Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.307 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(362 Reviews) 330
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
250
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation87%315 out of 362reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
933 Questions | 1,528 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
250
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Initial impression

05/17/2013
By ,
Tracy, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Right now I'm not impressed. I bought this because my OOMA internet phone was not reliable. Sometimes it would not call out or recieve calls but at least it had good reception. So I tried this BasicTalk one, if I use it with my wireless base home phone I get all kinds of static and pops and crackles. Even after moving it far away from my router and wireless phone as suggested by support. I then tried it with a basic phone, not a wireless phone and it works that way without static but I was still not impressed with the voice quality. I guess I will try a another wireless base phone system and see if that helps. If it does help I will update this review.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+144points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Customer Avatar
Say what?
Posted 10/20/2013
'Sometimes it would not call out or receive calls but at least it had good reception.' I'm confused!
0points
Customer Avatar
Hammond, IN
Posted 07/13/2013
You need to move to a DECT 6 phone. Walmart has quite a few at very reasonable prices.
0points
Customer Avatar
NY, NY
Service in California
Posted 06/21/2013
It seems there is no economical way to get good phone service here in California.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Fileter on phone line?
Posted 05/31/2013
Do you have a phone line filter in your home? I had problems with my phone because one of the filters went bad. It wasn't my phone. You might want to check into that first. :)
+2points
Customer Avatar
Tracy, CA
two weeks
Posted 05/30/2013
Two weeks after installing and I have just set up a timer plug on the phone device so that it will power off/on everyday. Evidently this is necessary otherwise every day or two I get "device not registared" message and can not dial out and people can not dial in. After I power it off/on it is fine for another day or two. I setup the timer plug to cycle it while I'm sleeping.
+5points
Customer Avatar
Altamonte Springs, FL
Cordless Phones & Wireless Internet Routers
Posted 05/20/2013
The problem this person had was most likely using a 2.4Ghz cordless phone with a wireless internet router which also uses 2.4Ghz frequencies to function, hence interference, aka static and crackles. Most routers are 2.4Ghz so the solution is to make sure the phone is not. Most cheap cordless phones are 2.4Ghz. There are better 5.8Ghz phones which do not have the interference, aka crackles and static issues. That is what you must realize when you have a wireless router and a cordless phone.
+30points
Customer Avatar
Tracy, CA
New phone fixed problem
Posted 05/18/2013
I can not edit the review above so I'll just post a comment. I bought a new phone and then the basictalk device worked fine. Both phones were Uniden. The new phone that works well with the basictalk is model D1788-2. So I'm glad it works now but I did have to spend $80 to replace my phone with a new model. So basically some phone's will work ok with this basictalk and some will not from my experiance.
+39points
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Review 2 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
05/22/2013
By ,
Daytona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont get this buy Magic Jack it work better you dont have to have the computer on
plus if you have a friend overseas send them one and they can call the US for Free
and after the 1st you can get 5 years for 100 bucks
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-136points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Good luck with yours
Posted 10/12/2013
I have had Magic Jack plus for 2 yrs. I decided to pay year by year instead of the 5 year plan. Glad I did. True, it is around $100 for 5 yrs, but didn't know if I would be happy so the higher price per year was my option. I also paid around $25 extra to port my number to MJ when I signed up. For the 1st year, I was happy...until time to pay my annual fee. In addition to this fee, they were also adding an additional $20-25 charge just to keep MY number that I had already paid them to port.
Within the last 6 months, I have found out that I am missing calls from several businesses and offices. These include schools, banks, doctor's offices, and state offices. Basically any sort of business that uses a switchboard cannot get thru to my number. I can call it from a cell or any home phone but not a business. I had to "chat" with MJ online because they don't have a support number. I felt like I was chatting with "Peggy" from Pakistan. All her answers sounded scripted. They actually wanted the phone numbers that these places used to try to contact me. I supplied it to them and they claimed the problem would be resolved. Here I am 3 months later and the school still can't call my house, nor can any of the others. They are having to use my cell instead.
True, MJ may have a cheaper rate, but their hidden charges will eat you up. I have even heard they want to charge you $30 just to port your number from them after you paid them to port your same number to them. Also, I can filter my own calls instead of them not allowing important calls to reach me.
+1point
Customer Avatar
GA
pc does not need to be on
Posted 06/17/2013
You do not need to have your computer on in order to use the phone, it works through your router, not your computer. I've had mine hooked up for a week now and have had no problems what so ever.
+11points
Customer Avatar
NY, NY
Magic JackPlus-Disappointing at best
Posted 05/30/2013
I think that MagicJack should let people know that their device isn't the be all end all.
I have one and the service is horrible, so horrible, I pay verizon for a landline again.
The only thing that doesn't fail with MagicJack is the voicemail-I've gotten that to work with no problem.
+12points
Customer Avatar
denver
Not entirely accurate
Posted 05/29/2013
You do NOT need a computer turned on to use this service- works with your internet modem and a phone. I do not make calls overseas so I don't know abut that part.
+17points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 3 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

