Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.296 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(530 Reviews) 498
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
361
4 stars
88
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
55
Customer Recommendation87%461 out of 530reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,283 Questions | 2,095 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
361
4 stars
88
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
55
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/09/2013
By ,
San Diego, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to return mine because of non compatiblity with my Huges Net. It was right up my alley.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great money saver.

08/13/2013
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this online. Received in a timely manner. I was tired of overpaying for my home phone service & for $12.56 (my cost for service , including taxes, etc), monthly decided to try this. When I sat down & read directions it was very easy to get the service up & working. I decided to keep my phone number & Basic Talk made the change from my other phone service. Had both services until the number was totally transferred. I have a phone system with one base unit & 3 extensions work perfect.I am very happy with Basic Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/30/2013
By ,
Hazlehurst, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it to replace MagicJack. Superior sound quality - I can hear again. Problem with MagicJack porting my old number. They would not release it and I had to change phone numbers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

GREAT BUY!

08/31/2013
By ,
Delran, New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased BasicTalk at Walmart some three months ago. I didn't have much expectation that it would work, but my daughter suggested I try it. She had seen an ad on TV. I bought it home, set it up online and BOY WHAT A SURPRISE!!! This is the best thing since sliced bread! The calls are clear and we have no problem with the unit. It just sits next to my modem and blinks! I would recommend this to anyone who wants a dependable, affordable phone service. Have talked with the reps several times and all my questions were answered to my satisfaction. Much better than Comcast!!! Setup was so easy.................even though I'm 82 yrs. old. No problem at all
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

So far, so good

09/04/2013
By ,
Northbrook, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tried Magic Jack first. It worked ok but was uncomfortable hearing about people being cut off from service for over using the phone. So, we tried Basic Talk. After using it for a couple of weeks, we were sold on it. We had our number ported over from Comcast. The process was simple and only took a few days. Basic Talk keeps you informed of the transfer status throughout the whole process. We have a high speed Internet connection and I believe it makes all the difference in the call quality. Dropping our Comcast phone service will save us almost $400 a year. Thanks Basic Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Working well

09/12/2013
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I move to Google Fiber with no phone option. I went with Basic Talk. It is working wonderfully well.
I purchased a UPS for power outages. The power went out and so did the phones. The issue is on Googles end. Seems the out door box goes down with loss of power even though the network box is powered. I am trying to work through with Google Fiber.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
09/16/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome product. Clear calls. No hassle! Easy set up. Took less then 20 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk works if you have a good internet ISP

09/17/2013
By ,
Powhatan, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have a good internet connection Basic Talk works great.
You can't loose.
It works and has saved me around $42 per month.
I was paying $54 per month now I am paying $12.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great!!

09/17/2013
By ,
Florence, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome product. I have a mid range cable internet connection and this works great. Very easy to setup. Wal-Mart did a great job at getting this shipped. I received it the day after I ordered it. Couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

No smoke and mirrors - it's not magic !

09/18/2013
By ,
Medford, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Want the real deal ? BasicTalk is it! I tried the other, and after a month of back and forth exchange and hours on customer service I said enough is enough and went to BasicTalk. The results were fantastic and seamless. Easy set- up and clear voice transmission and I had my land-line ready to go. It's inexpensive and had no problem on a fast porting of my phone line that didn't cost a penny on the BasicTalk side. The other side was a double cost on porting back from the no-magic competition smoke and mirror outfit. The basic unit from BasicTalk is compact ( a small box) that plugged into my modem (router) and it worked right off the bat. Easy and clear instructions that put my phone on line in minutes. My unit has all the features you get with high priced phone service,i.e., call waiting, caller ID, voice recording ( I use my answering system on my multi-phone system). I can truly say I was surprised after the failed attempt with the competition.The service is $9.99, however, uncle Sam gets a small tax that brings the whole monthly cost to about $11.70. But with all the features and nation wide calling it's a small expensive considering the phone company's rate. There's no time limit on calls or monthly call limits. My experience is a plus five stars rating. I'm glad I tried BasicTalk. It's a keeper for my home land line service. I recommend this service without equivocation. Another plus, if you have any problems that can't be rectified through the BasicTalk web service just take it back to Walmart. No return mailing and hassle. It's that simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

You can't go wrong!

