Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HKC HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

HKC HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

HKC brings you the latest in Android technology, giving you the performance you want at an affordable price. The crystal clear 8" capacitive touchscreen is great for watching movies, reading books, surfing the web, video conferencing online and more. With Google Play you can take advantage of more than 700,000 apps and games, as well as the world's largest collection of eBooks, millions of songs, thousands of movies, TV shows and magazines. Designed to enhance your entertainment experience at home or on the go and with multiple colors to choose from, you can enjoy your technology in style!
Average Customer Rating:
3.799 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(423 Reviews) 413
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
174
4 stars
135
3 stars
30
2 stars
23
1 star
61
Customer Recommendation78%332 out of 423reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
85 Questions | 177 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
174
4 stars
135
3 stars
30
2 stars
23
1 star
61
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great price but No blue-tooth

04/10/2014
By ,
Charlotte
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Many people use their tablets for a variety of things. I really only need one for a singular purpose, linking to a data collection device that connects via bluetooth.
With this requirement in mind, it was easy to eliminate all the super-high end tablets, rich with features that served no purpose than to inflate the price. When I saw this one, I thought I lucked out.
The specs said nothing about blue-tooth, either having it or not. The manual (found on the manufacturers website) was equally as useless. Emailing the manufacturer with this simple question on their model received no answer.
So I bought it, charged it, and found no blue-tooth. At least Walmart was very polite in taking the return from me the next day.
For any electronic, all possible features should be listed in the "Spec" section, with a simple "yes" or "no" next to it (or version/compliance type, like B/G/N if absolutely necessary). If they had done this (as many other electronic outlets due), it would have saved me time and trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Worst ever!

03/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst product ever!! Made by a company that does not stand behind it and has the worst customer service or none at all. We bought 4 of these all together over a few months time. They all started out great but within a few weeks would say it needed to be charged when it was plugged in. Walmart was great about returning and replacing the first three. The fourth time it happened just outside the 90 days. We contacted the HKC company who advised us to send an email to their warranty department, which we did. I sent countless numbers of emails and got no response. I had to contact walmart for a phone number for the warranty department since they conveniently left out a number online. I have been on hold for more than an hour, I have been told I would be called right back, I have been told they would send me an email with further instructions. I have also been told they couldn't stay on the line and help me because that would require them to be on their phones too long and that's against company policy. Basically you can't get anywhere with this company and all I want is it to be replaced. Three months is not long enough for a tablet to work when your paying this kind of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Tablet is a good starter device

03/10/2014
By ,
Lake Elsinore, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought two of these tablets for only $60 which is a bargain. The only negative issues that I have with them is the touch screen response. When trying to click on certain buttons such as for installing apps, it will not register the touch. I have press several times until my touch registers. Other buttons seem to be ok. Not sure if this is a bug with android 4.1. Support from HKC is terrible. I emailed their support and the email bounced back as invalid. I wanted to upgrade the OS to 4.2 if possible but I could not get a response. Other than these issues the tablet functions very well. Watching video is good. The camera is not very sharp but works well for the price of this tablet. The backing feel rugged and build is pretty good. Has 8 gb of storage with a dual core processor and 1 gb of ram. You can expand the storage with micro sd cards. I tried this and it worked fine. Impatient people such as kids may get frustrated when installing software because of the issue already mentioned. For $60, I am content with my purchase and hoping I can upgrade the os.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Skype doesnt work on this Tablet

02/20/2014
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the tablet on President day sale. It was best seller online. Received two days later. It comes with a charger, a screen protector, headphones and a USB cable. The tablet desgin is thick and heavy but good for 60$. I turned it on and it took half an hour for setup and updates. The front camera is VGA webcam, very poor quality images and video. But I think it doesnt matter only if it works. The touch system was total mess. The Skype started , signed in, and I thought its okay, but Skype cannot make video or audio calls. Tried several time, looked over internet for solutions. Looks like the skype is not working on these tablets from Jan, 2013 after the latest Skype update. I dont know whose fault is that, but the bottomline , "SKYPE dont work". Thought it might need an upgrade of system but only to despair that the company HKC website is a totally puzzle in terms to get updates.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Riverside, CA
DO NOT PURCHASE-The Unit and Charger go out fast
Posted 03/14/2014
I purchased two of these tablets, one in Aug 2013 and Dec 2013. Both units work fine the first 1-2 months then the charger stops working and when you purchase a generic cord it does not charge the unit then the unit goes out completely. I sent my units in for repair over 4 weeks ago to HKC in CA and they still have not fixed or returned them back and theyre communication is horrible. It is fustrating because I am not using what I paid for my kids 8-10 are bumbed out. When I purchase a tablet I expect it to work for atleast a 2 - 5 years before going out not like 1 month. Please dont purchase any tablets from HKC because there warranty is not good at all. I wish I would have purchased the additional Walmart protection. I know the ratings are good and that is why I purchased but now that I purchased them I am really dissapointed with the quality.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Easy Peasy

