Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(363 Reviews) 331
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
251
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation87%316 out of 363reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
942 Questions | 1,533 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
251
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

no good

07/28/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has not worked all day for any one day since I have had it, about a month. At its worst I have to reboot it everytime I make a call... sometimes it will stay on for an hour or so, then I have to reboot it again. I have contaced and been helped by customer support several times to no avail. Will try one more time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This item does NOT work with satellite!

08/17/2013
By ,
Latta, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the whole thing up and ready to go when I got the pop up that stated "this item does not work with satellite". I have Dish Network, which is satellite, and I have no intention of changing just to have this phone system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Don't blame Basic Talk
Posted 10/12/2013
Don't blame Basic Talk for the issue. The problem is satellite internet. With satellite, you have lag from the signal having to go from your house, to the satellite, and then back to the ground at their receiving station. Satellite is fine if you have no other option for internet, but you are transmitting a signal from your house 22,000 miles into space and then the same distance back to earth.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

still be charged

09/10/2013
By ,
western mass
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had hopes this service was decent...buyer beware.. I cancelled and am still being charged on my credit card... and there is NO phone number to call to contest and I can't email them since I no longer have an account...they don't bother to tell you, you can't make international calls...and the voice mail setup is awful...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Port Orchard, WA
Billing problems
Posted 09/21/2013
Here is their toll free billing number 1-866-382-3770, it was in the disconnect section.
Also, if they continue to charge you contact your credit card company and have them put a stop payment on further transactions with that company.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk

09/24/2013
By ,
Woodstock, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this device to use with my computer. I hooked up the device the next day could not open my computer. I picked up my phone there was a message saying "check your Internet to see if connection is completed." I could get a telephone connection beyond that message
I took my computer to my Computer Technician Computer Company. He connected to Basic Talk on the computer was told he would have to go to the 3rd Step Technician at Basic Talk to find out about the computer connection. The transfer telephone number was going to happen on 9/18. No one could call me on this Basic Talk connection "would hear a woman's voice saying "try your call later temporarily unavailable". I tried to get a phone call to family/friends the CID window said call was out of the area" so none of my people would pick up. Canceled service have to wait to be re-connected to ECC service. There is no phone number to call Customer Service only e-mail.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oxnard, CA
Are you sure you got a basic talk device?
Posted 11/17/2013
You say you tried to connect it with your computer but this is a stand alone device that connects directly into your router. So I am not sure why you took your computer to a computer technician since this device is independent from your computer. I have a feeling you get NetTalk and not Basic Talk.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Tired of dealing with chat and email

11/07/2013
By ,
parksley, virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend this product I have been trying to receive incoming calls with Basic Talk for 6 days now. There support has no idea what is going on. There is no phone number to call for help just chat and email. They are trying to say that it is phone of my family member that are trying to call me and not there product. Now I think that is a flat out lie. I can call out but that is it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Disappointed

11/09/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was anxious to try BasicTalk but it was plagued by constant clicking. Sometimes a stretch of time would be ok but then it started in again. I went back and forth a number of times with their tech support trying everything and they finally sent me a new box but the problem remained. So I had to crawl back to my Time Warner phone service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Do not order basic talk

11/12/2013
By ,
Berwyn IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered basic talk and thought I was getting a great deal unfortunately I am very unhappy with this service. There are clicking sounds all while I am talking and when I went to support to ask for assistance my password was not accepted. I changed it and still could not get any help. This service is not worth the aggravation. Don't bother purchasing it. Awful service.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great price poor quality, poor customer service

11/27/2013
By ,
Warren OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great price but the sound is very crackly. People I call tell me my voice cuts out and it has dropped several calls. I have had problems calling numbers. After calling my Mom numerous times it suspended me from calling her number anymore. I couldn't reach anyone via phone for customer support. After 2 days finally got an email back and the issue is resolved. If you can't afford regular phone service this is a great price. But you get what you pay for. I would not recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I wish i could say very poor

