Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Oster Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

The Oster 2-Slice Toaster For Life features advanced toasting technology for consistent toasting, even with thick-sliced artisan breads. Features of the Oster 2-Slice Toaster For Life include auto settings for toast, bagels and frozen foods, plus seven toast shade settings from light to dark that allow you to choose preferred level of doneness. "QUICK 30 SECONDS" setting is ideal when just a little extra toasting time is needed. Also designed with convenient toast lift, extra-long slots and auto-adjusting bread guides.
Average Customer Rating:
3.914 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation80%74 out of 93reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Sleek practical toaster

12/19/2013
By ,
Cropseyville, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the sleek, neat look of this toaster. It ads to the decor of my kitchen as well as being a useful, practical toaster. It has long ,wide slots for specialty breads and bagels. It has many settings for the degree of darkness that I may want for my bagel or toast. With a little practice, I can figure just the right setting for each type of thing that I am toasting. If I want to quickly stop the process, I can cancel the toaster with just a touch of a button. I like the even toasting to the bread. No more squishing the bread into the toaster and then having the edges all burned. I could easily remove the toast and avoid burning myself trying to dig a piece of bread out of the toaster with the toast lift. Because of the sleek design, it is easy to clean and the removable tray allows for easy clean up also.
My disclaimer in this review is that this was a toaster I was able to test in my home, this is not something that I purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Extremely Pleased with this Oster Toaster.

09/12/2013
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked the nice metal finish on this toaster. The blue lights on
the front condirm what action you have chosen. I also liked the rubber
cushion on the pushdown lever, so that I was not pushing a skinny
metal or plastic control which felt cheap.
Perhaps the nicest surprise was the actual toasting in an inner metal
chamber, isolated from the outer metal case of the toaster. The result
is a metal toaster that does NOI get hot to the touch on the outside,
where people normally have to risk burning their hands OR settle for
an all-plastic toaster which picks up scratches, stains, etc.
This Oster toaster has made me enjoy toasting so much for a quick
breakfast snack with butter (and jelly) that I make toast EVERY morning
every morning. I could not be more pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Never Thought I'd Use a Toaster This Much!

12/18/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am enjoying this toaster so far, and I am using it a lot more than any other I’ve owned. The toast options are numerous, yet the controls are intuitive and it takes just an extra second to choose. I love being able to choose options like toast, bagel or frozen, then choose degree of toasty-ness from 1-7 on the dial. My favorite thing so far is the “Quick 30 Second” button that is wonderful for reheating or just yielding a hint of toast quality. I’ve used it so far with hamburger buns, English muffins and thick ciabatta bread with great results. There really isn’t a down side at this point. It’s attractive enough though nothing special; the brushed stainless steel is easy to keep clean and all the controls are front & center. It’s much lighter than I expected which is why I can’t comment at this stage on durability, though it’s been great for almost a month with no problems whatsoever. I received this product as a sample to review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Not just good lookin

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As far as the smell goes you should run it empty 5 or 6 times starting with defrost and toast as hot as it will on the dial.. That seemed to help the new smell wear off. I think it's a gorgeous little guy. He fits in my small kitchen well. A little over 3 on the dial gives a very brown toast. So if you like it light start with a very low setting.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Nice toaster with just enough options

12/19/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this toaster as a sample to try out and review so I have trouble rating "value" but if I had paid for it I think I would still feel pretty good about it.
I particularly like the wider openings / amount of lift. My husband toasts a lot of homemade bread and toaster cakes. In our old toaster they would get stuck inside all the time. I think the warm option is neat and was initially excited about it, though I've found since that I don't use it as much as I thought I would. My needs are pretty basic. I want my toaster to toast things. This toaster does that with a couple of options that are handy without being annoyingly covered in buttons and dials.
The look of it is appealing to me personally and it's held up well. I've bought some appliances that started falling apart after a week or so of use so this one gets points there.
Overall it's a good buy and I'd recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Good toaster, Good price