09/20/2013
By ,
Mullens, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Frontier landline bill ran $40 a month. I switched to Basic Talk for $10 a month, and could not be happier! The calls are crystal clear, and the service is awesome! I promise you if you try Basic Talk, you will not be disappointed! What have you got to lose, except a huge phone bill!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great budget saving phone system!

09/21/2013
By ,
Muskegon, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm no tech wiz, but BasicTalk was easy to set up online and is working perfectly. Very economical option! My local and 2 US long distance calls (both outbound and received) have all been clearer than my former phone company had been providing while they were charging me four times as much per month. Call Waiting and Voice Mail options are included at no extra cost, and I love that those can be enabled or disabled online, any time I choose. I was very worried about giving up my landline, but now I wish I'd done it a long time ago! If you're considering BasicTalk, try it! This was my first online and site-to-store purchase from Wal-Mart. They texted and emailed me that my order was ready for me to pick up just a few hour after I ordered it. Wow! Be aware you need to have internet from your cable provider, not dial-up. You will need an open ethernet port on your cable router or wireless gateway box. I have the most basic "economy" 3mbs internet speed from my cable co. and BasicTalk is working fine with it. BasicTalk could port my old phone number to their system for free, but I chose a new number so I could disconnect my old landline sooner and stop my old phone company from charging me for however many days their line would need to be kept active until the porting process would be completed. If your old number is important to you, I believe while you are waiting for porting to be completed, you could arrange call forwarding from your old phone company to BasicTalk. You would be paying for both services for a little while, but it's nice to have options.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great product. Great price.

09/29/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Time Warner Cable raised my phone bill to $49 per month after I left their bundle package. Basic Talk does everything that TWC did for $40 per month less. That's a savings of almiost $500 a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

WOW++++++++ !!

10/01/2013
By ,
Lexington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install, superb sound quality, caller ID with voicemail and all for under $13.00 a month!!!!!
Does not get any better!!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The unit worked as advertised.

10/02/2013
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No charge for transferring current number. The voice mail and other features work well. Would recommend it to a friend.
It was purchased to replace a Magic Jack Plus which worked correctly only one day. Magic Jack charged $21.55 for transferring existing number in and charged $32.34 to transfer the number to Basic Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works just like the commercial

10/08/2013
By ,
Belleville, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hooked up the device per instructions and went online to register it. My old phone number was ported over in about 5 days and the device works fine. I'm very happy to be saving about $30 per month.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

great product

10/13/2013
By ,
Berlin Heights, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was tired of paying 40+ dollars a month for a phone that I don't use. The Basic Talk system was just what I needed. Setup was easy and it works great. I can even get my voicemail online when I'm not home. If you are thinking about replacing your land line this is the way to go, and at a low price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
10/14/2013
By ,
Columbia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First - I don't typically write product reviews, but felt I needed to. I have to say I was skeptical about terminating my phone service w/ Centurylink. I installed the BT Device and began to make calls immediately. I set up the voicemail - very easy. At this time I would say for $11/month (taxes included) it's a no-brainer. All local and long distance calls. This will save my family around $250 a year plus in phone charges alone - more if were to factor in the cost of getting unlimited long distance. If you have high speed internet I would strongly encourage you getting this. It's a nice money saving option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Awesome home phone service for only $10 a month!!

10/16/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got my basic talk box yesterday. Setup was extremely easy. I just plugged it into my router, and was up in a few minutes. The quality is very clear, their website is very easy to navigate, and their support is top notch if you have any questions. Defiantly would recommend!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Worth every penny

10/16/2013
By ,
Pueblo CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this out of necessity, after disconnecting my home phone that I had for 20 years. The
first time I didn't quite follow directions. The second time I hooked it up and followed the directions closely, was up and running in no time. To work out the kinks (ANYTHING you buy has a kink) and wait for the line to become active took about 30 minutes. First month is indeed free. The perfect item for my needs. The sound is the same as what I was paying $50 for from another company.
Would highly recommend, can't beat it for the price. Follow the directions and it will work for you too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 499 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next