02/08/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased my device from Wal-mart, it worked one full day after that absolutely nothing happens! Can't hear a dial tone or anything, no call center to speak with so i sent a request to them the sent out another device through the mail, same results. I liked the fact that it's a great deal but I've had my service now for 3 weeks and of the 3 weeks it only worked 2 days!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

No customer service! Only online chat no phone

02/10/2014
By ,
Two Rivers, Wi.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What waste of $10.00 and the aggrevation was unbelievable. Good luck getting your same number. You start with a temporary number and they could care less if you get the number back that you may have had for many years. If you get to talk to a person from basic talk it's because they call you! You can not call them. The number comes up on caller ID when they call you is a bogus number that can not be called back. Oh and good luck understanding any of the people that do call unless you are from that country. This basic talk is affiliated with Vonage. It will cost a little over $12 a month. I cancelled them after 3 weeks of not transfering my number from my old carrier and went back to my old carrier at a cheaper rate than I was paying. And Happy again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great Idea, Sorry Product.

02/10/2014
By ,
St. Augustine, Fl.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a basic talk at the walmart store. brought it home and plugged it in. Easy enough. But it only worked for a few weeks.
Went on line and for about an hour or two discussed this with an agent and he finally decided to send me a replacement. It finally arrived and I plugged it in and it worked but only for a day long enough for them to with draw another payment.
went on line only to find out I then had to call to cancel and of course there is no refund. So NO I do not recommend this product. It sounded good, just what I needed but the product is shoddy along with their service. I am a 77 year old and live alone. I need a service I can rely on and this does not fit the bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This is a piece of junk that does not work at all

02/14/2014
By ,
Longwood, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You can get a dial tone and try to make calls but all you get are busy signals regardless of the number you call.
This is junk and you should not sell it, makes you look bad. I would love to get my $15.44 back that I paid for this garbage and you need to discontinue selling this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BUYER BEWARE!

09/10/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I switched my number to BasicTalk two months ago and it has been a nightmare. Before installing the equipment I called their customer service people (in India) to make sure transferring my number would not cancel my DSL. They said no problem, we do it all the time. WRONG. When my number transferred my DSL was cancelled. I immediately started working on getting my number back. BasicTalk ignored or denied every request AT&T made for the return of my number. It took eight weeks for BasicTalk to release my number back. Every email exchange with customer service needed multiple attempts, as their reps routinely provided answers that did not pertain to my problems.
Think very hard before switching to BasicTalk, because switching back is unbelievably difficult, and there's no real customer service.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Port Orchard, WA
You called them?
Posted 09/21/2013
Please post the number, have found no customer service numbers other than a cancellation number.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

instructions followed , voip does not work

02/08/2014
By ,
thomasville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have had alot of exp, with voip systems, used them even from china, i purchased this, went online to activate it , went smooth, instructions said wait at least 15 minutes before installing the hardware, i waited 40 minutes, installed hardware strictly as instructions said, unit is to blink 2 green light while it updates from the internet , this should take 5 min, per instructiions, well its been 2 hours and its still flashing and no phone , i think they have a server problem, uploading , installation software, , as the internet here is downloading at 50 megs, , dont waste your time and spend another .60usd, and 15 min. online , as it seems the hardware is working , but they can t get you the software to activate it to you online, , a magjicjack is better than this and thats not great, but it does work, , returning this today for refund, walmart should not even sell this , there is no customer support, and no recourse for basic talks software issues
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

You Get What You Pay For!

