Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Oster Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

The Oster 2-Slice Toaster For Life features advanced toasting technology for consistent toasting, even with thick-sliced artisan breads. Features of the Oster 2-Slice Toaster For Life include auto settings for toast, bagels and frozen foods, plus seven toast shade settings from light to dark that allow you to choose preferred level of doneness. "QUICK 30 SECONDS" setting is ideal when just a little extra toasting time is needed. Also designed with convenient toast lift, extra-long slots and auto-adjusting bread guides.
Average Customer Rating:
4.094 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation83%53 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Sleek practical toaster

12/19/2013
By ,
Cropseyville, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the sleek, neat look of this toaster. It ads to the decor of my kitchen as well as being a useful, practical toaster. It has long ,wide slots for specialty breads and bagels. It has many settings for the degree of darkness that I may want for my bagel or toast. With a little practice, I can figure just the right setting for each type of thing that I am toasting. If I want to quickly stop the process, I can cancel the toaster with just a touch of a button. I like the even toasting to the bread. No more squishing the bread into the toaster and then having the edges all burned. I could easily remove the toast and avoid burning myself trying to dig a piece of bread out of the toaster with the toast lift. Because of the sleek design, it is easy to clean and the removable tray allows for easy clean up also.
My disclaimer in this review is that this was a toaster I was able to test in my home, this is not something that I purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Never Thought I'd Use a Toaster This Much!

12/18/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am enjoying this toaster so far, and I am using it a lot more than any other I’ve owned. The toast options are numerous, yet the controls are intuitive and it takes just an extra second to choose. I love being able to choose options like toast, bagel or frozen, then choose degree of toasty-ness from 1-7 on the dial. My favorite thing so far is the “Quick 30 Second” button that is wonderful for reheating or just yielding a hint of toast quality. I’ve used it so far with hamburger buns, English muffins and thick ciabatta bread with great results. There really isn’t a down side at this point. It’s attractive enough though nothing special; the brushed stainless steel is easy to keep clean and all the controls are front & center. It’s much lighter than I expected which is why I can’t comment at this stage on durability, though it’s been great for almost a month with no problems whatsoever. I received this product as a sample to review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Very disappointed

05/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this toaster as a gift. I liked the look of it. Unfortunately, the toaster did not perform well at all. I've had it for a week, and thought I just needed to give it a chance to "break in." On the lowest setting, it barely gets the bread warm. But, once I turn it up, even the slightest bit, it often burns. When it doesn't burn, it toasts unevenly. (Bottom corner gets much darker than the rest of the slice.) Most of the higher ratings on this product was given by consumers who, "received this product as a sample to review." I wonder if the product samples were of higher quality. I am taking it in for a return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Extremely Pleased with this Oster Toaster.

09/12/2013
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked the nice metal finish on this toaster. The blue lights on
the front condirm what action you have chosen. I also liked the rubber
cushion on the pushdown lever, so that I was not pushing a skinny
metal or plastic control which felt cheap.
Perhaps the nicest surprise was the actual toasting in an inner metal
chamber, isolated from the outer metal case of the toaster. The result
is a metal toaster that does NOI get hot to the touch on the outside,
where people normally have to risk burning their hands OR settle for
an all-plastic toaster which picks up scratches, stains, etc.
This Oster toaster has made me enjoy toasting so much for a quick
breakfast snack with butter (and jelly) that I make toast EVERY morning
every morning. I could not be more pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Great buy ... almost perfect toaster!

07/20/2014
By ,
Plano, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased an expensive Calphalon 2-slice toaster a couple days ago based mostly on on Consumer Reports' "top rating" plus my previous confidence in the Calphalon brand, although the price was definitely more than I really wanted to pay. Unfortunately, when I got this home and put it into service, my toaster was virtually "DOA." While this Calphalon model was nice looking, I quickly determined that the inside build and slide lever were very flimsy. In fact, upon just the second use the slide lever virtually "froze" and the knob on the end of it fell off. Not only that, but the toasting quality was relatively poor. I expected more from this "major" brand.
SO ... I returned this first purchase and then did considerably more research (dang ... should you have to do all this just to purchase a silly toaster??). I discovered this Oster 2-slice model specially made for WalMart -- at half the price of my previous purchase, and with a 5-year warranty to boot. Other Osters models had very good reviews on various websites, so that gave me confidence in the brand.
I just brought this Oster home and put it through some testing. I found it to be of good build quality (but with a bit more plastic than I wished for -- especially left side panel), very nice countertop appearance, and an additional handy feature the more expensive Calphalon didn't have. Best of all it produced virtually perfect toasting results (bread, bagels & toaster waffles). Although the bagels were a little uneven, the toast and toster waffles couldn't have been better! Overall, I am very pleased and impressed with this model toaster. And, I have peace of mind knowing that it has a 5-year warranty ... something I didn't find with any other brand regardless of the price. Good job Oster and WalMart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Oster Toaster

