Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(513 Reviews) 481
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
350
4 stars
86
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
51
Customer Recommendation87%448 out of 513reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,243 Questions | 2,056 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
350
4 stars
86
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
51
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

works really good and cheap!

02/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
with my high speed mid grade works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

little wonder.

02/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it is an excelent device,i'm glad i did buy this unit i recomended to all my friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works Great!

07/27/2013
By ,
Mesa, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got fed up with local phone service here in the east suburbs of Phoenix, so I thought I would give Basic Talk a try. I started off like everyone else, having bought the device at my local Wal-Mart. Installation was quite easy and Basic Talk gives you everything you need to install the device, including the Ethernet cable to run from the phone device to the modem, which in my case, is DSL. Set-up only took a few minutes on line to create my account and activate the device. I requested that my current phone number be ported to Basic Talk. In the mean time, Basic Talk provides you with a local phone number right away. I had my phone line call forwarded to my Basic Talk number, so transition was simple and allowed me to permanently set everything up without waiting for the number porting to finalize.
Call quality is excellent, and I do mean....Crystal Clear. I like the fact that Basic Talk allows you to set the ring times through your online account, something I was never able to do with my former phone company. I also like the fact that voicemail can be checked through the phone or online. I may not have as many features as I did with my former phone company, but that's fine as I never wanted all the bells and whistles to begin with. What Basic Talk does offer, is exactly what I want and what most other users want as well. Getting rid of the pork reduces the costs, so good for Basic Talk for getting it right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mesa, Arizona
Porting my phone number was easy.
Posted 08/04/2013
When I set up my BasicTalk account online and activated my service, I filled out the online form to have my existing phone number ported. The phone number was ported exactly when BasicTalk said it would be and without cost. Before it happened, I had call forwarding with my old phone service provider, so I had my phone number forwarded to the temporary phone number that BasicTalk assigned me. BasicTalk service is really great and so far, I am very satisfied with the crystal clear service and especially with how much money I'm now saving every month.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 44 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

this is great

06/15/2013
By ,
Baltimore,Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I knew about this last month when I cancelled the home phone. Now I have a new number. I caught the tail end of a commercial, check it out online( always read the reviews), picked it up at Wal-Mart this morning, did online activation( used BANK acct) waited about 1/2 hour and hooked it up. That easy, works great, sound is clear. I am amazed, I usually have bad luck with this stuff but they made it very simple. Saving $40 a month!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Might work, and it's only 10 bucks, more or less

09/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I see there are some good reviews, so this might be great for some people.
My experience was that the sound quality was not good for the person who could hear, and I couldn't hear what the other person was saying to me. (One way audio) I was told that the problem was with a firewall on my BrightHouse modem. So I only needed to learn how to bypass the BrightHouse firewall, and all would be well. Sounds too much like work to me, so I don't know if it would have worked or not. I gave up at that point and cancelled my service.
Not the first time I've wasted 10 bucks or so. Actually this was the second time I bought one of these units. When I opened the first one, I discovered someone had already opened it. I presumed someone had already opened it, activated it, didn't like it for some reason best known to them and returned it to the store (don't really know, just a guess). So I took that one back to Walmart for return (great customer service), and bought another one. The second one is the basis for my experience of unusable performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
10/14/2013
By ,
Columbia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First - I don't typically write product reviews, but felt I needed to. I have to say I was skeptical about terminating my phone service w/ Centurylink. I installed the BT Device and began to make calls immediately. I set up the voicemail - very easy. At this time I would say for $11/month (taxes included) it's a no-brainer. All local and long distance calls. This will save my family around $250 a year plus in phone charges alone - more if were to factor in the cost of getting unlimited long distance. If you have high speed internet I would strongly encourage you getting this. It's a nice money saving option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Why did I wait so long?

03/07/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been paying AT&T $48 monthly to keep my no-frills land line. A land line is nice as it gives you a line with a number that satisfies most vendors. And I refuse to give out my cell number.
I got the Basic Talk and installed it immediately. Easiest setup ever. I have Comcast internet and it works just fine.
And all you do is disconnect the connection in the AT&T junction box on side of house and plug a cable from any jack into the BT unit. All my phones and answering machine work perfectly.
And sound quality is great.
I will not miss dealing with AT&T at all and fortunately I won't have to anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk Phone Service

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a new purchase for me and thus far I haver been extremely pleased by the service, clarity and ease of use. In fact I have alreadyt recommended this to a number of folks i work with.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great product. Would highly recommend.

07/03/2013
By ,
Wooster, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around and read reviews before deciding to take a chance on the Basic Talk product. The purchase price and the monthly were very reasonable. Above all, it solved my most important problem: It allowed me to have the phone number from my old address transferred to my new address.
The process was very simple and well thought out. The product came with clear instructions on what to do. And the company even sent me an email explaining that I needed to complete a small but technical issue that was holding up the process of transferring the number (it worked). It took a few days to complete, but then everything worked great. And the online "dashboard" allows you to check your activation status, as well as see your usage, and manage passwords, and features. Very well thought out.
The call quality is excellent. I cannot detect loss of sound quality from our previous carrier (a BIG telco). And it's a FRACTION of what I was paying with that old company. I'm only upset that I didn't do this years ago.
As far as I can tell, the only thing you give up with a VOIP system like this is that, in the event of a power loss (thunderstorm, or whatever) you won't be able to make/receive a call. But if you have a good UPS battery backup, that would take care of that. Just make sure the Basic Talk box and your PC are on the UPS )
The only thing I would point out: If you purchase the product from the store, you need to complete the activation online once you get the box home and plugged in. It's pretty easy, but it wasn't clear to me at first.
Overall, I'm extremely happy with the product and would recommend it highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

savings

01/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the perfect home phone, saving me $20 a month
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

TOTALLY AWESOME!!!

