Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HKC HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

HKC HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

HKC brings you the latest in Android technology, giving you the performance you want at an affordable price. The crystal clear 8" capacitive touchscreen is great for watching movies, reading books, surfing the web, video conferencing online and more. With Google Play you can take advantage of more than 700,000 apps and games, as well as the world's largest collection of eBooks, millions of songs, thousands of movies, TV shows and magazines. Designed to enhance your entertainment experience at home or on the go and with multiple colors to choose from, you can enjoy your technology in style!
Average Customer Rating:
3.716 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(605 Reviews) 594
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
231
4 stars
195
3 stars
48
2 stars
38
1 star
93
Customer Recommendation76%459 out of 605reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
116 Questions | 242 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
231
4 stars
195
3 stars
48
2 stars
38
1 star
93
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

A Good Cheap Tablet

06/13/2014
By ,
Austin TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased a 7 inch HKC tablet around 6 months ago. I was looking for a decent table I could take on the road (since so many places now have wifi) and not be upset if it broke or I lost it. It has held up well and consistently provided decent performance. However, my 11 year old son has decided it is his. So I purchased this 8 inch version for the road. As far as I can tell it is identical except a extra inch of screen has been added to it's width. Which does give the 8 tablet a odd shape. (Old TV ratio) so widescreen movies and TV streaming have large black bands on the top and the bottom. This is not noticeable when viewing old aspect ratio TV/movies or most apps. In fact I appreciate the large size (than the 7 inch) in these latter cases. In summary this is a "sweet spot" product. Faster than most cheap tablets with it dual core processor and 1G of RAM, but no barn burner compared to the leading edge tablets. In short a "lot of bang for the bucks", but if you want leading edge and can afford it; buy the latest name brands (since this will disappoint you).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great price but No blue-tooth

04/10/2014
By ,
Charlotte
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Many people use their tablets for a variety of things. I really only need one for a singular purpose, linking to a data collection device that connects via bluetooth.
With this requirement in mind, it was easy to eliminate all the super-high end tablets, rich with features that served no purpose than to inflate the price. When I saw this one, I thought I lucked out.
The specs said nothing about blue-tooth, either having it or not. The manual (found on the manufacturers website) was equally as useless. Emailing the manufacturer with this simple question on their model received no answer.
So I bought it, charged it, and found no blue-tooth. At least Walmart was very polite in taking the return from me the next day.
For any electronic, all possible features should be listed in the "Spec" section, with a simple "yes" or "no" next to it (or version/compliance type, like B/G/N if absolutely necessary). If they had done this (as many other electronic outlets due), it would have saved me time and trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Tablet is a good starter device

03/10/2014
By ,
Lake Elsinore, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought two of these tablets for only $60 which is a bargain. The only negative issues that I have with them is the touch screen response. When trying to click on certain buttons such as for installing apps, it will not register the touch. I have press several times until my touch registers. Other buttons seem to be ok. Not sure if this is a bug with android 4.1. Support from HKC is terrible. I emailed their support and the email bounced back as invalid. I wanted to upgrade the OS to 4.2 if possible but I could not get a response. Other than these issues the tablet functions very well. Watching video is good. The camera is not very sharp but works well for the price of this tablet. The backing feel rugged and build is pretty good. Has 8 gb of storage with a dual core processor and 1 gb of ram. You can expand the storage with micro sd cards. I tried this and it worked fine. Impatient people such as kids may get frustrated when installing software because of the issue already mentioned. For $60, I am content with my purchase and hoping I can upgrade the os.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Owned two since Christmas

