Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

Now you can jumpstart your weight loss today. The Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit includes 15 entrees and five desserts, plus a free meal planner and free weight loss counseling.
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation86%24 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit
06/02/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was thinking about signing up for the regular Nutrisystem program when I saw this 5 day kit at Walmart. I was grateful for the chance to try the food before going all in on the expensive monthly plan. I lost 6 pounds the first 5 days, which is great but I felt a little weak and really hungry when following it to a T. I decided to go another 5 days and add an "extra" each day (usually a smart carb or powerfuel). That second week I still lost 3 pounds and I didn't feel so deprived of calories.
I think it's a great system to teach portion control. It is convenient and easily adjustable to your personal goals. Some of the food is pretty decent for what it is. My favorite dinner (well, the only one I really like I should say) is actually the lasagna, which I see some reviewers have not cared for. For me every other dinner is tolerable and the rest of the meals are pretty good. I do have a sweet tooth so I appreciate the little bit of chocolate every day.
Anyway, I'd recommend giving it a try.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 2 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

Easy Plan to Follow

09/13/2013
By ,
Northern Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you've been on other diets, you can expect much of the same with this Nutrisystem 5-day plan. It's easy enough to add in some protein and veggies, the food isn't bad, and I wasn't hungry between meals. The bars taste like all the other bars, the dinners were okay...except for the Chicken Alfredo. Smelled bad, looked bad, tasted bad. Haven't had the Rotini yet, and after last night, I'm a little afraid.
I was disappointed to find, however, that the Nutrisystem D 5-day plan (marketed to diabetics) contained all but two of the same meal choices. I bought the Diabetic plan to try next week, hoping there would be different meals with lower carb content (more like Atkins bars and meals). Everything was exactly the same except the Chocolate Muffin was exchanged for the Blueberry Muffin, and the Chocolate Peanut Butter Bar was exchanged for the Trail Mix Bar.
In any case, it's a great jump start to get your eating under control, and I will do it next week, but skip the Chicken Alfredo!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

I love this program!

06/19/2013
By ,
Elgin, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been thinking about trying Nutrisystem for a few months now. I finally saw this package and decided to buy it. They where out of the regular package so I got the nutrisystem D package. I was surprised that some of the food is very tasty. My favorites are the potatoes, thin mint bar, rice and beans, and the lasagna. There where a few things that I did not find tasty but it was still edible. I love that you can add some of your own foods. If I get hungry I add a protein shake, low fat yogurt, and/or some fruit and veggies. This is not a starvation diet. In the first 4 days I've lost two pounds. That is amazing to me since I've tried other programs and have even gained weight instead of lost them. I hope to lose one more by the end of the week for a total of three pounds and feel like it is doable on this program without feeling deprived. It is also teaching me how to eat the proper portion sizes so I can still eat what I want within moderation. I will be buying another pack this weekend and then I'm going to sign up for the program so I make sure I keep getting the foods and don't run out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 4 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

Highly Recommend this Starter Program!!

07/25/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This five-day starter box was a great start to a great program. As with any diet, the first couple days are the hardest, but the meals are packaged wonderfully and are very convenient. The five-day starter box has a variety of different food types to give an idea of the tastes. After completing my five-day starter program, I decided to order a month supply directly from Nutrisystem. This allowed me to customize the food choices I wanted for each meal and was very inexpensive as it only averaged about $8 per day!!
If you have never tried Nutrisystem, I think the starter box is a great way to get introduced. However, if you try the box and like some but not all the foods, then keep going and sign up for the service on-line to customize your food. Everyone's tastes are different so being able to customize what foods you want is a very nice feature of ordering on-line after you've tried the starter program.
This program has taught me portion control and I'm losing weight and feeling better. I would highly recommend this program to everyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

lost 12 lbs in 10 days

05/06/2013
By ,
Canton GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved it I did not have to think. I bought 2 weeks worth and made ten piles. no thinking about what to eat or when.I used the food additions for the extras.I went to site and print out the additions made shopping easy. wish there were more to chose from. I had far worse diet food. I really liked most of it ( couple of the dinners were pretty bad so I added the morning and afternoon snacks to these witch I saved for the nighttime most days as this is when I want to eat. yes the portions are small but the food is nutrient dense so I was not hungry in between most of the time. the object was for me to loose some weight I had gained. and it worked great. I took a break for two weeks and maintained I'm going back to day to get some more I would have stayed on it if there were more to chose from
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Review 6 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