08/06/2013
By ,
Manchester, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the Basic Talk service and had it shipped using the expedited ship method. I received the box on Friday, Aug 2, 2013 and hooked it up. It seemed to be working, all the lights were on and I had a dial tone. Great, I was happy. What I didn't know is the service quit on Friday and was not on all weekend or Monday, August 5, 2013. I missed calls on Saturday and Sunday, and also on Monday. I got this service to keep a home phone for business calls and doctors. On Monday, August 5th, I realized that the service was not working. I got online (NO PHONE NUMBER TO CALL!!) and waited for over 45 mins for a Customer Support Rep. He told me to reboot my modem and the box, and reconnect, etc. The box still did not work. I went back online and got the same response, reboot the modem and box. Tuesday, August 6, 2013 the box still did not work so I called my internet provider and they told me that there was nothing wrong with my modem, that it was the Basic Talk service. I went online again, and this time I waited for a very long time and never got a Rep, so I gave up. I really liked the idea of having a cheaper way to have a home phone, as I have a prepaid cell as well, but thought it would be great to have a cheap alternative for a home phone. I was very disappointed. I have cancelled my service, since the box only worked for (I am not sure for how long), a short amount of time on Friday, August 2, 2013. I am going back to the phone company and get their phone service. I need something dependable and I don't like waiting for over an hour for Customer Service and then giving up. This service is not dependable to me and really not worth the hassle for $10 per month. Try it if you'd like, some people said that it was good for them, but my experience was not.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Think you want to switch from Vonage? IT IS VONAGE

08/08/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Basic is right. Make calls, receive calls. Beware there are TONS of fine print that are not on the outside of the box and you don't see them until the last page after they have gotten all your information such as credit/debit information. They say they can limit "unreasonable length calls, excessive calls to conference calls" and a whole host of others. They can run credit checks on you (unusual for prepaid services). THERE is NO call blocking, NO private number availability, and a whole host of other "normal" services offered by other providers. I attempted to paste the fine print below but it is too long. BUYER BEWARE WHAT YOU ARE SIGNING UP FOR. READ THE FINE PRINT.
The last line of their TOS says:
Vonage America, Inc. is registered to do business in multiple states under the BasicTalk brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maryland
It's Only $9.99!
Posted 01/17/2014
BasicTalk. Basic, right? You want bells and whistles, you're going to have to pay for it. Voicemail, caller ID and call waiting are enough for me. As far as the limitations, they are the same as Vonage (big surprise!) and Vonage costs more. Well worth the money!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

DO NOT buy this

10/17/2013
By ,
Statesville, North carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst service ever! I purchased the unit and hooked it up, within ten minutes we had phone service. Then I submitted the phone number transfer form, then you have to wait at least 10 days for your previous number to transfer over to Basictalk. 3 days later we were told that our phone company would not transfer because the account number/address was incorrect. We reentered the information (although it was already correct) FOUR TIMES. And each time we got the same result, Basictalk said that the phone company was refusing to transfer because our info was "wrong." We spoke to "customer service agents" through a chat window and they would say "We fixed the problem and are waiting for the transfer to go through." Meanwhile, wondering if our old phone company was really refusing to transfer the number, we gave them a call. Three different people, two on the phone and one in person said that they NEVER received a request from basictalk for the number transfer. We looked them up on Better Business Bureau and found out that Basictalk which is actually a device from Vonage and they are not accredited. Also many other people had this same problem, one guy even spent a YEAR before they finally transferred his number. Also, in the fine print on their website, they have a policy about "Reasonable Use,
You cannot make short calls, calls longer than 1 hour, people who do not live with you cannot use your phone, and they say that their service is "Unlimited" but that's only if you don't call anyone at all. If your use is not "Reasonable" they will shutdown your service. I would NOT recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Initial impression

