Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HKC HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

HKC HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

HKC brings you the latest in Android technology, giving you the performance you want at an affordable price. The crystal clear 8" capacitive touchscreen is great for watching movies, reading books, surfing the web, video conferencing online and more. With Google Play you can take advantage of more than 700,000 apps and games, as well as the world's largest collection of eBooks, millions of songs, thousands of movies, TV shows and magazines. Designed to enhance your entertainment experience at home or on the go and with multiple colors to choose from, you can enjoy your technology in style!
Average Customer Rating:
3.691 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(664 Reviews) 653
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
251
4 stars
210
3 stars
56
2 stars
41
1 star
106
Customer Recommendation75%500 out of 664reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
123 Questions | 276 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
251
4 stars
210
3 stars
56
2 stars
41
1 star
106
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Very disappointed

08/06/2014
By ,
Elk Grove, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this tablet for my kids to use for games, school, etc. It is considerably slow right out of the package without any programs/apps installed yet other than the factory settings. The touchscreen isn't very sensitive so we often have to touch the screen several times before it recognizes the action your trying to do. The resolution is great but that's about the only good thing about this tablet. After 4 months, the tablet stopped working and I've spend a week now trying to reach someone at HKC support/warranty to get it fixed/replaced. You have to leave a message and the recording says you'll get a call back within 48 hours. It's been a week, several call attempts, and I'm still waiting. Horrible product support. If you're wondering how it compares to an iPad or similar, this tablet doesn't even come close. It's definitely a less expensive alternative but you get what you pay for. I'm going back to an iPad.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Philadelphia
Do not purchase
Posted 09/12/2014
Purchase this tablet, and within a month it stopped working. Fully charged but it would not turn on. I called the company and to this day i kept getting the run around on how to return this product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

A Good Cheap Tablet

06/13/2014
By ,
Austin TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased a 7 inch HKC tablet around 6 months ago. I was looking for a decent table I could take on the road (since so many places now have wifi) and not be upset if it broke or I lost it. It has held up well and consistently provided decent performance. However, my 11 year old son has decided it is his. So I purchased this 8 inch version for the road. As far as I can tell it is identical except a extra inch of screen has been added to it's width. Which does give the 8 tablet a odd shape. (Old TV ratio) so widescreen movies and TV streaming have large black bands on the top and the bottom. This is not noticeable when viewing old aspect ratio TV/movies or most apps. In fact I appreciate the large size (than the 7 inch) in these latter cases. In summary this is a "sweet spot" product. Faster than most cheap tablets with it dual core processor and 1G of RAM, but no barn burner compared to the leading edge tablets. In short a "lot of bang for the bucks", but if you want leading edge and can afford it; buy the latest name brands (since this will disappoint you).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great price but No blue-tooth

04/10/2014
By ,
Charlotte
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Many people use their tablets for a variety of things. I really only need one for a singular purpose, linking to a data collection device that connects via bluetooth.
With this requirement in mind, it was easy to eliminate all the super-high end tablets, rich with features that served no purpose than to inflate the price. When I saw this one, I thought I lucked out.
The specs said nothing about blue-tooth, either having it or not. The manual (found on the manufacturers website) was equally as useless. Emailing the manufacturer with this simple question on their model received no answer.
So I bought it, charged it, and found no blue-tooth. At least Walmart was very polite in taking the return from me the next day.
For any electronic, all possible features should be listed in the "Spec" section, with a simple "yes" or "no" next to it (or version/compliance type, like B/G/N if absolutely necessary). If they had done this (as many other electronic outlets due), it would have saved me time and trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Tablet is a good starter device

03/10/2014
By ,
Lake Elsinore, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought two of these tablets for only $60 which is a bargain. The only negative issues that I have with them is the touch screen response. When trying to click on certain buttons such as for installing apps, it will not register the touch. I have press several times until my touch registers. Other buttons seem to be ok. Not sure if this is a bug with android 4.1. Support from HKC is terrible. I emailed their support and the email bounced back as invalid. I wanted to upgrade the OS to 4.2 if possible but I could not get a response. Other than these issues the tablet functions very well. Watching video is good. The camera is not very sharp but works well for the price of this tablet. The backing feel rugged and build is pretty good. Has 8 gb of storage with a dual core processor and 1 gb of ram. You can expand the storage with micro sd cards. I tried this and it worked fine. Impatient people such as kids may get frustrated when installing software because of the issue already mentioned. For $60, I am content with my purchase and hoping I can upgrade the os.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Owned two since Christmas

