Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.307 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(362 Reviews) 330
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
250
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation87%315 out of 362reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
930 Questions | 1,528 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
250
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

VOIP well done.

06/24/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy setup, easy number transfer. 911 is part of the setup. Sure, it makes sense to put your cable modem/DSL router and BasicTalk box on an uninterruptible power supply, but those are pretty slim odds you'll lose power just when you need to call 911. Just use your cell phone.... With taxes, $11.40 per month here in Arizona vs wired carriers $30.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk is a GREAT alternate home phone system!

06/27/2013
By ,
Bergenfield, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first had skeptical feelings about using this new phone service, but with a $9.99/mo. deal, I had to give it a try. GLAD I DID! Great & clear phone services/calls and easy to install. Had dropped my previous provider by transferring my old number at NO CHARGE(that was also great) and the other services I'm glad I got them too(call waiting/ID, 911 services, Voicemail/Forwarding). So far, GREAT phone service to use! <;-D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great service at a very good price

06/30/2013
By ,
Denton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the service a few days ago, and so far I have been very pleased. I get unlimited phone calls and there have been no problems. I even called Canada. I have very high speed internet, so that probably helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

OMG! So glad that I took the time to order

07/01/2013
By ,
Hawthorne, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great! When I tell my family that I'm using an internet phone line, they can't believe it. The sound is clear and I have yet to miss a call.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great lil device!

07/01/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little device is great! I am now saving about $25.00 a month on my home phone service. That adds up quickly. The sound quality is really good! I've had no issues making or receiving calls. There's no static or call drops either. I've bragged about this service to friends and family.
Pros: Price, easy to use, call quality
Cons: None I can see
Being this hooks up to a internet connection, make sure you have reliable cable or DSL internet connections. Also, be aware when the internet is down or the power is out, the phone will not work. This is just a warning to those who compares this to regular home phone services. I purchased a Cat5e cable to reduce cross talk and increase length. The current Cat5 cable is standard with the packaging but it's short.
When I first bought this device, I was disappointed at how Walmart employees were unaware of this device and they have none on their shelves, even though the Walmart website stated it was in stock for that particular Walmart store. I even had to show this device to a Walmart employee on the mobile app. So, be aware that you may need to order online.
The first month of service is free and registration is simple. This is only costing me $12.95 a month! Great way to save and the service is great!!!!! ^_^
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great product. Would highly recommend.

07/03/2013
By ,
Wooster, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around and read reviews before deciding to take a chance on the Basic Talk product. The purchase price and the monthly were very reasonable. Above all, it solved my most important problem: It allowed me to have the phone number from my old address transferred to my new address.
The process was very simple and well thought out. The product came with clear instructions on what to do. And the company even sent me an email explaining that I needed to complete a small but technical issue that was holding up the process of transferring the number (it worked). It took a few days to complete, but then everything worked great. And the online "dashboard" allows you to check your activation status, as well as see your usage, and manage passwords, and features. Very well thought out.
The call quality is excellent. I cannot detect loss of sound quality from our previous carrier (a BIG telco). And it's a FRACTION of what I was paying with that old company. I'm only upset that I didn't do this years ago.
As far as I can tell, the only thing you give up with a VOIP system like this is that, in the event of a power loss (thunderstorm, or whatever) you won't be able to make/receive a call. But if you have a good UPS battery backup, that would take care of that. Just make sure the Basic Talk box and your PC are on the UPS )
The only thing I would point out: If you purchase the product from the store, you need to complete the activation online once you get the box home and plugged in. It's pretty easy, but it wasn't clear to me at first.
Overall, I'm extremely happy with the product and would recommend it highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
07/06/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Call quality is excellent, better than my cell phone. Everyone I know with magic jack hates it, so I'm happy with this purchase and service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Nice feature for a home phone

07/08/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reasonably priced, insulation done in a pinch, kept my same phone number, great quaility, no dropped calls ... where have you been Basic Talk!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Incredible product at an incredible value.

07/08/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little device is really powerful. It was an easy setup, and has exceptional quality. Highly recommend!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
07/09/2013
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Connecting the device was easy. I misread a number and had to contact the support group. They were very helpful and it was working in about 20 minutes. The price is right, and the ability to cancel the service at any time is freat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I was skeptical!

07/11/2013
By ,
Apache Junction, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say I was very skeptical of this product. Then when I got it and saw how easy it was to set up I was pleasantly surprised. Then I received my first incoming call. I was glad to see that the quality and clarity of the call was amazing. I am very pleased with this service. I would recommend it to anyone who is tired of being ripped off by their local phone company. I am saving $30+ a month by switching. I'll never go back to the other phone company for phone service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works Great

07/12/2013
By ,
Sierra Vista, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works just as advertised. I dumped my AT&T land line and my monthly bill went from $31 to $11. I just had basic local service with AT&T, but now I can call anywhere in USA and talk as long as I want and the bill (with taxes) is always $11 and change.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

great product

07/12/2013
By ,
Oil Springs, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wondered if it really worked especially where I live n the country but I was surprised. Has been great service and love the price. Only cost me with tax 11.14 a month. My regular phone carrier was 50 to 70 a month n didn't give half the quality as we have now. Great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This is GREAT you shood buy one $9.99

07/13/2013
By ,
Battle Creek MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got sick of paying Vonage $37.00 A month! NO dropped calls like with Magic Jack and Magic jack II, Its my main phone line in my home can't tell that it is not Vonage. buy one and find out for yourself $9.99 a month WOW
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

What a bargain.

07/16/2013
By ,
Warren, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I had done this a lot sooner. I don't get many phone calls, but it is necessary. I have a prepaid cell phone and don't like to use up my minutes with long talking calls. It was easy to set up, and is clear as a whistle. My son set the whole thing up for me. It is so easy to get voicemail.
My home phone before would lose the dial tone, and it got annoying. It took about 6 days for my old phone number to start working. Amen !!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

great product at a great price

07/17/2013
By ,
San Mateo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had BasicTalk for almost a month. Setup was a breeze. I tried it for a few days, and then went online and requested the free porting of my home number, and it was complete in less than a week. Service has been great so far, and I love that I am saving close to $20 a month from my AT&T land line that had no long distance and no features. It has all of the basic features that I need (caller ID mainly). Walmart delivery was fast and free to my local Fed Ex office. I am glad saw the commercial and decided to give it a try!
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
07/18/2013
By ,
carson
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small compact, not intrusive near computer. Works great and love the price. ATT go away
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This phone is a good buy

07/18/2013
By ,
Dunnellon Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Basic Talk phone in Walmart, went on line and set it up as per their instructions. I had it up and running in about 45 minutes. They took over and made the number transfer in 4 days with AT&T and now it is working very well and saving me money. You will need a wireless router to set it up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
07/20/2013
By ,
sac.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my basictalk service, it is everything you guys said it was and more. I would not have tried it if not for the excellent reviews. thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

love this

07/20/2013
By ,
arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased this for my mother.. she is elderly and i have her on my cell phone plan but she was using so many minutes it was costing me a fortune. so i thougt i would give this a try.. it was inexpensive so it wouldn't be a big loss... was i ever happy... i hooked it up and she can make and get calls from my siblings in another state.. and call her doctors or friends... and if she happens to have to dial 911.. it will tell them her location... she has voicemail, but we didn't activate because she isn't savy enough to do that.. but she loves the call waiting.. i am sooo happy with this.. totally worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 331 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next