Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BasicTalk BasicTalk Home Phone Device

The BasicTalk home phone device is an easy-to-use, low-priced VOIP home phone service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.299 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(532 Reviews) 500
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
363
4 stars
88
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
55
Customer Recommendation87%463 out of 532reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1,284 Questions | 2,096 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
363
4 stars
88
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 star
55
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Goodbye Verizon Hello Basic Talk, I can hear you!

09/20/2013
By ,
Port Orchard, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Right off the bat the savings over my old Verizon Home Phone Connect service are 70%, the talk quality is much better (just like land line), calls go through MUCH faster, No dropped calls and it even works when it rains (unlike Verizon)...I did have to buy a router (Netgear from WM) but no big deal, hooked up easy with no hassle, took a few calls to get voice mail worked out and now it is working as it should plus I like all the call information available online for my account and with the total investment including buying a router I will be in the black in less than two months....not a bad return on investment time!
Now for the down side: I normally won't do business with a company that has NO Phone Contact number but I did find an 800 number if you wanted to disconnect so I was good with that.
When internet goes out I will have no phone, that was a big leap of faith, but that's why we have neighbors.
All in all, if they can keep their books straight and I can make calls we will get along just fine, time will tell but thus far it is an excellent value for what you pay so fingers crossed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Switching from Centurylink to Basic Talk

11/25/2013
By ,
Elizabethton,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this device at my local Wal-Mart store.Came home,done the Activation before I took it out of the box.It was very simple.Waited about 15 mins,hooked it up,and made some Outgoing and Incoming test calls.It sounds just like my current land line! Very clear! I was really surprised,and skeptical,but after all the good reviews,less than $15 to purchase and your first month Free (You do have to pay $1.00 Tax off of Debit/Credit card) I figured why not try it?! I was desperate to lower my bill.I was looking at paying around $70-$80 just for my Internet,Phone,Caller ID,Call Waiting,and Local Calling? Rediculous! I would have liked to keep my old phone number though because it was so easy to remember,but had to get a new one (I got to pick from a few),but other than that,no complaints so far! I am set for no more Home Phone thorough Centurylink and depending on Basic Talk starting next month! I'm nervous. After everything is switched over I am now looking at around $50 between Internet and Basic Talk together.I will take saving $20-30 a month! Fingers Crossed! I hope to enjoy this for years! Dollars saved are Dollars earned!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

BEST HOME PHONE SERVICE EVER!!!

10/19/2013
By ,
TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hope my review will help other people choose the most inexpensive, best home phone service ever! I am a single mom so I am on a limited budget. Prior to this home phone service I had AT&T and I was paying $35.00 plus all the extra fees & taxes for U.S calling only. I looked into the Magic product but my sister has it overseas and said she had some problems with it, etc. So I found Basic Talk, wow I am pleasantly surprised! Stop paying high company bills for home phone service, buy Basic Talk. I have recommended it to friends & family. You do need to have internet service but nowadays who doesn't? Although a lot of people don't have home phones I wanted it for the sake of my kids. Also, with this home phone you can register it for 911 purposes, you register your physical address. With the Magic you can't. Blessings! <3
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+174points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Best Bang for the Buck!

05/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install on your router/Modem. Phone number transfer took about a week, but was given a temporary number meantime, that I used to call forward to my home number. I was on Vonage up to this point, that worked well, but I was limited to 400 minutes a month. Basic talk , is unlimited calling to $10. mon and a couple of bucks in tax. There is no upfront cost, so there is no way of losing money with Basic Talk, if you decide to cancel it. Calls are crystal clear and free calling anywhere in the USA. Great Deal.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Awesome!

02/08/2014
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was skeptical getting a home phone service for so cheap. Purchased it, and was very easy to install. Chose to pick one of their numbers. Within 15 minutes my phone was up and running. I made local and long distance calls and the clarity is truly awesome! Was charged $1 for first month use then with my state taxes my monthly bill will be $12.76 that is more then a deal. I had purchased two cordless phones and connected one phone to the basic talk box in my bedroom and the other phone in another room. I am saving a fortune! Getting this service prompted me to cancel my cell service and go by way of prepaid cell and that is just as awesome, so now I am saving $1,005.00 a year!! I would definitely recommend getting basic talk to everyone who wants to find a way to save on cost and still get awesome clarity. I only wished I had done this years ago. We have three computers in our home and I thought it would interrupt with the laptops reception but all of our laptops run just as fast as before and no reception issues at all. I have caller ID, call waiting, voicemail, and directory to add my contacts. I had purchased it directly from Wal mart and the set up was very simple. I am so happy to be saving money each month, thank you Basic Talk!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great home phone

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a stay at home mom and go to school. I was searching cell phone plans to be able to talk to my husband while he is at work and contact my school for anything. We only had one cell phone and it just wasn't cutting it. After some research I thought I'd try Basic Talk. After all one of us is always home so the extra cost of a cell phone isn't needed. Plus financially we can't afford another $45 a month. It set up great and easily. It took about 2 hours before it activated. The price is nice too. I was always taught you get what you pay for so I didn't expect it to be great. I was proved so wrong and I'm glad too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Amazing deal!

