Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.332 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(434 Reviews) 402
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
302
4 stars
69
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
43
Customer Recommendation88%381 out of 434reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,110 Questions | 1,879 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
302
4 stars
69
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
43
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
09/23/2013
By ,
riverdale, ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i could never get this product to work which was very disappointing .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
10/09/2013
By ,
Tucker Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I couldn't log into the basic talk website to register and get the number.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

no good

07/28/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has not worked all day for any one day since I have had it, about a month. At its worst I have to reboot it everytime I make a call... sometimes it will stay on for an hour or so, then I have to reboot it again. I have contaced and been helped by customer support several times to no avail. Will try one more time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Do not order basic talk

11/12/2013
By ,
Berwyn IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered basic talk and thought I was getting a great deal unfortunately I am very unhappy with this service. There are clicking sounds all while I am talking and when I went to support to ask for assistance my password was not accepted. I changed it and still could not get any help. This service is not worth the aggravation. Don't bother purchasing it. Awful service.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Bad Audio

03/22/2014
By ,
Yakima, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For some reason my Centurylink DSL Modem did not like the Basic Talk system. We had very bad audio, it was not clear as they claim. We called Service Support and they configured the Basic Talk box and it rebooted and we were clear as a bell. Within 24 hours the audio is bad again, another call to Basic talk and after a reboot the audio was clear. It didn't stay clear 24 hours, I even just try to reboot the box but that didn't work.
We returned the Basic Talk for a full refund, except the $1.50 for 911 I had to pay upon activation.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Excellent Product

08/08/2013
By ,
Tucson
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The item I purchased from Walmart was defective, The company (Vonage) sent a replacement & it has worked flawlessly. Sound quality is excellent. I ported my land line number to the Basic Talk, and anyone calling doesn't know this is a VOIP phone. Very easy to install & to port phone number. Great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I wish i could say very poor

02/08/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased my device from Wal-mart, it worked one full day after that absolutely nothing happens! Can't hear a dial tone or anything, no call center to speak with so i sent a request to them the sent out another device through the mail, same results. I liked the fact that it's a great deal but I've had my service now for 3 weeks and of the 3 weeks it only worked 2 days!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Worked great for 4 months, then ....

03/08/2014
By ,
Woodbury, N.J.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
easy to install, worked great for 4 months, then lost it's connectivity.My modem, internet, and phone was all fine til this happened leaving me without a landline for 1 month. Support doesn't mention about getting a bad box. Went back to comcast, now all is working fine. Don't want to pay more but need a reliable phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Disappointed

11/09/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was anxious to try BasicTalk but it was plagued by constant clicking. Sometimes a stretch of time would be ok but then it started in again. I went back and forth a number of times with their tech support trying everything and they finally sent me a new box but the problem remained. So I had to crawl back to my Time Warner phone service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

You Get What You Pay For!

08/06/2013
By ,
Manchester, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the Basic Talk service and had it shipped using the expedited ship method. I received the box on Friday, Aug 2, 2013 and hooked it up. It seemed to be working, all the lights were on and I had a dial tone. Great, I was happy. What I didn't know is the service quit on Friday and was not on all weekend or Monday, August 5, 2013. I missed calls on Saturday and Sunday, and also on Monday. I got this service to keep a home phone for business calls and doctors. On Monday, August 5th, I realized that the service was not working. I got online (NO PHONE NUMBER TO CALL!!) and waited for over 45 mins for a Customer Support Rep. He told me to reboot my modem and the box, and reconnect, etc. The box still did not work. I went back online and got the same response, reboot the modem and box. Tuesday, August 6, 2013 the box still did not work so I called my internet provider and they told me that there was nothing wrong with my modem, that it was the Basic Talk service. I went online again, and this time I waited for a very long time and never got a Rep, so I gave up. I really liked the idea of having a cheaper way to have a home phone, as I have a prepaid cell as well, but thought it would be great to have a cheap alternative for a home phone. I was very disappointed. I have cancelled my service, since the box only worked for (I am not sure for how long), a short amount of time on Friday, August 2, 2013. I am going back to the phone company and get their phone service. I need something dependable and I don't like waiting for over an hour for Customer Service and then giving up. This service is not dependable to me and really not worth the hassle for $10 per month. Try it if you'd like, some people said that it was good for them, but my experience was not.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This item does NOT work with satellite!