04/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited to write this review so that it was worthwhile to read. We bought two of these for Christmas for our 9 and 10 year olds. We had taken back two of the RCA brands..(NEVER buy those) and found these online.
These HKCs were a brand we never heard of before, but the price was great and the colors were perfect for girls, so I gave them a shot. Seriously, they have really been more than we could have expected. I'm very glad to have bought them.
The girls play on them daily for about an hour total. they have downloaded many games and apps. They can search the internet, but on that it is a little slow. Well, compared to a normal sized laptop I mean. They are durable, because so far, being slept with, toted around, dropped a time or two, and plugged into chargers all the time, we have not had a single issue. They do hold a charge a long time, by the way.
I would buy one again, and in fact remembered to leave this review because it is the 5yr old's birthday, and she loves playing on her sister's tablet so much that we are going to get her one too.
Hope this helps. We are real parents with real kids. They aren't destructive brats, but they are active little things and put have their tablets to the test, which passed with flying colors.
Recommends this product? Yes
+329points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Easy Peasy

02/25/2014
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this on sale for $59.99 in purple.Was very easy to set up and use.I have a desktop and a laptop but wanted something smaller I could take with me on vacation that didn't add bulk while traveling.Tablets are wonderful for this very purpose.They do not have a disc drive but that is not a concern of mine.That's what downloads and flash drives are for.You can use this anywhere internet access is available.Simply use with unlocked internet access or type in the code on the wireless router.You can also use this by adding it to your cell phones plan for an additional fee.This tablet was a very good deal and just the right size.I found a matching tablet case online cheaper then what they sell in stores.You'll need a case for your tablet to protect it from drops and scratches.I'm very pleased with my purchase and actually have been using this every day since I got it just because it's so easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great tablet

04/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first tablet purchase. To be honest I bought it b/c of how inexpensive it was...(I snagged it on a $60 sale!) but truly, I am so happy that I bought it and I only regret that I didn't buy one more! Everyone in the family uses it. We use it for Youtube, Netflix, PlayBooks, IE, just about everything! It retains it's charge pretty well. My friend has a Kindle and in my humble opinion this tablet is better on so many levels. Seems to be able to handle more. And the screen size is amazing. No complaints! Probably will purchase another one! The only downfall is for some reason I can't be online with it while in the same room with the Xbox....I'm pretty sure that's a problem with my router though, not the tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Buyer beware

12/25/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read all the reviews for this tablet and got mixed feelings about it in the end. I did decide to order though and boy what a disappointment. When I opened the box there were no instructions on getting it set up the first time and the tablet wouldn't turn on so I chargered it for acouple of hours.. When I came back the red light was no longer displayed so I assumed that meant it was charged.. So I turned it on and the opening screen was displayed. For a few minutes I sat there thinking it just was taking awhile to boot up, but the thing never did go to any other screen and would not shut off. I gave it another hour or so and finally took it back to my local walmart and got the Samsung galaxy tab 3 10inch. But when I returned it the tablet was about super hot and still had the same screen up. This was a gift for a close family member so I'm so glad I opened it to charge it and realized it was a terrible tablet. The samsung galaxy may have been more then what I was wanting to spend.. But it sure beats having to deal with this mess!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great Tablet for a beginner

11/11/2013
By ,
Birmingham,Al
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased the HKC tablet Dec 2012 as a Christmas present for my then 6 year old daughter. i researched pricing etc and decided this was best for 99.00 you couldn't beat it I didn't want to invest in a "Name Brand"tablet being she is only 6 w/o knowing how she would take care of it. that plus with the many colors available I was sold. WELL about a month after purchasing the batter quit charging it could be on the charger for 6+ hours and only say 35% I contacted HKC personally customer service was ok they sent me about 3 replacement chargers lol!! at first this worked but then the same problem started happening, by now my daughter is getting really upset wanting her tablet i'm glad i purchased the Walmart Warranty plan with this I was able to just get my money back and i got her the Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7.0 NO PROBLEM AT ALL!!! this really is a good tablet to start out with we just didn't have much luck she was soooooo disappointed to return her "pink" tablet but she gained front facing cameras plus an upgraded tablet no compliants from her or myself
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Not even a good tablet for a beginner.

