Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Oster Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

The Oster 2-Slice Toaster For Life features advanced toasting technology for consistent toasting, even with thick-sliced artisan breads. Features of the Oster 2-Slice Toaster For Life include auto settings for toast, bagels and frozen foods, plus seven toast shade settings from light to dark that allow you to choose preferred level of doneness. "QUICK 30 SECONDS" setting is ideal when just a little extra toasting time is needed. Also designed with convenient toast lift, extra-long slots and auto-adjusting bread guides.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation84%41 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Sleek practical toaster

12/19/2013
By ,
Cropseyville, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the sleek, neat look of this toaster. It ads to the decor of my kitchen as well as being a useful, practical toaster. It has long ,wide slots for specialty breads and bagels. It has many settings for the degree of darkness that I may want for my bagel or toast. With a little practice, I can figure just the right setting for each type of thing that I am toasting. If I want to quickly stop the process, I can cancel the toaster with just a touch of a button. I like the even toasting to the bread. No more squishing the bread into the toaster and then having the edges all burned. I could easily remove the toast and avoid burning myself trying to dig a piece of bread out of the toaster with the toast lift. Because of the sleek design, it is easy to clean and the removable tray allows for easy clean up also.
My disclaimer in this review is that this was a toaster I was able to test in my home, this is not something that I purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Never Thought I'd Use a Toaster This Much!

12/18/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am enjoying this toaster so far, and I am using it a lot more than any other I’ve owned. The toast options are numerous, yet the controls are intuitive and it takes just an extra second to choose. I love being able to choose options like toast, bagel or frozen, then choose degree of toasty-ness from 1-7 on the dial. My favorite thing so far is the “Quick 30 Second” button that is wonderful for reheating or just yielding a hint of toast quality. I’ve used it so far with hamburger buns, English muffins and thick ciabatta bread with great results. There really isn’t a down side at this point. It’s attractive enough though nothing special; the brushed stainless steel is easy to keep clean and all the controls are front & center. It’s much lighter than I expected which is why I can’t comment at this stage on durability, though it’s been great for almost a month with no problems whatsoever. I received this product as a sample to review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Extremely Pleased with this Oster Toaster.

09/12/2013
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked the nice metal finish on this toaster. The blue lights on
the front condirm what action you have chosen. I also liked the rubber
cushion on the pushdown lever, so that I was not pushing a skinny
metal or plastic control which felt cheap.
Perhaps the nicest surprise was the actual toasting in an inner metal
chamber, isolated from the outer metal case of the toaster. The result
is a metal toaster that does NOI get hot to the touch on the outside,
where people normally have to risk burning their hands OR settle for
an all-plastic toaster which picks up scratches, stains, etc.
This Oster toaster has made me enjoy toasting so much for a quick
breakfast snack with butter (and jelly) that I make toast EVERY morning
every morning. I could not be more pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Nice toaster with just enough options

12/19/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this toaster as a sample to try out and review so I have trouble rating "value" but if I had paid for it I think I would still feel pretty good about it.
I particularly like the wider openings / amount of lift. My husband toasts a lot of homemade bread and toaster cakes. In our old toaster they would get stuck inside all the time. I think the warm option is neat and was initially excited about it, though I've found since that I don't use it as much as I thought I would. My needs are pretty basic. I want my toaster to toast things. This toaster does that with a couple of options that are handy without being annoyingly covered in buttons and dials.
The look of it is appealing to me personally and it's held up well. I've bought some appliances that started falling apart after a week or so of use so this one gets points there.
Overall it's a good buy and I'd recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Flimsy, NOT Designed For Life

