Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Oster Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

The Oster 2-Slice Toaster For Life features advanced toasting technology for consistent toasting, even with thick-sliced artisan breads. Features of the Oster 2-Slice Toaster For Life include auto settings for toast, bagels and frozen foods, plus seven toast shade settings from light to dark that allow you to choose preferred level of doneness. "QUICK 30 SECONDS" setting is ideal when just a little extra toasting time is needed. Also designed with convenient toast lift, extra-long slots and auto-adjusting bread guides.
Average Customer Rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation80%83 out of 104reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 39 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
25
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Sleek practical toaster

12/19/2013
By ,
Cropseyville, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the sleek, neat look of this toaster. It ads to the decor of my kitchen as well as being a useful, practical toaster. It has long ,wide slots for specialty breads and bagels. It has many settings for the degree of darkness that I may want for my bagel or toast. With a little practice, I can figure just the right setting for each type of thing that I am toasting. If I want to quickly stop the process, I can cancel the toaster with just a touch of a button. I like the even toasting to the bread. No more squishing the bread into the toaster and then having the edges all burned. I could easily remove the toast and avoid burning myself trying to dig a piece of bread out of the toaster with the toast lift. Because of the sleek design, it is easy to clean and the removable tray allows for easy clean up also.
My disclaimer in this review is that this was a toaster I was able to test in my home, this is not something that I purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

So far, so good!

02/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toaster seems very durable and well made - let's hope it lasts. Looks great in my kitchen when left on counter, fingerprints don't seem to show. Cord is just the right length.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Extremely Pleased with this Oster Toaster.

09/12/2013
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked the nice metal finish on this toaster. The blue lights on
the front condirm what action you have chosen. I also liked the rubber
cushion on the pushdown lever, so that I was not pushing a skinny
metal or plastic control which felt cheap.
Perhaps the nicest surprise was the actual toasting in an inner metal
chamber, isolated from the outer metal case of the toaster. The result
is a metal toaster that does NOI get hot to the touch on the outside,
where people normally have to risk burning their hands OR settle for
an all-plastic toaster which picks up scratches, stains, etc.
This Oster toaster has made me enjoy toasting so much for a quick
breakfast snack with butter (and jelly) that I make toast EVERY morning
every morning. I could not be more pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Never Thought I'd Use a Toaster This Much!

12/18/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am enjoying this toaster so far, and I am using it a lot more than any other I’ve owned. The toast options are numerous, yet the controls are intuitive and it takes just an extra second to choose. I love being able to choose options like toast, bagel or frozen, then choose degree of toasty-ness from 1-7 on the dial. My favorite thing so far is the “Quick 30 Second” button that is wonderful for reheating or just yielding a hint of toast quality. I’ve used it so far with hamburger buns, English muffins and thick ciabatta bread with great results. There really isn’t a down side at this point. It’s attractive enough though nothing special; the brushed stainless steel is easy to keep clean and all the controls are front & center. It’s much lighter than I expected which is why I can’t comment at this stage on durability, though it’s been great for almost a month with no problems whatsoever. I received this product as a sample to review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Nice toaster with just enough options

12/19/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this toaster as a sample to try out and review so I have trouble rating "value" but if I had paid for it I think I would still feel pretty good about it.
I particularly like the wider openings / amount of lift. My husband toasts a lot of homemade bread and toaster cakes. In our old toaster they would get stuck inside all the time. I think the warm option is neat and was initially excited about it, though I've found since that I don't use it as much as I thought I would. My needs are pretty basic. I want my toaster to toast things. This toaster does that with a couple of options that are handy without being annoyingly covered in buttons and dials.
The look of it is appealing to me personally and it's held up well. I've bought some appliances that started falling apart after a week or so of use so this one gets points there.
Overall it's a good buy and I'd recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Very disappointed

05/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this toaster as a gift. I liked the look of it. Unfortunately, the toaster did not perform well at all. I've had it for a week, and thought I just needed to give it a chance to "break in." On the lowest setting, it barely gets the bread warm. But, once I turn it up, even the slightest bit, it often burns. When it doesn't burn, it toasts unevenly. (Bottom corner gets much darker than the rest of the slice.) Most of the higher ratings on this product was given by consumers who, "received this product as a sample to review." I wonder if the product samples were of higher quality. I am taking it in for a return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Not just good lookin

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As far as the smell goes you should run it empty 5 or 6 times starting with defrost and toast as hot as it will on the dial.. That seemed to help the new smell wear off. I think it's a gorgeous little guy. He fits in my small kitchen well. A little over 3 on the dial gives a very brown toast. So if you like it light start with a very low setting.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

I does a nice job for the dollars!

