Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Total Gym Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Total Gym Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

The Total Gym 1400 utilizes body resistance to strengthen and tone your body. The Total Gym 1400 works efficiently by strengthening and toning multiple major muscle groups all at the same time for a quick and effective workout. With this Total Gym unit, you can easily get a full body workout in just 10 to 20 minutes. You can perform more than 60 different exercises with this single Total Gym machine, so you don't leave out any of the major muscle groups. The Total Gym 1400 exercise machine arrives fully assembled so you can start using it right away. When not in use, this Total Gym folds up for easy storage.
Average Customer Rating:
3.957 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation83%78 out of 94reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Broken piece of Equipment

03/26/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Total Gym 1400 was delivered on the day it was supposed to.....the box definitely exhibited signs of rough handling and to no one's surprise -3 of the 4 rollers were badly broken - how that happened gauging by the way the item was packaged was beyond me. It led me to think I was sent a used item. This is not the sort of item easily returnable...so I called to have the wheels(rollers) sent to me, which I'll now have to replace...in the meantime that is a 10 days proposition and the unit simply sits here.
This does not speak well for Quality Control and as far as I'm concerned Walmart/Total Gym ought to replace this unit with an upgraded version for my headache and pick up this busted item at the same time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Gives me the workout I want

03/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The box is heavy - really heavy - and getting it inside was the hardest part of the entire process. (I bribed the UPS guy to carry it up the stairs for me, money will solve a multitude of problems.) I'm 60-ish and not in great shape and not all that mechanically inclined. So it took me 2 weeks to decide I was ready to set up the Total Gym 1400. I did it myself with no assistance, other than the aforementioned delivery to my second floor. It was not hard to open it up and put together the attachments I want to use. All the parts were there, and everything was in excellent condition. I feel like I got a great value for the price. The exercises are set up in such a way that I can work at the intensity I choose, working on the exercises I choose, for as long as I feel comfortable doing them, and I don't have to overexert myself to try to get into better shape. The unit will fold, but it is more convenient for me to just leave it open so that when I want to use it for 2 or 3 minutes, it is ready.
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

good value, with exceptions

01/17/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my third total gym. They are incredible exercise aids. This one was shipped free (vs. $99 from the competition) and arrived in ONE DAY! And in good condition. Set up was relatively easy. The device is worth its weight in platinum, except the lateral bar. This is the gadget that looks like a Texas longhorn and can be used at the top or bottom of the Total Gym. At the top of the gym, this lateral bar becomes a place to secure the feet for an inversion of the spine, worth the price of the device, even if you never use the total gym for anything else. Unfortunately, the manufacturer chose to re-engineer this device (hope you managers at Total Gym are reading this) and made the device painful and ineffective. Had to go to ebay.com to buy an accessory to fill in this gap in the original equipment. Cost was $42 beyond the $300 for this device. If you use your total gym, it will be well worth the investment. Happy sweating!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Try Newer Models

05/20/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wish I had bought a newer model, my one complaint about this model is there is no head rest so if you are tall you are unable to rest your neck. Other than that is is a good value for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Great for beginners/intermediates

09/14/2013
By ,
Falls Church, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product and excellent value for the money. It was a bit heavier than I expected, but the equipment is very stable and durable. The only downside is that it's not very easy to fold up and store. Very good equipment for beginners and intermediates. Very easy to use and doesn't put much (if any) strain on my back (I've had a bad back for years). After just using the product for 2 weeks (30-45 minutes a day, usually divided into 15-20 minute workouts twice a day), I'm already feeling a difference with my energy level as well as overall muscle tone. The equipment is more suited for working out your arms, but you can also do crunches and get some exercise for your legs. Both my wife and I use it (and on occasion, even my 9 year old kid does a few exercises), and we've been very happy with the product so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Excellent....

05/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works excellent. I wish someone would have told me about this sooner.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

to heavy

05/06/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Its way to heavy and the putting it together is to much but the worst part is getting it out putting it up and down that's a workout it self it should be a little lighter but I have had great workouts on it
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Love it!

07/12/2013
By ,
Norfolk, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this product on a Tuesday (probably about 9pm) and it showed up at the door that Friday, despite a delivery date of the following Wednesday, so it was a whole 5 days early. Love that! My husband set it up while I was at work and then showed me how to do it when I got home. It was incredibly easy to put together and fold up for storage, but since we have the room for it, there's no reason to fold it up right now. There are so many exercises you can do with this! I've only had it for a week and I've already started losing inches. My husband really only uses it for push ups and sit ups being that we still go to a gym, but he really likes it as well. Our 10 year old has been using it (under supervision) but he has no problems switching out parts or putting attachments on. Very user friendly and just as easy to do as the commercials make it seem. We are definitely glad we purchased this!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Awful! Do not buy

12/25/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product is cheaply made and Walmart did a terrible job packing it for shipping. When we received it, two of the wheels were broken (which appears to be a trend after reading some of the other reviews) and the front casing of the glider pad was broken. Unfortunately, it looks like replacing the wheels and glider will only be a temporary fix because this product does not look like it would last very long before the wheels would need to be replaced again. We will be returning this for a refund and will be checking into the real Total Gym systems from the actual website. <sigh> I was really excited that Walmart had an affordable Total Gym but I guess you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Excellent, well made machine and a great value.

