Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

T-Mobile T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

Tired of being locked into a long-term cell phone contract that doesn't allow you the flexibility you need? The T-Mobile Micro SIM Kit allows you to receive No Contract Cell Phone Service on any T-Mobile GSM mobile phone. The T-Mobile Activation SIM card is also applicable to other brands of unlocked GSM cell phones, offering you the freedom of the choice.
Average Customer Rating:
3.599 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(157 Reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
74
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation69%109 out of 157reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
106 Questions | 159 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
74
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

How to get it to work with iPhone 5

06/09/2013
By ,
Irvine, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was lucky I picked up the last copy at my local Walmart. I use this with my factory unlocked iPhone 5 and I will tell you how.
Buy this either online or at your local walmart for $40.
Inside you will get an activation card (which you need), it comes with a micro sim card so you can use that SIM if you have a phone that supports micro sim. However if you're like me and need a NANO SIM for your iPhone 5 go to a t-mobile store and request to buy a nano sim. It will cost like $10-20. (I didn't have to pay for mines because one came with my iPhone 5 when I bought it that I never used) The main things you need is the activation number, a sim card number (which is on your sim card and on the piece of paper that came with it), and your phone IMEI number.
Once you have those 3 things go to https://www.t-mobile.com/shop/plans/activatecodes.aspx and input all 3 in. Then you will choose a plan and you will see the $30 5GB unlimited text, 100 min plan. You will be forced to get a new number though since that's what the plan requires. Then fill in all the stuff like adding $30 to your line and your phone is ready to go. In total it took me 5 minutes to activate this online once I had all the proper stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
YOu must be US resident and have a credit card
Posted 07/22/2013
or you will fail the soft credit check that T-Mobile imposes.
+1point
Customer Avatar
USA
Thanks!
Posted 06/13/2013
I don't have an iPhone but you still provided the info I was looking for. Thank you!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

Make sure it fits your phone

05/18/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This kit comes with a Micro SIM, while my phone has a Mini SIM slot. I tried putting the Micro SIM into my phone and it got stuck; had to pry it out using paperclips.
I took it to a local T-Mobile store and they were able to exchange it. Just be forewarned that since you're buying it through Walmart, the local store may not have the special $30 for unlimited text/data plan coded in their system. They were able to get it resolved for me, but the guy had to jump through some hoops, which took a bit longer than I was expecting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

Activate BEFORE leaving the store

12/05/2013
By ,
Everywhere
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picked up my SIM in Washington State on the way to Arizona. Didn't bother to deal with signing up on the spot, put it in the vehicle and kept driving. At the next gas/food stop, I tried to activated. No dice. Tried via the t-mobile website and by phone. Would not work.
After a few phone calls in Arizona I went to a local Walmart. The tech guy (very knowledgeable) explained that Walmart had to send in an activation code to t-mobile at the point of purchase. If this doesn't get sent, the SIM cannot be activated. So, I had to swap that one out for a new SIM. The sent in the code at the till, and I was up and running in less than 5 minutes.
Note that you can get the same plans on a SIM from the t-mobile website too, and they often offer free SIM card & free delivery.
As for the service, well, it's not the best, but it is the cheapest for what I was looking for (primarily data). Better be in a highly populated area or highway though, or you may not get coverage.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Good info, but some info is misleading
Posted 03/27/2014
A HUGE caveat is that you cannot simply purchase the SIM online from T-Mobile's website. The SIM KIT with this plan is EXCLUSIVE to Walmart. If you're a snowbird or Canadian trying to buy the same from T-Mobile, good luck. T-Mobile does a soft credit check based on your credit card. Even if you have US Credit Card originating from Canada, it won't work. Not even calling T-Mobile customer service will help you. They have very strict rules against buying SIMS from outside of the USA.
Additionally, if you have an iPhone 5 or later, you will need a nano SIM. In theory, T-Mobile is suppose to swap your old unused larger SIM for the nano SIM should you need to. However, there are ongoing issues where T-Mobile authorized locations including standard kiosks in the mall won't do it for you. They'll charge you $10-15 for a replacement SIM unless you buy a new prepaid plan from them.
One more thing. cutting your a larger SIM into a micro or nano SIM is really hit or miss. The SIM even with adapter is typically not identified on many devices. You take your chances.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Wilmington, DE
When ordering from walmart.com tmobile sim wont wo
Posted 12/13/2013
Same problem, Sim wont work. They sent a replacement phone with sim, still wont work. whats wrong when ordering from walmart.com? So disapointed.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

