Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.29 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(517 Reviews) 485
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
351
4 stars
86
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
54
Customer Recommendation87%449 out of 517reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,269 Questions | 2,073 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
351
4 stars
86
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
54
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

no good

07/28/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has not worked all day for any one day since I have had it, about a month. At its worst I have to reboot it everytime I make a call... sometimes it will stay on for an hour or so, then I have to reboot it again. I have contaced and been helped by customer support several times to no avail. Will try one more time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

You Get What You Pay For!

08/06/2013
By ,
Manchester, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the Basic Talk service and had it shipped using the expedited ship method. I received the box on Friday, Aug 2, 2013 and hooked it up. It seemed to be working, all the lights were on and I had a dial tone. Great, I was happy. What I didn't know is the service quit on Friday and was not on all weekend or Monday, August 5, 2013. I missed calls on Saturday and Sunday, and also on Monday. I got this service to keep a home phone for business calls and doctors. On Monday, August 5th, I realized that the service was not working. I got online (NO PHONE NUMBER TO CALL!!) and waited for over 45 mins for a Customer Support Rep. He told me to reboot my modem and the box, and reconnect, etc. The box still did not work. I went back online and got the same response, reboot the modem and box. Tuesday, August 6, 2013 the box still did not work so I called my internet provider and they told me that there was nothing wrong with my modem, that it was the Basic Talk service. I went online again, and this time I waited for a very long time and never got a Rep, so I gave up. I really liked the idea of having a cheaper way to have a home phone, as I have a prepaid cell as well, but thought it would be great to have a cheap alternative for a home phone. I was very disappointed. I have cancelled my service, since the box only worked for (I am not sure for how long), a short amount of time on Friday, August 2, 2013. I am going back to the phone company and get their phone service. I need something dependable and I don't like waiting for over an hour for Customer Service and then giving up. This service is not dependable to me and really not worth the hassle for $10 per month. Try it if you'd like, some people said that it was good for them, but my experience was not.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

WILL RETURN SOON; NO LOCAL PHONE # AVAILABLE

12/06/2013
By ,
MADISON, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THERE IS NO LOCAL PHONE NUMBER AVAILABLE TO ME SO I WILL BE RETURNING THIS PRODUCT VERY SOON.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great price poor quality, poor customer service

11/27/2013
By ,
Warren OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great price but the sound is very crackly. People I call tell me my voice cuts out and it has dropped several calls. I have had problems calling numbers. After calling my Mom numerous times it suspended me from calling her number anymore. I couldn't reach anyone via phone for customer support. After 2 days finally got an email back and the issue is resolved. If you can't afford regular phone service this is a great price. But you get what you pay for. I would not recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Not reliable!

02/28/2014
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We are having a lot of problems, no dial tone, lost calls, calls not coming through. Sometimes if the call does come through it is so much static we cant hear a thing. Not keeping it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Problems porting my number

07/02/2013
By ,
Saint Augustine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews on this device and thought it was worth a shot. I previously had Vonage, which worked well at home only I didn't like paying $17.xx for LIMITED minutes each month. (I had only 300 minutes I could call out#. Basica Talk sounded like a win win option.
Day one was great. Call quality was awesome and clear. I decided to port my home number and then that's when I had problems. It was VERY frustrating to say the least. Here are the issues I found:
PROS: Unlimited minutes #within reason if you read the fine print)
$9.99 plus taxes/fees comes out to about $12 a month
Clear all quality
CONS: Technical issues not resolved on weekends
No toll free number to speak with a representative and/or tech support!
No 24 hour support in case you have questions or need assistance with technical issues
Can only EMAIL or CHAT with a representative from 9am
I'm switching to Google Voice! Just ordered my adapter from Amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
FYI
Posted 02/23/2014
If you bought an OBIxxx phone adapter be aware that OBI will no longer support Google Voice after May 15, 2014. :-(
0points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta
Flack52
Posted 07/02/2013
I was a also little disappointed with the lack of an 800# for support, just an online chat service or email. I had a small glitch during setup, and then realized that I had to use the chat to resolve it. But the "guy" I chatted with gave me the right solution to my problem and I was able to take care of it on my own. Unfortunately, it's getting more and more difficult to talk with real people to get help with tech problems. It's the way of the world, I s'pose.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

