Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.307 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(362 Reviews) 330
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
250
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation87%315 out of 362reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
935 Questions | 1,530 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
250
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

* Took while to set-up. But well-worth the effort!

07/26/2013
By ,
Martin, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You may get a 'dial tone' within 5 minutes, but you'll still need to input a lot of info (incl. Credit card number) in order to actually use this system.
I was about to give up hope, then finally it started working.
You may need to turn your modem off (then back on), turn your router off (then back on), and go thru quite a big of rigmarole.
In the end, I was extremely satisfied. If you hit some snags, don't give up!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works Great!

07/27/2013
By ,
Mesa, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got fed up with local phone service here in the east suburbs of Phoenix, so I thought I would give Basic Talk a try. I started off like everyone else, having bought the device at my local Wal-Mart. Installation was quite easy and Basic Talk gives you everything you need to install the device, including the Ethernet cable to run from the phone device to the modem, which in my case, is DSL. Set-up only took a few minutes on line to create my account and activate the device. I requested that my current phone number be ported to Basic Talk. In the mean time, Basic Talk provides you with a local phone number right away. I had my phone line call forwarded to my Basic Talk number, so transition was simple and allowed me to permanently set everything up without waiting for the number porting to finalize.
Call quality is excellent, and I do mean....Crystal Clear. I like the fact that Basic Talk allows you to set the ring times through your online account, something I was never able to do with my former phone company. I also like the fact that voicemail can be checked through the phone or online. I may not have as many features as I did with my former phone company, but that's fine as I never wanted all the bells and whistles to begin with. What Basic Talk does offer, is exactly what I want and what most other users want as well. Getting rid of the pork reduces the costs, so good for Basic Talk for getting it right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mesa, Arizona
Porting my phone number was easy.
Posted 08/04/2013
When I set up my BasicTalk account online and activated my service, I filled out the online form to have my existing phone number ported. The phone number was ported exactly when BasicTalk said it would be and without cost. Before it happened, I had call forwarding with my old phone service provider, so I had my phone number forwarded to the temporary phone number that BasicTalk assigned me. BasicTalk service is really great and so far, I am very satisfied with the crystal clear service and especially with how much money I'm now saving every month.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 43 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

great phone service for a great price

07/28/2013
By ,
longs sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just had this for two weeks and I am very pleased. so easy to set up and it was ready for me to talk within a minute. you cant beat this price and the call quality is better than my cell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk beats Magic Jack by far

08/01/2013
By ,
Rosemead, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product! Just like having a land line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great Product

08/06/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product for the price. There is no static in the line or anything, works great. My phone company goes up on my home phone service almost every month and I was tired of that so I gave this a try and I am so glad I did.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

works great

08/09/2013
By ,
santaquin , ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is really all that it is advertised to be. no problems, great email support. wasn't expecting product to be this good for 10.00 per month
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great Deal at low price

08/09/2013
By ,
Decatur IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not as easy to hook up as they explain. I had someone do mine. After hook up it didn't work properly. I had to call customer support and they talked me through getting a dial tone. Since then everything has been good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/09/2013
By ,
Seekonk Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered Basic Talk online. Shipping was acouple of days. Set up was quick and easy. But most of all the sound is crystal clear. A great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Totally Impressed!!

08/09/2013
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Basic Talk has met all my expectations and some more. It was very easy to set up; it only took me about 5 minutes. I am really amazed at the quality of this device. For anyone who's skeptical, don't be; you won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/09/2013
By ,
San Diego, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to return mine because of non compatiblity with my Huges Net. It was right up my alley.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/13/2013
By ,
aurora il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this at my local walmart today . it took 10 min.to register my account. i was using vonage was paying 30.00 a month.it cost 9.99 at walmart. the first month of service is free. sound quality is great . i use it as a backup phone. i would reommend this to anybody looking for cheap phone service. unlike magic jack you dont have to leave your computer on i pay 13.00 a month with taxes high taxes in il. buy on and enjoy the sound quality and ez install
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/13/2013
By ,
Clarksville,AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had magic jack did not work for me. heard about basic talk. went to walmart got one plugged it in could not believe how well it works. best service I ever had. THANKS BASIC TALK
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great money saver.

08/13/2013
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this online. Received in a timely manner. I was tired of overpaying for my home phone service & for $12.56 (my cost for service , including taxes, etc), monthly decided to try this. When I sat down & read directions it was very easy to get the service up & working. I decided to keep my phone number & Basic Talk made the change from my other phone service. Had both services until the number was totally transferred. I have a phone system with one base unit & 3 extensions work perfect.I am very happy with Basic Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/15/2013
By ,
Villa Rica, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does not get any better than this. The install was easy and the service is great. I will never go with any other carrier. Especially when other carriers want to charge you for the same quality service, that I am receiving for only $10. Amazing...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Cost-effective and efficient

08/17/2013
By ,
Longmont, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I were looking for a less expensive alternative to our traditional land-line service. After some research, we settled on giving BasicTalk a try. It is a success! The device cost around $10, and for a little more than that each month we get unlimited calling thoughout the U.S. (maybe also Canada, although we don't have anyone to call up there). It has all the features we need, and although it doesn't officially support faxing, it does work just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This is the easiest modem I have ever set up.

08/17/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had decided to go to a cell phone and do away with Vontage but was that a mistakes. SO I saw the ad for Basic Talk ordered the box and got and set it up with no problem. It took a while to get my number changed because Virgin Mobile was hard people to deal with. But everything is ok now. I set everything up myself and I'm 73 yrs old. IT WAS ALMOST TOO EASY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk Home Phone Service an excellent value

08/22/2013
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, we are very pleased. We had been Vonage customers for several years but increasingly had dropped calls, even after adjusting our settings numerous times. Basic Talk has been much more reliable. I followed Basic Talk directions carefully, connected and our number ported within minutes. Our call quality is very clear. one of our three handsets dropped calls a couple times. I moved it to a different outlet and have had no more dropped calls.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/22/2013
By ,
HAYTI,MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS PRODUCT IS AMAZING AND I HAVE ALREADY REFERED MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY TO THIS PRODUCT AND THEY JUST LOVE IT....IF I WAS A SALES PERSON FOR YOU ALL ON THIS PRODUCT I CAN GARUNTEE I WOULD MAKE WALMART THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS NETWORKING THIS AMAZING PRODUCT I PROMISE....I RELLY WOULD LIKE TO DO SO IF ITS POSSIBLE WHO WOULDNT WANT TO SELL AND AMAZING PRODUCT WITH THAT ACTAULLY IS THE TRUTH I WOULDNT HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT HAVING A BAD NAME PRODUCT CAUSE I AM A WITNESS THAT ITS JUST AMAZING I CAN GO ON, AND ON.......LOVED IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

All around Excellent alternative to a "land line".

08/23/2013
By ,
Midland, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very fast set up and activation. Took only three days to complete my old phone number transfer(meanwhile had a temporary number- so no interruption of service). Area code is not needed for local calling. Sound quality is excellent. Monthly cost now only $12.82 versus my old landline of $45 to $55+. Made and received several calls to/from Hawaii during my first week- sounded just like a local call. Its been about a month now and I am very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great phone service

08/25/2013
By ,
warren, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item a month ago , and am extremely happy with it. The phone is crystal clear, and much cheaper then going through the cable company. I have to say I am very pleased, best item ever bought from walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 331 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next