Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.327 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(428 Reviews) 396
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
67
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
43
Customer Recommendation88%375 out of 428reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,096 Questions | 1,853 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
67
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
43
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great device

07/26/2014
By ,
newport news va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceeds expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Provides Number to Telemarketers

06/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone service works fine and the customer service is excellent but it appears they sell your phone number to third parties as we are being flooded with telemarketing calls since switching. Read their privacy policy closely-I did not. It appears to give them this right. We have not provided this number to anyone else since the initiation of the unwanted calls. We are on the Federal Do Not Call List.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great Home Based Phone Device Priced Right

07/11/2014
By ,
Coshocton,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using Basic Talk over a year now and had no problems with it. If your just a basic phone user, not looking for alot of extras I wreck amend basic talk
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Excellent landline replacement

05/27/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Basic Talk system came with clear instructions, was simple to install and works as well as my AT&T land line did for a fraction of the cost. It has all the features that were an extra charge previously, caller id, voicemail, call waiting, etc. It even provides 911 calling in my area. Customer service quickly got me a new phone number and the phone was up and operational in just a few minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Poor performance + Poor support

06/09/2013
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PROS: Initial investment of only $10 for the box, and 1st month of service free.
CONS: I spent 3 days trying to get the box connected consistently, and I was only able to make one call before the box lost its connection. No, the problem was NOT my router (I tried 3 different routers). No, the problem was NOT my modem (3 different modems). No, the problem was NOT my ISP (2 different ISP's at 3 locations#.
I tried getting support through their chat sessions #no phone support avalable). Takes too long for you to go through the same steps, only to still not have a working phone. And no support on weekends? Unacceptible.
Now, I've been trying for 2 days to cancel the service, and after entering data on several pages, the final confirmation page continues to fail with the following error: "We're sorry. We are not able to display your data at this time. Please try again later." Thankfully, I still have 26 days before they try to charge me again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BEST HOME PHONE SERVICE EVER!!!

10/19/2013
By ,
TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hope my review will help other people choose the most inexpensive, best home phone service ever! I am a single mom so I am on a limited budget. Prior to this home phone service I had AT&T and I was paying $35.00 plus all the extra fees & taxes for U.S calling only. I looked into the Magic product but my sister has it overseas and said she had some problems with it, etc. So I found Basic Talk, wow I am pleasantly surprised! Stop paying high company bills for home phone service, buy Basic Talk. I have recommended it to friends & family. You do need to have internet service but nowadays who doesn't? Although a lot of people don't have home phones I wanted it for the sake of my kids. Also, with this home phone you can register it for 911 purposes, you register your physical address. With the Magic you can't. Blessings! <3
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

good value

07/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
set up was easy but needed help to get the device recognized by their system which involve an on-line chat. The person who helped me solved the problem in about 5 minutes and the line works well even though I have a wireless DSL internet connection which operates at about 2 MPS. If we onlyu talk and not use the internet at the same time we have no problems. I will keep the system and eventually move to an area with wired broadband service and then I will port my home phone number. 10 bucks a month for phone is awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works Great!

07/01/2013
By ,
Northwest PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed to find a cheaper service for our home phone, since we are now on a fixed income and the price we were paying with cable was just too high. I saw the ad for the Basic Talk home phone and we both agreed it was worth a try. We had our number ported over, which was pretty fast (4 working days from sign-up) and it all went very smooth. So we have had service since the 19th of June and have had no problems with the service; it works just like before when we had cable. Our total bill each month is $12.71 (taxes, etc included). That is a far cry from the $30 + taxes we were paying with cable. I am hoping it will continue to give us many years of good service! It was very easy to set up and going online was simple to do also. I can also state that I am still able to have a 3-4 hour conversation with my daughter each week with no problems at all. So far we love it and have recommended it to many people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great deal for $10 a month, sound quality good

07/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I switched from an Obitalk box and Google Voice to this, and am pleased with the sound quality and value. The only thing I wish I researched before was the fact that you can't arbitrarily block numbers or area codes (Jamaica for example-- stupid spammers).
But the price and sound quality is fantastic. Porting my Google Voice number took exactly 10 days, but it worked as expected and notifications from BasicTalk were numerous along the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Norfolk, VA
Currect Obitalk customer
Posted 07/29/2014
I have the Obitalk box and since they don't support Google Voice its hard to find a providers on their website. I was thinking of getting this and now that I have seen your review I think I will go ahead and get one.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Goodbye Verizon Hello Basic Talk, I can hear you!

09/20/2013
By ,
Port Orchard, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Right off the bat the savings over my old Verizon Home Phone Connect service are 70%, the talk quality is much better (just like land line), calls go through MUCH faster, No dropped calls and it even works when it rains (unlike Verizon)...I did have to buy a router (Netgear from WM) but no big deal, hooked up easy with no hassle, took a few calls to get voice mail worked out and now it is working as it should plus I like all the call information available online for my account and with the total investment including buying a router I will be in the black in less than two months....not a bad return on investment time!
Now for the down side: I normally won't do business with a company that has NO Phone Contact number but I did find an 800 number if you wanted to disconnect so I was good with that.
When internet goes out I will have no phone, that was a big leap of faith, but that's why we have neighbors.
All in all, if they can keep their books straight and I can make calls we will get along just fine, time will tell but thus far it is an excellent value for what you pay so fingers crossed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Works fine, call quality is good

07/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought BasicTalk to have as a backup phone and it works great. Having beta-tested Vonage when it was ready to come out, I can tell you that it is as good as Vonage in call quality and still offers most of the features that Vonage does at half the price. It's also much more reliable than MagicJack. A good value for the dollar!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Why did I wait so long?

