Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Benjamin Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

Benjamin Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

The Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Pistol is powered with the same Nitro Piston technology found in the Trail series rifles. It features a synthetic frame with a steel barrel and a fiber optic front sight for enhanced target acquisition. The Benjamin Trail NP air pistol also comes with a cocking system, and it fires single shots at 600 fps.
Average Customer Rating:
3.353 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation71%12 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

Decent Pistol

05/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have come to enjoy this pistol. Although when I first purchased it and started shooting it, my shots were all over the place elevation-wise. Then I noticed that the break-barrel wasn't closing the same every time. There is, as I discovered, an adjustment for the amount of pressure or tension that the barrel locks with. After removing the 4 pistol stock screws and removing the action assy, I adjusted the locking pressure screw to its maximum tightness and then reassembled the gun. Accuracy is now dead on and I can maintain a 2" group shooting offhand at 10 yds. 1" group from bench at 10 yds. Not bad for the open sights. Also, It is worth moving the rear sight forward a bit to tighten up windage accuracy. One more thing: I replaced the trigger-pull adjust screw with a slightly longer one to shorten the pull to almost a hair trigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

Break Barrel Pistol

04/13/2014
By ,
white city, oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i like the gun, however the weight distribution of it is off as its very front heavy, and the gun is rather large compared to Co2 pistols, other than that i like the break barrel nitrogen part as i do not need to buy Co2 for it, 1 pump and off i go, the gun seams very solid and accurate up close even with lead pellets, power seams good for what is states it can do, i shoot several different caliber pistols, so it has been a challenge getting used to the front heavy issue, the sights are really tall compared to other pistols, but are good for people that have a harder time shooting guns with iron sights, overall it is a good replacement with inexpensive ammo for shooters that can not find 22LR ammo for plinking...
If the manufacturer would distribute the weight better and lower the sights, maybe even tighten the gap in the sights a bit i would have given this gun 5 stars easily...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

Needs taller rear sight and better trigger pull

06/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I really like the pistol. It's well made and appears to have pretty good quality components. It is fairly heavy but that is beneficial for me as being over 50 my nerves aren't what should be. I've shot over 600 pellets through it (eliminating 16 rabbits, 3 Jacks, and one chipmunk all under 30 yds away) and still shooting 2" pattern at 50 ft from kneeling position. Once I compensated for the low rear sight I never saw some of the wildly inaccurate shots during break-in as stated in the manual. I've always used with the cocking attachment and definitely easier using with it than without - front sight can be pretty rough on the hand.
On the negative, the rear sight is mounted at least 1/8" too low. If the mounting block for the sight was that much thicker would probably solve this problem. I ended up putting a red dot sight on in place of it. The other negative is trigger pull is pretty heavy, which is sort of odd considering I also have a Trail Titan XS rifle (similar nitrogen operation) and trigger pull on it is longer but lighter. In addition, the trigger action stays at the point you pull until you reach point gun fires. In other words if you pull the trigger a short ways and then release you won't have that pressure to pull when you next pull the trigger. So you sort of preload the trigger with partial pulls. Threw off some of my shots until I got used to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

shoots low and to the left - but a good grouping

06/27/2014
By ,
live in the country
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hit the target right out of the box, however the pistol consistently shoots low and to the left. The box that it comes in recommends a centerpoint scope so I guess they are aware of the problem. The mount doesn't allow the sights to be raised enough to properly adjust the up/down and the wind correction will never adjust the left problem. Because the grouping pattern was consistent, a scope should solve the problem. Unfortunately a scope will cost almost as much as the pistol.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

Much more pistol than I'd hoped for. ..GREAT..

