Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProForm ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

ProForm ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Delivering the benefits of an exercise bike and an elliptical, this ProForm Hybrid Elliptical machine offers comfort, variety and a low-impact cardio workout to your daily routine. The machine features upper-body workout arms and over-sized adjustable pedals. Additionally, the ProForm Elliptical machine is a hybrid trainer that offers total body elliptical training in order to work every part of your body and make the best use of your time. With the comfortable, chair-like seat, you can get a convenient cardio workout on an exercise bike. The pedals are completely adjustable in order to accommodate a bike or elliptical position for a custom workout. The console is also adjustable so that whether you are sitting or standing, you can easily monitor the progress of your workout on the large LCD monitor. The ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical includes a water bottle holder to help you stay hydrated, and it comes with an RPM meter and Dual-grip EKG heart rate monitor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.137 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
51
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation88%147 out of 168reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
79 Questions | 175 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
51
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Squeaking Noise Resolved!

09/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am so excited to have purchased this equipment and doubly excited now that I have resolved that annoying squeaking sound! I was able to assemble the unit by myself... Took me a couple of hours but I did it.
Thanks to the comments of a reviewer I read, I believe it was Amazon, that stated she found the source of the squeaking was due to the metal on metal contact between front frame(23), and rear frame(1) and the front stabilizer bar(2) and where they fasten together. I found that if you stand in front of the machine and put weight on either of the handlebars pushing down or pulling forward and I put my ear closer, I can hear with the sound was coming from. She suggested getting a thick lubricant not the regular WD-40... I ended up purchasing from Lowe's, liquid wrench white lithium grease.
I lifted the unit from the back as if I were going to use the front wheels to roll it and make sure that the handlebars were even, if that makes sense, then tilted forward to the floor and let it rest on the handlebars. I then proceeded to tighten every bolt, especially ones that were done at the warehouse. Afterwords I sprayed the three parts that I thought were the source of the squeaks, wiped off any excess, stood on the rear frame and front frame where they are bolted together putting as much weight down on them as I could. Today the squeaks are gone!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Luv it

06/01/2014
By ,
wilson, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been wanting this for a while decided to sell my treadmill and give it a try. Found it in a local walmart so that was a plus did not have to wait for shipping. Started putting it together by myself instructions was super easy with color coded left and right and all the bolts was coded as well. My husband finish helping me and moving it. It is really heavy but lift the back and pull or push to where you want it. The machine works great and quite me and my teenage son love it. Great workout easy to go from bike to elliptical. You will truly enjoy this equipment.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Never delivered not damaged

09/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never was able to deliver it not damaged so they refunded the money. Didn't attempt to make it right and deliver the item in good condition.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Pretty Good

10/30/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It took awhile to put together, but it would have been easier with a 2nd person. Machine is reasonably durable given the price. The cup holder is a joke. I hit my knees on it and I'm only 5'3", so I removed it. The pulse sensors do not work unless your hands are wet. And I don't mean just slightly moist, but wet. I called the manufacturer and they sent me new wires and one sensor with no installation instructions (they did not come like this in the original box). Now I have to call them back (and likely hold for another 20 min before someone answers) to get an explanation and instructions on installing. At this point, I've resigned to living without that pulse monitor. Some squeaking, but it only came with a minimal amount of grease. Going to add more from the hardware store and see if this helps.
The programs are ok, but the level of difficulty for starting out is tough. The resistance is very responsive. Hopefully this will become easier with time and better strength and endurance from working my way into it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Solid quiet machine.

03/17/2014
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a well built machine, especially for the price. I appreciate
the smooth resistance and very quiet operation.
I had to drop at least one star because there are a couple glaring
ergonomic design flaws that should have been addressed before
production. One is that the handles with the heart rate monitors are
placed where the moving bars strike your arms if you try to use them
while in motion. They can't be accessed during normal operation while
in recumbent mode either, since they are to far away. So, the heart
rate monitor is cumbersome to use while working out. Other issue is
the resistant adjustment is controlled by the cheap display monitor.
If batteries are dead or wires bad there isn't a manual adjustment.
Proform's engineering is good enough to have caught these issues. It
is a good solid machine and creates a great work out if you don't need
the heart rate monitor and do not use stationary handles in
elliptical mode.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