Works great with Nexus 4

06/16/2013
By ,
Wood Village, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this kit up at my local Walmart for the same price. I activated a Nexus 4 I bought from the Google Play store on the $30/month T-Mobile plan and had no problems.
I did the activation online and it was quick and painless; since this is a secondary line for me, I didn't have T-Mobile port my number. The $30 credit included immediately paid for my first month of service.
I got this as a secondary phone/gadget, so I have no complaints. T-Mobile's service isn't as robust as Verizon's in the rural areas I sometimes frequent, but the price for data service is very reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
LA, CA
Wait what?
Posted 10/01/2013
I'm an existing TMo user. I got this activation kit thinking that it was preloaded with $30 to fund my account. I called TMo today and they said that this is only to AVAIL of the $30 unlimited data + 100 min talk plan, just so I could switch to it from my current plan. They said that I have to actually fund another $30 to my account so I could use it. So for you $30 was included? Can you please clarify?
Did I just buy a tiny piece of plastic for $33?
0points
Customer Avatar
Revere, MA
Question about plans
Posted 07/08/2013
Can anyone choose the $30/month plan, or does it have to be on a new phone/purchased from walmart? I have an old t-mobile phone that I want to use, but I don't want to spend any more than the 30 per month. Your review said you used a phone that you did not purchase from Walmart at the time that you purchased this activation kit, so I just wanted to confirm with you that purchase of a new device isn't necessary to get the $30/month plan.
0points
Customer Avatar
Des Moines, IA
Perfect for Nexus 4
Posted 06/24/2013
I did the exact same thing you did. Ordered my phone from Google Play, and bought this kit using Site to Store. No issues whatsoever. Used the T-Mobile registration site for a new account (eventually I'll port my number over from my other T-Mobile phone) and got my new number. $60 a month for 10 GB of Data, and 200 Minutes. Can't beat that! I have the accounts mostly for the Data, but 200 minutes is perfect for me too.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

Buy your sim card ONLY from Walmart!

11/02/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The whole sight to store process was great!
Buy your sim card from Tmobile and for ten dollars, you get a ten dollar sim card.
Buy it from Walmart for thirty dollars and you get thirty dollars worth of airtime AND the TEN DOLLAR sim card. So, effectively, the sim card is free!
And everyone likes free!
Nice going Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nyc
Re: Buy your sim card ONLY from Walmart!
Posted 11/21/2013
But it costs $40, not $30. So how do you calculate that the SIM card is free?
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

Great for those people that dont talk on the phone

09/13/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart sent my package so quick it was unnecessary for me to have upgraded my shipping to 2 day express. Regardless, I'm really happy with my savings. It sure beats the alternative of paying upwards to 45-70 dollars a month. I strongly suggest this package for anyone that doesn't necessarily talk on the phone all that often but would rather text and surf the internet. I have this $30 phone plan for about two weeks and the only thing I noticed would maybe be a slight (hair) difference in the internet speeds. It could be my old phone I don't k ow but I'm happy. When I ported my number over I thought it didn't go through and that I would have a lot of problems. It took about 30 min. for my phone to go with the new service.....that was 30 min. without a phone (pretty scary in todays world).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

Good price, good value, allright overall signal

11/01/2013
By ,
La Salle, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own a iPhone 4s and was worried about the mentioned 4G capability. But first the setup: The item ordered has been delivered in about 1,5 week, which is not too good, but I'm fine with that. I activated it over the internet, it was very fast and took me about 0,5-1 hours, the SIM card has been activated immediately. The item mentiones 2g and 4g but the iPhone 4s doesn't have the 1700mhz frequency which is responsible for 4G or LTE. But what did the iPhone do? It worked on a different frequency and used 3G instead. About a week later the t-mobile settings have been updated and the iPhone said: 4G! I couldn't believe it, so I made speedtests. This leads to the conclusion, that it shows 4G, t-mobile counts the traffic as 4G, but it is actually 3G speed and I am perfectly fine with that, so internet is something I don't have to worry about anymore! Texting and Calling works perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

Great Plan if You dont talk much!

