Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

Vizio VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

The 3D VIZIO Razor LED Smart HDTV, M501d-A2R features a true 16:9 aspect ratio so you may view your movies as the director intended. A built-in digital tuner allows you to watch digital broadcasts, including HDTV programs where available. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the 3D VIZIO Razor LED Smart HDTV, M501d-A2R. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.245 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation85%90 out of 106reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 113 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

repackaged tv

01/02/2014
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
walmart sent me a repackaged tv with all the stuff like a remote bulging out the top and stuffed into the box then re taped.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

Excellent value; Few flaws

06/24/2013
By ,
Augusta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: The picture is unreal. It is real 240hz as opposed to the LG 240hz that are beefed up 120hz masked as 240hz (similar to "4G" networks that aren't LTE). The frames motion flawlessly. The price is excellent. For $800 (what I paid), there simply is no alternative on the market at this price. It has a Netflix button on top- how convenient. Everything sets up just how I would want it. Vizio is such an impressive brand given its price.
Cons: The remote must be pointed at the left lower corner in order to work. Weird. Furthermore, there are no real buttons on the TV. If you don't have the remote, you are 100% screwed. You can power on and of (I believe) and that is all. Lastly, the sound is atrocious. Just know you will HAVE to purchase a sound bar with this TV eventually.
Overall: Without question this is the best deal in the market- hence, about all are sold out from Atlanta to Charleston right now. It's flaws are not game-changers. Its positives are. Feel confident buying, you will not be dissapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

Good Tv

12/02/2013
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is an amazing Tv for the value. It includes all the latest Smart TV apps that all work. 3d is very good. The picture quality is fairly good on bright scenes. The remote is unresponsive, but not a huge deal I just put the Vizio on my receiver remote. The #d was also very good on bright scenes. The main issue I had was the blooming and light bleeding on this TV. I previously owned a plasma TV so I am spoiled with amazing picture quality and very dark blacks. So when I watched movies with this TV and there were dark scenes, the LED light would bleed through in the dark areas were essentially being whitish black. This was worse in the corners. With smart dimming it just made it so the screen had blotches of "white" showing in dark scenes. The Dark Knight was unwatchable. So eventually I returned it. ( I messed with every single setting I had, none of them fixed it, even putting brightness to 0) So if you only watch movies and TVs with no dark scenes I 100% recommend it. If you are on a budget like I was, get a better TV with less features, but better quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

very good for the money

07/10/2013
By ,
Richmond In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second Vizio TV. My first was a 42 inch which I am sorry to say has better sound. Two things that are a bit disappointing with the 50 inch. The screen isn't as anti glare as I would like, it has a smoother surface which gives better sharpness but more light reflection. I can live with that! The big surprise is with the sound, its to brassy has very little bass even with getting into the equalizer and maxing out the low end and reducing the high end. The rear mounted speakers allow it to have the very small frame. It comes within an inch of fitting in the same space as the 42 inch. I have had a couple times that when turned on you have no sound but turning it off and back on takes care of that. I would strongly recommend buying one of the sound bars or hooking it up to a surround system of some sort for better sound. The 3D is impressive from up converted 2D media. Haven't played a original 3D DVD yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
VIZIO 40" 2.1 Home Theater Sound Bar with Wireless Subwoofer
 
 
 
 
 
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

worth the money

11/11/2013
By ,
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aroud three weeks ago purchase...still exploring all the features ... picture quality is great even with nonHD broadcasts....applications could be a bit more diverse...some not necessary with duplicate services... sound quality is very good with just tv sound...if you go for surround system go mid to high end as tv equals low end systems and would be a waste of money...I went for the 50" which is perfect for the size of my living room as my viewing distance is around 12'...a bit reflective but tolerable, just arange liting so as not to be in viewing angle...overall well worth the price and yes I would recomend this....oh yes one more thing with the thin frame you will have all picture with no distracting edges.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

Buyer Beware

09/10/2013
By ,
Las Vegas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this Razor in June, and the t.v. quit working at the end of August. Lemon laws apparently don't apply to big box electronics. I was told to call Vizio, which I did, and I got a recorded phone call by customer support that I would be receiving another call to schedule someone to come service my t.v. That call never happened. The picture is mediocre. Don't rely on the t.v.'s speakers without an external surround sound, or atleast a sound-bar. The backlighting is also wonky and uneven. Another thing I detest is their awful included remote control. Marginal at best. No qwerty remote provided like they had for their cheaper t.v. Vizio missed the mark on this t.v., and their customer service is even worse. My Sharp Aquos t.v. is far superior to this set. You get what you pay for. Stick with reputable brands. Thank goodness I purchased the extended coverage. I think I am going to need it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

Vizio comes through AGAIN!!

