Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Vizio VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

The VIZIO Home Theater Sound Bar, 2.0-Channel, connects to your TV with an easy, one cable setup. Both analog and digital cables are included in the box for your convenience. This home sound bar can upgrade the sound on your small or medium sized television. This provides you with crystal clear sound with less than one percent total harmonic distortion. The VIZIO sound bar with high performance bass features radiators that add low end frequency without the need for a sub woofer. The sound bar is complete with a remote so you can easily access the functions without getting up. You are able to control the volume, input and audio levels from the remote. The VIZIO Home Theater Sound Bar, 2.0-Channel also lets you stream music through your Bluetooth enabled smart phone, iPod and iPhone. This device can be mounted or placed on a table.
Average Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(391 Reviews) 389
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
217
4 stars
101
3 stars
29
2 stars
12
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation87%342 out of 391reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
87 Questions | 214 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
217
4 stars
101
3 stars
29
2 stars
12
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Sound bar

12/27/2013
By ,
Desoto, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband love this it sounds like you in the movies very excellent peice
Of equipment..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Defective remote sensor

01/04/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although I was impressed with the sound quality (big improvement over the sound coming from my 50"plasma T.V.) easy to connect using the supplied optical cable. Much louder and clearer,then the Polk sound bar I tried (that cost twice as much) or the Samsung unit I tried (that cost one and a half times the Visio) T.V. remote controlled the volume perfectly, blue tooth works well to listen to the music on my smart phone. I really like it! I just wish they would fix the problem with the remote sensor! I've had 3 of these so far and everyone of them has the same problem! Between 6 weeks and 90 days or so the remote sensor stops working. I know it's not the remote itself because Neither the Visio remote OR the T.V. remote would do anything, but unit can still be operated with the buttons on the side of the unit. If they would last a few years instead of just a few months I would give it 5stars.
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Vizio Sound Bar.....So far so good for the price

01/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the vizio sound bar from a recommendation of a walmart employee. It was a purchase as a Christmas gift to me. I unboxed the item, and found all the necessary cords, and power cord. I didn't give it a 5 star rating because the included directions were kind of vague. I ended up going to youtube to see a live person explain it. I would of liked a led remote. That would have been a lot easier to hook up. The power led light was so small, I didn't even know it was on. I have to admit, the sound is much, much better than the tv speakers. I do recommend this unit. You can also get this same unit with a subwoofer, which is a little more money, but I can buy a subwoofer since it's got a built in plug in for it. I am now enjoying my first ever sound bar.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Great sound,price and vizio customer service

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this sound bar and love the quality.However,after a few weeks,the remote quit working...Had power and could control it from back of sound bar,but nothing from the remote. So,took it back and exchanged it for another,and same thing happened,only this time within a day. So,called Vizio's customer service,who explained that it's possible the soundbar lost its infrared connection,and instructed to unplug,then plug in again. That worked and no problem since...remote and all work fine. Customer service also registered my product and explained in detail procedure for operating both sound bar and Vizio smart TV I purchased w/sound bar....Excellent service and great product,even in light of return,etc....Highly recommend this as well as M-series smart TV.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

A Few Bugs, But Still Recommendable

04/14/2014
By ,
Lemoore, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I rec'd this Vizio sound bar within a week of ordering and promptly began setting it up. Unfortunately, I could only use the Headset plug in my Hanspree TV, but that's not on Vizio. I tried to connect the sound bar each way possible, but couldn't get any sound. Finally I tried hooking it up to my Sanyo TV with more jacks in the back. I hooked it up and...no sound. Finally, after going through each of the Inputs on the sound bar, it popped, then I got sound. Well I thought maybe it might work on the Hanspree TV now. Lo and behold, it did. The sound quality is very good, however, after about four days, the remote quit working. Called Vizio and after "walk through" with them, they agreed to send me a new remote. Kind of a PITA, but stuff happens, and Vizio is making good on the remote. If this is the last of my problems, I'll be happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

NOT AS BAD AS EVERYONE SEEMS TO THINK

12/14/2013
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased a new 60" TV, speakers are in the back. Sounded lousy. Most of the reviews for this sound bar, all said good with small TV, some even said not good at all.
The larger sound bars are too expensive for me, (I am broke from the 60" TV) so Purchased this smaller one. I figured what do I have to lose, Wal-Mary has the best return policy of them all.
Well I get it home, Set up take's maybe two minutes, my tv remote worked instantly on the sound bar. My living room is fairly large, yet this sound bar had NO problems filling the room with perfect sound. It helps balance out those movies where the sound effects are one volume, and the dialog is another volume.
OK I will land the plan, overall great speakers, great price--buy them what have you got to lose, you don't like them just return within 90 days...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Advantages and Disadvantages

