Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(441 Reviews) 409
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
308
4 stars
70
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
43
Customer Recommendation88%387 out of 441reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,123 Questions | 1,909 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
308
4 stars
70
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
43
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/29/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BETTER THAN VONAGE FOR PRICE. ONLY WISH IT HAD THE OPTION OF CALL FORWARDING.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
09/16/2013
By ,
Eunice,la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my gosh, why didn't I do this sooner? So easy to set up. The cost can't be beat by anyone! And you can't tell any difference in quality. It is very clear. I would recommend this product to any one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

One of the cheapest VoIP options

10/27/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The box is smaller than a slice of bread but it does work great. In my area with taxes, the service ends up being about $12.33 a month. My only complaint is that the only way to know you have voice mail is a blinking light on this device or pick up your phone to hear the stutter tone. You cannot get email messages about voicemail or missed calls. You can log in to your account www.basictalk.com to get your voicemail or call history.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great service plus I saved money

11/12/2013
By ,
Houston,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm so glad I found out about this product before purchasing magic jack. I only had to pay 9 something for the device. I set up the service and my first month was free. No contract and simple to use I love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Unbeleivable value

01/14/2014
By ,
McHenry County, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The voice quality is perfect on both ends. Everything that Basic Talk promised was delivered. Porting my number took 7 days. It was easy to activate and install if you follow the instructions carefully. I couldn't have asked for more in a home phone system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

So Good So Far

03/09/2014
By ,
Stone Mountain,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a landline to start my at home business and so far everything is going well. Connection is good and the setup was so easy my 12 year old son actually did it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Cut the at&t cord

08/03/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy so far,I am looking forward to a low phone bill.Sound quality is great,I still have the same features I was paying twice as much for before.I am glad I did this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I love this service!

08/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great service, clear reception.

05/29/2013
By ,
Bealeton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was leary at first, but Basic Talk has proven to be an exceptional value. My reception is clear and crisp and the cost is well within my means. Worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BETTER THAN EXPECTED!

06/08/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Expectations were very low for $10 a month. WOW was I WRONG! I got to TRANSFER my existing phone number, set up 911, and now we have a home phone again! Talk all day and all night, crisp, clear, just like you are in the next room. I can't say enough good things about this little gem! Setup was automatic, entered some information on the WEB, signed up as a user, and BAM! Talking in 15 minutes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This phone is a good buy

07/18/2013
By ,
Dunnellon Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Basic Talk phone in Walmart, went on line and set it up as per their instructions. I had it up and running in about 45 minutes. They took over and made the number transfer in 4 days with AT&T and now it is working very well and saving me money. You will need a wireless router to set it up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This is the easiest modem I have ever set up.

08/17/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had decided to go to a cell phone and do away with Vontage but was that a mistakes. SO I saw the ad for Basic Talk ordered the box and got and set it up with no problem. It took a while to get my number changed because Virgin Mobile was hard people to deal with. But everything is ok now. I set everything up myself and I'm 73 yrs old. IT WAS ALMOST TOO EASY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Just great

08/29/2013
By ,
Galloway, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Changed number very quickly 3 or 4 days. Sound quality great, price great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Impressive product!

09/04/2013
By ,
Jensen Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was tired of paying $55 a month to AT&T for basic service, caller I.D. And call waiting..plus .07 a minute long distance, so I researched other options and came across this. Reading the positive reviews, I decided to purchase it. I couldn't be more satisfied. As a technically challenged senior citizen, I was relieved to see how easily I was able to set it up. The quality of the VOI (a new term I learned :) ) was equal to my previous service. I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Excellent alternative to the high prices out there

09/21/2013
By ,
Egg Harbor Twp, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got ride of Verizon and went to Comcast phones a couple of years back. But this is at lest as good and about 1/3 the price. We've been at it for about 3 weeks and have had no problems. The transition was smooth and we kept out number. Worthwhile change.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works just like the commercial

10/08/2013
By ,
Belleville, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hooked up the device per instructions and went online to register it. My old phone number was ported over in about 5 days and the device works fine. I'm very happy to be saving about $30 per month.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works as advertised.

11/17/2013
By ,
Oxnard, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Originally I purchased a NetTalk device which has horrible reviews but I figured I give it a try and just return it if I don't like it. Well it was a horrible unreliable service. Calls would not connect at times and sometimes people would not be able to hear me. So I did some research and found Basic Talk and so I decided to go down to Walmart and buy one since it is only $10 for the device! In reality they are giving you the device to try and you are paying for one month of service. But what is great about that is that you if you don't like it you can just return it and you get your $10 back and you lose nothing. So it is a win win situation.
I brought the device home and activated it online. I then plugged it in and it would not connect at first. It took about half an hour and finally it connected. I believe I should have waited a bit for the system to register my device. But the point is that it now works and it makes perfect clear calls. Every call goes through and every call goes out with no problem. Everyone I call can hear me clearly with no problem. I did have issues calling out to numbers that required me to input credit card numbers to confirm who I am but I simply sent Basic Talk tech support an email and they reset something in my service and now it works great.
I will recommend this device to people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

A money saver

11/20/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is great, I haven't had any complaints. Good sound and very clear
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great phone! Great price!

12/07/2013
By ,
Western SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had the service for about 3 weeks now. We ported our old home phone number - that took about 4-5 days, and it was very easy. Basic talk took care of it all! We now are using Basic Talk for our home phone. Our old phone system works, as does our caller-id. There is a very slight delay in the system, but not more than with a cell phone. I was very reluctant to give up the land-line, but I have to admit, this was painless! I would recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/22/2013
If you are using phone provider for internet service will this work?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 60 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great Product

12/23/2013
By ,
Monroe, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy install, quick port of old # and great service. I installed this in less than 5 minutes and was able to "test drive" the unit while I waited 4 business days (they tell you 10) for my existing home phone # to be ported.
The online account is easy to use and you can even hear all of our voicemails online. I was even able to use 2 different expandable phone sets with the one device so I could continue to have coverage throughout the entire home with the use of a dual phone jack insert.
Everything was seamless, they communicated via email about the port process and I would recommend this to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 410 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next