Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sanyo SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Sanyo SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

The SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV is the latest technology for the digital age. The black finish blends into the background when the lights are dimmed for your movies, sports and favorite programs in your den or living room. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the SANYO 58" LED HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation88%30 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Awesome TV for the price

08/02/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really great TV for the price. Doesn't have the bells and whistles of smart TVs or 3D TVs but it is a quality picture and sound. Easy to set up. I think the people who have the problem of the TV turning off may not realize that there is an energy saver option which can automatically turn the TV off. Its found in the menu settings and the default settings have it on. I have had the TV for over a month and have not had it happen. The only issue I have is that I cannot get the picture to be full screen when using an HDMI cable to stream from my laptop, but I am sure that is something I am doing wrong (I have it full screen when in regular cable TV mode). Anyway, I am very happy with my purchase of this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Excellent value in a non-smart non-3D big screenTV

06/23/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value!! My Blu-ray has all the smart features I need, so I didn't need the TV to have them. 3D gives me a headache, so no loss not having it. My 5.1 system handles audio, so I don't even care about the onboard audio.
This TV has everything else I was looking for. Big screen, excellent contrast, deep blacks edge to edge with minimal LED lighting artifacts, crisp definition, outrageous color saturation and low power consumption. All in all, a very, very nice picture! Blu-ray's and Amazon Instant Videos look astounding as did French Open tennis on cable. Could spend a lot more and just waste money... or get this and save big.
Bought the Walmart 3 year service plan so no worries on durability issues.
Needed a little dialing in to get the picture quality right where I wanted it, smooth sailing ever since.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Great product for its price.

09/22/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture is beautiful and it's a great tv for the price. The only problem is the sound but that was an easy fix I bought a sound bar. FYI any Vizio sound bar will work with this tv as that was the hardest thing finding a sound bar that works with the Sanyo. Loving this buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Very good deal

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I spent an entire day trying to find the right TV for the right price. Although I was leaning toward a smart tv, this one caught my eye because it was a 58" rather than the standard 50 or 60". That made it the perfect size based upon the dimensions of the area I had in mind to place it. It was very easy to set up and looks great. I mounted it to the wall using a Videosecu Dual Swing Arm Wall Mount and I couldn't be happier. It looks very classy. Plus I can just pull the TV out and angle it in any direction I choose which helps when I am trying to avoid glare from lights etc... I'll need to pick up a sound bar because some programs just don't come through loud enough to hear properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Sanyo out wins Vizio

02/25/2014
By ,
martinsville,va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this tv just a few days ago hooked it up and it works flawless. Had purchase 3 Vizio tvs from Walmart in the past two months each with problems. The first one had some bad pixels out of the box. second one we tried wouldn't even power on all we got was vertical lines and a black screen. third same as first bad pixels. So returned and finally decided to purchase this Sanyo and couldn't be happier. Picture quality is great better than Vizio sounds is ok. But after trying 3 Vizios the last two months This is the way to go. And at an awesome price you cant go wrong!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Good for the money

10/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Understand you are going to get what you pay for. This is not a bad television by any means. It is a good quality television. I read the reviews before buying the television, and I have read other reviews of other televisions as well. The one I bought did not have any cosmetic damage or any other damage. I have read reviews for all brands including top of the line brands, and I have seen where they had broken screens, cells that were out, and/or no picture. Spending the amount of money that I did on this television, I am pleased with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Great Value

06/26/2014
By ,
Rising Sun, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price you can't beat it, everything as expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

love it!!!

06/23/2014
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we love this tv, we got it for our dad for Father's Day & it was the best deal out there for a reputable brand & he loves it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Great Value For The Price!!!!!!!

09/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We didn't need all the bells and whistle on a TV. We looked at a lot of 60" TV's that cost almost twice as much. We have a Sanyo 47" thats been GREAT so we went with this one and WOW! what a GREAT PICTURE. The volume is a little low but with a sound bar it's great. BUY this TV you will love the picture for the price. Sam's sell's on line for $648 with a Roku and every so often you can get it on sale for $598 with the Roku.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

can't beat the price on this tv.

