Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.297 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(516 Reviews) 484
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
351
4 stars
86
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
53
Customer Recommendation87%449 out of 516reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,260 Questions | 2,072 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
351
4 stars
86
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
53
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Excellent Purchase

02/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for just a basic inexpensive service for my land line so I decided to try Basic Talk because I was tired of paying $42 + dollars for a stripped down line and every time I got a bill it increased. At first I was kind of skeptical but I have to say that I am very pleased with this service. It was easy to install and they transferred my old number in a few days. The calls are crystal clear and for $9.99 + taxes I have unlimited local and long distance calling with caller Id and a couple other features. If you are looking a great inexpensive service, please try basic talk.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Why did I wait so long?

03/07/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been paying AT&T $48 monthly to keep my no-frills land line. A land line is nice as it gives you a line with a number that satisfies most vendors. And I refuse to give out my cell number.
I got the Basic Talk and installed it immediately. Easiest setup ever. I have Comcast internet and it works just fine.
And all you do is disconnect the connection in the AT&T junction box on side of house and plug a cable from any jack into the BT unit. All my phones and answering machine work perfectly.
And sound quality is great.
I will not miss dealing with AT&T at all and fortunately I won't have to anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
10/14/2013
By ,
Columbia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First - I don't typically write product reviews, but felt I needed to. I have to say I was skeptical about terminating my phone service w/ Centurylink. I installed the BT Device and began to make calls immediately. I set up the voicemail - very easy. At this time I would say for $11/month (taxes included) it's a no-brainer. All local and long distance calls. This will save my family around $250 a year plus in phone charges alone - more if were to factor in the cost of getting unlimited long distance. If you have high speed internet I would strongly encourage you getting this. It's a nice money saving option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great product. Would highly recommend.

07/03/2013
By ,
Wooster, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around and read reviews before deciding to take a chance on the Basic Talk product. The purchase price and the monthly were very reasonable. Above all, it solved my most important problem: It allowed me to have the phone number from my old address transferred to my new address.
The process was very simple and well thought out. The product came with clear instructions on what to do. And the company even sent me an email explaining that I needed to complete a small but technical issue that was holding up the process of transferring the number (it worked). It took a few days to complete, but then everything worked great. And the online "dashboard" allows you to check your activation status, as well as see your usage, and manage passwords, and features. Very well thought out.
The call quality is excellent. I cannot detect loss of sound quality from our previous carrier (a BIG telco). And it's a FRACTION of what I was paying with that old company. I'm only upset that I didn't do this years ago.
As far as I can tell, the only thing you give up with a VOIP system like this is that, in the event of a power loss (thunderstorm, or whatever) you won't be able to make/receive a call. But if you have a good UPS battery backup, that would take care of that. Just make sure the Basic Talk box and your PC are on the UPS )
The only thing I would point out: If you purchase the product from the store, you need to complete the activation online once you get the box home and plugged in. It's pretty easy, but it wasn't clear to me at first.
Overall, I'm extremely happy with the product and would recommend it highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

TOTALLY AWESOME!!!

05/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS HOME PHONE SERVICE WAS EASY EASY TO SET-UP AND USE IMMEDIATELY!! ITS COST EFFICIENT AND I LOVE IT!!! MY CHILDREN ALREADY ENJOYING THE HOME PHONE AND WE HAVENT HA ANY PROBLEMS. CALLS ARE CYSTAL CLEAR, NO STATIC, NOTHING. THIS IS TRULY AN AWESOME PRODUCT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+137points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Super Excellent Product

06/07/2013
By ,
Arlington Hts., Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup was a breeze. Had a little problem of entering the wrong MAC address off of the box. Probably my eyesight. No complaints of voice clarity. Call waiting and caller ID works beautifully as well as voicemail. My bill is going to total around $14 a month, first month free-Yahoooooooooooo. After you pick your nearest city, then enter the area code you want you get 4 numbers to pick from. Tech support is via email or live chat and is very good. Porting over is taking 16 days though as they say BasicTalk is not a normal phone service. I love it. It sures beats my $36.11 Im paying now. Get this. You will not be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arlington Hts., Illinois
BEWARE
Posted 06/26/2013
BEWARE THIS IS NOT AN UNLIMITED PLAN. THEY GIVE YOU 3000 MINUTES THATS ALL. ITS IN TERMS OF SERVICE-TOS. Also it has taken 16 days to port over my number.
READ TERMS OF SERVICE AND SEE IF IT IS SUITABLE TO YOUR CALLING PLANS.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 47 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

LOVE IT.........

