Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProForm ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

ProForm ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Delivering the benefits of an exercise bike and an elliptical, this ProForm Hybrid Elliptical machine offers comfort, variety and a low-impact cardio workout to your daily routine. The machine features upper-body workout arms and over-sized adjustable pedals. Additionally, the ProForm Elliptical machine is a hybrid trainer that offers total body elliptical training in order to work every part of your body and make the best use of your time. With the comfortable, chair-like seat, you can get a convenient cardio workout on an exercise bike. The pedals are completely adjustable in order to accommodate a bike or elliptical position for a custom workout. The console is also adjustable so that whether you are sitting or standing, you can easily monitor the progress of your workout on the large LCD monitor. The ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical includes a water bottle holder to help you stay hydrated, and it comes with an RPM meter and Dual-grip EKG heart rate monitor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.216 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation91%67 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 128 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Luv it

06/01/2014
By ,
wilson, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been wanting this for a while decided to sell my treadmill and give it a try. Found it in a local walmart so that was a plus did not have to wait for shipping. Started putting it together by myself instructions was super easy with color coded left and right and all the bolts was coded as well. My husband finish helping me and moving it. It is really heavy but lift the back and pull or push to where you want it. The machine works great and quite me and my teenage son love it. Great workout easy to go from bike to elliptical. You will truly enjoy this equipment.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Solid quiet machine.

03/17/2014
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a well built machine, especially for the price. I appreciate
the smooth resistance and very quiet operation.
I had to drop at least one star because there are a couple glaring
ergonomic design flaws that should have been addressed before
production. One is that the handles with the heart rate monitors are
placed where the moving bars strike your arms if you try to use them
while in motion. They can't be accessed during normal operation while
in recumbent mode either, since they are to far away. So, the heart
rate monitor is cumbersome to use while working out. Other issue is
the resistant adjustment is controlled by the cheap display monitor.
If batteries are dead or wires bad there isn't a manual adjustment.
Proform's engineering is good enough to have caught these issues. It
is a good solid machine and creates a great work out if you don't need
the heart rate monitor and do not use stationary handles in
elliptical mode.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Pretty Good

10/30/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It took awhile to put together, but it would have been easier with a 2nd person. Machine is reasonably durable given the price. The cup holder is a joke. I hit my knees on it and I'm only 5'3", so I removed it. The pulse sensors do not work unless your hands are wet. And I don't mean just slightly moist, but wet. I called the manufacturer and they sent me new wires and one sensor with no installation instructions (they did not come like this in the original box). Now I have to call them back (and likely hold for another 20 min before someone answers) to get an explanation and instructions on installing. At this point, I've resigned to living without that pulse monitor. Some squeaking, but it only came with a minimal amount of grease. Going to add more from the hardware store and see if this helps.
The programs are ok, but the level of difficulty for starting out is tough. The resistance is very responsive. Hopefully this will become easier with time and better strength and endurance from working my way into it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

The Best elliptical and bike in one

03/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We Just love this proform hybrid elliptical. It took my husband about two hours to put together out of the box. Instructions were very easy to read and follow. It was Packed very well. All the hardware for assembly was packaged in a nice pack clearly labelled. It is Very well made and very sturdy. Doesn't rock back and forth like some do. Easy to use. Very comfortable seat, Great work out. Easy on the knees especially if you have arthritis or knee issues. I have a bad back and neck and it really helps me with my pain . I can only use it for short periods at a time. But I love it. My teenage daughter also loves it as well! she can use her ipad and get a good workout as well. My husband loves it too he was injured in an accident that left him disabled so this helps quite a bit with his pain. It is so much fun for the whole family. We highly recommend! :)
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Notice the picture's of Operator's on machine !

04/18/2014
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked around for an Elliptical for my 70 yr. old mother to use, as her knees are not in great shape.. After trying out this machine at my local Walmart store, I decided to purchase one after a week of searching other Sporting Good stores.. I wanted to buy at the Walmart store, but they did not have any in stock, so, I had to order online.. I placed my order, for the price of $377.99 the week of April 7, 2014, it came April 17 in great shape..Did take appx. 2 hrs. to assemble by myself. Machine is SMOOTH and no SOUNDS..However, the Heart Monitor is USELESS, as the handle bars, DO NOT, move forward far enough to reach! And, the seat DOES NOT move, and is in a FIXED position...LOOK at the pictures. I do like this machine, and recommend it.. And, by the way, as of this review, April 18, the price is now $399.00!! WOW! REALLY?!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Good value for the money.

11/12/2013
By ,
Albany, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The following represents some of my thoughts/observations regarding the Proform Hybrid Trainer Elliptical. Since they are cheaper by the dozen...good luck.
1. The equipment is very solid.
2. Assembly took 2+ hours.
3. Directions were adequate.
4. Most small parts (Nuts & Bolts) are clearly labled and put on a cardboard card for easy identification.
5. Purchased on line with free delivery to the house. If purchased at store it would have been approx. $50 more.
6. Connecting wiring was a little tricky, match wire colors. Directions could be improved.
7. Left/Right parts were clearly labled.
8. Noticed many of the poor ratings were related to missing parts, not the product itself.
9. Assistance assemblying is not absolutly necessary but you will find it a big help at times. Maybe I could have finished in less than 2 hrs if I had an assistant.
10. FYI The seat is stationary and the bike pedals must be moved on rails to adjust to a persons leg lenth.
11. Display should have a tilt feature. When using the bike it could be difficult to see.
12. Bought the bike for my wife as an anniversary present. Next time I will just take her out to dinner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

DONT' BUY UNASSEMBLED

06/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DIDN'T WORK FROM MINUTE ONE. TECH SAID IT PROBABLY NEEDED A NEW REED SWITCH, HOWEVER THEY WERE OUT OF STOCK. AFTER WAITING A WEEK AND STILL NOT INSTOCK AND NO FIRM ESTIMATE OF WHEN I RETURNED IT TO MY WALMART STORE. 5 HOURS OF LABOR TO ASSEMBLE AND DISASSEMBLE AND WE HAVE NOTHING. WALMART SAID THEY WOULD HAVE ASSEMBLED AND MADE SURE IT OPERATED BEFORE DELIVERY TO US IF WE WOULD HAVE HAD IT SHIPPED TO STORE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Gets the job done.

