Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.328 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(415 Reviews) 383
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
288
4 stars
66
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
41
Customer Recommendation88%364 out of 415reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,075 Questions | 1,797 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
288
4 stars
66
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
41
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great Product ! good bye at&t hehe

06/15/2014
By ,
Yuba City.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love my basic talk !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! no more contract with AT& T haha.... bye AT&T have a nice life........ Leoh.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

So far, so good ...

11/04/2013
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Calls have been very clear so far (I have only made 5 or 6 over a few weeks). I have Comcast cable internet and it’s generally pretty fast so I would expect there to be no issues. My only complaint (and thus why 4 stars instead of 5) is that in transferring an existing number from a cell carrier, I’ve received multiple requests for the last 4 of my SSN. I’ve supplied the required info a number of times, and finally reached out to customer service for assistance. They have escalated the issue and assure me it should be handled shortly (I was afraid if I didn’t respond to each and every request, I would risk loosing a number that I’ve had for quite a while). I have recommended this to family members already as the call quality is great, and the price is unbeatable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great replacement for traditional phone line

06/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I rated Basic Talk Good since we have only had it for a week and haven't had time to learn if there are problems, but so far it has been excellent. It is a huge relief to know my rate will not go up in 6 months if I don't continually monitor and request current deals. My daughter has had it longer and says the voice quality is much better than her previous provider.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I love it

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Basic talk not only meet my needs, but exceeds them.
All I can say is you can't go wrong if you want good phone service at an incredible low price.
Get Basic Talk !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great product, great price!

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was with Verizon & with BasicTalk, I get a better phone plan, cheaper price. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Amazing deal!

05/23/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had majicJack for about 2 years. The quality of majicJack has really deteriorated over that time. Many dropped calls and people not being able to get in touch with me. Moreover, their customer support is non-existent, so the issues could not be resolved. A few days ago I got fed up with majicJack and I decided to try Basictalk. Since it has no contract, I had nothing to really lose.
And what a difference! The setup was extremely simple, the calls now are crystal clear, has all the features you will ever need (911, voicemail, caller id, call waiting), has an actual customer support and all of that for 10 bucks a month (with taxes and fees it's about $12.70/month for me). And on top of that, no start-up costs whatsoever!
Al in all, I highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+615points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Fort Lauderdale
Anything's better than a Magic Jack
Posted 10/28/2013
I will soon be trying the Basic Talk. Seems comparable with Vonage. I ditched Vonage because they were lying to me. The service was great though. However some of their service charges were given names to sound like gov't taxes and their reps were telling you they were - not just 1 rep. I spoke to 3! The website (where they expected no one to read the fine prints - had the truth).
So I went to Magic Jack PLUS. The plus is really for the extra HEADACHES you get. Magic Jack CHARGES you to PORT your number, then they charge you annually to keep that number. They block any service where you use a local access number to make International calls - to blackmail you into using their expensive international rates.
And their POOR CUSTOMER service is LEGENDARY! You can chat with a dumb person before they will transfer you to someone with a few more IQ points higher.
The AUDIO has been POOR since I got this MJ plus. They made me do so much adjustments and resets...but the problem is not with my unit. It's universal to the service. Now they're offering to change it BUT I must pay the shipping and handling.
It's not worth the headache! As soon as I can calculate what the FINAL monthly bill for WALMART's service will be, I'll likely take it.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Savannah
Magic Jack still the best deal
Posted 06/29/2013
I have a Net10 cell phone. My wife has a Samsung Smart Phone. Both use Tracfone (Walmart $45/mo plan). Tracfone is unreliable and has extremely poor customer service. The reliability of these two devices (because of Tracfone) is about 75% reliability. The Magic Jack lines I have have a reliability factor of 99% over a 5 year period and has cost 95% less. I wish Magic Jack would get in the cell phone business.
-4points
Customer Avatar
texas
Posted 06/26/2013
I also had majicjack. The service wasn't crystal clear. So far, basictalk is working good. No dropped calls, no echoing and it is crystal clear. I just wished they offered anonymous call rejection
+6points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 47 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great deal for $10 a month, sound quality good