04/04/2014
By ,
Marshfield, Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 58" LED Sanyo T V is all and more that they said about it in the Reviews.
I was so glad to get this tv 6 days before it was to be sent to me.
this tv came in a well packed box so the tv could not move around and get busted.
I had fun setting this set up, it was fun and easy to do.
Everything on the tv works good.
I would buy from Walmart on line again .
Thanks
fjc
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Unbeatable price for the size!

06/26/2014
By ,
Marble Falls, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unbeatable price for the size!! I searched the net for a better bargain by size and couldn't find one. It's not a smart TV, but I don't need one and didn't want to pay for something i wouldn't use. Picture quality varies from moment to moment. I have Directv with HD with DVR. Sometimes it doesn't look HD, other times it looks ultra HD. I can't complain for the price though
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

It's ok

09/15/2013
By ,
Collinsville, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As stated in other reviews the tv randomly shuts off and back on, the picture goes black you can still hear what's on the tv just no picture. I noticed it for the first time a few days after I bought it. It doesn't do it that much, but it does do it. It also doesn't hold standard over the air reception very well. I can hook up the same antenna to my laptop through a tv tuner and pull channels that this tv can't pickup. My other sanyo held the signal better than this one, and it's almost 10 yrs old.
I've always bought sanyo tv's, never anything else for the past 10 yrs, and have always had good luck with them, but my experience with this one hasn't been as good, so this will probably be the last sanyo I buy. A guy that repairs tv's for over 20 yrs told me to only buy Sony, and Panasonic, so I think I will stick to those in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Colorado
I agree over the air tuner is junk
Posted 10/22/2013
I have had to add a amplified antenna to get local reception. And there are still issues with some of the local stations. The HDTV, Toshiba 50" Plasma picked up all local channels easily from my location without amplification. If you plan to use the built in tuner for local TV I would pick another TV!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Great TV for an excellent price!

02/16/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice TV and the price was right, and I replaced a 55" LCD TV with it. It has 3 HDMI, which I think is enough, and I really like the simple TV stand, which comes with the TV. I do feel the speaker is aliitle weak, but other than that, I think this TV gives great value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Comparable to any 'top' brand

06/01/2013
By ,
Portsmouth, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a 60"(58" - really no difference) television to replace a 42" in a basement family room. The 42" was just too small for the room size(sitting about 15-20 feet away). Let me say that this was not my first choice, in fact my budget was much higher then 800 as my first choice was Vizio's 60" Smart TV E601i-A3. The Vizio was dull, colors are de-saturated in some scenes and too saturated in others, especially golf. Course greens look like turf and clothing looks like its from medieval times. But that is not why I returned it. I returned it because of a popular defect among EDGE-LIT LED televisions known as the "flashlight" effect. Since the LED lighting comes from the sides of the screen, they have to be very bright in order to light up the center of the screen, especially for a 60" screen size. The light over powers on the edges and bleeds through, so you get areas of cloudiness during dark scenes. Very annoying, especially for such an expensive television. But don't be fooled, you cannot see this defect when viewing display models at retail stores (Fluorescent Lighting!). Also, it is still hard to see this defect when sunlight is leaking in the room, but you will definitely notice it at night.
Well, I figured maybe this is just a problem with base level EDGE-LIT LED televisions, returned the Vizio and bought a gorgeous 60" Samsung UN60ES6100. Got it for $1300 on closeout at BB, which is a steal since closeout for this 2012 model is $1500 everywhere else. The Samsung is so much better then the Vizio, Brighter, awesome smartTV features, just a more true to life experience when watching it, of coarse until the sun went down. Was testing in the dark and had the same EDGE-LIT flashlight issue, such a bummer. Could not get a replacement as it was sold out in my area, unless I were to buy a store model - Which I don't like the idea of buying a TV with over 2000 hours on it.
Moral of the story, do not buy EDGE-LIT LED televisions. Only the 'flagship' models have a more uniform screen and very few of us have the budget for those TVs. Of coarse they appeal to everyone because of how slim they are, but these backlits are pretty thin as well (about 3"). So, I decided to look more towards rear lit / backlit LED televisions(Or plasma-but room is bright and plasma screens have glare issues). Found a few that weren't as bright as the Samsung, even one being an $1100 Samsung didn't cut it. But I had known from the 42" model being replaced that Sanyo's are very bright and easily compete with top brands even though we all know them as a light-bulb company(the 42" is a Sanyo).
I gave this DP58D33 a try, with comfort knowing that Walmart has a 90 day return policy on TVs. Spent some time calibrating it - big thing is to turn the ECO mode sensor off and set the ECO mode to 1 giving you a real bright picture. Tested at night, screen black is uniform. This gets my approval and recommendation. For 800, I can now buy a Roku 3 or Apple TV giving me better smart features than all the smartTVs out there. I will say that videos games don't play the best on this picture right out of the box, but when you turn the motion settings off everything is a lot smoother.
Overall this is a great unit with a great picture. Beware of the audio out though, for this unit only has coaxial digital audio out. No Optical Digital audio out or Analog audio out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Portsmouth, NH
Also refresh rate is 120HZ, not 60HZ
Posted 06/04/2013
Walmart made a mistake
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Reliable TV

