Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.33 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(457 Reviews) 425
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
318
4 stars
73
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
46
Customer Recommendation88%400 out of 457reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,145 Questions | 1,930 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
318
4 stars
73
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
46
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

09/12/2013
By ,
Orlando
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has absolutely NO phone customer service to talk with, you have to do chat or email. I have tried to port my number for over a month and this company keeps saying they cant port my number and cancelling my request to port. VERY FRUSTRATING not being able to talk to someone and resolve issues. Sorry I wasted my money on it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I wish i could say very poor

02/08/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased my device from Wal-mart, it worked one full day after that absolutely nothing happens! Can't hear a dial tone or anything, no call center to speak with so i sent a request to them the sent out another device through the mail, same results. I liked the fact that it's a great deal but I've had my service now for 3 weeks and of the 3 weeks it only worked 2 days!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
05/22/2013
By ,
Daytona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont get this buy Magic Jack it work better you dont have to have the computer on
plus if you have a friend overseas send them one and they can call the US for Free
and after the 1st you can get 5 years for 100 bucks
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-140points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Good luck with yours
Posted 10/12/2013
I have had Magic Jack plus for 2 yrs. I decided to pay year by year instead of the 5 year plan. Glad I did. True, it is around $100 for 5 yrs, but didn't know if I would be happy so the higher price per year was my option. I also paid around $25 extra to port my number to MJ when I signed up. For the 1st year, I was happy...until time to pay my annual fee. In addition to this fee, they were also adding an additional $20-25 charge just to keep MY number that I had already paid them to port.
Within the last 6 months, I have found out that I am missing calls from several businesses and offices. These include schools, banks, doctor's offices, and state offices. Basically any sort of business that uses a switchboard cannot get thru to my number. I can call it from a cell or any home phone but not a business. I had to "chat" with MJ online because they don't have a support number. I felt like I was chatting with "Peggy" from Pakistan. All her answers sounded scripted. They actually wanted the phone numbers that these places used to try to contact me. I supplied it to them and they claimed the problem would be resolved. Here I am 3 months later and the school still can't call my house, nor can any of the others. They are having to use my cell instead.
True, MJ may have a cheaper rate, but their hidden charges will eat you up. I have even heard they want to charge you $30 just to port your number from them after you paid them to port your same number to them. Also, I can filter my own calls instead of them not allowing important calls to reach me.
+1point
Customer Avatar
GA
pc does not need to be on
Posted 06/17/2013
You do not need to have your computer on in order to use the phone, it works through your router, not your computer. I've had mine hooked up for a week now and have had no problems what so ever.
+11points
Customer Avatar
NY, NY
Magic JackPlus-Disappointing at best
Posted 05/30/2013
I think that MagicJack should let people know that their device isn't the be all end all.
I have one and the service is horrible, so horrible, I pay verizon for a landline again.
The only thing that doesn't fail with MagicJack is the voicemail-I've gotten that to work with no problem.
+12points
Customer Avatar
denver
Not entirely accurate
Posted 05/29/2013
You do NOT need a computer turned on to use this service- works with your internet modem and a phone. I do not make calls overseas so I don't know abut that part.
+17points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 4 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Excellent Product

08/08/2013
By ,
Tucson
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The item I purchased from Walmart was defective, The company (Vonage) sent a replacement & it has worked flawlessly. Sound quality is excellent. I ported my land line number to the Basic Talk, and anyone calling doesn't know this is a VOIP phone. Very easy to install & to port phone number. Great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Bought this for my son

12/19/2013
By ,
Bernhards Bay NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OK we set it up got our dial tone and all it rings in BUT u cannot hear the people they only hear hello then it breaks up and nothing..
WHAT CAN BE WRONG!!
WE done all it says they took our money on a credit card 17 plus dollars and this phone wont work at all.
NO phone number to call to talk to anyone and YES we disconnected the fire wall on the PC.
HELP HELP what can we do!!!!!!
OMG we cannot use this PRODUCT cause it don't work!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This item does NOT work with satellite!

