Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

The compact 521 4G T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia Smartphone is a Windows Phone that sports a memory card slot, 5MP camera. The cell phone also has a removable battery, a 1 GHz processor, and is 4G-capable. This T-Mobile Pre-Paid Smartphone also has the ability to integrate with Xbox, Windows 8 and SkyDrive. This phone is a smart choice to connect, play games or get your daily weather, in addition to talking to friends and family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.032 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(830 Reviews) 806
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
434
4 stars
215
3 stars
46
2 stars
44
1 star
91
Customer Recommendation82%679 out of 830reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
434
4 stars
215
3 stars
46
2 stars
44
1 star
91
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Lumia 510 is an awesome smartphone for the price

05/07/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once cannot go wrong on this one..bought the Lumia 510 few weeks back from HSN at a higher price then what it is here on Walmart, but still a great deal..The looks are awesome and looks even better then Samsung Galaxy...its even superior on the display and camera..the best part was that the Windows 8 was super easy to use...and the biggest feature i liked is that it is lightning fast to use the Apps on this smartphone...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+353points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Valley Center
You reviewed the wrong model phone
Posted 05/03/2014
The phone being reviewed is the T-Mobile Nokia Lumia 521.
Your review is the Lumia 510. (if that phone even exists)
0points
Customer Avatar
San Diego
Best phone ever!
Posted 05/07/2013
I love Nokia, I love the new microsoft phone software, and this phone is really inexpensive and amazing! Wish I could afford the higher end Lumia's, but this will do for now :)
+3points
It was meant Lumia 521 above..sorry for the typo
Posted 05/07/2013
by mistake entered Lumia 510 instead of 521
+5points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 2 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Lumia is the Best Phone w/ features for the Money

05/08/2013
By ,
NY, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great design, love the colors and features. Everthing i would expect in a 300 dollar phone for a lot less.
I have had iphone and Samsung phones. I decided to be different and since
the reviews of the Lumia were all great I decided to go for it and get one.
I love the Microsoft OS and all the feautures and apps that I am used to.
I Highly recommend the phone and tell you that you can be confident in your purchase.
Enjoy it! I do.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+330points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
nc
pre paid phone
Posted 08/31/2013
i already have a straight talk account and phone. do i need to buy anything else to make this phone work..?
0points
Customer Avatar
Lowell, MA
Straight Forward Phone at a Good Price
Posted 06/11/2013
"Nokia" and "T-Mobile Family Pack" at Walmart, make a very good combination.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

The best phone I have ever used

05/08/2013
By ,
Long beach, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bough this for my wife but after using it decided to get one for myself and replace my iphone4. Nokia has done such a good job. The style is very european and windows 8 is so easy to use. I have all the apps I can use and more. Go for this phone you will be happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+214points
Review 4 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Outstanding phone!

05/09/2013
By ,
Appleton WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone, is thin, light, very easy to use and has all the apps I use (audible, spotify, youtube etc.)
Screen is beautiful, speaker is great.
Free turn-by-turn GPS is awesome, so is the expandable memory!
The price is PHENOMONAL! I don't know how they can sell other phones for hundreds of dollars more that really aren't a lot better.
This IS the phone for your teenager, hands-down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+131points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleve, OH
Wow!
Posted 06/18/2013
Gotta say your short and to the point review touched on a lot of my questions on this phone. I just ordered it and should have it in a 5 days or so. I have never had a phone like this and dont even understand all the jargen you smartphone big heads know. Lol. Anyway I really wanted to know if it had external speaker. I hate HAVING to have headphones on. I like to just bring my phone to the kitchen while washing dishes for music or outside the bathroom while showering. Also I wanted to know if there was a gps. YES! Expandable memory...I love lots of music and pix. YES! Definately want Spotify sinse I got turned on to it several mnths ago. YES! Thanx so much! I wish I had someone to teach me all of this stuff so I can get the full use out of my new phone thats coming! I assume this is "unlocked" just pop my current sim card in and continue on with my current T-Mo plan?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Under $140 Windows 8 and World Wide Nokia Apps

05/09/2013
By ,
huntley,il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth every penny out of $139 as Window 8 Phone.
Offline GPS and Nokia Music Offline with download free...Best Pic Camera with No Flash...
And no Front Face Camera..First Windows Phone after watching review on Youtube..
Go get it while you talk to Wallmart Assoc. and gave them UPC Code...They will unlock Magic Cabinet and give this phone to you...
Good Luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 6 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Crazy good price

