Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.326 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(414 Reviews) 382
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
287
4 stars
66
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
41
Customer Recommendation88%363 out of 414reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,069 Questions | 1,786 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
287
4 stars
66
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
41
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

* Took while to set-up. But well-worth the effort!

07/26/2013
By ,
Martin, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You may get a 'dial tone' within 5 minutes, but you'll still need to input a lot of info (incl. Credit card number) in order to actually use this system.
I was about to give up hope, then finally it started working.
You may need to turn your modem off (then back on), turn your router off (then back on), and go thru quite a big of rigmarole.
In the end, I was extremely satisfied. If you hit some snags, don't give up!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

So far, so good

09/04/2013
By ,
Northbrook, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tried Magic Jack first. It worked ok but was uncomfortable hearing about people being cut off from service for over using the phone. So, we tried Basic Talk. After using it for a couple of weeks, we were sold on it. We had our number ported over from Comcast. The process was simple and only took a few days. Basic Talk keeps you informed of the transfer status throughout the whole process. We have a high speed Internet connection and I believe it makes all the difference in the call quality. Dropping our Comcast phone service will save us almost $400 a year. Thanks Basic Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great device not a single prolbem

09/09/2013
By ,
rising sun in.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wonder how many cable company customers who bundle there phone with them will soon jump over to this great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works well, I didn't test correctly at first

11/04/2013
By ,
Olathe, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a little problem advancing through the online account set up, but I think that was a pop-up blocker issue. I tried a different browser and everything worked fine. There was some confusion with the number transfer process. I had cancelled the DSL on my home phone line months ago, but Basic Talk was told by AT&T that I still have DSL. Basic Talk emailed me and said I needed to contact AT&T to get the DSL separated from my phone line, and get a confirmation number when that was done. I called AT&T and they said I don't have DSL on my account (I knew that). I couldn't get a confirmation number. But I contacted Basic Talk and they are going to re-submit the request to transfer. We will see how that goes.
The box itself was very easy to set up. I got a dial tone very quickly. Where I ran into trouble (which wasn't really a problem) was when I tried to make a test outgoing call once I got the dial tone. I figured that since my home phone number would remain "separate" until the transfer was complete, I tried to call my home phone from my Basic Talk phone. The call went straight to voice mail instead. I contacted support via online chat, and all my test calls kept going to my mail box. The CSR - who was exceedingly patient - ran tests and determined it was a problem with the temporary phone number, so he changed it. The outgoing calls kept going to my mailbox. Only after well over an hour of trying different things only to have the problem persist did we determine that the problem was because I was calling the number that was being transferred.
In other words, I couldn't call my land line from my Basic Talk phone. Calls to my cell phone went through just fine, although the number that showed up on my cell phone was my land line number, NOT my Basic Talk temporary number, even though I was calling from the Basic Talk temporary number, and the transfer wouldn't be completed for days. I found that a little confusing, but once I figured out that outgoing calls were working as long as I didn't call my land line, I was ok. So, bottom line is, if you make a test call, call a number that is NOT the one that you are transferring.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

great optional home phn service

01/19/2014
By ,
nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item. Easy install, clear service
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk More Than Fulfills Expectations

01/28/2014
By ,
Fort Lauderdale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is the voice crystal clear but I have the device connected to the telephone wiring in my apartment so that all the rooms have phones connected to it with no loss in sound or ringing ability. I also tried faxing out and tried receiving a fax from a friend and both ways worked fine.
I would like the ability for the BasicTalk System to be capable of ringing another line upon an incoming call if my internet has gone down. That would make it perfect for my use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk Home Phone Device

03/04/2014
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Device works great and the monthly price is right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great system for cutting phone bill.

03/14/2014
By ,
Bartlesville, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value. Call quality is great, setup is easy, and I save a lot of money each month. Very pleased with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk Home Phone Device beats Vonage

05/29/2013
By ,
Andersonville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a former user of Vonage VOIP service and paying a much higher price for the same service, switching to BasicTalk was easy and offers quality service at a much reduced price. I would recommend this service to all looking for an economical home phone service with VOIP.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mesa, Arizona
BasicTalk is Vonage
Posted 08/04/2013
BasicTalk is a Vonage service. They just figured out a way to offer the service at a very affordable price, and without all the gimmicks associate with other VOIP plans.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 50 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BETTER THAN EXPECTED!

