Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.327 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(428 Reviews) 396
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
67
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
43
Customer Recommendation88%375 out of 428reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,096 Questions | 1,846 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
67
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
43
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The name says it all

06/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great product if you are looking for good phone service without frills. The only thing it could really use is the ability to send your name along with your number for caller ID.
Calls are clear and volume is excellent. Voicemail works just fine as does call forwarding. Just a good, inexpensive phone service. Worth serious consideration.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Good Product - Great Price

05/20/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the BasicTalk service. The initial appeal was the low cost of the device itself, so it was an inexpensive way to try an internet-based phone service. I have been very pleased with the voice quality of the service and would recommend it to anyone. I don't need international service, but that would be one additional service option that might appeal to some other potential buyers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Easy Hook UP

05/17/2014
By ,
Fairview Park, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The hook up to my U-Verse (ATT) was easy. I logged on and registered, hooked up the lines and the phone worked immediately. The first month is free so I do not have any experience with future billing, etc. (I used a credit card)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Beats high cost alternatives

07/01/2014
By ,
East Lansing, Mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only used for a week but so far so good. Same quality sound and other features as alternatives. Went from $42.00 a month to under $12.00 including taxes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Good inexpensive phone service

11/14/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After using the product for a few weeks, I would recommend it. For $10/mo + taxes, it's a good replacement for the cable company's or phone company's service. For the most part, calls are clear and uninterrupted. Once in a while there is some echo back to my handset, but usually if I lower the handset volume I can compensate.
The service includes voicemail, caller ID and call waiting, but not forwarding which could come in handy. I would also likes to see more online controls such as call blocking, etc. You can configure the voicemail online -- for example, how long to ring before a call is sent to voicemail.
Customers service can be a bit frustrating as you won't get to call anyone if you have a problem -- it's email or online chat only and you may have a long wait to chat with anyone.
I use the service because it allowed me to return my cable company's telephone/modem device and save about $5/month additionally (I purchased my own modem and this device for phone) so after about a year, I've made back my money on my purchase vs. "renting" their equipment forever.
Nothing remarkable here, just decent phone service and minimal customer service at a minimal price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
10/14/2013
By ,
Columbia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First - I don't typically write product reviews, but felt I needed to. I have to say I was skeptical about terminating my phone service w/ Centurylink. I installed the BT Device and began to make calls immediately. I set up the voicemail - very easy. At this time I would say for $11/month (taxes included) it's a no-brainer. All local and long distance calls. This will save my family around $250 a year plus in phone charges alone - more if were to factor in the cost of getting unlimited long distance. If you have high speed internet I would strongly encourage you getting this. It's a nice money saving option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Why didn't i know of this much sooner?

07/20/2013
By ,
Des Plaines, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super love this product! Had to go to 3 different Walmart just to find this. So easy to install. Once hooked up completely, go to their site and register for an account. During this register process where they give you an option to transfer or get new telephone number. I opted for a new telephone number because it takes a week to transfer an old number.
Prepare to pay a tax for the 911 service. I paid $1.25 for Illinois. You can pay via credit cards or checking account.
Half an hour later, you have a dial tone already. So easy and fast. Plus the customer service was excellent- they have a Live chat in their website or call their toll free.
We have this for 2 days now and so far so good. No calls disconnected, clear signal etc.
Highly Recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Fantastic!

07/02/2013
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had phone service through Comcast, but was unhappy with recent rate increases. Decided to gamble on this, given the low price. I figured the worst that would happen is that it wouldn't work, and I'd just toss it. Wow, was I pleasantly surprised. Setup was a breeze, the sound quality is better than my Comcast line, and it took only 3 days to transfer my number. Run - don't walk - and get this. One thing to keep in mind: the phone service is VOIP/internet-based, so you'll only be able to connect one phone to the BasicTalk router. Get a multi-handset phone system to go with it (Walmart sells one with 3 phones for about $40), and you'll be up and running.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta
Something to keep in mind...
Posted 08/18/2013
Several weeks after posting this review, I'm still satisfied with the device and service. But I've discovered one issue that you may want to consider when purchasing - BasicTalk doesn't offer CALL FORWARDING (at least, not yet). I travel, and this has become a bit of a problem. But not enough to recommend against buying it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 49 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Saved me money in more ways than expected!!!

