Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

T-Mobile T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

The compact 521 4G T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia Smartphone is a Windows Phone that sports a memory card slot, 5MP camera. The cell phone also has a removable battery, a 1 GHz processor, and is 4G-capable. This T-Mobile Pre-Paid Smartphone also has the ability to integrate with Xbox, Windows 8 and SkyDrive. This phone is a smart choice to connect, play games or get your daily weather, in addition to talking to friends and family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.046 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(723 Reviews) 699
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
381
4 stars
186
3 stars
42
2 stars
36
1 star
78
Customer Recommendation82%594 out of 723reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
782 Questions | 1,230 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
381
4 stars
186
3 stars
42
2 stars
36
1 star
78
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Best phone for the money.

07/10/2014
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Finally, a Reasonably Priced Smart Phone and Plan!

07/28/2014
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am coming from an iphone with Verizon, where no matter how you try to tweak the plan, it still costs RIDICULOUS... I realized I was using my phone to check facebook, e-mail, and GPS and that was about it (use a phone for talking? nope!). I got this a week or so ago and it's been wonderful. The Windows interface is fine, it set itself up really easily and intuitively (just downloaded the voice for the GPS this evening), and the phone itself feels springy, bright interface, wonderful sound. The camera app looks good, though I haven't tried it fully yet. I am just so happy not to have to contemplate 2-year high priced service agreements or shelling out $600 to buy a phone up front. This is perfect for me.
The only tricky thing is setting up the plan - when you get the box it says $50 for the unlimited talk, text, web. You don't even see the $30 anywhere on the tmobile site, which makes sense, it is wal-mart exclusive. But it was very challenging to get it set up. I tried to buy the $30 unlimited web/text and 100 minutes voice online and could not get the transaction to get by the credit card security no matter what I did. I finally went to a wal mart store and bought a $30 card - I added it to the phone and it STILL didn't work right away. Once I added it I was able to call customer service and had to SPECIFICALLY ask for the $30 Wal Mart deal and they converted the cash I had put into the phone into that. I was so paranoid it would not work, but if you ask for it, you can get it - they just verify that your phone is a Wal Mart phone by the ID #'s, etc.
Definitely recommend this for people who don't want to be hostage to the mobile phone company any longer, it's fine! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Best. Phone. Ever. & A Great Buy!

12/28/2013
By ,
North Canton, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, I am a 13 year-old and I recently bought this phone. I might not know what parents think of it but I'm sure teens will love it. I bought this phone about a week ago and I am very satisfied. To the nice 7.24 display all the way down to the 8gb hard-drive. It's fantastic. When you start-up the phone you always get the Windows 8 tiles, which are cool I should say) there is no problem. Other people that have rated this one star have problems with it such as it will turn off randomly, well, it won't. Some of the bad things are such as- you need a micro sim card to make phone calls, etc. and the minor problem of the bottom home screen, back, and quick search buttons don't light up. Everything else is fine though. Everyday I use this phone with no trouble. The battery life is decent I get a good 24-hour use of it and charge it while I sleep. There's not that many apps on this though. You can get facebook, instagram (6tag), and games but there's a wide variaty of things. You can get a Micro SD card for more memory. The camera on the phone, I'd have to say it's perfect. Nokia and T-Mobile did a decent job this time and I hope you liked the review I kept it simple and to the point. I recommend this to anyone/everyone. :) have a nice day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

My daughter loves her new phone

07/26/2014
By ,
MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Windows platform phone. I don't personally like Windows 8 so I find it complicated. But my 13 year old daughter who uses a (though I could figure things out) Windows 8 laptop has no trouble. Only downfall according to her is that it lacks second camera for taking selfies. The radio on it is so loud, way better than my Galaxy S3
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great starter smartphone

03/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this phone for over three months. Everything works flawlessly. Never had a freeze or error. Good solid phone. Many features that others in its price range or more expensive don't offer. Only two or three flaws that I have encountered: WiFi texting is iffy... at least with my network. Starts out ok and has no problem texting but then after three or four texts it stops texting and asks you to try again or check the phone number you're texting to. From what I've read, it's a T-Mobile App issue. So, texting by wifi is very unreliable and unstable. The other shortcoming to this phone is the rear facing camera. Plus no led flash. Would be nice to have both front and rear camera lens and flash. Other than that I'm very pleased with this phone. At the price I paid, it was a very good bargain. Great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Lumia is the Best Phone w/ features for the Money

05/08/2013
By ,
NY, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great design, love the colors and features. Everthing i would expect in a 300 dollar phone for a lot less.
I have had iphone and Samsung phones. I decided to be different and since
the reviews of the Lumia were all great I decided to go for it and get one.
I love the Microsoft OS and all the feautures and apps that I am used to.
I Highly recommend the phone and tell you that you can be confident in your purchase.
Enjoy it! I do.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+303points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
nc
pre paid phone
Posted 08/31/2013
i already have a straight talk account and phone. do i need to buy anything else to make this phone work..?
0points
Customer Avatar
Lowell, MA
Straight Forward Phone at a Good Price
Posted 06/11/2013
"Nokia" and "T-Mobile Family Pack" at Walmart, make a very good combination.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 67 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great phone

02/27/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, I was a little hesitant to buy this phone, because the reviews for it really aren't that great. But I really like this phone. I haven't had any problems with it what so ever (I've had it for about 2 weeks) and use it constantly. The only complaint I have about it is the camera; there's no flash so sometimes it can be difficult to take a good picture. But the settings for the camera can help with that! Plus, I would rather use a real camera than a phone camera any day; even if the camera was good on the phone. I really do like this phone, the settings are easy and fun, so I can customize it any way I want. I do recommend this phone to anyone, especially those who are new to smart phones. Because it is very simple to understand.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Defective.

