Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

The compact 521 4G T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia Smartphone is a Windows Phone that sports a memory card slot, 5MP camera. The cell phone also has a removable battery, a 1 GHz processor, and is 4G-capable. This T-Mobile Pre-Paid Smartphone also has the ability to integrate with Xbox, Windows 8 and SkyDrive. This phone is a smart choice to connect, play games or get your daily weather, in addition to talking to friends and family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.032 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(830 Reviews) 806
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
434
4 stars
215
3 stars
46
2 stars
44
1 star
91
Customer Recommendation82%679 out of 830reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
434
4 stars
215
3 stars
46
2 stars
44
1 star
91
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Bought it as a Backup phone

06/27/2013
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone because my Nexus 4 phone does not support Wi-Fi Calling and I am about to travel out of the country.
I have to say that this phone is an excellent alternative for the price.
Hi-end Android devices are awesome. However, Android phones below $150 USD are usually, old, slow and unstable.
This is not the case for the Nokia Lumia 521. Phone is fast, very intuitive and works great.
It comes with Wi-Fi Calling and even HD Voice!
I am very satisfied with my purchase. I really recommend this phone if your budget is limited.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 2 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

For the money, you CANNOT find a better phone.

07/14/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always been an Android user. Before purchasing this phone, I was using the high-end Nexus 4 on T-Mobile's $30/mo plan through Walmart. I liked the Nexus - it is a beautiful, fast phone and is a premier experience on Android's platform.
I'd read excellent reviews about the Nokia 521 and have a child who will need a phone soon. I decided to buy one when I saw it in stock at my local store. My plan was to pop my sim in it to see if I liked it before giving it to my son.
Instead, I've decided to put the Nexus on Ebay and keep this! Why? The OS is very smooth. No force closes like Android. The experience is great - and although a budget phone, this does everything I need it to do. I've owned budget Android devices before buying the Nexus (because I was fed up with the performance of the budget Androids!), and NONE has ever offered the performance of the Nokia 521 at this price point.
It appears to have a sturdy build quality. The Nokia Drive and Music apps are great. Honestly, this phone is PERFECT for anyone who doesn't demand a lot of customization or the latest greatest apps all the time. Facebook, Twitter, Email, Messaging. All the basics are covered.
You really won't regret buying this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 3 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Awesome Phone

06/28/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my fifth smartphone and can't believe how incredibly this device performs. And for such a low price it is just crazy...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Lumia is the Best Phone w/ features for the Money

05/08/2013
By ,
NY, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great design, love the colors and features. Everthing i would expect in a 300 dollar phone for a lot less.
I have had iphone and Samsung phones. I decided to be different and since
the reviews of the Lumia were all great I decided to go for it and get one.
I love the Microsoft OS and all the feautures and apps that I am used to.
I Highly recommend the phone and tell you that you can be confident in your purchase.
Enjoy it! I do.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+330points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
nc
pre paid phone
Posted 08/31/2013
i already have a straight talk account and phone. do i need to buy anything else to make this phone work..?
0points
Customer Avatar
Lowell, MA
Straight Forward Phone at a Good Price
Posted 06/11/2013
"Nokia" and "T-Mobile Family Pack" at Walmart, make a very good combination.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

The best phone I have ever used

05/08/2013
By ,
Long beach, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bough this for my wife but after using it decided to get one for myself and replace my iphone4. Nokia has done such a good job. The style is very european and windows 8 is so easy to use. I have all the apps I can use and more. Go for this phone you will be happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+214points
Review 6 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Wonderful phone!!!

06/27/2013
By ,
West Memphis, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me weeks to finally get this phone because it was always out of stock. But it was worth the wait!! Lightweight but heavy duty when it comes to performance. Easy to use and is very fast! I replaced my Galaxy S3 with this phone. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting a smartphone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Lumia 521 a good mid level windows 8 phone

09/21/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a windows 7 phone (Lumia 710) and liked it. But, text message fonts could not be changed to a larger font and were hard to see. No slot for a SD card.
So, I ordered this Lumia 521 Windows 8 phone. The fonts in Windows 8 can be changed. It has a slot for a SD card. The camera is little better than the Lumia 710. The video camera is pretty good, records in HD.
The Lumia 521 does not have a flash. I only used the flash in the previous phone as a flashlight so no great loss.
Overall for the price, I am satisfied.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great buy

01/01/2014
By ,
Seattle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first smartphone so I really have nothing to compare it to except my old flip-phone, but so far I love it. It's easy to use and customize. (I love it even more because I didn't spend $500 on it. Seriously, who can afford to spend $600 on a phone?) Call quality is good (although some people say I sound loud) and camera quality isn't bad.
Definitely recommend for a first smart phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Very nice Window Phone

10/31/2013
By ,
Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You get a great phone for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great value, super user friendly smart phone