04/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2, failed to meet my needs and expectations. I found it flimsy and unattractive and promptly returned it. Instead, I went for the much nicer and sturdier Nesco Everyday 2-Slice Toaster T1000, my fourth toaster purchase after buying and returning two Waring Commercial 2-Slice Toasters WCT702 Light-Duty and the Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2 because they could not toast my gluten-free bread in only one toasting cycle. The Nesco T1000 Toaster also could not toast my bread in only one cycle, but I was able to easily access and modify the toaster controller circuit board to increase the maximum toasting cycle time from about 2.5 minutes to 5.5 minutes by altering resistor and capacitor values in the RC timing circuit. This voids the warranty, but I get a nice toaster that does the job at a very reasonable price only $5 more than the junky Oster Designed For Life Toaster and much cheaper than the $100 Waring Commercial WCT702 Toaster. The Nesco T1000 Toaster is not perfect, but close...it's a keeper! Comparisons of the three toasters are given below:
Nesco Everyday 2-Slice Toaster T1000
Pros:
. Relatively sturdy construction with solid browning control and function buttons
. Browning control has 25 detents for fine, repeatable browning settings
. Has large, blue light, Cancel, Defrost and Bagel buttons
. Bagel button turns off outside heating elements to toast only the bagel inside and may be pressed anytime during the toasting cycle so that the outer elements can remain on for part of the cycle to warm the outside of the bagel
. Has unique ability to lift pop-up lever during the toasting cycle without cancelling to check on browning status
. Very attractive chrome metal shell with lustrous metallic gray, red or cream trim
. 1000 watts
. Centering guides and lifters are adequate and slot lips are bent inward allowing bread slices to slide by without getting trapped under the edge
. Pop-up spring adequately raises bread slices above slot and extra-lift lever works adequately
. With a special TA23 triangle head screwdriver, one can readily service or modify the toaster if so inclined (Silverhill Tools ATKTR4 Triangle Head 5 Size Screwdriver Set)
. Toasts uniformly on both sides
Cons:
. Insufficient toasting cycle time (will not brown gluten-free bread in one cycle), however, the toaster can be readily modified to increase the toasting cycle time
. Toasting cycle time decreases in hot toaster compared to cold toaster by as much as 1 minute requiring increase in browning setting to maintain shade in successive toaster batches
Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2
Pros:
. 5-year warranty
Cons:
. Flimsy construction with wobbly, loose browning control easily bumped off setting
. Unattractive shell would look better with contrasting black base rather than gray base
. Only 750 watts (well below 850 watt average and way too low for wide slots)
. Insufficient toasting cycle time (will not brown gluten-free bread in one cycle)
. Weak pop-up spring won't lift heavier bread slices above slot
. Extra-lift pop-up lever is awkward to use
. Flimsy centering guides and lifters leave gaps that can trap thin bread slices
. Poorly designed slot right-angle lips that trap short, thin bread slices under the edge (lips should be bent inward so that bread will readily slide past the lip edge)
. Bagel function does not toast on one side only of bagel, only extends toasting time for both sides
Waring Commercial 2-Slice Toaster WCT702 Light-Duty
Pros:
. Sturdy construction with solid browning control and function buttons
. Attractive chrome finished metal shell
. Toast pops up high above slot for easy access
. 3-wire grounded heavy duty 6 ft power cord
. Base has built-in handles (toaster can be moved while hot)
. Uniform browning on both sides (no stripes)
. 950 watts
. Wide slots with well-designed self-centering guides and lifters
Cons:
. No Bagel function (has Reheat, Defrost and Cancel buttons)
. Insufficient toasting cycle time (will not brown gluten-free bread in one cycle)
. High price
. Large toaster takes up a lot of counter space
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Bagel Function Is A Joke

09/06/2013
By ,
San Diego
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a great looking toaster with the stainless finish and the way the controls are laid out... it's too bad it doesn't do what it's supposed to do.
Aside from uneven toasting, my biggest issue with this toaster is that the bagel function is worthless. Both sides of your bagel or roll are getting toasted whether you push the bagel button or not. I eat a good number of bagels, and also use a lot of bakery sandwich rolls, which means I cut them in half, and I like to toast the cut side and only WARM the soft outside. That's not possible with this toaster... the outside of the bagel or bun gets not only toasted, but burned.
This one is going back to the store. If you like to toast bagels or bakery rolls, you are going to hate this toaster.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Love it!

04/06/2014
By ,
Waterford
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All the options make this a great product value and it performs wonderfully.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

will not toast the entire piece of bread

04/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this piece of junk home made some tunafish, put the bread in the toaster and pop out comes my bread only 3/4 of it is toasted what 's that all about. they must have smaller bread where this is made don't waste your time with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Great looks, poor operation

03/22/2014
By ,
texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this toaster at Walmart just over a year ago. Looks sleek and great.
I toast a half bagel 5x/week and some slice of bread 2x per week (Sat and Sun). I almost always use the right side.
Well, it wont lift the bread on that side. The wussy metal part is bent and comes out of the track.
Wrote to Oster/Sunbeam. They said: Out of warranty. We hope you will continue buying Oster.
"Designed for Life?"
NO
"Designed to last just longer than the warranty?"
Yes
Looks can be deceiving.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Doesn't have a true bagel cycle.

