Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Total Gym Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Total Gym Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

The Total Gym 1400 utilizes body resistance to strengthen and tone your body. The Total Gym 1400 works efficiently by strengthening and toning multiple major muscle groups all at the same time for a quick and effective workout. With this Total Gym unit, you can easily get a full body workout in just 10 to 20 minutes. You can perform more than 60 different exercises with this single Total Gym machine, so you don't leave out any of the major muscle groups. The Total Gym 1400 exercise machine arrives fully assembled so you can start using it right away. When not in use, this Total Gym folds up for easy storage.
Average Customer Rating:
3.943 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
30
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation84%89 out of 106reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
30
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Broken piece of Equipment

03/26/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Total Gym 1400 was delivered on the day it was supposed to.....the box definitely exhibited signs of rough handling and to no one's surprise -3 of the 4 rollers were badly broken - how that happened gauging by the way the item was packaged was beyond me. It led me to think I was sent a used item. This is not the sort of item easily returnable...so I called to have the wheels(rollers) sent to me, which I'll now have to replace...in the meantime that is a 10 days proposition and the unit simply sits here.
This does not speak well for Quality Control and as far as I'm concerned Walmart/Total Gym ought to replace this unit with an upgraded version for my headache and pick up this busted item at the same time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Gives me the workout I want

03/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The box is heavy - really heavy - and getting it inside was the hardest part of the entire process. (I bribed the UPS guy to carry it up the stairs for me, money will solve a multitude of problems.) I'm 60-ish and not in great shape and not all that mechanically inclined. So it took me 2 weeks to decide I was ready to set up the Total Gym 1400. I did it myself with no assistance, other than the aforementioned delivery to my second floor. It was not hard to open it up and put together the attachments I want to use. All the parts were there, and everything was in excellent condition. I feel like I got a great value for the price. The exercises are set up in such a way that I can work at the intensity I choose, working on the exercises I choose, for as long as I feel comfortable doing them, and I don't have to overexert myself to try to get into better shape. The unit will fold, but it is more convenient for me to just leave it open so that when I want to use it for 2 or 3 minutes, it is ready.
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

good value, with exceptions

01/17/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my third total gym. They are incredible exercise aids. This one was shipped free (vs. $99 from the competition) and arrived in ONE DAY! And in good condition. Set up was relatively easy. The device is worth its weight in platinum, except the lateral bar. This is the gadget that looks like a Texas longhorn and can be used at the top or bottom of the Total Gym. At the top of the gym, this lateral bar becomes a place to secure the feet for an inversion of the spine, worth the price of the device, even if you never use the total gym for anything else. Unfortunately, the manufacturer chose to re-engineer this device (hope you managers at Total Gym are reading this) and made the device painful and ineffective. Had to go to ebay.com to buy an accessory to fill in this gap in the original equipment. Cost was $42 beyond the $300 for this device. If you use your total gym, it will be well worth the investment. Happy sweating!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Total Gym 1400 - totally cool !

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It came on time, in great shape and inclusive of everything I was supposed to get. Great product. I am using it 2-3 times a week interspersed with walking at a local track and time !!! You can use the video to do the exercises and I do, but you can also improvise and benefit even more. As I hope to achieve maximum effect from the machine, I have thought of ways to enhance it as I go. using body weights will add life to the machine and to the results. That will come later, but I am thinking. Total Gym, I am glad that I bought you. Easy set up and take down, and I exercise right in the family room while with my favorite TV show in the background....YES, I COULD watch it, but doing the exercises is job 1 and I prefer to just let the sound be background noise. Great machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Worth the money

07/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: Glad my son was there to set it up, your hair does get caught and it hurts!! Wear it up high!! The bench seems small to me, not as easy to take down as they say. Guy in video does not give you enough time to switch out the pieces, so PAUSE the DVD!
Pros: Easy to use, and you can feel that it is working!!! Well worth the money. Delivered a week before they said it would get here. Actually has me wanting to exercise!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Semi gym at home

07/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am happy with this item. It does what it says if you use it right. My teenage 14 yr old also uses it and really loves it. The price is affordable and the unit folds to store away. Overall it helps tone your body.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

This machine is good

06/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The machine is built well. I am 6ft at 220 lbs. Machine has no problem with my weight. Smooth enough and strong enough. I give it 100 full length leg and arm reps a day in the middle setting with very little wear showing on the rollers and rails. Still sturdy. Only reason it doesn't get a 5 star rating is because there should be pins to secure the foot pad legs to the main frame so you can pick it up just a hair at that point enough to move it over side to side a bit in case people or dogs need some room for some reason. You never know. Anyway it is a great machine for the money and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to get down with some music and work some muscles and burn some calories. It is fun to use and get into a nice rhythmic workout.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Great for beginners/intermediates

09/14/2013
By ,
Falls Church, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product and excellent value for the money. It was a bit heavier than I expected, but the equipment is very stable and durable. The only downside is that it's not very easy to fold up and store. Very good equipment for beginners and intermediates. Very easy to use and doesn't put much (if any) strain on my back (I've had a bad back for years). After just using the product for 2 weeks (30-45 minutes a day, usually divided into 15-20 minute workouts twice a day), I'm already feeling a difference with my energy level as well as overall muscle tone. The equipment is more suited for working out your arms, but you can also do crunches and get some exercise for your legs. Both my wife and I use it (and on occasion, even my 9 year old kid does a few exercises), and we've been very happy with the product so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

So far so good

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had it long but I have been using it often. I have been noticing a difference in my body as far as feeling more toned up. I will continue my use with it for sure. I normally have a tough time assembling things and this was actually easy for me. A lot was already assumed. This is much more fun than the elliptical and it is using all muscles.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Love it!

