Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.315 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(467 Reviews) 435
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
322
4 stars
75
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 star
47
Customer Recommendation87%407 out of 467reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,169 Questions | 1,971 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
322
4 stars
75
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 star
47
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

So pleased!

09/09/2013
By ,
Somersworth, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews for the BasicTalk and decided that it was too good a deal to pass up. I can't tell you how happy I am with the service. The price can't be beat, especially where I was paying about $40 a month. The clarity is fabulous...sounds just like the service I had through my cable provider, and I was able to transfer my home phone number, so no worries with that. I am so happy I made the switch. Set up was super easy, and I ended up buying new phones so that I could have a base that's connected to the modem, and extensions in other rooms, so I have 5 phones that run on this service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk works if you have a good internet ISP

09/17/2013
By ,
Powhatan, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have a good internet connection Basic Talk works great.
You can't loose.
It works and has saved me around $42 per month.
I was paying $54 per month now I am paying $12.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Perfect

10/06/2013
By ,
New Haven,Ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price, easy to hook up and activate, I had my number transfered and that only took 2 or 3 days, crystal clear..Perfect in every way except that you can't block numbers from calling if you need to..but besides that, it's a great little device.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

great product

07/12/2013
By ,
Oil Springs, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wondered if it really worked especially where I live n the country but I was surprised. Has been great service and love the price. Only cost me with tax 11.14 a month. My regular phone carrier was 50 to 70 a month n didn't give half the quality as we have now. Great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Incredible product at an incredible value.

07/08/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little device is really powerful. It was an easy setup, and has exceptional quality. Highly recommend!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk beats Magic Jack by far

08/01/2013
By ,
Rosemead, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product! Just like having a land line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great!!

09/17/2013
By ,
Florence, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome product. I have a mid range cable internet connection and this works great. Very easy to setup. Wal-Mart did a great job at getting this shipped. I received it the day after I ordered it. Couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great Deal at low price

08/09/2013
By ,
Decatur IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not as easy to hook up as they explain. I had someone do mine. After hook up it didn't work properly. I had to call customer support and they talked me through getting a dial tone. Since then everything has been good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

basic talk

11/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a breeze to hook up and register.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

LOVE IT.........

06/20/2013
By ,
Kansas City, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like it, it's better than Magic Jack and you can be on the phone and computer at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk Home Phone Service an excellent value

08/22/2013
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, we are very pleased. We had been Vonage customers for several years but increasingly had dropped calls, even after adjusting our settings numerous times. Basic Talk has been much more reliable. I followed Basic Talk directions carefully, connected and our number ported within minutes. Our call quality is very clear. one of our three handsets dropped calls a couple times. I moved it to a different outlet and have had no more dropped calls.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
07/09/2013
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Connecting the device was easy. I misread a number and had to contact the support group. They were very helpful and it was working in about 20 minutes. The price is right, and the ability to cancel the service at any time is freat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

everything they say is true + bonus features

01/25/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One week in and this is better than my old ATT landline in every way, and, $20+ a month cheaper.
My house sits ¼ mile off the road so I have always had both sound quality and volume issues with my regular old ATT line, despite several service calls. With BasicTalk, callers tell me my call volume and clarity have improved. I have made and taken dozens of calls without issues.
The phone number transfer took 4.5 days. You can make outgoing calls immediately, but, it took 4.5 days for incoming calls to my number to ring at my house.
Basically, everything BasicTalk’s website claims is true PLUS some things they failed to mention.
(A) they say BasicTalk is NOT fax-compatible, but, it ACTUALLY IS. I just sent a fax to a neighbor and it went through perfectly, though I did not test incoming fax calls.
(B) This is very important: ALL the existing extension phones, answering machine and fax machine in my house STILL WORK on my BasicTalk line. No need to buy one of those new wireless phone systems. They talk about plugging a single phone into the BasicTalk box. That’s fine if you just want one phone, but, instead of a single phone, just run a phone wire from the BasicTalk box to a nearby standard phone jack on the wall of your house….this connects your BasicTalk box with all other phone jacks in the house.
I did just that and now all 7 phones/faxes/answer machines in my house are on the BasicTalk line, work perfect and sound great. If you choose to keep your old number, you need to wait a day or two after the number transfer takes place, as the old ATT land line will still be active in your house. If you choose a fresh new number from Basic Talk, you can do this whole-house connection immediately.
I bought this is a ten buck experiment and now recommend without reservation!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Awesome home phone service for only $10 a month!!

10/16/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got my basic talk box yesterday. Setup was extremely easy. I just plugged it into my router, and was up in a few minutes. The quality is very clear, their website is very easy to navigate, and their support is top notch if you have any questions. Defiantly would recommend!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Worth every penny

10/16/2013
By ,
Pueblo CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this out of necessity, after disconnecting my home phone that I had for 20 years. The
first time I didn't quite follow directions. The second time I hooked it up and followed the directions closely, was up and running in no time. To work out the kinks (ANYTHING you buy has a kink) and wait for the line to become active took about 30 minutes. First month is indeed free. The perfect item for my needs. The sound is the same as what I was paying $50 for from another company.
Would highly recommend, can't beat it for the price. Follow the directions and it will work for you too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/09/2013
By ,
Seekonk Ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered Basic Talk online. Shipping was acouple of days. Set up was quick and easy. But most of all the sound is crystal clear. A great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/09/2013
By ,
San Diego, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to return mine because of non compatiblity with my Huges Net. It was right up my alley.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
09/14/2013
By ,
York, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item in August 2013 so far so good.. I found using the online video instructions was better for installing the device then using the written instructions that comes with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Quick and Easy

02/17/2014
By ,
Delavan,Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had phone service in minutes. No more having phone companies raising my rate for hardly any service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great Product!

12/16/2013
By ,
Lynchburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been wanting to dump my Verizon Pots Line for years but didn't want to lose my number. The ridiculous price I was paying made no sense at all. So far the Basic Talk has proven to be a great alternative. I got to keep my number and I'm paying about $30 less a month. Win win decision!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 436 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next