Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ematic FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ematic FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

The Ematic FunTab Kids Tablet comes preloaded with the award-winning Zoodles Kid Mode, giving your child access to a variety of educational games and content. The kid-safe interface of the Ematic FunTab Kids Tablet adapts to your child's age and skill level and provides progress reports for parents to review. Video mail lets your child stay in touch with family members far away. The rubberized texture provides increased durability and a secure grip.
Average Customer Rating:
3.263 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(582 Reviews) 581
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
201
4 stars
116
3 stars
61
2 stars
43
1 star
161
Customer Recommendation64%370 out of 582reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
201
4 stars
116
3 stars
61
2 stars
43
1 star
161
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

My daughter LOVES this tablet!

12/09/2013
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a tablet for a child and your main concerns are that it needs to have child protections and not be overly expensive, then this may be the perfect tablet for you. The main thing to note is that this is a real Android tablet, so many different apps can be loaded for any need or interest. It also comes pre-loaded with dozens of popular and helpful kid-friendly Android programs -- everything from Angry Birds to a calculator to Where's My Water to email.
Further, the Funtab comes with a suite of educational programs and protections which allow concerned parents to limit, monitor and gauge their child's use and academic progress, which I really like. Like all good tablets, it has a rechargeable battery system, so no batteries needed (very important to me!).
One note to parents, the tablet does need to be charged for six hours prior to its first use, and the wifi needs to be configured as well. So, if you have wifi at your home, just make sure Santa opens, charges and sets up the tablet before the big day. The tablet is made with colorful plastics, which is fun for kids, but I thought adding a black one to the choices may help the children feel more grown up, too.
I would suggest treating it carefully so the screen doesn't get scratched. We are getting a no-bubble screen protector to ensure it stays clean. I'm not sure how well it comes across in the video, but my daughter is just thrilled with all of the features and capabilities the Funtab offers and has used it non-stop ever since we received it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+325points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dont buy
Posted 02/18/2014
this tablet does come with an protector but it is very thin. I bought 2 of these and after 1 drop of each on a hardwood floor they cracked open. the buttons also gets stuck inside. Its not worth the money.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

good for toddlers

12/29/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 3 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

Save your money

12/28/2013
By ,
McHenry, Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Flat screen televisions, computers and many other electronics have proven they can be made durable and price to fit the needs of the most consumers outside of the upper class. Most important those cheaper priced electronics are durable and will last at the least 1 year. The FunTab is not one of these. This purchase was a big mistake! Within 4 hours of use the power button fell out of the tabet. After a full charge it lasted approximately 36 minutes. It takes approximately 1.5 hours to fully charge. Using it while charging will significantly increase your recharge time to approximately 2 hours. The camera can only be use when the environment is fully lighted. Such as Noon on an uncloudy day. Even then images are difficult to view. I could go on, but I think the best summary is either save your money or spend the extra to purchase a quailty tablet for your child.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Review 4 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

Good product for child's first tablet

10/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased 4 tablets for Christmas gifts for grandchildren. I have them all initially "loaded" for play. Only wish I had received the special purchase price instead of the regular price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 5 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

good tablet...

01/06/2014
By ,
Phoenix
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My daughter got this and she played with it for about 2 hours and the battery died. I plugged it in and let it charge, and the same thing, it died 2-3 hours later. It was dropped from about 2 feet and the side where the volume rockers are cracked open and the buttons came out. So I would have to say this is not very well made. She can no longer play with it unless she is completely sitting down and not moving. It's great for the price but I'm in no hurry to run out and fork out another 62.00.
It fits it's purpose.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Allen, TX
Posted 04/15/2014
We had the same problem to begin with. After a while, the battery started lasting longer. But our daughter dropped it and the on/off tabs at the top popped out. I would have thought that, since this was MADE for kids, it would have been made a bit more durable. Hoping that the warranty will cover the repair.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

poor quality

08/30/2014
By ,
ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought two of these for my sons for Christmas and have had them for 8 months now. However when I first got them they both were messed up and I had to exchange them from walmart for two more. Even after I got these two, the kids love them. I like that they already had games on them. However, for me they are a big headache, if you drop them, the buttons are going to fall off! My four year old dropped his and I have never been able to find his button and have to always have a toothpick or something to turn it on with. Then now the other on has been ok till now, it won't even charge at anymore. I don't know why, it was fine one evening then the next day it wouldn't charge. I like the setup, and the zoodles, the kids love them but they are very poor quality especially when they are supposed to be made for kids. I never write reviews but after going through four of these, i did this time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 7 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

Worst Purchase Ever.