A joy to use - a pain to assemble

02/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Construction is sound and it doesn't wobble if put together properly and placed on a level, carpeted surface. Use is fluent and fairly quiet so far. Resistance level 14 should provide quite a workout. That being said, it was a bit difficult to assemble. Total time of 3 hours with my wife helping me could have been 2 hours had all the bolts threaded correctly. Due to this issue, I found it necessary to exert as much effort as a man can while using one of the handlebars as a torque pipe to aid in turning the allen wrench. The two most problematic areas where the top and bottom bolts which hold the recumbent and elliptical sections together. These screws don't go all the way through, so you must attempt to screw them into the receiving threads located inside the pipe. I don't think the receiving threads inside the adjoining were properly "tapped" at the factory. Now that the construction is happily behind us, I'm sure we're going to get a lot of enjoyment from our new exercise equipment.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Good value for the money.

11/12/2013
By ,
Albany, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The following represents some of my thoughts/observations regarding the Proform Hybrid Trainer Elliptical. Since they are cheaper by the dozen...good luck.
1. The equipment is very solid.
2. Assembly took 2+ hours.
3. Directions were adequate.
4. Most small parts (Nuts & Bolts) are clearly labled and put on a cardboard card for easy identification.
5. Purchased on line with free delivery to the house. If purchased at store it would have been approx. $50 more.
6. Connecting wiring was a little tricky, match wire colors. Directions could be improved.
7. Left/Right parts were clearly labled.
8. Noticed many of the poor ratings were related to missing parts, not the product itself.
9. Assistance assemblying is not absolutly necessary but you will find it a big help at times. Maybe I could have finished in less than 2 hrs if I had an assistant.
10. FYI The seat is stationary and the bike pedals must be moved on rails to adjust to a persons leg lenth.
11. Display should have a tilt feature. When using the bike it could be difficult to see.
12. Bought the bike for my wife as an anniversary present. Next time I will just take her out to dinner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+119points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Just bought this!!!

03/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Regardless of what I've read in the reviews, I bought this anyway! Here's what I have to say to any nay-sayers. It definitely takes to people to put this together and make sure you have a rubber mallet as the instructions say. Easy instructions. All parts and hardware were readily on hand, separated, labeled and nothing extra. One bolt on the frame was a little long, but we just cut to fit.
I love this machine because it suits my less than active lifestyle. Very Quiet. Console stays off until you physically turn it on, even though the handles are moving.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Notice the picture's of Operator's on machine !

04/18/2014
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked around for an Elliptical for my 70 yr. old mother to use, as her knees are not in great shape.. After trying out this machine at my local Walmart store, I decided to purchase one after a week of searching other Sporting Good stores.. I wanted to buy at the Walmart store, but they did not have any in stock, so, I had to order online.. I placed my order, for the price of $377.99 the week of April 7, 2014, it came April 17 in great shape..Did take appx. 2 hrs. to assemble by myself. Machine is SMOOTH and no SOUNDS..However, the Heart Monitor is USELESS, as the handle bars, DO NOT, move forward far enough to reach! And, the seat DOES NOT move, and is in a FIXED position...LOOK at the pictures. I do like this machine, and recommend it.. And, by the way, as of this review, April 18, the price is now $399.00!! WOW! REALLY?!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Luis Obispo, CA
What about pictures?
Posted 10/03/2014
I read your review and I do not understand what you are saying to look for.
Also, I am writing this on October 3, 2014 and the price is $377.00 (and has been for the last several months that I have contemplated buying this machine.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Great equipment for the price

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy, high quality, holds my 6ft 265lb with ease. Comfortable in both configurations. While the foot cradles adjust I would like to be able to adjust the seat. There are several Tachometers on the display, speed, distance and rpm's are all pretty much the same measurement. miles in a two or three digit readout would be nice. I have noticed that several customers have asked how many revolutions to a mile. Ok a little math. there are 5280 feet in a mile. 5280X12=63360 inches in a mile. Now divide 63360/15=4224 steps since the stride length is 15inches. Now I will assume that two steps equal 1 revolution ie; one foot from a starting point back to the same point, so 4224/2=2112 revolutions make a mile. A lot said, however just get on it and work out forget about the miles. Stretch to loosen up and dont over do the workouts get in your comfort zone and enjoy.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Too noisy

05/20/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product has come into existence due to wonderful idea..2 in 1..An elliptical and recumbent bike..
The product is not sturdy , very noisy when in elliptical mode..there is no back light on 5he screen so difficult to see.. installation took an hour with help of another person..Hope this helps..
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

GREAT MACHINE!