Nutrisystem Sample

07/28/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased this packet for 3 weeks. I have followed it almost to the letter. There have been a few slip ups and I have swapped out a vegetable they recommend for one I love. I have lost 18.5 lbs. That is also buying it, using it for 5 days then my own food for 2 days then back on for the next 5, etc. I am pleased with the food. Very surprised. The only one I could live without and am not too fond of is the chicken alfredo. I do add a tad bit of garlic powder to it and that makes a world of difference. The rest of the food is pretty darn good. I'm so thrilled with my overall outcome of this sample packet, I'm biting the bullet and joining NutriSystem next week. Good luck to everyone. I know what a battle this is and I'm excited about this. Thanks WalMart and NutriSystem for giving us the opportunity to try it before we buy it. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 7 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

Great jumpstart!!!!

05/17/2013
By ,
Lakewood, Wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a weight lost success. Having tried lots of other pills, potions, fasts, etc... I was at my wits end. Before Nutrisystem I thought prepackaged food diets were awful. To my surprise, the food in this kit was pretty good and satisfying. Even with the extra purchase of fresh items, the plan was affordable. It was a bit disappointing to find that Walmart only carries one kit because mail order plans are much more expensive. My solution... Get another jumpstart kit and switch the meals around for week two. :-). Overall my success in just the first week was worth far more than the price of the kit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 8 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

It's a diet, people!

05/02/2013
By ,
Zionsville, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am on day 4 of the 5 day plan, and I have followed the plan to a tee. The first day was the hardest (very hungry in the afternoon), but I have since been fine. The program works by giving you a base meal, and you add additional items. Typically, you add in 2 proteins, 3 veggies, and 2 carbs a day. So here is an example of my day:
Breakfast: provided meal and Greek yogurt - protein #1
Snack: an apple - carb #1
Lunch: provided meal with a salad containing chicken or hard boiled egg, mushrooms, tomatoes, and a light vinaigrette dressing - veggie #1 and protein #2,
Snack: carrots and celery - veggie #2,
Dinner: provided dinner, and add canned pineapple and steamed broccoli - carb #2 and veggie #3 There is also a dessert, which I have only eaten once because I haven't been hungry after dinner and I forget about it.
Is the food good? Some is and some isn't. It's a diet! Last I checked, diet food is a always a compromise. I was not a big fan of the lasagna, but I could eat it. The beef and potatoes is gross, but I added S&P, and it was tolerable. I thought the pizza was pretty good for microwaved pizza. The rest of the meals so far are fine. Since I add a salad with chicken or an egg, I don't miss a "meal" when the provided lunch is a meal bar. And I'm not hungry! I was SURE I was going to be starving on this plan. I'm not.
I just picked up another 5 day pack to continue with the plan for another few days before deciding whether to sign up for the regular Nutrisystem plan. I am leaning towards doing it. I've lost 2 lbs. in 3 days, and my weight doesn't typically fluctuate, so I know it is real weight loss. For ease of use compared to other diets I've done, this is definitely worth it. If I could spend hours planning and prepping my own food, I'd skip this. But even with the prep time needed for the food like chopping veggies, cooking chicken/eggs, etc., it is worth it for me to use the plan. I'd recommend trying it. The worst you could lose is the money spent on the meal plan. Or, you might lose some weight!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+181points
Review 9 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

Tastes Great

04/26/2013
By ,
Lawrenceville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Both my husband and I think the food tastes great for the most part. The chicken alfredo tastes okay but is nut the best. The peppermint cook was really good. I would recommend it to anyone who is serious about weight loss. Yes, the portions are small but we aren't starving either. You have to have the will to do the program and loss the weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+67points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ct
better than expected..
Posted 04/30/2013
i assumed anything HEALTHY tastes nasty.. or that i'd be starving. Actually, i was full after eating the meals.. and the snack inbetween helped alot... i have already lost some weight.. this helps very much with portions and calories especially having a four year old by my side all the time.. convient and working for me... ! i wish it was cheaper but sometimes the price is worth the results!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

