Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Straight Talk Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Use your own compatible phone with the Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit to get service on the best nationwide networks.
Average Customer Rating:
2.357 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation43%6 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
156 Questions | 67 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Great for bringing your own phone to StraightTalk.

11/22/2013
By ,
Winston Salem, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this product when we purchased a Verizon phone we wanted to use on StraightTalk & this is what StraightTalk said we'd need. It wasn't offered in store but shipped off the website to the store in less than a week for pick up. The process of activating the phone was pretty easy, I did part on-line & part over the phone, & we've had great service ever since.
**My only word of advice is to read the fine print on what phones are compatible. The first phone we bought was a Verizon 4G LTE & it was NOT compatible so we had to go out & find another phone.
You can also check if the network access code will work with a phone you're thinking about switching over by going to the StraightTalk website & going to register a CDMA & putting in the phone's serial #. I'd definitely be sure you're phone's compatible before purchasing.**
But overall the product is great & was an easy process. Would definitely use again in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+186points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
stratosphere 4g lte
Posted 12/29/2013
i have a samsung stratosphere 4G LTE with verizon, is that like yours that didnt work?
+1point
Customer Avatar
fort mohave az.
bring your own phone
Posted 12/08/2013
I have a iphone 4s that isn't in use I put the number on my new 5c..question..with the activationkit do I get a new phone number ?
+1point
Customer Avatar
ga
Check with Straight Talk
Posted 11/26/2013
If it was'nt for me reading the reviews, then i would have purchased the Bring your own Phone Kit, which would have caused me to waste my money. The Verizon Iphone is not one that can be used to switch over. All it takes is few minutes to check before spending your hard earned money. As we all know there are no refunds on phone cards etc....
+4points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

No luck with this

03/12/2014
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this online to convert a Sprint phone to StraightTalk. Sprint told me the phone ESN number was clear and gave me the MSL code to "unlock" from Sprint. I followed all the instructions carefully but couldn't get StraightTalk to activate with this phone. Called StraightTalk customer reps 3 times and they were pleasant and helpful, but still couldn't make it happen. Tried dozens of times, finally gave up and got a refund on my $45 monthly plan. So just be aware, this may work for you, but didn't for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Didn't work

02/01/2014
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Went step-by-step on the Straight Talk website, to find out about bringing my phone from my old carrier....wouldn't have purchased the item if it hadn't said I could bring my phone over....get the activation kit, only to find out it can't be transferred. And of course it's non-refundable....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Conway, SC
Same Here
Posted 03/28/2014
I wanted an Iphone, so I bought a factory unlocked iphone that had been used on sprint and At&t. Website said I could use it, called Sprint to confirm it was unlocked, called Straighttalk to make sure I could use it. Got green flags all the way. Bought the phone and the kit, and all of a sudden, "nope, doesn't work for this phone."
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

B Y O P worked for me with my old phone number.

03/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product with hopes of using my old straighttalk number on a new bring your own phone from the Verizon network. It worked great except for the activation process at the end. *22890 didn't work and I had to call support for them to get me another activation number. It has worked well since then. Thank you Straighttalk.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Will not work with US Cellular phones

12/09/2013
By ,
Bassett, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have three phones and checked them all on the website for compatability before purchasing the BYOP kit for $60 at my local Walmart. Once I tried to register the phones, the website told me they can't be registered. I called customer service and was told that US Cellular phones will not work. It would have been nice to know this before I wasted $60 that I could have used toward the purchase of a new phone through Straight Talk. I guess this is profitable for Straight Talk in the short run. I'm very disatisfied at the moment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Dont waist your time

12/11/2013
By ,
Ashland, Ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you have a galaxy S3 this will not work you need a SIM card to activate your phone instead. I found out after ordering this non returnable product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Dayton, TN
Sim Card
Posted 04/10/2014
The SIM card should be your first clue you have a GSM phone and not a CDMA.
+1point
Customer Avatar
chanute ks
Question
Posted 12/13/2013
Does this activation card work for a uscellular phone
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Poor choice for a Sprint Phone

11/19/2013
By ,
Harker Heights
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you desire days of frustration and hours with off-shore technical support that speaks hard-to-ubderstand English, then this "Bring Your Own Phone" option is for you. Otherwise, it is a waste of your money. My Sprint phone (HTC-4G) has yet to connect!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Wisconsin
Motorola A855 Droid
Posted 11/30/2013
Does anyone have this phone on straight Talk? Does it work with this phone? And the Bring your own phone CDMA Activation Kit works with this phone too?
0points
Customer Avatar
West Central Illinois
Not all phones accepted. Despite site claim.
Posted 11/27/2013
Straight Talk said Motorola Electrify M could be used on this plan. Not so. Customer Service rep on phone said it was a flaw in the site but offered no refund. Basically said we'd have to take it up with WalMart..Luckily local WalMart went against policy and accepted scratched off cards with receipt two hours later and returned our money. Contact Straight Talk first to be sure your phone really will work. Don't go by their web site.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

CMDA

12/10/2013
By ,
Hayward, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointment and frustrated. I have spend countless hours dealing with Straight talk customer service with getting a different answer with each person I communicated only to find find their solutions still didn't solve the problem. I had to return this purchase as it didn't solve the problem. My best experience was picking it up at site to store counter and the personnel and the customer service when I had to return the CDMA.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

this is not for someone who is in experienced

04/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it works if you know what your doing i own a flashing store and deal with this everyday,do yourself a favor and do your home work i have att note2 and sprint note2 vzw s3 and t mobile iphones all working but then again im not a person just starting out i do this every day so befor u buy beware and research then research again.search cell phone flashing in 22968 im there advise is FREE and if u need a hand i can MOST TIMES help.this is NON refundable so do your home work
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Not what I expected

12/02/2013
By ,
Arcadia, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all it took forever to get to my home it got turn around in fedex and didn't arrive the day it was supposed to arrive. Then when I did get it and try to set it up the straight talk company said it wasn't compatible with my phone so I had to order a another card from the straight talk company itself. Now I got to find somebody to sell it too in order to get my money back. Not happy with this at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

Says it's compatible, but it's not.

03/24/2014
By ,
Blackfoot, ID
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I went to the Straight Talk website and typed in the information about my phone...YAY it was compatible...Or so it said. I purchased this Activation Kit and tried to use it - But it is not compatible!!! Waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

i use walmart and to bring ur current phone

12/05/2013
By ,
Kendallville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
now that you get to use your current phone without buying a new phone is great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

easy

01/22/2014
By ,
landrum
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and reasonably priced!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Bring Your Own Phone CDMA Activation Kit

good

01/07/2014
By ,
lake city fla
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this for my husband and even tho i didnt get before Christmas it still worked great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.