09/01/2014
By ,
Central NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading other reviews, my only concern was that it could arrive damaged due to poor handling during shipment. I was relieved to find it in perfect condition when I unpacked it. Setup was very simple, with easy to follow instructions. It came with both a DVD and printed manual for workout instructions. I bought this machine so I can work out at home, having grown tired of spending time traveling to and from the gym. I have been very happy with the decision, and I am confident that I will stay in better shape using this machine at home, 30 minutes daily, than when going to the gym 3 times per week. Like most, I am a bit leery of buying products advertised on TV, but this is the real deal. One of the most satisfactory purchases in recent memory!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD
07/21/2013
By ,
Honolulu, Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Constructed very well. Works, like it should. As long as you're willing to sweat.
Great price............
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

BROKEN GREY WHEEL

03/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read all of the reviews before buying this product where 85% were happy and said they had no problems, well I'm one of the unlucky 15% because as most of the unhappy people mentioned, it arrived with broken grey wheels, so guess what mine did too, one of the grey wheels was shattered in pieces. I called the company the very next day and they are supposed to be sending a replacement grey wheel. The system is still sitting in parts on my basement floor because I don't want to even try putting it together if its broke. I haven't had the chance to use it, so I can't answer yes or no because I'm waiting to try it. I've kept the box and I'd hate to have to pack it all up and return for a complete refund.
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

great service and product

02/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When i ordered the total gym on Sunday, Walmart's web site said i would get it on Friday of that week. when I went to the tracker it said Thursday but i got it on Wednesday. very fast delivery and great service.
I bought the total gym to help me loose some weight and get myself healthier. It does give you a good workout and there is about 80 exercises that can be done on it without a bunch of changes to perform them. i recommend the total gym to everyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Great product!!

09/03/2013
By ,
Jasper, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For someone whos budget conscious this is a great workout set. It does all that it says it does with out having to spend alot of money for the Total Gyms that are advertised. Built sturdy and with the attachments theres a wide varity of exersices you can do. It does everything the more expensive model do. Easy to set up and use. Comes with all the info needed to start. From beginner all the way to advanced workouts. I would recommened this to anyone looking for an exercise machine. My wife and I are both in our 60's and find this easy to work with and felt the results within days of using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Arrived damaged

03/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I never got to try it out because when I opened the box, I discovered damage. One of the wheels was cracked and I found the plastic pieces in the bottom of the box. I also found the cable flopping around. I had no idea how to attach it since I never saw it attached to begin with. No picture of it in the directions. Reluctantly, I took it back to Walmart. They graciously accepted the return. I was going to reorder the product because I still believe in it.
Recommends this product? No
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles
don't rate product based solely on shipping
Posted 04/10/2014
For some reason many people rate the product with their experience of poor shipping. That is not fair to the rest of us or for the product itself, especially when the item can't be removed from the box, setup and used. Poor mishandling of a package during shipping by UPS, Federal Express, the U.S. Postal Service or other delivery carriers does not contribute to how the product functions. I, and many others, would appreciate seeing other's ratings based on the product design, ease of setup, strength, usability, etc.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

total Gym 1400

01/19/2014
By ,
Winlock, Wa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read reviews before I picked up this product at Walmart. As per the reviewed reviews the Total Gym I received had broken parts. I didn't even remove everything from the box since it was obvious there were broken plastics parts as other reviews refered to. The handling of these unit (by UPS) must be improved. Since the parts that break are located at the bottom of the package a simple drop or I'll just let it drop mentality will cause these broken parts. Walmart's shipping and handling process should be reviewed
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Beats paying all those gym fees!

09/03/2013
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the total gym when Wal-Mart said I would. I put it together myself with a minimum of cuss words. I have used it almost everyday since then and I really like it a lot. My stomach muscles are sore, even though the exercises I have tried are mostly for your arms. I'm totally happy with the product, now I can exercise whenever I want for as long as I want and I do not have to spend money on expensive outfits to fit in with the young things at the gym. Ally
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Great equipment for the price!!!

07/03/2013
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw the infomercial but could not afford the high end version. I was excited when I found this one for only $239. I got it within a few days of ordering and as promised it was easy and mostly ready to go out of the box. It takes a minute to figure out how to do all the attachments. But I think this machine is just as good as the expensive one. It is a great way to work out and all the different moves keep it interesting. It does take up a lot of space when in use but folds back up. The accessories, DVD, and booklets are good. I will say that I think the weight limit should be followed and men wanting to bulk up would want something else. For me it is perfect combined with a gazelle walk. My twelve year old son uses it too and thinks it is fun. This is a good product for someone wanting to tone up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

Love the Total Gym, however have package problems

02/02/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the total gym. Our son has had one for years, so we felt comfortable purchasing one. It is an excellent idea and way to exercise, however, there is something terribly wrong with the packaging. Like many others, I found out, ours arrived with a broken roller ( wheel to move the glide board ). At least that is what I thought. So I called customer service at total gym and they were great. Sent out new one right away. Went to put it on and found out there was a second one broken, Now waiting to hear back from total gym about sending another one, Disappointed, but sure once new one arrives we will be very happy with the product. Ask me again in a month or so!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Total Gym 1400 Total Home Gym with Workout DVD

broken wheels in 2015...

03/24/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
box arrived fine with no dents but I, too, had a black smashed wheel you roll the machine to move it in your house and store it away. BUT, I then found a smashed wheel that the seat slides on. Smashed in 3 pieces. YET, in a very well packed box with no dents. Called total Gym and will send me wheels. BUT, giving you heads you might need to wait to get good wheels before you can workout. I could workout but the smashed grey wheels could shred the plastic coating over the wire cable. still gave it 3 stars b/c I hope it will be awesome at that price point.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next