no good

07/28/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has not worked all day for any one day since I have had it, about a month. At its worst I have to reboot it everytime I make a call... sometimes it will stay on for an hour or so, then I have to reboot it again. I have contaced and been helped by customer support several times to no avail. Will try one more time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This item does NOT work with satellite!

08/17/2013
By ,
Latta, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the whole thing up and ready to go when I got the pop up that stated "this item does not work with satellite". I have Dish Network, which is satellite, and I have no intention of changing just to have this phone system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Don't blame Basic Talk
Posted 10/12/2013
Don't blame Basic Talk for the issue. The problem is satellite internet. With satellite, you have lag from the signal having to go from your house, to the satellite, and then back to the ground at their receiving station. Satellite is fine if you have no other option for internet, but you are transmitting a signal from your house 22,000 miles into space and then the same distance back to earth.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/31/2013
By ,
BARTLESVILLE, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
could NOT GET CALLS OR MAKE THEM THIS WAS SO SO BAD DID NOT WORK AT ALL....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

still be charged

09/10/2013
By ,
western mass
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had hopes this service was decent...buyer beware.. I cancelled and am still being charged on my credit card... and there is NO phone number to call to contest and I can't email them since I no longer have an account...they don't bother to tell you, you can't make international calls...and the voice mail setup is awful...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Port Orchard, WA
Billing problems
Posted 09/21/2013
Here is their toll free billing number 1-866-382-3770, it was in the disconnect section.
Also, if they continue to charge you contact your credit card company and have them put a stop payment on further transactions with that company.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

09/12/2013
By ,
Orlando
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has absolutely NO phone customer service to talk with, you have to do chat or email. I have tried to port my number for over a month and this company keeps saying they cant port my number and cancelling my request to port. VERY FRUSTRATING not being able to talk to someone and resolve issues. Sorry I wasted my money on it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
09/23/2013
By ,
riverdale, ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i could never get this product to work which was very disappointing .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk

09/24/2013
By ,
Woodstock, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this device to use with my computer. I hooked up the device the next day could not open my computer. I picked up my phone there was a message saying "check your Internet to see if connection is completed." I could get a telephone connection beyond that message
I took my computer to my Computer Technician Computer Company. He connected to Basic Talk on the computer was told he would have to go to the 3rd Step Technician at Basic Talk to find out about the computer connection. The transfer telephone number was going to happen on 9/18. No one could call me on this Basic Talk connection "would hear a woman's voice saying "try your call later temporarily unavailable". I tried to get a phone call to family/friends the CID window said call was out of the area" so none of my people would pick up. Canceled service have to wait to be re-connected to ECC service. There is no phone number to call Customer Service only e-mail.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oxnard, CA
Are you sure you got a basic talk device?
Posted 11/17/2013
You say you tried to connect it with your computer but this is a stand alone device that connects directly into your router. So I am not sure why you took your computer to a computer technician since this device is independent from your computer. I have a feeling you get NetTalk and not Basic Talk.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
10/09/2013
By ,
Tucker Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I couldn't log into the basic talk website to register and get the number.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Couldn't even get a dial tone.