01/01/2014
By ,
Rosemead, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start with this, I used smartphones for over 5 years, I had used more than 6 Android phones include HTC, Samsung, Google and other Brand. I was using a Samsung Note II before I bought the Lumia 521. I gave a try to Lumia just because I got a Windows 8 laptop recently that I would like to see how Windows 8 phone working. One day I found the Lumia 521 at Walmart at $99, but was with t-mobile prepaid plan. I had a little worry could it work on my unlimited family plan with T-mobile and could it work on LTE 4G. The sale told me that I can return in 14 days if I don't like it. So I bought it, then start fall in love with this little one.
The size of this phone is just perfect to me, not too big and not too small, the screen is not as sharp as Samsung Galaxy, but very clear. Remember it is just a 1/4 price of the Galaxy. The phone works great with T-mobile family plan, and got the LTE 4G internet connection right after I put the SIM card in. Nokia built this phone not the top, but with all quality materials. It comes along with all necessary applications: photos apps, music apps and GPS apps. Some people think the apps of Windows OS are much less than iPhone & Android phone, that is true, but who use thousands of apps on a phone. Let me confirm that the speaker of 521 is great, clear in stereo sound, the photos takes by 521 is decent at 5 Mb. The GPS app is excellent, I use this to replace my TomTom. After I used it for two days, my husband asked to try it as he was so impressed with the music the phone presented. He never feels interest in any cell phone I used before, he thinks cell phone is just for call and text. He took my Lumia 521 and have no plan to return it to me, sooooo..I bought a second Lumia 521 in a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

excellent sale price and value

01/01/2014
By ,
lakewood
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
better than any entry level smart phone
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Least expensive "smart" phone.

11/01/2013
By ,
Here
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent phone I use it with my no contract pay as you go SIM from my old Iphone3g.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Outstanding phone!

05/09/2013
By ,
Appleton WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone, is thin, light, very easy to use and has all the apps I use (audible, spotify, youtube etc.)
Screen is beautiful, speaker is great.
Free turn-by-turn GPS is awesome, so is the expandable memory!
The price is PHENOMONAL! I don't know how they can sell other phones for hundreds of dollars more that really aren't a lot better.
This IS the phone for your teenager, hands-down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+131points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleve, OH
Wow!
Posted 06/18/2013
Gotta say your short and to the point review touched on a lot of my questions on this phone. I just ordered it and should have it in a 5 days or so. I have never had a phone like this and dont even understand all the jargen you smartphone big heads know. Lol. Anyway I really wanted to know if it had external speaker. I hate HAVING to have headphones on. I like to just bring my phone to the kitchen while washing dishes for music or outside the bathroom while showering. Also I wanted to know if there was a gps. YES! Expandable memory...I love lots of music and pix. YES! Definately want Spotify sinse I got turned on to it several mnths ago. YES! Thanx so much! I wish I had someone to teach me all of this stuff so I can get the full use out of my new phone thats coming! I assume this is "unlocked" just pop my current sim card in and continue on with my current T-Mo plan?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Love this phone

03/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing size and quality for such a great price. My kids love them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Such a deal!

01/02/2014
By ,
Philadelphia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I NEEDED a phone I could use by the minute (no data) without a contract. I WANTED a phone that had a little more bling than the clamshells and sliders that were being offered by every other carrier.
In the past, I used Verizon and Net 10. Both offered hardware that turned out to be terrible in function and call quality. I found this phone and fell in love with the specs and as I am in a metropolitan area, T-Mobile was not an issue with coverage.
Not only can I make calls and txts over the network, but when I have access to WiFi, I can access the internet without a data plan! The beauty of this is that I am able to download apps when I have wifi and use them when I don't have wifi (of course, navigation and other apps that require continuous access to data are not part of this plan - I have a GPS for nav that I will never relinquish).
This phone is an incredible value and has really nice functionality. While the windows store is not as robust as iOS or Android, it works for me. I don't have issues with battery life - it will last the day and that is all I expect from a phone with these capabilities. I am very happy that I found it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 16 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great Phone

01/02/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this phone for my 14 yr old niece. Great phone for the price and love that it has security measures for under aged children to access certain sites.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

It won me over

04/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first, I didn't like having a windows phone, but after using it and finding out all the cool ways it works with my windows 8 pc, I love this phone. It won me over after a while. The screen, video, audio, camera, and all functions are good. Everything about this phone is awesome! It's almost like having my PC in my hand. The only thing negative about this phone is that there isn't a forward facing camera for Skype or video chat
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Prepaid is the way to go!

04/26/2014
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone has all the features of the more expensive phones without the price and using pre-paid allows me to keep within my budget. T Mobile is flexible and gives me plenty of options for keeping my service that meet my needs!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 19 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great phone value

03/26/2014
By ,
Aurora, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent phone for the price. Easy to set-up and transfer contacts via bluetooth. Using on MYFamily Mobile
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Better than expected.

04/04/2014
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first smart phone and I couldn't be happier. This device is well made and easy to use. Definitely worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 807 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  41 Next