Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

The compact 521 4G T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia Smartphone is a Windows Phone that sports a memory card slot, 5MP camera. The cell phone also has a removable battery, a 1 GHz processor, and is 4G-capable. This T-Mobile Pre-Paid Smartphone also has the ability to integrate with Xbox, Windows 8 and SkyDrive. This phone is a smart choice to connect, play games or get your daily weather, in addition to talking to friends and family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.034 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(802 Reviews) 778
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
419
4 stars
209
3 stars
45
2 stars
40
1 star
89
Customer Recommendation82%658 out of 802reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
864 Questions | 1,359 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
419
4 stars
209
3 stars
45
2 stars
40
1 star
89
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Best phone ever

07/03/2013
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an IT professional and am in charge of my company's mobile phones. This phone is the best buy I have ever seen. I love the Windows Phone better than Apple or Android. The synchronization with my corporate Exchange server is flawless. I've worked with almost every phone out there and seen the calendar and contact synchronization flaws. The Windows Phone performs above and beyond the others. Several of my users at work have converted from the iPhone and Android platforms and couldn't be happier.
I wanted to give this model a try so I popped my T-Mobile sim card into it and it came up with no issues.
This phone is definitely a great value as other similar models go for more than twice what this one costs. I've told several of my IT buddies about it and a mad ordering rush has ensued.
Don't hesitate on this one!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great phone for first time smartphone user

07/12/2014
By ,
Union City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 13 year old who really wanted a windows phone. He LOVES this phone!!! I think it works extremely well. It's fast and responsive. $69.99. And with the $30 per month deal through Walmart prepaid, 100 min, 5GB and unl text, it just can't be beat. It doesn't have front camera but that doesn't bother my son. He takes great pictures with it, has downloaded lots of games and we installed a 32 GB SD card. he loves the front tiles and found them easily customizable. The setup was easily understandable. And, oh yeah - it works and sounds great as a phone! ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

great phone for a great price.

09/08/2014
By ,
Garland, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone looks great, is affordable, and of good quality. If you don't want to spend hundreds of dollars on a smartphone, and need the basics: call, text, camera, video, surfing the internet....this would be perfect for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great smartphone to own

06/07/2013
By ,
Princeton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got for one day and have not activated a TMobile yet. So far I tested the following features:
1. Camera is great. I took a picture in my living room with pretty dim light. It actually took a few photos for me to choose the best one to save. The quality is great. It beats photos from iphone 3GS, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0, Acer 10' tablet, and HP touchpad. It even beats my Canon G12 in auto mode (I'm not a photography expert).
2. here map is great. It really fast. I even downloaded map of NJ and CA to get ready for off-line use.
3. Nokia music is great and free.
4. Sync to my contacts through microsoft account is easy. But I had to do search to get the answer.
5. Windows 8 is really fast. I installed a few app like evernote, Bank of America and Fidelity. It seems that APP functions need some improvement.
I will get $30 Tmobile plan through walmart. My only concern is the coverage at my home. Hope that I could use my home wifi to improve calling. My office has very good TMobile coverage. As to the phone, it is definitely worth every penny that I spent. Actually I would like to get higher model of Nokia lumia but I don't like more expensive data plans.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Same issue both times

07/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first time I bought this phone within 4 months it was having battery issues and wouldn't stay charged. I got a replacement and I have now had the second one 6 months and it is having the same types of battery issues. Sometimes it will go completely dead when just four hours before it had a half charged battery. Sometimes it freezes up so I have to remove the battery to restart it. I am now looking for a better phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

what a bargain price for a smartphone.

09/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 3 from Walmart. These phones are awesome. A very low price for smartphones.
I love the windows phone operating system. It seems it was created for phone use. You have to go and try a working one at a cellular provider store to see for yourself. But compare the price that Walmart sells them for and it sweetens the deal even better. Plus a 5 megapixel camera, plus Microsoft Onedrive ( cloud storage ) space available in the phone's operating system. Plus 4G speed capability. My kids love them too. You won't regret purchasing this phone. Lots of features. And look at the price again- come on- you can't pass this one up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Bad operating system

10/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading about this phone and the many features that it had that were better than most of the other phones - I purchased it. I spent 2 days attempting to transfer my contacts into this phone. Spoke to the folks at Nokia and they were no help -just could not transfer - so back to Walmart and the clerk spent an hour trying to transfer and gave up. The windows operating system on the Nokia phone is not compatible with an android Phone. Bought another android and very happy with it - contacts were transferred in just minutes in the Store. Don't waste your time or your money on this phone -
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Definitely above expectation

05/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Background: 4 years Iphone user
This is the first time I bought a Windows and NOKIA smartphone (~1 week ago). Overall, it really way out of my expectation and definitely worth every single cent I paid.
1 First time use WP platform, it is pretty simple, only use 2 hours to familiar with. Well, not every apps I used before can find in the store, but managed to get ~90% of the original one or something similar.
2 The phone itself is optimized perfectly. the user experience is close to IOS, great touch screen, good camara and battery. The softwares from NOKIA, ,like GPS and music is perfect. The only complain I had is the back is getting warmer than my iphone when watching video.
Overall, I should say this phone worth 300 bucks. Very satisfied!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Good for the Price

10/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a cheaper but smart phone; still trying to get used to with Nokia, Lumia. There are a lot of things can not be done bypassing Windows. Google is not allowed on this phone. These are the down signs; otherwise the Phone looks beautiful and it is good for the price paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

WiFi didn't work

10/30/2014
By ,
Highland Park, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wifi wouldn't stay connected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great phone

