Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

The VIZIO 38" 2.1-Channel sound bar works with your home theater system to provide an immersive audio experience. Compatible with HDTVs measuring 42" and larger, it comes packed with the latest Dolby Digital decoding and DTS sound enhancement technologies. An included subwoofer connects wirelessly to the sound bar, adding rich bass. The wireless connection allows it to be placed anywhere in the room. The VIZIO sound bar with wireless subwoofer projects 100dB of sound with less than 1 percent total harmonic distortion, creating clear and powerful audio for movies, music and games. The one-cable setup makes installation quick and easy. A remote control allows you to change settings on the VIZIO home theater sound bar from the comfort of your seat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.508 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(400 Reviews) 399
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
268
4 stars
96
3 stars
16
2 stars
11
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation94%375 out of 400reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
268
4 stars
96
3 stars
16
2 stars
11
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great sound at an awesome price

12/13/2013
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this up on sale, but even at its regular price, this sound bar is a steal. The sound quality easily meets or beats others twice it's price. I replaced a 12 year old 5.1 receiver with this after mounting my tv on the wall. It fits nicely on the wall just under my 50" TV and looks great. I love the wireless sub, but I'd recommend not placing it too close to your couch, chair, or where ever you plan to sit to watch movies because even with the bass turned down, it can be pretty overpowering. With proper placement of the sub, the whole unit has awesome sound with crystal clear highs and mids and nice full bass. The Bluetooth feature connects nicely to my ipad, phone, and computer for playing music and sounds great with about the same sound quality as pandora or spotify...not quite cd quality, but that's streaming music for for you. All in all, it's no thousand dollar theater system, but for a system under $400 with only two components, this thing is incredible.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+144points
Review 2 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great Sound Bar, Too Big To Sit On TV Stand

04/25/2014
By ,
Irving. TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This sound bar would look great if you were to mount it on the wall under your flat screen (it is the same length as a 42'). However, if you put this sound bar in front of the TV on a TV stand, it is going to block about 1 inch of the TV. I tried to put something under the TV to lift it higher, which solves the problem of it blocking the screen, but it is still blocking the TV from receiving signal from the remote. Basically, if you want to put this in front of your TV, you will have to raise your TV by about 2.5 inches for everything to work. This unfortunately doesn't work for me ... I have returned it and got a different sound bar that is lower in height.
Other than it being too big to put on a TV stand, This Vizio Sound Bar works great. The sound quality is superb and it enhances the movie-watching experience. I have a Vizio TV and I was able to use the TV remote to control the volume of the sound bar. Set up is very easy. You will need an optical audio cable which is not included.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+28points
Review 3 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Top Rated at a Reasonable Price

04/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sound bar was rated among the top five in Consumer Reports ratings of dozens of sound bars. I listened to the 60-inch Sony (at 60", too long for me and twice the price) and Sonos Soundbar ($700 without the subwoofer and $1400 with it); both were great! But, this Vizio ($178 at my local Walmart) was almost as good as the those two top rated ones. It replaces more expensive system ($900) with a Denon receiver and 5 Infinity speakers and subwoofer; the sound is just as good or better for movies and music.
One useful suggestion is to program the aux button on your cable/ satellite remote to control the volume on the soundbar by programing it as if it were a Vizio television. It worked for me with my Comcast DVR. So, I'll only have to use the Vizio speaker remote control for other things. I suspect that this same approach may work with other cable/ satellite systems.
If you have money to burn, buy the Sonos with subwoofer. If you have a 60" or bigger screen, consider the Sony as well. Otherwise, this should be your choice.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 4 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great for augmenting TV speaker

