Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(513 Reviews) 481
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
350
4 stars
86
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
51
Customer Recommendation87%448 out of 513reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,243 Questions | 2,056 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
350
4 stars
86
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
51
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Initial impression

05/17/2013
By ,
Tracy, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Right now I'm not impressed. I bought this because my OOMA internet phone was not reliable. Sometimes it would not call out or recieve calls but at least it had good reception. So I tried this BasicTalk one, if I use it with my wireless base home phone I get all kinds of static and pops and crackles. Even after moving it far away from my router and wireless phone as suggested by support. I then tried it with a basic phone, not a wireless phone and it works that way without static but I was still not impressed with the voice quality. I guess I will try a another wireless base phone system and see if that helps. If it does help I will update this review.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+153points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Customer Avatar
Say what?
Posted 10/20/2013
'Sometimes it would not call out or receive calls but at least it had good reception.' I'm confused!
0points
Customer Avatar
Hammond, IN
Posted 07/13/2013
You need to move to a DECT 6 phone. Walmart has quite a few at very reasonable prices.
0points
Customer Avatar
NY, NY
Service in California
Posted 06/21/2013
It seems there is no economical way to get good phone service here in California.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Fileter on phone line?
Posted 05/31/2013
Do you have a phone line filter in your home? I had problems with my phone because one of the filters went bad. It wasn't my phone. You might want to check into that first. :)
+2points
Customer Avatar
Tracy, CA
two weeks
Posted 05/30/2013
Two weeks after installing and I have just set up a timer plug on the phone device so that it will power off/on everyday. Evidently this is necessary otherwise every day or two I get "device not registared" message and can not dial out and people can not dial in. After I power it off/on it is fine for another day or two. I setup the timer plug to cycle it while I'm sleeping.
+5points
Customer Avatar
Altamonte Springs, FL
Cordless Phones & Wireless Internet Routers
Posted 05/20/2013
The problem this person had was most likely using a 2.4Ghz cordless phone with a wireless internet router which also uses 2.4Ghz frequencies to function, hence interference, aka static and crackles. Most routers are 2.4Ghz so the solution is to make sure the phone is not. Most cheap cordless phones are 2.4Ghz. There are better 5.8Ghz phones which do not have the interference, aka crackles and static issues. That is what you must realize when you have a wireless router and a cordless phone.
+30points
Customer Avatar
Tracy, CA
New phone fixed problem
Posted 05/18/2013
I can not edit the review above so I'll just post a comment. I bought a new phone and then the basictalk device worked fine. Both phones were Uniden. The new phone that works well with the basictalk is model D1788-2. So I'm glad it works now but I did have to spend $80 to replace my phone with a new model. So basically some phone's will work ok with this basictalk and some will not from my experiance.
+39points
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Review 2 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
05/22/2013
By ,
Daytona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont get this buy Magic Jack it work better you dont have to have the computer on
plus if you have a friend overseas send them one and they can call the US for Free
and after the 1st you can get 5 years for 100 bucks
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-141points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Good luck with yours
Posted 10/12/2013
I have had Magic Jack plus for 2 yrs. I decided to pay year by year instead of the 5 year plan. Glad I did. True, it is around $100 for 5 yrs, but didn't know if I would be happy so the higher price per year was my option. I also paid around $25 extra to port my number to MJ when I signed up. For the 1st year, I was happy...until time to pay my annual fee. In addition to this fee, they were also adding an additional $20-25 charge just to keep MY number that I had already paid them to port.
Within the last 6 months, I have found out that I am missing calls from several businesses and offices. These include schools, banks, doctor's offices, and state offices. Basically any sort of business that uses a switchboard cannot get thru to my number. I can call it from a cell or any home phone but not a business. I had to "chat" with MJ online because they don't have a support number. I felt like I was chatting with "Peggy" from Pakistan. All her answers sounded scripted. They actually wanted the phone numbers that these places used to try to contact me. I supplied it to them and they claimed the problem would be resolved. Here I am 3 months later and the school still can't call my house, nor can any of the others. They are having to use my cell instead.
True, MJ may have a cheaper rate, but their hidden charges will eat you up. I have even heard they want to charge you $30 just to port your number from them after you paid them to port your same number to them. Also, I can filter my own calls instead of them not allowing important calls to reach me.
+1point
Customer Avatar
GA
pc does not need to be on
Posted 06/17/2013
You do not need to have your computer on in order to use the phone, it works through your router, not your computer. I've had mine hooked up for a week now and have had no problems what so ever.
+11points
Customer Avatar
NY, NY
Magic JackPlus-Disappointing at best
Posted 05/30/2013
I think that MagicJack should let people know that their device isn't the be all end all.
I have one and the service is horrible, so horrible, I pay verizon for a landline again.
The only thing that doesn't fail with MagicJack is the voicemail-I've gotten that to work with no problem.
+12points
Customer Avatar
denver
Not entirely accurate
Posted 05/29/2013
You do NOT need a computer turned on to use this service- works with your internet modem and a phone. I do not make calls overseas so I don't know abut that part.
+17points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 3 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Poor performance + Poor support

