Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.313 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(473 Reviews) 441
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
325
4 stars
77
3 stars
12
2 stars
12
1 star
47
Customer Recommendation87%413 out of 473reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,190 Questions | 2,002 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
325
4 stars
77
3 stars
12
2 stars
12
1 star
47
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Why did I wait so long?

03/07/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been paying AT&T $48 monthly to keep my no-frills land line. A land line is nice as it gives you a line with a number that satisfies most vendors. And I refuse to give out my cell number.
I got the Basic Talk and installed it immediately. Easiest setup ever. I have Comcast internet and it works just fine.
And all you do is disconnect the connection in the AT&T junction box on side of house and plug a cable from any jack into the BT unit. All my phones and answering machine work perfectly.
And sound quality is great.
I will not miss dealing with AT&T at all and fortunately I won't have to anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I Like it

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews before purchasing basic talk in particular the review that stated their old company wanted them to export their old number and when they turn off the old company they turned off their basic talk so when they try to do me the same way I just stated I didn't want to keep their number. Basic talk was very easy to install and I get good reception. I am glad I purchased it. I am definitely looking forward to the low monthly bill since I rarely use my home phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Worked great!

10/26/2014
By ,
East Central Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't expect much from a product that cost so little. I was pleasantly surprised. Easy to set up, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Up and running in one hour

05/23/2013
By ,
Ramona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing went way beyond my expectations. I picked up the device at a Walmart store, took it home, did the online registration, hooked it up waited about 10 minutes for the connection to be set up and I have a crystal clear connection on my wireless phone. The cell reception in my area is horrible, my other solution was going to be purchase a cell signal amp for hundreds of dollars or this. And I couldn't be more pleased. FYI I connected the box to a wireless repeater instead of directly to my router and it still performs perfectly. Also my wireless phone is an 5.8 Ghz which is recommended when using it in close proximity to any wifi device.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
10/14/2013
By ,
Columbia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First - I don't typically write product reviews, but felt I needed to. I have to say I was skeptical about terminating my phone service w/ Centurylink. I installed the BT Device and began to make calls immediately. I set up the voicemail - very easy. At this time I would say for $11/month (taxes included) it's a no-brainer. All local and long distance calls. This will save my family around $250 a year plus in phone charges alone - more if were to factor in the cost of getting unlimited long distance. If you have high speed internet I would strongly encourage you getting this. It's a nice money saving option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works very well, but customer service is dismal.

11/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm pleased with Straight Talk, overall, but customer service is quite poor. No human contact, either by phone or online. That might be a deal breaker for some. especially if you need to change payment methods. In my case I'll soon be changing banks and debit cards. Changing that information looks a bit confusing. We'll see how it goes.
I've had Basic Talk for several months. The service, itself, is excellent, comparable to Verizon and Frontier landline services, but I have 25Mbps download speed. Lesser speeds might not perform as well. And, of course, you do have to have high-speed internet service of some sort. I'm considering Straight Talk's wireless home phone, which uses Verizon cell service, same as their cell phones. It offers some advantages: you don't need any computer service at all; it has a 6-hour NiMH battery backup so it will still function if your power goes out. And the monthly cost is similar to Basic Talk.
You may be able to use Basic Talk for very limited outgoing faxes. That's a definite no-go on Straight Talk wireless home phone--no faxing of any kind. Either service is preferable to traditional landlines when it comes to cost.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Super Excellent Product

06/07/2013
By ,
Arlington Hts., Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup was a breeze. Had a little problem of entering the wrong MAC address off of the box. Probably my eyesight. No complaints of voice clarity. Call waiting and caller ID works beautifully as well as voicemail. My bill is going to total around $14 a month, first month free-Yahoooooooooooo. After you pick your nearest city, then enter the area code you want you get 4 numbers to pick from. Tech support is via email or live chat and is very good. Porting over is taking 16 days though as they say BasicTalk is not a normal phone service. I love it. It sures beats my $36.11 Im paying now. Get this. You will not be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arlington Hts., Illinois
BEWARE
Posted 06/26/2013
BEWARE THIS IS NOT AN UNLIMITED PLAN. THEY GIVE YOU 3000 MINUTES THATS ALL. ITS IN TERMS OF SERVICE-TOS. Also it has taken 16 days to port over my number.
READ TERMS OF SERVICE AND SEE IF IT IS SUITABLE TO YOUR CALLING PLANS.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 48 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Think you want to switch from Vonage? IT IS VONAGE

08/08/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Basic is right. Make calls, receive calls. Beware there are TONS of fine print that are not on the outside of the box and you don't see them until the last page after they have gotten all your information such as credit/debit information. They say they can limit "unreasonable length calls, excessive calls to conference calls" and a whole host of others. They can run credit checks on you (unusual for prepaid services). THERE is NO call blocking, NO private number availability, and a whole host of other "normal" services offered by other providers. I attempted to paste the fine print below but it is too long. BUYER BEWARE WHAT YOU ARE SIGNING UP FOR. READ THE FINE PRINT.
The last line of their TOS says:
Vonage America, Inc. is registered to do business in multiple states under the BasicTalk brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maryland
It's Only $9.99!
Posted 01/17/2014
BasicTalk. Basic, right? You want bells and whistles, you're going to have to pay for it. Voicemail, caller ID and call waiting are enough for me. As far as the limitations, they are the same as Vonage (big surprise!) and Vonage costs more. Well worth the money!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 49 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works Great!