06/20/2013
By ,
Kansas City, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like it, it's better than Magic Jack and you can be on the phone and computer at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great for the price

06/23/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minutes to to install. Up and running in less than 1/2 hour including setting up your own line account.
Crystal clear reception.
Will save me approximately $15 to $20 a month.
The only draw back is getting my ATT connection settled. Basic Talk states they will contact the phone company on your behalf, however after several weeks I'm still paying for ATT service. I think I may need to call and cancel myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
06/10/2013
By ,
Hutchinson, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tried two other VOIP services which cost more , made many changes to my router settings, had nothing but problems and customer service was ZERO. The other guys didn't even have my area code. Bought Basic Talk and had it up and running in less than 10 minutes and works perfectly. Sound quality is great. Don't be fooled by the other guys low monthly price. This is about .32 a day. Well worth not having the hassles and headaches. Recommended!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Might work, and it's only 10 bucks, more or less

09/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I see there are some good reviews, so this might be great for some people.
My experience was that the sound quality was not good for the person who could hear, and I couldn't hear what the other person was saying to me. (One way audio) I was told that the problem was with a firewall on my BrightHouse modem. So I only needed to learn how to bypass the BrightHouse firewall, and all would be well. Sounds too much like work to me, so I don't know if it would have worked or not. I gave up at that point and cancelled my service.
Not the first time I've wasted 10 bucks or so. Actually this was the second time I bought one of these units. When I opened the first one, I discovered someone had already opened it. I presumed someone had already opened it, activated it, didn't like it for some reason best known to them and returned it to the store (don't really know, just a guess). So I took that one back to Walmart for return (great customer service), and bought another one. The second one is the basis for my experience of unusable performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Phone service is out often

03/09/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We switched to this service because it is less than a 1/3 of what the phone company charges, but it's really garbage. The phone service is "temporarily unavailable" a lot; I keep getting people telling me they've been calling and my phone is "out". It happens mostly on Sundays, right now I've had no service for over 24 hours.
The connection cuts out at times while I'm on the phone.
Since the service appears to be Vonage under another name there is no point in trying Vonage for a higher price. This service is cheap in every sense of the word.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BETTER THAN EXPECTED!

06/08/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Expectations were very low for $10 a month. WOW was I WRONG! I got to TRANSFER my existing phone number, set up 911, and now we have a home phone again! Talk all day and all night, crisp, clear, just like you are in the next room. I can't say enough good things about this little gem! Setup was automatic, entered some information on the WEB, signed up as a user, and BAM! Talking in 15 minutes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great lil device!

07/01/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little device is great! I am now saving about $25.00 a month on my home phone service. That adds up quickly. The sound quality is really good! I've had no issues making or receiving calls. There's no static or call drops either. I've bragged about this service to friends and family.
Pros: Price, easy to use, call quality
Cons: None I can see
Being this hooks up to a internet connection, make sure you have reliable cable or DSL internet connections. Also, be aware when the internet is down or the power is out, the phone will not work. This is just a warning to those who compares this to regular home phone services. I purchased a Cat5e cable to reduce cross talk and increase length. The current Cat5 cable is standard with the packaging but it's short.
When I first bought this device, I was disappointed at how Walmart employees were unaware of this device and they have none on their shelves, even though the Walmart website stated it was in stock for that particular Walmart store. I even had to show this device to a Walmart employee on the mobile app. So, be aware that you may need to order online.
The first month of service is free and registration is simple. This is only costing me $12.95 a month! Great way to save and the service is great!!!!! ^_^
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk

12/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works very well and very easy to set up!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

* Took while to set-up. But well-worth the effort!

07/26/2013
By ,
Martin, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You may get a 'dial tone' within 5 minutes, but you'll still need to input a lot of info (incl. Credit card number) in order to actually use this system.
I was about to give up hope, then finally it started working.
You may need to turn your modem off (then back on), turn your router off (then back on), and go thru quite a big of rigmarole.
In the end, I was extremely satisfied. If you hit some snags, don't give up!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Saved me money in more ways than expected!!!

