Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Whether you're entertaining guests or taking a single-serving to go, the Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 49983 gives you the flexibility to brew exactly what you need. When you need a single cup on-the-go, choose the one-cup option. You can use your favorite grounds or a K-Cup pack to brew into a travel mug or standard mug. For the days you want to enjoy cup after cup of hot coffee, choose the 12-cup full pot option and brew into the carafe. Whichever way you decide to brew, you can have a great-tasting cup of coffee whenever you need it. The single-serving side can brew an 8 oz. cup of coffee using a K-Cup pack in 2.5 minutes and the carafe side is programmable up to 24 hours in advance with a two-hour auto shutoff and regular/bold brew strength settings. This Hamilton Beach 12-Cup Coffee Maker, 49983 will not only look great in your kitchen but also provides the flexibility of brewing that you need and desire.
Average Customer Rating:
4.047 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(254 Reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
144
4 stars
53
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation80%204 out of 254reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
82 Questions | 182 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
144
4 stars
53
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

WOW! Love this FlexBrew Coffee Maker!!

08/27/2014
By ,
Elgin, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this FlexBrew Coffee Maker!! It more than meets my expectations in flexibility as we can use not only the 12-cup and the k-cup but also uses pods or ground coffee in the single/mug side!!! It does take a little long to brew the 12-cups, though we use the programmable timer and it is ready when we get up, so no big deal!!! The carafe has an awesome (my husband calls it manly) handle that ensures confidence when picking up a full 12-cup pot. And finally, the carafe has a spout that is practically spill proof, which is great especially since most pots seem to run off to the side when pouring that first cup.
Absolutely our favorite coffee maker EVER!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Works out wonderful

08/03/2014
By ,
Valdosta Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love it!---2 way is great!---great tasting coffee!
Mine has a small flaw in the water window (like water is trapped), but I still give 5 stars.
I bought a 12 cup filter (1 cup side came with one) and bought a travel mug.
It had the smell of melted plastic on k cup side so I ran vinagar through both sides and after making 2 cups of coffee there is no bad smell now.
My lid has no wrap problem like some say they have in reviews.
On the k cup side I make 12oz, but you can make 14oz max, but favor is weaker.
The only-- reusable k cup pod-- that I find will fit is Cafe Cup reusable pod so you can choose your favorite coffee grounds that way other than using the-- Hamilton Beaches grounds do dad (that came with the pot).
Be careful-- it is sharp, but on the Hamilton Beach's k cup do dad (not the one for grounds#--- pull back #it is spring loaded) on the bottom k cup hole puncher and slip the full Cafe Cup reusable pod in. It fits.
I'm very happy happy with this coffee pot!
Hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
coma, wa
Posted 09/01/2014
I was giving this product just last christmas. I do really enjoy it makes very good very good coffe. I do have a problem with thr k cup side. I just would like a single cup of coffee snd the window for the water must hsve an air bubble in it because I can not get the water to go all the way down to make just a single cup. I have to mess with it to pop that air bubble.. I worked at it for an hour yesterday and ended making a whole pot of coffee. If I would have know that before when it was giving to I would have taken it back. It is a wadte of time and money when it does not work.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Convenient but troublesome

01/21/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was glad to see this on the market, because I didn't want to give up my 12-cup maker to get K-cup capability. Not only was I glad to be able to use K-cups, but I also like the included small basket which allows me to just use coffee grounds for a single cup.
This model worked great when I first got it. It brewed pretty quickly. As time went on, it began to brew slower and slower. I did clean it several times, and we do have hard water. However, this did not help much. A whole pot would take a half-hour to brew. Yes, I'm not exaggerating! And, much of the water would just steam up. On the single cup side, 1/3rd of the water I added would steam up into the air. It was so bad, it steamed all of the lettering from the front. I finally called the company for a warranty replacement. They sent me a replacement after paying $15 for shipping, which I was not happy about. However, they did not make me send the old one back. I did reach someone in our country and not overseas.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Good product with some design flaws

01/04/2014
By ,
pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: 1) only need one coffee machine on counter top; 2) has loose coffee grounds basket for single cup included and it works great; 3) it works pretty good once you understand the limitations.
Cons: 1) heater under large pot comes on when using single cup side of coffee maker; 2) has problems with some K-cup brands (pods that have K-cup top but only filter on bottom, these pods appear to be over packed, which results in half a cup of coffee and steam/hot water pressure release when removing pod), but works good with normal K-cup designs; 3) can only put in max 10 ounces of water for single cup. Which means you can't have a full reservoir of water and use the single cup side of machine. It appears to be a safety feature, so it just won't work. 4) If pod clogs, be careful about removing K-cup holder. This will cause the backed up hot water to be released into the K-cup, resulting in hot water entering unsealed K-cup and washing coffee grounds out the hole in the top of the K-cup and down into your cup of coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+150points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Best Coffee Maker Yet!
Posted 04/26/2014
I have owned quite a few coffee makers and have never written a review till now. I can pour the coffee from the pot without spilling any. Every one before this one spilled no matter how slow you poured it. I can see how much was poured into the tank and it matches the amount on the pot. I would buy this unit again if I needed a coffee maker.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Better than Keurig