01/12/2014
By ,
Norman, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a Vizio 60" and a good living room for acoustics so I got this smaller speaker bar and mounted it on the wall (it is so light it comes with adapters and drywall screws and a template so it took 10 minutes to mount. It sounds great for a 3 channel setup and the tru-surround feature fills the room. Since I own a Vizio TV the remote worked the soundbar except for the bluetooth sync. DRAWBACKS- the sync range is limited to about 20 feet so don't wander to far. Make sure you have an optical or coaxial digital OUTPUT on the TV, that way you dont need to change inputs on the soundbar (very limited connection options. The unit is not expandable to accept rear speakers so if you plan on updating later make an investment in a 6 channel now. There is no display other than a series of lights that alert you to mode and input. And get a quality optical or coax cable for 20 bucks, the one provided is short and cheaply made. Where it counts, in sound quality, this unit works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 5 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

I'm All About That Bass, Bout That Bass, No Treble

10/10/2014
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I have to say is WOOW! Party over here ain't nothin over there :)) What can I say, a girl likes her bass. This is an awesome home theater system and for a good price. I absolutely looooove that you are able to connect your phone or mp3 player to the sound bar via bluetooth. Turns your house into a party quickly and with ease :)
I was a little unsure if I should have purchased the 5.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer (w/2 additional speakers) thinking that this one would not have enough oomph... This DEF has enough oomph and more! When just watching my normal TV shows and the news, I will sometimes turn off the sound bar as it just seems a bit too loud at times. Literally, I can't take the volume with relaxed viewing.
This will definitely be sufficient enough for an average sized home of 1500-2500 sqft. Maybe even bigger, depending on what size room you are utilizing it in. Great for the family room. Anything with more output and I would suggest only using it in your media/theater room, not an average sized room.
Happy Listening!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+11points
Review 6 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Best Value & Sound in Town!

03/16/2014
By ,
Mechanicsville, Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got far more than I expected in sound and quality. The soundbar was a cake to set up and install. Worked the first time right out the box. Nice that Vizio included all the analog and digital cables to hook up 3 devices. After hearing what television sounded like I hooked up all my other components. The sound is so good that I seldom turn on the A/V Stereo any more. It really has a nice sound it. The bass cross-over frequecy is perfectly matched to the soundbar and the treble and the bass can be adjusted to your liking as well as the right and left speakers on the sound bar. The 10 led lights is a nice and simple touch in the Vizio communicating to the user. There are instructions in the manual but very easy to figure out. The LEDs are a much better solution than a small display other sound bars use that you can not see. Overall for the money, the sound, quality, and smile it will put on your face it is definetly worth it. Don't pass this one up. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Love, Love, Love my Vizio Sound Bar

01/10/2014
By ,
Washington, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sound bar has given my TV and my TV room a real makeover. I went from " watching" TV, to being "immersed" in the experience, with true sound surround. If I'm not careful, it will turn me into a couch potato. I have watched more movies in the past week, than I would normally watch in several months.
Setup was fairly easy. Once you look at the back of your TV, you can see what cable you will need to use. Three (3) sets of cables are included with the product. I used the Digital Optical Cable for my connection. After connecting, I could not get any sound. I even went through my TV programming and shut off the TV speakers. It still didn't work. I placed a call to the Vizio Support Team. Within minutes, my sound was on. I had neglected to push the Input button to switch to the correct input, which in my case was #4. The fellow who handled my call was very courteous and knowledgeable.
I would highly recommend this product for the quality and the price. PS: I am a 68 year old female.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 8 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Awesome Sound!

01/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Sound Bar surprised me, after my Cable guy tested out a Polk Audio bar for me, I had to buy one, but his was $300 so too much, I looked up reviews for the best budget bar and this one came in consistantly at #1 and at $138 online, I had to get it, it has plenty of surround type sound for me with the Subwoofer, I would never buy one without the sub, if you want more sound and more surround, get this one with the 2 - rear speakers, I did not have the space for them or I would have, I just bought a Blu-Ray player and have purchased dozens of the top Movies out rated by Picture Quality, on my 55 inch Panasonic LED TV, and I love the sound, it's been awesome with any movie, whether it's all action, or just all talk, I am completely satisfied, and would recommend to anyone, no need to pay more, this is the one to have, for up to a 65 inch TV, also I would go down to a 40 inch and no smaller for it, I would get the soundbar without subwoofer if my Tv was 40 and under.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Excellent sound bar