07/27/2013
By ,
Mesa, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got fed up with local phone service here in the east suburbs of Phoenix, so I thought I would give Basic Talk a try. I started off like everyone else, having bought the device at my local Wal-Mart. Installation was quite easy and Basic Talk gives you everything you need to install the device, including the Ethernet cable to run from the phone device to the modem, which in my case, is DSL. Set-up only took a few minutes on line to create my account and activate the device. I requested that my current phone number be ported to Basic Talk. In the mean time, Basic Talk provides you with a local phone number right away. I had my phone line call forwarded to my Basic Talk number, so transition was simple and allowed me to permanently set everything up without waiting for the number porting to finalize.
Call quality is excellent, and I do mean....Crystal Clear. I like the fact that Basic Talk allows you to set the ring times through your online account, something I was never able to do with my former phone company. I also like the fact that voicemail can be checked through the phone or online. I may not have as many features as I did with my former phone company, but that's fine as I never wanted all the bells and whistles to begin with. What Basic Talk does offer, is exactly what I want and what most other users want as well. Getting rid of the pork reduces the costs, so good for Basic Talk for getting it right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mesa, Arizona
Porting my phone number was easy.
Posted 08/04/2013
When I set up my BasicTalk account online and activated my service, I filled out the online form to have my existing phone number ported. The phone number was ported exactly when BasicTalk said it would be and without cost. Before it happened, I had call forwarding with my old phone service provider, so I had my phone number forwarded to the temporary phone number that BasicTalk assigned me. BasicTalk service is really great and so far, I am very satisfied with the crystal clear service and especially with how much money I'm now saving every month.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 50 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BUYER BEWARE!

09/10/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I switched my number to BasicTalk two months ago and it has been a nightmare. Before installing the equipment I called their customer service people (in India) to make sure transferring my number would not cancel my DSL. They said no problem, we do it all the time. WRONG. When my number transferred my DSL was cancelled. I immediately started working on getting my number back. BasicTalk ignored or denied every request AT&T made for the return of my number. It took eight weeks for BasicTalk to release my number back. Every email exchange with customer service needed multiple attempts, as their reps routinely provided answers that did not pertain to my problems.
Think very hard before switching to BasicTalk, because switching back is unbelievably difficult, and there's no real customer service.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Port Orchard, WA
You called them?
Posted 09/21/2013
Please post the number, have found no customer service numbers other than a cancellation number.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 51 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Wait until you've had it for a year or more.

11/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Signed up about 13 months ago.
Suddenly about 1 month ago, people started telling me they cannot hear me. I have reset this box so many times, I'm surprised the button doesn't break.
So in my frustration, I decided to contact support. WRONG!
There is NO PHONE NUMBER TO CALL. NONE. If you call 1-866-382-3770 (number provided when you sign up, they ask if you are cancelling your service. If you say no they HANG UP ON YOU!!!!!
So if you are willing to use it for a year, and then cancel and sign up again all over from square one (which is what I am OBVIOUSLY gonna have to do to get a new box.) Then GO FOR IT.
Now in all fairness, over Vonage, I saved $260 bucks. But my Vonage modem NEVER stopped working. And their customer service was unheard-of good.
And also in all fairness, there is NOTHING to stop me from signing up AGAIN to get the new modem. But COME ON PEOPLE, no phone number for support? Get real.
Good thing my house isn't on fire, or a burglar is breaking my window right now, the police wouldn't be able to hear me EITHER.
But why should I have to pay DOUBLE for the month when I restart my service? How would I get refunded for the month I wasn't able to sue the phone at all? HMM.
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great for the price

06/23/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minutes to to install. Up and running in less than 1/2 hour including setting up your own line account.
Crystal clear reception.
Will save me approximately $15 to $20 a month.
The only draw back is getting my ATT connection settled. Basic Talk states they will contact the phone company on your behalf, however after several weeks I'm still paying for ATT service. I think I may need to call and cancel myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

this is great

06/15/2013
By ,
Baltimore,Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I knew about this last month when I cancelled the home phone. Now I have a new number. I caught the tail end of a commercial, check it out online( always read the reviews), picked it up at Wal-Mart this morning, did online activation( used BANK acct) waited about 1/2 hour and hooked it up. That easy, works great, sound is clear. I am amazed, I usually have bad luck with this stuff but they made it very simple. Saving $40 a month!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Quality, economical service; great phone alternate