03/07/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been paying AT&T $48 monthly to keep my no-frills land line. A land line is nice as it gives you a line with a number that satisfies most vendors. And I refuse to give out my cell number.
I got the Basic Talk and installed it immediately. Easiest setup ever. I have Comcast internet and it works just fine.
And all you do is disconnect the connection in the AT&T junction box on side of house and plug a cable from any jack into the BT unit. All my phones and answering machine work perfectly.
And sound quality is great.
I will not miss dealing with AT&T at all and fortunately I won't have to anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Best deal around

07/22/2014
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked up in store within minutes of ordering onlline. Set up took about three minutes and ta daaaa. Great quality phone calls. I picked a new number and it was great with the list of numbers they gave me to choose from. I was able to pick one that was easy to remember. Even with the taxes my monthly cost is under $12.00. Best way to have a home phone or, for that fact, any kind of phone at the lowest cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Almost like free

07/24/2014
By ,
MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Basic Talk-took 5 minutes to hook it up and start making calls.
I went from paying almost $35 a month for limited phone service to $9.99.
Its clear and just like talking on a land line. Buy this, you won't be sorry. I am installing one for my older sister very soon.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Amazing deal!

05/23/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had majicJack for about 2 years. The quality of majicJack has really deteriorated over that time. Many dropped calls and people not being able to get in touch with me. Moreover, their customer support is non-existent, so the issues could not be resolved. A few days ago I got fed up with majicJack and I decided to try Basictalk. Since it has no contract, I had nothing to really lose.
And what a difference! The setup was extremely simple, the calls now are crystal clear, has all the features you will ever need (911, voicemail, caller id, call waiting), has an actual customer support and all of that for 10 bucks a month (with taxes and fees it's about $12.70/month for me). And on top of that, no start-up costs whatsoever!
Al in all, I highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+618points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Fort Lauderdale
Anything's better than a Magic Jack
Posted 10/28/2013
I will soon be trying the Basic Talk. Seems comparable with Vonage. I ditched Vonage because they were lying to me. The service was great though. However some of their service charges were given names to sound like gov't taxes and their reps were telling you they were - not just 1 rep. I spoke to 3! The website (where they expected no one to read the fine prints - had the truth).
So I went to Magic Jack PLUS. The plus is really for the extra HEADACHES you get. Magic Jack CHARGES you to PORT your number, then they charge you annually to keep that number. They block any service where you use a local access number to make International calls - to blackmail you into using their expensive international rates.
And their POOR CUSTOMER service is LEGENDARY! You can chat with a dumb person before they will transfer you to someone with a few more IQ points higher.
The AUDIO has been POOR since I got this MJ plus. They made me do so much adjustments and resets...but the problem is not with my unit. It's universal to the service. Now they're offering to change it BUT I must pay the shipping and handling.
It's not worth the headache! As soon as I can calculate what the FINAL monthly bill for WALMART's service will be, I'll likely take it.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Savannah
Magic Jack still the best deal
Posted 06/29/2013
I have a Net10 cell phone. My wife has a Samsung Smart Phone. Both use Tracfone (Walmart $45/mo plan). Tracfone is unreliable and has extremely poor customer service. The reliability of these two devices (because of Tracfone) is about 75% reliability. The Magic Jack lines I have have a reliability factor of 99% over a 5 year period and has cost 95% less. I wish Magic Jack would get in the cell phone business.
-4points
Customer Avatar
texas
Posted 06/26/2013
I also had majicjack. The service wasn't crystal clear. So far, basictalk is working good. No dropped calls, no echoing and it is crystal clear. I just wished they offered anonymous call rejection
+6points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 36 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Does what it is supposed to!

04/05/2014
By ,
Allentown pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The box is really small and unobtrusive. I plugged one cord to my apple airport express, the other to my phone and once I set up the account online - viola! I was in business! I love having a phone in the house with the kids just in case and I'm leveraging the internet I already had.
With taxes it comes to like 11.54 a month or something like that! Other companies tried charging me 3x that for a land line.
I only wish I had found this sooner!
:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Best way to have phone service

07/26/2014
By ,
Leavenworth,Wash.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best way to have phone service and not spend a lot of money. $9.99 a month you almost can`t beet that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Nice product or a low budget

05/17/2014
By ,
Athens, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very glad I chose this product. I have had it for a week now and have had zero problems. nice and clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

So far, so good ...

11/04/2013
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Calls have been very clear so far (I have only made 5 or 6 over a few weeks). I have Comcast cable internet and it’s generally pretty fast so I would expect there to be no issues. My only complaint (and thus why 4 stars instead of 5) is that in transferring an existing number from a cell carrier, I’ve received multiple requests for the last 4 of my SSN. I’ve supplied the required info a number of times, and finally reached out to customer service for assistance. They have escalated the issue and assure me it should be handled shortly (I was afraid if I didn’t respond to each and every request, I would risk loosing a number that I’ve had for quite a while). I have recommended this to family members already as the call quality is great, and the price is unbeatable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The name says it all

06/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great product if you are looking for good phone service without frills. The only thing it could really use is the ability to send your name along with your number for caller ID.
Calls are clear and volume is excellent. Voicemail works just fine as does call forwarding. Just a good, inexpensive phone service. Worth serious consideration.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 397 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next