Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

The compact 521 4G T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia Smartphone is a Windows Phone that sports a memory card slot, 5MP camera. The cell phone also has a removable battery, a 1 GHz processor, and is 4G-capable. This T-Mobile Pre-Paid Smartphone also has the ability to integrate with Xbox, Windows 8 and SkyDrive. This phone is a smart choice to connect, play games or get your daily weather, in addition to talking to friends and family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.032 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(830 Reviews) 806
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
434
4 stars
215
3 stars
46
2 stars
44
1 star
91
Customer Recommendation82%679 out of 830reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
434
4 stars
215
3 stars
46
2 stars
44
1 star
91
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great Value

05/08/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At this price point, the quality of this phone cannot be beaten. Nokia deserves a lot of credit for redefining this price-segment. Recommend this to anyone buying a cost-effective, first, or backup smartphone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+449points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
home
sims card
Posted 10/02/2013
can u put a sims card from another T-Mobile phone in this one
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Outstanding phone!

05/09/2013
By ,
Appleton WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone, is thin, light, very easy to use and has all the apps I use (audible, spotify, youtube etc.)
Screen is beautiful, speaker is great.
Free turn-by-turn GPS is awesome, so is the expandable memory!
The price is PHENOMONAL! I don't know how they can sell other phones for hundreds of dollars more that really aren't a lot better.
This IS the phone for your teenager, hands-down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+131points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleve, OH
Wow!
Posted 06/18/2013
Gotta say your short and to the point review touched on a lot of my questions on this phone. I just ordered it and should have it in a 5 days or so. I have never had a phone like this and dont even understand all the jargen you smartphone big heads know. Lol. Anyway I really wanted to know if it had external speaker. I hate HAVING to have headphones on. I like to just bring my phone to the kitchen while washing dishes for music or outside the bathroom while showering. Also I wanted to know if there was a gps. YES! Expandable memory...I love lots of music and pix. YES! Definately want Spotify sinse I got turned on to it several mnths ago. YES! Thanx so much! I wish I had someone to teach me all of this stuff so I can get the full use out of my new phone thats coming! I assume this is "unlocked" just pop my current sim card in and continue on with my current T-Mo plan?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone
05/12/2013
By ,
terre haute, indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone can't go wrong, I've had many android phones and windows 8 beats them all especially for the price! May 21 2013 it will even be updated to have WiFi calling I just wish they had more in stock so I could buy my whole family one
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 4 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

WOW, what a deal

05/12/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking forward to this phone coming out on the 11th, so when I saw they had them in on the 7th of May, I drove across town to get one. From the get go I was impressed, getting set-up to run was easy, I went with the Walmart / T-Mobile $30 a month plan. Once I got the phone logged in, just like a Windows 8 PC, it started to sync things for me. I have added my MSN/Hotmail accounts, SkyDrive , Office 365 Sharepoint TeamSite, and few other e-mails that I have running on exchange, all of this was done using no more then the userID and Password, there was no server names or any of that stuff needed. The camera, even though it does not have a flask, takes good lowlight pictures, and due to how I set it up, store them on my SkyDrive.
So regardless if you want a phone for business or just for your own use this is a great one to look at.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 5 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Beat all other entry-level smart phones

05/13/2013
By ,
Fremont, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a five year iPhone user and I like my iPhone, until a few days ago. I bought 521 simply because Lumia looks pretty. But after a few days with this Lumia phone, I have to say it is way beyond my expectation and I don't want to even touch my iPhone any more.
Now I use Skype to make phone call, I downloaded California's GPS map via WiFi. So instead of $85/mon AT&T bill, This prepaid phone can almost be free!
Nokia has been well known for making solid and fashionable phone for many years, I guess some of its technologies are superior than iPhone because I noticed the touch screen is super sensitive and you can even use a car key instead of your finger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+137points
Review 6 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

BEST PHONE I HAVE EVER USED

05/13/2013
By ,
Las vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone for the price, better than more expensive androids,very sensitive screen, all the apps I need, easy to use, good battery life, very good pictures , very happy with the purchase. I totally recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 7 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great phone