02/05/2014
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted home phone service that would allow me to contact my son when we are out or before/after school. This worked out perfectly! Now I don't have to buy him a cell phone :# !!! Set-up was incredibly simple and instructions were very clear on how to "configure" the device. I'm no tech wiz and was able to set this up in a matter of minutes. I really like the fact that BasicTalk allows you to choose your own phone number depending on what city you’re in.
I've only noticed two "cons" which some may not even consider them negatives but they really bothered me. One, the status lights are very bright. I have this unit in the living room and no matter where I tuck this little bad boy in, the lights light up that area. Second, if your downloads speeds are under 25mbps you may not be able to run multiple devices at the same time. In my apartment, every device runs off of my DLINK DIR-826L router and in one test, I did a facetime call while on the phone. My facetime call was pretty spotty and would cut-off after about a minute of use. But at least it made the phone call priority! That never got cut-off! This may or may not be an issue for you.
Other than that, I'm very happy with my purchase and for just $12.75/ month#after taxes# it's a steal!!!! Thanks BasicTalk!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Worth every penny

10/16/2013
By ,
Pueblo CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this out of necessity, after disconnecting my home phone that I had for 20 years. The
first time I didn't quite follow directions. The second time I hooked it up and followed the directions closely, was up and running in no time. To work out the kinks (ANYTHING you buy has a kink) and wait for the line to become active took about 30 minutes. First month is indeed free. The perfect item for my needs. The sound is the same as what I was paying $50 for from another company.
Would highly recommend, can't beat it for the price. Follow the directions and it will work for you too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Had MagicJack for 3 years. Switched to BasicTalk

06/14/2014
By ,
Irvine, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First used MagicJack May 2011. It worked perfect until 2 months ago. All calls incoming/outgoing calls have loud static associated with the voice. My connection is 25Mbs through a direct connect router. Also tried connecting through USB port, but still had static. Have several friends that started having same problem. Took a chance on BasicTalk. Absolutely perfect sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
ME, TOO!
Posted 07/10/2014
I also lost phone service with MagicJack a few mos ago. My problems also started with static after a s/w download from MJ which took over an hr dealing with the live CHAT csr. (No real person to talk to anymore.) MJ is no longer the bargain it once was..
I have Vonage as of 3 wks ago but their fees add up to almost double the mo fee (9.99 for 300 outgoing min - free incoming).
I am thinking about switching over from Vonage to Basic Talk today.
Thanks for your info. Brgds,
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 52 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Quality, economical service; great phone alternate

12/27/2013
By ,
Lincoln, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am on a budget and the escalating cost of my traditional landline, features, and long distance costs swayed me to look at the Basic Talk alternative. I investigated many different companies and read a lot of reviews and finally bought the Basic Talk Home Phone Device from Walmart. I am amazed at the quality of my phone calls on both ends; as clear if not clearer than my traditional land line. I am also pleased that the service includes caller ID also, along with other features. Set up took me about 15 minuets and was easy; I am not tech savvy. The first month is free and my monthly bill thereafter is $11.10 including taxes. I wished I had bought this unit years ago!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Problems porting my number

07/02/2013
By ,
Saint Augustine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews on this device and thought it was worth a shot. I previously had Vonage, which worked well at home only I didn't like paying $17.xx for LIMITED minutes each month. (I had only 300 minutes I could call out#. Basica Talk sounded like a win win option.
Day one was great. Call quality was awesome and clear. I decided to port my home number and then that's when I had problems. It was VERY frustrating to say the least. Here are the issues I found:
PROS: Unlimited minutes #within reason if you read the fine print)
$9.99 plus taxes/fees comes out to about $12 a month
Clear all quality
CONS: Technical issues not resolved on weekends
No toll free number to speak with a representative and/or tech support!
No 24 hour support in case you have questions or need assistance with technical issues
Can only EMAIL or CHAT with a representative from 9am
I'm switching to Google Voice! Just ordered my adapter from Amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
FYI
Posted 02/23/2014
If you bought an OBIxxx phone adapter be aware that OBI will no longer support Google Voice after May 15, 2014. :-(
0points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta
Flack52
Posted 07/02/2013
I was a also little disappointed with the lack of an 800# for support, just an online chat service or email. I had a small glitch during setup, and then realized that I had to use the chat to resolve it. But the "guy" I chatted with gave me the right solution to my problem and I was able to take care of it on my own. Unfortunately, it's getting more and more difficult to talk with real people to get help with tech problems. It's the way of the world, I s'pose.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 54 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Excellent purchase

