Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.309 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(553 Reviews) 521
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
379
4 stars
91
3 stars
14
2 stars
13
1 star
56
Customer Recommendation87%481 out of 553reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,299 Questions | 2,108 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
379
4 stars
91
3 stars
14
2 stars
13
1 star
56
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Switched from MagicJack Plus

11/22/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been MagicJack customer for a while and more recently started noticing that I could barely hear people on the other end or they could not hear me. I tried various things suggested online but the problem was never resolved. After reading reviews here, I decided to try this. I was getting by with MagicJack but by no means happy with my phone service for various reasons.
1) When I upgraded from MagicJack to MagicJackPlus, they told me that I would not lose time on my currently paid subscription to MagicJack and after my subscription expired, I would begin my one year free that came with MagicJack Plus. That didnt happen and customer support kept denying that I lost any time when I tried giving them exact dates. I lost about 2 months..no biggie I moved on.
2) I could not call any calling card numbers or my long distance provider's dial in number with Magic Jack. They want you to really pay them for it.
3) Call quality was suffering. It wasn't just a few numbers but calling friends and family in Canada resulted in poor call quality . Often I'd get disconnected in the middle of a call and I would hear the dreaded message "ERROR. Please check your internet connection. " Yet I was connected to the internet on my laptop just fine.
4) Every so often I would pick up the phone and hear "Please wait..." while it tried to connect.
I've had BasicTalk for a day and have made a few calls. But there is a day and night difference in call quality. I don' thave to tell people to speak up and they can hear me just fine. I can call my calling card company as well. I'm going to continue testing it over the next few days but I can say this already that my number one issue of call quality has been resolved.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Easy set-up,good sound quality at a great price

01/17/2014
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased in the last 2 weeks
Equipment delivered promptly
Set up was a breeze and glitch free
Keeping my current number was simple to do online and transfer executed in a few days
Sound quality seems just the same as old service
Unless any issues arise later on I believe this was a great no-brainier purchase that I wish I had discovered sooner to slash the cost of my phone service without compromising on quality
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic Talk home phone great device

04/01/2014
By ,
Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Quality, economical service; great phone alternate

12/27/2013
By ,
Lincoln, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am on a budget and the escalating cost of my traditional landline, features, and long distance costs swayed me to look at the Basic Talk alternative. I investigated many different companies and read a lot of reviews and finally bought the Basic Talk Home Phone Device from Walmart. I am amazed at the quality of my phone calls on both ends; as clear if not clearer than my traditional land line. I am also pleased that the service includes caller ID also, along with other features. Set up took me about 15 minuets and was easy; I am not tech savvy. The first month is free and my monthly bill thereafter is $11.10 including taxes. I wished I had bought this unit years ago!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk is a GREAT alternate home phone system!

06/27/2013
By ,
Bergenfield, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first had skeptical feelings about using this new phone service, but with a $9.99/mo. deal, I had to give it a try. GLAD I DID! Great & clear phone services/calls and easy to install. Had dropped my previous provider by transferring my old number at NO CHARGE(that was also great) and the other services I'm glad I got them too(call waiting/ID, 911 services, Voicemail/Forwarding). So far, GREAT phone service to use! <;-D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

great product for the price

02/16/2014
By ,
Philo, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very easy setup, works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Wonderful alternative to other phone services

12/27/2013
By ,
Parma, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our cable phone bill for the same services was about $45.00 a month! The installation, customer service contact, was seamless and fast. The quality is definitely as good, if not better than what we had before. Price is a big factor for my wife and I because we are on Social Security and money is very limited. The call waiting and voice mail are BETTER than our previous service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Didn't expect much, but pleasantly surprised!

01/19/2014
By ,
LaPorte, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had it now for about 6 months, transferring number was simple and done within just a couple of days. During which they sent emails on updates of the process throughout. Connected on first try and hasn't had a single issue yet. Voice quality is as good as it was with Cable phone. Online features are great for checking voicemails on the go. Wouldn't hesitate to purchase it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Easy to hook up and sound is very good.

03/08/2014
By ,
IL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good phone for the price and easy to hookup the Price is very good I do not think you can go wrong. and nice because if you move you can take it with you and keep your number or get a new one. Sound is just like a land line and I live in the country and it has 911.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Easy set up. Good price and first month free

11/26/2013
By ,
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy with product would buy again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Amazing Home Phone Service

08/08/2013
By ,
Redford, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BasicTalk is an amazing product. All calls are clear just like my ATT landline BUT much cheaper. Plus you have unlimited calling, call waiting and voicemail. I have used it for 7 months now and I have NEVER had a problem, NEVER dropped a call and NEVER heard static. It has been crystal clear from day one. $ 9.99 is a great deal for the box and $ 9.99 for the service. There are no contracts or hidden fees. I am very impressed with the quality and the service. The customer service is very helpful and speak English. You can contact them via phone, email or live chat. Connects right to your router so it doesn't slow down your computer or affect it in anyway. Very simple to install. Your cable comes to the modem, Ethernet from modem to router, Ethernet from BasicTalk to router, Ethernet from computer to router. Plug everything up. Voila!!! You have home phone. I have nothing but praise for BasicTalk and I hope my review can help someone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Totally Impressed!!

08/09/2013
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Basic Talk has met all my expectations and some more. It was very easy to set up; it only took me about 5 minutes. I am really amazed at the quality of this device. For anyone who's skeptical, don't be; you won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Excellent Service!

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Basic Talk device is better then I imagined. The quality of the calls is exceptional! If you keep your same number, it does take a few days to switch the service so keep the old line connected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

GREAT BUY!

08/31/2013
By ,
Delran, New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased BasicTalk at Walmart some three months ago. I didn't have much expectation that it would work, but my daughter suggested I try it. She had seen an ad on TV. I bought it home, set it up online and BOY WHAT A SURPRISE!!! This is the best thing since sliced bread! The calls are clear and we have no problem with the unit. It just sits next to my modem and blinks! I would recommend this to anyone who wants a dependable, affordable phone service. Have talked with the reps several times and all my questions were answered to my satisfaction. Much better than Comcast!!! Setup was so easy.................even though I'm 82 yrs. old. No problem at all
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
09/05/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the basic talk phone service. Working great! No problems at all!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

the best product for the price and features u get

02/10/2014
By ,
zanesville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best product I ever bought with great features at a low price.....I would recommend it to anybody....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Basic talk is great

02/07/2014
By ,
richmond,va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
saves me money,easy to hook up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

So Good So Far

03/09/2014
By ,
Stone Mountain,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a landline to start my at home business and so far everything is going well. Connection is good and the setup was so easy my 12 year old son actually did it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Tiny and Mighty

03/13/2014
By ,
Thurmond, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a rural area where the local phone company is a co-op and has been able to block other phone companies from coming in to offer competitive prices. I hated being held hostage by a company that offers poor service and rude people. A cell phone was the only alternative but the cost was too much for a full time student. I saw an ad for Basic Talk and figured if the quality was poor, I could always send it back. It arrived before schedule, was a snap to activate, and after about 15 minutes....I have better quality along with voice mail and caller ID that would have cost me extra with the old company. I am so thrilled to have found this device! I also like that I am not under contract and can cancel should I have a tight month and then go right back. Tiny and mighty!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Perfect

10/06/2013
By ,
New Haven,Ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price, easy to hook up and activate, I had my number transfered and that only took 2 or 3 days, crystal clear..Perfect in every way except that you can't block numbers from calling if you need to..but besides that, it's a great little device.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 522 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next