10/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the toaster. Used about 1 month. Toasts evenly. Good with everything we've tried so far: regular sliced bread, frozen waffles, bagels*, bakery bread (Italian, French, Challah). The doneness setting of 2 - 2.5 is perfect for us.
*Bagel setting: Apparently, we are not bagel aficionados, as my family likes bagels toasted on both sides. Just tried sliced bread on the bagel setting in the left slot and the inner side toasted evenly and the outer side toasted very little (was mostly white). I would expect this, because there is heat in a confined space with a metal grate.
Burning off factory residue: I believe I ran it empty a few times on a couple days and the smell burned off. it was warm outside, so I put it near an open window. Follow the manufacturer's instructions and wiped down the parts it said prior to burn-off. Probably took a damp cloth to it again after some burn-off cycles.
The last toaster we bought was an Oster and it lasted 15+ years (maybe 20?).
Wish cord was a little longer. Remedy: extension cord.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

toaster

01/27/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The first one I got had to be returned, it didnot work right out of the box second one has been working fine
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

oster toaster

01/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I think it had been dropped or something it was scratched and not level on the counter.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Short Slot

12/24/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Major disappointment. Advertised as having extra long slots, but are just the standard 5.5 inch. Have to cut 1/2 inch or more off artesian slices to get them to drop to toasting position.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Very disappointed

05/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this toaster as a gift. I liked the look of it. Unfortunately, the toaster did not perform well at all. I've had it for a week, and thought I just needed to give it a chance to "break in." On the lowest setting, it barely gets the bread warm. But, once I turn it up, even the slightest bit, it often burns. When it doesn't burn, it toasts unevenly. (Bottom corner gets much darker than the rest of the slice.) Most of the higher ratings on this product was given by consumers who, "received this product as a sample to review." I wonder if the product samples were of higher quality. I am taking it in for a return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Toaster

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are loving it, no complaints.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Only available at WalMart!

01/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a quick search of toaster reviews and found that this model was rated quite well by GH and cost much less than similarly rated toasters. It was a bit difficult to find for purchase because it turns out to be a WalMart exclusive (who knew??)! I ordered it on-line for quick pick up at a local store, and it functions as effectively as the reviews claimed. I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Don't get burned

01/18/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is fairly new but finding it doesn't toast evenly not good for larger sliced breads (ryes )small slots in length the width is ok.for bagels but again not finding evenly toasted
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

I am impressed with this toaster.

01/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this to my son who bought a cheap toaster that can't even cancel an order.
I have a fairly new toaster, but it does not have the "extra 30 seconds" that this one does. I would really like that feature! I am impressed with the "Made for Life" that Oster is committed to. What a great idea! I hate appliances that are bound to fail in a short amount of time. I have not used it myself, but I thought the price was fair and the product is very nice looking and has good features.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

toaster

01/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great toaster! Works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Warm as toast!

01/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect for my needs! It does bagels and English muffins perfectly as well as regular toast. I love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Great toaster, great price.

01/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know and trust in Oster products. After searching my favorite internet shopping sites, I noticed that Walmart had the same exact item (item #) for about $15 less.
Hey.... I'm all about a great product at a great price! The toaster works and looks fantastic!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

very average-bummed cause so many good reviews

01/04/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The biggest problem, well there's 2. The bread does not drop all the way down when you begin toasting. I have to push on the top of the bread to get it down. Also, toasts great on one side then have to flip the bread. If you turn up the volume to say 3 1/2 or 4, it burns on one side. Thinking about returning it. Works about the same as our 10 year old toaster, definitely not an improvement!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Love this does bagels and toast

01/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Love this rather retro looking stainless steel toaster and that it adjusts for toast and bagels at the touch of a button.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster Designed For Life 2-Slice Toaster, Stainless Steel, TSSTTRDFL2

Good Toaster

01/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does a nice job on ego's and toast so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next