Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Straight Talk Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Cut the costs of your cell phone bill with this Straight Talk Activation Kit. Use your own compatible phone with the kit to get service on the best nationwide networks. This Straight Talk kit requires no credit check or contract and gives you access to social media networks, your email and the web. For a reasonable $45 per month you get unlimited data, talk and text. It works with any compatible CDMA phone including Android and other smartphones.
Average Customer Rating:
3.111 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation64%23 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
271 Questions | 111 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Great for bringing your own phone to StraightTalk.

11/22/2013
By ,
Winston Salem, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this product when we purchased a Verizon phone we wanted to use on StraightTalk & this is what StraightTalk said we'd need. It wasn't offered in store but shipped off the website to the store in less than a week for pick up. The process of activating the phone was pretty easy, I did part on-line & part over the phone, & we've had great service ever since.
**My only word of advice is to read the fine print on what phones are compatible. The first phone we bought was a Verizon 4G LTE & it was NOT compatible so we had to go out & find another phone.
You can also check if the network access code will work with a phone you're thinking about switching over by going to the StraightTalk website & going to register a CDMA & putting in the phone's serial #. I'd definitely be sure you're phone's compatible before purchasing.**
But overall the product is great & was an easy process. Would definitely use again in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+279points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
stratosphere 4g lte
Posted 12/29/2013
i have a samsung stratosphere 4G LTE with verizon, is that like yours that didnt work?
+1point
Customer Avatar
fort mohave az.
bring your own phone
Posted 12/08/2013
I have a iphone 4s that isn't in use I put the number on my new 5c..question..with the activationkit do I get a new phone number ?
+1point
Customer Avatar
ga
Check with Straight Talk
Posted 11/26/2013
If it was'nt for me reading the reviews, then i would have purchased the Bring your own Phone Kit, which would have caused me to waste my money. The Verizon Iphone is not one that can be used to switch over. All it takes is few minutes to check before spending your hard earned money. As we all know there are no refunds on phone cards etc....
+4points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Simple transition was so much easier than expected

07/16/2014
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an iphone on a family contract and the cost per phone is almost DOUBLE that of the $45 straight talk card, so when my husband wanted to get an iphone, we went the Straight Talk route. I bought him a used unlocked Verizon iphone from Craigslist, bought this activation kit and a $45 Straight talk card. I followed the directions which had me go to the Straight talk BYOP site and register for an account, then it asked for the MEID (serial # of phone), what zip code we will use the phone primarily, and then it asked me to enter my purchased data card #. And if you don't have a card, there was an option to use your credit card info as well to purchase directly. I did, and it took a minute or two, said it went through successfully, and then I should wait 2 minutes and dial *22890 from the iphone to complete activation, which I did. I listened for a couple minutes, then it said my phone was successfully activated, and it sent me a text at the same time with the new # and it said to place a phone call to someone to complete activation. The whole thing took me maybe 15 to 20 minutes and I never had to call anyone.
*Note: On my first attempt I used Internet Explorer as my browser, and got to a point where "click to submit" just wasn't working, so I opened up Google Chrome and it worked perfectly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Great for iphone too

08/17/2014
By ,
Rio Rancho, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this hoping to change from Verizon to Straight Talk. It worked! The package says it is not for iphone but Straight Talk was able to make it work on mine and my husbands iPhones. My iphone was from Verizon and my husband bought his on Ebay but did also use his through Verizon. Great product! Would recommend to anyone who wants a cheaper cell phone bill. Who wouldn't?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Control you wireless bills with this

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased the card online, to be delivered to a store nearby. Delivered 2 days before the promised date (already a pleasant surprise).
To truly use your BYOP phone with this you need to complete 2 steps, not one:
1. Registration (of your MEID)
2. Activation (of the phone with StraightTalk, getting a new phone number)
Only the first step worked for me online.
The second step, I had to call customer service (twice!) until it worked.
But once it works, ah, what an elegant solution to the problem of wanton billing...
I am very pleased so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SC For right now
did you buy a new phone?
Posted 10/20/2014
i just bought a manufactured refurbished phone, you said there are 2 steps, did you buy a new phone? you said you have to register your MEID, i got my phone and it says i need to activate it, and give the MEID number or sim card number. but i already have a straight talk number just want to switch, and it's hard to understand straight talk customer service
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Straight talk

08/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Difficulty speaking with operators due to operators having broken English.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

works with some carriers

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st off this will only work with Verizon & Sprint phones that you are bring to straight talk. with that being said it is a great product. Bought this for my little sister to bring her galaxy s3 over to straight talk. She is loving it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pittsfield MA
Galaxy s3 user
Posted 09/22/2014
I'm currently with AT&T but want to switch my Galaxy S3 over to Straight Talk to save $, Do you think I can? is it a matter of removing sim card? How does this work?
Saly
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Staightalk Bring BYOP

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sim card works great however it easier for me to just call straight talk and have them to activate the sim card.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Lack of communication.

08/07/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It took almost a month to replace a phone through them and they could have made it much simpler by giving me the right information to begin with, but customer service was slow and uninformative, They confused this service with another and delayed me getting the correct phone. They did replace my month of service, but not until I had to explain myself multiple times, finally got a supervisor that finally got it right. It could have been an easy experience, but it was a pain. Sorry
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Thumbs down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

09/16/2014
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No value for me as there are no refunds and Straight Talk told me that the reason why the card did not work for me is that I have a Verizon phone and it does not work on that brand. What kind of a deal is this!!!???? Why would they not tell you this up front!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Paducah, KY
Verizon phone won't work
Posted 10/08/2014
They have no idea what they are talking about, they just say your phone is not compatible. I have been round and round with them trying to figure out what Vz phones *will* work. I can tell you the Continuum does work, but it's not a great phone. Is your phone 4G/LTE? That may be the problem.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Unclear in description.