02/13/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had the Vizio Soundbar from 2010. Compared to that, this soundbar's sound seems to have a richer quality. I use it with a Sony subwoofer. It also has a more stable base with shorter feet instead of feet-like clips designed for mounting. This also gives it a lower profile, convenient when in front of the TV on a TV stand. The previous version had a silver plate in the center that could be distracting. I also like the Bluetooth capability and that it remembers my input setting even after I unplug it. However, the new soundbar shuts off when the TV is not in use. Being an energy-saving feature, this might not be a bad thing but I do have to remember to turn it back on. Other disadvantages: the buttons are in the back. The old version had buttons on top making for convenient use when near the TV and without the remote control handy. Like others have described, the batteries of the remote control are not really in an easily accessible compartment with a door but require a user to unsnap the two halves of the device with some force. All types of sound cables are included but I use a digital optic cable other than the one included.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Best bang for the price

08/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a massive upgrade from the tv speakers. Highs, mids, and lows are projected and don't sound distorted like tv speakers. Even without a sub, the bass comes through fine and doesn't over power the mids and highs. Overall for a 100 dollars, this is the best bet.
And it includes cables so I didn't have to buy anything! Hooked up coax audio and digital audio for the best sound. What a deal!
Only complaint is the volume adjustment isn't fluid like you would get in a knob so the jump from one level to the other can be a bit loud - so you can't fine tune the volume but that's minor and far from a deal breaker at this price.
I highly recommend this for an inexpensive upgrade.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Compatibility issues

08/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this sound bar to go over the television set that I also bought at Walmart two years ago. I had no idea that the sound bar would not be compatible with the television set because although the television set was purchased two years ago it was apparently already two years old when I bought it. So as hard as I tried to install the sound bar it just wouldn't work. I called Visio for tech-support and their tech-support people were very knowledgeable and very helpful. It didn't take them long to inform me however that might sound bar and my television set we're not compatible. I chose to keep the sound bar because for the time being I'm using it for its Bluetooth quality with my iPhone and iPod. The sound is very good and it's very easy to set up in terms of using it as a Bluetooth to listen to music. I will be getting another television set soon and putting the other television set in a different room so I'll be sure to find a TV that's compatible with the sound bar. Obviously I would've liked to of known that the compatibility wasn't there before I bought the sound bar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Best Sound Bar you can Buy at an affordable price.

12/04/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful sound bar, Great sound. super easy to hook up. One of the things i loved about it, it came with all the hook ups i would need to practically hook it up to anything. I have used samsung & Sony sound bars and i feel they don't stand a chance. I am a Samsung and Sony fan shoot who isnt they have great products. But in my opinion Vizio makes the Best sound Bar at an affordable price. Only way to get better sound bars in my opinion is to pay over $1000.00 yes there is $1000.00 and up sound bars lol I dont feel sound should cost more then a 55 inch LED TV lol. The Vizio sound bar and subwoofer is even a better combo. Get it & you will love it. another awesome thing is you can easily disconnect it and take it outside in 2 mins and hook it to an ipod and play music while have a wonderful BBQ & more!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

remote stopped working after 3 days

02/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this would be a great sound bar if the remote wasn't so temperamental. It stopped working after 3 days, starting working a month later for a couple days then stopped working again. Nothing happened to the remote (dropped, spill, etc) it just stopped working. I changed the batteries and still hasn't worked. I will call to see if we can get a replacement.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Good soundbar because of the price

02/02/2014
By ,
Champaign,il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
price wise this is a good soundbar if all you have is a TV and want to make the sound better and louder then its a good one at this price however it wasnt for me as its sound quality isnt anything special compared to other soundbars (of course they are more money).
I did like that is is one of the few soundbars with a sub connector which I hooked up my own Sony powered sub to but it still didnt sound great.
I spent $300 and got a Pioneer sound bar and it sounds awesome but it was more money.
Also I didnt like the looks of the Vizio I didnt like the silver line or the silver logo on it as I like a all black look but Im sure most people could care less about that but to some it is a minor problem.
If you just want to make your TV louder and have a better quality of sound (it does put out good volume) this a very good choice. But if your a audiophile like me then I would suggest spending more and getting a better soundbar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Performed even better than I expected!