01/15/2014
By ,
Stockton, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am burning calories and it gets the job done. I am 6' 270 lbs. and the stride does not bother me. I am more interested in burning the calories, vs. the complaints about the machine. It will get the job done for the price of this machine. It does get a little shaky when the resistance is high and you are moving at a fast pace, with a little squeaks here and there but again, I have 270 lbs. of weight working a lightweight machine. I do wish it had a tone signal when in trainer mode to let you know when the resistance is changing and a backlit display. Overall it is a great little machine. Took about two hours to put together, by myself, so give yourself some time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Great for personal use

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros:
Reasonable price
2-in-1
Works well
Cons:
Questionable base construction
Heart rate monitor barely works and is inaccurate
Reasonably large and does not collapse
Measurement marks for setting foot plates
Overall:
I got this because of reviews and the fact it was a 2-in-1 and honestly it does exactly what I needed of it. Generally, it is a good construction but I get a little questionable about the base when you start moving at a fast pace. The heart rate monitor basically does not work. It takes 30+ seconds before it will give any reading and then the reading it gives appears to be random. The number jumps between 60 and 110 every tick and I highly doubt that is even possible. Once it went 67->113->71->110->etc. When switching between bike and elliptical the foot plates need to be adjusted. To do this they slide along a bar which has a sticker with lines on it. The two issues are finding the right spot for your leg length and making sure both plates are in the same spot as it all has to be done by eye. Hash marks/divots in the metal bar would be better as you could lock it in an exact spot. Even with these issues it is a very good machine. For the price it would be nice if all the little details were nicer, but I have no major complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Great Elliptical and bike

01/13/2014
By ,
Blasdell, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to put together, my husband had no problems. Really need a second person to help out at times though. The wheels make it easy to move too! Only had it a few weeks but it is quiet, easy to use and works for those on the higher end of the weight limit with ease!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

As Expected

08/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like others mentioned, took me about 2 hours and only a couple cuss words to assemble mostly by myself. Seems to be worth the money. The bike, or recumbent, motion seems a bit awkward at first but I was able to adjust. The controller seems kind of worthless. Works well to adjust resistance on your own. Wish it had a wall plug rather than battery power (4AA).
Definitely needed help to bring the box in the house. It weighs over 120 lbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Awesome!

08/11/2013
By ,
Stevensville, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took a little bit of time to put together, the instructions weren't always clear but I got it done in a reasonable amount of time. I LOVE it! On lazy days I use the recumbent bike part. When I use the elliptical, even if only for a short time, I get a good workout and am building up how long I can stay on. I am quite out of shape but changing that with this equipment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

All that I expected

09/28/2013
By ,
Saint Helens, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased as a birthday present for 70 year old disabled wife. Went together in an hour an a half with no problems. Wife likes it and is using it every day. It is quiet and she watches tv while peddling. Daily caregiver using it and so am I (but in walking configuration) we all are enjoying it and getting some needed aerobic exercise as well as wife getting needed leg movement in the all too wet northwest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Great elliptical for the price..

11/12/2013
By ,
Newark, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around before settling on this trainer> Was looking for a good workout at a good price. This trainer met my expectations. My son assembled it with no problems. Especially like that it doubles as a bike....love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Good machine as expected

10/23/2013
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Package received in good condition. I chose option to pick up at store which is simple and quick. Everything received to assemble. Parts well labeled and instruction quite easy to follow. It took me about 2hrs to assemble. There is only one place that design left a bigger gap than need, compare to the opposit side, which made soft knocking noise. I used an additional washer to close that gap. Only little down side of this is when we looked at the big eclipe machine like treadmill flat form that the leg swings a little higher or lower than this one, of course its price is 3 times higher. Other than that so far we enjoiced it for a month now. We used it about 1.5hrs everyday.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Great Product

10/27/2013
By ,
Grenada, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to put together. Just follow the instructions. A lot more well built than I thought it would be. Most of the metal parts are powder coated. It is very heavy build.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Great Product, Great Price

10/25/2013
By ,
Ionia, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I saw this elliptical trainer that is also a recumbent bike I was skeptical about how sturdy, or comfortable it would be to use for the price. It was delivered directly to my home and my daughter and I put it together in approximately 3 hours. It came with all parts, pieces and tools needed to assemble. It really was as easy as just reading the step by step directions. We are enjoying our new equipment very much and the recumbent seat is very comfortable!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Very Happy with this!

07/07/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This arrived within 3 days of the order. My 19 year-old son assembled it in 2.5 hours. It is well made and looks good in our exercise room. It is easy to use and quiet. We have all used it and everyone is able to get a good work-out at various levels standing or seated.
I was shopping for an elliptical for some time now and came very close to spending much more on a different one. Very please with this for the quality and price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Short Stride

01/04/2014
By ,
Toledo, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Machine works great but the stride is a little shorter than I am used to, almost like a stair stepper. I had a different elliptical of the same ProForm brand and loved it. After several years a weld gave out and I went searching for a new machine. I found the Hybrid Trainer to be the best deal for the money. After a week of using the machine I was able to adjust to the stride difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Good low end elliptical trainer for 1-2 people.

08/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It seems that this elliptical is good for home use. Took about 2 hours to put together with two of us working on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next