06/27/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There were two 521's in this order. The first worked fine, but the second phone would not charge, even after checking a second charger and ensuring the battery was installed correctly. I exchanged the defective phone and the replacement would also not charge. It looks like a manufacturing problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Love it or hate it

08/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone is great but if you like apps for google they are simply not there no google voice. Its built for windows not google play no apps for my banking that I had. There are banking apps but not mind macu and zion not every one has apps for windows yet but I'm working around it. It's hard to get the web in a 2g network in my area but when in the 4g works great when it connects seems if I turn the wifi off it works best. seems not to change on its own. from wifi to network.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great pre-paid phone

05/13/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an older HTC Windows Phone that was starting to act up and I have to say I'm very impressed with it. The hardware is solid, the battery life is great and the phone interface is extremely smooth and responsive. Add in the exclusive Nokia WP apps and the excellent price and this is a great recommendation for those looking to buy their first smartphone or switch from a lower spec Android/WP device.
Highly recommended if you're in the market for a budget pre-paid phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great cause it has Windows 8 and i use PC for work

05/16/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew it would be nice, but worried about the apps and worried about transitioning from my droid to Windows 8. I'm impressed. This is my first time with T Mobile. So far so good, but we will see when i start traveling for work. The phone is nice. Ive never had an android that i didnt need to replace after a year. hopefully this phone lasts longer. feels good in my hand. screen is clear. ability to move between apps while holding phone with one hand is great. Viewing work documents is great. My wife syncs all her apple stuff on her I pad and I phone. Im hoping to get the same experience with this since im forced to use a PC for work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Good for talk and text ONLY

07/23/2014
By ,
Palm Springs, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's a good little phone for talking and text but that's it. It shuts down by itself for no reason. It drops apps like they're hot potatoes. It turns off Bluetooth about every 2-4 days. Very irritating. I can't recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

A real nice phone

08/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the fact that the phone was shipped by you and was safely delivered. thank-you Wal-mart. P.S. phone works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Outstanding phone!

05/09/2013
By ,
Appleton WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone, is thin, light, very easy to use and has all the apps I use (audible, spotify, youtube etc.)
Screen is beautiful, speaker is great.
Free turn-by-turn GPS is awesome, so is the expandable memory!
The price is PHENOMONAL! I don't know how they can sell other phones for hundreds of dollars more that really aren't a lot better.
This IS the phone for your teenager, hands-down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+129points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleve, OH
Wow!
Posted 06/18/2013
Gotta say your short and to the point review touched on a lot of my questions on this phone. I just ordered it and should have it in a 5 days or so. I have never had a phone like this and dont even understand all the jargen you smartphone big heads know. Lol. Anyway I really wanted to know if it had external speaker. I hate HAVING to have headphones on. I like to just bring my phone to the kitchen while washing dishes for music or outside the bathroom while showering. Also I wanted to know if there was a gps. YES! Expandable memory...I love lots of music and pix. YES! Definately want Spotify sinse I got turned on to it several mnths ago. YES! Thanx so much! I wish I had someone to teach me all of this stuff so I can get the full use out of my new phone thats coming! I assume this is "unlocked" just pop my current sim card in and continue on with my current T-Mo plan?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 75 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Nice Phone but Windoze Phone OS is terrible IMHO

06/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased the Nokia 521 4G phone in June not knowing that this phone was being replaced by a newer model # in July that was going to be 4G LTE (faster). Never could deal with the MS Windoze OS and it was a terrible user interface IMHO. MS Windoze OS 8.1 was also going to be released in July which might make the phone easier to deal with (but I doubt it considering it's MS Windoze..maybe Windoze 9 in 2015 ?). With only 15 day return policy from Walmart , it seemed only logical to return it for a refund and maybe the newer T-Mobile phones in July will be better. For the short period of time using the Phone, T-Mobile service seemed quite good and the $30 UNLIMITED DATA prepaid plan from Walmart is a great deal if you get a phone you like!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Great Value

05/08/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At this price point, the quality of this phone cannot be beaten. Nokia deserves a lot of credit for redefining this price-segment. Recommend this to anyone buying a cost-effective, first, or backup smartphone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+426points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
home
sims card
Posted 10/02/2013
can u put a sims card from another T-Mobile phone in this one
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 77 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

easy to use

07/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
exelent product,easy to use,good value,meet my expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

The best phone I have ever used

05/08/2013
By ,
Long beach, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bough this for my wife but after using it decided to get one for myself and replace my iphone4. Nokia has done such a good job. The style is very european and windows 8 is so easy to use. I have all the apps I can use and more. Go for this phone you will be happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+213points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

Awesome Phone

08/21/2014
By ,
Harlingen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love my windows phone. At first it was a struggle transitioning from android to windows but after a while I didn't even miss android. Its different and I love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for T-Mobile Pre-Paid Nokia Lumia 521 4G Smartphone

the best one

07/19/2014
By ,
BETHLEHEM, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I buy this phone meet all my expectations, I love it is a excellent phone. In the past I been used a lot of different types of cell phones but this one wow amazing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 700 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  35 Next