02/01/2014
By ,
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I normally don't leave reviews...but felt that I should since I made this purchase based a lot on the reviews I read. This is my second Vizio TV and after being a firm Panasonic, Sony and Sharp supporter for years and years...I have to say Vizio packs a tremendous punch in terms of value, quality, and styling. I moved my 3D 42" Vizio from the master bedroom to the guest bedroom and replaced it with this 50" 3D, and though I found the 42" to deliver an excellent picture, this model surpasses it! I usually go for the 'on sale' or 'last years' model but the reviews were so excellent I had to spend the extra and get this model...so glad I did. I wanted to leave this review so others may feel confident in their buying decision...this TV is surreal...watching a 3D movie propped up in bed,,,and seeing butterflies that look like they are in my room...and reaching out to touch them...says it all!! BUY with confidence...EXCELLENT product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

Great Picture & 3D - But MAJOR Issues!

07/29/2013
By ,
Stockbridge, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TV has a beautiful picture & 3D is great to watch.
The profile of the TV looks great hung on the wall.
TV sound is good, better than previous TVs I've had.
ISSUES:
The remote is terrible. The infrared pickup signal on the TV is horrible as well.
BUT, the worst part of this TV is the start-up time.
The start-up time is slow slow that it is (so far) impossible to use my Harmony remote control.
I have been searching for a fix to this problem and instead of answers, have only found dozens of other people with this TV having the same issue.
If you plan to use an All-In-One remote with this TV, forget it!
Also, I bought this TV using Site-To-Store and the shipping company destroyed the screen.
Walmart was out of stock and could not replace it so I ended up going to Best Buy for it.
I have had this TV for a week now and am seriously considering returning it.
It's too bad because the price for this TV is great for the beautiful picture and 3D.
Just to note - I bought the Vizio 5.1 Soundbar when I bought the TV.
It has the same issues as the TV with the remote. Sounds great but am still considering returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

Good enough for me

12/24/2013
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It provides a good image despite the "soap opera effect" from the 240 Hz. The screen reflects room and outside lights too much. I'm having fits trying to get it paired with my Dishnet remote. Right now I'm forced to use two remotes just to watch TV. The speakers in the rear provide muffled audio. I bought a sound bar today, but that will mean three remotes if I can't get everything programmed into one remote. Having four HDMI ports is great! That's the reason I went with Vizio rather than Samsung. The online (no hardcopy provided) manual has errors such as photos showing only two HDMI ports. My wife didn't want 3D nor a larger TV on the wall, but even she likes the picture just not the audio. We'll see how well Vizio works. Never owned the brand before, but my daughter and son-in-law have three Vizios. They like the brand. Tchuss!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

Great TV

11/05/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I own a Vizio 37" tv and really liked it. I have owned for 5 years and have not had any trouble. So when I decided to get another tv I really looked hard at the Vizio 50". I also looked at LG and Sharp and decided on the Vizio. Glad I did it has a beautiful picture and love all of the apps that I have used so far. Have not tried the 3d yet but I am looking forward to the day I get to. I would highly recommend this tv. I would use a custom set up you can find on cnet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

Great TV

06/06/2013
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this TV. Great pictures, apps. The 3 D images are stunning. Easy to use and hook up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

GREAT BUY

07/02/2013
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Tv and the picture is impeccable!!!!!!!! I would advise anyone who is planning on mounting this tv on the wall to buy a sound bar because the speakers are in the back. Overall it is a great tv.....:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