02/24/2014
By ,
somewhere in the US and sometimes out
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vizio makes a wonderful less expensive sound bar for those of us who do not need 5.1 surround sound. Things that I enjoy about this system:
1. Wireless connectivity between the sound bar and the subwoofer. The two connect via bluetooth and once setup, the subwoofer always turns on.
2. Included in the box are the wall mount hardware less the screws/anchors into the wall that you will have to provide. I did not install this into a wall stud as the sound bar weighed less than 20 lbs and wall anchors were plenty to keep this on my wall.
3. The sound is powerfull and will shake a normal size living room with ease.
Things to improve:
1. My Vizio TV remote can adjust the sound bar volume, but does not turn on or off the sound bar.
2. You will have to memorize a light display of dots to know what setting this system is on (optical, rca port, 3.5 plug)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 10 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

The Sound Bar that Could

04/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I will keep this short...I like it. It produces good sound and plenty of it. In fact I can't turn it up very far as it will definitely rattle the windows. I connected it to the TV via optical cable...sweet! The sub-woofer has wireless connectivity so no worries there pretty much plug and play. The sound from the TV is very good, but this baby is better I don't even use the TV speakers. Easy set up, good instructions. Price was right. Good deal.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

As Loud As A Motorcycle

12/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I've never written a review on anything, EVER!! But I thought I would do this product an injustice if I didn't write one about how amazing the sound quality (not just loudness, but quality) that this sound bar possess. It says it has a decibel level of 100 and I honestly didn't know how loud that is until I did some research and found out that it's as loud as standing right next to a motorcycle ( http://www.gcaudio.com/resources/howtos/loudness.html) and with that I had to give it a try and let me tell you it really delivers. I have a pretty big livingroom and it feels it with sound from edge to edge. The quality is amazing (just as good as 4 and 5 times as the expensive speakers) and the bass you can feel through the whole house. If you're looking for a excellent sound bar without spending $300 or more you have to give this a try, your won't regret it. :0)
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 12 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

NICE PRODUCT

07/06/2014
By ,
EDISON, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HAVE HAD THIS ITEM FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS. THE SOUNDBAR IS EASY TO HOOK UP. THE QUALITY OF THE SOUNDBAR IS VERY GOOD. THE SUBWOOFER KICKS BUTT TOO. SOUNDS LOUDER THAN MY POLK SUB. HAS BASS AND TREBLE ADJUSTMENTS. SUB OF COURSE IS WIRELESS FOR EASY PLACEMENT. DON'T LET THE PRICE FOOL YOU. I OWN A FULL SURROUND SOUND SET, THIS SOUNDBAR KICKS BUTT, BIG TIME. YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY IF YOU BUY THIS. SERIOUSLY. I DON'T KNOW HOW THEY DO IT, BUT IT ROCKS. 5 MINUTES OF SET UP AND YUL BE ROCKIN. MOVIES, MUSIC ALL SOUNDS GREAT. CAN BE PURCHASED IN MOST WALMART STORES TOO. HAD ANOTHER VIZIO SOUNDBAR BEFORE THIS. UNFORTUNALTELY, MY CATS DID A JOB ON IT. DO YURSELF A FAVOR AND BUY THIS, YUL LOVE IT,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+11points
Review 13 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Room shaking bass for way less money!

01/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I reviewed several sound bars and even consulted consumer reports before pulling the trigger. This soundbar was a breeze to setup and the bass connected quickly. I disabled the sound on my TV to keep the issues with echoes from occurring due to both volumes being on. I hooked this up to my Samsung 60 in plasma. I did find that once I peogrammed my cable box remote to learn the volume control the cable box remote causes the volume to turn up two notches. We still use the provided sound bar remote but it is nice to have the cable remote just in case. I have moved the sun a few times to find the right location but am struggling because it sounds good in each spot. Ha. I have already recommended this to several family and friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 14 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Big Screen HDTV? No Sound?! Here's your deal!

