Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

The SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV is the latest technology for the digital age. The black finish blends into the background when the lights are dimmed for your movies, sports and favorite programs in your den or living room. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the SANYO 50" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.106 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation83%39 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

Word of Warning...

11/15/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were completely satisfied with this TV for the first 10 months. Then one day it turned off on it's own and would not come back on. Finally about three hours later it did come back on but the picture quality was horrible and very dark. It was beyond the point of even being able to make out anything but ghostly images. Fortunately it was still under the Manufacturer Warranty but Sanyo's warranty department is a terrible headache to deal with. This division is actually dedicated to Sanyo TV's sold specifically through Wal-Mart. They had me fax my reciept in to "Oscar" and told me to wait 48-72 hours to be contacted. I was told I could not email it in. I only waited two days and started making phone calls. Long story short, they finally gave the name of a repair shop to take my TV to and if it wasn't for the gentleman at the repair shop givng me his personal contact at the factory I'm sure I would still be working my way through Sanyo's red tape. They are in no hurry to help you. Sanyo has now agreed to replace the TV for a new one at my local Wal-Mart but I have been advised I need to wait another 48-72 hours to be contacted by them with instructions on how to handle the exchange. Take your chances at your own risk. I would highly suggest buying the Extended Warranty if you still decide to purchase this product. As for me this will be the last Sanyo I ever own!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 2 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV
06/15/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the previous model to this and wanted to wait several months before writing a review (DP50842). The television is exceptional value for money. My HD camera to HDMI reveals perfect images . I only recieve local HD channels that are also perfect. Sound is very good , I integrate it with my stereo system amplifier and laptop via HDMI to complete the system.
I do not use games on it. I read some controversy over 60HZ verse 120HZ. Watching Superbowl for example, it portrayed no image flaws. My last TV was the Panasonic HD Plasma for over twice the cost and the only thing better about it was the SD card slot.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 3 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

So Far So Good

11/25/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had it installed for two days, so it is early. It seems to be what I was hoping for though. I will say that the online ordering experience wasn't as good as I would have liked. Navigating through the system was difficult at times and there was no contact information for calling in to ask and confirm that I was doing it right. Some times that is nice when you're ordering something for $500 online. It mainly had to do with confirming the delivery location as the online order form showed it being delivered to the store yet the online ad said it couldn't be delivered to the store. The TV also arrived two days later that it was "promised". In my case, that was OK as I had a couple of days lee-way, but one more day, and I would have been extremely disappointed. I haven't ordered a lot of items online before, but this was probably the worst experience I've ever had ordering online.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 4 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

Not too bad

06/11/2013
By ,
Weston, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this television after returning a similar one which was simply awful. We liked the picture and sound on this model but received a surprise the next time we turned it on. You have to let the television "warm up" for at least 2-3 minutes before you can change channels or adjust the volume. We thought the "olden" days of letting a set warm up were over long ago! Other than that the television is not too bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
minneapolis
I expected better quality from Sanyo
Posted 06/27/2013
I bought this tv a couple of weeks ago. It does take a few minutes to "warm up". There is also a 3-4 second time lag when changing channels. That is getting to be very annoying. If I was able, I would return it for something different. I would not buy again. I had an ELEMENT for 6 years before it died on me. I should have gone with them again and saved a couple hundred $$.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

Pretty Exceptional TV for the money

06/03/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Upon recieving this TV as a gift from a friend, we set up and started watching this tv. The quality is very good and would recommend this tv to most anyone looking for a great value in a large tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 6 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

HORRIBLE. Do not buy this brand.

10/15/2013
By ,
Amherst, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this brand of tv. Sanyo is horrbile. Bought the tv same day hooked up and speaker was blown. 2 months later same thing happened to new one. So speaker blew TWICE. When I called Sanyo they gave me a disconnected number for repair. The customer service foreigner was hard to understand and couldnt even understand me and I speak very clearly. He walked me through tv sound set up and told me to turn bass and treble all the way down (which I already tried). Still distorted and I should be able to have them both halfway up with no problems. Have to contact Walmart, no customer service help from Sanyo. Really rude guy answers phone too. NEVER BUY Sanyo brand products. BUYER BEWARE. You get what you pay for. Spend the extra money and buy a good brand that stands behind their product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
SANYO IS NO MORE!!
Posted 11/26/2013
Panasonic partially bought out most of Sanyos shares some years ago, and not to long ago they purchased Sanyo Electrics remaining shares 100% lock,stock and barrel, then Panasonic proceeded to completely dissolve the Sanyo brand name, so it is no more. Panasonic is still honouring all active warranties. I would think any product you purchase in 2013 and beyond bearing the Sanyo brand name, is left over from older inventory, Walmart bought out some of Panasonics previous Sanyo products, HDTVs, etc,,,, as did other retailers. They are now attempting to clear out large quantities of remaining Sanyo inventory, during this holiday season, just as they did last year, at steeply discounted prices compared to MSRP. Walmart is exceptional, when it comes to refunds and exchanges on defective products, especially if you have a receipt.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

