Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.307 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(362 Reviews) 330
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
250
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation87%315 out of 362reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
930 Questions | 1,528 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
250
4 stars
57
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Awesome

01/24/2014
By ,
Niles Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was paying $50+ a month with AT@T now just $13 after taxes and fees, clear calling, unlimited minutes no problems since we set it up had a problem with static on the phone and their support was able to fix it with no problems. Able to switch phone numbers with no problems. Definitely worth a buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Perfect!

04/15/2014
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our cell reception at our house is terrible and we wanted something affordable and reliable and this has been the answer! Very easy to install and use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
07/10/2013
By ,
Durham, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our landline service (Frontier) was reliable during a drought. Whenever it rained, we lost our dialtone for 24 - 48 hours. After having seven failed Frontier service calls over the course of 18 months to fix it, I had enough of incompetence. I read reviews of BasicTalk and magic jack, and decided to try BasicTalk. Went to my local walmart and picked up the package. The first one I bought wouldn't work at all; seems that it had been used, returned to the store, and then put back in stock. I learned that once a unit has been registered online, there is no way to 're-register' it and it becomes completely useless. I returned the first unit, and the second one installed easily. Call quality is better than my landline was. Been using the service for about 2 weeks and have had an excellent experience. Plugged in our wirless Uniden phone system and have nad absolutely no issues. Very pleased so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Goodbye Verizon Hello Basic Talk, I can hear you!

09/20/2013
By ,
Port Orchard, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Right off the bat the savings over my old Verizon Home Phone Connect service are 70%, the talk quality is much better (just like land line), calls go through MUCH faster, No dropped calls and it even works when it rains (unlike Verizon)...I did have to buy a router (Netgear from WM) but no big deal, hooked up easy with no hassle, took a few calls to get voice mail worked out and now it is working as it should plus I like all the call information available online for my account and with the total investment including buying a router I will be in the black in less than two months....not a bad return on investment time!
Now for the down side: I normally won't do business with a company that has NO Phone Contact number but I did find an 800 number if you wanted to disconnect so I was good with that.
When internet goes out I will have no phone, that was a big leap of faith, but that's why we have neighbors.
All in all, if they can keep their books straight and I can make calls we will get along just fine, time will tell but thus far it is an excellent value for what you pay so fingers crossed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

DSL home phone

03/12/2014
By ,
Ravena, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small unit. $10.00 pays for the unit and first month. Unlimited US, Canada and PR calling. Includes call waiting , caller ID , 411 and 911. Automatically keeps a record of all calls that can be viewed on your computer. Great product. DSL required. Works great with our 5 cordless phones. Fairly easy setup. Limited choice of phone numbers available. Great value. Should have got one years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

So far, so good ...

11/04/2013
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Calls have been very clear so far (I have only made 5 or 6 over a few weeks). I have Comcast cable internet and it’s generally pretty fast so I would expect there to be no issues. My only complaint (and thus why 4 stars instead of 5) is that in transferring an existing number from a cell carrier, I’ve received multiple requests for the last 4 of my SSN. I’ve supplied the required info a number of times, and finally reached out to customer service for assistance. They have escalated the issue and assure me it should be handled shortly (I was afraid if I didn’t respond to each and every request, I would risk loosing a number that I’ve had for quite a while). I have recommended this to family members already as the call quality is great, and the price is unbeatable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Quality, economical service; great phone alternate

12/27/2013
By ,
Lincoln, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am on a budget and the escalating cost of my traditional landline, features, and long distance costs swayed me to look at the Basic Talk alternative. I investigated many different companies and read a lot of reviews and finally bought the Basic Talk Home Phone Device from Walmart. I am amazed at the quality of my phone calls on both ends; as clear if not clearer than my traditional land line. I am also pleased that the service includes caller ID also, along with other features. Set up took me about 15 minuets and was easy; I am not tech savvy. The first month is free and my monthly bill thereafter is $11.10 including taxes. I wished I had bought this unit years ago!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Good inexpensive phone service

11/14/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After using the product for a few weeks, I would recommend it. For $10/mo + taxes, it's a good replacement for the cable company's or phone company's service. For the most part, calls are clear and uninterrupted. Once in a while there is some echo back to my handset, but usually if I lower the handset volume I can compensate.
The service includes voicemail, caller ID and call waiting, but not forwarding which could come in handy. I would also likes to see more online controls such as call blocking, etc. You can configure the voicemail online -- for example, how long to ring before a call is sent to voicemail.
Customers service can be a bit frustrating as you won't get to call anyone if you have a problem -- it's email or online chat only and you may have a long wait to chat with anyone.
I use the service because it allowed me to return my cable company's telephone/modem device and save about $5/month additionally (I purchased my own modem and this device for phone) so after about a year, I've made back my money on my purchase vs. "renting" their equipment forever.
Nothing remarkable here, just decent phone service and minimal customer service at a minimal price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

excellent product

01/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can sum this up quickly, if you want home phone service, go to a Walmart, pick up the BasicTalk box, set it up, sign up and you can make clear calls in no time for $10 a month. It's plug and play, no issues at all with the router or the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works Great!