05/11/2013
By ,
LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my opinion, this is the best deal on a smartphone, period. I wasn't sure about Windows, but I love the live tiles and how responsive the phone is. The phone call quality is exceptional, which was important to me.
Nokia's overall quality is unmatched by anyone - including Apple. Windows apps are catching up fast and the 521 supports 4G (but not LTE) and has a very responsive 4-inch screen, a 5-megapixel camera with 720p HD video capture, and music lovers, like me, will love Nokia Music. Great phone at an even better price. You'll love this phone. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 7 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone
05/12/2013
By ,
terre haute, indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone can't go wrong, I've had many android phones and windows 8 beats them all especially for the price! May 21 2013 it will even be updated to have WiFi calling I just wish they had more in stock so I could buy my whole family one
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 8 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

great phone

05/12/2013
By ,
Boston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have the family plan with T-Mobile (now only $90+Tax for 3 phones). After buying our first windows phone last year (Lumia 710) to replace a broken Android phone, we were impressed how good Windows phones are and how easy to use. Since then, I also replaced my Blackberry work phone with a Lumia 822 (Verizon), and was just blown away how much better Windows software and Nokia hardware are.
We now added the Lumia 521 to replace yet another Android. The phone is just the best for the price. It is a full featured windows phone with a nice camera. Wifi, Bluetooth features are all build in. I suggest to add a micro-sd memory card for your pictures and to activate the WIFI connection when you are at home (the basic T-mobile plan gives only 500 MB data/month/phone)
I found all the apps including games that I like and they are a snap to upload (there are 145,000 of them). Of course Windows phone comes with the office app build in, probably the most useful app. I think the phone beats even $300-$400 Androids and is a great buy at less than $130.
Look for the maintenance release that will allow Wifi calling (for those that travel outside this country) coming after May 20 (according to T-Mobile)
As an additional note: the Bluetooth connection to my KIA went without a hitch. Here - Drive GPS works great and other hands free phone operatiens work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 9 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Beat all other entry-level smart phones

05/13/2013
By ,
Fremont, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a five year iPhone user and I like my iPhone, until a few days ago. I bought 521 simply because Lumia looks pretty. But after a few days with this Lumia phone, I have to say it is way beyond my expectation and I don't want to even touch my iPhone any more.
Now I use Skype to make phone call, I downloaded California's GPS map via WiFi. So instead of $85/mon AT&T bill, This prepaid phone can almost be free!
Nokia has been well known for making solid and fashionable phone for many years, I guess some of its technologies are superior than iPhone because I noticed the touch screen is super sensitive and you can even use a car key instead of your finger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+137points
Review 10 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Excellent quality phone

05/14/2013
By ,
Tampa,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone from HSN and have been using if for 10 days so far. So far, the phone is much better than expected for this price point. The quality of the phone is right up there with any of the recent android phones I have owned. But the software just works so much better. On all of my prior smart phones, I had to reboot the phone periodically to keep from freezing. I have yet to reboot this phone. Setup was pretty straight forward and simple. Just plugged in my SIM card, entered my live.com user name and password and everything synced and was ready to go. I had already moved my calendar and contacts to outlook.com prior.
Most of what I do with my phone is make calls, email and some texting. All of which is does very well. Call quality and reception is excellent. I live in an area where we have reception issues and used wifi calling with prior phones. Have not needed it with this phone and typically have 3-4 bars of reception. Although, wifi calling is coming with an update for this phone in a few days. It appears I will not need it, at least at home.
The build quality is not quite as good as some of the higher end Nokia Lumia phones. As far as I can tell, it has scratch resistant glass and not gorilla glass. But I always use Skinomi screen protectors with my phones, so this is really a non-issue for me. There is no flash, but I rarely ever use my phone as a camera. I did take a couple of quick test pictures outside and the camera is honestly sharper and better quality that my $200 point and shoot camera. Far better than any camera I have had on any previous phones. Battery life has been exceptional. With moderate use, I have never had my battery life drop below 50% in a full day of work. This is my work phone and I use it quite frequently through the day. The Lumia 521 is a very light and slim phone.
As for the Windows Phone 8, I like the layout. I specifically went and got a windows phone because I do like the new windows 8 interface. It is very clean and easy to navigate. There are not as many games and apps as the android play store, but again, I use my phone for work and very rarely play a game or do social networking on my phone. For those that need apps, there are the standard angry birds, cut the rope, facebook, etc on the play store.
I really only have 2 issues with the phone. My biggest complaint is the lack of separate volume controls. The volume control is unified, so when you are playing a game and turn down the volume, you also turn down your ringer volume. You just have to remember to turn the volume back up. Not a deal breaker, but something you should know going into it. I am hopint this will be addressed in one of the windows 8 phone service releases. My other issue, and this is minor, the plastic back is a little slick to hold onto. I have always kept my phones in some sort of silicone case to help prevent damage. So not really an issue as you can get a cheap case from online sites for $5-$6 for this phone.
Overall, a very good experience and probably a windows phone user for life after having used this phone. Android always seemed to be in some state of Beta to me. Windows 8 feels polished and smooth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 11 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Definitely above expectation

