Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(459 Reviews) 427
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
320
4 stars
73
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
46
Customer Recommendation88%402 out of 459reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,153 Questions | 1,931 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
320
4 stars
73
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
46
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Excellent landline replacement

05/27/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Basic Talk system came with clear instructions, was simple to install and works as well as my AT&T land line did for a fraction of the cost. It has all the features that were an extra charge previously, caller id, voicemail, call waiting, etc. It even provides 911 calling in my area. Customer service quickly got me a new phone number and the phone was up and operational in just a few minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Cut the at&t cord

08/03/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy so far,I am looking forward to a low phone bill.Sound quality is great,I still have the same features I was paying twice as much for before.I am glad I did this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Perfect for basic home needs!

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect for a home phone with unlimited calls at an inexpensive price. I has tried to get by with only a cell phone, within weeks I had run out of my minutes. The Basic Talk box was very easy to install and a great deal with quality sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Does what it is supposed to!

04/05/2014
By ,
Allentown pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The box is really small and unobtrusive. I plugged one cord to my apple airport express, the other to my phone and once I set up the account online - viola! I was in business! I love having a phone in the house with the kids just in case and I'm leveraging the internet I already had.
With taxes it comes to like 11.54 a month or something like that! Other companies tried charging me 3x that for a land line.
I only wish I had found this sooner!
:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Up and running in one hour

05/23/2013
By ,
Ramona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing went way beyond my expectations. I picked up the device at a Walmart store, took it home, did the online registration, hooked it up waited about 10 minutes for the connection to be set up and I have a crystal clear connection on my wireless phone. The cell reception in my area is horrible, my other solution was going to be purchase a cell signal amp for hundreds of dollars or this. And I couldn't be more pleased. FYI I connected the box to a wireless repeater instead of directly to my router and it still performs perfectly. Also my wireless phone is an 5.8 Ghz which is recommended when using it in close proximity to any wifi device.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+146points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Quality, economical service; great phone alternate

12/27/2013
By ,
Lincoln, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am on a budget and the escalating cost of my traditional landline, features, and long distance costs swayed me to look at the Basic Talk alternative. I investigated many different companies and read a lot of reviews and finally bought the Basic Talk Home Phone Device from Walmart. I am amazed at the quality of my phone calls on both ends; as clear if not clearer than my traditional land line. I am also pleased that the service includes caller ID also, along with other features. Set up took me about 15 minuets and was easy; I am not tech savvy. The first month is free and my monthly bill thereafter is $11.10 including taxes. I wished I had bought this unit years ago!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Super Excellent Product

06/07/2013
By ,
Arlington Hts., Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup was a breeze. Had a little problem of entering the wrong MAC address off of the box. Probably my eyesight. No complaints of voice clarity. Call waiting and caller ID works beautifully as well as voicemail. My bill is going to total around $14 a month, first month free-Yahoooooooooooo. After you pick your nearest city, then enter the area code you want you get 4 numbers to pick from. Tech support is via email or live chat and is very good. Porting over is taking 16 days though as they say BasicTalk is not a normal phone service. I love it. It sures beats my $36.11 Im paying now. Get this. You will not be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arlington Hts., Illinois
BEWARE
Posted 06/26/2013
BEWARE THIS IS NOT AN UNLIMITED PLAN. THEY GIVE YOU 3000 MINUTES THATS ALL. ITS IN TERMS OF SERVICE-TOS. Also it has taken 16 days to port over my number.
READ TERMS OF SERVICE AND SEE IF IT IS SUITABLE TO YOUR CALLING PLANS.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 48 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Saved me money in more ways than expected!!!

02/05/2014
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted home phone service that would allow me to contact my son when we are out or before/after school. This worked out perfectly! Now I don't have to buy him a cell phone :# !!! Set-up was incredibly simple and instructions were very clear on how to "configure" the device. I'm no tech wiz and was able to set this up in a matter of minutes. I really like the fact that BasicTalk allows you to choose your own phone number depending on what city you’re in.
I've only noticed two "cons" which some may not even consider them negatives but they really bothered me. One, the status lights are very bright. I have this unit in the living room and no matter where I tuck this little bad boy in, the lights light up that area. Second, if your downloads speeds are under 25mbps you may not be able to run multiple devices at the same time. In my apartment, every device runs off of my DLINK DIR-826L router and in one test, I did a facetime call while on the phone. My facetime call was pretty spotty and would cut-off after about a minute of use. But at least it made the phone call priority! That never got cut-off! This may or may not be an issue for you.
Other than that, I'm very happy with my purchase and for just $12.75/ month#after taxes# it's a steal!!!! Thanks BasicTalk!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works Great!