Lovin It and helpful tip for setup

01/02/2014
By ,
Mount Airy, NC ( Mayberry)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unlike most reviewers...this is my first flat TV purchase. I picked it for value, features, etc. trying to get the most for my buck. I am not disappointed. That doesn't mean I didn't run into some issues. Shipping....Walmart.com sent it to the shipper extremely fast. They used FedEx. I ordered it the Saturday before Christmas and it actually showed up Christmas Eve afternoon. If you have it delivered to your home ( only cost me an additional $2 and some change and worth the elimination of trying to go to Walmart to pick it up, load and unload it by myself, etc.) make sure someone will be home....FedEx left it on my back porch...never knocked/ rang the doorbell....my son's were there and heard the truck as it left and brought it in. Depending on where you live....someone may enjoy your TV other than you because it is shipped in the normal TV box, clearly letting everyone know what it is.
(PICTURE QUALITY ISSUE)When I began to do the guided set up, it all was easy to understand but I noticed the picture looked very off when the channel came up.....weird colors, shadows, blurring. I went to the troubleshooting menu and followed the directions....I adjust the settings in every mode...while making improvements...still wasn't right ( over 2 hrs of adjusting), I got on the internet and read reviews/ blogs with many people giving their settings...tried them all...some were better than others but the picture finally increased to 90-95% of what I expected and thought I should just give it a little time and ask some other people. Then my daughter hit the NetFlix button on the remote...my wife quickly exited the app and guess what? The picture was just as bad or worst that the beginning. She was ready for me to box it up and send it back....and I was leaning that way too. I decided to call Vizio Customer service.......one word.....AWESOME! They were polite and anted to make sure they helped me with any issues I was having. I told the lady my issues...everything I had done ( picture mode reset, factory reset, adjustments, etc.) She guided me through the menu and my settings were basically what they recommended. (Pay attention) She suggested we try a "Power Reset" by unplugging the TV and hold the power button (on the TV) for 30 sec. I did this and when the picture came back on....everything looked so much better....I started over and reset all the factory picture settings and the picture is perfect. I looked for this in the user manual but never found a "Power Reset" as an option. It may not fix your issues with your TV but it is a good first step if you don't think the set up is going well. I also took the time to ask about several things I had read on the blogs and she cleared it all up for me and was willing to explain anything I didn't understand. She was always friendly and it may have been my approach to her but knew she was probably busy but felt if I kept asking questions she would have been glad to stay on the line for as long as it took. The best customer service I have gotten in the past few years from ANY company!
(REMOTE) I have a good sized room and operate my remote from 10-20'. I don't know if they fixed the issue that others complained about but I have no issues with it working correctly. Some of the buttons took me just pushing them to figure out what they did. I do wish they had a paper manual with the TV so you could reference it but understand the "paperless age".
(SOUND) Many reviewers complained and it was one thing that worried me about the purchase but figured if the sound was bad.....I could do like they suggested and get a sound bar later. I still haven't bought one a week later because I don't have any real issues with the sound. I have my TV mounted above my fireplace (not used) on the brick wall. We may be considered very sensitive listeners but the volume (10-15) is exactly the same as our old set and we hear it just fine. We turned on the Pandora App and turned the volume up to the halfway point and was loud enough to hear throughout our ground floor. Does it sound like a $3000 stereo or a movie theater? NO! Sounds like a standard TV....and that is what it is supposed to sound like. I know panel TVs have the reputation to not having great sound and worried with this one being so thin it would fall into that category but have not seen this to be an issue. Maybe the mounting location is the key...I don't know but if you are worried about the sound....put it as a footnote and not an issue determining your purchase. With the size of the TV.....theater sound would be awesome but basic sound is enough for normal TV viewing.
(OVERALL) The TV is exactly what I was expecting...reasonable price, picture, sound, features, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