09/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Maybe we were spoiled because we had bought a much more popular & expensive tablet before this one.Trying to do anything on this tablet amounts,many times,to frustration. Whether your typing and it's consistently getting it wrong,to it going out of the page/website you are in to somewhere else because it has lousy position detectioning for the screen.It is also slower than molasses. I have the fastest internet possible & it means nothing with this tablet. I wish I would have checked around better. I saw the great price & how it has expandable memory(which my expensive tablet doesn't have) and rushed into buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Skype doesnt work on this Tablet

02/20/2014
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the tablet on President day sale. It was best seller online. Received two days later. It comes with a charger, a screen protector, headphones and a USB cable. The tablet desgin is thick and heavy but good for 60$. I turned it on and it took half an hour for setup and updates. The front camera is VGA webcam, very poor quality images and video. But I think it doesnt matter only if it works. The touch system was total mess. The Skype started , signed in, and I thought its okay, but Skype cannot make video or audio calls. Tried several time, looked over internet for solutions. Looks like the skype is not working on these tablets from Jan, 2013 after the latest Skype update. I dont know whose fault is that, but the bottomline , "SKYPE dont work". Thought it might need an upgrade of system but only to despair that the company HKC website is a totally puzzle in terms to get updates.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Riverside, CA
DO NOT PURCHASE-The Unit and Charger go out fast
Posted 03/14/2014
I purchased two of these tablets, one in Aug 2013 and Dec 2013. Both units work fine the first 1-2 months then the charger stops working and when you purchase a generic cord it does not charge the unit then the unit goes out completely. I sent my units in for repair over 4 weeks ago to HKC in CA and they still have not fixed or returned them back and theyre communication is horrible. It is fustrating because I am not using what I paid for my kids 8-10 are bumbed out. When I purchase a tablet I expect it to work for atleast a 2 - 5 years before going out not like 1 month. Please dont purchase any tablets from HKC because there warranty is not good at all. I wish I would have purchased the additional Walmart protection. I know the ratings are good and that is why I purchased but now that I purchased them I am really dissapointed with the quality.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Better Tablets are out there for the same price

07/12/2014
By ,
Arlington, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the HKC tablet online as a replacement for a unit that had a warranty on it. It was to come with a bonus pack of things including speakers, headphones etc.
Upon receiving the tablet, I was pleased with the color of it - PINK. However, once I plugged in the unit to charge it, it became hot almost immediately. I did allow it to charge completely. Once the unit was charged, I removed the adapter and attempted to set it up. Within an hour, the unit battery was going dead again. I attempted to use it with the adapter - but again, it became uncomfortably warm- actually hot to the touch. I returned the unit to the store. Never again will I get an HKC -- there are plenty of units out there that are in the same price range that are both a better quality and value.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Memphis, TN
The Charging Port
Posted 07/30/2014
I bought 3 of these tablets for Christmas 2013. The kids played with them the entire school break. Then school started and they didn't use for awhile. After a month or so they wouldn't come on or charge. I took them to a computer repair shop and they said it'll cost between $50-$60 to get them fixed. I bought them on sale for $ 60. I should just buy new ones.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Not in love with it, but it does what I need...