10/20/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This does not work with 4G phones on from Verizon only 3G. Good deal if you have a 3G phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

did not work

10/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
activation kit did not work
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Great Escape from high phone service costs

05/21/2014
By ,
Central Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the ease of transferring over my existing phone number to this new phone and the billing is so easy / just purchase it as it comes due... I am finding very few if any dead spots / zones and the only problems I seem to be experiencing are from the pitfalls of learning a new phone... Other than that, I am enjoying this new service and phone so much and looking forward to the savings ahead of me. My only query might be to the matter of having purchased three phones and not having received the confirmation of product protection on the first two although my receipt clearly shows it was purchased and paid for... I am under the belief that with the receipt should I encounter any difficulties I simply follow the same steps as with the purchase of the third phone... Receipt # and info along with date of purchase and so on...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Verizon iPhone 4S

09/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great for my Verizon iPhone 4S. One note is the $45 monthly has tax added on top and comes out to $49 and some change monthly. I didn't realize prepaid plans had extra taxes is why I point this out. Other than not having the hotspot option I notice no difference from being on a Verizon contract plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

No luck with this

03/12/2014
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this online to convert a Sprint phone to StraightTalk. Sprint told me the phone ESN number was clear and gave me the MSL code to "unlock" from Sprint. I followed all the instructions carefully but couldn't get StraightTalk to activate with this phone. Called StraightTalk customer reps 3 times and they were pleasant and helpful, but still couldn't make it happen. Tried dozens of times, finally gave up and got a refund on my $45 monthly plan. So just be aware, this may work for you, but didn't for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Unlocking the phone is not easy - on purpose...
Posted 04/27/2014
1. Try running a web search for the EXACT phone model and make with "unlock instructions"
2. Sometimes you need to insert the NEW SIM into the phone first and then try a phone call -- then enter the unlock code they provide. this is where instructions from #1 are key.
3. Take it to a non-corporate, cell shop with all your materials - they can check for unlocking. It's worth the $30-50 for them to run your system through their process and clear all locks. You WILL lose all of your data, so back up important numbers, sent emails, and photos.
4. take it to a sprint store and complain -- have them help you unlock it. Nothing will be more satisfying.
5. once in a while a certain model phone cannot be unlocked. If so, then search online for an unlocked phone.
Good luck - don't give up.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Will not work with US Cellular phones

12/09/2013
By ,
Bassett, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have three phones and checked them all on the website for compatability before purchasing the BYOP kit for $60 at my local Walmart. Once I tried to register the phones, the website told me they can't be registered. I called customer service and was told that US Cellular phones will not work. It would have been nice to know this before I wasted $60 that I could have used toward the purchase of a new phone through Straight Talk. I guess this is profitable for Straight Talk in the short run. I'm very disatisfied at the moment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

CMDA

12/10/2013
By ,
Hayward, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointment and frustrated. I have spend countless hours dealing with Straight talk customer service with getting a different answer with each person I communicated only to find find their solutions still didn't solve the problem. I had to return this purchase as it didn't solve the problem. My best experience was picking it up at site to store counter and the personnel and the customer service when I had to return the CDMA.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Poor choice for a Sprint Phone

11/19/2013
By ,
Harker Heights
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you desire days of frustration and hours with off-shore technical support that speaks hard-to-ubderstand English, then this "Bring Your Own Phone" option is for you. Otherwise, it is a waste of your money. My Sprint phone (HTC-4G) has yet to connect!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Wisconsin
Motorola A855 Droid
Posted 11/30/2013
Does anyone have this phone on straight Talk? Does it work with this phone? And the Bring your own phone CDMA Activation Kit works with this phone too?
0points
Customer Avatar
West Central Illinois
Not all phones accepted. Despite site claim.
Posted 11/27/2013
Straight Talk said Motorola Electrify M could be used on this plan. Not so. Customer Service rep on phone said it was a flaw in the site but offered no refund. Basically said we'd have to take it up with WalMart..Luckily local WalMart went against policy and accepted scratched off cards with receipt two hours later and returned our money. Contact Straight Talk first to be sure your phone really will work. Don't go by their web site.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

B Y O P worked for me with my old phone number.

03/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product with hopes of using my old straighttalk number on a new bring your own phone from the Verizon network. It worked great except for the activation process at the end. *22890 didn't work and I had to call support for them to get me another activation number. It has worked well since then. Thank you Straighttalk.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Didn't work

02/01/2014
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Went step-by-step on the Straight Talk website, to find out about bringing my phone from my old carrier....wouldn't have purchased the item if it hadn't said I could bring my phone over....get the activation kit, only to find out it can't be transferred. And of course it's non-refundable....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Conway, SC
Same Here
Posted 03/28/2014
I wanted an Iphone, so I bought a factory unlocked iphone that had been used on sprint and At&t. Website said I could use it, called Sprint to confirm it was unlocked, called Straighttalk to make sure I could use it. Got green flags all the way. Bought the phone and the kit, and all of a sudden, "nope, doesn't work for this phone."
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Easy to install, good to use.

10/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast shipping, nice product, works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next