04/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited to write this review so that it was worthwhile to read. We bought two of these for Christmas for our 9 and 10 year olds. We had taken back two of the RCA brands..(NEVER buy those) and found these online.
These HKCs were a brand we never heard of before, but the price was great and the colors were perfect for girls, so I gave them a shot. Seriously, they have really been more than we could have expected. I'm very glad to have bought them.
The girls play on them daily for about an hour total. they have downloaded many games and apps. They can search the internet, but on that it is a little slow. Well, compared to a normal sized laptop I mean. They are durable, because so far, being slept with, toted around, dropped a time or two, and plugged into chargers all the time, we have not had a single issue. They do hold a charge a long time, by the way.
I would buy one again, and in fact remembered to leave this review because it is the 5yr old's birthday, and she loves playing on her sister's tablet so much that we are going to get her one too.
Hope this helps. We are real parents with real kids. They aren't destructive brats, but they are active little things and put have their tablets to the test, which passed with flying colors.
Recommends this product? Yes
+241points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Easy Peasy

02/25/2014
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this on sale for $59.99 in purple.Was very easy to set up and use.I have a desktop and a laptop but wanted something smaller I could take with me on vacation that didn't add bulk while traveling.Tablets are wonderful for this very purpose.They do not have a disc drive but that is not a concern of mine.That's what downloads and flash drives are for.You can use this anywhere internet access is available.Simply use with unlocked internet access or type in the code on the wireless router.You can also use this by adding it to your cell phones plan for an additional fee.This tablet was a very good deal and just the right size.I found a matching tablet case online cheaper then what they sell in stores.You'll need a case for your tablet to protect it from drops and scratches.I'm very pleased with my purchase and actually have been using this every day since I got it just because it's so easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great tablet

04/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first tablet purchase. To be honest I bought it b/c of how inexpensive it was...(I snagged it on a $60 sale!) but truly, I am so happy that I bought it and I only regret that I didn't buy one more! Everyone in the family uses it. We use it for Youtube, Netflix, PlayBooks, IE, just about everything! It retains it's charge pretty well. My friend has a Kindle and in my humble opinion this tablet is better on so many levels. Seems to be able to handle more. And the screen size is amazing. No complaints! Probably will purchase another one! The only downfall is for some reason I can't be online with it while in the same room with the Xbox....I'm pretty sure that's a problem with my router though, not the tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Buyer beware

12/25/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read all the reviews for this tablet and got mixed feelings about it in the end. I did decide to order though and boy what a disappointment. When I opened the box there were no instructions on getting it set up the first time and the tablet wouldn't turn on so I chargered it for acouple of hours.. When I came back the red light was no longer displayed so I assumed that meant it was charged.. So I turned it on and the opening screen was displayed. For a few minutes I sat there thinking it just was taking awhile to boot up, but the thing never did go to any other screen and would not shut off. I gave it another hour or so and finally took it back to my local walmart and got the Samsung galaxy tab 3 10inch. But when I returned it the tablet was about super hot and still had the same screen up. This was a gift for a close family member so I'm so glad I opened it to charge it and realized it was a terrible tablet. The samsung galaxy may have been more then what I was wanting to spend.. But it sure beats having to deal with this mess!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+89points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Better Tablets are out there for the same price

07/12/2014
By ,
Arlington, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the HKC tablet online as a replacement for a unit that had a warranty on it. It was to come with a bonus pack of things including speakers, headphones etc.
Upon receiving the tablet, I was pleased with the color of it - PINK. However, once I plugged in the unit to charge it, it became hot almost immediately. I did allow it to charge completely. Once the unit was charged, I removed the adapter and attempted to set it up. Within an hour, the unit battery was going dead again. I attempted to use it with the adapter - but again, it became uncomfortably warm- actually hot to the touch. I returned the unit to the store. Never again will I get an HKC -- there are plenty of units out there that are in the same price range that are both a better quality and value.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Skype doesnt work on this Tablet