12/26/2013
By ,
Medford, Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this after reading the reviews, hoping that it wasn't really as bad as what the reviews said.
I was wrong! Absolutely wrong. And I purchased two of these tablets, one in pink, one in blue. Santa brought these for my children yesterday. It has been precisely 18 hours since they started playing with theirs. One is broken already. Not only has a button popped off, it also only seems to work when it wants to work. The screen will flash and go blank at random times.
The guide says it comes loaded with age appropriate games. Be warned that D e v i l Ninja 2, where you chop the heads off of devils as you travel through hades, is considered age appropriate for a 3 year old. Thankfully the parental controls make it easy to block that game, but I seriously question why it was on there to begin with.
I wouldn't recommend this tablet to my worst enemy. These will be returned tomorrow. Listen to the other reviewers, they are speaking the truth when they say this item is not worth it (although it would be great if it worked!).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 8 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

poor product

12/25/2013
By ,
minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter for xmas. Not five min after she opened it she dropped in on CARPET and the plastic casing popped open and the volume and power buttons came flying out. Couple hours later she dropped it on CARPET again and the screen cracked in half and one side wasn't responding to touch. As far as the overall tablet itself. If comes with zooldes which you can install on ANY tablet or phone or computer. It is not an official tablet that has Google Play so you cannot download all the awesome apps. It does not have YouTube which was one of the main reason I bought it. It is very slow and not the easiest on your eyes. In the picture it looks as if it would already have a rubberized coating for protection but its not at all, just plastic. I bought this thinking it would be great for my daughter. I will be returning it amd spending the extra money for a name brand SAMSUMG GALAXY TAB 2. my older girls have that brand and never had a problem with the name brands. I would seriosuly suggest spending thw extra to lose the headache.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 9 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

Perfect for toddlers and preschoolers!!

10/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this tablet because it really does have everything...it has plenty for my little boy to play on. The games are perfect for his age group and there are more for him as he grows and learns. I also love the drawing feature; I was initially weary of getting him any electronics because I know how addictive they can be, but this tablet allowed my little boy to play his games and still maintain a sense of creativity.
I love the kids mode. It makes life so much easier for parents when they have a child that clicks until the tablet does what he wants...The durability of the tablet is also wonderful because it protects itself with its large rubbery exterior from clumsy toddler hands. I also love the texture because it makes it easy to grip on to.
Other pros: Love that you can load books onto this. It makes it perfect for car rides, and keeping our lovely books safe from little fingers. The rechargeable battery makes it easy on my pocket and on car rides. The wifi capabilities make it so much easier than having to use data. The camera is actually really good, and my toddler loves taking pictures!
Overall perfect buy for my 2 year old for now and years to come!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 10 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

Very poor quality, won't last!

12/11/2013
By ,
GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these. Both of them were nothing but problems. Everything from the on/off button popping out to the software freezing up. This would be a good idea and great product if they just weren't made so horribly. Customer service is awful. YOU have to pay shipping to send item back even when under warranty and it was their product defect. Then they keep it forever before sending back. The one of ours that I did send back only lasted about 4 days before the same thing broke again. Check out Egmatic on FB and you will see all the complaints. Spend the money to buy something much more durable for your child to play with or you will have broken tablets and brokenhearted kids because they don't have a tablet any more. Neither of my two lasted more than four months. It was a waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
+64points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
arena
fun tablet
Posted 03/06/2014
agree I bought 2 of these for my 3 and 7 year old kids loved the games and the tablet, but the on off button broke and the volume button broke. now try to figure out how to get these fixed before vacation
0points
Customer Avatar
IL
yes need more work
Posted 12/26/2013
The same thing happen to my grand son tablet. They should make better button and they should put a case a round it or a bumper like the other children tablet have around them. BUT I love all the app my grand children love there tablet other then the button falling off and freezing up it's ok for kids
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

