Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Whether you're entertaining guests or taking a single-serving to go, the Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 49983 gives you the flexibility to brew exactly what you need. When you need a single cup on-the-go, choose the one-cup option. You can use your favorite grounds or a K-Cup pack to brew into a travel mug or standard mug. For the days you want to enjoy cup after cup of hot coffee, choose the 12-cup full pot option and brew into the carafe. Whichever way you decide to brew, you can have a great-tasting cup of coffee whenever you need it. The single-serving side can brew an 8 oz. cup of coffee using a K-Cup pack in 2.5 minutes and the carafe side is programmable up to 24 hours in advance with a two-hour auto shutoff and regular/bold brew strength settings. This Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 49983 will not only look great in your kitchen but also provides the flexibility of brewing that you need and desire.
Average Customer Rating:
4.186 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation85%96 out of 113reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 132 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Good product with some design flaws

01/04/2014
By ,
pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: 1) only need one coffee machine on counter top; 2) has loose coffee grounds basket for single cup included and it works great; 3) it works pretty good once you understand the limitations.
Cons: 1) heater under large pot comes on when using single cup side of coffee maker; 2) has problems with some K-cup brands (pods that have K-cup top but only filter on bottom, these pods appear to be over packed, which results in half a cup of coffee and steam/hot water pressure release when removing pod), but works good with normal K-cup designs; 3) can only put in max 10 ounces of water for single cup. Which means you can't have a full reservoir of water and use the single cup side of machine. It appears to be a safety feature, so it just won't work. 4) If pod clogs, be careful about removing K-cup holder. This will cause the backed up hot water to be released into the K-cup, resulting in hot water entering unsealed K-cup and washing coffee grounds out the hole in the top of the K-cup and down into your cup of coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Best Coffee Maker Yet!
Posted 04/26/2014
I have owned quite a few coffee makers and have never written a review till now. I can pour the coffee from the pot without spilling any. Every one before this one spilled no matter how slow you poured it. I can see how much was poured into the tank and it matches the amount on the pot. I would buy this unit again if I needed a coffee maker.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

NOT what i expected

04/07/2014
By ,
Campton NH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Product is a good idea in general, sometimes i want a full pot and other times i need just 1 cup. But it is not a Keurig. I purchased this Product yesterday and Have made several diffrent types of K-cups and none of them taste good.. I think the K-cups and designed for fast brewing times and this coffee pot take 2-3 minutes to brew a 10 oz cup of coffee. The 12 cup side brews a decent cup of coffee, but any coffee pot can do that. I was looking for the convenience of a keurig, but i guess you get what you pay for. It has some serious design flaws which i over looked in my desire to declutter my counters ( i did not want 2 pots on the counters) first you have to add water for every k-cup you make, it does not have a reservoir, and if you add to much water by accident you need to wait for the water to brew out of it on the 12 cup side, because you will get an error message. This coffee pot is going back to the store today..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Not what I expected

11/05/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very much looking forward to a machine that could do carafes of coffee as well as k-cups. Okay, this product does both. However, I did not know until I read the care instructions that for the k-cup function you can only put in a maximum of 14oz of water; you cannot fill the entire reservoir as it will beep at you until you get rid of some of the water.
I was looking for something similar to my current k-cup machine: fill the entire reservoir, then choose 4oz, 6oz, 8oz, or 10oz. Carafe coffee makers allow you to fully fill the reservoir, too. I was hoping the 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker would allow me to completely fill the reservoir and do multiple k-cups in quick succession. This is not possible and therefore inconvenient.
I sincerely hope that Hamilton Beach will come out with a new machine that will do k-cups and ground coffee (as well as full carafes) that allows you to fill the entire reservoir and lets you choose how many ounces you wish to brew.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Warwick
questions answered
Posted 05/07/2014
I was trying to figure out if it had a large water reservoir for the single cup side & if you could choose cup size & this review answered my questions. Yes I hate having 2 machines on the counter but until these options are available on the HB I will stick with my 2 machines
0points
Customer Avatar
Athens, OH
Reservoir vs. no reservoir
Posted 03/16/2014
I'd rather put in what I am going to use. Have never liked Bunns or any other coffeemaker where the water coming out may have been setting for several days or even longer.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Hamilton Beach 12 Cup 2 Way Flex Brew Coffee Maker