03/21/2014
By ,
Jonesboro, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned a Sanyo TV for 20 years so when my family decided to buy a large screen, the decision was easy. Sanyo TVs are very reliable and have a long life. Recently I purchased the DP58D33 and could not be happier with it. I love the beautiful 1080P picture, thin frame, great sound and easy menu to navigate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!

05/30/2013
By ,
Floyds Knobs, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recently purchased this TV. It seemed like it would be a great TV. After having a day and a half it turned itself off and back on. I didn't thing much about it. Then a few days later it started doing it again. My last night of having the tv it did it 2 times in a 15 minute period. I started reading others reviews and problems just like mine. They all said that after a year and a half to 2 years theirs started doing this. I didn't even make it through the first week.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Colorado
Nice TV but might have some reliability issues
Posted 10/22/2013
I purchased one of these 6 weeks ago from a denver area wal-mart, a display model. Got it home used it for 4 days then it turned off by itself. I turned it back on. The next day while using it turned off again and refused to come back on.
I took it back and was given a new in the box replacement. Now 5 weeks later of heavy use still works perfectly. I hope it continues to work without problems.....
Time will tell.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Great value for the price.

07/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect size for my den, although the stock speakers leave a lot to be desired.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Decent quality with low price!

03/07/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got it at the Walmart store and I love it! It's a noticeably larger screen size than the 50" or 55". I compared the size at the store and I was immediately impressed with the difference. Picture quality is very nice with the 1080p. The low price convinced my family to buy our first TV larger than 50". One thing I don't like is the simple design, but the larger screen is definitely worth it. I would definitely recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Amazing TV for the Price

08/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this TV for around a month. I hung it myself with no problem.
The picture is exceptional, and I have had absolutely no trouble with it. The price for a 58 inch TV with these specs was the best on the market.
I research everything thoroughly and this was clearly a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SANYO DP58D33 58" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

For the money you really can't beat it.

07/21/2014
By ,
Wichita KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are looking for a no-frills TV without all the extra 'apps' and just want a good quality
picture and the infamous 'soap opera effect' look in your movies, then look no further.
Really, at under $600, this is a must-get. There are plenty of features to get the perfect
picture that you want. And once you do, you will be amazed with the quality - especially
with Blu-Rays and animated features.
p.s. If you get this T.V. and have netflix, watch 'Forests' with the motion smoothing turned on.
It's like looking through a window. It's that great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next