05/14/2013
By ,
ceres,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hoping just for a decent phone, I found this phone to be is so much more, . Took couple of days to customize screen & learn all the features (still learning) . Using t-mobile pay as you go with no data (use Wi-Fi) so monthly cost is 1/2 of what I was paying . Now I learn T-Mobile is enabling Wi-Fi calling next week. Not sure how that works but sounds promising. Apps I have added MS Office, weather channel, IMDB,Home depot, BofA ,CNN,Twitter,skype,FB, Talking Alarm Clock, Page Once,etc...I have just started trying xbox music subscription. It is like Netflix but for music so far really enjoy it, camera and automatic uploading of videos and photos to my sky drive is just spectacular. Will be getting another for wife. Price,speed, features, build just cant be beat unless you get a $400-500 "Phone" ..Hope this helped
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+200points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Skype w/o camera
Posted 09/05/2013
@Froggy31 : You don't need a camera to use Skype; you can still use it over WiFi to make free Skype-to-Skype calls and very cheap international Skype-to-phone calls.
0points
Customer Avatar
Nokia Lumia 521
Posted 08/29/2013
I see that you downloaded a Skype App. Since this doesn't have a front facing camera, how do you use Skype? Was this an error on your part or am I missing something.
-2points
Customer Avatar
ceres,ca
Map feature is great
Posted 05/16/2013
I posted my first take on phone and what you said i agree 100%. The map feature I just started using which is awesome . I Live in CA and going to temple, Texas . I was able to download map of ca and Texas and now do not need any kind of data when driving..What you criticized me for, I was making a point that i thought some would be interested in. I dont think you could buy a smartphone for this price and take to Att or verizon, etc..and be a pay as you go without data, good luck with that..So for me and my family this is huge. Sorry you did not think that it was worth mentioning, but many want a nice phone that does not require data and can put as much or little on a pay plan as their needs change, that was all. This is not just a nice phone , good luck finding a new phone for under 300 that does 1/2 of what this phone is capable of. Take Care
+2points
Customer Avatar
UP, MI
Best mapping / GPS world wide withou data plan
Posted 05/15/2013
Pay as you go, no data plan, only half cost. This is what I am doing for my school kids.
But with free downloadable state by state, province by province, country by country map, this phone still got the best mapping / gps services which are not available on any other platform phone. This can be life saving when travelling/camping/hunting as there are always areas without cell data signal, $650 phone, $100 monthly data plan fee simply won't work there.
+1point
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 8 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Works amazingly well. Cannot believe the price!

05/30/2013
By ,
Fairfax, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Summary: For $130 you get 99% of what you get with a $600+ phones.
I bought this for my father in law, but I went ahead and opened it to try it out. I'm amazed at what this phone can do for the price. First off, what don't you get for $130? There is no Front Facing Camera and no NFC. I have these features on my current high end smartphone, but I find they are almost never used. But what do you get for $130? A fully functional smartphone that runs as fast and smooth and does 99% of the things that $600 smartphones do. Heck I would argue it can do more, since iPhones and HTC One cannot swap out batteries or SD cards. I've looked at some of the budget Android phones, and most of them seemed to run a little slow and they were running older versions of Android (2.0). This guy is running the latest WP8, which is incredibly fast and smooth. It has the same excellent Nokia Drive GPS application you get with their high end Lumia line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 9 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Good Deal

06/03/2013
By ,
Traverse City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't have a service with this yet, T mobile isn't in Traverse City Michigan. But I can still use it as a GPS , Ipod, Camera, and surf the internet for $155 with 2 year warranty. Great deal, I should have bought Two.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 10 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

wow

06/03/2013
By ,
CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone. Best phone purchase I have ever made. Love the savings and phone and now I prefer the window phones. My next upgrade will be windows. The T-Mobile savings is nice as well. By sprint I don't miss you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 11 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Brilliant Phone! A must have for all users!

06/05/2013
By ,
Kansas City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although after hearing that Halo will be coming out for Window Phone, I will likely be upgrading to the Lumia 925 coming out on T-Mobile. I believe it will require 1 gb of RAM but who knows. Skulls of the Shogun runs on the Lumia 521. Awesome game by the way, you can play users playing on an Xbox 360 or Windows 8 pc/laptop/tablet from your Windows Phone! I think thats amazing. So exceptional phone! Love the office compatibility! I keep my budget on my Windows Phone in Excel. Its a tile on my Start Screen. And since I work with SharePoint, I can collaborate from my Windows Phone as well. I can submit last minute status reports to project sites via my phone! Office, Xbox, and so much more. A leader in productivity and gaming pairs them both together into one device. Love, love, love Windows Phone. With the assistance of a Skype plan, get unlimited calling, text, and data up to 5gb 4g for 33 dollars a month! Now thats awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 12 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great Windows 8 phone