10/30/2013
By ,
Detroit, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Hamilton Beach not only has a nice look but is very functional! It brews 12 cups of coffee fully in about 15 minutes, no drips when I remove the carafe from the unit to pour the coffee and the carafe does not leak coffee onto the counter when being poured. The single serve side is very convenient when I would like a cup of specialty coffee or a hot cocoa. Just make sure that your cup is in place before you start the process. I pressed the lever down and some of my hot cocoa was prematurely dispensed onto the maker! I make sure my cup is in place before I start the process. The coffee tasted good from the first cup...no plastic taste at all. I used this maker to replace the Kitchen Aid I purchased and only kept for two weeks...another twenty dollars higher in price but better performance and better tasting coffee!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Love everything about it.

11/17/2013
By ,
redding, ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this coffee maker for a few weeks now and really can't find anything negative to say.
I have use the both sides numerously and they both perform very well. The k-cups work very well on the single serving side as well as the grounds on the single serve side. The 12 cup pot is great when you pour your coffee- it doesn't leak or drip. The look is great with the stainless and black look, it matches my appliance perfectly. I have not had a problem with the k-cup dripping when I empty it like other reviews. The only thing I am watching is when I put grounds in the single serve side there is a little condensation that forms above the k-cup insert coming up from the insert and forming on the brew button. If any problems occur I will let you know in an update, I simply make a point to wipe it dry after every use. I would differently recommend this coffee pot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Bought for my Wife,She loves coffee, and loves it

03/14/2014
By ,
montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
She wanted this one because it did the full pot and the k cups for cheaper then a regular kurig machine,works fast makes the coffee hot(which was why we were in the market for a new one old one wasn't getting hot enough)her only complaint is she wishes you could fill the resevoir with water and make multiple k cups in a row, you can only add 10-14 oz for the single side or you get an error other than that she loves it would recommend highly
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Very Nice 12 Cup / Single Serve Coffee Brewer

05/16/2014
By ,
Prairieville, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good coffee maker but 2 things to watch out for: When I received the FlexBrew Coffee Maker it didn't come with any instructions. I had to go online to print them down. It does not come with the 14 oz. travel mug as pictured in the ad. I went online after I received the coffee maker and read the FAQs to find that out. No where in the description does it say if the travel mug is included or not. Hamiltion Beach should either not show the travel mug or clearly indicate on the photo the travel mug is not included. Other than that, the coffee tastes good as expected. It is easy to use- overall I would recommend this duel 12 cup/single cup coffee maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Great purchase for what i wanted

12/30/2013
By ,
Manchester, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect for what I wanted. a quick cup or a full pot, I have the choice. Happy that you didn't have to buy separately the ground coffee filter for the k-cup side like you do with the other brand, so that is a plus. I've used now all 3 services, but have not used the one cup side for a larger travel mug yet. as to using your own coffee grounds, you'll have to taste test to get the quality of your taste preferences.
Read a review that stated the lid warped. At first I didn't see it when I used the full pot side. But then a couple days later I happened to notice that it seems to have a slight warp to it. its the ground side, didn't stop my pot from perking. so not a big deal to me. Now if it wouldn't perk, then we'd have a problem :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

All around good coffee maker

11/11/2013
By ,
Brick, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Hamilton Beach FlexBrew is a great coffee maker. It has met my expectations and exceeded them. I've made half and full pots of coffee, used k-cups, made single serve with scooped coffee grinds and have also made tea using k-cups. I've had the pot 2-3 weeks and have yet to find any flaws but because of the small amount of time owning it I can't comment on it's durability hence I've given it four out of five stars. It makes a hot pot of coffee and keeps it that way, shuts off after two hours as stated, makes hot k-cup or single serve, is programmable so you always wake up to a nice hot pot of coffee. As far as value, expectations, and appearance go I would definitely recommend buying this coffee maker.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Excellent coffeemaker for the price!