07/01/2013
By ,
Northwest PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed to find a cheaper service for our home phone, since we are now on a fixed income and the price we were paying with cable was just too high. I saw the ad for the Basic Talk home phone and we both agreed it was worth a try. We had our number ported over, which was pretty fast (4 working days from sign-up) and it all went very smooth. So we have had service since the 19th of June and have had no problems with the service; it works just like before when we had cable. Our total bill each month is $12.71 (taxes, etc included). That is a far cry from the $30 + taxes we were paying with cable. I am hoping it will continue to give us many years of good service! It was very easy to set up and going online was simple to do also. I can also state that I am still able to have a 3-4 hour conversation with my daughter each week with no problems at all. So far we love it and have recommended it to many people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

instructions followed , voip does not work

02/08/2014
By ,
thomasville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have had alot of exp, with voip systems, used them even from china, i purchased this, went online to activate it , went smooth, instructions said wait at least 15 minutes before installing the hardware, i waited 40 minutes, installed hardware strictly as instructions said, unit is to blink 2 green light while it updates from the internet , this should take 5 min, per instructiions, well its been 2 hours and its still flashing and no phone , i think they have a server problem, uploading , installation software, , as the internet here is downloading at 50 megs, , dont waste your time and spend another .60usd, and 15 min. online , as it seems the hardware is working , but they can t get you the software to activate it to you online, , a magjicjack is better than this and thats not great, but it does work, , returning this today for refund, walmart should not even sell this , there is no customer support, and no recourse for basic talks software issues
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Poor performance + Poor support

06/09/2013
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PROS: Initial investment of only $10 for the box, and 1st month of service free.
CONS: I spent 3 days trying to get the box connected consistently, and I was only able to make one call before the box lost its connection. No, the problem was NOT my router (I tried 3 different routers). No, the problem was NOT my modem (3 different modems). No, the problem was NOT my ISP (2 different ISP's at 3 locations#.
I tried getting support through their chat sessions #no phone support avalable). Takes too long for you to go through the same steps, only to still not have a working phone. And no support on weekends? Unacceptible.
Now, I've been trying for 2 days to cancel the service, and after entering data on several pages, the final confirmation page continues to fail with the following error: "We're sorry. We are not able to display your data at this time. Please try again later." Thankfully, I still have 26 days before they try to charge me again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Easy to hook up and sound is very good.

03/08/2014
By ,
IL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good phone for the price and easy to hookup the Price is very good I do not think you can go wrong. and nice because if you move you can take it with you and keep your number or get a new one. Sound is just like a land line and I live in the country and it has 911.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

No difference between other carrier

01/25/2014
By ,
allentown,pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can not tell any difference in phone service since we switched to basic talk besides my bill. I still have my old phone # and it was switched over in less than 3 days.......... U WILL LOVE IT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device
10/14/2013
By ,
Columbia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First - I don't typically write product reviews, but felt I needed to. I have to say I was skeptical about terminating my phone service w/ Centurylink. I installed the BT Device and began to make calls immediately. I set up the voicemail - very easy. At this time I would say for $11/month (taxes included) it's a no-brainer. All local and long distance calls. This will save my family around $250 a year plus in phone charges alone - more if were to factor in the cost of getting unlimited long distance. If you have high speed internet I would strongly encourage you getting this. It's a nice money saving option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

So Good So Far

03/09/2014
By ,
Stone Mountain,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a landline to start my at home business and so far everything is going well. Connection is good and the setup was so easy my 12 year old son actually did it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great Purchase!

02/08/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just switched from AT&T landline service to basic talk. So far, I am very pleased! I cannot tell a difference between AT&T and Basic Talk, except the price of basic talk is much cheaper. I was able to keep my old number, and I was also able to hook it up to all the landlines in my house (we don't like cordless). I highly recommend this to anyone who still likes a land line phone, but doesn't want to pay the outrageous rates for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Whole process was straight forward

02/19/2014
By ,
Central Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to follow directions made the installation of this internet phone modem a breeze. Go online to their website, Set up the mac address and remaining account information, (i chose to keep my old number) then follow cabling instructions and power up the phone modem which connects automatically through the internet. I tested the new phone line with the temporary number they provided and it worked 1st time. All three phones connected to the new line work perfectly.
Their website is very intuitive and it took only three days to get my old phone number from Comcast moved to my basic talk account. They send you an email each day with status updates as to when your old number. I'm now saving $37 dollars more a month!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great value

04/04/2014
By ,
columbia,sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy-to-follow instructions! Great call quality!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great basic talk

04/03/2014
By ,
Jamestown
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it it was a great price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 331 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next