Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Vizio VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

The VIZIO 38" 2.1-Channel sound bar works with your home theater system to provide an immersive audio experience. Compatible with HDTVs measuring 42" and larger, it comes packed with the latest Dolby Digital decoding and DTS sound enhancement technologies. An included subwoofer connects wirelessly to the sound bar, adding rich bass. The wireless connection allows it to be placed anywhere in the room. The VIZIO sound bar with wireless subwoofer projects 100dB of sound with less than 1 percent total harmonic distortion, creating clear and powerful audio for movies, music and games. The one-cable setup makes installation quick and easy. A remote control allows you to change settings on the VIZIO home theater sound bar from the comfort of your seat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.509 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(293 Reviews) 292
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
191
4 stars
78
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation95%278 out of 293reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
82 Questions | 199 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
191
4 stars
78
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great Sound Bar, Too Big To Sit On TV Stand

04/25/2014
By ,
Irving. TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This sound bar would look great if you were to mount it on the wall under your flat screen (it is the same length as a 42'). However, if you put this sound bar in front of the TV on a TV stand, it is going to block about 1 inch of the TV. I tried to put something under the TV to lift it higher, which solves the problem of it blocking the screen, but it is still blocking the TV from receiving signal from the remote. Basically, if you want to put this in front of your TV, you will have to raise your TV by about 2.5 inches for everything to work. This unfortunately doesn't work for me ... I have returned it and got a different sound bar that is lower in height.
Other than it being too big to put on a TV stand, This Vizio Sound Bar works great. The sound quality is superb and it enhances the movie-watching experience. I have a Vizio TV and I was able to use the TV remote to control the volume of the sound bar. Set up is very easy. You will need an optical audio cable which is not included.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great sound at an awesome price

12/13/2013
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this up on sale, but even at its regular price, this sound bar is a steal. The sound quality easily meets or beats others twice it's price. I replaced a 12 year old 5.1 receiver with this after mounting my tv on the wall. It fits nicely on the wall just under my 50" TV and looks great. I love the wireless sub, but I'd recommend not placing it too close to your couch, chair, or where ever you plan to sit to watch movies because even with the bass turned down, it can be pretty overpowering. With proper placement of the sub, the whole unit has awesome sound with crystal clear highs and mids and nice full bass. The Bluetooth feature connects nicely to my ipad, phone, and computer for playing music and sounds great with about the same sound quality as pandora or spotify...not quite cd quality, but that's streaming music for for you. All in all, it's no thousand dollar theater system, but for a system under $400 with only two components, this thing is incredible.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+110points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

I'm All About That Bass, Bout That Bass, No Treble

10/10/2014
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I have to say is WOOW! Party over here ain't nothin over there :)) What can I say, a girl likes her bass. This is an awesome home theater system and for a good price. I absolutely looooove that you are able to connect your phone or mp3 player to the sound bar via bluetooth. Turns your house into a party quickly and with ease :)
I was a little unsure if I should have purchased the 5.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer (w/2 additional speakers) thinking that this one would not have enough oomph... This DEF has enough oomph and more! When just watching my normal TV shows and the news, I will sometimes turn off the sound bar as it just seems a bit too loud at times. Literally, I can't take the volume with relaxed viewing.
This will definitely be sufficient enough for an average sized home of 1500-2500 sqft. Maybe even bigger, depending on what size room you are utilizing it in. Great for the family room. Anything with more output and I would suggest only using it in your media/theater room, not an average sized room.
Happy Listening!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great for augmenting TV speaker

01/12/2014
By ,
Norman, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a Vizio 60" and a good living room for acoustics so I got this smaller speaker bar and mounted it on the wall (it is so light it comes with adapters and drywall screws and a template so it took 10 minutes to mount. It sounds great for a 3 channel setup and the tru-surround feature fills the room. Since I own a Vizio TV the remote worked the soundbar except for the bluetooth sync. DRAWBACKS- the sync range is limited to about 20 feet so don't wander to far. Make sure you have an optical or coaxial digital OUTPUT on the TV, that way you dont need to change inputs on the soundbar (very limited connection options. The unit is not expandable to accept rear speakers so if you plan on updating later make an investment in a 6 channel now. There is no display other than a series of lights that alert you to mode and input. And get a quality optical or coax cable for 20 bucks, the one provided is short and cheaply made. Where it counts, in sound quality, this unit works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Great sound at great price

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased along with a 60 inch vizio tv, these Bluetooth speakers are very nice! The sound is very clear and loud if needed. I did have a little trouble at first: the remote wouldnt work. But all i had to do is unplug it and then plug it in again and it worked fine.
I purchased these with the tv bundle, so the price was very good. But even if i was purchasing separately it would still be a great buy due to the quality of both the bar and subwoofer (subwoofer works great too and is connected thru bluetooth). Overall, i couldnt imagine having the tv without these speakers!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Best Value & Sound in Town!

