Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.296 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(530 Reviews) 498
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
361
4 stars
88
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
55
Customer Recommendation87%461 out of 530reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,282 Questions | 2,095 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
361
4 stars
88
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
55
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Problems porting my number

07/02/2013
By ,
Saint Augustine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews on this device and thought it was worth a shot. I previously had Vonage, which worked well at home only I didn't like paying $17.xx for LIMITED minutes each month. (I had only 300 minutes I could call out#. Basica Talk sounded like a win win option.
Day one was great. Call quality was awesome and clear. I decided to port my home number and then that's when I had problems. It was VERY frustrating to say the least. Here are the issues I found:
PROS: Unlimited minutes #within reason if you read the fine print)
$9.99 plus taxes/fees comes out to about $12 a month
Clear all quality
CONS: Technical issues not resolved on weekends
No toll free number to speak with a representative and/or tech support!
No 24 hour support in case you have questions or need assistance with technical issues
Can only EMAIL or CHAT with a representative from 9am
I'm switching to Google Voice! Just ordered my adapter from Amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
FYI
Posted 02/23/2014
If you bought an OBIxxx phone adapter be aware that OBI will no longer support Google Voice after May 15, 2014. :-(
0points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta
Flack52
Posted 07/02/2013
I was a also little disappointed with the lack of an 800# for support, just an online chat service or email. I had a small glitch during setup, and then realized that I had to use the chat to resolve it. But the "guy" I chatted with gave me the right solution to my problem and I was able to take care of it on my own. Unfortunately, it's getting more and more difficult to talk with real people to get help with tech problems. It's the way of the world, I s'pose.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

no good

07/28/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has not worked all day for any one day since I have had it, about a month. At its worst I have to reboot it everytime I make a call... sometimes it will stay on for an hour or so, then I have to reboot it again. I have contaced and been helped by customer support several times to no avail. Will try one more time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Couldn't even get a dial tone.

10/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Despite an hour on the phone with two tech support helpers, we couldn't even get a dial tone. I went back to my previous VOIP provider. Dagnabbit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Tired of dealing with chat and email

11/07/2013
By ,
parksley, virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend this product I have been trying to receive incoming calls with Basic Talk for 6 days now. There support has no idea what is going on. There is no phone number to call for help just chat and email. They are trying to say that it is phone of my family member that are trying to call me and not there product. Now I think that is a flat out lie. I can call out but that is it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Disappointed

11/09/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was anxious to try BasicTalk but it was plagued by constant clicking. Sometimes a stretch of time would be ok but then it started in again. I went back and forth a number of times with their tech support trying everything and they finally sent me a new box but the problem remained. So I had to crawl back to my Time Warner phone service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great price poor quality, poor customer service

11/27/2013
By ,
Warren OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great price but the sound is very crackly. People I call tell me my voice cuts out and it has dropped several calls. I have had problems calling numbers. After calling my Mom numerous times it suspended me from calling her number anymore. I couldn't reach anyone via phone for customer support. After 2 days finally got an email back and the issue is resolved. If you can't afford regular phone service this is a great price. But you get what you pay for. I would not recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I wish i could say very poor

02/08/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased my device from Wal-mart, it worked one full day after that absolutely nothing happens! Can't hear a dial tone or anything, no call center to speak with so i sent a request to them the sent out another device through the mail, same results. I liked the fact that it's a great deal but I've had my service now for 3 weeks and of the 3 weeks it only worked 2 days!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

instructions followed , voip does not work

02/08/2014
By ,
thomasville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have had alot of exp, with voip systems, used them even from china, i purchased this, went online to activate it , went smooth, instructions said wait at least 15 minutes before installing the hardware, i waited 40 minutes, installed hardware strictly as instructions said, unit is to blink 2 green light while it updates from the internet , this should take 5 min, per instructiions, well its been 2 hours and its still flashing and no phone , i think they have a server problem, uploading , installation software, , as the internet here is downloading at 50 megs, , dont waste your time and spend another .60usd, and 15 min. online , as it seems the hardware is working , but they can t get you the software to activate it to you online, , a magjicjack is better than this and thats not great, but it does work, , returning this today for refund, walmart should not even sell this , there is no customer support, and no recourse for basic talks software issues
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Worked great for 4 months, then ....

03/08/2014
By ,
Woodbury, N.J.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
easy to install, worked great for 4 months, then lost it's connectivity.My modem, internet, and phone was all fine til this happened leaving me without a landline for 1 month. Support doesn't mention about getting a bad box. Went back to comcast, now all is working fine. Don't want to pay more but need a reliable phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Terrible!