02/05/2014
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted home phone service that would allow me to contact my son when we are out or before/after school. This worked out perfectly! Now I don't have to buy him a cell phone :# !!! Set-up was incredibly simple and instructions were very clear on how to "configure" the device. I'm no tech wiz and was able to set this up in a matter of minutes. I really like the fact that BasicTalk allows you to choose your own phone number depending on what city you’re in.
I've only noticed two "cons" which some may not even consider them negatives but they really bothered me. One, the status lights are very bright. I have this unit in the living room and no matter where I tuck this little bad boy in, the lights light up that area. Second, if your downloads speeds are under 25mbps you may not be able to run multiple devices at the same time. In my apartment, every device runs off of my DLINK DIR-826L router and in one test, I did a facetime call while on the phone. My facetime call was pretty spotty and would cut-off after about a minute of use. But at least it made the phone call priority! That never got cut-off! This may or may not be an issue for you.
Other than that, I'm very happy with my purchase and for just $12.75/ month#after taxes# it's a steal!!!! Thanks BasicTalk!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

good value...but

07/17/2013
By ,
nj
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
so unlimited phone for under 12 bucks (taxes) it iseasy to set up but i'm
having trouble transporting my number, the phone company says it can be done but basic talk is saying nothing. there is no customer support number to talk to a person but if you got alot of time on your hands you can chat online. the guy i chatted with said he was going to fix the issue but 2 days later nothing's changed. so this easy process is taking so far almost a month. if they communicated better i could accept the situation and just hand out my new number. but if i can stay with the old number i'd rather. i will say this will end up saving 30.00 a month but for that i loose the customer service i get with the phone company. also i called my friend out of state on the new basic talk phone and only after about 45 min did he mention that his caller id had my home phone number on it so i guess i'll be charged the long distance on that call.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

No smoke and mirrors - it's not magic !

09/18/2013
By ,
Medford, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Want the real deal ? BasicTalk is it! I tried the other, and after a month of back and forth exchange and hours on customer service I said enough is enough and went to BasicTalk. The results were fantastic and seamless. Easy set- up and clear voice transmission and I had my land-line ready to go. It's inexpensive and had no problem on a fast porting of my phone line that didn't cost a penny on the BasicTalk side. The other side was a double cost on porting back from the no-magic competition smoke and mirror outfit. The basic unit from BasicTalk is compact ( a small box) that plugged into my modem (router) and it worked right off the bat. Easy and clear instructions that put my phone on line in minutes. My unit has all the features you get with high priced phone service,i.e., call waiting, caller ID, voice recording ( I use my answering system on my multi-phone system). I can truly say I was surprised after the failed attempt with the competition.The service is $9.99, however, uncle Sam gets a small tax that brings the whole monthly cost to about $11.70. But with all the features and nation wide calling it's a small expensive considering the phone company's rate. There's no time limit on calls or monthly call limits. My experience is a plus five stars rating. I'm glad I tried BasicTalk. It's a keeper for my home land line service. I recommend this service without equivocation. Another plus, if you have any problems that can't be rectified through the BasicTalk web service just take it back to Walmart. No return mailing and hassle. It's that simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

everything they say is true + bonus features

01/25/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One week in and this is better than my old ATT landline in every way, and, $20+ a month cheaper.
My house sits ¼ mile off the road so I have always had both sound quality and volume issues with my regular old ATT line, despite several service calls. With BasicTalk, callers tell me my call volume and clarity have improved. I have made and taken dozens of calls without issues.
The phone number transfer took 4.5 days. You can make outgoing calls immediately, but, it took 4.5 days for incoming calls to my number to ring at my house.
Basically, everything BasicTalk’s website claims is true PLUS some things they failed to mention.
(A) they say BasicTalk is NOT fax-compatible, but, it ACTUALLY IS. I just sent a fax to a neighbor and it went through perfectly, though I did not test incoming fax calls.
(B) This is very important: ALL the existing extension phones, answering machine and fax machine in my house STILL WORK on my BasicTalk line. No need to buy one of those new wireless phone systems. They talk about plugging a single phone into the BasicTalk box. That’s fine if you just want one phone, but, instead of a single phone, just run a phone wire from the BasicTalk box to a nearby standard phone jack on the wall of your house….this connects your BasicTalk box with all other phone jacks in the house.
I did just that and now all 7 phones/faxes/answer machines in my house are on the BasicTalk line, work perfect and sound great. If you choose to keep your old number, you need to wait a day or two after the number transfer takes place, as the old ATT land line will still be active in your house. If you choose a fresh new number from Basic Talk, you can do this whole-house connection immediately.
I bought this is a ten buck experiment and now recommend without reservation!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

affordable,works great, # transfer smooth

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got sick and tired of time warner, always raising prices and their endless bundling sales pitches. Thought I'd give basictalk a try as it was only a 10.00 investment. I was pleasantly surprised how my phone number was transferred so effortless, not to mention the easy set up. Plus it works like any telephone should, don't notice any difference. Now, the best part is the price per month! I'm on a budget and am so glad I decided to try basictalk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 485 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next