11/14/2013
By ,
Plumas Lake, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this coffemaker to replace my poor Keurig. I must say the ONLY reason that I didn't replace it with another Keurig is because there are times when I want to brew a full pot and have to drag out the second coffeemaker. This was the best of both worlds.
The first thing that drew me to this coffemaker was that it accepted K-cups. Here's one of 2 reasons I didn't give it an Excellent rating, even though I love it. It's very tricky to use the reusable K-cups in this machine. I have several and I like keeping those little pods on deck. The single side can accept the throw away cups with no problem, however.
The second reason I didn't give it an Excellent rating is that the water management can be a little tricky. I wish that, like my Keurig, the single side was intuitive to how much water it needs to brew a single cup. Instead, you have to ensure that you put the EXACT amount of water needed for your single cup into the water resevoir. Any more and you have a mess.
Outside of those minor irritations, the coffemaker is terrific. I love the regular or bold setting. I love the programmable feature and, even with the little quirks, I love being able to have a single cup of decaf or flavored coffee without being forced to brew an entire pot but that I do have the option to brew an entire pot without dragging out an entirely different piece of equipment.
All around, a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

great product as a 12 cup maker and k-cup option

11/23/2013
By ,
Grand Blanc, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great. Had for a week. Great product as a 12 cup maker and k-cup option and brew basket options to brew your own grounds. The coffee does not taste weak like the Keurig machine makes medium coffee (sometimes dark) coffee grounds. The coffee taste great and I like the option for the 12 cup coffee brewer to have regular or bold (believe it drips slower to create stronger/bolder taste). The coffee grounds single serve basket also works good since it comes out slower than Keurigs fast line of water that does not hit all the grounds for very long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Great 2-way coffee maker

11/05/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have used the single serving side quite a few times and it takes some practice to adjust the coffee ground to your liking. We don't use the premade coffee serving pods. We've used the 12 cup side for making tea. We haven't used it yet for coffee. When we received the coffeemaker it had 2 small dents on the side, so I placed an order for a new one. The lid to the 12-cup filter is a little flimsy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Great Coffee Maker

05/28/2014
By ,
Farmington Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this brewer for 2 weeks now, and I simply love it. It makes a great pot or a great
cup of coffee. Very easy to use. I do not mind that I have to add water every time I make a single
cup. All of my friends want one after seeing mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

excellant coffee pot.

05/27/2014
By ,
Michigan and it's November
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes an excellent pot of coffee or tea. Also can make the one serving size for friends and family
that don't necessarily like what the rest of the group are drinking. It is also very good looking and goes very nicely with our décor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Wonderful Gift

05/29/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this a a gift and the receiver absolutely loves it. And the price was great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Great Overall Coffee Maker

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee maker is so versitile and does a very good job at making coffee using all 3 methods. I brew 6 cups for mysel every morning, and when in a hurry I have used the K-Cup, and the individual cup fresh ground method. I keep the brew setting on bold and the coffee flavor is great using all three brew methods. The construction is a little light but the design is super, everything works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Best Coffee Maker EVER!

11/20/2013
By ,
Fernandina Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE MY NEW COFFEE MAKER!! It has everything I want and need on it. Got it two weeks ago and it makes a full pot OR it will make a K cup OR you can use your own coffee to make a single cup. It's exactly what I was looking for and a great price. I have already recommended it to many friends and my family. It will be great for visiting decaf drinkers as I can make a full pot of regular and then have decaf k cups for my mom. If you are thinking about getting this, I would suggest you hurry and buy it since I can bet it will be one of those items that sells out for Christmas - quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Works as advertised.

07/30/2014
By ,
Selah WA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use it for 12 cup pots and 14oz. travel mugs it works great. When I want a change I us a K-cup and enjoy an expresso, I only put in 10oz. water for this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Dual purpose meets my needs

05/26/2014
By ,
Acworth, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read a lot of reviews prior to purchasing it, I understood and was prepared for its limitations. We have used both sides for coffee (that's all). The only dislike I have is the K-cup side seems to have "new machine" taste still. That's after 6 cups. I'm hoping it will correct itself soon. I would be embarrassed to offer someone some coffee from the K-cup side right now. We primarily use the left side to brew a pot of coffee and I have no complaints about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Great coffee maker and easy to use

05/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall good product for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 113 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next