Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

The compact 521 4G T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia Smartphone is a Windows Phone that sports a memory card slot, 5MP camera. The cell phone also has a removable battery, a 1 GHz processor, and is 4G-capable. This T-Mobile Pre-Paid Smartphone also has the ability to integrate with Xbox, Windows 8 and SkyDrive. This phone is a smart choice to connect, play games or get your daily weather, in addition to talking to friends and family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.032 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(830 Reviews) 806
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
434
4 stars
215
3 stars
46
2 stars
44
1 star
91
Customer Recommendation82%679 out of 830reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
873 Questions | 1,410 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
434
4 stars
215
3 stars
46
2 stars
44
1 star
91
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Best. Phone. Ever. & A Great Buy!

12/28/2013
By ,
North Canton, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, I am a 13 year-old and I recently bought this phone. I might not know what parents think of it but I'm sure teens will love it. I bought this phone about a week ago and I am very satisfied. To the nice 7.24 display all the way down to the 8gb hard-drive. It's fantastic. When you start-up the phone you always get the Windows 8 tiles, which are cool I should say) there is no problem. Other people that have rated this one star have problems with it such as it will turn off randomly, well, it won't. Some of the bad things are such as- you need a micro sim card to make phone calls, etc. and the minor problem of the bottom home screen, back, and quick search buttons don't light up. Everything else is fine though. Everyday I use this phone with no trouble. The battery life is decent I get a good 24-hour use of it and charge it while I sleep. There's not that many apps on this though. You can get facebook, instagram (6tag), and games but there's a wide variaty of things. You can get a Micro SD card for more memory. The camera on the phone, I'd have to say it's perfect. Nokia and T-Mobile did a decent job this time and I hope you liked the review I kept it simple and to the point. I recommend this to anyone/everyone. :) have a nice day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Took the step up to Lumia 521 , I like it a lot

05/15/2013
By ,
Westlake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow , my brother told me to buy this , and he was totally right. The phone works great , awesome camera , and easy to learn.
Learning to use it is actually pretty fun , I've checked out youtube videos and people explain how the windows phone functions.
Here is what I did . I connected a blue tooth to my home stereo and use my Lumia 521 for free unlimited music streaming.
It's hard to believe how much technology you recieve for $129. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Lumia 510 is an awesome smartphone for the price

05/07/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once cannot go wrong on this one..bought the Lumia 510 few weeks back from HSN at a higher price then what it is here on Walmart, but still a great deal..The looks are awesome and looks even better then Samsung Galaxy...its even superior on the display and camera..the best part was that the Windows 8 was super easy to use...and the biggest feature i liked is that it is lightning fast to use the Apps on this smartphone...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+353points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Valley Center
You reviewed the wrong model phone
Posted 05/03/2014
The phone being reviewed is the T-Mobile Nokia Lumia 521.
Your review is the Lumia 510. (if that phone even exists)
0points
Customer Avatar
San Diego
Best phone ever!
Posted 05/07/2013
I love Nokia, I love the new microsoft phone software, and this phone is really inexpensive and amazing! Wish I could afford the higher end Lumia's, but this will do for now :)
+3points
It was meant Lumia 521 above..sorry for the typo
Posted 05/07/2013
by mistake entered Lumia 510 instead of 521
+5points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 64 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Cannot be beaten for the price.

05/20/2013
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am cheap and have been getting by on buying used smart phones from Ebay for the last few years. I really like the new Nokia phones and decided to take a chance on this phone.
When I bought the phone I understood that at this price there would be some sacrifices. Sacrifices like no front facing camera, no flash, and a cheap plastic back.
I am happy to report that this phone exceeds my expectations. I honestly cannot believe this is a $130 phone! The screen is good. The phone is fast and smooth. So far the battery life has been excellent.
All in all this phone is an amazing value. If you are cheap like me and you don't mind the sacrifices I mentioned above then you will love this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Crazy good price

05/11/2013
By ,
LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my opinion, this is the best deal on a smartphone, period. I wasn't sure about Windows, but I love the live tiles and how responsive the phone is. The phone call quality is exceptional, which was important to me.
Nokia's overall quality is unmatched by anyone - including Apple. Windows apps are catching up fast and the 521 supports 4G (but not LTE) and has a very responsive 4-inch screen, a 5-megapixel camera with 720p HD video capture, and music lovers, like me, will love Nokia Music. Great phone at an even better price. You'll love this phone. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Very cool phone