06/23/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I took this one back without even toasting anything in it. I ran it through a few cycles empty to burn off any manufacturing residue, and noticed that all the bagel button did was add a few seconds to the cycle; all the elements still came on so it would toast both sides of the bagel. The main reason I upgraded my toaster was to get a bagel cycle so I could toast them very well done without burning the backside of the bagel. I confirmed on Oster's website that this is the way the Bagel cycle operates on this model, and decided not to keep it. Otherwise the toaster looks good and seems well made, and may work very well for you if you don't toast bagels.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Makes great toast

03/21/2014
By ,
Winfield Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great for the price allso
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

good product and better than most

12/20/2013
By ,
Clarkrange TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great toaster. It toasts any breads very well. I have been making toast for decades, each morning and this is a keeper. The moisture of the bread varies and that often makes consistent toasting a tough job.
This toaster has buttons to set, based on the bread type as well as the usual light to dark knob. I did have to raise the darkness some, to keep the toast consistent, during the first week of use, as the elements were breaking in. Once that was done, toasting has been very consistent.
I use the bagel button for thicker breads, bagels and rolls and it too, provides consistent quality.
The only down side was the base was slightly off level, but a small piece of felt set things right in just a few minutes. It is easy to keep clean, has a small footprint, yet handles all bread types.
I did receive this toaster as an evaluation unit to be reviewed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Buy THIS for a GREAT Toaster

02/24/2014
By ,
Lenoir , NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 other brand name toasters and had to take them back. All in the same price range of 25-30 dollars. FINALLY got this Oster - an excellent toaster that browns and works perfectly. Cool to the touch on the outside as well. Thank goodness for a quality toaster. Don't waste your time buying other's and taking them back. This is a winner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Looks Great, Works Fine

02/22/2014
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were tired of the under 10 buck toasters we've been replacing with another after a few years. We also wanted one that stayed fairly cool to the touch. An unexpected bonus was the fact you can lift up on the handle after the toast is done and raise it another inch and a half or so. This is handy if you toast small or odd sized items. We are very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Lasts for warranty period and dies

11/13/2013
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I should have read reviews on this product before buying. It now toasts only on one side. The one year warranty was up last month... funny how they seem to know just how good to make them. Won't be buying Oster products anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Great value toaster with a modern design

12/19/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really liked how modern his toaster looked on my counter and how well the stainless finish matched the rest of my appliances. I did not like however how every fingerprints or water splash shows on the appliance. They are easily cleaned by being wiped away with a moist towel. The slots were wide enough to accommodate all brands of bagels, English muffins and breads. I liked the feature of being able to toast from a frozen state because I buy frozen breads quite often. The buttons display a pretty blue light so you can clearly see which features you are using. The cancel button is isolated off to the lower right corner so you don't hit it by accident when selecting your options. The crumb tray was easy to remove and clean, albeit a bit flimsy feeling.
I received a sample of this product in exchange for a review
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2
09/16/2013
By ,
Fayetteville,AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the product, the look of the product is great, having different settings is great unlike the most other products you can pick the setting and not have to worry about it burning.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

I must have a defective one

12/10/2013
By ,
Buckeye, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used this toaster a few times, and it's the worst toaster I've ever had. There must be something wrong with it. When toasting, it always burns part of the bread. I turned the setting down from 5 to 3, and it burned even worse on 3 than 5! I finally put it down to the 1 setting, where it lightly toasted one corner of the bread, and the rest was untoasted. The bagel setting is a joke as it toasted on both sides and was even hotter than the toast setting, so it burnt worse. Can't wait to return this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Beautiful Toaster

12/22/2013
By ,
Boonton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great toaster. Not only does it make great toast but it looks great doing so. The stainless steel appearance goes perfectly with any decor. It can toast bagels just as easily as toast. My favorite part is it can toast frozen bread as I tend to stock up when bread is on sale and freeze it.
DISCLAIMER: I received this product as a sample to review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Great 2-Slice Toaster

12/19/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This toaster is sleek, modern, attractive and loaded with great features which are easy to use. The stainless steel finish looks great on any countertop, and the product properly toasts all items from bread to bagels to frozen waffles. The defrost and cancel button features are the ones I use most often. The 30 second feature also helps you to avoid burnt toast by adding just a little bit extra. I was a bit disappointed to see some of the toaster is cast in plastic versus metal, but it seems durable enough. I also felt the toaster was a bit large given only a 2-slice bagel capacity; however, all of the pros for this toaster far outweighed the minor cons. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a standard 2-slice toaster.
DISCLAIMER: I received this product as a sample to review
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next