Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.327 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(428 Reviews) 396
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
67
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
43
Customer Recommendation88%375 out of 428reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,096 Questions | 1,853 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
67
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
43
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
09/16/2013
By ,
Eunice,la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my gosh, why didn't I do this sooner? So easy to set up. The cost can't be beat by anyone! And you can't tell any difference in quality. It is very clear. I would recommend this product to any one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Awesome home phone service for only $10 a month!!

10/16/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got my basic talk box yesterday. Setup was extremely easy. I just plugged it into my router, and was up in a few minutes. The quality is very clear, their website is very easy to navigate, and their support is top notch if you have any questions. Defiantly would recommend!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

One of the cheapest VoIP options

10/27/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The box is smaller than a slice of bread but it does work great. In my area with taxes, the service ends up being about $12.33 a month. My only complaint is that the only way to know you have voice mail is a blinking light on this device or pick up your phone to hear the stutter tone. You cannot get email messages about voicemail or missed calls. You can log in to your account www.basictalk.com to get your voicemail or call history.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great Phone Service

11/21/2013
By ,
White Lake, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had Basic Talk now for about six months and it works great. No dropped calls and the line sounds clear. The best part is that after taxes it's about 12 bucks a months. You can't beat it for the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

It just works. . .

02/15/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Context: I live in Austin, TX and have a reliable, fast internet connection.
I can't imagine how this product/service won't work well if you have reliable and fast Internet. My connection is about 20Mbps down and 1Mpbs up ("Standard" at Time Warner). For me, it works very well.
I wish it had just one more feature: sending an email notification when someone has left a voice mail. Other than that, it's really, really nice to have good quality at a low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic talk

03/31/2014
By ,
Kent OH.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had any problems with this product ,it was easy to install,great clarity
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

wonderful phone at a excellent price

05/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i used to have other phone service and it ranged around twenty to forty dollars a month with this one it is ten bucks to buy first month free and is very easy to hook up to your modem. you need internet service to use it but i have it. it looks like it will be around eleven dollars a month which is a huge savings for me on a fixed income. thanks basic talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Very satisfied

05/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The device works great, and is actually better than our Comcast land line. The only negative is that activation was overly complicated.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great service

06/21/2013
By ,
Riverside, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
crystal clear service, easy set up. I wish I would have switched to basic talk sooner and saved more money on a monthly phone bill. I am happy with the service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Incredible product at an incredible value.

07/08/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little device is really powerful. It was an easy setup, and has exceptional quality. Highly recommend!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

So far, so good

09/04/2013
By ,
Northbrook, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tried Magic Jack first. It worked ok but was uncomfortable hearing about people being cut off from service for over using the phone. So, we tried Basic Talk. After using it for a couple of weeks, we were sold on it. We had our number ported over from Comcast. The process was simple and only took a few days. Basic Talk keeps you informed of the transfer status throughout the whole process. We have a high speed Internet connection and I believe it makes all the difference in the call quality. Dropping our Comcast phone service will save us almost $400 a year. Thanks Basic Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great device not a single prolbem

09/09/2013
By ,
rising sun in.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wonder how many cable company customers who bundle there phone with them will soon jump over to this great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works well, I didn't test correctly at first

11/04/2013
By ,
Olathe, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a little problem advancing through the online account set up, but I think that was a pop-up blocker issue. I tried a different browser and everything worked fine. There was some confusion with the number transfer process. I had cancelled the DSL on my home phone line months ago, but Basic Talk was told by AT&T that I still have DSL. Basic Talk emailed me and said I needed to contact AT&T to get the DSL separated from my phone line, and get a confirmation number when that was done. I called AT&T and they said I don't have DSL on my account (I knew that). I couldn't get a confirmation number. But I contacted Basic Talk and they are going to re-submit the request to transfer. We will see how that goes.
The box itself was very easy to set up. I got a dial tone very quickly. Where I ran into trouble (which wasn't really a problem) was when I tried to make a test outgoing call once I got the dial tone. I figured that since my home phone number would remain "separate" until the transfer was complete, I tried to call my home phone from my Basic Talk phone. The call went straight to voice mail instead. I contacted support via online chat, and all my test calls kept going to my mail box. The CSR - who was exceedingly patient - ran tests and determined it was a problem with the temporary phone number, so he changed it. The outgoing calls kept going to my mailbox. Only after well over an hour of trying different things only to have the problem persist did we determine that the problem was because I was calling the number that was being transferred.
In other words, I couldn't call my land line from my Basic Talk phone. Calls to my cell phone went through just fine, although the number that showed up on my cell phone was my land line number, NOT my Basic Talk temporary number, even though I was calling from the Basic Talk temporary number, and the transfer wouldn't be completed for days. I found that a little confusing, but once I figured out that outgoing calls were working as long as I didn't call my land line, I was ok. So, bottom line is, if you make a test call, call a number that is NOT the one that you are transferring.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

great optional home phn service

01/19/2014
By ,
nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item. Easy install, clear service
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk More Than Fulfills Expectations

01/28/2014
By ,
Fort Lauderdale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is the voice crystal clear but I have the device connected to the telephone wiring in my apartment so that all the rooms have phones connected to it with no loss in sound or ringing ability. I also tried faxing out and tried receiving a fax from a friend and both ways worked fine.
I would like the ability for the BasicTalk System to be capable of ringing another line upon an incoming call if my internet has gone down. That would make it perfect for my use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk Home Phone Device

03/04/2014
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Device works great and the monthly price is right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great system for cutting phone bill.

03/14/2014
By ,
Bartlesville, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value. Call quality is great, setup is easy, and I save a lot of money each month. Very pleased with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk Home Phone Device beats Vonage

05/29/2013
By ,
Andersonville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a former user of Vonage VOIP service and paying a much higher price for the same service, switching to BasicTalk was easy and offers quality service at a much reduced price. I would recommend this service to all looking for an economical home phone service with VOIP.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mesa, Arizona
BasicTalk is Vonage
Posted 08/04/2013
BasicTalk is a Vonage service. They just figured out a way to offer the service at a very affordable price, and without all the gimmicks associate with other VOIP plans.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 39 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

VOIP well done.

06/24/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy setup, easy number transfer. 911 is part of the setup. Sure, it makes sense to put your cable modem/DSL router and BasicTalk box on an uninterruptible power supply, but those are pretty slim odds you'll lose power just when you need to call 911. Just use your cell phone.... With taxes, $11.40 per month here in Arizona vs wired carriers $30.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

This phone is a good buy

07/18/2013
By ,
Dunnellon Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Basic Talk phone in Walmart, went on line and set it up as per their instructions. I had it up and running in about 45 minutes. They took over and made the number transfer in 4 days with AT&T and now it is working very well and saving me money. You will need a wireless router to set it up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 397 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next