Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Equate Beauty Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Equate Beauty Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener is designed to penetrate the skin's surface to gradually fade discolorations caused by dark spots. It is specially formulated to remove dead skin cells and help refine the texture of your skin. Hydroquinone is a key ingredient to brighten the appearance of the skin and to help fade skin discoloration caused by post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation. Vitamin A delivers moisture to hydrate and help replenish the skin. Vitamin E is an anti-oxidant that helps nourish and protect the skin. Vitamin C is an anti-oxidant that helps to neutralize free radicals that can damage skin cells and contribute to the aging process.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%18 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Amazing stuff!

11/29/2013
By ,
Durham, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using the Olay Nighttime Tone Correcting with Definity cream for the past 6 months and while that product works well, this one works GREAT in regards to minimizing and reducing dark spots. With the Olay it took a month or so to see results, but they were definitely there. I saw results in one night and one week with this product.
I am Indian so every month my skin breaks out and my dark spots are acne related. It had gotten so bad that the Olay didn't seem like it was working and I was desperate for something else. I saw the 5 star reviews and I was like how could this cheap product work so well, I figured I had nothing to lose so I tried it and I really like it. If I could put a number on it I would say my dark spots diminished by 77% in the first two weeks of use.
I use the Olay proX cleaning brush prior to this. I would definitely recommend this product, great value, great price, and it seems to be working better than other products I've tried. I'm really happy I tried it as my skin was so bad that even make-up wasn't helping. My goal is to be able to go makeup free soon!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Awesome, I love this product.

02/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have some acne dark spots on my face that takes forever to vanish,(actually couple yrs it takes), and by that time i start getting new one's as i cannot keep my hands off my face. From last 3 years i been packing my face everyday with makeup which has spoiled my acne further, but i was always too scared to try anything on. I did tried a clique dark spot corrector once, which was i think 60 bugs for a ever smaller tube and it didn't helped at all. There was no change I ordered this because i saw the reviews on amazon. So, i figured i can give it a shot. It's been 2 weeks till now, and i love this product. My spots are getting lighter i can feel it. I just have to do some touch-ups of makeup to work these days, no more concealers and all. I hope it clears all my spots, i swear i'll touch makeup again in my life.
5 Stars and will recommend to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

absolutely the best product

02/13/2014
By ,
Memphis tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started using this product last year and I like it a lot because it does what it says it is goin to do. The best part is that is is not expensive. I wish I could find it in stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

very helpfull

03/28/2014
By ,
Long Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dermatologist recommended to me to eliminate black spots that the acne left on my back I had seen a different in just the first couple weeks I'm very glad I found a product that really work. But I think anyone who wants to use it should talk with the dermatologist before to prevent alergic reactions to the active ingredient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Works, but beware of health risks!

08/25/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using this product for about 3 weeks against freckles on my face and they have definitely faded quite a bit. I have received several positive comments on my skin and complexion.
Despite the fact that it actually works, you need to be aware though, that Hydroquinone is forbidden as an active ingredient in many countries around the world - in Europe it is only allowed as a hair product (0.3% concentration, while this product comes with a conc. of 2%). It takes away your skin's protection and you need to make sure you don't get exposure to any UV-radiation during the time of treament (which should be done only at night!). In addition you should definitely use sunscreen or you can cause much harm to your skin. Be sure to wash it off in the morning too! Beware that Hydroquinone also stands in a questionable connection to skin cancer (only proven in rats so far...).
Knowing all this, I have decided to continue the use of this product for about a month to get rid of dark spots that I have had for years, using it only as an on-the-spot treatment and not for the whole face. After finishing that I will go from there trying my best avoiding new freckles by using sunscreen.
P.S. I believe the label and instructions for this product are insufficient. The label only reads to "avoid UV radiation" and does not state the necessity for sunscreen or the advantage of using the cream at night.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Portland, ME
Thank you!
Posted 09/14/2013
An amazing review and a very legit warning to consider. Thank you greatly on behalf of everyone who has taken the time to read it!
+3points
Customer Avatar
Saint Louis
THANKS
Posted 09/08/2013
Very good information to share
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Love this Spot Corrector

06/07/2014
By ,
Memphis TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product at my local Walmart. I have used it for 2 months. I have lots of brown spots on my face due to years of being in the sun without using SPF. I have used low end to high end products that did nothing. After using this product for 2 months the brown spots on my left side are almost gone. The brown spots on my right side have faded. The big acne scar is fading slowly. I plan to keep buying this product. I just cannot find it at the 3 local Walmarts near me. I definitely will buy online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Unbelievable

12/24/2013
By ,
Davenport, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 71 and have had many of the spots for 30 years or more. You could even see them in pictures. I had tried Avon's but it didn't do a thing. This product is wonderful, unbelievable and awesome! Most are gone or so reduced that I would be the only one to see them. I will keep using it as a maintenance item until my dying day. And the price, that too is unbelievable. The first month I saw much improvement. By the third it was wonderful. This is the fourth month and I am so happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Great product!