still be charged

09/10/2013
By ,
western mass
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had hopes this service was decent...buyer beware.. I cancelled and am still being charged on my credit card... and there is NO phone number to call to contest and I can't email them since I no longer have an account...they don't bother to tell you, you can't make international calls...and the voice mail setup is awful...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
Here's the solution to the credit card issue.
Posted 07/19/2014
Get a credit card from BofA or Citi that allows you to use virtual credit card numbers (called Shopsafe at Bofa). It gives you a new credit card number that you can limit the amount and duration. Once the limits are reached nobody can continue charging your card if you cancel the service. If you want to keep the service you can extend the duration and increase the dollar limit. You never risk more than $25.
0points
Customer Avatar
Port Orchard, WA
Billing problems
Posted 09/21/2013
Here is their toll free billing number 1-866-382-3770, it was in the disconnect section.
Also, if they continue to charge you contact your credit card company and have them put a stop payment on further transactions with that company.
+6points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This item does NOT work with satellite!

08/17/2013
By ,
Latta, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the whole thing up and ready to go when I got the pop up that stated "this item does not work with satellite". I have Dish Network, which is satellite, and I have no intention of changing just to have this phone system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Don't blame Basic Talk
Posted 10/12/2013
Don't blame Basic Talk for the issue. The problem is satellite internet. With satellite, you have lag from the signal having to go from your house, to the satellite, and then back to the ground at their receiving station. Satellite is fine if you have no other option for internet, but you are transmitting a signal from your house 22,000 miles into space and then the same distance back to earth.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Excellent Product

08/08/2013
By ,
Tucson
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The item I purchased from Walmart was defective, The company (Vonage) sent a replacement & it has worked flawlessly. Sound quality is excellent. I ported my land line number to the Basic Talk, and anyone calling doesn't know this is a VOIP phone. Very easy to install & to port phone number. Great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Disappointed

11/09/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was anxious to try BasicTalk but it was plagued by constant clicking. Sometimes a stretch of time would be ok but then it started in again. I went back and forth a number of times with their tech support trying everything and they finally sent me a new box but the problem remained. So I had to crawl back to my Time Warner phone service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

DO NOT buy this

10/17/2013
By ,
Statesville, North carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst service ever! I purchased the unit and hooked it up, within ten minutes we had phone service. Then I submitted the phone number transfer form, then you have to wait at least 10 days for your previous number to transfer over to Basictalk. 3 days later we were told that our phone company would not transfer because the account number/address was incorrect. We reentered the information (although it was already correct) FOUR TIMES. And each time we got the same result, Basictalk said that the phone company was refusing to transfer because our info was "wrong." We spoke to "customer service agents" through a chat window and they would say "We fixed the problem and are waiting for the transfer to go through." Meanwhile, wondering if our old phone company was really refusing to transfer the number, we gave them a call. Three different people, two on the phone and one in person said that they NEVER received a request from basictalk for the number transfer. We looked them up on Better Business Bureau and found out that Basictalk which is actually a device from Vonage and they are not accredited. Also many other people had this same problem, one guy even spent a YEAR before they finally transferred his number. Also, in the fine print on their website, they have a policy about "Reasonable Use,
You cannot make short calls, calls longer than 1 hour, people who do not live with you cannot use your phone, and they say that their service is "Unlimited" but that's only if you don't call anyone at all. If your use is not "Reasonable" they will shutdown your service. I would NOT recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Hidden Flaws

12/21/2013
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After doing some research on this device, it occurred to me that in the event of a power outage, my phone would not work since it works through internet and a wifi router (Which require internet to run). After thinking about how I use my phone, this means that in the event of an emergency, I would not have a reliable landline phone that could not be affected by weather. Even cell phones during high volume times can not get through due to limited network access.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Utah
Emergency phone service
Posted 01/14/2014
In a real wide-spread emergency event, regular telephone service is not guaranteed either. I have been involved with emergency communications planning at an organization where 10's of thousands of people are on-site each day. All forms of communications are flooded during any large emergency.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This is a piece of junk that does not work at all