03/16/2014
By ,
Mechanicsville, Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got far more than I expected in sound and quality. The soundbar was a cake to set up and install. Worked the first time right out the box. Nice that Vizio included all the analog and digital cables to hook up 3 devices. After hearing what television sounded like I hooked up all my other components. The sound is so good that I seldom turn on the A/V Stereo any more. It really has a nice sound it. The bass cross-over frequecy is perfectly matched to the soundbar and the treble and the bass can be adjusted to your liking as well as the right and left speakers on the sound bar. The 10 led lights is a nice and simple touch in the Vizio communicating to the user. There are instructions in the manual but very easy to figure out. The LEDs are a much better solution than a small display other sound bars use that you can not see. Overall for the money, the sound, quality, and smile it will put on your face it is definetly worth it. Don't pass this one up. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Good enough

11/25/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The sound bar worked correctly right out of the box, including the wireless sub-woofer. The sound quality is not great but good enough for what I paid. The Bluetooth worked well when I connected the sound bar to my iPhone. The remote is the week item in this unit. It worked the first time and then it stopped. After trying some new batteries, I had to call Vision and they helped me reset it. It is still hard to use, specially when you want to change the input. You have no way of knowing, looking at the remote, which input you are activating. There are corresponding lights in the sound bar that can help you with that, but no much. In any case, I put the remote away and I plan to mostly use the controls in the back of the sound bar. The TV remote actually controls the volume and I will not need to use the Sound bar controls much.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Love, Love, Love my Vizio Sound Bar

01/10/2014
By ,
Washington, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sound bar has given my TV and my TV room a real makeover. I went from " watching" TV, to being "immersed" in the experience, with true sound surround. If I'm not careful, it will turn me into a couch potato. I have watched more movies in the past week, than I would normally watch in several months.
Setup was fairly easy. Once you look at the back of your TV, you can see what cable you will need to use. Three (3) sets of cables are included with the product. I used the Digital Optical Cable for my connection. After connecting, I could not get any sound. I even went through my TV programming and shut off the TV speakers. It still didn't work. I placed a call to the Vizio Support Team. Within minutes, my sound was on. I had neglected to push the Input button to switch to the correct input, which in my case was #4. The fellow who handled my call was very courteous and knowledgeable.
I would highly recommend this product for the quality and the price. PS: I am a 68 year old female.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

After a little effort, it works great

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not being very electronic savvy, I was able to install to the wall very easily and was pleasantly pleased to see that the wires do fit behind the sound bar. The drawings did not show any wires so I wasn't sure if I would have to cut holes in the wall, but there is enough room behind the sound bar for the wires. I had to add wire chases to hide the wires. There are three possible connections and all the wires for all three come with the sound bar. After connecting the digital cable wire I was still confused as the sound bar did not work after turning it on but my son quickly explained that we had to keep pushing input until it recognized which configuration I used. Now it works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Easy Setup and Solid Performance at a Great Price

12/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new Samsung 60" LED TV which works well, but the sound is mediocre. I wanted an improvement but didn't want the headaches of configuring a high-end sound system. Consumer Reports rates this unit highly, especially considering the price, so I bought it. Installation and setup were very easy.
Operation is not very intuitive, but once you've followed instructions it's pretty easy. No one will confuse it with a $1000 system but the sound is DARN good! I don't need high end for my typical TV viewing although the basic quality of the TV speakers was distracting. Now it sounds natural and I can enjoy the programming.
The Vizio is also quite good for listening to music while I do other things. The Blue Tooth linked quickly and easily to my iPhone, and to my MacBook. But you have to be careful not to enable Blue Tooth on both devices or the Vizio won't connect.
I also like that it shuts itself off after 15 minutes of no signal to the speakers. Even the subwoofer (which isn't wired to the sound bar) turns on and off wirelessly when the bar does. (Be sure you get a system with a subwoofer.)
This was a very satisfying purchase for me. I strongly recommend it for someone on a budget -- really good bang for the buck!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

