Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.332 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(449 Reviews) 417
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
313
4 stars
71
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
45
Customer Recommendation88%393 out of 449reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,130 Questions | 1,911 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
313
4 stars
71
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
45
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great lil device!

07/01/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little device is great! I am now saving about $25.00 a month on my home phone service. That adds up quickly. The sound quality is really good! I've had no issues making or receiving calls. There's no static or call drops either. I've bragged about this service to friends and family.
Pros: Price, easy to use, call quality
Cons: None I can see
Being this hooks up to a internet connection, make sure you have reliable cable or DSL internet connections. Also, be aware when the internet is down or the power is out, the phone will not work. This is just a warning to those who compares this to regular home phone services. I purchased a Cat5e cable to reduce cross talk and increase length. The current Cat5 cable is standard with the packaging but it's short.
When I first bought this device, I was disappointed at how Walmart employees were unaware of this device and they have none on their shelves, even though the Walmart website stated it was in stock for that particular Walmart store. I even had to show this device to a Walmart employee on the mobile app. So, be aware that you may need to order online.
The first month of service is free and registration is simple. This is only costing me $12.95 a month! Great way to save and the service is great!!!!! ^_^
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I was skeptical!

07/11/2013
By ,
Apache Junction, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say I was very skeptical of this product. Then when I got it and saw how easy it was to set up I was pleasantly surprised. Then I received my first incoming call. I was glad to see that the quality and clarity of the call was amazing. I am very pleased with this service. I would recommend it to anyone who is tired of being ripped off by their local phone company. I am saving $30+ a month by switching. I'll never go back to the other phone company for phone service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
07/18/2013
By ,
carson
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small compact, not intrusive near computer. Works great and love the price. ATT go away
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

OMG

09/03/2013
By ,
Southaven, MS.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was using phone within 5 minutes of opening. Great value for price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

No smoke and mirrors - it's not magic !

09/18/2013
By ,
Medford, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Want the real deal ? BasicTalk is it! I tried the other, and after a month of back and forth exchange and hours on customer service I said enough is enough and went to BasicTalk. The results were fantastic and seamless. Easy set- up and clear voice transmission and I had my land-line ready to go. It's inexpensive and had no problem on a fast porting of my phone line that didn't cost a penny on the BasicTalk side. The other side was a double cost on porting back from the no-magic competition smoke and mirror outfit. The basic unit from BasicTalk is compact ( a small box) that plugged into my modem (router) and it worked right off the bat. Easy and clear instructions that put my phone on line in minutes. My unit has all the features you get with high priced phone service,i.e., call waiting, caller ID, voice recording ( I use my answering system on my multi-phone system). I can truly say I was surprised after the failed attempt with the competition.The service is $9.99, however, uncle Sam gets a small tax that brings the whole monthly cost to about $11.70. But with all the features and nation wide calling it's a small expensive considering the phone company's rate. There's no time limit on calls or monthly call limits. My experience is a plus five stars rating. I'm glad I tried BasicTalk. It's a keeper for my home land line service. I recommend this service without equivocation. Another plus, if you have any problems that can't be rectified through the BasicTalk web service just take it back to Walmart. No return mailing and hassle. It's that simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Good Product

10/29/2013
By ,
Decatur, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install, excellent call quality. The price is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The best deal

12/30/2013
By ,
Battle creek,mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best deal saved 35.00 a mouth over AT&T for the same service at at&t Hookup was 10 min
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

great optional home phn service

01/19/2014
By ,
nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item. Easy install, clear service
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk Home Phone Device

03/04/2014
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Device works great and the monthly price is right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Why pay more?