12/01/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to activate my new Google Nexus 5 that I bought from the Google play store. Activated with no problem. I transferred my old cell number from a different carrier to T-Mobile. For this reason I had to speak with a customer service representative, who was surprisingly helpful. Biggest benefit of this plan is the 5Gb per month of high-speed data. Most plans only allow for 2.5Gb of high-speed data per month before throttling. T-Mobile 4G LTE is almost as fast as my home broadband connection, and coverage is better than my old carrier, Virgin mobile.
Now my bill each month is approx. $33 and I do NOT have a contract!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

If you don't use Voice Calling...

12/20/2013
By ,
Boulder, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Kit is for the person who texts more than talks. ONLY 100mins then 10cents per min.
The rest is unlimited Text and Data (5GB Cap on high speed 4G LTE Data). $30 per Month!!!
Get this kit, visit a T-Mobile store, and make sure they rebuilt the network in your area for 4G LTE. Have them cut the SIM down to nano size to fit iPhone 5 5c 5s, the SIM card is meant for iPhone 4 4s. Last, NEVER BUY A USED VERIZON iPHONE 4s!!! As of this date, 12/20/2013, the Federal Government has asked Cell Phone Carriers to start Unlocking, Out of Contract and No Contract, phones by 2014. Verizon iPhone 4s due have both radios (GSM/CDMA), when Verizon unlocks iPhones, then you can use a 4s on T-Mobile. (http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/12/12/us-usa-wireless-unlocking-idUSBRE9BB05320131212)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

Amazing deal for a "non-talker"

11/07/2013
By ,
Bayville, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I went from AT&T, $190/month to $60/month with this plan! We rarely actually talk do the 100 minutes were more than enough. SOOOO easy to make the switch, kept OUR phones, YES, you DO NOT have to buy a Tmobile phone, yours just has to be unlocked. I got the unlock codes from the unlockingcompany.com for $10 each! We were also able to keep our phone numbers! I have seen others spend less money on the sim card from amazon, however this kit also includes the first $30!!! So in reality the sim is free! TOTALLY WORTH IT!!! Fast shipping. I couldn't be happier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

Works Great with the Samsung Galaxy SII

09/06/2013
By ,
Misison Viejo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart apparently has recalled or discontinued the SIM Kit or SIM card for these prepaid plans in the stores as of Aug 31,2013 here in Southern Calif. so if you want this kit to use their plans, you have to get it online for now. The SIM card is the wrong size for the Galaxy SII so you have to go to a T-Mobile store to get the right one. They will NOT help you to activate it- just get the SIM but you can go online as has been suggested here to activate it on the T-Mobile website. T-Mobile will not do it over the phone either since it is a Walmart card. Just put the right sized card in the phone, and follow the instructions in the kit but use the new SIM card's number from the T-Mobile store instead of the smaller-sized SIM that comes with the kit.
Be sure to turn off WIFI Calling on the Android OS or you may run into the issues I did thinking the card was not working. Apparently WIFI calling, stops the cellular service. This is my first Android phone so who knew?
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
georgia
hello
Posted 01/19/2014
can i keep the same #, all my apps,contacts,photos, music and files
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

Why didn't i do this sooner?!

