Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.305 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(545 Reviews) 513
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
374
4 stars
88
3 stars
14
2 stars
13
1 star
56
Customer Recommendation87%473 out of 545reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,296 Questions | 2,101 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
374
4 stars
88
3 stars
14
2 stars
13
1 star
56
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

this is great

06/15/2013
By ,
Baltimore,Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I knew about this last month when I cancelled the home phone. Now I have a new number. I caught the tail end of a commercial, check it out online( always read the reviews), picked it up at Wal-Mart this morning, did online activation( used BANK acct) waited about 1/2 hour and hooked it up. That easy, works great, sound is clear. I am amazed, I usually have bad luck with this stuff but they made it very simple. Saving $40 a month!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BUYER BEWARE!

09/10/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I switched my number to BasicTalk two months ago and it has been a nightmare. Before installing the equipment I called their customer service people (in India) to make sure transferring my number would not cancel my DSL. They said no problem, we do it all the time. WRONG. When my number transferred my DSL was cancelled. I immediately started working on getting my number back. BasicTalk ignored or denied every request AT&T made for the return of my number. It took eight weeks for BasicTalk to release my number back. Every email exchange with customer service needed multiple attempts, as their reps routinely provided answers that did not pertain to my problems.
Think very hard before switching to BasicTalk, because switching back is unbelievably difficult, and there's no real customer service.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Port Orchard, WA
You called them?
Posted 09/21/2013
Please post the number, have found no customer service numbers other than a cancellation number.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 43 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works Great!

07/27/2013
By ,
Mesa, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got fed up with local phone service here in the east suburbs of Phoenix, so I thought I would give Basic Talk a try. I started off like everyone else, having bought the device at my local Wal-Mart. Installation was quite easy and Basic Talk gives you everything you need to install the device, including the Ethernet cable to run from the phone device to the modem, which in my case, is DSL. Set-up only took a few minutes on line to create my account and activate the device. I requested that my current phone number be ported to Basic Talk. In the mean time, Basic Talk provides you with a local phone number right away. I had my phone line call forwarded to my Basic Talk number, so transition was simple and allowed me to permanently set everything up without waiting for the number porting to finalize.
Call quality is excellent, and I do mean....Crystal Clear. I like the fact that Basic Talk allows you to set the ring times through your online account, something I was never able to do with my former phone company. I also like the fact that voicemail can be checked through the phone or online. I may not have as many features as I did with my former phone company, but that's fine as I never wanted all the bells and whistles to begin with. What Basic Talk does offer, is exactly what I want and what most other users want as well. Getting rid of the pork reduces the costs, so good for Basic Talk for getting it right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mesa, Arizona
Porting my phone number was easy.
Posted 08/04/2013
When I set up my BasicTalk account online and activated my service, I filled out the online form to have my existing phone number ported. The phone number was ported exactly when BasicTalk said it would be and without cost. Before it happened, I had call forwarding with my old phone service provider, so I had my phone number forwarded to the temporary phone number that BasicTalk assigned me. BasicTalk service is really great and so far, I am very satisfied with the crystal clear service and especially with how much money I'm now saving every month.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 44 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great product

06/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely love this product. Easy to install. Easy account setup. Took a week to port my number to the basic talk but they do all the work and give you a temporary number to use. Make sure your internet and phone are not bundled together. I moved from ATT to Basic Talk and I can't tell any difference in quality. The only true difference is the price $10.00 up front and my bill went from $25.00 before taxes and fees to $11.95 all included. First month is free. I am very happy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Service

06/24/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
To much noise on the line and clicking noise fade in and out calls.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Best Bang for the Buck!

05/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install on your router/Modem. Phone number transfer took about a week, but was given a temporary number meantime, that I used to call forward to my home number. I was on Vonage up to this point, that worked well, but I was limited to 400 minutes a month. Basic talk , is unlimited calling to $10. mon and a couple of bucks in tax. There is no upfront cost, so there is no way of losing money with Basic Talk, if you decide to cancel it. Calls are crystal clear and free calling anywhere in the USA. Great Deal.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great product. Would highly recommend.

07/03/2013
By ,
Wooster, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around and read reviews before deciding to take a chance on the Basic Talk product. The purchase price and the monthly were very reasonable. Above all, it solved my most important problem: It allowed me to have the phone number from my old address transferred to my new address.
The process was very simple and well thought out. The product came with clear instructions on what to do. And the company even sent me an email explaining that I needed to complete a small but technical issue that was holding up the process of transferring the number (it worked). It took a few days to complete, but then everything worked great. And the online "dashboard" allows you to check your activation status, as well as see your usage, and manage passwords, and features. Very well thought out.
The call quality is excellent. I cannot detect loss of sound quality from our previous carrier (a BIG telco). And it's a FRACTION of what I was paying with that old company. I'm only upset that I didn't do this years ago.
As far as I can tell, the only thing you give up with a VOIP system like this is that, in the event of a power loss (thunderstorm, or whatever) you won't be able to make/receive a call. But if you have a good UPS battery backup, that would take care of that. Just make sure the Basic Talk box and your PC are on the UPS )
The only thing I would point out: If you purchase the product from the store, you need to complete the activation online once you get the box home and plugged in. It's pretty easy, but it wasn't clear to me at first.
Overall, I'm extremely happy with the product and would recommend it highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
10/14/2013
By ,
Columbia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First - I don't typically write product reviews, but felt I needed to. I have to say I was skeptical about terminating my phone service w/ Centurylink. I installed the BT Device and began to make calls immediately. I set up the voicemail - very easy. At this time I would say for $11/month (taxes included) it's a no-brainer. All local and long distance calls. This will save my family around $250 a year plus in phone charges alone - more if were to factor in the cost of getting unlimited long distance. If you have high speed internet I would strongly encourage you getting this. It's a nice money saving option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

TOTALLY AWESOME!!!

