Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

The compact 521 4G T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia Smartphone is a Windows Phone that sports a memory card slot, 5MP camera. The cell phone also has a removable battery, a 1 GHz processor, and is 4G-capable. This T-Mobile Pre-Paid Smartphone also has the ability to integrate with Xbox, Windows 8 and SkyDrive. This phone is a smart choice to connect, play games or get your daily weather, in addition to talking to friends and family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.072 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(677 Reviews) 653
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
365
4 stars
171
3 stars
36
2 stars
35
1 star
70
Customer Recommendation82%558 out of 677reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
751 Questions | 1,173 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
365
4 stars
171
3 stars
36
2 stars
35
1 star
70
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Hands down, the best phone for the money!

06/13/2013
By ,
Louisville KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned a top-of-the-line Droid, and purchased a number of cheap (under $100) Droids for the kids. We have one iPhone on our T-Mobile plan. So this review is comparing this phone to other options, not just the phone in and of itself.
BUY THIS PHONE - if you can find it. We have several Walmart locations where I live, so I had to locate a store with this phone and drive to get it. As I write this review, it's out of stock online. I truly hope Walmart has plans to restock and carry this regularly!
It's fast - no waiting for web pages or apps to load. The map app, still presented as being a beta version, is EXCELLENT - directions are practically within inches of your actual location - impressive! You can tap a microphone icon to use your voice to text, instead of thumbing out your message. Navigation of the home screen is easy and intuitive.
The screen is a good size, but overall the phone is rather thin and not too heavy.
The only missing function that many would find useful is a camera flash.
We're a busy family and we destroy our phones on a fairly regular basis. When I see this on the shelf again, I'll probably just buy another and put it high up in a closet for the next person who drowns or crushes their phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

A pretty neat phone

06/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had it before, it fell in the toilet, and I got another one just like it.....need I say more. I wish it was water resistant, but other wise, it's a great phone with cool features.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Nokia lumina 521

07/01/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So far it works fine for a cheap smart phone. I don't use text or data, only phone calls. Navigation is easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Defective.

06/27/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There were two 521's in this order. The first worked fine, but the second phone would not charge, even after checking a second charger and ensuring the battery was installed correctly. I exchanged the defective phone and the replacement would also not charge. It looks like a manufacturing problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

It's a cool phone.

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interface is perfect for the device, it is a bit confusing finding the contacts. Navigation is easy to follow, but no memory card, or headphones came with this device. It merges all contacts from Hotmail, outlook, fb, and twitter, also linked in. Not, to forget Google drops in the contacts. If you don't have windows 8 or 8.1 get familiar with them then get it. Xbox music/games available if you have the accounts. This is a Microsoft device, office, 1note, and all the other office items, plus the cloud extra space for pictures, files, moreover movies. SD card is a necessity just get this device to work perfect. I'm only two weeks in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great smartphone to own

06/07/2013
By ,
Princeton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got for one day and have not activated a TMobile yet. So far I tested the following features:
1. Camera is great. I took a picture in my living room with pretty dim light. It actually took a few photos for me to choose the best one to save. The quality is great. It beats photos from iphone 3GS, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0, Acer 10' tablet, and HP touchpad. It even beats my Canon G12 in auto mode (I'm not a photography expert).
2. here map is great. It really fast. I even downloaded map of NJ and CA to get ready for off-line use.
3. Nokia music is great and free.
4. Sync to my contacts through microsoft account is easy. But I had to do search to get the answer.
5. Windows 8 is really fast. I installed a few app like evernote, Bank of America and Fidelity. It seems that APP functions need some improvement.
I will get $30 Tmobile plan through walmart. My only concern is the coverage at my home. Hope that I could use my home wifi to improve calling. My office has very good TMobile coverage. As to the phone, it is definitely worth every penny that I spent. Actually I would like to get higher model of Nokia lumia but I don't like more expensive data plans.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

The Lumia 521 4G Is A Great Phone But....

04/04/2014
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
The Lumia 521 4G is really a nice workable phone. The phone is easy to work with and you can download information from your laptop to the phone and vice-versa. I have only had the phone for about a couple of weeks and I am currently finding out how it works. The battery life works truly well in the phone, for now. The camera takes great photos and they're clear too! The images brighten up in low light. I can download songs from my laptop and play them through the phone. All-in-all the phone is THE device. It's small and easy to carry with a clean clear screen.
Cons
I have a problem with unsecured phones. When the phones are laid down if they're not secured anyone can enter into the device and pick numbers from anyone in your directory. Now, I don't know about you but I COULD NEVER LOSE THIS PHONE! I have personal phone numbers of friends that do not wish to be disturbed. Having a secured phone is important in this day in age.
This is the only drawback and concern I have for this phone.
I hope to come back in three to four months to bring a real commentary on this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

A big Let Down

06/10/2014
By ,
Elyria, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
there are some features that are a lot better after updating to windows 8.1 ios for developers which you can sign up for free. However I still dont understand why the app are just horrible, pure torture. Maybe in 3 years when the apps get better then it would rock I love the phone at the apps. And you cannot take a mirror picture. However the internet sharing feature is simple to allow other devices to use your internet. So my solution is I use my phone to give me access with my tablet or laptops. Apps if they work right u will have to buy them. I do not know How many apps I opened up to close and uninstall don't waste your time.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great starter smartphone