05/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Background: 4 years Iphone user
This is the first time I bought a Windows and NOKIA smartphone (~1 week ago). Overall, it really way out of my expectation and definitely worth every single cent I paid.
1 First time use WP platform, it is pretty simple, only use 2 hours to familiar with. Well, not every apps I used before can find in the store, but managed to get ~90% of the original one or something similar.
2 The phone itself is optimized perfectly. the user experience is close to IOS, great touch screen, good camara and battery. The softwares from NOKIA, ,like GPS and music is perfect. The only complain I had is the back is getting warmer than my iphone when watching video.
Overall, I should say this phone worth 300 bucks. Very satisfied!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Review 12 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Excellent

05/17/2013
By ,
Greenville,SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have now had the L521 for about two weeks. I am thoroughly impressed with the quality of the device as well as its functionality. The battery life, screen clarity, and WP8 experience are much improved over the HTC Radar that I previously owned. The dedicated Nokia apps alone make Nokia devices the ultimate WP8 choice. $129.99 is a steal of a price for this awesome smartphone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 13 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Ridiculously low price! Fantastic Features!

05/22/2013
By ,
Bellevue, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my Lumia 521 yesterday. It is running smoothly, easy to navigate and configure, with fantastic features such as:
(1) Nokia apps including downloadable maps and offline music
(2) Microsoft office including cloud based skydrive
(3) People tiles with connection to all my social sites
Wireless and Bluetooth works great. I have yet signed up with T-Mobile (whose price is very competitive) but I can use it as media player (for music and podcast) and GPS navigator already. I go to gym with it. I even think of buying another unit and just use it as it is! It is fully paid for!
The camera shot is decent. The apps are running smoothly. At this ridiculously low price, Lumia 521 is a winner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DONT GET THIS PHONE!!
Posted 11/10/2013
i hate this phone its the worst phone ive ever owned. It shuts down on me wont let me make calls and its not goood! IT blocked a person on my contacts worst phone ever!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

The Nokia Lumia 521

05/28/2013
By ,
Myrtle Beach,SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good smartphone for a great price that offers more than iOS and Android it has a very solid 5 megapixel camera, all of the excellent Nokia apps and services (HERE Maps, Nokia Music, and more), removable battery and a miro SD card slot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 15 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Excellent phone for the price! Easy to use

05/29/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in an area with poor reception. This phone has wifi calling capabilities, so making calls through my internet connection is perfectly clear! The battery life on windows phone is incredible. The quality is also very good for this price range. Windows phone 8 also has the majority of iphone and android apps now. Some are actually even better, for example Pandora.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 16 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Greatest Phone at This Price

05/31/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone works fluently thanks to the WP8, and the eye-catching UI makes everything come up intuitively.
Different from iphone and android phones, Nokia Lumia series with WP8 have its own characteristic. It is a good choice for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Review 17 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Not Sure? Well I'm telling you this is the one.

06/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is awesome, just like all the other reviews are saying. i have been using it a few weeks now and it is totally amazing. only one thing i can find that bothers me and that is the notification sound is not customizable, it only can be one of the like 10 stock sounds, but for the value and quality for $130. i haven't thought twice about my choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 18 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

GREAT WIN 8 NOKIA PHONE

06/05/2013
By ,
Manati, PUERTO RICO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cell phone has the basic and beyond or everyday use, it is smooth (as win os is) it is 4G, 8 GB w sd option, its great. I was looking for it online @ walmart.com but after 2 placed orders (one canceled by walmart and the other from me) I found it in my local walmart store in Puerto Rico. It woks smooth with my T-Mobile Straight Talk Sim ( you have to cut it) data is working, SMS AND MMS.
EXCELLENT BUY WITH AN EXCELLENT PRICE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 19 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Awesome!!

06/13/2013
By ,
dallas TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent phone for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 20 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Hands down, the best phone for the money!

06/13/2013
By ,
Louisville KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned a top-of-the-line Droid, and purchased a number of cheap (under $100) Droids for the kids. We have one iPhone on our T-Mobile plan. So this review is comparing this phone to other options, not just the phone in and of itself.
BUY THIS PHONE - if you can find it. We have several Walmart locations where I live, so I had to locate a store with this phone and drive to get it. As I write this review, it's out of stock online. I truly hope Walmart has plans to restock and carry this regularly!
It's fast - no waiting for web pages or apps to load. The map app, still presented as being a beta version, is EXCELLENT - directions are practically within inches of your actual location - impressive! You can tap a microphone icon to use your voice to text, instead of thumbing out your message. Navigation of the home screen is easy and intuitive.
The screen is a good size, but overall the phone is rather thin and not too heavy.
The only missing function that many would find useful is a camera flash.
We're a busy family and we destroy our phones on a fairly regular basis. When I see this on the shelf again, I'll probably just buy another and put it high up in a closet for the next person who drowns or crushes their phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
1-20 of 807 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  41 Next