06/09/2013
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PROS: Initial investment of only $10 for the box, and 1st month of service free.
CONS: I spent 3 days trying to get the box connected consistently, and I was only able to make one call before the box lost its connection. No, the problem was NOT my router (I tried 3 different routers). No, the problem was NOT my modem (3 different modems). No, the problem was NOT my ISP (2 different ISP's at 3 locations#.
I tried getting support through their chat sessions #no phone support avalable). Takes too long for you to go through the same steps, only to still not have a working phone. And no support on weekends? Unacceptible.
Now, I've been trying for 2 days to cancel the service, and after entering data on several pages, the final confirmation page continues to fail with the following error: "We're sorry. We are not able to display your data at this time. Please try again later." Thankfully, I still have 26 days before they try to charge me again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Problems porting my number

07/02/2013
By ,
Saint Augustine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews on this device and thought it was worth a shot. I previously had Vonage, which worked well at home only I didn't like paying $17.xx for LIMITED minutes each month. (I had only 300 minutes I could call out#. Basica Talk sounded like a win win option.
Day one was great. Call quality was awesome and clear. I decided to port my home number and then that's when I had problems. It was VERY frustrating to say the least. Here are the issues I found:
PROS: Unlimited minutes #within reason if you read the fine print)
$9.99 plus taxes/fees comes out to about $12 a month
Clear all quality
CONS: Technical issues not resolved on weekends
No toll free number to speak with a representative and/or tech support!
No 24 hour support in case you have questions or need assistance with technical issues
Can only EMAIL or CHAT with a representative from 9am
I'm switching to Google Voice! Just ordered my adapter from Amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
FYI
Posted 02/23/2014
If you bought an OBIxxx phone adapter be aware that OBI will no longer support Google Voice after May 15, 2014. :-(
0points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta
Flack52
Posted 07/02/2013
I was a also little disappointed with the lack of an 800# for support, just an online chat service or email. I had a small glitch during setup, and then realized that I had to use the chat to resolve it. But the "guy" I chatted with gave me the right solution to my problem and I was able to take care of it on my own. Unfortunately, it's getting more and more difficult to talk with real people to get help with tech problems. It's the way of the world, I s'pose.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

no good

07/28/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has not worked all day for any one day since I have had it, about a month. At its worst I have to reboot it everytime I make a call... sometimes it will stay on for an hour or so, then I have to reboot it again. I have contaced and been helped by customer support several times to no avail. Will try one more time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

You Get What You Pay For!

