Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.307 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(362 Reviews) 330
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
250
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation87%315 out of 362reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
937 Questions | 1,530 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
250
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

instructions followed , voip does not work

02/08/2014
By ,
thomasville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have had alot of exp, with voip systems, used them even from china, i purchased this, went online to activate it , went smooth, instructions said wait at least 15 minutes before installing the hardware, i waited 40 minutes, installed hardware strictly as instructions said, unit is to blink 2 green light while it updates from the internet , this should take 5 min, per instructiions, well its been 2 hours and its still flashing and no phone , i think they have a server problem, uploading , installation software, , as the internet here is downloading at 50 megs, , dont waste your time and spend another .60usd, and 15 min. online , as it seems the hardware is working , but they can t get you the software to activate it to you online, , a magjicjack is better than this and thats not great, but it does work, , returning this today for refund, walmart should not even sell this , there is no customer support, and no recourse for basic talks software issues
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
10/14/2013
By ,
Columbia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First - I don't typically write product reviews, but felt I needed to. I have to say I was skeptical about terminating my phone service w/ Centurylink. I installed the BT Device and began to make calls immediately. I set up the voicemail - very easy. At this time I would say for $11/month (taxes included) it's a no-brainer. All local and long distance calls. This will save my family around $250 a year plus in phone charges alone - more if were to factor in the cost of getting unlimited long distance. If you have high speed internet I would strongly encourage you getting this. It's a nice money saving option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

SO FAR SO GOOD

03/24/2014
By ,
North Miami Beachq
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very simple to set up. ONLY problem was I had to change where I plugged this into the router. after that - started immediately. Only been a few days. Lets hope this works!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

No difference between other carrier

01/25/2014
By ,
allentown,pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can not tell any difference in phone service since we switched to basic talk besides my bill. I still have my old phone # and it was switched over in less than 3 days.......... U WILL LOVE IT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great Purchase!

02/08/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just switched from AT&T landline service to basic talk. So far, I am very pleased! I cannot tell a difference between AT&T and Basic Talk, except the price of basic talk is much cheaper. I was able to keep my old number, and I was also able to hook it up to all the landlines in my house (we don't like cordless). I highly recommend this to anyone who still likes a land line phone, but doesn't want to pay the outrageous rates for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great Home Phone Service

03/22/2014
By ,
Milford, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right out of the box very very easy setup. Clear instructions, good service, fast installation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Whole process was straight forward

02/19/2014
By ,
Central Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to follow directions made the installation of this internet phone modem a breeze. Go online to their website, Set up the mac address and remaining account information, (i chose to keep my old number) then follow cabling instructions and power up the phone modem which connects automatically through the internet. I tested the new phone line with the temporary number they provided and it worked 1st time. All three phones connected to the new line work perfectly.
Their website is very intuitive and it took only three days to get my old phone number from Comcast moved to my basic talk account. They send you an email each day with status updates as to when your old number. I'm now saving $37 dollars more a month!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Worth every penny

10/16/2013
By ,
Pueblo CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this out of necessity, after disconnecting my home phone that I had for 20 years. The
first time I didn't quite follow directions. The second time I hooked it up and followed the directions closely, was up and running in no time. To work out the kinks (ANYTHING you buy has a kink) and wait for the line to become active took about 30 minutes. First month is indeed free. The perfect item for my needs. The sound is the same as what I was paying $50 for from another company.
Would highly recommend, can't beat it for the price. Follow the directions and it will work for you too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Why pay more?

03/17/2014
By ,
Canyon Country,Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little device is saving me many dollars a month. I was paying more than a dollar a day for phone service, now it is less than a half a dollar a day. Works great
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great inexpensive option for a landline phone

01/23/2014
By ,
Central Mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were sick of paying the high costs to have a landline phone that we seldom used. We wanted to keep a landline because that is the number we give out at stores and to charge card companies etc. We always check caller id before answering that particular line. However, it was getting too expensive to keep if that was all it was used for. I discovered this option and we immediately tried it. Ordered it on line at Walmart, picked it up an hour later and had it installed and running in no time. I am not very good at installing things but this was the easiest ever. We love it and it works just fine for calling out and receiving calls. Can't beat the price either. About $11 a month counting taxes in our area. Yea!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Amazing deal!

