Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.335 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(421 Reviews) 389
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
293
4 stars
67
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
41
Customer Recommendation88%370 out of 421reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,078 Questions | 1,802 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
293
4 stars
67
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
41
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk

09/24/2013
By ,
Woodstock, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this device to use with my computer. I hooked up the device the next day could not open my computer. I picked up my phone there was a message saying "check your Internet to see if connection is completed." I could get a telephone connection beyond that message
I took my computer to my Computer Technician Computer Company. He connected to Basic Talk on the computer was told he would have to go to the 3rd Step Technician at Basic Talk to find out about the computer connection. The transfer telephone number was going to happen on 9/18. No one could call me on this Basic Talk connection "would hear a woman's voice saying "try your call later temporarily unavailable". I tried to get a phone call to family/friends the CID window said call was out of the area" so none of my people would pick up. Canceled service have to wait to be re-connected to ECC service. There is no phone number to call Customer Service only e-mail.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oxnard, CA
Are you sure you got a basic talk device?
Posted 11/17/2013
You say you tried to connect it with your computer but this is a stand alone device that connects directly into your router. So I am not sure why you took your computer to a computer technician since this device is independent from your computer. I have a feeling you get NetTalk and not Basic Talk.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Tired of dealing with chat and email

11/07/2013
By ,
parksley, virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend this product I have been trying to receive incoming calls with Basic Talk for 6 days now. There support has no idea what is going on. There is no phone number to call for help just chat and email. They are trying to say that it is phone of my family member that are trying to call me and not there product. Now I think that is a flat out lie. I can call out but that is it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Ok IF your Internet connection is good

12/10/2013
By ,
WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this service for a couple of months and really liked it, the voice quality was good and everything worked as it should and was easy to set up.
I especially liked the user information available online so you could see who and what you have been doing, calls, incoming and outgoing and generally cell phone type behavior plus the times etc.
The service itself was very good and very cost effective but the real problem was not the phone service but the fact that you need a quality internet service to make it work right or you get the dropped calls, echo etc., and more than usual problems talking to someone using a cell phone....really bad.
Unfortunately the most glaring problem that I thought I could work around just became too much of a problem and that was having to rely on the Internet to make your phone work, loose power you've lost the net and phone, loose the net and you loose your phone, best solution was to keep the net and phone seperate for the sake of my sanity, that is why I moved to the Straight Talk Home service, now I'm free of the Internet Noose....for now.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This is a piece of junk that does not work at all

02/14/2014
By ,
Longwood, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You can get a dial tone and try to make calls but all you get are busy signals regardless of the number you call.
This is junk and you should not sell it, makes you look bad. I would love to get my $15.44 back that I paid for this garbage and you need to discontinue selling this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Initial impression