10/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Despite an hour on the phone with two tech support helpers, we couldn't even get a dial tone. I went back to my previous VOIP provider. Dagnabbit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Tired of dealing with chat and email

11/07/2013
By ,
parksley, virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend this product I have been trying to receive incoming calls with Basic Talk for 6 days now. There support has no idea what is going on. There is no phone number to call for help just chat and email. They are trying to say that it is phone of my family member that are trying to call me and not there product. Now I think that is a flat out lie. I can call out but that is it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Disappointed

11/09/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was anxious to try BasicTalk but it was plagued by constant clicking. Sometimes a stretch of time would be ok but then it started in again. I went back and forth a number of times with their tech support trying everything and they finally sent me a new box but the problem remained. So I had to crawl back to my Time Warner phone service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Do not order basic talk

11/12/2013
By ,
Berwyn IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered basic talk and thought I was getting a great deal unfortunately I am very unhappy with this service. There are clicking sounds all while I am talking and when I went to support to ask for assistance my password was not accepted. I changed it and still could not get any help. This service is not worth the aggravation. Don't bother purchasing it. Awful service.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great price poor quality, poor customer service

11/27/2013
By ,
Warren OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great price but the sound is very crackly. People I call tell me my voice cuts out and it has dropped several calls. I have had problems calling numbers. After calling my Mom numerous times it suspended me from calling her number anymore. I couldn't reach anyone via phone for customer support. After 2 days finally got an email back and the issue is resolved. If you can't afford regular phone service this is a great price. But you get what you pay for. I would not recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

WILL RETURN SOON; NO LOCAL PHONE # AVAILABLE

12/06/2013
By ,
MADISON, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THERE IS NO LOCAL PHONE NUMBER AVAILABLE TO ME SO I WILL BE RETURNING THIS PRODUCT VERY SOON.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Ok IF your Internet connection is good

12/10/2013
By ,
WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this service for a couple of months and really liked it, the voice quality was good and everything worked as it should and was easy to set up.
I especially liked the user information available online so you could see who and what you have been doing, calls, incoming and outgoing and generally cell phone type behavior plus the times etc.
The service itself was very good and very cost effective but the real problem was not the phone service but the fact that you need a quality internet service to make it work right or you get the dropped calls, echo etc., and more than usual problems talking to someone using a cell phone....really bad.
Unfortunately the most glaring problem that I thought I could work around just became too much of a problem and that was having to rely on the Internet to make your phone work, loose power you've lost the net and phone, loose the net and you loose your phone, best solution was to keep the net and phone seperate for the sake of my sanity, that is why I moved to the Straight Talk Home service, now I'm free of the Internet Noose....for now.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Bought this for my son

12/19/2013
By ,
Bernhards Bay NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OK we set it up got our dial tone and all it rings in BUT u cannot hear the people they only hear hello then it breaks up and nothing..
WHAT CAN BE WRONG!!
WE done all it says they took our money on a credit card 17 plus dollars and this phone wont work at all.
NO phone number to call to talk to anyone and YES we disconnected the fire wall on the PC.
HELP HELP what can we do!!!!!!
OMG we cannot use this PRODUCT cause it don't work!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic talk

12/19/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THE AD DOESN'T TELL YOU THAT WI-FI IS REQUIRED HAVEN'T USED IT SINCE I GOT IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maryland
No WiFi
Posted 03/04/2014
WiFi is NOT required. A router with available ethernet port is all that is required.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Hidden Flaws

12/21/2013
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After doing some research on this device, it occurred to me that in the event of a power outage, my phone would not work since it works through internet and a wifi router (Which require internet to run). After thinking about how I use my phone, this means that in the event of an emergency, I would not have a reliable landline phone that could not be affected by weather. Even cell phones during high volume times can not get through due to limited network access.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Utah
Emergency phone service
Posted 01/14/2014
In a real wide-spread emergency event, regular telephone service is not guaranteed either. I have been involved with emergency communications planning at an organization where 10's of thousands of people are on-site each day. All forms of communications are flooded during any large emergency.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 331 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next