05/23/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had majicJack for about 2 years. The quality of majicJack has really deteriorated over that time. Many dropped calls and people not being able to get in touch with me. Moreover, their customer support is non-existent, so the issues could not be resolved. A few days ago I got fed up with majicJack and I decided to try Basictalk. Since it has no contract, I had nothing to really lose.
And what a difference! The setup was extremely simple, the calls now are crystal clear, has all the features you will ever need (911, voicemail, caller id, call waiting), has an actual customer support and all of that for 10 bucks a month (with taxes and fees it's about $12.70/month for me). And on top of that, no start-up costs whatsoever!
Al in all, I highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+611points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Fort Lauderdale
Anything's better than a Magic Jack
Posted 10/28/2013
I will soon be trying the Basic Talk. Seems comparable with Vonage. I ditched Vonage because they were lying to me. The service was great though. However some of their service charges were given names to sound like gov't taxes and their reps were telling you they were - not just 1 rep. I spoke to 3! The website (where they expected no one to read the fine prints - had the truth).
So I went to Magic Jack PLUS. The plus is really for the extra HEADACHES you get. Magic Jack CHARGES you to PORT your number, then they charge you annually to keep that number. They block any service where you use a local access number to make International calls - to blackmail you into using their expensive international rates.
And their POOR CUSTOMER service is LEGENDARY! You can chat with a dumb person before they will transfer you to someone with a few more IQ points higher.
The AUDIO has been POOR since I got this MJ plus. They made me do so much adjustments and resets...but the problem is not with my unit. It's universal to the service. Now they're offering to change it BUT I must pay the shipping and handling.
It's not worth the headache! As soon as I can calculate what the FINAL monthly bill for WALMART's service will be, I'll likely take it.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Savannah
Magic Jack still the best deal
Posted 06/29/2013
I have a Net10 cell phone. My wife has a Samsung Smart Phone. Both use Tracfone (Walmart $45/mo plan). Tracfone is unreliable and has extremely poor customer service. The reliability of these two devices (because of Tracfone) is about 75% reliability. The Magic Jack lines I have have a reliability factor of 99% over a 5 year period and has cost 95% less. I wish Magic Jack would get in the cell phone business.
-4points
Customer Avatar
texas
Posted 06/26/2013
I also had majicjack. The service wasn't crystal clear. So far, basictalk is working good. No dropped calls, no echoing and it is crystal clear. I just wished they offered anonymous call rejection
+6points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 52 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Going On My Second Month

02/03/2014
By ,
Magnolia, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The installation was simple and my existing number of 14 years was transferred to this new service with minimal effort.
The only reason I did not give 5 stars is, when I call a number that requires phone prompts (such as, "push 1 for English" or "enter your account number") the systems do not respond when I push the number keys since I started using Basic Talk. If I call the same number back with my cell, it responds, so I'm assuming it is a glitch with Basic Talk.
Overall, I am pleased with my purchase and recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great system for cutting phone bill.

03/14/2014
By ,
Bartlesville, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value. Call quality is great, setup is easy, and I save a lot of money each month. Very pleased with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

SO-O-O EASY TO SET UP1

02/09/2014
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews before buying this. One said it took 6 days before they could use it. So, I was ready to deal with that time period. HOWEVER, I did just what the instructions said to do. Then I called my new number from my cell phone and it rang and has been working really great ever since. This is a great device and a great price for home phone service. I am glad I got it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Good value for money

03/14/2014
By ,
Eden Prairie, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Try it - great alternative to expensive phone lines
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Much Better than MagicJack for much less cost!

03/05/2014
By ,
Valdosta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We replaced our MagicJack with this as MJ had no caller ID, and failed often. This works wonderfully well! The voice quality is excellent, and it has CallerID! I would really like Call Forwarding too, but for $9.99/month the value is excellent! And it has unlimited long distance and local calling!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great quality and awesome price!

03/04/2014
By ,
Clayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently got rid of our Time Warner Cable service to same some money. I purchased the Basic Talk for $10.60 and will only be paying $10.00 a month. I feel that BasicTalk not only is better quality, but I am saving about $100 switching. I am much happier and I would definitely recommend BasicTalk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Why didn't i know of this much sooner?

07/20/2013
By ,
Des Plaines, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super love this product! Had to go to 3 different Walmart just to find this. So easy to install. Once hooked up completely, go to their site and register for an account. During this register process where they give you an option to transfer or get new telephone number. I opted for a new telephone number because it takes a week to transfer an old number.
Prepare to pay a tax for the 911 service. I paid $1.25 for Illinois. You can pay via credit cards or checking account.
Half an hour later, you have a dial tone already. So easy and fast. Plus the customer service was excellent- they have a Live chat in their website or call their toll free.
We have this for 2 days now and so far so good. No calls disconnected, clear signal etc.
Highly Recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

GREAT ALTERNATIVE TO ATT AT I/4 THE PRICE PER MON

03/08/2014
By ,
OKLAHOMA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GREAT ALTERNATIVE TO AT&T FOR A FOURTH THE PRICE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Fantastic!

07/02/2013
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had phone service through Comcast, but was unhappy with recent rate increases. Decided to gamble on this, given the low price. I figured the worst that would happen is that it wouldn't work, and I'd just toss it. Wow, was I pleasantly surprised. Setup was a breeze, the sound quality is better than my Comcast line, and it took only 3 days to transfer my number. Run - don't walk - and get this. One thing to keep in mind: the phone service is VOIP/internet-based, so you'll only be able to connect one phone to the BasicTalk router. Get a multi-handset phone system to go with it (Walmart sells one with 3 phones for about $40), and you'll be up and running.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta
Something to keep in mind...
Posted 08/18/2013
Several weeks after posting this review, I'm still satisfied with the device and service. But I've discovered one issue that you may want to consider when purchasing - BasicTalk doesn't offer CALL FORWARDING (at least, not yet). I travel, and this has become a bit of a problem. But not enough to recommend against buying it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
41-60 of 331 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next