High end features at a mid-range price

06/17/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This set replaced a five year old 42" LED tv, which has now been moved to a bedroom. Due to space constraints, only 45" of horizontal space was available, but the VIZIO M501d-A2R fits 50" of screen into the space formerly occupied by a 42" set, thanks to its ultra-thin bezel. Image quality is amazing.
3D is amazing to watch, but for now I am not upgrading my Blu Ray player to a 3D model. The inventory of 3D disks is small: Amazon sells only 195 titles. For now, I am content to explore the 3D content on Netflix, since I already pay for a streaming account. I needed the M series 50" set to fit the space, and there was no non-3D option M series set (one can choose or opt out of 3D in the E series, but the largest E series I could have fit was a 47" model).
Controls and remote are intuitive and not difficult to use. Although my previous set had the capability to rename inputs (e.g HDMI 1 = "cable tv", HDMI 2 = "DVD", etc.), the function was buried deeply in the set-up menu and I never noticed/found it. It's easy to find on the This set replaced a five year old 42" LED tv, which has now been moved to a bedroom. Due to space constraints, only 45" of horizontal space was available, but the VIZIO M501d-A2R fits 50" of screen into the space formerly occupied by a 42" set, thanks to its ultra-thin bezel. Image quality is amazing.
Prior to buying this set, I was using a 2009-2010 model Vizio Blu Ray player with integratedWiFi. I have a dual band router, but sometimes I would get "insufficient bandwidth" notices when trying to stream with this disk player. Rarely was I able to stream in HD. I now realize that I was working with the limitations of a first-generation WiFi receiver. The WiFi capabilities in the new set are amazing and a big step up from what I had previously. Most Netflix and Amazon HD content streams at 1080, as does Netflix 3D content, and I am using the same dual-band router as before.
Sound is unimpressive, which is not surprising, given the streamlined design of the set. There is simply no room to incorporate significant speakers on such a sleek set. I use a Bose Solo sound bar beneath the set. At this price point, I doubt if most buyers would rely on the set's native speakers, and most probably use a Surround Sound system or at least a sound bar. I keep the tv's speakers turned off and simply use the Bose system for audio, using a digital optical cable.
Like most or all tv's with this feature set, there are options to reduce the "soap opera effect" when watching content filmed at 24 frames/second, such as motion pictures and prime time tv programs. There is a "film mode" setting which can either be switched off (if you WANT the soap opera effect) or left on "auto", which detects and corrects for 24 fps content. More importantly, use the "Smooth Motion" setting and turn it to "off" or "low" to minimize the soap opera effect. The default setting is "medium", at which a motion picture will definitely have the soap opera effect. If Smooth Motion is turned off, motion pictures will lose the effect and appear "normal". For live tv, especially sports, you will want the Smooth Motion feature turned ON. Admittedly, this is bothersome to have to toggle the setting back and forth, but until they develop software to allow the set to auto-correct for this issue, manually moving the settings as described above will do the trick.
Amazon and Costco were sold out of this model. I could not find a WalMart store that stocked this model, but fortunately was able to find it online at walmart.com. Delivery was prompt and free, whereas Costco would have charged $80 for delivery. Very pleased with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

2 weeks since receipt of TV

06/24/2013
By ,
Coos Bay, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great TV. It replaced a 2006 model Hitachi 42" 1080i plasma I had purchased in 2007. TV still worked fine and had great picture. I just wanted 3D and more flexible features of a new TV. I have praised plasma picture quality for years, but this LCD w/LED back lighting is actually better. Plus 3D! I love the dimensions of this set. "Razor" thin frame is great. This set is basically same outer size as my 42". I've played games and watched movies including 3D. Picture is great! I had read and been warned about 240Hz looking "different". Indeed it does. Not wrong, just different, weird, fake, etc. Like watching a soap opera, something. I have grown to like this feature, which can be turned off, over 2 weeks. It's like watching older movies for first time again visually.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

The BEST television you can buy for under $900!