02/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has all of the features I was looking for. Does toast evenly, like the bread guides and teh abillity to raise small slices so I do not have to dig them out. Cool toush and my iwfe like the look in stainless.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Good toaster, Good price

10/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the toaster. Used about 1 month. Toasts evenly. Good with everything we've tried so far: regular sliced bread, frozen waffles, bagels*, bakery bread (Italian, French, Challah). The doneness setting of 2 - 2.5 is perfect for us.
*Bagel setting: Apparently, we are not bagel aficionados, as my family likes bagels toasted on both sides. Just tried sliced bread on the bagel setting in the left slot and the inner side toasted evenly and the outer side toasted very little (was mostly white). I would expect this, because there is heat in a confined space with a metal grate.
Burning off factory residue: I believe I ran it empty a few times on a couple days and the smell burned off. it was warm outside, so I put it near an open window. Follow the manufacturer's instructions and wiped down the parts it said prior to burn-off. Probably took a damp cloth to it again after some burn-off cycles.
The last toaster we bought was an Oster and it lasted 15+ years (maybe 20?).
Wish cord was a little longer. Remedy: extension cord.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Inconsistent

02/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This toaster was a gift from my Dad. He likes toast and noticed that we didn't have a toaster, but a toaster oven. He's not used to using a toaster oven, so he decided to buy this toaster. It is not consistent with he browning of the bread. No mater what I do to adjust the controls, it will either will not brown the bread, or burn it. This is on the same setting. For example, the dial controls starts a 1 - 5. If you place the dial between 2 and 3, it will either not brown the bread, or burn it.
I wouldn't have purchased this, but since it was a gift, I really don't feel right taking it back.
Recommends this product? No
From Oster Brand Team02/24/2015
Thank you for informing us about the problem you are having with this toaster. The setting are not all the same, it sounds like there may be a malfunction in the internal wiring. I would like for you to call us at 1-800-334-0759 for further customer assistance. Our hours of operation are Monday-Friday from 9am-6pm, EST. Oster
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Nice color

03/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked this toaster whwn it arrived. Tje stainless steel was great and sisnt look cheap. Good buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Bagel Function Is A Joke

09/06/2013
By ,
San Diego
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a great looking toaster with the stainless finish and the way the controls are laid out... it's too bad it doesn't do what it's supposed to do.
Aside from uneven toasting, my biggest issue with this toaster is that the bagel function is worthless. Both sides of your bagel or roll are getting toasted whether you push the bagel button or not. I eat a good number of bagels, and also use a lot of bakery sandwich rolls, which means I cut them in half, and I like to toast the cut side and only WARM the soft outside. That's not possible with this toaster... the outside of the bagel or bun gets not only toasted, but burned.
This one is going back to the store. If you like to toast bagels or bakery rolls, you are going to hate this toaster.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Toasting the Toaster

02/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a toaster that works like it's suppose to.
We looked at many and found one that sounded like the toaster's from our childhood.
And the toast is done right, in a short amount of time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Solid Quality

02/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made, operates flawlessly, makes evenly-browned toast every time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Excelent

02/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elegant
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

poor quality, cheaply made

02/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed in this toaster, it will not hold a full slice , some parts of the bread will not be toasted, it is cheaply made very light weight. overall I was very disappointed and have since gave it to goodwill and purchased a better brand and model.
Recommends this product? No
From Oster Brand Team02/12/2015
Thank you for taking the time to write in a review. I'm sorry that the toaster did not meet your expectations. All of our design for life products do carry a five years warranty. If you still have the toaster with you please contact us at 1-800-334-0759. We are open from Monday-Friday from 9am-6pm, EST. Oster
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Great toaster

04/27/2014
By ,
Houston texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have gone thru 3 toasters until I found this one that makes perfect toast, bagels and English muffins.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Short Slot

12/24/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Major disappointment. Advertised as having extra long slots, but are just the standard 5.5 inch. Have to cut 1/2 inch or more off artesian slices to get them to drop to toasting position.
Recommends this product? Yes
From Oster Brand Team03/02/2015
Thank you so much for writing in this review. I am sorry to hear you are unhappy with the toaster. We here at Oster are always happy to receive feedback so that we may better improve our products in the future. Oster
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

blind knob

01/31/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did a lot of research and this model was the one I chose... It has met all expectations. The only negative is the knob that you use to control the darkness has a raised portion that you use to select the darkness you desire but it is the same color of the knob and very difficult to see if you have it where you want it... I will use some white paint to highlight it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Best value for the price

02/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our last toaster was an Oster (had for over 10 years). We bought a different brand because there weren't any Osters in the store and took it back the next day-because it didn't toast evenly. Looked at Consumer Reports and saw this one was highly rated-so we got another Oster- love it all over again..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next