08/17/2013
By ,
Latta, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the whole thing up and ready to go when I got the pop up that stated "this item does not work with satellite". I have Dish Network, which is satellite, and I have no intention of changing just to have this phone system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Don't blame Basic Talk
Posted 10/12/2013
Don't blame Basic Talk for the issue. The problem is satellite internet. With satellite, you have lag from the signal having to go from your house, to the satellite, and then back to the ground at their receiving station. Satellite is fine if you have no other option for internet, but you are transmitting a signal from your house 22,000 miles into space and then the same distance back to earth.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great price poor quality, poor customer service

11/27/2013
By ,
Warren OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great price but the sound is very crackly. People I call tell me my voice cuts out and it has dropped several calls. I have had problems calling numbers. After calling my Mom numerous times it suspended me from calling her number anymore. I couldn't reach anyone via phone for customer support. After 2 days finally got an email back and the issue is resolved. If you can't afford regular phone service this is a great price. But you get what you pay for. I would not recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
09/23/2013
By ,
riverdale, ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i could never get this product to work which was very disappointing .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Disappointed

11/09/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was anxious to try BasicTalk but it was plagued by constant clicking. Sometimes a stretch of time would be ok but then it started in again. I went back and forth a number of times with their tech support trying everything and they finally sent me a new box but the problem remained. So I had to crawl back to my Time Warner phone service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Hidden Flaws

12/21/2013
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After doing some research on this device, it occurred to me that in the event of a power outage, my phone would not work since it works through internet and a wifi router (Which require internet to run). After thinking about how I use my phone, this means that in the event of an emergency, I would not have a reliable landline phone that could not be affected by weather. Even cell phones during high volume times can not get through due to limited network access.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Utah
Emergency phone service
Posted 01/14/2014
In a real wide-spread emergency event, regular telephone service is not guaranteed either. I have been involved with emergency communications planning at an organization where 10's of thousands of people are on-site each day. All forms of communications are flooded during any large emergency.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

instructions followed , voip does not work

02/08/2014
By ,
thomasville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have had alot of exp, with voip systems, used them even from china, i purchased this, went online to activate it , went smooth, instructions said wait at least 15 minutes before installing the hardware, i waited 40 minutes, installed hardware strictly as instructions said, unit is to blink 2 green light while it updates from the internet , this should take 5 min, per instructiions, well its been 2 hours and its still flashing and no phone , i think they have a server problem, uploading , installation software, , as the internet here is downloading at 50 megs, , dont waste your time and spend another .60usd, and 15 min. online , as it seems the hardware is working , but they can t get you the software to activate it to you online, , a magjicjack is better than this and thats not great, but it does work, , returning this today for refund, walmart should not even sell this , there is no customer support, and no recourse for basic talks software issues
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

WILL RETURN SOON; NO LOCAL PHONE # AVAILABLE

12/06/2013
By ,
MADISON, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THERE IS NO LOCAL PHONE NUMBER AVAILABLE TO ME SO I WILL BE RETURNING THIS PRODUCT VERY SOON.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

08/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. I had it I would constantly lose signal I couldn't hear the other person but they could hear me I know it wasnt my internet because the product I am using now works perfectly. So we used it for a few months during month 2 we had to cancel our card so the payment didn't go through. We unplugged everything but they still charged us even though we couldn't make calls we realized it like 2 months later when I got an email I contacted customer service they said they still had to charge me. So no I do not recommend this and they should take this product of the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Terrible!

03/22/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I could say differently, but this did not work for us. It took ten days to transfer over, and they give you a different phone number in the interim. That was not a big deal. Once switched over, it completely messed up our internet connections. Then our internet was fine, because the phone stopped working. We haven't been able to receive calls or call out in two weeks. Needless to say, it's going back and we are switching companies.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Bad Audio

03/22/2014
By ,
Yakima, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For some reason my Centurylink DSL Modem did not like the Basic Talk system. We had very bad audio, it was not clear as they claim. We called Service Support and they configured the Basic Talk box and it rebooted and we were clear as a bell. Within 24 hours the audio is bad again, another call to Basic talk and after a reboot the audio was clear. It didn't stay clear 24 hours, I even just try to reboot the box but that didn't work.
We returned the Basic Talk for a full refund, except the $1.50 for 911 I had to pay upon activation.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic talk

12/19/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THE AD DOESN'T TELL YOU THAT WI-FI IS REQUIRED HAVEN'T USED IT SINCE I GOT IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maryland
No WiFi
Posted 03/04/2014
WiFi is NOT required. A router with available ethernet port is all that is required.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Problems porting my number

