Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

The compact 521 4G T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia Smartphone is a Windows Phone that sports a memory card slot, 5MP camera. The cell phone also has a removable battery, a 1 GHz processor, and is 4G-capable. This T-Mobile Pre-Paid Smartphone also has the ability to integrate with Xbox, Windows 8 and SkyDrive. This phone is a smart choice to connect, play games or get your daily weather, in addition to talking to friends and family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.032 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(830 Reviews) 806
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
434
4 stars
215
3 stars
46
2 stars
44
1 star
91
Customer Recommendation82%679 out of 830reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
434
4 stars
215
3 stars
46
2 stars
44
1 star
91
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Works amazingly well. Cannot believe the price!

05/30/2013
By ,
Fairfax, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Summary: For $130 you get 99% of what you get with a $600+ phones.
I bought this for my father in law, but I went ahead and opened it to try it out. I'm amazed at what this phone can do for the price. First off, what don't you get for $130? There is no Front Facing Camera and no NFC. I have these features on my current high end smartphone, but I find they are almost never used. But what do you get for $130? A fully functional smartphone that runs as fast and smooth and does 99% of the things that $600 smartphones do. Heck I would argue it can do more, since iPhones and HTC One cannot swap out batteries or SD cards. I've looked at some of the budget Android phones, and most of them seemed to run a little slow and they were running older versions of Android (2.0). This guy is running the latest WP8, which is incredibly fast and smooth. It has the same excellent Nokia Drive GPS application you get with their high end Lumia line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 2 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Definitely above expectation

05/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Background: 4 years Iphone user
This is the first time I bought a Windows and NOKIA smartphone (~1 week ago). Overall, it really way out of my expectation and definitely worth every single cent I paid.
1 First time use WP platform, it is pretty simple, only use 2 hours to familiar with. Well, not every apps I used before can find in the store, but managed to get ~90% of the original one or something similar.
2 The phone itself is optimized perfectly. the user experience is close to IOS, great touch screen, good camara and battery. The softwares from NOKIA, ,like GPS and music is perfect. The only complain I had is the back is getting warmer than my iphone when watching video.
Overall, I should say this phone worth 300 bucks. Very satisfied!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Review 3 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great phone for price

11/11/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone for the price. There is really nothing this phone can't do that the others can. The other phones are great because of the quantity and quality of apps - not necessarily because of the actual operating system. This phone is great in spite of the lack of apps. Take away the apps and any Nokia Windows 8 phone wins every time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 4 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

best entry level smartphone

05/29/2013
By ,
minneapolis, minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased the lumia 521 several weeks ago using the find it in store feature on the website since it seemed to be sold out almost instantly. i had been living abroad for several years and upon returning to the US had to pick up a phone for use during grad school. this nokia when combined with tmobile's $30 per month unlimited data, texting, and 100 minutes plan representa a great value.
Like all nokia phones i've used it has great build quality and is very durable. The camera is surprisingly capable given that it's only 5mp and features like panorama and smart shoot make it more than enough of a point and shoot for most situations, especially given how handy it is. The OS is smooth and functional with very little learning curve. I have been able to find all of the apps i need on the device, though i'm sure some specific ones that people use in other platforms would require finding an analogue on the marketplace. The battery seems to last me through the day just fine, even with some heavy internet use and reception seems good in most places. i'm told that tmobile is currently in the process of upgrading their 4g network so i expect it to improve as time goes on.
At the end of the day i'm very happy with the phone and my decision to purchase it came down to a simple calculation that i think would resonate with most people. it has moost of the features and functionality of a high end phone at a price that is less an 1/4th of what those phones cost. Over the life of a two year contract this phone with service will cost me $129 dollars plus $30 per month, a net total of $850. In constrast something like an iphone or S4 would be at least $150 up front plus $70+ per month, a net total of $1830. At a discount of $1000 dollars over the life of the phone it was an easy decision for me. i hope it comes back in stock soon so others can have the same opportunity.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 5 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Amazing phone at this price

06/10/2013
By ,
bellevue
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works like a charm. It has a decent 5 MP Camera and I love the new Windows Phone 8 OS.
It provides a lot of flexibility over placement of apps with new tile sizes. Its been 2 weeks and it has worked flawlessly. Only thing is to keep the brightness level at high with battery saver on. The screen brightness is not so good at medium and low. But it may be an issue with OS(lack of multiple points of brightness) and not hardware. I was a galaxy S2 user earlier which is still a great phone.
I moved because I got bored of Android UI. And also a great price to Enter into Windows Phone.
Nokia and Microsoft guys you rock. I will suggest everyone to go for a nokia if you want to get a great experience of Windows Phone OS.
I am loving it for now... :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 6 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great smartphone for beginer and experienced one.