05/23/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had majicJack for about 2 years. The quality of majicJack has really deteriorated over that time. Many dropped calls and people not being able to get in touch with me. Moreover, their customer support is non-existent, so the issues could not be resolved. A few days ago I got fed up with majicJack and I decided to try Basictalk. Since it has no contract, I had nothing to really lose.
And what a difference! The setup was extremely simple, the calls now are crystal clear, has all the features you will ever need (911, voicemail, caller id, call waiting), has an actual customer support and all of that for 10 bucks a month (with taxes and fees it's about $12.70/month for me). And on top of that, no start-up costs whatsoever!
Al in all, I highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+809points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Fort Lauderdale
Anything's better than a Magic Jack
Posted 10/28/2013
I will soon be trying the Basic Talk. Seems comparable with Vonage. I ditched Vonage because they were lying to me. The service was great though. However some of their service charges were given names to sound like gov't taxes and their reps were telling you they were - not just 1 rep. I spoke to 3! The website (where they expected no one to read the fine prints - had the truth).
So I went to Magic Jack PLUS. The plus is really for the extra HEADACHES you get. Magic Jack CHARGES you to PORT your number, then they charge you annually to keep that number. They block any service where you use a local access number to make International calls - to blackmail you into using their expensive international rates.
And their POOR CUSTOMER service is LEGENDARY! You can chat with a dumb person before they will transfer you to someone with a few more IQ points higher.
The AUDIO has been POOR since I got this MJ plus. They made me do so much adjustments and resets...but the problem is not with my unit. It's universal to the service. Now they're offering to change it BUT I must pay the shipping and handling.
It's not worth the headache! As soon as I can calculate what the FINAL monthly bill for WALMART's service will be, I'll likely take it.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Savannah
Magic Jack still the best deal
Posted 06/29/2013
I have a Net10 cell phone. My wife has a Samsung Smart Phone. Both use Tracfone (Walmart $45/mo plan). Tracfone is unreliable and has extremely poor customer service. The reliability of these two devices (because of Tracfone) is about 75% reliability. The Magic Jack lines I have have a reliability factor of 99% over a 5 year period and has cost 95% less. I wish Magic Jack would get in the cell phone business.
-4points
Customer Avatar
texas
Posted 06/26/2013
I also had majicjack. The service wasn't crystal clear. So far, basictalk is working good. No dropped calls, no echoing and it is crystal clear. I just wished they offered anonymous call rejection
+6points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 28 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Excellent device!

05/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little device work perfectly, no issues at all. Very easy to set it up. It has calling ID , So you know who calling you. Totally worth $12 per month.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

I love my phone

05/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish they had a cell phone I would buy that for the price its very good
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

ONLY if you're keeping your local phone service!

09/22/2014
By ,
WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you plan on keeping your local phone service (for expample AT&T) then it would be a great option IF you place enough long distance calls to break even ($10). Otherwise if you are just trying to save a few bucks (in my case...$18/month) it's not worth the hassle. When I read online & on the back "DSL required" I thought 'no prob, I have DSL', but I didn't realize that I needed to have a landline to service my DSL service, so when BasicTalk transfered my landline over to them it automatically turned my DSL off! It took over a week to get my landline # transferred back and working (hours on the phone and over a dozen phone calls) and we're still without INET because we had to wait for the cancellation to complete & then wait for a reinstall. Notice you can only "chat" with BasicTalk online if you click that you are a "new" customer, if you click that are are existing, they won't chat with you. And you can't find a phone # anywhere! I only found it when I typed in "cancel service"! Ask all questions & contact all your current providers before switching!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

So far, so good ...

11/04/2013
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Calls have been very clear so far (I have only made 5 or 6 over a few weeks). I have Comcast cable internet and it’s generally pretty fast so I would expect there to be no issues. My only complaint (and thus why 4 stars instead of 5) is that in transferring an existing number from a cell carrier, I’ve received multiple requests for the last 4 of my SSN. I’ve supplied the required info a number of times, and finally reached out to customer service for assistance. They have escalated the issue and assure me it should be handled shortly (I was afraid if I didn’t respond to each and every request, I would risk loosing a number that I’ve had for quite a while). I have recommended this to family members already as the call quality is great, and the price is unbeatable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Excellent Service

05/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good! I have only good things to say about this service.This is the best service I have ever had at the cheap rate it is.You can not go wrong with this service, just a little tricky setting everything up at first.Just be sure to read the manual and you should not have a problem!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Why didn't i know of this much sooner?

07/20/2013
By ,
Des Plaines, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super love this product! Had to go to 3 different Walmart just to find this. So easy to install. Once hooked up completely, go to their site and register for an account. During this register process where they give you an option to transfer or get new telephone number. I opted for a new telephone number because it takes a week to transfer an old number.
Prepare to pay a tax for the 911 service. I paid $1.25 for Illinois. You can pay via credit cards or checking account.
Half an hour later, you have a dial tone already. So easy and fast. Plus the customer service was excellent- they have a Live chat in their website or call their toll free.
We have this for 2 days now and so far so good. No calls disconnected, clear signal etc.
Highly Recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Fantastic!