01/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Granted its only been two weeks (and I like to wait a couple months), I'll review.
Out the box my parents were easily able to hook it up to the television. It has the standard inputs most ALL tv's are compatible with....so no worries there.
Works good, sounds GREAT. Wireless subwoofer is a plus (I'd never buy a sound system that wasn't wireless subwoofered if you will).
You can get better, but you'll pay a lot more.
If you're looking for a better movie / tv / gaming experience, go Sound Bar, go wireless with Bluetooth capabilities and go Vizio.
P.S. Bluetooth allows you to sync your phone, Iphone, android or pretty much anything in general. Essentially turns your Sound bar / subwoofer into a home stereo. Aweeeeesome!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 15 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Good enough

11/25/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The sound bar worked correctly right out of the box, including the wireless sub-woofer. The sound quality is not great but good enough for what I paid. The Bluetooth worked well when I connected the sound bar to my iPhone. The remote is the week item in this unit. It worked the first time and then it stopped. After trying some new batteries, I had to call Vision and they helped me reset it. It is still hard to use, specially when you want to change the input. You have no way of knowing, looking at the remote, which input you are activating. There are corresponding lights in the sound bar that can help you with that, but no much. In any case, I put the remote away and I plan to mostly use the controls in the back of the sound bar. The TV remote actually controls the volume and I will not need to use the Sound bar controls much.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great sound!

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The TV that I purchased, did not have the sound quality that I would enjoy. Checking out the reviews for the Vizio S3821W- CO 2.1, and finding the best price at Walmart, I decide to make the purchase. Setup was very easy, the sound bar synced with my TV immediately, and the sound with the sub woofer is fantastic! I have the sound bar connected to the optical port on my TV. It is wonderful that they include all needed connection cables with the sound bar. I highly recommend this sound bar. The only set up that could possibly be better, would be an actual surround-sound system. I chose not to purchase a surround-sound system, as I do not want wires running across my floor for the rear speakers. This virtual surround-sound system, suits my needs to a T.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great value for the price!

12/01/2013
By ,
Lake Balboa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this sound bar today as an advance Christmas present from my kids. Paired with a Samsung 55" tv, the set up took less than 10 mins and the sound quality met my expectations. This is an excellent sound bar for the price. It delivers quality audio and enriches the overall watching experience. Pairing devices via bluetooth was seamless and was an added bonus. If you are looking for a starter sound bar without the need to be blasting sound across 3 blocks and waking up the neoghbors, this product is worth considering.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+57points
Review 18 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Awesome SoundBar!

12/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best soundbar for the money. Im amazed with the amount of sound coming from this soundbar. The bass from the wireless subwoofer is what my movie experience WAS missing. The sound the bass its all awesome. I listen to iheartRadio from my phone bluetoothed to the soundbar. Recommend this to anyone. Would not even consider a surround sound. This is all i need. Thanks walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 19 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great sound at great price

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased along with a 60 inch vizio tv, these Bluetooth speakers are very nice! The sound is very clear and loud if needed. I did have a little trouble at first: the remote wouldnt work. But all i had to do is unplug it and then plug it in again and it worked fine.
I purchased these with the tv bundle, so the price was very good. But even if i was purchasing separately it would still be a great buy due to the quality of both the bar and subwoofer (subwoofer works great too and is connected thru bluetooth). Overall, i couldnt imagine having the tv without these speakers!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 20 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

You Hear It All!

11/10/2013
By ,
Lander, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! What a fantastic sound bar! I never had surround sound before, so this is truly a great experience! The audio is clear and crisp. The subwoofer puts out some bass! I use the digital optical cable. Easy set up. A+
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
1-20 of 400 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next