03/22/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I could say differently, but this did not work for us. It took ten days to transfer over, and they give you a different phone number in the interim. That was not a big deal. Once switched over, it completely messed up our internet connections. Then our internet was fine, because the phone stopped working. We haven't been able to receive calls or call out in two weeks. Needless to say, it's going back and we are switching companies.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Not Possible U Verse

06/30/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this device in november 2013, and i have uverse internet service with a modem. Let me tell u how many times att would disable my service every time i would hook up this basic talk, it would knock out my modem every time. I finally gave up i no longer have a landline with at&t just a basic pay as you go cell phone, can anyone in commet land tell me if you have basic talk and uverse internet service. Feedup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

08/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. I had it I would constantly lose signal I couldn't hear the other person but they could hear me I know it wasnt my internet because the product I am using now works perfectly. So we used it for a few months during month 2 we had to cancel our card so the payment didn't go through. We unplugged everything but they still charged us even though we couldn't make calls we realized it like 2 months later when I got an email I contacted customer service they said they still had to charge me. So no I do not recommend this and they should take this product of the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

ONLY if you're keeping your local phone service!

09/22/2014
By ,
WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you plan on keeping your local phone service (for expample AT&T) then it would be a great option IF you place enough long distance calls to break even ($10). Otherwise if you are just trying to save a few bucks (in my case...$18/month) it's not worth the hassle. When I read online & on the back "DSL required" I thought 'no prob, I have DSL', but I didn't realize that I needed to have a landline to service my DSL service, so when BasicTalk transfered my landline over to them it automatically turned my DSL off! It took over a week to get my landline # transferred back and working (hours on the phone and over a dozen phone calls) and we're still without INET because we had to wait for the cancellation to complete & then wait for a reinstall. Notice you can only "chat" with BasicTalk online if you click that you are a "new" customer, if you click that are are existing, they won't chat with you. And you can't find a phone # anywhere! I only found it when I typed in "cancel service"! Ask all questions & contact all your current providers before switching!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Might work, and it's only 10 bucks, more or less

09/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I see there are some good reviews, so this might be great for some people.
My experience was that the sound quality was not good for the person who could hear, and I couldn't hear what the other person was saying to me. (One way audio) I was told that the problem was with a firewall on my BrightHouse modem. So I only needed to learn how to bypass the BrightHouse firewall, and all would be well. Sounds too much like work to me, so I don't know if it would have worked or not. I gave up at that point and cancelled my service.
Not the first time I've wasted 10 bucks or so. Actually this was the second time I bought one of these units. When I opened the first one, I discovered someone had already opened it. I presumed someone had already opened it, activated it, didn't like it for some reason best known to them and returned it to the store (don't really know, just a guess). So I took that one back to Walmart for return (great customer service), and bought another one. The second one is the basis for my experience of unusable performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Could not keep my phone number.

10/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am going to return this phone because I can't keep my phone number. Help site was worthless.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!!

12/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DON'T GET IT !!!!! unless you are willing to go through FOUR customer service reps with the last one knowing what he's doing after you've been trying to get assistance for almost FOUR hours constantly calling back and going through multiple pages on the website. getting disconnected with your chat person going back on waiting from 10 to 30 minutes with no results and that's just trying to get the box activated and working. it was not as easy as being advertised. you finally get connected then theirs a waiting period of six days if you want to keep your number; however they do give you a temporary number and its fine but none of your other phones work. No one tells you before you buy all the equipment even though you are asking specifically about all your phones that the Basic Talk works on the multiple sets of cordless phones your corded phones oNly work if it's plugged into the basic talk and since they don't service your phone line you have to be responsible for that. MORE MONEY MORE MONEY MORE MONEY MORE MONEY1 YOU HAVE TO SPEND but if you know this ahead of time you can get that taken care of BEFORE YOU SWITCH!!!!!!!!! and they have no phone customer service. just so you know you only access the necessary info only after your service
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Dropped calls

02/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unable to hear person on the basic talk phone no matter where they are standing in the house.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This item does NOT work with satellite!

08/17/2013
By ,
Latta, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the whole thing up and ready to go when I got the pop up that stated "this item does not work with satellite". I have Dish Network, which is satellite, and I have no intention of changing just to have this phone system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Don't blame Basic Talk
Posted 10/12/2013
Don't blame Basic Talk for the issue. The problem is satellite internet. With satellite, you have lag from the signal having to go from your house, to the satellite, and then back to the ground at their receiving station. Satellite is fine if you have no other option for internet, but you are transmitting a signal from your house 22,000 miles into space and then the same distance back to earth.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/31/2013
By ,
BARTLESVILLE, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
could NOT GET CALLS OR MAKE THEM THIS WAS SO SO BAD DID NOT WORK AT ALL....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

09/12/2013
By ,
Orlando
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has absolutely NO phone customer service to talk with, you have to do chat or email. I have tried to port my number for over a month and this company keeps saying they cant port my number and cancelling my request to port. VERY FRUSTRATING not being able to talk to someone and resolve issues. Sorry I wasted my money on it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 499 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next