02/20/2014
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the tablet on President day sale. It was best seller online. Received two days later. It comes with a charger, a screen protector, headphones and a USB cable. The tablet desgin is thick and heavy but good for 60$. I turned it on and it took half an hour for setup and updates. The front camera is VGA webcam, very poor quality images and video. But I think it doesnt matter only if it works. The touch system was total mess. The Skype started , signed in, and I thought its okay, but Skype cannot make video or audio calls. Tried several time, looked over internet for solutions. Looks like the skype is not working on these tablets from Jan, 2013 after the latest Skype update. I dont know whose fault is that, but the bottomline , "SKYPE dont work". Thought it might need an upgrade of system but only to despair that the company HKC website is a totally puzzle in terms to get updates.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Riverside, CA
DO NOT PURCHASE-The Unit and Charger go out fast
Posted 03/14/2014
I purchased two of these tablets, one in Aug 2013 and Dec 2013. Both units work fine the first 1-2 months then the charger stops working and when you purchase a generic cord it does not charge the unit then the unit goes out completely. I sent my units in for repair over 4 weeks ago to HKC in CA and they still have not fixed or returned them back and theyre communication is horrible. It is fustrating because I am not using what I paid for my kids 8-10 are bumbed out. When I purchase a tablet I expect it to work for atleast a 2 - 5 years before going out not like 1 month. Please dont purchase any tablets from HKC because there warranty is not good at all. I wish I would have purchased the additional Walmart protection. I know the ratings are good and that is why I purchased but now that I purchased them I am really dissapointed with the quality.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great Tablet for a beginner

11/11/2013
By ,
Birmingham,Al
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased the HKC tablet Dec 2012 as a Christmas present for my then 6 year old daughter. i researched pricing etc and decided this was best for 99.00 you couldn't beat it I didn't want to invest in a "Name Brand"tablet being she is only 6 w/o knowing how she would take care of it. that plus with the many colors available I was sold. WELL about a month after purchasing the batter quit charging it could be on the charger for 6+ hours and only say 35% I contacted HKC personally customer service was ok they sent me about 3 replacement chargers lol!! at first this worked but then the same problem started happening, by now my daughter is getting really upset wanting her tablet i'm glad i purchased the Walmart Warranty plan with this I was able to just get my money back and i got her the Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7.0 NO PROBLEM AT ALL!!! this really is a good tablet to start out with we just didn't have much luck she was soooooo disappointed to return her "pink" tablet but she gained front facing cameras plus an upgraded tablet no compliants from her or myself
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Not in love with it, but it does what I need...

04/08/2014
By ,
Madison, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read the reviews for this tablet and was torn, but for the overall price and size of the screen, it seemed like the best deal.... I wanted to upgrade my daughter to something newer and larger (she was playing games on my old iPhone), so I bought one for her and one for me..
I will say I was disappointed with the camera - there is no back camera, only one on the front of the screen, so if you're only taking 'selfies', GREAT - but that's not what I'm about... The quality of the photos is horrible - very pixely/grainy, and you can rarely get the lighting right (either too dark or too bright).
My primary intent for these tablets was to play games, and so far it meets those expectations. There are a few games that are not compatible at this time (Sims Free Play), but overall it has met my expectations for game play. Once in a great while, the game will stop and it goes to the home screen, but it's fairly quick to pick up where you left off.
I use this tablet daily and have no real complaints, but given the choice, I probably would have gone with something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

great for the price

02/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the HKC 8” Dual Core and fell in love after one 4 hour flight. I have an iPad and love it. However when I travel the iPad is a little larger then I want to carry on the plane. The HKC was just prefect. Just love the picture resolution. Books, magazines, tv/movies just look better. Don't think you can go wrong with this unless you're looking for a notebook. Great job HKC. Too, like most people I was surprised and extremely happy to get the HKC prior to the Thanksgiving vacation trip. One last note, the HKC 8” is also a wonderful ereader for those looking for a larger screen, however, pretty costly but worth it. If you want an inexpensive tablet that does everything you need and more this is the one for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Excellent for Young Teens and school use.