07/24/2013
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Nokia Lumia 521 is the coolest no gimmick Windows 8 Phone in the market. It has solid performance and Nokia's signature apps for an unbeatable bargain price of less than $130.
Pros: Quality camera for price; Compact and solid design; Intuitive and customizable interface; Loud audio, expandable memory and USB port. The OS is flawless and work very smoothly even with 512 RAM, I guess the OS is much more RAM efficient than Android.
Cons: Average display; No LTE support; Lacks front camera, I don't like the white back,
The Lumia 521 gives an affordable, easy-to-use and attractive Windows 8 Phone without a contract on T-Mobile's network.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Amazing phone at this price

06/10/2013
By ,
bellevue
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works like a charm. It has a decent 5 MP Camera and I love the new Windows Phone 8 OS.
It provides a lot of flexibility over placement of apps with new tile sizes. Its been 2 weeks and it has worked flawlessly. Only thing is to keep the brightness level at high with battery saver on. The screen brightness is not so good at medium and low. But it may be an issue with OS(lack of multiple points of brightness) and not hardware. I was a galaxy S2 user earlier which is still a great phone.
I moved because I got bored of Android UI. And also a great price to Enter into Windows Phone.
Nokia and Microsoft guys you rock. I will suggest everyone to go for a nokia if you want to get a great experience of Windows Phone OS.
I am loving it for now... :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

great phone

05/12/2013
By ,
Boston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have the family plan with T-Mobile (now only $90+Tax for 3 phones). After buying our first windows phone last year (Lumia 710) to replace a broken Android phone, we were impressed how good Windows phones are and how easy to use. Since then, I also replaced my Blackberry work phone with a Lumia 822 (Verizon), and was just blown away how much better Windows software and Nokia hardware are.
We now added the Lumia 521 to replace yet another Android. The phone is just the best for the price. It is a full featured windows phone with a nice camera. Wifi, Bluetooth features are all build in. I suggest to add a micro-sd memory card for your pictures and to activate the WIFI connection when you are at home (the basic T-mobile plan gives only 500 MB data/month/phone)
I found all the apps including games that I like and they are a snap to upload (there are 145,000 of them). Of course Windows phone comes with the office app build in, probably the most useful app. I think the phone beats even $300-$400 Androids and is a great buy at less than $130.
Look for the maintenance release that will allow Wifi calling (for those that travel outside this country) coming after May 20 (according to T-Mobile)
As an additional note: the Bluetooth connection to my KIA went without a hitch. Here - Drive GPS works great and other hands free phone operatiens work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great price fir a good smartphone

09/06/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a great cheap priced phone has all you need in a smart phone it's quick and easy to use using an iphone4 to this it has a lot more feature to play with I highly recommend this phone
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

A gift

09/07/2014
By ,
Athens, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the phone as a gift for a family member. They loved it and said it was working well and would recommend it to anyone looking to buy a new cell .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great phone for first time smartphone user

07/12/2014
By ,
Union City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 13 year old who really wanted a windows phone. He LOVES this phone!!! I think it works extremely well. It's fast and responsive. $69.99. And with the $30 per month deal through Walmart prepaid, 100 min, 5GB and unl text, it just can't be beat. It doesn't have front camera but that doesn't bother my son. He takes great pictures with it, has downloaded lots of games and we installed a 32 GB SD card. he loves the front tiles and found them easily customizable. The setup was easily understandable. And, oh yeah - it works and sounds great as a phone! ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

BEST PHONE I HAVE EVER USED

05/13/2013
By ,
Las vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone for the price, better than more expensive androids,very sensitive screen, all the apps I need, easy to use, good battery life, very good pictures , very happy with the purchase. I totally recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Simply the best "bang for your buck" smartphone.