07/12/2013
By ,
Norfolk, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this product on a Tuesday (probably about 9pm) and it showed up at the door that Friday, despite a delivery date of the following Wednesday, so it was a whole 5 days early. Love that! My husband set it up while I was at work and then showed me how to do it when I got home. It was incredibly easy to put together and fold up for storage, but since we have the room for it, there's no reason to fold it up right now. There are so many exercises you can do with this! I've only had it for a week and I've already started losing inches. My husband really only uses it for push ups and sit ups being that we still go to a gym, but he really likes it as well. Our 10 year old has been using it (under supervision) but he has no problems switching out parts or putting attachments on. Very user friendly and just as easy to do as the commercials make it seem. We are definitely glad we purchased this!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Awful! Do not buy

12/25/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product is cheaply made and Walmart did a terrible job packing it for shipping. When we received it, two of the wheels were broken (which appears to be a trend after reading some of the other reviews) and the front casing of the glider pad was broken. Unfortunately, it looks like replacing the wheels and glider will only be a temporary fix because this product does not look like it would last very long before the wheels would need to be replaced again. We will be returning this for a refund and will be checking into the real Total Gym systems from the actual website. <sigh> I was really excited that Walmart had an affordable Total Gym but I guess you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD
07/21/2013
By ,
Honolulu, Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Constructed very well. Works, like it should. As long as you're willing to sweat.
Great price............
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Good machine!

06/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So far using regular for three months works great! Really does help you get in shape and many exercises available. Great price and delivery!
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

total gym

06/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a herniated disc and I was limited with the type of workouts I could do, but with the Total gym I can let gravity stretch my back and offer pain relief. It worked for me, but you still have to check with your doctor if you have spinal disorders. Besides this, my arms and my abs get an excellent workout every time I use the Total gym. It takes up a lot of space when it's set up, but the good part is that you can fold it and hide it away.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Great product!!

09/03/2013
By ,
Jasper, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For someone whos budget conscious this is a great workout set. It does all that it says it does with out having to spend alot of money for the Total Gyms that are advertised. Built sturdy and with the attachments theres a wide varity of exersices you can do. It does everything the more expensive model do. Easy to set up and use. Comes with all the info needed to start. From beginner all the way to advanced workouts. I would recommened this to anyone looking for an exercise machine. My wife and I are both in our 60's and find this easy to work with and felt the results within days of using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Quality leaves a little to be desired

05/28/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As is mentioned in other reviews, the durability of the wheels is not what you would expect from a quality product. Ours arrived with a chunk broken off one of the wheels. Now, when you use it and hit that broken part of the wheel, it is like hitting a speed bump. The sled also may come off the rails when the wheel rolls across the broken section. Please make the wheels more durable and then I would have no problem recommending this product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Excellent, well made machine and a great value.

09/01/2014
By ,
Central NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading other reviews, my only concern was that it could arrive damaged due to poor handling during shipment. I was relieved to find it in perfect condition when I unpacked it. Setup was very simple, with easy to follow instructions. It came with both a DVD and printed manual for workout instructions. I bought this machine so I can work out at home, having grown tired of spending time traveling to and from the gym. I have been very happy with the decision, and I am confident that I will stay in better shape using this machine at home, 30 minutes daily, than when going to the gym 3 times per week. Like most, I am a bit leery of buying products advertised on TV, but this is the real deal. One of the most satisfactory purchases in recent memory!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

total Gym 1400

01/19/2014
By ,
Winlock, Wa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read reviews before I picked up this product at Walmart. As per the reviewed reviews the Total Gym I received had broken parts. I didn't even remove everything from the box since it was obvious there were broken plastics parts as other reviews refered to. The handling of these unit (by UPS) must be improved. Since the parts that break are located at the bottom of the package a simple drop or I'll just let it drop mentality will cause these broken parts. Walmart's shipping and handling process should be reviewed
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Replacement

05/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we wore out the first one we had(had it for 12 years) so this is a big improvement. a lot smoother....only two negatives....the squat attachment, i don't use it ..too narrow so i kept the other one from the first one( much wider and besides, i have a power rack for serious squatting) and the dip bar attachments are too narrow for me,my hips get in the way...ok for wife,she is the primary user...overall a good adjunct for my training when i don' t feel like lifting heavy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

BROKEN GREY WHEEL

03/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read all of the reviews before buying this product where 85% were happy and said they had no problems, well I'm one of the unlucky 15% because as most of the unhappy people mentioned, it arrived with broken grey wheels, so guess what mine did too, one of the grey wheels was shattered in pieces. I called the company the very next day and they are supposed to be sending a replacement grey wheel. The system is still sitting in parts on my basement floor because I don't want to even try putting it together if its broke. I haven't had the chance to use it, so I can't answer yes or no because I'm waiting to try it. I've kept the box and I'd hate to have to pack it all up and return for a complete refund.
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 104 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next