06/15/2014
By ,
wood villaage oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this Basic and it isd wonderful and so easy to get activated you can activate online or call them they are a very good customer service. I love my basic talk what a deal it is the best and
i i have tried many until I finally found this wonderful service and so
reasonable price each month
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

everything they say is true + bonus features

01/25/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One week in and this is better than my old ATT landline in every way, and, $20+ a month cheaper.
My house sits ¼ mile off the road so I have always had both sound quality and volume issues with my regular old ATT line, despite several service calls. With BasicTalk, callers tell me my call volume and clarity have improved. I have made and taken dozens of calls without issues.
The phone number transfer took 4.5 days. You can make outgoing calls immediately, but, it took 4.5 days for incoming calls to my number to ring at my house.
Basically, everything BasicTalk’s website claims is true PLUS some things they failed to mention.
(A) they say BasicTalk is NOT fax-compatible, but, it ACTUALLY IS. I just sent a fax to a neighbor and it went through perfectly, though I did not test incoming fax calls.
(B) This is very important: ALL the existing extension phones, answering machine and fax machine in my house STILL WORK on my BasicTalk line. No need to buy one of those new wireless phone systems. They talk about plugging a single phone into the BasicTalk box. That’s fine if you just want one phone, but, instead of a single phone, just run a phone wire from the BasicTalk box to a nearby standard phone jack on the wall of your house….this connects your BasicTalk box with all other phone jacks in the house.
I did just that and now all 7 phones/faxes/answer machines in my house are on the BasicTalk line, work perfect and sound great. If you choose to keep your old number, you need to wait a day or two after the number transfer takes place, as the old ATT land line will still be active in your house. If you choose a fresh new number from Basic Talk, you can do this whole-house connection immediately.
I bought this is a ten buck experiment and now recommend without reservation!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Perfect!

04/15/2014
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our cell reception at our house is terrible and we wanted something affordable and reliable and this has been the answer! Very easy to install and use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great to save money on phone service

06/16/2014
By ,
DALLAS TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for the price easy setup not much to it besides plugging in devices then going online to creating account phone was working within 15 mins if you pick new number. Great product and savings so glad I purchased.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

So far so good!

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had any issues! A great price for home phone service, and it's works better than the U- Verse Phone that I had!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk Home Phone

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up. It's cheaper than my phone company and the calls come in clear. I would recommend if you have internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great for price

06/23/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had AT and T for months. I was paying about 48 bucks a month. The only thing I had was unlimited local calling. No caller ID, no nothing. So I grew tired of paying so much for my old phone. So I did my research, and I found Basic Talk. I went to the store and bought it. It took me about 5 minutes to set it up, and I transferred my old number. That was the best thing I ever did. The sound quality is great and I now have caller ID, call waiting ID, and voicemail. Also unlimited long distance in the US, Canada, and Mexico. All for 9.99 a month plus tax. If you are looking for a better deal and a better phone, it's worth a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Home
Basic Talk's terms of use policy
Posted 10/17/2013
I was about to purchase Basic Talk, but I decided to read the "terms of use" fine print and was wondering if any users of Basic Talk have had any issues with these terms. It seems that unlimited means 3000 minutes per month which comes to about 50 hours a month or a litle over an hour and a half per day. There is also a list of 7 items that can get your service terminated. For example, only you and people that live with you can use the phone. If you scroll on down you will see a list of 10 no-no's in combination of using over 3000 minutes per month that can get your service terminated. Here are some of them: 1. Unique numbers called#How many?# 2. Call lengths#How Long?# 3. Short duration calls#how short?# 4. Number of calls made during business hours#what are the business hours?#. I am just asking before I buy.
0points
Customer Avatar
New Jersey
Can call Mexico?
Posted 08/16/2013
Can call Mexico, if says canada and Puerto Rico only, no other international calls, I wonder if it is really possible to make calls to mexico. please answer me.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
41-60 of 397 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next