01/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got one of the new keurig coffee pots for Christmas...the one with the carafe ....and HATED it! The carafe only held 2 mug fulls that you had a 10 minute window to refill your cup before it started cooling off....the single cup ONLY takes the NEW k cups so you can't use your own coffee...well...after a few days ruined by messing with my morning coffee, I took that pot back and got THIS HAMILTON BEACH one....it is THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS ! I still have my regular pot of coffee ON THE WARMER...and when I want a single cup later in the day, I can pop in ANY K CUP including my own! It even comes with a little filter basket for the single cup side so you don't have to buy those other cups. And...you can fill a travel mug size of 14 oz from the single serve side...you are not limited to 10 oz like the keurig. The only thing I did wish it had was a water storage for the single side...you have to put in your desired amount of water for each cup but that's really on big deal considering all the PROS of this. Its also smaller than my old coffee pot so it takes up LESS counter space. I just LOVE IT! I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Frustrating - fail for large mugs!!!

12/29/2014
By ,
Naugatuck, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want a quick, good cup of coffee...keep looking for another brewer. Received this for Christmas (I asked for it - my bad). After setting it up, I wanted a cup of coffee. Now, I'm used to the Kuerig...pop in a pod and get a good cup of coffee in no time flat. I asked for this brewer so on weekends, days off or with company I could make a pot of coffee without having two different coffee makers on my counter. You can't fill the reservoir and then just choose what you want -cup or a pot...you have to fill the reservoir with an exact amount. Now...the tricky part is if you have a large mug - not a travel mug - just a larger coffee mug...you won't get a full cup of coffee if you use the setting markings. If you only have teacup size mugs you may like this brewer. Anyway, after you get the water right, it takes a very long time for the brewer to get going and quite honestly, I was very disappointed. Returning this brewer and I will keep looking.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Not what I expected

11/05/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very much looking forward to a machine that could do carafes of coffee as well as k-cups. Okay, this product does both. However, I did not know until I read the care instructions that for the k-cup function you can only put in a maximum of 14oz of water; you cannot fill the entire reservoir as it will beep at you until you get rid of some of the water.
I was looking for something similar to my current k-cup machine: fill the entire reservoir, then choose 4oz, 6oz, 8oz, or 10oz. Carafe coffee makers allow you to fully fill the reservoir, too. I was hoping the 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker would allow me to completely fill the reservoir and do multiple k-cups in quick succession. This is not possible and therefore inconvenient.
I sincerely hope that Hamilton Beach will come out with a new machine that will do k-cups and ground coffee (as well as full carafes) that allows you to fill the entire reservoir and lets you choose how many ounces you wish to brew.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Warwick
questions answered
Posted 05/07/2014
I was trying to figure out if it had a large water reservoir for the single cup side & if you could choose cup size & this review answered my questions. Yes I hate having 2 machines on the counter but until these options are available on the HB I will stick with my 2 machines
0points
Customer Avatar
Athens, OH
Reservoir vs. no reservoir
Posted 03/16/2014
I'd rather put in what I am going to use. Have never liked Bunns or any other coffeemaker where the water coming out may have been setting for several days or even longer.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Not at all what I thought

01/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited about this coffee maker, so I could make a full pot or just one cup. I have had the machine since Christmas and have thought many times about returning it or just using my keurig machine again. First of all, it is very loud when it makes a k-kup...but I can live with that. It is very picky on the amount of water you put in the reservoir for the k-kup. If you put any more water than the 10 ounces for k-kup it will read error and not work. Finally, the coffee taste terrible, especially from the k-kup. It has a plastic taste to it. My family bought 3 of these for Christmas presents and nobody was satisfied with the product. It is a great idea...just needs some fine tuning.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

NOT what i expected

04/07/2014
By ,
Campton NH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Product is a good idea in general, sometimes i want a full pot and other times i need just 1 cup. But it is not a Keurig. I purchased this Product yesterday and Have made several diffrent types of K-cups and none of them taste good.. I think the K-cups and designed for fast brewing times and this coffee pot take 2-3 minutes to brew a 10 oz cup of coffee. The 12 cup side brews a decent cup of coffee, but any coffee pot can do that. I was looking for the convenience of a keurig, but i guess you get what you pay for. It has some serious design flaws which i over looked in my desire to declutter my counters ( i did not want 2 pots on the counters) first you have to add water for every k-cup you make, it does not have a reservoir, and if you add to much water by accident you need to wait for the water to brew out of it on the 12 cup side, because you will get an error message. This coffee pot is going back to the store today..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Disappointed