07/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I switched from an Obitalk box and Google Voice to this, and am pleased with the sound quality and value. The only thing I wish I researched before was the fact that you can't arbitrarily block numbers or area codes (Jamaica for example-- stupid spammers).
But the price and sound quality is fantastic. Porting my Google Voice number took exactly 10 days, but it worked as expected and notifications from BasicTalk were numerous along the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

better then magicjack

06/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy this device alot better then magic jack It is alot clearer and it is trouble free. Good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Good inexpensive phone service

11/14/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After using the product for a few weeks, I would recommend it. For $10/mo + taxes, it's a good replacement for the cable company's or phone company's service. For the most part, calls are clear and uninterrupted. Once in a while there is some echo back to my handset, but usually if I lower the handset volume I can compensate.
The service includes voicemail, caller ID and call waiting, but not forwarding which could come in handy. I would also likes to see more online controls such as call blocking, etc. You can configure the voicemail online -- for example, how long to ring before a call is sent to voicemail.
Customers service can be a bit frustrating as you won't get to call anyone if you have a problem -- it's email or online chat only and you may have a long wait to chat with anyone.
I use the service because it allowed me to return my cable company's telephone/modem device and save about $5/month additionally (I purchased my own modem and this device for phone) so after about a year, I've made back my money on my purchase vs. "renting" their equipment forever.
Nothing remarkable here, just decent phone service and minimal customer service at a minimal price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Perfect!

04/15/2014
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our cell reception at our house is terrible and we wanted something affordable and reliable and this has been the answer! Very easy to install and use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
10/14/2013
By ,
Columbia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First - I don't typically write product reviews, but felt I needed to. I have to say I was skeptical about terminating my phone service w/ Centurylink. I installed the BT Device and began to make calls immediately. I set up the voicemail - very easy. At this time I would say for $11/month (taxes included) it's a no-brainer. All local and long distance calls. This will save my family around $250 a year plus in phone charges alone - more if were to factor in the cost of getting unlimited long distance. If you have high speed internet I would strongly encourage you getting this. It's a nice money saving option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Saved me money in more ways than expected!!!

02/05/2014
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted home phone service that would allow me to contact my son when we are out or before/after school. This worked out perfectly! Now I don't have to buy him a cell phone :# !!! Set-up was incredibly simple and instructions were very clear on how to "configure" the device. I'm no tech wiz and was able to set this up in a matter of minutes. I really like the fact that BasicTalk allows you to choose your own phone number depending on what city you’re in.
I've only noticed two "cons" which some may not even consider them negatives but they really bothered me. One, the status lights are very bright. I have this unit in the living room and no matter where I tuck this little bad boy in, the lights light up that area. Second, if your downloads speeds are under 25mbps you may not be able to run multiple devices at the same time. In my apartment, every device runs off of my DLINK DIR-826L router and in one test, I did a facetime call while on the phone. My facetime call was pretty spotty and would cut-off after about a minute of use. But at least it made the phone call priority! That never got cut-off! This may or may not be an issue for you.
Other than that, I'm very happy with my purchase and for just $12.75/ month#after taxes# it's a steal!!!! Thanks BasicTalk!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I'M SO HAPPY I PURCHASE THIS!

06/24/2014
By ,
mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT WORKS VERY WELL!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Very Good Service.

06/22/2014
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This service is very clear, I recommend it, it has a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Goodbye Vonage...