03/17/2014
By ,
Canyon Country,Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little device is saving me many dollars a month. I was paying more than a dollar a day for phone service, now it is less than a half a dollar a day. Works great
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I love it

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Basic talk not only meet my needs, but exceeds them.
All I can say is you can't go wrong if you want good phone service at an incredible low price.
Get Basic Talk !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The only thing you have to pay taxes

06/05/2013
By ,
Palmdale , CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only thing you have to pay taxes it is not $9.99 a month! It is $11.19 a month! It is the sound quality is good and it is well worth it because it beats paying long distance charges!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

love this

07/20/2013
By ,
arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased this for my mother.. she is elderly and i have her on my cell phone plan but she was using so many minutes it was costing me a fortune. so i thougt i would give this a try.. it was inexpensive so it wouldn't be a big loss... was i ever happy... i hooked it up and she can make and get calls from my siblings in another state.. and call her doctors or friends... and if she happens to have to dial 911.. it will tell them her location... she has voicemail, but we didn't activate because she isn't savy enough to do that.. but she loves the call waiting.. i am sooo happy with this.. totally worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great saving!

09/01/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything sound clear and crisp. I should have done this a lot earlier. Took only three days to port old number over. Three weeks so far and no trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

So far, so good

09/04/2013
By ,
Northbrook, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tried Magic Jack first. It worked ok but was uncomfortable hearing about people being cut off from service for over using the phone. So, we tried Basic Talk. After using it for a couple of weeks, we were sold on it. We had our number ported over from Comcast. The process was simple and only took a few days. Basic Talk keeps you informed of the transfer status throughout the whole process. We have a high speed Internet connection and I believe it makes all the difference in the call quality. Dropping our Comcast phone service will save us almost $400 a year. Thanks Basic Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

affordable,works great, # transfer smooth

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got sick and tired of time warner, always raising prices and their endless bundling sales pitches. Thought I'd give basictalk a try as it was only a 10.00 investment. I was pleasantly surprised how my phone number was transferred so effortless, not to mention the easy set up. Plus it works like any telephone should, don't notice any difference. Now, the best part is the price per month! I'm on a budget and am so glad I decided to try basictalk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Absolute BEST deal for our needs

08/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a vacation cabin in Alaska and only spend a few months a year there so we didn't want to pay for an expensive monthly landline. We looked into Magic Jack first - no good for Alaska as they do not have Alaska numbers, plus the service was hit and miss and a little long winded. I shopped around and compared Basic Talk to Vonage (Vonage is way pricier for EXACTLY the same thing) - absolutely no question - Basic Talk for only $9.99 a month is a wonderful deal and it hooked up easily and fast and has never let us down. We are in rural Alaska and our calls are crystal clear and quite frankly no different to a regular landline. We highly recommend Basic Talk !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
07/06/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Call quality is excellent, better than my cell phone. Everyone I know with magic jack hates it, so I'm happy with this purchase and service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works Great!

07/27/2013
By ,
Mesa, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got fed up with local phone service here in the east suburbs of Phoenix, so I thought I would give Basic Talk a try. I started off like everyone else, having bought the device at my local Wal-Mart. Installation was quite easy and Basic Talk gives you everything you need to install the device, including the Ethernet cable to run from the phone device to the modem, which in my case, is DSL. Set-up only took a few minutes on line to create my account and activate the device. I requested that my current phone number be ported to Basic Talk. In the mean time, Basic Talk provides you with a local phone number right away. I had my phone line call forwarded to my Basic Talk number, so transition was simple and allowed me to permanently set everything up without waiting for the number porting to finalize.
Call quality is excellent, and I do mean....Crystal Clear. I like the fact that Basic Talk allows you to set the ring times through your online account, something I was never able to do with my former phone company. I also like the fact that voicemail can be checked through the phone or online. I may not have as many features as I did with my former phone company, but that's fine as I never wanted all the bells and whistles to begin with. What Basic Talk does offer, is exactly what I want and what most other users want as well. Getting rid of the pork reduces the costs, so good for Basic Talk for getting it right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mesa, Arizona
Porting my phone number was easy.
Posted 08/04/2013
When I set up my BasicTalk account online and activated my service, I filled out the online form to have my existing phone number ported. The phone number was ported exactly when BasicTalk said it would be and without cost. Before it happened, I had call forwarding with my old phone service provider, so I had my phone number forwarded to the temporary phone number that BasicTalk assigned me. BasicTalk service is really great and so far, I am very satisfied with the crystal clear service and especially with how much money I'm now saving every month.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 40 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
08/29/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BETTER THAN VONAGE FOR PRICE. ONLY WISH IT HAD THE OPTION OF CALL FORWARDING.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 418 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next