Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.303 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(515 Reviews) 483
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
351
4 stars
86
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
52
Customer Recommendation87%449 out of 515reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,257 Questions | 2,072 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
351
4 stars
86
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
52
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
09/11/2013
By ,
los angeles county
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it works good for cheap price,better than majic jack
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great service at a very good price

06/30/2013
By ,
Denton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the service a few days ago, and so far I have been very pleased. I get unlimited phone calls and there have been no problems. I even called Canada. I have very high speed internet, so that probably helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Easy to set up and install.

07/05/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works great... great price

06/20/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great.... great price. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great Price and Great Value

06/20/2013
By ,
Osceola, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone service to cover a gap in cell phone coverage. I really didn't have high expectations for the service because of the price. However, I was proven wrong. After I hooked up my first device, which I bought at a Wal-Mart store, I had to contact customer service about a problem. It took no time to connect to the chat service. The customer service representative was knowledgeable and professional. After that initial issue, the service has worked like a dream. All together, the service will cost me $11.76 a month.
The only con I found was that the original device I bought could not be registered because it had been used and returned to the store. The customer service representative told me that once a device has been registered to an account, it can never be re-used. So before you buy the device in-store, use your cellphone and go to www.basictalk.com/activate and check to see if the device has been used before.
I love this service!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+273points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great product ,great price !

07/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like Basic Talk,the only thing that would make it better is reducing the time it takes to process
the 1.60 911 ,fcc fee. I recommend this item,but to add a side note, prepare ahead of time an allow 4 to 8 days before payment clears and your able to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

works great

08/09/2013
By ,
santaquin , ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is really all that it is advertised to be. no problems, great email support. wasn't expecting product to be this good for 10.00 per month
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Amazing Home Phone Service

08/08/2013
By ,
Redford, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BasicTalk is an amazing product. All calls are clear just like my ATT landline BUT much cheaper. Plus you have unlimited calling, call waiting and voicemail. I have used it for 7 months now and I have NEVER had a problem, NEVER dropped a call and NEVER heard static. It has been crystal clear from day one. $ 9.99 is a great deal for the box and $ 9.99 for the service. There are no contracts or hidden fees. I am very impressed with the quality and the service. The customer service is very helpful and speak English. You can contact them via phone, email or live chat. Connects right to your router so it doesn't slow down your computer or affect it in anyway. Very simple to install. Your cable comes to the modem, Ethernet from modem to router, Ethernet from BasicTalk to router, Ethernet from computer to router. Plug everything up. Voila!!! You have home phone. I have nothing but praise for BasicTalk and I hope my review can help someone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works great

09/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like saving money, it works great so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk Home Phone Service an excellent value

08/22/2013
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, we are very pleased. We had been Vonage customers for several years but increasingly had dropped calls, even after adjusting our settings numerous times. Basic Talk has been much more reliable. I followed Basic Talk directions carefully, connected and our number ported within minutes. Our call quality is very clear. one of our three handsets dropped calls a couple times. I moved it to a different outlet and have had no more dropped calls.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Saved me money in more ways than expected!!!

02/05/2014
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted home phone service that would allow me to contact my son when we are out or before/after school. This worked out perfectly! Now I don't have to buy him a cell phone :# !!! Set-up was incredibly simple and instructions were very clear on how to "configure" the device. I'm no tech wiz and was able to set this up in a matter of minutes. I really like the fact that BasicTalk allows you to choose your own phone number depending on what city you’re in.
I've only noticed two "cons" which some may not even consider them negatives but they really bothered me. One, the status lights are very bright. I have this unit in the living room and no matter where I tuck this little bad boy in, the lights light up that area. Second, if your downloads speeds are under 25mbps you may not be able to run multiple devices at the same time. In my apartment, every device runs off of my DLINK DIR-826L router and in one test, I did a facetime call while on the phone. My facetime call was pretty spotty and would cut-off after about a minute of use. But at least it made the phone call priority! That never got cut-off! This may or may not be an issue for you.
Other than that, I'm very happy with my purchase and for just $12.75/ month#after taxes# it's a steal!!!! Thanks BasicTalk!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/22/2013
By ,
HAYTI,MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS PRODUCT IS AMAZING AND I HAVE ALREADY REFERED MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY TO THIS PRODUCT AND THEY JUST LOVE IT....IF I WAS A SALES PERSON FOR YOU ALL ON THIS PRODUCT I CAN GARUNTEE I WOULD MAKE WALMART THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS NETWORKING THIS AMAZING PRODUCT I PROMISE....I RELLY WOULD LIKE TO DO SO IF ITS POSSIBLE WHO WOULDNT WANT TO SELL AND AMAZING PRODUCT WITH THAT ACTAULLY IS THE TRUTH I WOULDNT HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT HAVING A BAD NAME PRODUCT CAUSE I AM A WITNESS THAT ITS JUST AMAZING I CAN GO ON, AND ON.......LOVED IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Easy set-up,good sound quality at a great price

01/17/2014
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased in the last 2 weeks
Equipment delivered promptly
Set up was a breeze and glitch free
Keeping my current number was simple to do online and transfer executed in a few days
Sound quality seems just the same as old service
Unless any issues arise later on I believe this was a great no-brainier purchase that I wish I had discovered sooner to slash the cost of my phone service without compromising on quality
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

it's work

05/19/2013
By ,
blytheville ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it work for 10 dollar a month, with unlimited local and long distance
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+240points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
will not give # back/doesn't work w/all serv
Posted 07/13/2013
Want to make anyone aware looking for less expensive serv know about this. It does not work with all wireless routers. Did not work w/ Netgear. Also they do not have phone support at all. Communication is done by chat room that does not work with internet explorer. Must be on Firefox. They also do not speak or understand the English language well. Had a very difficult time. They will not allow you to get to a manager/supervisor. Say they still have more troubleshooting steps. If you are working with them they will, I assume, answer several people at a time; when they come back to talk to you they will start over again. If you tell them this is a repeat step that does not work they will apologize then say this is where to start again. They also will not give you your phone number back to go to another company. It was a horrible experience!! Will never make that mistake again!!
+7points
Customer Avatar
roseburg, or
$10?
Posted 07/08/2013
I pay $15 per month, so where do you get yours for $10?
0points
Customer Avatar
Geneseo NY
Hook up was simple
Posted 06/11/2013
Plug in BasicTalk and unplugged MagicJack. The difference was noticeable at once. Volume increase was fantastic.
+3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 55 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

great price

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
needd a phone for small apt for students with little cash.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

OMG

09/03/2013
By ,
Southaven, MS.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was using phone within 5 minutes of opening. Great value for price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

great

02/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
satisfied
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I Like it

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews before purchasing basic talk in particular the review that stated their old company wanted them to export their old number and when they turn off the old company they turned off their basic talk so when they try to do me the same way I just stated I didn't want to keep their number. Basic talk was very easy to install and I get good reception. I am glad I purchased it. I am definitely looking forward to the low monthly bill since I rarely use my home phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

great phone service for a great price

07/28/2013
By ,
longs sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just had this for two weeks and I am very pleased. so easy to set up and it was ready for me to talk within a minute. you cant beat this price and the call quality is better than my cell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Seems to work well

10/22/2014
By ,
Lewiston ME.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price and quality of the sound which is very good it makes a great phone for the home.
plus it has the features you would use the most.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 484 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next