07/27/2013
By ,
Mesa, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got fed up with local phone service here in the east suburbs of Phoenix, so I thought I would give Basic Talk a try. I started off like everyone else, having bought the device at my local Wal-Mart. Installation was quite easy and Basic Talk gives you everything you need to install the device, including the Ethernet cable to run from the phone device to the modem, which in my case, is DSL. Set-up only took a few minutes on line to create my account and activate the device. I requested that my current phone number be ported to Basic Talk. In the mean time, Basic Talk provides you with a local phone number right away. I had my phone line call forwarded to my Basic Talk number, so transition was simple and allowed me to permanently set everything up without waiting for the number porting to finalize.
Call quality is excellent, and I do mean....Crystal Clear. I like the fact that Basic Talk allows you to set the ring times through your online account, something I was never able to do with my former phone company. I also like the fact that voicemail can be checked through the phone or online. I may not have as many features as I did with my former phone company, but that's fine as I never wanted all the bells and whistles to begin with. What Basic Talk does offer, is exactly what I want and what most other users want as well. Getting rid of the pork reduces the costs, so good for Basic Talk for getting it right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mesa, Arizona
Porting my phone number was easy.
Posted 08/04/2013
When I set up my BasicTalk account online and activated my service, I filled out the online form to have my existing phone number ported. The phone number was ported exactly when BasicTalk said it would be and without cost. Before it happened, I had call forwarding with my old phone service provider, so I had my phone number forwarded to the temporary phone number that BasicTalk assigned me. BasicTalk service is really great and so far, I am very satisfied with the crystal clear service and especially with how much money I'm now saving every month.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 50 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Think you want to switch from Vonage? IT IS VONAGE

08/08/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Basic is right. Make calls, receive calls. Beware there are TONS of fine print that are not on the outside of the box and you don't see them until the last page after they have gotten all your information such as credit/debit information. They say they can limit "unreasonable length calls, excessive calls to conference calls" and a whole host of others. They can run credit checks on you (unusual for prepaid services). THERE is NO call blocking, NO private number availability, and a whole host of other "normal" services offered by other providers. I attempted to paste the fine print below but it is too long. BUYER BEWARE WHAT YOU ARE SIGNING UP FOR. READ THE FINE PRINT.
The last line of their TOS says:
Vonage America, Inc. is registered to do business in multiple states under the BasicTalk brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maryland
It's Only $9.99!
Posted 01/17/2014
BasicTalk. Basic, right? You want bells and whistles, you're going to have to pay for it. Voicemail, caller ID and call waiting are enough for me. As far as the limitations, they are the same as Vonage (big surprise!) and Vonage costs more. Well worth the money!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 51 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great for the price

06/23/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minutes to to install. Up and running in less than 1/2 hour including setting up your own line account.
Crystal clear reception.
Will save me approximately $15 to $20 a month.
The only draw back is getting my ATT connection settled. Basic Talk states they will contact the phone company on your behalf, however after several weeks I'm still paying for ATT service. I think I may need to call and cancel myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

this is great

06/15/2013
By ,
Baltimore,Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I knew about this last month when I cancelled the home phone. Now I have a new number. I caught the tail end of a commercial, check it out online( always read the reviews), picked it up at Wal-Mart this morning, did online activation( used BANK acct) waited about 1/2 hour and hooked it up. That easy, works great, sound is clear. I am amazed, I usually have bad luck with this stuff but they made it very simple. Saving $40 a month!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Very good deal and Value!