07/18/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV to replace a 47" VIZIO LCD 3D model that was stolen. I have had the television for a few weeks now and have been amazed by the image quality. I watched both 2D and 3D movies which are like watching them for the first time on this TV. You pick up on details and movement in the foreground and background that you just cannot see on other televisions. The motion is perfectly smooth and realistic, colors are rich and vibrant; this is even more apparent when watching 3D. The television has apps built in for all sorts of social connections and entertainment. However, I don't really use them as I use the television for a computer monitor.
The setup is very simple, you just have to remember to click the OK button on the remote to access the keyboard. One of the best features is the detailed instruction manual that is programmed into the menu system. The quick setup guide provided in the box tells you how to access this. From there you can learn everything there is to know about the television. My old VIZIO TV (as is the case with most television companies) required you to access the instruction manual online. This is the first company I know of that includes the manual in perfect detail with color instructions in the television. Persons with little or no experience with electronics can hook this television up in a matter of minutes. Of course it will take two people to lift the screen and attach the stand.
I have read complaints about sound quality, the fact that the screen is very reflective, and some people having issues with getting the picture the way they want. The sound is limited, but when you consider that the television is only 1.75" deep this is quite understandable. Most people only buy a television like this for the picture and connect a home theater system or a soundbar. For speakers fitting into such a narrow space, they sounded pretty good. But, if you are going to listen at high levels, you will need to consider alternatives. I have a Sony home theater connected to mine and use the CEC function on the TV that syncs the remote to the stereo through HDMI. This is great because I can control both units with the TV remote. The glare issue is a legitimate concern. All LED TV's have a very glossy screen which will reflect any light source that is in front of it. You will need to consider the placement of the TV before you purchase. You will want to place the unit with windows behind it, even with blinds closed, light will reflect on the screen. Also, any lamps or lights will need to be placed to the side, or turned off. In my setup, the only windows in my living room are behind the TV and I usually watch with the lights turned off. Or, I only turn lights on that are not within line of sight of the screen. If your home does not allow for this type of setup, you may want to consider purchasing either a LCD or Plasma TV. As for the picture settings, there are several pre-programmed options available. I had to make some adjustments in the Advanced Settings to get it the way I wanted. To me this is not an issue, and I think most people will probably be happy with factory settings. The manual provides detailed instructions on how to make these adjustments. One great thing is that if by some chance the settings become too confusing or meddled with (such as a child playing with the remote) you can easily reset them to the factory defaults in the options menu. It would be nearly impossible for anyone to make the TV unusable by fiddling with the settings.
I have noticed that the right side of the set becomes warm when the backlight is set to 100% (which is the default when using Vivid mode). However, this is normal and will not harm the unit. Also, when watching movies that do not fill the entire screen, the backlight will create brighter areas in the lower corners. This can be distracting, but by reducing the level of the backlight in the options it can be compensated for. One final note, the TV comes with 8 pairs of 3D glasses. If you find that this is not enough you can always use Real D 3D glasses from your theater. I keep the 3D glasses from the theater in case something happens to my others or I have a large group over to watch movies. However, IMAX 3D glasses will not work. I paid less than $900 for my unit. I cannot believe the quality for the price. You will not be disappointed, nor will you find a better TV for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

Terrible Audio Delay

12/12/2013
By ,
Canajoharie, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want a fancy light bulb then this is the model for you. Picture quality was awesome and had great depth, color, and clarity. The problem was I experienced a terrible audio delay when I plugged in any external device. This rendered the tv useless for watching dvd's, singing karaoke, and entertaining. Vizio sent out a technician who verified the issue and was unable to fix it. I think these devices are losing too much functionality when they go for flash.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

Frustrating Remote Problem

12/08/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was truly surprised when FedEx sent me an email saying my TV had been delivered. It only took 1 day to arrive to me which I thought was amazing. The next evening we decide to mount the TV to the wall and get it set up. Well, that was not as easy as we thought. The remote would work then just stop working. I would pull the batteries out and replace them again. The remote would work for a couple of seconds then go out again. We then got a bucket of batteries and just kept replacing them as the remote would stop working. After an extremely chaotic night of trying to get the remote fixed and for some reason the cable not showing up because we could not program anything without the remote.
My husband finally started looking for solutions online and found a whole bunch of complaints about the exact thing we were having issues with. There were a number of techies telling us how to fix the remote, but I am sorry if I am paying for a brand new TV I expect to have one that works. Honestly, who expects to have to fix something when they buy it new. The very next morning we packed up the TV and took it back to Walmart. No problems there. Walmart was actually very good with service and speed of delivery. But my opinion is that Vizio came up short on this one. The remote problem dates back to 2010, you think they could have fixed the problem by now.
Bought an LG and ended up with a 55" at a much cheaper price. Thumbs down for this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV

Vizio 240hz RULES!

12/01/2013
By ,
Lancaster, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VIZIO 240hz rules big time. When viewing in 1080p & 1080i video is Awesome. Real good in 720p. I believe the 240 is making all the difference. Not impresses with the built in sound, but I use a 150 watt receiver and big speakers anyway. Wi-Fi is great, even with my low-mid bandwith.
HDMI and Optical hookups also makes for a huge awesome tv/movie experience. It's like you're there in the movie.
So far it's what I thought it would be. But I haven't tried out the 3D yet. But I'm sure it'll be awesome too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for VIZIO M501d-A2R 50" 1080p 240Hz Razor LED (1.75" ultra-slim) 3D Smart HDTV
07/01/2013
By ,
huntsville, al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best picture on a TV I have ever seen. Worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next