Nutrisystem Works and most of it is totally edible

08/01/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: It works, but so would any program that feeds you less than 1500-1800 calories a day everyday. The food is filling if combined with the appropriate add ins such as fruit and vegetables. Some of the food is very good tasting.
Cons: You have to like vegetables and be able to prepare them for yourself in large quantities in order to stick to this plan. Some of the food is very bad tasting. To many of the snacks that taste good are chocolate or too sweet. They need more food that doesn't require "sweet" to make them edible.
Nutrisystem requires a lot of added food.
Typical day:
Breakfast: One egg + one egg white + 1/8 cup of instant grits + a Nutrisystem breakfast bar, cup of coffee
Late morning: One fruit typically a pear
Late Lunch: 1-2 cups of steamed then slightly pan fried vegetables (pre-prepared# + Nutrisystem entrée, if I eat a Nutrisystem Lunch Bar, I will typically eat the veggies then wait about 30 mins and eat bar.
LOTS of water or water with Mio during lunch and up to about 4-5pm to off set hunger.
Afternoon: If hungry another piece of fruit #10-15 frozen grapes, etc.) or spoonful of peanut butter or couple pieces of beef jerky or handful of cashews
6pm Dinner: 1-2cups of vegetables prepared various ways, Nutrisystem entrée
7-8pm Nutrisystem snack/dessert
9-10pm 2nd Nutrisystem snack/dessert with a cup of decaf coffee
Using this method and exercising about 3 times a week I lost 40lbs. over approximately 3 months. I am currently maintaining so I don't do Nutrisystem everyday which makes these Walmart packs very handy, so I don't have to order a full month supply from Nutrisystem. When I feel my portions are getting to big or if I pig out over a weekend. I like to go back to a strict Nutrisystem diet for a week to remind me what it takes to keep weight off.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 11 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

Mixed Review

05/26/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had high hopes for this kit and was ready to begin to lose weight. After all the advertisements on TV, I was sure this was the ticket for weight loss but wanted to try the kit before ordering $262/month of food. The breakfast and lunch items are pretty good but the dinners are just plain awful. I understand this is packaged food and do not expect it to taste homemade. However, they should taste somewhat good. Glad I tried and did lose weight but I will not continue with their monthly plan as cannot see paying for a meal I cannot eat. The Lasagna, Chicken Alfredo and Rotini are gross even when I tried to add seasoning or cheese! Terrible!! I would recommend trying the kit first if you are considering the monthly plan and then you can determine if you want to continue once you sample their meals.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 12 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit
05/20/2013
By ,
lockport, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this kit to jump start getting some pounds off quick. I found the food to be very palatable. I was never hungry and lost 3 pounds the first week. It is easy to follow. I think those who gave bad reviews just aren't willing to sacrifice their favorite junk foods or large portions which got them into trouble in the first place. I am very satisfied!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+46points
Review 13 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

Good Food

06/30/2013
By ,
Hawthorne, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st week on NS I've lost 3.5lbs I LOVE NOT HAVING TO MEASURE my foods. its very easy to follow. my first day i wasnt hungary AT ALL....if you drink 12 oz hot tea, coffee, or 8oz of water before your meal is ready it would help not to feel hungary...Eating NORMAL portions is key. the food is good. i've not had anythang that I didnt like. I love the choices and the chocolate. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 14 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit
05/31/2013
By ,
Dayton, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have lost 8lbs in three weeks only eating the nutrisystem 5 days a week. I am a very picky eater and did not think I would like the food but it wasn't that bad. I will be going on their website soon to order a personalized meal plan because after 3 weeks of eating the exact same meals it is getting old.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/15/2013
I want to make sure I understand you correctly... Did you buy the jumpstart kit at walmart every week for 3 weeks? If so, did you change up the days?...meaning(example) day 1 you made it day 3 and day 3 may be day 1 and so on... Did you not do it on the weekends? I was going to do the jumpstart kit for a month and see how it goes before I go on nutrisystem website.
appreciate your input,
thanks,
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit
08/09/2013
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far I have lost 6 lbs without exercising. Start weight was 339lbs. My goal is to lose 100 lbs before July/2014. I have not tried the diabetic kit but I am very interested. I am using the regular 5 day kit. I find that it has too much of sugar and sodium for my liking, so i may switch to the diabetic kit! I am confident that I will lose 100 lbs with the simplicity of the 5 day kit. I actually eat 5 days of the provided food and for two days I drink protein shakes. This way it saves me a little bit of money and I am sorta fasting at the same time. I am losing at my own pace and i love it that way. I can't wait until there are more variety of kits to choose from such as a vegetarian kit. But I do recommend this meal plan!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 16 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit
06/22/2013
By ,
White House, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been on nutrisystem in the past and it has worked great for me. It keeps me full all day long with more energy. I lost 3 lbs in a week. It's great to help break plateaus too! I'm so glad that wal-mart has it now so I can get it whenever I want to and not have to call and cancel auto ship directly from the company because it's sometimes hard financially.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 17 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