01/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had the trainer for a couple of weeks and is doing great. Feels solid and is very quiet. Love that.
Not one to read full instructions before starting, I greatly benefited from another buyer on not having enough of the grease. Glad I read that one and then read the full assembly.
Couple of things that would make it a 5 rating :
1) an AC adapter rather than just batteries.
2) speed and distance in mph. I'm not a serious cyclist so revolutions per minute does not compute. I could do the conversion but why? Build it into the programming.
3) minimally, something in the manual that shows the speed, intensity and duration of intensity of the pre-programmed exercises. Would be great to know what I was getting into before starting a particular workout.
Overall very pleased with my purchase. Would just like to see some improvements.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Gets the job done.

01/15/2014
By ,
Stockton, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am burning calories and it gets the job done. I am 6' 270 lbs. and the stride does not bother me. I am more interested in burning the calories, vs. the complaints about the machine. It will get the job done for the price of this machine. It does get a little shaky when the resistance is high and you are moving at a fast pace, with a little squeaks here and there but again, I have 270 lbs. of weight working a lightweight machine. I do wish it had a tone signal when in trainer mode to let you know when the resistance is changing and a backlit display. Overall it is a great little machine. Took about two hours to put together, by myself, so give yourself some time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Good deal for the price

05/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was easy to assemble with two people but, took a while to complete. It works great but, sounds like it wobbles a bit while using the elliptical. Would be better if the readout was backlit.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Great value and well built

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this trainer on the recommendation of a friend. It arrived in time and was relatively easy to put together. Best of all it works great! It's well built and is a sturdy and smooth as trainers we tested at two to three times the price. A great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Bad product and customer service

05/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this product and finished assembling it in 3 days, at the end the screw holes were so large that even after tightening it several times it still makes noise and shakes. I called the products customer care and asked to send someone to fix it, very poor response. They do not care about customers after you buy your product
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

DONT' BUY UNASSEMBLED

06/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DIDN'T WORK FROM MINUTE ONE. TECH SAID IT PROBABLY NEEDED A NEW REED SWITCH, HOWEVER THEY WERE OUT OF STOCK. AFTER WAITING A WEEK AND STILL NOT INSTOCK AND NO FIRM ESTIMATE OF WHEN I RETURNED IT TO MY WALMART STORE. 5 HOURS OF LABOR TO ASSEMBLE AND DISASSEMBLE AND WE HAVE NOTHING. WALMART SAID THEY WOULD HAVE ASSEMBLED AND MADE SURE IT OPERATED BEFORE DELIVERY TO US IF WE WOULD HAVE HAD IT SHIPPED TO STORE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Recumbent bike/elliptical

05/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product. Does squeak with elipitical but that seems to be a normal thing with all. Recumbent bike works well with my 6'2" husband also. Overall great buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Sturdy and Smooth

05/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Both the elliptical and bike provide a good workout. The machine is sturdy and smooth. The display is hard to understand and you cant read it when using the bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

worst customer service EVER

12/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have never written a review but feel I have to with this... Bought this for my husband who had a stroke to do exercise.. After putting it together we found the display console didn't work.. called Proform & spoke to several different people who really had no clue how to fix it.. One rep told us to remove the back plate which was welded together.. when we informed her of that she was surprised ( you're in repairs/warranty & don't know how the product is made???) The last person told us he'd send a new display.. well after a month we still hadn't received the display & it was only sent AFTER I called to complain.. Surprise!! It wasn't the display as the same things happened.. not working.. I ended up returning the item to the store & got my $$ back & am EXTREMELY disappointed in pro form & will NEVER buy from them again
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 168 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next