05/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS HOME PHONE SERVICE WAS EASY EASY TO SET-UP AND USE IMMEDIATELY!! ITS COST EFFICIENT AND I LOVE IT!!! MY CHILDREN ALREADY ENJOYING THE HOME PHONE AND WE HAVENT HA ANY PROBLEMS. CALLS ARE CYSTAL CLEAR, NO STATIC, NOTHING. THIS IS TRULY AN AWESOME PRODUCT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+137points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Caution "Overcharged on bill"

01/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had Basic Talk for over a year with no problems, well today I was checking my account and found that it went from 12 and some change to 23.17...WHAT!! So I immediately called them to see what's going on, well there was a Government regulated fee added on there for 911 which I was charged 11.10, to which I was willing to cancel my service if this was a new valid charge.
The operator went to check on it , and she said that it has to be a glitch in the system and that to give them 24-48 hrs to fix and refund my money. I agreed to that time frame and will wait to hear from them. So check your bills.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Good deal!

02/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great deal for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

LOOKING TO CUT YOUR BILLS DOWN?

01/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you're looking to cut your bills down. BasicTalk is the answer. phone sevice costs 9.95 a month and its crystal clear calls make it the best value in the phone industry! we got Road Runner's $15 a month basic internet service and both work fantastic! we also bought a Motorola cable modem and wireless router all in one to save the money on renting a modem from Time Warner! phone and internet for $25 a month plus taxes can't be beat!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Super Excellent Product

06/07/2013
By ,
Arlington Hts., Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup was a breeze. Had a little problem of entering the wrong MAC address off of the box. Probably my eyesight. No complaints of voice clarity. Call waiting and caller ID works beautifully as well as voicemail. My bill is going to total around $14 a month, first month free-Yahoooooooooooo. After you pick your nearest city, then enter the area code you want you get 4 numbers to pick from. Tech support is via email or live chat and is very good. Porting over is taking 16 days though as they say BasicTalk is not a normal phone service. I love it. It sures beats my $36.11 Im paying now. Get this. You will not be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arlington Hts., Illinois
BEWARE
Posted 06/26/2013
BEWARE THIS IS NOT AN UNLIMITED PLAN. THEY GIVE YOU 3000 MINUTES THATS ALL. ITS IN TERMS OF SERVICE-TOS. Also it has taken 16 days to port over my number.
READ TERMS OF SERVICE AND SEE IF IT IS SUITABLE TO YOUR CALLING PLANS.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 56 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

affordable,works great, # transfer smooth

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got sick and tired of time warner, always raising prices and their endless bundling sales pitches. Thought I'd give basictalk a try as it was only a 10.00 investment. I was pleasantly surprised how my phone number was transferred so effortless, not to mention the easy set up. Plus it works like any telephone should, don't notice any difference. Now, the best part is the price per month! I'm on a budget and am so glad I decided to try basictalk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

A Solid VOIP Service

01/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a 4 year customer of Nettalk and tried the MagicJack Go service; however neither gave me the stability, or overall audio quality that BasicTalk has delivered into my home. Unlike MagicJack Go there is no static and no missed calls. It was simple to activate and connect to my wireless router; due to well written instructions included in the box. First you go online and activate device on their site and wait approx. 15 minutes before actually connecting it to your Net/phone. Unlike Nettalk and MagicJack there were local numbers available in my area. Also, if you require tech support there is a toll free **phone number too. So far, it is the best voip out of the three I have encountered. Yes, it does cost more per month @ approx. $12.81 taxes included, but I wrote an essay years ago in college: "You Get What You Pay For" and that cliche` rings true in this case. BasicTalk does not support fax, but does provide caller ID along with 911 services. Currently first month is free including free long distance in U.S. and Canada. I must say thus far I am impressed and would definitely recommend it over Nettalk and MagicJack!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk Home Phone Service

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This device required about 5 minutes to set up and was working immediately.
I have used it for over 6 months without a single problem.
Was a little skeptical at first but the reception is crystal clear and has lots of extra features you would pay for with a regular land line.
Love this service!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

LOVE IT.........

06/20/2013
By ,
Kansas City, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like it, it's better than Magic Jack and you can be on the phone and computer at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great for the price

06/23/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minutes to to install. Up and running in less than 1/2 hour including setting up your own line account.
Crystal clear reception.
Will save me approximately $15 to $20 a month.
The only draw back is getting my ATT connection settled. Basic Talk states they will contact the phone company on your behalf, however after several weeks I'm still paying for ATT service. I think I may need to call and cancel myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 482 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next