12/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted a coffee machine that would make both a carafe and a single serving of coffee as well. I wanted to be able to use my own grounds when I wanted just a regular, single cup of coffee. My original desire was for a Keurig machine but the new 2.0 systems that do both a carafe and single serving have sensors that keep you from using anything that doesn't have the Keurig logo on it. I thought the Hamilton Beach machine would fit the bill. It does not have a large reservoir so you have to fill it each time you want coffee. If you want to use the single serving side, you have to put the exact amount of water in that you need or your cup will overflow. The coffee machine runs all water through no matter what amount you put in. I also wanted the capability of setting my own temperature like a Keurig and unfortunately this one does not have a setting for that either. It makes a so-so moderately warm cup of coffee. If I want it really hot, I have to set the program timer to make the coffee at least 30 minutes before I want to drink it giving it time to sit on the warming plate and getting up to a decent temperature. Also, no matter which side you're using, carafe or single side, the warming plate on the carafe side gets hot so you'll always need to leave some liquid in the carafe so that you don't end up with burnt carafe. Hugely disappointed and looks like I'll have to spend mega-bucks to get what I want.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Good Value

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the Hamilton Beach FlexBrew coffee maker for three reasons:
1. You can brew either a single cup or a full pot
2. You can use your own coffee or tea.
3. The price was reasonable, well below the competition's cost.
So far, we are very pleased with this product and would recommend it to friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Great, versatile Coffee Maker I Love it.

01/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The biggest thing that attracted me to this unit was its features. I love the fact that I can make a whole pot of coffee or just one cup.. Its like having a regular coffee maker and a Keurig all in one. It will take any brand of the k-cups or soft pods. It also comes with a small filter basket to use your own grounds. Unlike the keirigs, it does not store extra water inside. Also, it will only brew no more then 10 ounces at a time for a single cup side. If you put any more then the 10 oz in the machine will error and you'll have to brew some of it out on the big pot side. One other feature I really dont like, is that when brewing a single cup, the hot plate on the potted side will get hot. But I think I can live with that :) I am very happy with this coffee maker ....Big Thanks to Hamilton Beach!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Hamilton Beach 12 Cup 2 Way Flex Brew Coffee Maker

10/30/2013
By ,
Detroit, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Hamilton Beach not only has a nice look but is very functional! It brews 12 cups of coffee fully in about 15 minutes, no drips when I remove the carafe from the unit to pour the coffee and the carafe does not leak coffee onto the counter when being poured. The single serve side is very convenient when I would like a cup of specialty coffee or a hot cocoa. Just make sure that your cup is in place before you start the process. I pressed the lever down and some of my hot cocoa was prematurely dispensed onto the maker! I make sure my cup is in place before I start the process. The coffee tasted good from the first cup...no plastic taste at all. I used this maker to replace the Kitchen Aid I purchased and only kept for two weeks...another twenty dollars higher in price but better performance and better tasting coffee!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+195points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Great Value

01/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine works very well and as advertised. It is however slow to brew singles as it must heat the water as is does for a pot. Also does not do soft k-kups very well. Hard shell K-cups work great.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Habilton Beach 2-way flex coffee maker.

01/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The 2nd time I used this coffee maker, water ran out the back seam and all over my counter. I took it back.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Plastic tasting coffee

01/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like other reviewers have mentioned, coffee had a strong plastic taste. Flushed it with vinegar as instructed by Hamilton Beach, but still there. Returned it.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Great purchase for what i wanted

12/30/2013
By ,
Manchester, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect for what I wanted. a quick cup or a full pot, I have the choice. Happy that you didn't have to buy separately the ground coffee filter for the k-cup side like you do with the other brand, so that is a plus. I've used now all 3 services, but have not used the one cup side for a larger travel mug yet. as to using your own coffee grounds, you'll have to taste test to get the quality of your taste preferences.
Read a review that stated the lid warped. At first I didn't see it when I used the full pot side. But then a couple days later I happened to notice that it seems to have a slight warp to it. its the ground side, didn't stop my pot from perking. so not a big deal to me. Now if it wouldn't perk, then we'd have a problem :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Stop Looking around! This is it.

08/14/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost didn't buy this maker. I was looking for the model with the thermo holder on the right but it wasn't available so I took a chance on this one. I am certainly glad I did. Of all the coffee makers I have ever had, and believe me I've had many, some costing double what this one does, this is the best, hands down. I can not think of a single con to complain about. I've had it less than a month but we have really put it to use and it has give us perfect HOT! coffee every time. So stop looking around and go for it. You won't be disappointed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

All around good coffee maker

11/11/2013
By ,
Brick, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Hamilton Beach FlexBrew is a great coffee maker. It has met my expectations and exceeded them. I've made half and full pots of coffee, used k-cups, made single serve with scooped coffee grinds and have also made tea using k-cups. I've had the pot 2-3 weeks and have yet to find any flaws but because of the small amount of time owning it I can't comment on it's durability hence I've given it four out of five stars. It makes a hot pot of coffee and keeps it that way, shuts off after two hours as stated, makes hot k-cup or single serve, is programmable so you always wake up to a nice hot pot of coffee. As far as value, expectations, and appearance go I would definitely recommend buying this coffee maker.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 12-Cup 2-Way FlexBrew Coffee Maker, 49983, Silver/Black

Messy

01/04/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The HB FlexBrew thinks it is a Kuerig but is not even in the same ball park. Hard to use. Very messy. Does no thinking for itself. Do not waste your money. You will not be happy.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 254 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next