02/14/2014
By ,
Longwood, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You can get a dial tone and try to make calls but all you get are busy signals regardless of the number you call.
This is junk and you should not sell it, makes you look bad. I would love to get my $15.44 back that I paid for this garbage and you need to discontinue selling this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Customer Service Non-Existence

07/30/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the device on 7/19. The next day I sent an email with a tech support question. Still haven't gotten a response.
So far the service works and it's cheap so I'll keep it for a while until I see what else comes along.
But if you want customer service, go elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Could not keep my phone number.

10/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am going to return this phone because I can't keep my phone number. Help site was worthless.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Phone service is out often

03/09/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We switched to this service because it is less than a 1/3 of what the phone company charges, but it's really garbage. The phone service is "temporarily unavailable" a lot; I keep getting people telling me they've been calling and my phone is "out". It happens mostly on Sundays, right now I've had no service for over 24 hours.
The connection cuts out at times while I'm on the phone.
Since the service appears to be Vonage under another name there is no point in trying Vonage for a higher price. This service is cheap in every sense of the word.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
05/22/2013
By ,
Daytona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont get this buy Magic Jack it work better you dont have to have the computer on
plus if you have a friend overseas send them one and they can call the US for Free
and after the 1st you can get 5 years for 100 bucks
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-142points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Good luck with yours
Posted 10/12/2013
I have had Magic Jack plus for 2 yrs. I decided to pay year by year instead of the 5 year plan. Glad I did. True, it is around $100 for 5 yrs, but didn't know if I would be happy so the higher price per year was my option. I also paid around $25 extra to port my number to MJ when I signed up. For the 1st year, I was happy...until time to pay my annual fee. In addition to this fee, they were also adding an additional $20-25 charge just to keep MY number that I had already paid them to port.
Within the last 6 months, I have found out that I am missing calls from several businesses and offices. These include schools, banks, doctor's offices, and state offices. Basically any sort of business that uses a switchboard cannot get thru to my number. I can call it from a cell or any home phone but not a business. I had to "chat" with MJ online because they don't have a support number. I felt like I was chatting with "Peggy" from Pakistan. All her answers sounded scripted. They actually wanted the phone numbers that these places used to try to contact me. I supplied it to them and they claimed the problem would be resolved. Here I am 3 months later and the school still can't call my house, nor can any of the others. They are having to use my cell instead.
True, MJ may have a cheaper rate, but their hidden charges will eat you up. I have even heard they want to charge you $30 just to port your number from them after you paid them to port your same number to them. Also, I can filter my own calls instead of them not allowing important calls to reach me.
+1point
Customer Avatar
GA
pc does not need to be on
Posted 06/17/2013
You do not need to have your computer on in order to use the phone, it works through your router, not your computer. I've had mine hooked up for a week now and have had no problems what so ever.
+11points
Customer Avatar
NY, NY
Magic JackPlus-Disappointing at best
Posted 05/30/2013
I think that MagicJack should let people know that their device isn't the be all end all.
I have one and the service is horrible, so horrible, I pay verizon for a landline again.
The only thing that doesn't fail with MagicJack is the voicemail-I've gotten that to work with no problem.
+12points
Customer Avatar
denver
Not entirely accurate
Posted 05/29/2013
You do NOT need a computer turned on to use this service- works with your internet modem and a phone. I do not make calls overseas so I don't know abut that part.
+17points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 18 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Couldn't even get a dial tone.

10/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Despite an hour on the phone with two tech support helpers, we couldn't even get a dial tone. I went back to my previous VOIP provider. Dagnabbit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
10/09/2013
By ,
Tucker Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I couldn't log into the basic talk website to register and get the number.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic???

05/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible!!! Very confusing
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 486 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next