09/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best toaster we have ever had. Paid a little more for it than for others in the past, but it performs so much better. It also is a very attractive appliance. We especially like the 30 second feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Nice toaster with just enough options

12/19/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this toaster as a sample to try out and review so I have trouble rating "value" but if I had paid for it I think I would still feel pretty good about it.
I particularly like the wider openings / amount of lift. My husband toasts a lot of homemade bread and toaster cakes. In our old toaster they would get stuck inside all the time. I think the warm option is neat and was initially excited about it, though I've found since that I don't use it as much as I thought I would. My needs are pretty basic. I want my toaster to toast things. This toaster does that with a couple of options that are handy without being annoyingly covered in buttons and dials.
The look of it is appealing to me personally and it's held up well. I've bought some appliances that started falling apart after a week or so of use so this one gets points there.
Overall it's a good buy and I'd recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Great toaster

04/27/2014
By ,
Houston texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have gone thru 3 toasters until I found this one that makes perfect toast, bagels and English muffins.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Great toaster!

08/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product, love the added feature for 30 additional seconds as opposed to an additional cycle.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Toast seems to taste better

08/20/2014
By ,
Viera Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose Oster because of name. Couldn't have made a better choice.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Bagel Function Is A Joke

09/06/2013
By ,
San Diego
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a great looking toaster with the stainless finish and the way the controls are laid out... it's too bad it doesn't do what it's supposed to do.
Aside from uneven toasting, my biggest issue with this toaster is that the bagel function is worthless. Both sides of your bagel or roll are getting toasted whether you push the bagel button or not. I eat a good number of bagels, and also use a lot of bakery sandwich rolls, which means I cut them in half, and I like to toast the cut side and only WARM the soft outside. That's not possible with this toaster... the outside of the bagel or bun gets not only toasted, but burned.
This one is going back to the store. If you like to toast bagels or bakery rolls, you are going to hate this toaster.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Two slice Oster toaster,

08/11/2014
By ,
Apple Valley, MN.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A nice looking appliance that seems to do what we want. I do wish that it would do bagels on the sliced side only. This toasts both sides and it makes the finished bagel half rather hot to handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Oster Designed for Life 2 slice Toaster

07/26/2014
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Toasters design is very nice, looks great. I picked it up from the store a couple of days ago.
So far I have toasted only white bread, have not tried bagels. The bread is not browning evenly. I always toast 2 slices. On one slice of the bread the side was very dark, yet the bottom was lighter than the rest of the slice. I tried the various browning settings. I am rather disappointed with the quality. Oster is a brand one usually can depend on for its quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Love this toaster!!

08/03/2014
By ,
Downingtown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this toaster so much that I just bought 2 more. One for our shore house and one for a gift. Best toaster I ever owned!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Useless Toaster

07/26/2014
By ,
Woodstock, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This toaster listed all the options I needed. However it does not toast well. Even on the lowest setting it burns the bread black and does not automatically eject the bread and turn off. You get the same result on any setting. It is headed for the Goodwill store. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

perfect toaster

07/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a perfect toaster with all stainless steel. like it very much
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Doesn't have a true bagel cycle.

06/23/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I took this one back without even toasting anything in it. I ran it through a few cycles empty to burn off any manufacturing residue, and noticed that all the bagel button did was add a few seconds to the cycle; all the elements still came on so it would toast both sides of the bagel. The main reason I upgraded my toaster was to get a bagel cycle so I could toast them very well done without burning the backside of the bagel. I confirmed on Oster's website that this is the way the Bagel cycle operates on this model, and decided not to keep it. Otherwise the toaster looks good and seems well made, and may work very well for you if you don't toast bagels.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Great toaster for everything.

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great toaster for regular toast, pop tarts, and frozen products, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

great toaster

07/02/2014
By ,
grand rapids mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This toaster is fantastic. Best buy i have made lately
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Great looks, poor operation

03/22/2014
By ,
texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this toaster at Walmart just over a year ago. Looks sleek and great.
I toast a half bagel 5x/week and some slice of bread 2x per week (Sat and Sun). I almost always use the right side.
Well, it wont lift the bread on that side. The wussy metal part is bent and comes out of the track.
Wrote to Oster/Sunbeam. They said: Out of warranty. We hope you will continue buying Oster.
"Designed for Life?"
NO
"Designed to last just longer than the warranty?"
Yes
Looks can be deceiving.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next