05/17/2013
By ,
Tracy, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Right now I'm not impressed. I bought this because my OOMA internet phone was not reliable. Sometimes it would not call out or recieve calls but at least it had good reception. So I tried this BasicTalk one, if I use it with my wireless base home phone I get all kinds of static and pops and crackles. Even after moving it far away from my router and wireless phone as suggested by support. I then tried it with a basic phone, not a wireless phone and it works that way without static but I was still not impressed with the voice quality. I guess I will try a another wireless base phone system and see if that helps. If it does help I will update this review.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+144points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Customer Avatar
Say what?
Posted 10/20/2013
'Sometimes it would not call out or receive calls but at least it had good reception.' I'm confused!
0points
Customer Avatar
Hammond, IN
Posted 07/13/2013
You need to move to a DECT 6 phone. Walmart has quite a few at very reasonable prices.
0points
Customer Avatar
NY, NY
Service in California
Posted 06/21/2013
It seems there is no economical way to get good phone service here in California.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Fileter on phone line?
Posted 05/31/2013
Do you have a phone line filter in your home? I had problems with my phone because one of the filters went bad. It wasn't my phone. You might want to check into that first. :)
+2points
Customer Avatar
Tracy, CA
two weeks
Posted 05/30/2013
Two weeks after installing and I have just set up a timer plug on the phone device so that it will power off/on everyday. Evidently this is necessary otherwise every day or two I get "device not registared" message and can not dial out and people can not dial in. After I power it off/on it is fine for another day or two. I setup the timer plug to cycle it while I'm sleeping.
+5points
Customer Avatar
Altamonte Springs, FL
Cordless Phones & Wireless Internet Routers
Posted 05/20/2013
The problem this person had was most likely using a 2.4Ghz cordless phone with a wireless internet router which also uses 2.4Ghz frequencies to function, hence interference, aka static and crackles. Most routers are 2.4Ghz so the solution is to make sure the phone is not. Most cheap cordless phones are 2.4Ghz. There are better 5.8Ghz phones which do not have the interference, aka crackles and static issues. That is what you must realize when you have a wireless router and a cordless phone.
+30points
Customer Avatar
Tracy, CA
New phone fixed problem
Posted 05/18/2013
I can not edit the review above so I'll just post a comment. I bought a new phone and then the basictalk device worked fine. Both phones were Uniden. The new phone that works well with the basictalk is model D1788-2. So I'm glad it works now but I did have to spend $80 to replace my phone with a new model. So basically some phone's will work ok with this basictalk and some will not from my experiance.
+39points
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Review 6 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
09/23/2013
By ,
riverdale, ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i could never get this product to work which was very disappointing .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
10/09/2013
By ,
Tucker Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I couldn't log into the basic talk website to register and get the number.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Not reliable!

02/28/2014
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We are having a lot of problems, no dial tone, lost calls, calls not coming through. Sometimes if the call does come through it is so much static we cant hear a thing. Not keeping it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

no good

07/28/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has not worked all day for any one day since I have had it, about a month. At its worst I have to reboot it everytime I make a call... sometimes it will stay on for an hour or so, then I have to reboot it again. I have contaced and been helped by customer support several times to no avail. Will try one more time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Do not order basic talk

11/12/2013
By ,
Berwyn IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered basic talk and thought I was getting a great deal unfortunately I am very unhappy with this service. There are clicking sounds all while I am talking and when I went to support to ask for assistance my password was not accepted. I changed it and still could not get any help. This service is not worth the aggravation. Don't bother purchasing it. Awful service.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Bad Audio

03/22/2014
By ,
Yakima, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For some reason my Centurylink DSL Modem did not like the Basic Talk system. We had very bad audio, it was not clear as they claim. We called Service Support and they configured the Basic Talk box and it rebooted and we were clear as a bell. Within 24 hours the audio is bad again, another call to Basic talk and after a reboot the audio was clear. It didn't stay clear 24 hours, I even just try to reboot the box but that didn't work.
We returned the Basic Talk for a full refund, except the $1.50 for 911 I had to pay upon activation.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Not Possible U Verse

06/30/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this device in november 2013, and i have uverse internet service with a modem. Let me tell u how many times att would disable my service every time i would hook up this basic talk, it would knock out my modem every time. I finally gave up i no longer have a landline with at&t just a basic pay as you go cell phone, can anyone in commet land tell me if you have basic talk and uverse internet service. Feedup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Excellent Product

08/08/2013
By ,
Tucson
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The item I purchased from Walmart was defective, The company (Vonage) sent a replacement & it has worked flawlessly. Sound quality is excellent. I ported my land line number to the Basic Talk, and anyone calling doesn't know this is a VOIP phone. Very easy to install & to port phone number. Great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I wish i could say very poor

02/08/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased my device from Wal-mart, it worked one full day after that absolutely nothing happens! Can't hear a dial tone or anything, no call center to speak with so i sent a request to them the sent out another device through the mail, same results. I liked the fact that it's a great deal but I've had my service now for 3 weeks and of the 3 weeks it only worked 2 days!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