05/29/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needless to compliment about this Nokia Lumia 521 again because a lot of people already covered it. Only state of the art HERE Map, HERE Drive, and HERE Transit are already worth more than $129.88 USD. Remember that they are using GPS and user does not pay for wireless data connection and/or $9.99/month for using the Navigator as in the case of Verizon and ATT if I remember correctly. Beside that HERE Map and HERE Drive provides the user a whole list of options those really impress me. The screen is very sensitive that you can touch by finger nail or glove. After messing around few hours to setup for my wife and get use to it I decided to buy another Nokia Lumia Window Phone in the close future. I hope that T-Mobile will have Nokia Lumia 620 and I believe it will be a huge hit like Lumia 521.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 7 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great Value

05/08/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At this price point, the quality of this phone cannot be beaten. Nokia deserves a lot of credit for redefining this price-segment. Recommend this to anyone buying a cost-effective, first, or backup smartphone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+449points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
home
sims card
Posted 10/02/2013
can u put a sims card from another T-Mobile phone in this one
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great phone for teens

11/21/2013
By ,
Houston,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My nephew 1st phone he loved it. And the price was good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Greatest Phone at This Price

05/31/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone works fluently thanks to the WP8, and the eye-catching UI makes everything come up intuitively.
Different from iphone and android phones, Nokia Lumia series with WP8 have its own characteristic. It is a good choice for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Review 10 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

great phone

08/07/2013
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this, my first, smart phone. The price for this seemed too good to be true compared to comparable smart phones, so read reviews/ info to learn more. It took a while to purchase it as they sold out as quickly as they became available online (they aren't carried in my home town Walmart).
Used the T-Mobile online activation at the bottom of the home page https://www.t-mobile.com/shop/plans/ActivateCodes.aspx as advised in the 'Walmart Customer Q&A Exchange' to get the $30 / month 100 minutes, unlimited text/ data plan. I was a bit confused as this was not advertised as an option in the materials packaged with the phone. Thank you for posting helpful reviews and tips Walmart!!
There are a variety of apps available on the Nokia http://www.nokia.com/us-en/apps/lumia/ and Windows Phone http://www.windowsphone.com/en-us/store/featured-apps websites and expect will be more selection in the future.
I already referred this to someone shopping for reasonably priced phones and plans for their family and will let others know. Now if T-Mobile can expand their (4G) coverage a bit more...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 11 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Lumia 510 is an awesome smartphone for the price

05/07/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once cannot go wrong on this one..bought the Lumia 510 few weeks back from HSN at a higher price then what it is here on Walmart, but still a great deal..The looks are awesome and looks even better then Samsung Galaxy...its even superior on the display and camera..the best part was that the Windows 8 was super easy to use...and the biggest feature i liked is that it is lightning fast to use the Apps on this smartphone...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+353points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Valley Center
You reviewed the wrong model phone
Posted 05/03/2014
The phone being reviewed is the T-Mobile Nokia Lumia 521.
Your review is the Lumia 510. (if that phone even exists)
0points
Customer Avatar
San Diego
Best phone ever!
Posted 05/07/2013
I love Nokia, I love the new microsoft phone software, and this phone is really inexpensive and amazing! Wish I could afford the higher end Lumia's, but this will do for now :)
+3points
Customer Avatar
It was meant Lumia 521 above..sorry for the typo
Posted 05/07/2013
by mistake entered Lumia 510 instead of 521
+5points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 12 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Nice phone, good price.