05/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS HOME PHONE SERVICE WAS EASY EASY TO SET-UP AND USE IMMEDIATELY!! ITS COST EFFICIENT AND I LOVE IT!!! MY CHILDREN ALREADY ENJOYING THE HOME PHONE AND WE HAVENT HA ANY PROBLEMS. CALLS ARE CYSTAL CLEAR, NO STATIC, NOTHING. THIS IS TRULY AN AWESOME PRODUCT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+143points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Super Excellent Product

06/07/2013
By ,
Arlington Hts., Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup was a breeze. Had a little problem of entering the wrong MAC address off of the box. Probably my eyesight. No complaints of voice clarity. Call waiting and caller ID works beautifully as well as voicemail. My bill is going to total around $14 a month, first month free-Yahoooooooooooo. After you pick your nearest city, then enter the area code you want you get 4 numbers to pick from. Tech support is via email or live chat and is very good. Porting over is taking 16 days though as they say BasicTalk is not a normal phone service. I love it. It sures beats my $36.11 Im paying now. Get this. You will not be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arlington Hts., Illinois
BEWARE
Posted 06/26/2013
BEWARE THIS IS NOT AN UNLIMITED PLAN. THEY GIVE YOU 3000 MINUTES THATS ALL. ITS IN TERMS OF SERVICE-TOS. Also it has taken 16 days to port over my number.
READ TERMS OF SERVICE AND SEE IF IT IS SUITABLE TO YOUR CALLING PLANS.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 51 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

LOVE IT.........

06/20/2013
By ,
Kansas City, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like it, it's better than Magic Jack and you can be on the phone and computer at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Why did I wait so long?

03/07/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been paying AT&T $48 monthly to keep my no-frills land line. A land line is nice as it gives you a line with a number that satisfies most vendors. And I refuse to give out my cell number.
I got the Basic Talk and installed it immediately. Easiest setup ever. I have Comcast internet and it works just fine.
And all you do is disconnect the connection in the AT&T junction box on side of house and plug a cable from any jack into the BT unit. All my phones and answering machine work perfectly.
And sound quality is great.
I will not miss dealing with AT&T at all and fortunately I won't have to anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great for the price

06/23/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minutes to to install. Up and running in less than 1/2 hour including setting up your own line account.
Crystal clear reception.
Will save me approximately $15 to $20 a month.
The only draw back is getting my ATT connection settled. Basic Talk states they will contact the phone company on your behalf, however after several weeks I'm still paying for ATT service. I think I may need to call and cancel myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
06/10/2013
By ,
Hutchinson, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tried two other VOIP services which cost more , made many changes to my router settings, had nothing but problems and customer service was ZERO. The other guys didn't even have my area code. Bought Basic Talk and had it up and running in less than 10 minutes and works perfectly. Sound quality is great. Don't be fooled by the other guys low monthly price. This is about .32 a day. Well worth not having the hassles and headaches. Recommended!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Fantastic!

06/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this for about 6 months, it saves me $22.00 a month. I have the same service with caller ID and call waiting if you want it. it works great, wish I had got it a long time ago. Just didn't think something so cheap would work so well, but it does. Bill is only $13.00 a month.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BETTER THAN EXPECTED!

06/08/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Expectations were very low for $10 a month. WOW was I WRONG! I got to TRANSFER my existing phone number, set up 911, and now we have a home phone again! Talk all day and all night, crisp, clear, just like you are in the next room. I can't say enough good things about this little gem! Setup was automatic, entered some information on the WEB, signed up as a user, and BAM! Talking in 15 minutes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great lil device!

07/01/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little device is great! I am now saving about $25.00 a month on my home phone service. That adds up quickly. The sound quality is really good! I've had no issues making or receiving calls. There's no static or call drops either. I've bragged about this service to friends and family.
Pros: Price, easy to use, call quality
Cons: None I can see
Being this hooks up to a internet connection, make sure you have reliable cable or DSL internet connections. Also, be aware when the internet is down or the power is out, the phone will not work. This is just a warning to those who compares this to regular home phone services. I purchased a Cat5e cable to reduce cross talk and increase length. The current Cat5 cable is standard with the packaging but it's short.
When I first bought this device, I was disappointed at how Walmart employees were unaware of this device and they have none on their shelves, even though the Walmart website stated it was in stock for that particular Walmart store. I even had to show this device to a Walmart employee on the mobile app. So, be aware that you may need to order online.
The first month of service is free and registration is simple. This is only costing me $12.95 a month! Great way to save and the service is great!!!!! ^_^
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

great investment

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked 20 minutes after quick installation and it works great. For $12.04 a month can't beat this price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

* Took while to set-up. But well-worth the effort!

07/26/2013
By ,
Martin, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You may get a 'dial tone' within 5 minutes, but you'll still need to input a lot of info (incl. Credit card number) in order to actually use this system.
I was about to give up hope, then finally it started working.
You may need to turn your modem off (then back on), turn your router off (then back on), and go thru quite a big of rigmarole.
In the end, I was extremely satisfied. If you hit some snags, don't give up!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Needs Internet

06/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never used it
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 514 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  26 Next