08/06/2013
By ,
Manchester, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the Basic Talk service and had it shipped using the expedited ship method. I received the box on Friday, Aug 2, 2013 and hooked it up. It seemed to be working, all the lights were on and I had a dial tone. Great, I was happy. What I didn't know is the service quit on Friday and was not on all weekend or Monday, August 5, 2013. I missed calls on Saturday and Sunday, and also on Monday. I got this service to keep a home phone for business calls and doctors. On Monday, August 5th, I realized that the service was not working. I got online (NO PHONE NUMBER TO CALL!!) and waited for over 45 mins for a Customer Support Rep. He told me to reboot my modem and the box, and reconnect, etc. The box still did not work. I went back online and got the same response, reboot the modem and box. Tuesday, August 6, 2013 the box still did not work so I called my internet provider and they told me that there was nothing wrong with my modem, that it was the Basic Talk service. I went online again, and this time I waited for a very long time and never got a Rep, so I gave up. I really liked the idea of having a cheaper way to have a home phone, as I have a prepaid cell as well, but thought it would be great to have a cheap alternative for a home phone. I was very disappointed. I have cancelled my service, since the box only worked for (I am not sure for how long), a short amount of time on Friday, August 2, 2013. I am going back to the phone company and get their phone service. I need something dependable and I don't like waiting for over an hour for Customer Service and then giving up. This service is not dependable to me and really not worth the hassle for $10 per month. Try it if you'd like, some people said that it was good for them, but my experience was not.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Think you want to switch from Vonage? IT IS VONAGE

08/08/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Basic is right. Make calls, receive calls. Beware there are TONS of fine print that are not on the outside of the box and you don't see them until the last page after they have gotten all your information such as credit/debit information. They say they can limit "unreasonable length calls, excessive calls to conference calls" and a whole host of others. They can run credit checks on you (unusual for prepaid services). THERE is NO call blocking, NO private number availability, and a whole host of other "normal" services offered by other providers. I attempted to paste the fine print below but it is too long. BUYER BEWARE WHAT YOU ARE SIGNING UP FOR. READ THE FINE PRINT.
The last line of their TOS says:
Vonage America, Inc. is registered to do business in multiple states under the BasicTalk brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maryland
It's Only $9.99!
Posted 01/17/2014
BasicTalk. Basic, right? You want bells and whistles, you're going to have to pay for it. Voicemail, caller ID and call waiting are enough for me. As far as the limitations, they are the same as Vonage (big surprise!) and Vonage costs more. Well worth the money!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Excellent Product

08/08/2013
By ,
Tucson
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The item I purchased from Walmart was defective, The company (Vonage) sent a replacement & it has worked flawlessly. Sound quality is excellent. I ported my land line number to the Basic Talk, and anyone calling doesn't know this is a VOIP phone. Very easy to install & to port phone number. Great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This item does NOT work with satellite!

08/17/2013
By ,
Latta, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the whole thing up and ready to go when I got the pop up that stated "this item does not work with satellite". I have Dish Network, which is satellite, and I have no intention of changing just to have this phone system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Don't blame Basic Talk
Posted 10/12/2013
Don't blame Basic Talk for the issue. The problem is satellite internet. With satellite, you have lag from the signal having to go from your house, to the satellite, and then back to the ground at their receiving station. Satellite is fine if you have no other option for internet, but you are transmitting a signal from your house 22,000 miles into space and then the same distance back to earth.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/30/2013
By ,
Natrona Heights, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The value of Basic Talk phone service is a LOT better than Vonage!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/31/2013
By ,
BARTLESVILLE, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
could NOT GET CALLS OR MAKE THEM THIS WAS SO SO BAD DID NOT WORK AT ALL....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BUYER BEWARE!

09/10/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I switched my number to BasicTalk two months ago and it has been a nightmare. Before installing the equipment I called their customer service people (in India) to make sure transferring my number would not cancel my DSL. They said no problem, we do it all the time. WRONG. When my number transferred my DSL was cancelled. I immediately started working on getting my number back. BasicTalk ignored or denied every request AT&T made for the return of my number. It took eight weeks for BasicTalk to release my number back. Every email exchange with customer service needed multiple attempts, as their reps routinely provided answers that did not pertain to my problems.
Think very hard before switching to BasicTalk, because switching back is unbelievably difficult, and there's no real customer service.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Port Orchard, WA
You called them?
Posted 09/21/2013
Please post the number, have found no customer service numbers other than a cancellation number.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