06/09/2014
By ,
New Smyrna Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I mean, how good can it be if it's just a basic system? I was surprised. I ripped out my Vonage system off of my router and plugged this one in. I went online and followed the instructions. I didn't pay a startup fee and this was only $10 at the store. I even get to keep my same number after BasicTalk goes to Vonage to discontinue my service. So my average bill of $30 will now be reduced to only $13.50 after taxes a month. In today's economy, every penny helps. I just saved over $15.00 a month!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I'm not much of a phone person

06/02/2014
By ,
Delray Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't use the phone all that often and decided to give this a try to save some cash on my monthly telephone bill; most of my calls are just people asking for money anyway. For what little I use it, it does a fine job. The voice might be a little choppier than AT&T, but it's hardly noticeable. My only concern with it is that if my internet goes out, I have to use a neighbor's phone to call my ISP to find out what's going on. If you use file sharing, P2P programs, you have to set an upload limit on them to ensure you have enough bandwidth for calls or the voice will be really broken up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Quality, economical service; great phone alternate

12/27/2013
By ,
Lincoln, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am on a budget and the escalating cost of my traditional landline, features, and long distance costs swayed me to look at the Basic Talk alternative. I investigated many different companies and read a lot of reviews and finally bought the Basic Talk Home Phone Device from Walmart. I am amazed at the quality of my phone calls on both ends; as clear if not clearer than my traditional land line. I am also pleased that the service includes caller ID also, along with other features. Set up took me about 15 minuets and was easy; I am not tech savvy. The first month is free and my monthly bill thereafter is $11.10 including taxes. I wished I had bought this unit years ago!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Why didn't i know of this much sooner?

07/20/2013
By ,
Des Plaines, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super love this product! Had to go to 3 different Walmart just to find this. So easy to install. Once hooked up completely, go to their site and register for an account. During this register process where they give you an option to transfer or get new telephone number. I opted for a new telephone number because it takes a week to transfer an old number.
Prepare to pay a tax for the 911 service. I paid $1.25 for Illinois. You can pay via credit cards or checking account.
Half an hour later, you have a dial tone already. So easy and fast. Plus the customer service was excellent- they have a Live chat in their website or call their toll free.
We have this for 2 days now and so far so good. No calls disconnected, clear signal etc.
Highly Recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

everything they say is true + bonus features

01/25/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One week in and this is better than my old ATT landline in every way, and, $20+ a month cheaper.
My house sits ¼ mile off the road so I have always had both sound quality and volume issues with my regular old ATT line, despite several service calls. With BasicTalk, callers tell me my call volume and clarity have improved. I have made and taken dozens of calls without issues.
The phone number transfer took 4.5 days. You can make outgoing calls immediately, but, it took 4.5 days for incoming calls to my number to ring at my house.
Basically, everything BasicTalk’s website claims is true PLUS some things they failed to mention.
(A) they say BasicTalk is NOT fax-compatible, but, it ACTUALLY IS. I just sent a fax to a neighbor and it went through perfectly, though I did not test incoming fax calls.
(B) This is very important: ALL the existing extension phones, answering machine and fax machine in my house STILL WORK on my BasicTalk line. No need to buy one of those new wireless phone systems. They talk about plugging a single phone into the BasicTalk box. That’s fine if you just want one phone, but, instead of a single phone, just run a phone wire from the BasicTalk box to a nearby standard phone jack on the wall of your house….this connects your BasicTalk box with all other phone jacks in the house.
I did just that and now all 7 phones/faxes/answer machines in my house are on the BasicTalk line, work perfect and sound great. If you choose to keep your old number, you need to wait a day or two after the number transfer takes place, as the old ATT land line will still be active in your house. If you choose a fresh new number from Basic Talk, you can do this whole-house connection immediately.
I bought this is a ten buck experiment and now recommend without reservation!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Worth every penny

10/16/2013
By ,
Pueblo CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this out of necessity, after disconnecting my home phone that I had for 20 years. The
first time I didn't quite follow directions. The second time I hooked it up and followed the directions closely, was up and running in no time. To work out the kinks (ANYTHING you buy has a kink) and wait for the line to become active took about 30 minutes. First month is indeed free. The perfect item for my needs. The sound is the same as what I was paying $50 for from another company.
Would highly recommend, can't beat it for the price. Follow the directions and it will work for you too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 384 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next