04/08/2014
By ,
Madison, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read the reviews for this tablet and was torn, but for the overall price and size of the screen, it seemed like the best deal.... I wanted to upgrade my daughter to something newer and larger (she was playing games on my old iPhone), so I bought one for her and one for me..
I will say I was disappointed with the camera - there is no back camera, only one on the front of the screen, so if you're only taking 'selfies', GREAT - but that's not what I'm about... The quality of the photos is horrible - very pixely/grainy, and you can rarely get the lighting right (either too dark or too bright).
My primary intent for these tablets was to play games, and so far it meets those expectations. There are a few games that are not compatible at this time (Sims Free Play), but overall it has met my expectations for game play. Once in a great while, the game will stop and it goes to the home screen, but it's fairly quick to pick up where you left off.
I use this tablet daily and have no real complaints, but given the choice, I probably would have gone with something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Don't waist your money

09/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tablet for my 8 year old son. He just had it a few months and the charger broke. Finally after replacing it. It worked for a couple more days the tablet wouldn't turn on. The tablet had a warranty. I contacted the hkc warranty service after 5 emails and numerous voicemails. ( you would never get any one on the phone). Finally, after 2 weeks trying to get a response they send me instructions to send the tablet back an RMA #. So I sent the tablet back. It's been 2 flippiin months still no email or call backs! I called last week and they informed me that it's still be tested in the lab. I called today ask to speak with a manager and was on hold for 20 minutes and my call was dropped. There's no customer service! I think that company is absolutely horrible! I have never dealt with a company that is so shady!!! Do not waste your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Great for the price!

08/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You really can't ask for a much better tablet for the price. Now this is no where nears as good as a ipad or Kindle fire but it also costs no wheres near as much. The res is a little grainy and the touch screen seems off a bit at times but for the price its def not so bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Terrible experience - taking back today

09/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I guess you get what you pay for. The first couple of weeks it was ok, slow, but ok. But then it slowly got worse, to the point where Google Chrome would not even respond anymore.
I am taking this back and will be looking for a better product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Don't buy this tablet

08/12/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tablet for my eleven year old son. He loved it in the beginning. After two months it stopped working. It wouldn't turn on. We unplugged it, reset it - nothing. Blank screen. Let it "rest" for a couple of days, tried to turn it on again - still nothing. The battery is fully charged but the unit will not turn on. It has never been dropped. Called the company over a month ago. There has been a lot of back and forth between us and the company. In the final correspondence, they strongly suggested that we go through the Walmart extended warranty instead of them. I find that suspicious but am in the process of doing just that to get rid of this tablet. I'll lose the $28 for the warranty but at least I'll get the money back from the tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

HKC tablet w/ 8gb memory and dual cores cpu.

08/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this tablet after having a great response with another one I bought the week earlier. This one is not working as smooth as the first one is. The main issues are: not recognizing finger movements and selections, problems dropping wifi and not being able to load same apps as the other tablet i bought. The over all rating for this product is 7.5 of 10 for the hassles, other then that this tablet is worth the money and will be great for the kids or adults looking for a simple tablet.
Re: I bought 3 of these and only one is giving me some minor issues. Just make sure you check for updates from the manufactures website. the rating above is for the tablet with issues other then that i give 9 of 10 to the other two units.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

great for the price

02/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the HKC 8” Dual Core and fell in love after one 4 hour flight. I have an iPad and love it. However when I travel the iPad is a little larger then I want to carry on the plane. The HKC was just prefect. Just love the picture resolution. Books, magazines, tv/movies just look better. Don't think you can go wrong with this unless you're looking for a notebook. Great job HKC. Too, like most people I was surprised and extremely happy to get the HKC prior to the Thanksgiving vacation trip. One last note, the HKC 8” is also a wonderful ereader for those looking for a larger screen, however, pretty costly but worth it. If you want an inexpensive tablet that does everything you need and more this is the one for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HKC 8" Tablet 8GB Memory Dual Core

Meets expectations and then some for the price.

08/03/2014
By ,
67212
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK, forget all the negative reviews on this tablet. I bought this for my wife a few weeks ago. She uses it primarily for games and internet, pinterest, google searches etc. You have to consider what you are getting for 69 bucks. It runs everything she has thrown at it, downloads fast, games play without a hitch, sound is great (almost too loud) and battery life is good+. If you just need an extra 'cheap' tablet for trips, the kids, the grandkids, this one will do everything you need and more, for a whole lot less! No I don't work for walmart or HKC.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 654 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  33 Next