Okay if you can stand 5 days of awful food

05/01/2013
By ,
Carrollton, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm just on day three but I already am totally disappointed. I dont have much of a sweet tooth so I'm not thrilled about the amount of sweet 'meals' are in the package.
I just now finished the Beef and Mashed Potatoes dinner and it was AWFUL. I doused it in hot sauce and forced it down. The Lasagna with Meat sauce was just okay and the pizza was flavorless and gummy. I still have a couple of dinners to go but I'm not expecting much. There are two savory lunches, both bland, and the rest are "nutrition bars" that are certainly not my idea of a lunch - regardless of what fresh foods I'm supposed to add.
I refuse to throw money away and luckily, am not that picky of an eater so I will consume the entire package and take advantage of the weight loss aspect. However, I will not spend money on this awful tasting food again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 18 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

Better then I expected...

07/25/2013
By ,
middle of nowhere, Ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok first of all... Come on people with the bad reviews its a DIET... Its not suppose to taste amazing... It does taste fairly good thou. I loved the breakfast and lunch bars so far I was worried it wouldnt fill me but it was ok. I thought I would hate the beans and rice lunch but it was actually pretty good. I had the alfredo noodle dinner tonight and added some seasonings to it to help the taste.. I didnt like it but it was edible... Im alittle worried about the pizza... I think im going to put my pineapple on the pizza and some red onions... and bake it instead for nooking it. Over all Im very happy with this. I love that its a 5 day kit so i can do my diet during the week and just watch what i eat on weekends with my family. :) I really do recommend this!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

5LBS LOST IN 5DAYS !

06/28/2013
By ,
Kearny,nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I tried because my friend tried it & lost 4lbs with no excerise. I tried it & lost 5lbs in 5days i did 10min excerise ONCE. Im def. buying another box & this time with more excerise :D. I give it 4 stars because there was one thing i didnt like but it doesnt matter it was worth it :D I will update.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 20 for Nutrisystem 5 Day Weight Loss Kit

Happily Surprised

08/04/2013
By ,
Fishers, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutrisystem is not only about portion control it's about eat foods with a low glycemic index.
I needed to lose 80lbs so I just went ahead and bought the 28-day Select plan with the frozen food. You can choose the foods you want or let Nutrisystem choose them for you. I chose my own. I hear people say it's expensive. The Select plan, the most expensive, at $12/day isn't expensive compared to eating out every meal. I use to spend around $12-15 for lunch and then again for dinner. I decided it's worth saving money and losing weight to get healthy. It took about 3 days to get both the frozen and non-frozen food. I just started 2 days ago so I'm pretty new. I was amazed at how good the frozen food tasted. So as far as taste goes it's not a hard diet to stay on. I started eating the frozen food first since it takes a descent amount of space in the freezer. As far as being hungry. I don't find it to be a problem as long as you eat everything the guide book tells you to. If you are hungry their plan does say you can eat as many veggies as you want but stay away from veggies with starch. ex. corn, potatoes, etc. I highly recommend getting the Select plan.
Others who like the 5 day kit. I heard Nutrisystem is coming out with more varieties and also a vegetarian kit too. I believe the idea for the 5 day kit is for you to try it and then go on the 28-day plan. For someone like myself who has a lot of weight to lose it will take several months to get where I want to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next