05/17/2013
By ,
Tracy, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Right now I'm not impressed. I bought this because my OOMA internet phone was not reliable. Sometimes it would not call out or recieve calls but at least it had good reception. So I tried this BasicTalk one, if I use it with my wireless base home phone I get all kinds of static and pops and crackles. Even after moving it far away from my router and wireless phone as suggested by support. I then tried it with a basic phone, not a wireless phone and it works that way without static but I was still not impressed with the voice quality. I guess I will try a another wireless base phone system and see if that helps. If it does help I will update this review.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+143points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Customer Avatar
Say what?
Posted 10/20/2013
'Sometimes it would not call out or receive calls but at least it had good reception.' I'm confused!
0points
Customer Avatar
Hammond, IN
Posted 07/13/2013
You need to move to a DECT 6 phone. Walmart has quite a few at very reasonable prices.
0points
Customer Avatar
NY, NY
Service in California
Posted 06/21/2013
It seems there is no economical way to get good phone service here in California.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Fileter on phone line?
Posted 05/31/2013
Do you have a phone line filter in your home? I had problems with my phone because one of the filters went bad. It wasn't my phone. You might want to check into that first. :)
+2points
Customer Avatar
Tracy, CA
two weeks
Posted 05/30/2013
Two weeks after installing and I have just set up a timer plug on the phone device so that it will power off/on everyday. Evidently this is necessary otherwise every day or two I get "device not registared" message and can not dial out and people can not dial in. After I power it off/on it is fine for another day or two. I setup the timer plug to cycle it while I'm sleeping.
+5points
Customer Avatar
Altamonte Springs, FL
Cordless Phones & Wireless Internet Routers
Posted 05/20/2013
The problem this person had was most likely using a 2.4Ghz cordless phone with a wireless internet router which also uses 2.4Ghz frequencies to function, hence interference, aka static and crackles. Most routers are 2.4Ghz so the solution is to make sure the phone is not. Most cheap cordless phones are 2.4Ghz. There are better 5.8Ghz phones which do not have the interference, aka crackles and static issues. That is what you must realize when you have a wireless router and a cordless phone.
+30points
Customer Avatar
Tracy, CA
New phone fixed problem
Posted 05/18/2013
I can not edit the review above so I'll just post a comment. I bought a new phone and then the basictalk device worked fine. Both phones were Uniden. The new phone that works well with the basictalk is model D1788-2. So I'm glad it works now but I did have to spend $80 to replace my phone with a new model. So basically some phone's will work ok with this basictalk and some will not from my experiance.
+39points
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Review 19 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Poor performance + Poor support

06/09/2013
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PROS: Initial investment of only $10 for the box, and 1st month of service free.
CONS: I spent 3 days trying to get the box connected consistently, and I was only able to make one call before the box lost its connection. No, the problem was NOT my router (I tried 3 different routers). No, the problem was NOT my modem (3 different modems). No, the problem was NOT my ISP (2 different ISP's at 3 locations#.
I tried getting support through their chat sessions #no phone support avalable). Takes too long for you to go through the same steps, only to still not have a working phone. And no support on weekends? Unacceptible.
Now, I've been trying for 2 days to cancel the service, and after entering data on several pages, the final confirmation page continues to fail with the following error: "We're sorry. We are not able to display your data at this time. Please try again later." Thankfully, I still have 26 days before they try to charge me again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Problems porting my number

07/02/2013
By ,
Saint Augustine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews on this device and thought it was worth a shot. I previously had Vonage, which worked well at home only I didn't like paying $17.xx for LIMITED minutes each month. (I had only 300 minutes I could call out#. Basica Talk sounded like a win win option.
Day one was great. Call quality was awesome and clear. I decided to port my home number and then that's when I had problems. It was VERY frustrating to say the least. Here are the issues I found:
PROS: Unlimited minutes #within reason if you read the fine print)
$9.99 plus taxes/fees comes out to about $12 a month
Clear all quality
CONS: Technical issues not resolved on weekends
No toll free number to speak with a representative and/or tech support!
No 24 hour support in case you have questions or need assistance with technical issues
Can only EMAIL or CHAT with a representative from 9am
I'm switching to Google Voice! Just ordered my adapter from Amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
FYI
Posted 02/23/2014
If you bought an OBIxxx phone adapter be aware that OBI will no longer support Google Voice after May 15, 2014. :-(
0points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta
Flack52
Posted 07/02/2013
I was a also little disappointed with the lack of an 800# for support, just an online chat service or email. I had a small glitch during setup, and then realized that I had to use the chat to resolve it. But the "guy" I chatted with gave me the right solution to my problem and I was able to take care of it on my own. Unfortunately, it's getting more and more difficult to talk with real people to get help with tech problems. It's the way of the world, I s'pose.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 332 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next