02/25/2014
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this on sale for $59.99 in purple.Was very easy to set up and use.I have a desktop and a laptop but wanted something smaller I could take with me on vacation that didn't add bulk while traveling.Tablets are wonderful for this very purpose.They do not have a disc drive but that is not a concern of mine.That's what downloads and flash drives are for.You can use this anywhere internet access is available.Simply use with unlocked internet access or type in the code on the wireless router.You can also use this by adding it to your cell phones plan for an additional fee.This tablet was a very good deal and just the right size.I found a matching tablet case online cheaper then what they sell in stores.You'll need a case for your tablet to protect it from drops and scratches.I'm very pleased with my purchase and actually have been using this every day since I got it just because it's so easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Buyer beware

12/25/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read all the reviews for this tablet and got mixed feelings about it in the end. I did decide to order though and boy what a disappointment. When I opened the box there were no instructions on getting it set up the first time and the tablet wouldn't turn on so I chargered it for acouple of hours.. When I came back the red light was no longer displayed so I assumed that meant it was charged.. So I turned it on and the opening screen was displayed. For a few minutes I sat there thinking it just was taking awhile to boot up, but the thing never did go to any other screen and would not shut off. I gave it another hour or so and finally took it back to my local walmart and got the Samsung galaxy tab 3 10inch. But when I returned it the tablet was about super hot and still had the same screen up. This was a gift for a close family member so I'm so glad I opened it to charge it and realized it was a terrible tablet. The samsung galaxy may have been more then what I was wanting to spend.. But it sure beats having to deal with this mess!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

great for the price

02/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the HKC 8” Dual Core and fell in love after one 4 hour flight. I have an iPad and love it. However when I travel the iPad is a little larger then I want to carry on the plane. The HKC was just prefect. Just love the picture resolution. Books, magazines, tv/movies just look better. Don't think you can go wrong with this unless you're looking for a notebook. Great job HKC. Too, like most people I was surprised and extremely happy to get the HKC prior to the Thanksgiving vacation trip. One last note, the HKC 8” is also a wonderful ereader for those looking for a larger screen, however, pretty costly but worth it. If you want an inexpensive tablet that does everything you need and more this is the one for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great Tablet for a beginner

11/11/2013
By ,
Birmingham,Al
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased the HKC tablet Dec 2012 as a Christmas present for my then 6 year old daughter. i researched pricing etc and decided this was best for 99.00 you couldn't beat it I didn't want to invest in a "Name Brand"tablet being she is only 6 w/o knowing how she would take care of it. that plus with the many colors available I was sold. WELL about a month after purchasing the batter quit charging it could be on the charger for 6+ hours and only say 35% I contacted HKC personally customer service was ok they sent me about 3 replacement chargers lol!! at first this worked but then the same problem started happening, by now my daughter is getting really upset wanting her tablet i'm glad i purchased the Walmart Warranty plan with this I was able to just get my money back and i got her the Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7.0 NO PROBLEM AT ALL!!! this really is a good tablet to start out with we just didn't have much luck she was soooooo disappointed to return her "pink" tablet but she gained front facing cameras plus an upgraded tablet no compliants from her or myself
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

extremely happy with this tablet

03/04/2014
By ,
Arlington,Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money i spent, this tablet is awesome, no its not a 400.00 tablet, so probably doesn't go as fast as one or have the camera one of those does, HOWEVER PEOPLE, for 99.99 dollars i am so happy, i can watch my movies, read my books, use my google drive, and everything else i want to do as far as surfing the web, i see people complain about the camera and a few other things, well guess you should have spent more money, don't buy something for 100.00 and expect it to do 400.00 worth of speed and camera pixels, not happening, what i am saying in a nut shell is, this is a great tablet for the price!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great Item for a Great Price

02/02/2014
By ,
Washington, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought you had to spend $400 dollars for a tablet to get a quality product. I did some research and decided on an 8" HKC. It's terrific! It moves quickly and suits my needs. Now, I understand if you're a "gamer," it may not be a good choice. The only game I play is Scrabble, so... I do my e-mails, check out music, and once in a while, play Scrabble. Would highly recommend this to anyone whose needs are simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Not in love with it, but it does what I need...

04/08/2014
By ,
Madison, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read the reviews for this tablet and was torn, but for the overall price and size of the screen, it seemed like the best deal.... I wanted to upgrade my daughter to something newer and larger (she was playing games on my old iPhone), so I bought one for her and one for me..
I will say I was disappointed with the camera - there is no back camera, only one on the front of the screen, so if you're only taking 'selfies', GREAT - but that's not what I'm about... The quality of the photos is horrible - very pixely/grainy, and you can rarely get the lighting right (either too dark or too bright).
My primary intent for these tablets was to play games, and so far it meets those expectations. There are a few games that are not compatible at this time (Sims Free Play), but overall it has met my expectations for game play. Once in a great while, the game will stop and it goes to the home screen, but it's fairly quick to pick up where you left off.
I use this tablet daily and have no real complaints, but given the choice, I probably would have gone with something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Awesome!!