12/27/2013
By ,
Lincoln, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am on a budget and the escalating cost of my traditional landline, features, and long distance costs swayed me to look at the Basic Talk alternative. I investigated many different companies and read a lot of reviews and finally bought the Basic Talk Home Phone Device from Walmart. I am amazed at the quality of my phone calls on both ends; as clear if not clearer than my traditional land line. I am also pleased that the service includes caller ID also, along with other features. Set up took me about 15 minuets and was easy; I am not tech savvy. The first month is free and my monthly bill thereafter is $11.10 including taxes. I wished I had bought this unit years ago!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Porting out of basic talk

12/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this for parents for Few Years and worked great...but I tried to PORT OUT of Basic Talk on 11/28 before my 12/3 next billing to a cell account and they didnt release my # till after they billed me for the Dec Month on the 3rd! I had called on dec 2nd asking if they had the request they say No.....But I feel they held it till I was charged on the 3rd then released it to my cell carrier for that was when other phone worked...Right after CC was charged! So if try to Port Out make sure you do it more then 5 days out!
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great product. Would highly recommend.

07/03/2013
By ,
Wooster, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around and read reviews before deciding to take a chance on the Basic Talk product. The purchase price and the monthly were very reasonable. Above all, it solved my most important problem: It allowed me to have the phone number from my old address transferred to my new address.
The process was very simple and well thought out. The product came with clear instructions on what to do. And the company even sent me an email explaining that I needed to complete a small but technical issue that was holding up the process of transferring the number (it worked). It took a few days to complete, but then everything worked great. And the online "dashboard" allows you to check your activation status, as well as see your usage, and manage passwords, and features. Very well thought out.
The call quality is excellent. I cannot detect loss of sound quality from our previous carrier (a BIG telco). And it's a FRACTION of what I was paying with that old company. I'm only upset that I didn't do this years ago.
As far as I can tell, the only thing you give up with a VOIP system like this is that, in the event of a power loss (thunderstorm, or whatever) you won't be able to make/receive a call. But if you have a good UPS battery backup, that would take care of that. Just make sure the Basic Talk box and your PC are on the UPS )
The only thing I would point out: If you purchase the product from the store, you need to complete the activation online once you get the box home and plugged in. It's pretty easy, but it wasn't clear to me at first.
Overall, I'm extremely happy with the product and would recommend it highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Saved me money in more ways than expected!!!

02/05/2014
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted home phone service that would allow me to contact my son when we are out or before/after school. This worked out perfectly! Now I don't have to buy him a cell phone :# !!! Set-up was incredibly simple and instructions were very clear on how to "configure" the device. I'm no tech wiz and was able to set this up in a matter of minutes. I really like the fact that BasicTalk allows you to choose your own phone number depending on what city you’re in.
I've only noticed two "cons" which some may not even consider them negatives but they really bothered me. One, the status lights are very bright. I have this unit in the living room and no matter where I tuck this little bad boy in, the lights light up that area. Second, if your downloads speeds are under 25mbps you may not be able to run multiple devices at the same time. In my apartment, every device runs off of my DLINK DIR-826L router and in one test, I did a facetime call while on the phone. My facetime call was pretty spotty and would cut-off after about a minute of use. But at least it made the phone call priority! That never got cut-off! This may or may not be an issue for you.
Other than that, I'm very happy with my purchase and for just $12.75/ month#after taxes# it's a steal!!!! Thanks BasicTalk!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Does what it is supposed to!

04/05/2014
By ,
Allentown pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The box is really small and unobtrusive. I plugged one cord to my apple airport express, the other to my phone and once I set up the account online - viola! I was in business! I love having a phone in the house with the kids just in case and I'm leveraging the internet I already had.
With taxes it comes to like 11.54 a month or something like that! Other companies tried charging me 3x that for a land line.
I only wish I had found this sooner!
:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

TOTALLY AWESOME!!!

05/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS HOME PHONE SERVICE WAS EASY EASY TO SET-UP AND USE IMMEDIATELY!! ITS COST EFFICIENT AND I LOVE IT!!! MY CHILDREN ALREADY ENJOYING THE HOME PHONE AND WE HAVENT HA ANY PROBLEMS. CALLS ARE CYSTAL CLEAR, NO STATIC, NOTHING. THIS IS TRULY AN AWESOME PRODUCT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+135points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Easy to install and works great

12/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One issue is the requirement of area code for local calls
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 442 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  23 Next