07/02/2013
By ,
Saint Augustine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews on this device and thought it was worth a shot. I previously had Vonage, which worked well at home only I didn't like paying $17.xx for LIMITED minutes each month. (I had only 300 minutes I could call out#. Basica Talk sounded like a win win option.
Day one was great. Call quality was awesome and clear. I decided to port my home number and then that's when I had problems. It was VERY frustrating to say the least. Here are the issues I found:
PROS: Unlimited minutes #within reason if you read the fine print)
$9.99 plus taxes/fees comes out to about $12 a month
Clear all quality
CONS: Technical issues not resolved on weekends
No toll free number to speak with a representative and/or tech support!
No 24 hour support in case you have questions or need assistance with technical issues
Can only EMAIL or CHAT with a representative from 9am
I'm switching to Google Voice! Just ordered my adapter from Amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
FYI
Posted 02/23/2014
If you bought an OBIxxx phone adapter be aware that OBI will no longer support Google Voice after May 15, 2014. :-(
0points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta
Flack52
Posted 07/02/2013
I was a also little disappointed with the lack of an 800# for support, just an online chat service or email. I had a small glitch during setup, and then realized that I had to use the chat to resolve it. But the "guy" I chatted with gave me the right solution to my problem and I was able to take care of it on my own. Unfortunately, it's getting more and more difficult to talk with real people to get help with tech problems. It's the way of the world, I s'pose.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

DO NOT buy this

10/17/2013
By ,
Statesville, North carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst service ever! I purchased the unit and hooked it up, within ten minutes we had phone service. Then I submitted the phone number transfer form, then you have to wait at least 10 days for your previous number to transfer over to Basictalk. 3 days later we were told that our phone company would not transfer because the account number/address was incorrect. We reentered the information (although it was already correct) FOUR TIMES. And each time we got the same result, Basictalk said that the phone company was refusing to transfer because our info was "wrong." We spoke to "customer service agents" through a chat window and they would say "We fixed the problem and are waiting for the transfer to go through." Meanwhile, wondering if our old phone company was really refusing to transfer the number, we gave them a call. Three different people, two on the phone and one in person said that they NEVER received a request from basictalk for the number transfer. We looked them up on Better Business Bureau and found out that Basictalk which is actually a device from Vonage and they are not accredited. Also many other people had this same problem, one guy even spent a YEAR before they finally transferred his number. Also, in the fine print on their website, they have a policy about "Reasonable Use,
You cannot make short calls, calls longer than 1 hour, people who do not live with you cannot use your phone, and they say that their service is "Unlimited" but that's only if you don't call anyone at all. If your use is not "Reasonable" they will shutdown your service. I would NOT recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk

09/24/2013
By ,
Woodstock, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this device to use with my computer. I hooked up the device the next day could not open my computer. I picked up my phone there was a message saying "check your Internet to see if connection is completed." I could get a telephone connection beyond that message
I took my computer to my Computer Technician Computer Company. He connected to Basic Talk on the computer was told he would have to go to the 3rd Step Technician at Basic Talk to find out about the computer connection. The transfer telephone number was going to happen on 9/18. No one could call me on this Basic Talk connection "would hear a woman's voice saying "try your call later temporarily unavailable". I tried to get a phone call to family/friends the CID window said call was out of the area" so none of my people would pick up. Canceled service have to wait to be re-connected to ECC service. There is no phone number to call Customer Service only e-mail.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oxnard, CA
Are you sure you got a basic talk device?
Posted 11/17/2013
You say you tried to connect it with your computer but this is a stand alone device that connects directly into your router. So I am not sure why you took your computer to a computer technician since this device is independent from your computer. I have a feeling you get NetTalk and not Basic Talk.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Poor performance + Poor support

06/09/2013
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PROS: Initial investment of only $10 for the box, and 1st month of service free.
CONS: I spent 3 days trying to get the box connected consistently, and I was only able to make one call before the box lost its connection. No, the problem was NOT my router (I tried 3 different routers). No, the problem was NOT my modem (3 different modems). No, the problem was NOT my ISP (2 different ISP's at 3 locations#.
I tried getting support through their chat sessions #no phone support avalable). Takes too long for you to go through the same steps, only to still not have a working phone. And no support on weekends? Unacceptible.
Now, I've been trying for 2 days to cancel the service, and after entering data on several pages, the final confirmation page continues to fail with the following error: "We're sorry. We are not able to display your data at this time. Please try again later." Thankfully, I still have 26 days before they try to charge me again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 426 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next