06/07/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my Lumia 521 for about a month now. In the past I was a die-hard Android phone user, but everything about the Lumia has exceeded my expectations, so much so that I can't ever see myself going back to Android. What makes this phone so wonderful? Several things, actually:
1. The Windows Phone 8 is fluid and smooth. This is really the highlight and main reason to buy this phone. Even though this phone only has 512 MB of RAM, there is no slowdown or stuttering like on many similarly spec'd Android devices. Apps load quickly and snappily, and games run just as fast. The only drawback to the limited RAM is that you can't multitask with very many apps open (otherwise you'll see the "Resuming..." screen when an app reloads#. Still, this is a minor nitpick, as apps resume very quickly. And speaking of apps...
2. Nokia's built-in apps are excellent. If you're coming from Android or iPhone there is a slight learning curve, but after using the phone for a day you'll be a pro. Nokia provides a "Help & Tips" app just in case you need assistance learning the ins and outs of the OS, and their other apps such as "HERE Maps," "HERE Drive" #GPS navigation# and Nokia Music are extremely user-friendly and, in my opinion, of higher quality than other Android apps that provide the same services. Nokia also provides their own "App Essentials" pack in the Windows Phone store that you can download, which includes many other useful apps like Ringtone Maker, Photobeamer #which allows you to "beam" your photos projection-style onto any PC or Mac that has the Photobeamer website loaded#, and HERE Transit.
3. The camera takes decent, but not great, photos. If you're looking for iPhone quality photos, I'll be honest: The Lumia 521 will not cut it. There is also no LED flash included on this model, but really, what did you expect for $130? On the other hand, if you just need something for a quick point-and-shoot, then the 5MP lens on this phone does just fine. You can further enhance your pictures through Nokia's #MANY# photo editing apps if need be. I've found that as long as there is ample light, the photos turn out satisfactory.
4. Less apps than iPhone and Android. That's right, I said "LESS" apps. While most people would see this as a negative, it actually works to Windows Phone's advantage. Most major apps you would need are readily available in the Windows Store, like Twitter, Facebook, Kindle, Spotify, Pandora, etc. For everything else, you can usually find a comparable substitute that is of better quality than what's available on iOS or Google Play. For example, if you need a replacement for Google Reader - or one of its many offshoots - NextGen Reader is an awesome alternative. Because there are fewer apps available, quality apps like NextGen Reader are much easier to find. No wading through tons and tons of garbage apps just to find a diamond in the rough!
5. Call quality ROCKS. Calls are clear and loud, and I've never had anyone say that they have trouble hearing me. Voices don't sound muffled in the least.
And because no product is perfect, here are some things you might not like:
- The feel of the phone is very cheap, particularly the back. It's just a hard plastic shell without a good grip. You'll want to get a case for this phone soon if you consider yourself a butterfingers and don't want to risk dropping it.
- The screen is nothing to write home about, but once again, what are you expecting for $130? Sure, it's not a super AMOLED like on the Samsung phones, and it's only 4", but it's definitely more than passable. It is, however, super-sensitive, although you can turn down the sensitivity in the Settings if you desire.
- Only 8 GB of internal memory. This will fill up rather quickly if you download a lot of apps and music. Fortunately you can remedy this by using a MicroSD card for more storage, but keep in mind YOU CANNOT INSTALL APPS TO THE SD CARD. You can only put music, pictures, and videos on the SD card.
If you're on the fence about picking this phone up, or you're hesitant to switch to a Windows Phone, then trust me: The Lumia 521 is worth it. For the price, you're getting a phone that has an awesome mix of features and apps, and if you plan on using T-Mobile's $30 prepaid plan then you're getting even more of a bargain. In fact, the only reason you should consider NOT getting this phone is if you don't get T-Mobile service in your area or if you just dislike T-Mobile altogether. There's a reason this phone is nearly sold out everywhere: it's just that good. Track one down if you can, because you won't regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone
05/12/2013
By ,
terre haute, indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone can't go wrong, I've had many android phones and windows 8 beats them all especially for the price! May 21 2013 it will even be updated to have WiFi calling I just wish they had more in stock so I could buy my whole family one
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great

12/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great phone for the price!

10/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first Windows phone. My main requirement was a good camera without paying more than 100 dollars. This phone fits the bill. The camera is great in outdoor lighting and well lit situations, however, in darker setting, it's not so great. Still better than the Alcatel I tried before it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Best phone I ever had.

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used various Android phones and iPhones but this THE best smart phone - dollar for dollar.
If you don't need the rings and bells - you would just love this, just like I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Same issue both times

07/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first time I bought this phone within 4 months it was having battery issues and wouldn't stay charged. I got a replacement and I have now had the second one 6 months and it is having the same types of battery issues. Sometimes it will go completely dead when just four hours before it had a half charged battery. Sometimes it freezes up so I have to remove the battery to restart it. I am now looking for a better phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Under $140 Windows 8 and World Wide Nokia Apps

05/09/2013
By ,
huntley,il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth every penny out of $139 as Window 8 Phone.
Offline GPS and Nokia Music Offline with download free...Best Pic Camera with No Flash...
And no Front Face Camera..First Windows Phone after watching review on Youtube..
Go get it while you talk to Wallmart Assoc. and gave them UPC Code...They will unlock Magic Cabinet and give this phone to you...
Good Luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Hardware is great and windows phone 8 exceptional

05/09/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love windows phone 8, would have switched a long time ago if I had known. I liked this because it was affordable and no contract. I really didn't expect the hardware to be this nice at this price range. This is a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 807 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  41 Next