06/06/2013
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this phone over a week. It's awesome. Far better than I expected for a budget phone. You have free offline navigation. You can download the entire usa map in one shot. Lots more features than I ever want. Some people commented the screen resolution is not good. To me, the screen is sharp and bright. Again, for the price I paid at Walmart, it's more than enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 13 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Very very nice phone

06/25/2013
By ,
Newark, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is awesome, very smooth operation. battery life is very good, I like the simple design and still can handle many apps with easy to install and use apps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

great phone for great price

06/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It even has WiFi calling! Love this phone. Thank you;
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 15 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Wonderful phone!!!

06/27/2013
By ,
West Memphis, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me weeks to finally get this phone because it was always out of stock. But it was worth the wait!! Lightweight but heavy duty when it comes to performance. Easy to use and is very fast! I replaced my Galaxy S3 with this phone. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting a smartphone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 16 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Nice windows phone for good price

07/01/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a good windows phone, this is the best bet for you. Excellent Nokia phone addition to the windows phone lineup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 17 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Best phone ever

07/03/2013
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an IT professional and am in charge of my company's mobile phones. This phone is the best buy I have ever seen. I love the Windows Phone better than Apple or Android. The synchronization with my corporate Exchange server is flawless. I've worked with almost every phone out there and seen the calendar and contact synchronization flaws. The Windows Phone performs above and beyond the others. Several of my users at work have converted from the iPhone and Android platforms and couldn't be happier.
I wanted to give this model a try so I popped my T-Mobile sim card into it and it came up with no issues.
This phone is definitely a great value as other similar models go for more than twice what this one costs. I've told several of my IT buddies about it and a mad ordering rush has ensued.
Don't hesitate on this one!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 18 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great phone, cheap price.

07/07/2013
By ,
Watertown, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was happy to find a windows phone for such a cheap price. The price being low, I expected a good amount of flaws. To my surprise, there is very few. The Windows market isn't the best but, that's not a problem with the phone itself. I can't seem to get a SD (memory) chip to work.. And the touch screen is super sensitive. Besides this, the phone is amazing. The camera is amazing, and I'm shakey yet get good pictures. It's fast. The speaker for music or speaker phone is great and gets pretty loud. Signal is better than Sprint, which I previously had. Only had like, two dropped calls within 3-4 months. Using the phone is easy. I have a bad habit of dropping the phone, and it has not yet broken. The screen is great for YouTube or other videos.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 19 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Blown Away!

07/08/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been wanting a windows phone for a really long time. My old phone was android and was okay but it was slow, and had no space. This phone is o-m-g! It's fast, has like 8gb of space (plus I also have a 16gb micro sd card to expand it even further) and it's amazing! I have all the apps, music, and photos I want and still have room for more!
It's fast because it'll actually scroll or unlock when I want it to without me having to slow down. I love the customizable homepage where you can decide the size and location of the tile. Sound is great! Everyone keeps telling me how good I sound with this phone!
Gosh I love everything about it! Theres only one thing. The buttons on the bottom don't light up (or at least i haven't found out how to make them light up yet) It's not major and I can do without but that's the only real complaint I have.
This phone is amazing and I can no longer live without it. It's my new best friend! <3
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SIM card?
Posted 11/26/2013
Does it come with a SIM card? Or does it need a plan?
Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Exceptional Quality and Features for a low price.

07/12/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On paper it seems like it not that useful of a smartphone. But when you compare it against higher end phones such as the HTC One or Samsung S4 or even the iPhone5; smartphones that cost over $500-$600 price range; it may not be as good in end; but certainly much more functionally acceptable choice. I currently have an iPhone 5 and a Nokia black Lumia 920. While just in the store looking; I realized that all I really need was a basic smartphone; and purchase this 521! I going to sell both the 920 and 5 and go back to the base smartphone functions.
I have switch SIMS and am using the 521 and just love it! Do not miss the most of the apps nor the high tech advanced gear found in the high end smartphones. This will do fine for my needs. Very happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
1-20 of 807 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  41 Next