06/19/2013
By ,
Aberdeen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this product for a month and have noticed a gradual lightening of brown spots on my face. There's a lot of really pricey products out there, so for the price its a great deal and worth a try.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Acne spots are fading

06/11/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
noticedfading touched. Difference within a week.
Product Attributes:
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Not impressed so far

06/25/2014
By ,
Hartford,CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this product because of the reviews on the website i had it for a month and i haven't seen much changes in lightening my dark spots. I'll keep using it and see if it changes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Works, but be patient

03/03/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This does work. This may temporarily make spots slightly darker before lightening. Keep using at night for a few weeks and it'll work. I've used this less than 10 times on a spot and it's considerably lighter. I tiny bit goes a loooong way too. This will last forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Pretty good stuff

11/10/2013
By ,
VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only used this for about a week but see improvement already. I have a million spots all over my face from acne scars. They are noticeably lighter even though it's only been a week, so I gave it 4 stars in that aspect since I'm not sure what the long term results will be. All in all you can't beat giving it a try for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Very Good

06/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took one whole tube to really see a difference. However, it works very well. I used it on my face and also on the backs of my hands. I can see a difference and ordered more. The price is wonderful also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Great Product!

01/08/2014
By ,
Waco, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using this for almost 3 weeks and it's already working!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Definitely lightens damaged skin

11/07/2013
By ,
Katy, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm on my third tube of Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener. With the first tube, I saw definite lightening of the discolored skin around leg scars. With the second tube the lightening continued, but at a much reduced rate. I'm hopeful that continued use will eradicate the unwanted color, but only time will tell. I have two more tubes to use after the current one. The first two tubes each lasted around three weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Works just as good as the expensive stuff

05/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I started to see results within a week. After three weeks my dark spots are almost completely gone!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

GODDNESS SOLUTION

11/06/2013
By ,
MPLS, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS PRODUCT DOES IT EXACTLY WHAT ITS SAID. I'M ASIAN PERSON SO MY FACE HAVE ALOT DISCOLOR AND I HAVE ALOT FRECKLES AND BLACK SPOT. I BEEN USING OVER A MONTH NOW AND MY FRECKLES ARE GONE AND I CAN'T BELIVE IT. I AM VERY HAPPY CAUSE I BEEN TRYING OTHER PRODUCTS BUT ITS DOESN'T WORKS AT ALL. THANKS YOU::::))))) EQUATE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Great product!

03/23/2014
By ,
baltimore maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice product for a very cheap price, it is gentle and has antioxidants in it, comparable to more expensive brands!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Works and a great price

12/24/2013
By ,
North Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I see my spots and they are almost gone! Highly recommend it to anyone with dark spots. Remember to exfoliate before using and where sunscreen. Also, if you are prone to acne you may want to use a cleasner the next morning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Equate Beauty Dark Spot Corrector Skin Lightener, 1 fl oz

Don't use this!

10/25/2013
By ,
Richmond, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have dark spots from having acne on my face and I decided to go ahead and give this a try since it's supposed to help moisturise as well. Unfortunately, the complete opposite happened - my skin became intensely dried out and it actually began to break out really badly in the areas where it had become painfully dry.
So instead of getting rid of the dark spots, my face became extremely red, dry, and broken out. If you are using this to get rid of dark marks from acne, do not use this! Try something else - it will save you a lot of stress and pain.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kernersville, NC
I am noticing the same thing
Posted 05/08/2014
I so WANT this product to work for me to remove 3 sun spots....but as of right now, my face is completely broke out everywhere I applied it. =( Man, does it ever itch!!
Me being the hard head, I am still using it. I am trying to limit the areas I apply it to and hoping to see that maybe my face can adapt to it. :::fingers crossed:::
Please just know that reactions can happen.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)