07/02/2013
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had phone service through Comcast, but was unhappy with recent rate increases. Decided to gamble on this, given the low price. I figured the worst that would happen is that it wouldn't work, and I'd just toss it. Wow, was I pleasantly surprised. Setup was a breeze, the sound quality is better than my Comcast line, and it took only 3 days to transfer my number. Run - don't walk - and get this. One thing to keep in mind: the phone service is VOIP/internet-based, so you'll only be able to connect one phone to the BasicTalk router. Get a multi-handset phone system to go with it (Walmart sells one with 3 phones for about $40), and you'll be up and running.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta
Something to keep in mind...
Posted 08/18/2013
Several weeks after posting this review, I'm still satisfied with the device and service. But I've discovered one issue that you may want to consider when purchasing - BasicTalk doesn't offer CALL FORWARDING (at least, not yet). I travel, and this has become a bit of a problem. But not enough to recommend against buying it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 35 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Tiny and Mighty

03/13/2014
By ,
Thurmond, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a rural area where the local phone company is a co-op and has been able to block other phone companies from coming in to offer competitive prices. I hated being held hostage by a company that offers poor service and rude people. A cell phone was the only alternative but the cost was too much for a full time student. I saw an ad for Basic Talk and figured if the quality was poor, I could always send it back. It arrived before schedule, was a snap to activate, and after about 15 minutes....I have better quality along with voice mail and caller ID that would have cost me extra with the old company. I am so thrilled to have found this device! I also like that I am not under contract and can cancel should I have a tight month and then go right back. Tiny and mighty!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great product

05/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone service and it is really good and simple to set up..it has features that I love and its easy to set up I pay 13.90 a month and that's good for me..thank youbasic talk..
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Love It.

05/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Thing for the money that I have purchase .
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Problems porting my number

07/02/2013
By ,
Saint Augustine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews on this device and thought it was worth a shot. I previously had Vonage, which worked well at home only I didn't like paying $17.xx for LIMITED minutes each month. (I had only 300 minutes I could call out#. Basica Talk sounded like a win win option.
Day one was great. Call quality was awesome and clear. I decided to port my home number and then that's when I had problems. It was VERY frustrating to say the least. Here are the issues I found:
PROS: Unlimited minutes #within reason if you read the fine print)
$9.99 plus taxes/fees comes out to about $12 a month
Clear all quality
CONS: Technical issues not resolved on weekends
No toll free number to speak with a representative and/or tech support!
No 24 hour support in case you have questions or need assistance with technical issues
Can only EMAIL or CHAT with a representative from 9am
I'm switching to Google Voice! Just ordered my adapter from Amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
FYI
Posted 02/23/2014
If you bought an OBIxxx phone adapter be aware that OBI will no longer support Google Voice after May 15, 2014. :-(
0points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta
Flack52
Posted 07/02/2013
I was a also little disappointed with the lack of an 800# for support, just an online chat service or email. I had a small glitch during setup, and then realized that I had to use the chat to resolve it. But the "guy" I chatted with gave me the right solution to my problem and I was able to take care of it on my own. Unfortunately, it's getting more and more difficult to talk with real people to get help with tech problems. It's the way of the world, I s'pose.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 39 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

good item works good for me thank you

05/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good item
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for BasicTalk Home Phone Device

Great for price

06/23/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had AT and T for months. I was paying about 48 bucks a month. The only thing I had was unlimited local calling. No caller ID, no nothing. So I grew tired of paying so much for my old phone. So I did my research, and I found Basic Talk. I went to the store and bought it. It took me about 5 minutes to set it up, and I transferred my old number. That was the best thing I ever did. The sound quality is great and I now have caller ID, call waiting ID, and voicemail. Also unlimited long distance in the US, Canada, and Mexico. All for 9.99 a month plus tax. If you are looking for a better deal and a better phone, it's worth a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Home
Basic Talk's terms of use policy
Posted 10/17/2013
I was about to purchase Basic Talk, but I decided to read the "terms of use" fine print and was wondering if any users of Basic Talk have had any issues with these terms. It seems that unlimited means 3000 minutes per month which comes to about 50 hours a month or a litle over an hour and a half per day. There is also a list of 7 items that can get your service terminated. For example, only you and people that live with you can use the phone. If you scroll on down you will see a list of 10 no-no's in combination of using over 3000 minutes per month that can get your service terminated. Here are some of them: 1. Unique numbers called#How many?# 2. Call lengths#How Long?# 3. Short duration calls#how short?# 4. Number of calls made during business hours#what are the business hours?#. I am just asking before I buy.
0points
Customer Avatar
New Jersey
Can call Mexico?
Posted 08/16/2013
Can call Mexico, if says canada and Puerto Rico only, no other international calls, I wonder if it is really possible to make calls to mexico. please answer me.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
21-40 of 501 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  26 Next