09/30/2013
By ,
Chicagoland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first one I ordered online and it didn't work, and neither did a separate SIM card. I don't think they were activated before leaving the warehouse. Returned them both to the nearest store and then bought the phone from in the store (it turns out that I didn't need the extra SIM card), had it all set up by the store employee and it works fine now. Great phone, super fast, signed up for prepaid $30 a month unlimited data, text and 100 minutes of talk time. Saved a ton of money by not purchasing a iphone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

excellent product

06/19/2013
By ,
Norridge,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product for the price. Very well done. I like windows, very nice display and functions. Love it. Recommending to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Good phone

08/09/2013
By ,
FLORIDA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little light phone. The technology is state of the art and the windows
Platform is the best on the market, in my opinion.i go with t mobile monthly plan for 30
A month, while I enjoy the technology mostly with wifi. With windows the phone interfaces with
Your PC easily to exchange files although android has come a long way in this direction. I just like the phone and PC with the same platform. As far as the phone itself goes the windows tiles are fast and almost intuitive I find. Good phone adequate camera and a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 15 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Took the step up to Lumia 521 , I like it a lot

05/15/2013
By ,
Westlake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow , my brother told me to buy this , and he was totally right. The phone works great , awesome camera , and easy to learn.
Learning to use it is actually pretty fun , I've checked out youtube videos and people explain how the windows phone functions.
Here is what I did . I connected a blue tooth to my home stereo and use my Lumia 521 for free unlimited music streaming.
It's hard to believe how much technology you recieve for $129. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 16 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great Smartphone for beginners

08/24/2013
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for a month now. This is my first smart phone and I really like it. It's good on battery life, lots of apps to choose from. It has good sound and performs all the tasks I require really fast. It's got a pretty good camera, but no flash. So if you're in a well lit environment, it'll be great. The panoramic feature is pretty cool. It's also got access to Microsoft office, so you open and view your files. I just wish I could get a folder view of the files I save. There's now way to see them without accessing them from the app. I had thought about getting a Samsung phone but I read reviews that they shut off on their own, which scared me away. Nothing like that happens with the Lumia 521. I've not had any trouble with it recognizing my swipes, however sometimes the keyboard taps can be a bit off. Other than that, it's pretty sweet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great value

05/14/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2nd day with the lumia 521 and I'm impressed. Fast , easy to use. Set up of the phone with Nokia's help site was good as was T-mobile with Devin at Walmarts help. $30 plan with unlimited data and texting is a deal. Calls are clear and browsing is fast and easy, try this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 18 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

unbeatable for the price

05/30/2013
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was able to get it online from Wal-Mart. Not easy, but worth it. Have a Lumia 710, this easily beats it, except for the lack of a flash, which I rarely used anyway. Windows 8 is better than 7.5 in many ways. Price is crazy for what you get. Grab it if you can. See no reason to spend any more for a phone, Windows or not.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 19 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Bought it as a Backup phone

06/27/2013
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone because my Nexus 4 phone does not support Wi-Fi Calling and I am about to travel out of the country.
I have to say that this phone is an excellent alternative for the price.
Hi-end Android devices are awesome. However, Android phones below $150 USD are usually, old, slow and unstable.
This is not the case for the Nokia Lumia 521. Phone is fast, very intuitive and works great.
It comes with Wi-Fi Calling and even HD Voice!
I am very satisfied with my purchase. I really recommend this phone if your budget is limited.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 20 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

One of the Best Phones ever!.. Honestly!

07/07/2013
By ,
Hoffman Estates IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I previously owned 3 android phones (2 LG's and 1 HTC) I can honestly say that I will never buy anything BUT a Nokia Lumia Phone,It was so hard to find it at my local store so i had to drive over 15 miles to go and get it but it was well worth it and I would go through the whole process again if I had to... the construction is solid,high quality plastics,the screen is ultra responsive and the sound quality out of the single speaker is quite impressive!,the OS is so easy to get used to,(Love the live tiles)also the battery life is way above average.. I would say excellent even,and last but definitely NOT least.. The Camera.. it is a Lumia so yes I was expecting good quality pictures but not this good due to the lack of flash... well,let me tell you that you will not need it at all!.. this little great phone takes great pics and videos as well (720p HD),if you get this phone you will not regret it!.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+110points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
denver
nokia lumia 521
Posted 12/03/2013
It says here in the specs. that it has bot font and back camera. Can someone please tell me how to use the front camera.
0points
Customer Avatar
Jennings County
Can this Phone be used with Straight Talk Plan??
Posted 12/02/2013
I currently have a no contract plan with Straight Talk but my phone has broke. So im on the Internet looking for a new one. I come across this one and see all the good comments about it. I would enjoy to own this phone but would i have to change to a T- Mobile No contract plan or can i keep my straight talk plan with the same number???
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 807 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  41 Next