do NOT get this

12/02/2013
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my 6 yr old as a birthday present. SHe was so excited that she finally had on of her own, until 2 hours later she came around the corner, barely dropped it 6 inches from the ground, and the screen cracked. I know it was dropped, BUT I know a few different teachers that have tablets in their classes and ALL of them have been abused, dropped (on concrete in parking lots, from adult waist high) and slammed many times and nothing happened not even a small crack. My older daughters have tablets from other name brands and they've had them for over a year now and the 6 yr old has used them many times. I am just soooo annoyed that this was intended for children and seems like it was not built to endure ANY kind of bump or slight drop. I at least bought the protection plan, but I have a feeling it will be spending more time in back and forth delivery to get it fixed than it will be spent being used for what it was intended. I am hoping that they will just let me return it or exchange it for another tablet thats for adults, which seems to be more durable. I am just so annoyed and my daughter is devistated.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+42points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Haverhill MA
Not child friendly
Posted 01/03/2014
We got the FunTab for our 4 year old son for Christmas and within 3 days, he also dropped it and the screen cracked. It still turns on, but now the touch screen does not respond to anything so basically it's useless. I had purchased the protection plan as well (he is only 4 after all), but I thought this would be more child proof. He's been using my iPad for over a year and never had any issues. Not sure how to proceed to get a replacement. Do I go to Walmart or go through the manufacturer??
0points
Customer Avatar
Moore, Oklahoma
Thank you for this post.
Posted 12/22/2013
Thank you for this post. I was thinking about getting one of these because my daughter plays with my iPad 3 gen all day long and I want mine back! lol I'm going to go ahead and purchase the iPad Air and let her keep the other one. She's been playing it over a year and hasn't had problems and it hasn't cracked. Thank you again for posting. You have saved my 6 year old Christmas heartbreak. :-)
0points
Customer Avatar
Henderson, KY
I understand
Posted 12/17/2013
I understand that your are frustrated, but I have to say that my son had a similar experience last Christmas with an iPad. We had bought one of those protective cases made especially for children. (the Cars version) He barely dropped it (on carpet even) and the screen shattered (yes, inside the case). He had only gotten it a few days earlier. It cost me over $100 to replace the screen. I had paid $70 for the case and tried to get a refund on that, to no avail. So, the "name brands" are not really that durable either. His iPad ended up costing almost $700 to get it going and truly protected!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles
Hi
Posted 12/04/2013
It's very unfortunate that the device fell down and broke 2 hours after you bought it, But how is the product unbroken? You should contact the manufacturer see how much you can get a refurbished one for cheaper so your 6 year old can use the device, and then leave a review.
+4points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 12 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

Don't waste your money

12/31/2013
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a cute little tablet but thats all it is. It is a $60 cheap piece of electronics. My 7 year old just received it on Christmas. He has played with it about 3 times and the unit cracked on the side and the power button fell out. He hasn't dropped it or manhandled it at all. After snapping it back together and replacing the power button, the volume buttons are now depressed into the unit and he has to press extra hard to get the volume to work now. The apps will download but don't install so only about 2 of the 10 games he has tried to download actually work. It is extremly slow and a BIG disappoint in my house. I bought my 12 year old a $39 Xelio that wal-mart currently doesn't sell anymore, and that one is way better. This is going back to wal-mart on Friday for something better and it won't be another Ematic. Thank goodness he saved the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 13 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

Horrible Kids tablet

11/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for my daughter last Christmas, and in less than 6 months the tablet was broken. The charger connector broke in less than 2 months, and we re-soldered it back on only to have it break again. The program that comes with it is out of date, and you can't download games from it, and when you download a different program, it won't work because of the child blocks.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 14 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

Exactly what we were looking for.

12/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is perfect for our 4 year old. It's great that it can be a normal tablet too. Kid mode is easily turned on and easy to use. Just enter a 4 digit code and it becomes a adult tablet. It also seems to be well built. I doubt it would hurt it if she dropped it. I didn't like the fact that to buy more games in kids mode you have to join a group and pay a monthly fee or pay $2.99 per game. But it was loaded with enough fun and educational games to keep her busy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

Buyer Beware!!!!

12/11/2013
By ,
anywhere
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tablet for my children and while it seemed to be a good deal within having it 4 hours the front and back popped apart and pieces went everywhere! Needless to say that having just arrived to day it will be returned to the store 2moro (if not sooner). Very unhappy with the product and I now realize I shoulda just spent alil more and bought the nabi. Shame on mom for trying to cut corners in today's tight budget. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 16 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

DON'T BUY THIS!!! WORST TABLET EVER!!! ZERO STARS!

08/18/2014
By ,
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased two tablets last Xmas for my kids. Horrible product. Freezes up, buttons fell off, forget about getting new apps on it that's a joke, falls apart if dropped, not rubberized just bright colored hard plastic, camera takes horrible distorted pictures, the touch screen only works occasionally. If you like to frustrate your children & yourself then buy this horrible product or spend $60 more and buy a kindle fire hdx. This Xmas I will be buying them kindles sadly if I had not wasted my money on the ematic funtabs I could have justified getting them an Ipad. Spend a little more buy a kindle or Ipad all tablets have parental controls on them and the other ones you can buy a brightly colored inexpensive case to make it cute for a child.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Review 17 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

My Grandaughter Loves it!

12/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gift for my granddaughter's 5th birthday and she has not put it down since she received it. it has all the 'grownup" game she loves to play on my ipad and they were already loaded, angry birds, cut the rope, and it has a camera and she loves to take her own photos! I am so glad I purchased this for her!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

Don't Drop It

10/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's a kids' tablet, but built with a hard case. My little boy immediately dropped it and the case shattered with little pieces coming off. Broken. A waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 19 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

Fun Tab

10/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery only lasted one hour. Than bought another one, one hour fifteen min. So I took it back bought another brand. If it would have worked, would have been great touch tab
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 20 for FunTab 7" Kids Tablet 8GB Memory 50+ Games / Apps

Durable & worth the price

12/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for my 5 yr old grand daughter she loves it !!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 582 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next