still be charged

09/10/2013
By ,
western mass
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had hopes this service was decent...buyer beware.. I cancelled and am still being charged on my credit card... and there is NO phone number to call to contest and I can't email them since I no longer have an account...they don't bother to tell you, you can't make international calls...and the voice mail setup is awful...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
Here's the solution to the credit card issue.
Posted 07/19/2014
Get a credit card from BofA or Citi that allows you to use virtual credit card numbers (called Shopsafe at Bofa). It gives you a new credit card number that you can limit the amount and duration. Once the limits are reached nobody can continue charging your card if you cancel the service. If you want to keep the service you can extend the duration and increase the dollar limit. You never risk more than $25.
0points
Customer Avatar
Port Orchard, WA
Billing problems
Posted 09/21/2013
Here is their toll free billing number 1-866-382-3770, it was in the disconnect section.
Also, if they continue to charge you contact your credit card company and have them put a stop payment on further transactions with that company.
+6points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

09/12/2013
By ,
Orlando
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has absolutely NO phone customer service to talk with, you have to do chat or email. I have tried to port my number for over a month and this company keeps saying they cant port my number and cancelling my request to port. VERY FRUSTRATING not being able to talk to someone and resolve issues. Sorry I wasted my money on it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
09/23/2013
By ,
riverdale, ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i could never get this product to work which was very disappointing .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk

09/24/2013
By ,
Woodstock, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this device to use with my computer. I hooked up the device the next day could not open my computer. I picked up my phone there was a message saying "check your Internet to see if connection is completed." I could get a telephone connection beyond that message
I took my computer to my Computer Technician Computer Company. He connected to Basic Talk on the computer was told he would have to go to the 3rd Step Technician at Basic Talk to find out about the computer connection. The transfer telephone number was going to happen on 9/18. No one could call me on this Basic Talk connection "would hear a woman's voice saying "try your call later temporarily unavailable". I tried to get a phone call to family/friends the CID window said call was out of the area" so none of my people would pick up. Canceled service have to wait to be re-connected to ECC service. There is no phone number to call Customer Service only e-mail.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oxnard, CA
Are you sure you got a basic talk device?
Posted 11/17/2013
You say you tried to connect it with your computer but this is a stand alone device that connects directly into your router. So I am not sure why you took your computer to a computer technician since this device is independent from your computer. I have a feeling you get NetTalk and not Basic Talk.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
10/09/2013
By ,
Tucker Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I couldn't log into the basic talk website to register and get the number.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

DO NOT buy this

10/17/2013
By ,
Statesville, North carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst service ever! I purchased the unit and hooked it up, within ten minutes we had phone service. Then I submitted the phone number transfer form, then you have to wait at least 10 days for your previous number to transfer over to Basictalk. 3 days later we were told that our phone company would not transfer because the account number/address was incorrect. We reentered the information (although it was already correct) FOUR TIMES. And each time we got the same result, Basictalk said that the phone company was refusing to transfer because our info was "wrong." We spoke to "customer service agents" through a chat window and they would say "We fixed the problem and are waiting for the transfer to go through." Meanwhile, wondering if our old phone company was really refusing to transfer the number, we gave them a call. Three different people, two on the phone and one in person said that they NEVER received a request from basictalk for the number transfer. We looked them up on Better Business Bureau and found out that Basictalk which is actually a device from Vonage and they are not accredited. Also many other people had this same problem, one guy even spent a YEAR before they finally transferred his number. Also, in the fine print on their website, they have a policy about "Reasonable Use,
You cannot make short calls, calls longer than 1 hour, people who do not live with you cannot use your phone, and they say that their service is "Unlimited" but that's only if you don't call anyone at all. If your use is not "Reasonable" they will shutdown your service. I would NOT recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Couldn't even get a dial tone.

10/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Despite an hour on the phone with two tech support helpers, we couldn't even get a dial tone. I went back to my previous VOIP provider. Dagnabbit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Tired of dealing with chat and email

11/07/2013
By ,
parksley, virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend this product I have been trying to receive incoming calls with Basic Talk for 6 days now. There support has no idea what is going on. There is no phone number to call for help just chat and email. They are trying to say that it is phone of my family member that are trying to call me and not there product. Now I think that is a flat out lie. I can call out but that is it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 482 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next