06/08/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Expectations were very low for $10 a month. WOW was I WRONG! I got to TRANSFER my existing phone number, set up 911, and now we have a home phone again! Talk all day and all night, crisp, clear, just like you are in the next room. I can't say enough good things about this little gem! Setup was automatic, entered some information on the WEB, signed up as a user, and BAM! Talking in 15 minutes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

VOIP well done.

06/24/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy setup, easy number transfer. 911 is part of the setup. Sure, it makes sense to put your cable modem/DSL router and BasicTalk box on an uninterruptible power supply, but those are pretty slim odds you'll lose power just when you need to call 911. Just use your cell phone.... With taxes, $11.40 per month here in Arizona vs wired carriers $30.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great product. Would highly recommend.

07/03/2013
By ,
Wooster, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around and read reviews before deciding to take a chance on the Basic Talk product. The purchase price and the monthly were very reasonable. Above all, it solved my most important problem: It allowed me to have the phone number from my old address transferred to my new address.
The process was very simple and well thought out. The product came with clear instructions on what to do. And the company even sent me an email explaining that I needed to complete a small but technical issue that was holding up the process of transferring the number (it worked). It took a few days to complete, but then everything worked great. And the online "dashboard" allows you to check your activation status, as well as see your usage, and manage passwords, and features. Very well thought out.
The call quality is excellent. I cannot detect loss of sound quality from our previous carrier (a BIG telco). And it's a FRACTION of what I was paying with that old company. I'm only upset that I didn't do this years ago.
As far as I can tell, the only thing you give up with a VOIP system like this is that, in the event of a power loss (thunderstorm, or whatever) you won't be able to make/receive a call. But if you have a good UPS battery backup, that would take care of that. Just make sure the Basic Talk box and your PC are on the UPS )
The only thing I would point out: If you purchase the product from the store, you need to complete the activation online once you get the box home and plugged in. It's pretty easy, but it wasn't clear to me at first.
Overall, I'm extremely happy with the product and would recommend it highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This phone is a good buy

07/18/2013
By ,
Dunnellon Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Basic Talk phone in Walmart, went on line and set it up as per their instructions. I had it up and running in about 45 minutes. They took over and made the number transfer in 4 days with AT&T and now it is working very well and saving me money. You will need a wireless router to set it up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

love this

07/20/2013
By ,
arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased this for my mother.. she is elderly and i have her on my cell phone plan but she was using so many minutes it was costing me a fortune. so i thougt i would give this a try.. it was inexpensive so it wouldn't be a big loss... was i ever happy... i hooked it up and she can make and get calls from my siblings in another state.. and call her doctors or friends... and if she happens to have to dial 911.. it will tell them her location... she has voicemail, but we didn't activate because she isn't savy enough to do that.. but she loves the call waiting.. i am sooo happy with this.. totally worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

works perfect

07/24/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This took me all of 5 min to set up. My old number ported almost instantly, even though they said it may take up to a week. Sound quality is great. The website for activation and billing is clear and easy to use. I think this is a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This is the best value for your money

09/25/2013
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unlimited long distance, Yes ! Excellent service, Yes! It is just as good as a regular land line and a lot less cost. Wish I had done this a long time ago could have save several $100.00.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The unit worked as advertised.

10/02/2013
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No charge for transferring current number. The voice mail and other features work well. Would recommend it to a friend.
It was purchased to replace a Magic Jack Plus which worked correctly only one day. Magic Jack charged $21.55 for transferring existing number in and charged $32.34 to transfer the number to Basic Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works just like the commercial

10/08/2013
By ,
Belleville, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hooked up the device per instructions and went online to register it. My old phone number was ported over in about 5 days and the device works fine. I'm very happy to be saving about $30 per month.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Inexpensive,works great, easy to set up!

12/26/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For only $10.00 it's a great buy, sounds as good as a wired phone, and the first month costs sixty cents, if it ever breaks, I'll be buying a new one!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

the best product for the price and features u get

02/10/2014
By ,
zanesville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best product I ever bought with great features at a low price.....I would recommend it to anybody....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 383 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next