12/06/2013
By ,
White Plains, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SIM card took a few days to arrive, but once I had it in my possession it was amazingly simple. Came with very easy to follow directions and the assistance from T-mobile couldn't have been better. Porting my number over was a snap. They said it would take up to 48 hours, but in only took about 3. So happy to no longer have a contract. I'm saving at least $20/month. Great costumer service from T-Mobile! When I called Verizon to cancel they told me I would miss their costumer service. Lol. What costumer service? Waiting 20 minutes to speak with someone? They also said TMOBILE was not as robust. Can't speak for rural areas, but here in the NYC TRI-state area it's perfectly fine. I know plenty of others who use it. Switching my husband and son over as soon as their new phones arrive. Can't wait to save even more money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
georgia
can i keep my same number
Posted 01/19/2014
can i keep my same number, apps,contacts and files
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

Great Buy, Great Plan. Watch out its a Micro SIM

09/16/2013
By ,
Milpitas, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted the 30$/month unlimited web/msg, 100 min talk plan and apparently to get it I needed to purchase this from Walmart so I did. The card arrived sooner than expected to my chosen store, picked it up and went home to activate. The whole process was very simple and fast even when I didn't know what to expect. In less than an hour I was all set. I want to say that even though the description does not say what size SIM this is I zoomed in at the image and was able to read it's micro and thats what I needed. Even so I was not sure until I picked the package. Great buy
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

This+UnlockedAndroid+GoogleVoice=UnlmtdEverything

02/06/2014
By ,
Richland, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you buy this online, make sure it's scanned at the store or it won't activate.
Install SIM card into an unlocked android and activate online.
(You can also do this on an unlocked iPhone, but you'll need a 3rd party app to use Google Voice)
Get a Google Voice Number and install the Voice app.
Set Voice to make all calls.
You now have unlimited minutes, voice-mail transcription, and you can call/text from any device with a decent internet connection.
And if you have wi-fi at home and work, you'll probably never hit your 4G data limit of 5GB/month.
To beat that, you'll need to spend at least $60/month. (there are $40 & $50 plans with smaller caps on fast data)
You're welcome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

Works with my Google Nexus 4

06/26/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a Nexus 4 from Google for $299 and inserted the SIM card from this kit. Followed the instructions to activate, and had service. To my knowledge, this is the least expensive (prepaid or not) way to get unlimited data on a phone. Works great and fast in my area (Texas). Also took it to New York, worked there as well. Even took the phone to Germany and got a prepaid SIM card for 10 Euros with unlimited data for a month. What more can you ask for? Prepaid and SIM is the way to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

BYOD iPhone users beware

06/24/2013
By ,
Middleburg, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I had done more research first... if you have an iPhone 4/4s & 5 that did not come from T-Mobile after 12 Apr 13, then most likely you are going to have problems. First T-Mobile's 3G network uses different frequencies from AT&T. T-Mobile is currently refarming their networks to use the same frequencies as AT&T as they upgrade to 4G and incorporate the Metro PCS merger. Until this is done then you will only get 2G or Edge network connectivity for cellular data on your iPhones! (See the disclaimer for using a StraightTalk T-Mobile SIM in an iPhone.) I live in Jacksonville, Fl and have been told by two T-Mobile stores that the conversion for our area "should" be done in a couple of months. I knew that I would not get 4G network speeds with my 4 but I did not know that I would be limited to the edge network and not have access to a 3G network until sometime, perhaps, maybe in the distant future! There is NOTHING on the outside of the package that warns you to this fact. Research your area coverage by talking to a T-Mobile store first. There are no coverage maps that accurately show where the 3G coverage is working using the "new" frequencies.
Overall, the price is great value, if I can access a 3G network. I mostly use a soft phone app on wifi and just need a few minutes a month of actual cell time. Until the change over is complete I will stick with StraightTalk for now or bite the bullet and get a recent T-Mobile branded iPhone. Also I noticed that with the T-Mobile SIM installed the battery life sucked compared to my ST SIM even with carrier update 14.1 installed.
BUYER BEWARE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Middleburg, FL
Follow up
Posted 09/09/2013
Follow up to my original post. The phone I used was unlocked. The T-Mobile reps that I spoke with (both) told me that my older, unlocked iPhone 4 would not have 3g connectivity until the changeover was complete. "We want people to bring their unlocked phones to our system but we are waiting on the upgrades to the local network." The phone worked okay on voice and 2g data (after disabling 3g in the settings). If I have been misinformed by the T-Mobile reps then I do apologize. I spent the better part of a week tracking down the solutions given in the T-Mobile forums before visiting the T-Mobile stores and ultimately retuning the card to Walmart. The answers I found on the forums all matched the replies from the store reps. I still want to use this plan and it is time to see what the network status is for my area. I have not given up!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
Branford,CT
Poster has wrong information.
Posted 07/19/2013
You just have to have an unlocked GSM iphone. It says it right on the packaging. It doesnt matter when or from where you got your phone but it has to be carrier unlocked and be gsm. For example if you bought a 4s directly from apple and payed the full unlocked price then this will have no problem connecting.It can even be an iphone from at&t if you had them unlock it after you were done with contract.Im getting this for my nexus 4 and it works great.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