No customer service! Only online chat no phone

02/10/2014
By ,
Two Rivers, Wi.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What waste of $10.00 and the aggrevation was unbelievable. Good luck getting your same number. You start with a temporary number and they could care less if you get the number back that you may have had for many years. If you get to talk to a person from basic talk it's because they call you! You can not call them. The number comes up on caller ID when they call you is a bogus number that can not be called back. Oh and good luck understanding any of the people that do call unless you are from that country. This basic talk is affiliated with Vonage. It will cost a little over $12 a month. I cancelled them after 3 weeks of not transfering my number from my old carrier and went back to my old carrier at a cheaper rate than I was paying. And Happy again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Hidden Flaws

12/21/2013
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After doing some research on this device, it occurred to me that in the event of a power outage, my phone would not work since it works through internet and a wifi router (Which require internet to run). After thinking about how I use my phone, this means that in the event of an emergency, I would not have a reliable landline phone that could not be affected by weather. Even cell phones during high volume times can not get through due to limited network access.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Utah
Emergency phone service
Posted 01/14/2014
In a real wide-spread emergency event, regular telephone service is not guaranteed either. I have been involved with emergency communications planning at an organization where 10's of thousands of people are on-site each day. All forms of communications are flooded during any large emergency.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Worked great for 4 months, then ....

03/08/2014
By ,
Woodbury, N.J.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
easy to install, worked great for 4 months, then lost it's connectivity.My modem, internet, and phone was all fine til this happened leaving me without a landline for 1 month. Support doesn't mention about getting a bad box. Went back to comcast, now all is working fine. Don't want to pay more but need a reliable phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Disappointed

11/09/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was anxious to try BasicTalk but it was plagued by constant clicking. Sometimes a stretch of time would be ok but then it started in again. I went back and forth a number of times with their tech support trying everything and they finally sent me a new box but the problem remained. So I had to crawl back to my Time Warner phone service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

You Get What You Pay For!

08/06/2013
By ,
Manchester, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the Basic Talk service and had it shipped using the expedited ship method. I received the box on Friday, Aug 2, 2013 and hooked it up. It seemed to be working, all the lights were on and I had a dial tone. Great, I was happy. What I didn't know is the service quit on Friday and was not on all weekend or Monday, August 5, 2013. I missed calls on Saturday and Sunday, and also on Monday. I got this service to keep a home phone for business calls and doctors. On Monday, August 5th, I realized that the service was not working. I got online (NO PHONE NUMBER TO CALL!!) and waited for over 45 mins for a Customer Support Rep. He told me to reboot my modem and the box, and reconnect, etc. The box still did not work. I went back online and got the same response, reboot the modem and box. Tuesday, August 6, 2013 the box still did not work so I called my internet provider and they told me that there was nothing wrong with my modem, that it was the Basic Talk service. I went online again, and this time I waited for a very long time and never got a Rep, so I gave up. I really liked the idea of having a cheaper way to have a home phone, as I have a prepaid cell as well, but thought it would be great to have a cheap alternative for a home phone. I was very disappointed. I have cancelled my service, since the box only worked for (I am not sure for how long), a short amount of time on Friday, August 2, 2013. I am going back to the phone company and get their phone service. I need something dependable and I don't like waiting for over an hour for Customer Service and then giving up. This service is not dependable to me and really not worth the hassle for $10 per month. Try it if you'd like, some people said that it was good for them, but my experience was not.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This item does NOT work with satellite!

08/17/2013
By ,
Latta, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the whole thing up and ready to go when I got the pop up that stated "this item does not work with satellite". I have Dish Network, which is satellite, and I have no intention of changing just to have this phone system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Don't blame Basic Talk
Posted 10/12/2013
Don't blame Basic Talk for the issue. The problem is satellite internet. With satellite, you have lag from the signal having to go from your house, to the satellite, and then back to the ground at their receiving station. Satellite is fine if you have no other option for internet, but you are transmitting a signal from your house 22,000 miles into space and then the same distance back to earth.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 390 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next