Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung BD-FM51 Blu-ray Disc Player

Samsung Samsung BD-FM51 Blu-ray Disc Player

The Samsung Blu-ray Disc Player (model BD-FM51), provides multiple entertainment options. It plays Blu-ray discs with sharp picture and sound quality, and also upscales DVD movies so they can look and sound their best. With Ethernet connectivity, this Samsung disc player can access the Internet to stream movies on Netflix, listen to music on Pandora and watch your favorite videos on YouTube. It can also play a variety of digital audio and video files. With AllShare, the player can connect and share media with other compatible devices.
Average Customer Rating:
2.636 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation45%5 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung BD-FM51 Blu-ray Disc Player

Samsung BD FM-51

12/21/2013
By ,
Portland, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nickname NOT potown, Walmart must be playing a joke on me. Purchased this Blu-ray player seven months ago and have had no real problems with it. Set up was fairly easy. Player plays Blu-rays great and the upscaling makes my regular dvds look much better. Usb port is convenient. Remote control is set up much better than on my Sony. Anynet 2 works great with my Samsung flat screen. Smart hub makes searching apps much easier. Streaming is not too bad, sometimes there are some freezing issues. When it is updating through the internet you can't do anything and sometimes you have to restart after it's done. It's important that you let it finish. From what I have researched internet is a little slow on eighty percent of the players out there. Like some I thought this was wireless not wired. On the packaging of all of the manufactures it is a little misleading. On my second Blu-ray player I did more research. I picked mine up at Walmart when it was on sale so for the price I paid I got great value for my money. I recommend a extended warranty, it is inexpensive and will save you time and money if anything happens
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung BD-FM51 Blu-ray Disc Player

The BD-FM51 good for the money

07/14/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Needed a DVD player with streaming so I stopped into Walmart late at night and pick this one up for about $80 including tax. Figured I could get a better one once I had the time to research it a bit.
I've had this device for about 3 months and all the problems I've had are two. (1.# DVD's video will freeze or no audia, or big square pixels appear in place of the normal picture. #2.) This one is new. Netflix streaming movies will freeze up. I found this one out after calling the cable company support twice in two nights. After support did all their magic the picture was still frozen. The solution to this problem is the same for the DVD problem. Pull the plug, wait 30 seconds and plug it back in. Its a real pain in the backside but for $80 who can complain.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung BD-FM51 Blu-ray Disc Player

Awesome Blu Ray player

04/18/2014
By ,
Clarkton, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this yesterday at my local Walmart for $68 plus tax. Setup was a breeze and it came with batteries for the remote and it plays all of my Blu Ray movies and DVD movies with no problems. On the off chance that it might go bad like the other reviews have mentioned I bought the 2 year service plan as a backup plan if you will.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung BD-FM51 Blu-ray Disc Player

No cables

08/11/2014
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I realize this is a BluRay player with HDMI output. But I was disappointed that there are no RCA outputs and no cable supplied. Other than that, the price point was good and should do the trick playing BluRay DVDs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung BD-FM51 Blu-ray Disc Player

WASTE OF MONEY

10/13/2013
By ,
houston,texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was given this as a gift and had no problems for the first two months then it started to freeze all the time and I had to pull the plug out and plug it back in every time i tried watching a movie. Now it won't even turn on!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung BD-FM51 Blu-ray Disc Player

Not Wi-Fi - Didn't Know That

09/04/2013
By ,
Jacksonville
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My rating isn't based on the units performance, because I wouldn't know. It has the logos for Netflix, Pandora, YouTube, etc. on the box that lead me to believe it was Wi-Fi ready. Maybe that was my fault but no where on the box did it say it needed an Ethernet connection to use these services. In fact the instructions didn't mention it either and I didn't even know it used an Ethernet cord until after I took it back and did some research. When I hooked it up and went to setup, the icon for Wi-Fi was grayed out and when I clicked it, it said I needed a "dongle" to receive a wireless signal. The instruction booklet said nothing about this "dongle", but when I looked online I found it is an accessory that costs around $40 and is only made by Samsung. Again, it said nothing about plugging it into Ethernet or I might have moved my modem. Should I have known by the price? Actually no, because I've never bought a Blu-ray player before. My Ethernet is upstairs in my office and my other Blu-ray player #that was a gift# is wi-fi enabled; I thought they all were these days. I won't recommend this unit simply because it does not tell you anywhere #except when you go to setup# that you need additional equipment. I also don't like making returns and this one was unnecessary and inconvenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung BD-FM51 Blu-ray Disc Player

Terrible purchase

02/18/2014
By ,
Clevelan, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The blu ray only lasted 3 months. Will only play DVD now. Would also prefer Wi-Fi
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung BD-FM51 Blu-ray Disc Player

Well worth the money spent.

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has great picture quality. It is very set up although setting it up on my hotspot so that I can use items that require internet access is not so easy to figure out. Otherwise it's easy to use and I'm satisfied with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung BD-FM51 Blu-ray Disc Player

disappointment

04/19/2014
By ,
mo.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
while this does have lots of perksI don't see what the big deal is. other than the options of the netflix and the vudu My son talked me into getting it. What he neglected to tell me was you need a GOOD name brand t.v. I bought an element hd and I'm pleased with it. he tells me I need a samsung to really see the difference.I cannot program it to connect with the interet.grrrrrSo all in all its rather a disapointment
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung BD-FM51 Blu-ray Disc Player

Constantly Freezes

01/26/2014
By ,
Kansas City
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this unit for a Christmas gift this year and unfortunately its garbage. Every time I want to use the unit I have to unplug it and let it restart and sometimes that doesn't work. I am taking it back today and exchanging it for something else. Please don't waste your time with this model of blu-ray player.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung BD-FM51 Blu-ray Disc Player

FREEZES ALL THE TIME

03/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Constantly freezes. Have to unplug it.
Not worth the money. Would love to get my money back.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.