05/29/2014
By ,
Newport News, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second tablet I have purchased for my grandson. The first one was an off brand, it was okay but did not have all the features that this one has, nor was it 8". The only thing I might comment on, is the fact that he could not download music without SD card and then he had to download from his brothers phone not off google. He is 12 years old and loves playing the game that has music theory on it. He likes everything about this tablet. It is a good price and buy for anyone. I would recommend getting breakage and drop coverage if you purchase for a young child.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Nice size, touch screen not very good

05/28/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's the perfect sized screen really. I don't know why this aspect ratio isn't more popular. The dual core CPU is speedy.
On the negative side: The touch screen doesn't work very well. Frustrating to use on apps with small buttons (like a browser). Does not power up through the USB cable...must use a proprietary connector.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Good Tablet

06/22/2014
By ,
High Point, Nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had 3 different ematic pro tablets, an Asus tablet, and an off brand tablet that I bought from ebay. This one is by far better than any of the above named. It is fast, reliable, holds a good charge, charges fast, has a very clear picture on netflix and is just overall an excellent deal for the money. I would suggest it to anyone looking to save money but still get a nice tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great tablet for kids

06/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought two, one for my 4yr old and the other for my 2yr old. My kids love them. The battery is great last 4-5 hours for my son (heavy user) and the whole day for my 2yr old (light user).
The speaker is very weak and there are no volume rockers on the tablet. They're are no rubber/silicone cases for them but you can get a folio case from eBay for $15. It comes with a scream protector in the box and the tablet does not charge through the (not micro)mini USB port. This is a great product compared to the Emerson 7" and equal to the sophix 7" from GameStop (also very good for kids)
If you're into mod games they work great no need to root. Get an SD card because for some reason 8gs are not enough (for us). They charge 100% in 1-2 hours (turned off). Great for kids and beginners.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Amazing First Tablet

07/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The HKC 8" (8GB - P886A) is an amazing first tablet. It was a great price (on sale for $69). The 8" screen size is the best tablet size I have seen - I also have a 7" HKC and found that the 8" is better for resolution, icon/text size, and comfort holding and seeing. It can be difficult to find a case for the 8" - I had to order a specific HKC 8" tablet case on Amazon, but it was a good price and good quality (search: i-UniK HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core P886A Tablet Slim Folio Case).
8GB is enough memory for "normal" people. People who like tons of games and things on internal media would want at least 16GB. Please note that apps cannot run off of external SDcard - they only run off of the internal memory. External cards are only for media like photos and music.
I contacted HKC while doing an update on the device and was able to talk to a real person in a matter of minutes. I did not expect that.
I do wish this model had a physical volume button instead of just the touch-screen buttons. It is not that big of deal but I often do frequent volume adjustments.
Batter life seems pretty great. It is above what the box quoted.
Camera is meant for webchatting/Skype and so is low resolution. (You don't buy a tablet to take photos.)
Touch screen is typical response (comparable to iPad... and sometimes seems better than iPad).
I bought this as a bundle ($79) - came with HKC 8" tablet ($69), and blue tooth speakers ($9.99), and basic sleeve ($0.01). Funny thing is... this tablet does NOT have blue tooth. Oh well, I just had to connect speakers with a cable. Another funny thing is... the basic sleeve was for a 7" tablet, so the HKC 8" did not fit at all. The bundle was on sale and still a lot cheaper than buying the tablet alone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Even at 78 my Mom just discovered Face Book!

07/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great first tablet for Mom! She's enjoying Face book. First time using any electronic device.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Perfect gift for a kid

07/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really works as describes and great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

DO NOT BUY

03/18/2014
By ,
Lewes, DE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this tablet. I bought an HKC tablet in November. It worked for one month, then totally shut down. After numerous calls and emails I finally got a reference number so I could send it for repairs in February. They received it from me on February 5th. I have been calling, leaving messages when the queue isn't full and sending emails. On the rare occasion that I do actually get to speak with someone, I'm told different things about my tablet. Finally, last Tuesday I was told they were shipping me a new tablet via FedEX. It is now one week later and still haven't received it. I called today and spoke with someone and was told they would get back to me within the hour. That was 6 hours ago.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 595 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next