SIM Card serial number did not work.

01/06/2014
By ,
Santa Barbara, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased it online and tried to activate it T-Mobile website.
The SIM card serial number was not accepted. So I called the T-Mobile Customer Support to get help and they could not solve the problem either.
I returned it for refund immediately.
I simply wonder which company, T-Mobile or Walmart, to blame for causing this problem.
Anyway, it was a piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

Best Cellular Deal Out There

07/18/2013
By ,
Fresno CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Cellular deal out there. Worked great for iPhone 4S and bought another one for a Nexus 4. Both work great, and will get a third for Windows 8 phone next.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

t-mobile Walmart plan

08/06/2013
By ,
Appleton, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, I've been very happy with this plan, but beware of a few "gotcha"s which can cause bumps in the road. The kit I was sent contained a micro Sim, not the standard size sim. Depending on your phone, you might need the standard size. I did, so it wouldn't fit. Newer iPhones use the microSim whereas the older models and phones like the Samsung Galaxy use the standard size sim.
If you get the microSim and wind up needing the larger size, there is an adapter sold for about $10. It's possible that t-mobile might have sent out an exchange or swapped it at one of their kiosks, but I don't live near an actual t-mobile store so that wouldn't work. In the end, I just bought another standard t-mobile sim without any prepaid minutes on it and then was able to activate it using the code from the original Walmart bundle. It took a phone call to t-mobile to get that sorted out, but they were excellent and helpful and I got my $30 credit applied to the second Sim card.
If you have the reverse problem, i.e. getting sent a standard size sim and needing a micro, I've read online that you can trim the cardboard down to make it fit. The actual electronics chip in either style is the same, it's just the surrounding cardboard that varies to make it fit the slot. But I don't think I'd want to attempt that either.
Best advice, if I had it to do over, I'd take it in two steps. Get a t-mobile sim that fits your phone and don't bother buying the version that also contains the $30 credit. You can purchase that as a separate transaction. But I suspect even that approach might be tricky because the t-mobile customer service sells a different $30 plan than the Walmart branded version, and you have to get them to give you this plan, not their normal "off the shelf" version that has a lot more voice but very little data with it.
In the end, it was worth the hassle. Everything works flawlessly and I only wound up spending an extra few dollars for a second Sim card. But I still have the original microSim, so I can use that if I ever buy a phone that needs the smaller size.
The $30 plan limited voice plan itself is just what I need. 100 voice minutes doesn't sound like much, but it's close to 2 hours and extra minutes are just 10cents each. If you want text and (somewhat slow) data and a little bit of voice, this is a great option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for T-Mobile Micro SIM Activation Kit

DO NOT NEED for Nokia Lumia 521 ($30 Plan)!!

11/01/2013
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You ONLY need this if you are going to use your own unlocked phone!!
I just got a Nokia Lumia 521 (which is awesome!) and - after searching the Nokia, T-Mobile and Windows Phone websites, plus a bunch of forums, it appeared that I needed this starter kit to get the $30 Unlimited Web and Text with 100 minutes of talk.
Turns out you DO NOT need this: The SIM card that comes with the phone is all you need!! (You do need a "refill card" - at least $30 if you want the Unlimited plan...). And you MUST activate your phone online, or you cannot get that plan...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next