03/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this phone for over three months. Everything works flawlessly. Never had a freeze or error. Good solid phone. Many features that others in its price range or more expensive don't offer. Only two or three flaws that I have encountered: WiFi texting is iffy... at least with my network. Starts out ok and has no problem texting but then after three or four texts it stops texting and asks you to try again or check the phone number you're texting to. From what I've read, it's a T-Mobile App issue. So, texting by wifi is very unreliable and unstable. The other shortcoming to this phone is the rear facing camera. Plus no led flash. Would be nice to have both front and rear camera lens and flash. Other than that I'm very pleased with this phone. At the price I paid, it was a very good bargain. Great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Watch out

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a really nice phone I bought it 4 my sister and she feeling like Mc Donalds rite now(she lovin it) I would recommend it to every1 just wish I could of pick the color I wanted
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Definitely above expectation

05/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Background: 4 years Iphone user
This is the first time I bought a Windows and NOKIA smartphone (~1 week ago). Overall, it really way out of my expectation and definitely worth every single cent I paid.
1 First time use WP platform, it is pretty simple, only use 2 hours to familiar with. Well, not every apps I used before can find in the store, but managed to get ~90% of the original one or something similar.
2 The phone itself is optimized perfectly. the user experience is close to IOS, great touch screen, good camara and battery. The softwares from NOKIA, ,like GPS and music is perfect. The only complain I had is the back is getting warmer than my iphone when watching video.
Overall, I should say this phone worth 300 bucks. Very satisfied!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

great phone

06/23/2014
By ,
whittier, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
recently my daughter lost her IPhone 5c, so I bought her that phone, at the beginning she was a little unfamiliar with the phone but 3 days later she was really happy with it... I could have bought 10 of these phone for the price I paid for that I phone.
NO MORE I PHONES FOR ME..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great phone for first time smartphone user

07/12/2014
By ,
Union City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 13 year old who really wanted a windows phone. He LOVES this phone!!! I think it works extremely well. It's fast and responsive. $69.99. And with the $30 per month deal through Walmart prepaid, 100 min, 5GB and unl text, it just can't be beat. It doesn't have front camera but that doesn't bother my son. He takes great pictures with it, has downloaded lots of games and we installed a 32 GB SD card. he loves the front tiles and found them easily customizable. The setup was easily understandable. And, oh yeah - it works and sounds great as a phone! ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Lumia is the Best Phone w/ features for the Money

05/08/2013
By ,
NY, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great design, love the colors and features. Everthing i would expect in a 300 dollar phone for a lot less.
I have had iphone and Samsung phones. I decided to be different and since
the reviews of the Lumia were all great I decided to go for it and get one.
I love the Microsoft OS and all the feautures and apps that I am used to.
I Highly recommend the phone and tell you that you can be confident in your purchase.
Enjoy it! I do.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+299points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
nc
pre paid phone
Posted 08/31/2013
i already have a straight talk account and phone. do i need to buy anything else to make this phone work..?
0points
Customer Avatar
Lowell, MA
Straight Forward Phone at a Good Price
Posted 06/11/2013
"Nokia" and "T-Mobile Family Pack" at Walmart, make a very good combination.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 75 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

did not work.

07/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had to throw away did not work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great pre-paid phone

05/13/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an older HTC Windows Phone that was starting to act up and I have to say I'm very impressed with it. The hardware is solid, the battery life is great and the phone interface is extremely smooth and responsive. Add in the exclusive Nokia WP apps and the excellent price and this is a great recommendation for those looking to buy their first smartphone or switch from a lower spec Android/WP device.
Highly recommended if you're in the market for a budget pre-paid phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great Value for Price

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great battery life. Windows 8 is super fast then bulky Android. Do not collect my private information as much as android used to do. Super sensitive touch screen. Love HERE map. Its a great phone at great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great cause it has Windows 8 and i use PC for work

05/16/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew it would be nice, but worried about the apps and worried about transitioning from my droid to Windows 8. I'm impressed. This is my first time with T Mobile. So far so good, but we will see when i start traveling for work. The phone is nice. Ive never had an android that i didnt need to replace after a year. hopefully this phone lasts longer. feels good in my hand. screen is clear. ability to move between apps while holding phone with one hand is great. Viewing work documents is great. My wife syncs all her apple stuff on her I pad and I phone. Im hoping to get the same experience with this since im forced to use a PC for work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

easy to use

07/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
exelent product,easy to use,good value,meet my expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

I was expecting more from previous reviews.

06/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased two windows nokia lumia 521's, for both my husband and I. At first we were very excited about trying a windows phone. The excitement ended when my husband's phone would decide it did not want to hold a charge and continued to turn itself off. We had only had the phone for less then 2 weeks. I was disappointed with the lack of app options. I could not download any of the games, apps I had used before, but they did have guides to every single game I wanted instead. The Pandora was excellent I must say however. We ended up trading them in for the Alcatel One Touch Fierce. Hopefully we will be more satisfied with the new phone. If you can't afford anything better, the Nokia Lumia 521 is useful for text, talk and most basic web usage, ie: Facebook, Instagram and general surfing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 654 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  33 Next