10/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed home phone cheap. This was a great deal and is cheaper than any other internet based phone service. Set up was a breeze and the online service site helps you set up 911, voice mail and keeps up with your usage and other features. Will and have recommended this to several family and friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Cannot beat it

09/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son and I set it up. I love having an inexpensive home phone. We cut out two of our 3 more expensive cell phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works great

09/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like saving money, it works great so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

everything they say is true + bonus features

01/25/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One week in and this is better than my old ATT landline in every way, and, $20+ a month cheaper.
My house sits ¼ mile off the road so I have always had both sound quality and volume issues with my regular old ATT line, despite several service calls. With BasicTalk, callers tell me my call volume and clarity have improved. I have made and taken dozens of calls without issues.
The phone number transfer took 4.5 days. You can make outgoing calls immediately, but, it took 4.5 days for incoming calls to my number to ring at my house.
Basically, everything BasicTalk’s website claims is true PLUS some things they failed to mention.
(A) they say BasicTalk is NOT fax-compatible, but, it ACTUALLY IS. I just sent a fax to a neighbor and it went through perfectly, though I did not test incoming fax calls.
(B) This is very important: ALL the existing extension phones, answering machine and fax machine in my house STILL WORK on my BasicTalk line. No need to buy one of those new wireless phone systems. They talk about plugging a single phone into the BasicTalk box. That’s fine if you just want one phone, but, instead of a single phone, just run a phone wire from the BasicTalk box to a nearby standard phone jack on the wall of your house….this connects your BasicTalk box with all other phone jacks in the house.
I did just that and now all 7 phones/faxes/answer machines in my house are on the BasicTalk line, work perfect and sound great. If you choose to keep your old number, you need to wait a day or two after the number transfer takes place, as the old ATT land line will still be active in your house. If you choose a fresh new number from Basic Talk, you can do this whole-house connection immediately.
I bought this is a ten buck experiment and now recommend without reservation!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BUYER BEWARE!

09/10/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I switched my number to BasicTalk two months ago and it has been a nightmare. Before installing the equipment I called their customer service people (in India) to make sure transferring my number would not cancel my DSL. They said no problem, we do it all the time. WRONG. When my number transferred my DSL was cancelled. I immediately started working on getting my number back. BasicTalk ignored or denied every request AT&T made for the return of my number. It took eight weeks for BasicTalk to release my number back. Every email exchange with customer service needed multiple attempts, as their reps routinely provided answers that did not pertain to my problems.
Think very hard before switching to BasicTalk, because switching back is unbelievably difficult, and there's no real customer service.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Port Orchard, WA
You called them?
Posted 09/21/2013
Please post the number, have found no customer service numbers other than a cancellation number.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 58 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great product. Would highly recommend.

07/03/2013
By ,
Wooster, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around and read reviews before deciding to take a chance on the Basic Talk product. The purchase price and the monthly were very reasonable. Above all, it solved my most important problem: It allowed me to have the phone number from my old address transferred to my new address.
The process was very simple and well thought out. The product came with clear instructions on what to do. And the company even sent me an email explaining that I needed to complete a small but technical issue that was holding up the process of transferring the number (it worked). It took a few days to complete, but then everything worked great. And the online "dashboard" allows you to check your activation status, as well as see your usage, and manage passwords, and features. Very well thought out.
The call quality is excellent. I cannot detect loss of sound quality from our previous carrier (a BIG telco). And it's a FRACTION of what I was paying with that old company. I'm only upset that I didn't do this years ago.
As far as I can tell, the only thing you give up with a VOIP system like this is that, in the event of a power loss (thunderstorm, or whatever) you won't be able to make/receive a call. But if you have a good UPS battery backup, that would take care of that. Just make sure the Basic Talk box and your PC are on the UPS )
The only thing I would point out: If you purchase the product from the store, you need to complete the activation online once you get the box home and plugged in. It's pretty easy, but it wasn't clear to me at first.
Overall, I'm extremely happy with the product and would recommend it highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Tired of cable

09/16/2014
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I happed upon this phone service while trying to look for new telephone service. It took two days for me to get the service to work. I tried and retried to get the service to work. I contacted customer service via chat and was told to expect an email reply....nothing came. A little aggravated I called Customer service and was helped immediately. Turns out something went work on their end. I would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Worked great!

10/26/2014
By ,
East Central Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't expect much from a product that cost so little. I was pleasantly surprised. Easy to set up, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 428 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next