12/22/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sound bar gets a solid 5 stars from me. My husband and I (both retired) needed a new sound system to go along with our newer TV. Neither one of us knows how to properly turn a screw with a screwdriver. My son disconnected the old stereo system and connected this sound bar within minutes. He also fixed our TV so that we now have a full HD picture, not half the screen like it was before (for all of you reading this, the TV should be set at 16:9). This sound bar is easy to install and easy to use. The sound is clear, sharp and maintains a consistent level. My husband no longer has the TV volume cranked up to 70. This sound bar accomplishes what 5 speakers, a sub woofer, and a tuner used to do, and nicely sits at the base of the TV while doing it. I highly recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Soundbar made a major difference

11/11/2013
By ,
Clarksville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would definitely recommend the Vizio Sound Bar. It meets my needs perfectly since I have tinnitus and have a problem with hearing TV due "surrounding" noises.....PLUS I was able to hook it up myself and I am electronically illiterate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+140points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

sound bar problems

12/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed with the Vizio sound bar model s3830w-c0.
Right out of the box I could not get the cover off the remote to put batteries in. I called 877-878-4946 for help. After trying everything they could think of they suggested I return the sound bar. I had gotten this for a Christmas gift so returning if would be difficult. I took a knife and pried off the back cover and got the batteries in. But now I wished I returned it because of the other problems I am having with it.
1. When I mute long commercials it goes to sleep. I tried turning off sleep mode by pressing power and volume down for 5 seconds but that did not help. Most annoying.
2. A couple of times it has reset bass and treble settings to what I think must be factory defaults. Most annoying.
3. If I by accident I hit the input or blutooth buttons on the remote it takes a few minutes to get the TV sound back on. Most annoying.
I have hooked this to a 42 inch Vizio TV that I just bought. It does improve the sound a lot as the TV has very poor sound quality. So all in all I cannot say I am happy with Vizio products. Can you help me with any of these problems?
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Perfect sound bar for the price!

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been an electronics aficionado for more than thirty years and this is the best sounding $100 speaker I have heard to date. The sound is clean and crisp, the surround mode encompasses you in the movie you are watching. I have my JBL 150 watt powered subwoofer connected to the Vizio......and it rocks!!!!
The "only" negative feed back I would have would be the input selection lights....it is difficult to determine which input source you have selected. Besides that small imperfection I would recommend to go out and buy this product.....without any hesitation!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Excellent sound ! Includes an optical cable

10/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was not sure what to expect since Walmart had a stack of these on sale. Plugged in the power, connected the optical cable to the Xbox, and the digital cable to the TV itself. Took about 5 minutes from the time I opened the package. My TV's existing remote controls the sound with no problem (I didn't even need the remote which came with the sound bar).
Excellent sound and great bass! Like night and day compared to my tv without it. Can't recommend this highly enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+166points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

After two years of ownership...the verdict is in..

02/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap Vizio products are just that. Cheap.
It didn't take long for the remote to quit, then again, and again. Several calls to their support line, again, again...
They are good for six months, if you make it to a year, you've done well.
Moses couldn't do a miracle better than a Vizio lasting two years.
If you buy, save up for the next one right away.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Tuned in at last

02/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's exactly what my Vizio tv needed.. Now, that they have speakers mounted in the back of the set it's more difficult to hear the sound. I bought the Vizio 38"soundbar which looks great in front of the set and had it hooked up in 10 minutes. One optical wire that got plugged in to the back of the tv (which I had to look for the plug -in that took an extra minute or two) and the other end to the soundbar. Hook up the power chord and you're done.
If you don't have sound click the input button and watch the flashing lights on the bar until it finds the right input your tv is using. Also, read the manual for other helpful settings keeping your eye on the bar's lights as you adjust your settings.
Hope you like it as much as I do.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for VIZIO S3820W-C0 2.0 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Don't waste your money

03/09/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After just a few weeks, the remote no longer works. It must be the sensor inside the soundbar itself, as my Vizio tv remote will no longer work with it either. TOTAL waste of $100, save your $ and buy another brand!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 390 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next