08/17/2013
By ,
Latta, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the whole thing up and ready to go when I got the pop up that stated "this item does not work with satellite". I have Dish Network, which is satellite, and I have no intention of changing just to have this phone system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Don't blame Basic Talk
Posted 10/12/2013
Don't blame Basic Talk for the issue. The problem is satellite internet. With satellite, you have lag from the signal having to go from your house, to the satellite, and then back to the ground at their receiving station. Satellite is fine if you have no other option for internet, but you are transmitting a signal from your house 22,000 miles into space and then the same distance back to earth.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/30/2013
By ,
Natrona Heights, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The value of Basic Talk phone service is a LOT better than Vonage!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

09/12/2013
By ,
Orlando
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has absolutely NO phone customer service to talk with, you have to do chat or email. I have tried to port my number for over a month and this company keeps saying they cant port my number and cancelling my request to port. VERY FRUSTRATING not being able to talk to someone and resolve issues. Sorry I wasted my money on it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

DO NOT buy this

10/17/2013
By ,
Statesville, North carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst service ever! I purchased the unit and hooked it up, within ten minutes we had phone service. Then I submitted the phone number transfer form, then you have to wait at least 10 days for your previous number to transfer over to Basictalk. 3 days later we were told that our phone company would not transfer because the account number/address was incorrect. We reentered the information (although it was already correct) FOUR TIMES. And each time we got the same result, Basictalk said that the phone company was refusing to transfer because our info was "wrong." We spoke to "customer service agents" through a chat window and they would say "We fixed the problem and are waiting for the transfer to go through." Meanwhile, wondering if our old phone company was really refusing to transfer the number, we gave them a call. Three different people, two on the phone and one in person said that they NEVER received a request from basictalk for the number transfer. We looked them up on Better Business Bureau and found out that Basictalk which is actually a device from Vonage and they are not accredited. Also many other people had this same problem, one guy even spent a YEAR before they finally transferred his number. Also, in the fine print on their website, they have a policy about "Reasonable Use,
You cannot make short calls, calls longer than 1 hour, people who do not live with you cannot use your phone, and they say that their service is "Unlimited" but that's only if you don't call anyone at all. If your use is not "Reasonable" they will shutdown your service. I would NOT recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Couldn't even get a dial tone.

10/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Despite an hour on the phone with two tech support helpers, we couldn't even get a dial tone. I went back to my previous VOIP provider. Dagnabbit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

WILL RETURN SOON; NO LOCAL PHONE # AVAILABLE

12/06/2013
By ,
MADISON, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THERE IS NO LOCAL PHONE NUMBER AVAILABLE TO ME SO I WILL BE RETURNING THIS PRODUCT VERY SOON.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Bought this for my son

12/19/2013
By ,
Bernhards Bay NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OK we set it up got our dial tone and all it rings in BUT u cannot hear the people they only hear hello then it breaks up and nothing..
WHAT CAN BE WRONG!!
WE done all it says they took our money on a credit card 17 plus dollars and this phone wont work at all.
NO phone number to call to talk to anyone and YES we disconnected the fire wall on the PC.
HELP HELP what can we do!!!!!!
OMG we cannot use this PRODUCT cause it don't work!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great Idea, Sorry Product.

02/10/2014
By ,
St. Augustine, Fl.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a basic talk at the walmart store. brought it home and plugged it in. Easy enough. But it only worked for a few weeks.
Went on line and for about an hour or two discussed this with an agent and he finally decided to send me a replacement. It finally arrived and I plugged it in and it worked but only for a day long enough for them to with draw another payment.
went on line only to find out I then had to call to cancel and of course there is no refund. So NO I do not recommend this product. It sounded good, just what I needed but the product is shoddy along with their service. I am a 77 year old and live alone. I need a service I can rely on and this does not fit the bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic???

05/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible!!! Very confusing
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/31/2013
By ,
BARTLESVILLE, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
could NOT GET CALLS OR MAKE THEM THIS WAS SO SO BAD DID NOT WORK AT ALL....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 403 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next