Great picture for the money

08/04/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this TV for a week and still amazed at how good the picture is for the low unit cost. The only gripe I have with the tv is that there are not many video inputs. Only two HDMI connectors means that you will need a audio/video receiver to have connections for Blueray disk player, Cable box, and game system. Overall, great value for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 8 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

Great tv for the money

07/29/2013
By ,
Florissant, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I am very pleased with my purchase. I am not concerned that it is not LED because I don't know the difference between LCD and LED. All I know is that I'm satisfied and I even had a cousin to purchase the same tv. Great tv for my family room!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
peachtreecity georgia
Not satisfied at all
Posted 08/15/2013
I bought this tv today and brought it home, had it installed on my wall for a hundred and fifty dollars! The sound is very distorted no matter what setting I put it on so I called the company and was told to set my base and treble all the way down then asked if that fixed the problem! (You shouldn't have to do that! You should be able to set it all the way up without distortion) No it didn't! So they told me to take my problem to walmart i explained that i paid a hundred fifty dollars to have it installed and will now have to pay to have it taken down and re installed ( probably $200 ) I was told that that it wasn't their problem!!! My review,,, very low I won't be compensated for my trouble!! I'm stuck with a $498 tv + $350 installation fee + my time and gas!!! But according to costumer service " no our problem " Oh yea plus tax!!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

Great starter flat-screen TV

11/15/2013
By ,
Seward, Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a replacement for a projection 52". LCD TV is compact, nice clear picture from all angles. Price was rock bottom, so can't complain like some others. Analog channels look a little pixelated sometimes. Digital channels are stunning! Sound isn't deep, or broad, but surround sound would solve that. Overall, a pleasant experience. Buy online as Ship-to-Store, but bring your van or truck; this baby doesn't fit in a car!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 10 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

Worst tv ever!!!!!!!

12/07/2013
By ,
Maryville, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a sanyo several years ago. It lasted up until the warranty ran out then boom it quit. We bought this Sanyo last night (my hubby wouldn't listen to me). We got it home set it up and the speakers were blown.
Horrible horrible horrible!!!!!! Tv
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Edgewood, New Mexico
NO WAY
Posted 01/02/2014
I HAD A SANYO BIG BOX TV FOR 18 YEARS AND ALL MY TV'S ARE SANYO ONE IS 6 YEAR OLD ALREADY. YOU GOT A BUM ONE, TAKE THE TV BACK AND GET ANOTHER... TRY AGAIN THEY ARE GREAT TV'S.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV
07/09/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the TV. It met all of my expectations. It is all that I could ask for and more
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 12 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

Would never recommend this product

11/28/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this t.v for less than 6 months and the speakers are blown. It's only been used about two dozen times. I called Sanyo and they are sending me to a t.v repair shop an hour away from my house to get it fixed. The t.v repair man said this problem happens a lot in this brand of t.v Very disappointing! Will never buy this brand again!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 13 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

good value

10/28/2013
By ,
Santa Maria, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the 2nd DP50843, 50" Tv that I have purchased. Purchased one this time last year and when my daughters tv bit the dust, i bought this one for her and my grandson, knowing what a good television it was.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

my 2nd sanyo and i'm really pleased

10/25/2013
By ,
magalia, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have had great service from both my sanyo tv's
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 15 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

great big tv for price

07/26/2013
By ,
san marcos ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this TV for a man cave and its perfect for that application good picture quality
only bad thing is don't use home delivery go pick it up your self it came to my house and the screen was shattered right out of box and had to take it back to local store which was a major pain and get it home myself other than that great second TV
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 16 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

Spend a little more and get what you paid for

01/26/2014
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tv is not too great. The picture seems washed out. The images seem dull and dark. Even turning the brightness up to maximum did little to help. The tv can not be viewed satisfactorily from even the slightest angle, I found I needed to be directly in front of it in order to watch a program and still feel this was a modern 1080p television. I should have spent a little more money and gotten a better tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 17 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

Nice TV...Excellent price!!

09/01/2013
By ,
Baltimore
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this TV for my daughter and her college classmates for their dorm. They love it. The sound quality was a little iffy but a surround sound system took care of that. A student with a 3.925 GPA deserves a nice TV, and she got one. Thanks Wal Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

Great value

07/22/2013
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first foray to a non-Sony TV and so far it's been a great experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

nice size tv for price

09/04/2013
By ,
Camden sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Upgraded from a smaller TV to this beast. Picture quality was very nice have no complaints about it at at. only problem i had was ordering it through the mail first tv came in cracked and had spider lines all over screen. but when i took it back to walmart they replaced it no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for SANYO DP50843 50" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV

REALLY LIKE

08/30/2013
By ,
Clinton MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture quality is very good. Very easy to set up. It takes a minute to come up once you turn it on. But other than that, I really like the TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next