01/18/2014
By ,
n/w ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, a powerful and accurate gun. Would recommend to anyone that has small pest problems or just likes to target shoot. [Definantly not a toy]...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

Great Air Pistol

11/25/2013
By ,
Honolulu,Hi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st of all I was concerned about the pellet size .17 ? It is listed on the box .177 Cal so it is easy to buy ammo. I had several air pistol brands and types CO2,pump and spring single cocking break barrel but this is the first Nitro Piston type air gun that I own. You can adjust the back sight to pretty much zero in into the 10 ring. Also the fiber optic sight pretty much stands out red in the front and green in the rear. Another thing I like to mention is the noise level for a 625 FPS this is really quiet. Thumbs up also for the price! Great Gun Buy It.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

Satisfied with the value for the money

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My expectation was low given the reviews. I may be lucky because I do not see the problem in others' reviews at all. It was accurate within 20 feet with naked eye. Only a slight adjustment to the back sign is needed. No droop problem at all. The trigger pull is too long and I have to pull it 3 times to fire.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

Fulfills its expected use with accuracy

10/20/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More accurate than anticipated in the 30 foot range. Not having had it for long... I have not been able to investigate its long term possibilities, but doing very well thus far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

After reading reviews all over the web I bought it

02/08/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The worst thing I found was that it hits low and the sites would not adjust enough. Yes, that is true. Until you tighten the barrel pivot screw ONE click.
I had put a red dot on it and was pretty happy with it until today when it seemed the power had dropped off. I think it is finally broken in now after about 300 shots. It seemed better if I "slammed" the barrel closed instead of just pushing it closed.
I placed a tissue on top of it and fired after "slamming" it closed and it blow a hole in the tissue. I tried again with just closing it and it blew a bigger hole. I went back to what I had read some where and removed the front screws and loosened the rear screws. This allowed me to remove the lock screw and move the barrel pivot screw ONE click/notch. It is a little stiffer to c0ck now but didn't damage the tissue when I did the test again.
Biggest thing was the pellet hit about TEN INCHES HIGHER now! I had to make a major adjustment to my red dot site. I could probably go back to the original sites now but think I like the red dot.
This should have increased the FPS also but it is too late to check can penetration tonight. Earlier today it was hitting about as hard as my 1377 pumped three times. Hopefully it is hitting harder now since it is not leaking at the breech.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

Great air pistol for people of any age.

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding quality, Very powerful, and very accurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

Good plinker

11/22/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The only way to try new technology like the nitrogen propulsion system is to buy one, so I did! Initial accuracy at about 25 feet is good right out of the box. I doubt that the power I found in hitting soda cans will be enough to dispatch the pesky varmints I purchased it for however. On the third round, the bottom fell out of the pistol grip so I do need to find out what they used for plastic cement in China.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

wouldnt recommend

06/27/2014
By ,
FARGO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cocking the gun is difficult to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

Product was used

03/24/2014
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item was sold as new. I picked it up and opened the box.
The plastic bag was supposed to be sealed. It had been opened
and upon close examination of the product, it was clearly used
Not a good experience. Had to wait for this product and now
I have nothing
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

Best I have ever had

10/28/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes me look like a sharp shooter! A lot of fun to shoot!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

Worst Benjamin product ever made

10/10/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste time buying pellets for this pistol. You will more likely be able to throw the whole pistol at what you shoot at and come closer to hitting it. Then you would if you put a pellet in it and took the shot.
I've wasted 500 pellets, I've even put a scope on it and still couldn't get it to shoot with in 4" of the center of the cross hairs and that was adjusting the scope adjustment to the end of the up position.
2 things I regret not buying it at amazon so I could return it no problem. The second is losing my Walmart receipt so I could return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Orleans, LA
wrong answer
Posted 10/18/2013
I'm not sure what Wal-mart that you're shopping at, but every Wal-mart in the great lands of America will take back "anything" without a receipt.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

AIR GUN

01/20/2014
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DID NOT LIKE THIS GUN. RETURNED IT
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Benjamin Trail NP .17 Caliber Air Pistol

Pistol is not accurate

01/23/2014
By ,
Roanoke
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not get this pistol to shoot very accurate. Beeman P17 would be much better if you need a break barrel pistol.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.