01/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this tablet, it's fast, wifi is easy to connect to, Bluetooth has great range and an HD screen for $89 I mean come on!! It cannot be beat. Highly highly recommend this tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

A promising budget tablet

02/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I opened the box I had honestly excepted poorly written instructions & packaged tablet inside. To my delight that wasn't the case. There was even an included screen protector on the tablet already with a spare one in the box. The construction is solid and reminds me of the 2012 Google Nexus 7. There was even a card to register for a limited warranty from the manufacturer. Overall this was an excellent value for the money at 59.99 when it was on sale on Walmart.com.
The only downside to this might be the screen contrast. Even in a relatively dim setting the screen is not very bright, the batter doesn't last very long either at max brightness. If these two issues were fixed it would be perfect. It has very powerful specs for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

DO NOT BUY

03/18/2014
By ,
Lewes, DE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this tablet. I bought an HKC tablet in November. It worked for one month, then totally shut down. After numerous calls and emails I finally got a reference number so I could send it for repairs in February. They received it from me on February 5th. I have been calling, leaving messages when the queue isn't full and sending emails. On the rare occasion that I do actually get to speak with someone, I'm told different things about my tablet. Finally, last Tuesday I was told they were shipping me a new tablet via FedEX. It is now one week later and still haven't received it. I called today and spoke with someone and was told they would get back to me within the hour. That was 6 hours ago.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

ok, for what you pay!

01/15/2014
By ,
batonrouge
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a very cheap and buggy device; it’s a first time or starter unit. This tablet is perfect for someone not really familiar with electronics, like an elderly person learning to use the internet or face book for the first time. It could also be good for a child ten and under. The screen is not that great. If you use it for a while it get pretty hot, because of that I don’t think it will last very long, so please get the warrant. If you are just looking to keep the little one’s busy or you want to give an elderly family member a new fun experience this is an ok light uses table.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Complete Waste of Money

01/02/2014
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do NOT purchase any HKC product. You have been warned. They claim to have a one year warranty but when I sent my non-working tablet in to be repaired, they would not stand behind it. Not only did I have to pay shipping to send it to them, but they are charging me 3 times what it cost to send it in order to return it to me. The power cord looked different when I got it but it worked so I assumed that it was supposed to be that way. NOW they say that the problem is in the power cord and the best that they can do is to SELL me a new cord and charge me through the roof to return my tablet. Even when it WAS working, it was frustratingly slow and would hang up every few days.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Riverside, CA
I totally understand I am having same problem
Posted 03/14/2014
I purchased 2 from them and it is a hassle dealing with them on the phone and email. It has been a total nightmare both of my units went out same problem with the chargers. I sent them in for repair, I had to pay additional shipping and on top of that they still have them after 4 weeks in repair and still have not heard back from them. I am constantly calling them weekly to get status and they tell me (still in the lab) I so regret not getting the additional walmart insurance. I am sure with walmart my return or repair would have been a breeze. Please do not purchase any HKC products.
0points
Customer Avatar
Brenham, Texas
You are so right
Posted 01/20/2014
I had the same problem, I refused to pay for shipping after I contacted them. I had the insurance so I told Walmart the issue with HKC and I received a refund of totatl amount. The Walmart insurance is great. When I sent HKC my receipt they noticed I had the insurance and suggested I do a claim, they are a rip off. Tablet is only 3 months old
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great Product for the price

02/17/2014
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 9 year old son wanted to buy a tablet with the money he has been saving. This product has a great price point and it works well for doing what he wants to do. This is not a high end tablet but it still feels sturdy and has decent specs. It was easy too configure and is reasonably fast. The battery life is OK and we have not experienced any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Love it

02/16/2014
By ,
Seattle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lets be honest. This is a really cheap tablet. I got it so I would have the ability to read books on a 20 hour flight. It has far exceeded those expectations. It has hardly any memory, so get an extension. Its plug is not the usb, but another type of plug. Makes charging a little annoying. But really for that price I am super stoked.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Best Tablet for the money!

12/04/2013
By ,
Carrollton,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tablet for our 14yr. old Grandson & he loves it. He previously had a Visual land & this one runs circles aroud it. It has so many apps, is fast & the battery time is fabulous. It is very easy to use has better graphics & clear resolution. We will definately buy another one for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alabama
love it
Posted 02/19/2014
I got my tablet yesterday and so far I love it. It doesn't pick up my touch sometimes but so far that's the only problem I've had.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Get the warranty :)

12/10/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can't say too much about the this product, its a gift for my son. Well, it's a replacement for the 7" HKC tablet I bought him for Christmas last year. I got the 2yr warranty, a godsend by the way, and it took a year for one of the internal components to self destruct. So I got him this one with the warranty money and renewed the warranty. GET THE WARRANTY! His comment when comparing this 8" tablet with the 7" was that the 8" was HUGE. Anyway, I have been pleased with the performance and construction in general. Did I mention get the warranty?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 414 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next