One wasn't enough

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We enjoyed our sound bar so much, we decided to buy one for my daughter and son-in- law.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

NICE PRODUCT

07/06/2014
By ,
EDISON, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HAVE HAD THIS ITEM FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS. THE SOUNDBAR IS EASY TO HOOK UP. THE QUALITY OF THE SOUNDBAR IS VERY GOOD. THE SUBWOOFER KICKS BUTT TOO. SOUNDS LOUDER THAN MY POLK SUB. HAS BASS AND TREBLE ADJUSTMENTS. SUB OF COURSE IS WIRELESS FOR EASY PLACEMENT. DON'T LET THE PRICE FOOL YOU. I OWN A FULL SURROUND SOUND SET, THIS SOUNDBAR KICKS BUTT, BIG TIME. YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY IF YOU BUY THIS. SERIOUSLY. I DON'T KNOW HOW THEY DO IT, BUT IT ROCKS. 5 MINUTES OF SET UP AND YUL BE ROCKIN. MOVIES, MUSIC ALL SOUNDS GREAT. CAN BE PURCHASED IN MOST WALMART STORES TOO. HAD ANOTHER VIZIO SOUNDBAR BEFORE THIS. UNFORTUNALTELY, MY CATS DID A JOB ON IT. DO YURSELF A FAVOR AND BUY THIS, YUL LOVE IT,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

No Better Value For The Price

12/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fortunately, my last sound system went belly up, otherwise I would never have found this jewel. Right out of the box it was easy to set up, and looks good as well. All to often sound bars and other lesser sound systems have preset equalization which can be annoying at best. This system allows for separate bass and treble control which can be adjusted with the remote. The sound absolutely fills the room and the sub is the icing on the cake. The clarity is amazing and makes movies come to life. The Bluetooth works great too for streaming music from m our smart phones. For the price, this unit simply cannot be beat. We couldn't be more pleased.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Pretty good, could be better.

11/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first soundbar/subwoofer. It came in a bundle with my Vizio tv. It took a minute to hook it up but the lights were difficult to see or know if it's working or on. With that being said, the sound is excellent and I feel like I'm in the movies. Absolutely love the Bluetooth features so I can play music from my iPad. It's worth the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Good bargain

12/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This speaker is a major improvement over built in TV speakers. My only quibble is that the volume control doesn't have enough increments, and it therefore seems to increase or decrease the volume too much per click.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

I love it!!

12/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this sound bar. For the price it works really well and I love the Bluetooth feature!! Just an FYI my remote stopped working and I was really upset and thought OMG I'm going to have to return this b/c of a remote. I googled the problem online and it turns out unplugging the soundbar and plugging it back in fixes the problem. So now all is good!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

SOUND sound bar

12/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This sound bar works just as advertised. All you need is your own wall mounting hardware. Then follow the clear instructions and you are done. It really is ready to use with all cables provided.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Excellent sound bar

02/24/2014
By ,
somewhere in the US and sometimes out
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vizio makes a wonderful less expensive sound bar for those of us who do not need 5.1 surround sound. Things that I enjoy about this system:
1. Wireless connectivity between the sound bar and the subwoofer. The two connect via bluetooth and once setup, the subwoofer always turns on.
2. Included in the box are the wall mount hardware less the screws/anchors into the wall that you will have to provide. I did not install this into a wall stud as the sound bar weighed less than 20 lbs and wall anchors were plenty to keep this on my wall.
3. The sound is powerfull and will shake a normal size living room with ease.
Things to improve:
1. My Vizio TV remote can adjust the sound bar volume, but does not turn on or off the sound bar.
2. You will have to memorize a light display of dots to know what setting this system is on (optical, rca port, 3.5 plug)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Very smart!

11/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality sound. And it basically configured itself. I just plugged it in. It knows when I'm using the TV volume and mute keys on the universal remote. Didn't have to program anything. It may be because I used the optical cable??? Don't know, but it's been great so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for VIZIO S3821w-C0 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Bluetooth

Sounds good

12/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bar sounds good but the remote quit working after 3 days. We replaced the batteries but that didn't solve it. We tried everything but it still wouldn't work. Also didn't care for the lack of a digital display. Returning it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 293 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next