have not used the one cup side for a larger travel mug yet. as to using your own coffee grounds, you'll have to taste test to get the quality of your taste preferences.
Read a review that stated the lid warped. At first I didn't see it when I used the full pot side. But then a couple days later I happened to notice that it seems to have a slight warp to it. its the ground side, didn't stop my pot from perking. so not a big deal to me. Now if it wouldn't perk, then we'd have a problem :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Love everything about it.

11/17/2013
By ,
redding, ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this coffee maker for a few weeks now and really can't find anything negative to say.
I have use the both sides numerously and they both perform very well. The k-cups work very well on the single serving side as well as the grounds on the single serve side. The 12 cup pot is great when you pour your coffee- it doesn't leak or drip. The look is great with the stainless and black look, it matches my appliance perfectly. I have not had a problem with the k-cup dripping when I empty it like other reviews. The only thing I am watching is when I put grounds in the single serve side there is a little condensation that forms above the k-cup insert coming up from the insert and forming on the brew button. If any problems occur I will let you know in an update, I simply make a point to wipe it dry after every use. I would differently recommend this coffee pot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

hamilLeon beach 12 cup coffee pot

11/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the versatility of a single cup or 12 cups. And the fact that it takes a k cup is awesome. Works for me! Only gave it 4 stars cause its a little slower than a kero but otherwise...love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Fresh coffee anytime

12/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my new coffee maker. It doesn't spill out when pouring because of the drip guard on the inside rim of the pot. I like that you can use the individual k-packs or the little basket filled with your own ground coffee. It is easy to program and reasonably priced.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

All around good coffee maker

11/11/2013
By ,
Brick, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Hamilton Beach FlexBrew is a great coffee maker. It has met my expectations and exceeded them. I've made half and full pots of coffee, used k-cups, made single serve with scooped coffee grinds and have also made tea using k-cups. I've had the pot 2-3 weeks and have yet to find any flaws but because of the small amount of time owning it I can't comment on it's durability hence I've given it four out of five stars. It makes a hot pot of coffee and keeps it that way, shuts off after two hours as stated, makes hot k-cup or single serve, is programmable so you always wake up to a nice hot pot of coffee. As far as value, expectations, and appearance go I would definitely recommend buying this coffee maker.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Leaked after less than a year

12/13/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It was a little difficult to learn to use, every thing must be just so; really just a standard drip maker would've been so much simpler. The K cup brewer often didn't puncture the lid covers (at least when using other brand of cups), leaving me with a cup of hot water. Using it as a single cup drip brewer was okay, but a bit tedious in rearranging the "cone" innards back & forth from K cup to drip basket. Soon the tiny plastic pieces that snap down to secure it, will break off.
Now after about 8 months about half the water leaks out onto the floor whenever in brew mode. For the money spent, I was actually leaning toward reviewing this product as "poor."
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Love my Hamilton beach flex brew

11/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works just great I just love it , this way I can have coffee my way . K- cup , my own coffee , or a 12 cup pot. You can have your cake and eat it too . Just love it . Soooooo glad I bought the Hamilton beach !!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Disappointed

12/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted a coffee machine that would make both a carafe and a single serving of coffee as well. I wanted to be able to use my own grounds when I wanted just a regular, single cup of coffee. My original desire was for a Keurig machine but the new 2.0 systems that do both a carafe and single serving have sensors that keep you from using anything that doesn't have the Keurig logo on it. I thought the Hamilton Beach machine would fit the bill. It does not have a large reservoir so you have to fill it each time you want coffee. If you want to use the single serving side, you have to put the exact amount of water in that you need or your cup will overflow. The coffee machine runs all water through no matter what amount you put in. I also wanted the capability of setting my own temperature like a Keurig and unfortunately this one does not have a setting for that either. It makes a so-so moderately warm cup of coffee. If I want it really hot, I have to set the program timer to make the coffee at least 30 minutes before I want to drink it giving it time to sit on the warming plate and getting up to a decent temperature. Also, no matter which side you're using, carafe or single side, the warming plate on the carafe side gets hot so you'll always need to leave some liquid in the carafe so that you don't end up with burnt carafe. Hugely disappointed and looks like I'll have to spend mega-bucks to get what I want.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Pretty fabulous!

11/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great to finally have a combo coffee maker that makes a regular 12 cup brew and a single k-cup! The lid over the filter however warped due to the heat I suppose, and does not close fully. However this does not affect the way it works! Great buy!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 165 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next