10/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone!!!Easy to use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Lumia is the Best Phone w/ features for the Money

05/08/2013
By ,
NY, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great design, love the colors and features. Everthing i would expect in a 300 dollar phone for a lot less.
I have had iphone and Samsung phones. I decided to be different and since
the reviews of the Lumia were all great I decided to go for it and get one.
I love the Microsoft OS and all the feautures and apps that I am used to.
I Highly recommend the phone and tell you that you can be confident in your purchase.
Enjoy it! I do.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+330points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
nc
pre paid phone
Posted 08/31/2013
i already have a straight talk account and phone. do i need to buy anything else to make this phone work..?
0points
Customer Avatar
Lowell, MA
Straight Forward Phone at a Good Price
Posted 06/11/2013
"Nokia" and "T-Mobile Family Pack" at Walmart, make a very good combination.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 73 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Price was good at $50. Works well.

10/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wanted an expensive smart phone to replace my old Android-based smartphone. Thought I'd take a chance on this Windows-based phone since it was only $50. Should have spent more and stayed with Android. The phone itself works very well but it's difficult to get your old Android apps to coincide with Windows. Google and Windows don't play well together. Many more apps available with Android as well. Since the Windows phone has such a small market base, I'm wondering if it will be buried with the Blackberry in a few years. Going back to Android when this thing breaks-down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great pre-paid phone

05/13/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an older HTC Windows Phone that was starting to act up and I have to say I'm very impressed with it. The hardware is solid, the battery life is great and the phone interface is extremely smooth and responsive. Add in the exclusive Nokia WP apps and the excellent price and this is a great recommendation for those looking to buy their first smartphone or switch from a lower spec Android/WP device.
Highly recommended if you're in the market for a budget pre-paid phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Can't use

10/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is no procedure between Walmart and T-Mobile to allow for scanning (for activation) and sending the data between the companies when it leaves the .com DC. You will not be able to activate your phone. Walmart should not be selling these online. They will not work
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great cause it has Windows 8 and i use PC for work

05/16/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew it would be nice, but worried about the apps and worried about transitioning from my droid to Windows 8. I'm impressed. This is my first time with T Mobile. So far so good, but we will see when i start traveling for work. The phone is nice. Ive never had an android that i didnt need to replace after a year. hopefully this phone lasts longer. feels good in my hand. screen is clear. ability to move between apps while holding phone with one hand is great. Viewing work documents is great. My wife syncs all her apple stuff on her I pad and I phone. Im hoping to get the same experience with this since im forced to use a PC for work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Good for basic stuff, forget it for power users

09/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is good enough for basic stuff. Such as calling, texting, browsing the web, facebook, taking a quick pic with the camera.
If you are an heavy app user then go with an Android powered phone or even iOS.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Excellent value in a smartphone

09/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here are some reference points, hope you find them useful:
Excellent phone for these reasons:
- Overall very stable and reliable, does not require frequent restarting
- Durable -- mine is doing just fine, despite not using a screen protector or a casing, and even having dropped it a few times.
- Inexpensive for a smartphone, or for any phone for that matter!
- Battery is removable/replaceable, since the casing can be opened easily
- Has a card slot for adding an SD card to increase storage capacity
- Decent power capacity / usage, so that you can generally use the phone for a day or two (assuming light usage, not playing games or using the GPS) on a single charge.
- In my experience, the built-in GPS works fairly well.
Some other things to consider:
- The built-in camera is just so-so, takes good pictures outside. Has some lag before it takes the picture. There's no flash, so low-light situations are not good.
- The processor is not the fastest, but the phone can render webpages and play games reasonably well.
- The screen size is smaller than some of the latest fancy/expensive smartphones
- While the regular speaker is fine, the speakerphone sound quality is not that great
- If you must have a specific app for your phone, first check to make sure it is available for the Windows Phone operating system. While the number of apps available for this are less than Apple and Android, there are still a good many -- likelihood is you'll find what you're looking for.
- Although the phone has been very reliable -- I went many weeks without restarting -- it has frozen only a few times, and I have had to reboot the phone by opening the cover and pulling the battery for a few seconds. Not a frequent occurrence, and it may be due to a particular app I have installed.
Summary:
I would absolutely buy another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Outstanding phone!

05/09/2013
By ,
Appleton WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone, is thin, light, very easy to use and has all the apps I use (audible, spotify, youtube etc.)
Screen is beautiful, speaker is great.
Free turn-by-turn GPS is awesome, so is the expandable memory!
The price is PHENOMONAL! I don't know how they can sell other phones for hundreds of dollars more that really aren't a lot better.
This IS the phone for your teenager, hands-down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+131points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleve, OH
Wow!
Posted 06/18/2013
Gotta say your short and to the point review touched on a lot of my questions on this phone. I just ordered it and should have it in a 5 days or so. I have never had a phone like this and dont even understand all the jargen you smartphone big heads know. Lol. Anyway I really wanted to know if it had external speaker. I hate HAVING to have headphones on. I like to just bring my phone to the kitchen while washing dishes for music or outside the bathroom while showering. Also I wanted to know if there was a gps. YES! Expandable memory...I love lots of music and pix. YES! Definately want Spotify sinse I got turned on to it several mnths ago. YES! Thanx so much! I wish I had someone to teach me all of this stuff so I can get the full use out of my new phone thats coming! I assume this is "unlocked" just pop my current sim card in and continue on with my current T-Mo plan?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 80 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Don't buy this phone

09/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has problems with connecting to the T-Mobile sim card. I had taken this phone to T-Mobile three times to replace the sim card. After the third time and still not working I returned the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 779 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  39 Next