Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProForm ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

ProForm ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Delivering the benefits of an exercise bike and an elliptical, this ProForm Hybrid Elliptical machine offers comfort, variety and a low-impact cardio workout to your daily routine. The machine features upper-body workout arms and over-sized adjustable pedals. Additionally, the ProForm Elliptical machine is a hybrid trainer that offers total body elliptical training in order to work every part of your body and make the best use of your time. With the comfortable, chair-like seat, you can get a convenient cardio workout on an exercise bike. The pedals are completely adjustable in order to accommodate a bike or elliptical position for a custom workout. The console is also adjustable so that whether you are sitting or standing, you can easily monitor the progress of your workout on the large LCD monitor. The ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical includes a water bottle holder to help you stay hydrated, and it comes with an RPM meter and Dual-grip EKG heart rate monitor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
31
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation89%88 out of 99reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 149 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
31
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Squeaking Noise Resolved!

09/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am so excited to have purchased this equipment and doubly excited now that I have resolved that annoying squeaking sound! I was able to assemble the unit by myself... Took me a couple of hours but I did it.
Thanks to the comments of a reviewer I read, I believe it was Amazon, that stated she found the source of the squeaking was due to the metal on metal contact between front frame(23), and rear frame(1) and the front stabilizer bar(2) and where they fasten together. I found that if you stand in front of the machine and put weight on either of the handlebars pushing down or pulling forward and I put my ear closer, I can hear with the sound was coming from. She suggested getting a thick lubricant not the regular WD-40... I ended up purchasing from Lowe's, liquid wrench white lithium grease.
I lifted the unit from the back as if I were going to use the front wheels to roll it and make sure that the handlebars were even, if that makes sense, then tilted forward to the floor and let it rest on the handlebars. I then proceeded to tighten every bolt, especially ones that were done at the warehouse. Afterwords I sprayed the three parts that I thought were the source of the squeaks, wiped off any excess, stood on the rear frame and front frame where they are bolted together putting as much weight down on them as I could. Today the squeaks are gone!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Luv it

06/01/2014
By ,
wilson, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been wanting this for a while decided to sell my treadmill and give it a try. Found it in a local walmart so that was a plus did not have to wait for shipping. Started putting it together by myself instructions was super easy with color coded left and right and all the bolts was coded as well. My husband finish helping me and moving it. It is really heavy but lift the back and pull or push to where you want it. The machine works great and quite me and my teenage son love it. Great workout easy to go from bike to elliptical. You will truly enjoy this equipment.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Never delivered not damaged

09/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never was able to deliver it not damaged so they refunded the money. Didn't attempt to make it right and deliver the item in good condition.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Pretty Good

10/30/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It took awhile to put together, but it would have been easier with a 2nd person. Machine is reasonably durable given the price. The cup holder is a joke. I hit my knees on it and I'm only 5'3", so I removed it. The pulse sensors do not work unless your hands are wet. And I don't mean just slightly moist, but wet. I called the manufacturer and they sent me new wires and one sensor with no installation instructions (they did not come like this in the original box). Now I have to call them back (and likely hold for another 20 min before someone answers) to get an explanation and instructions on installing. At this point, I've resigned to living without that pulse monitor. Some squeaking, but it only came with a minimal amount of grease. Going to add more from the hardware store and see if this helps.
The programs are ok, but the level of difficulty for starting out is tough. The resistance is very responsive. Hopefully this will become easier with time and better strength and endurance from working my way into it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Solid quiet machine.

03/17/2014
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a well built machine, especially for the price. I appreciate
the smooth resistance and very quiet operation.
I had to drop at least one star because there are a couple glaring
ergonomic design flaws that should have been addressed before
production. One is that the handles with the heart rate monitors are
placed where the moving bars strike your arms if you try to use them
while in motion. They can't be accessed during normal operation while
in recumbent mode either, since they are to far away. So, the heart
rate monitor is cumbersome to use while working out. Other issue is
the resistant adjustment is controlled by the cheap display monitor.
If batteries are dead or wires bad there isn't a manual adjustment.
Proform's engineering is good enough to have caught these issues. It
is a good solid machine and creates a great work out if you don't need
the heart rate monitor and do not use stationary handles in
elliptical mode.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Cannot review equipment dont have replacement part

11/02/2014
By ,
ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shipping was fast , but delivery guy just threw it on the ground and left didn't even ring the doorbell. have it on security video from time he opend his back door till the time he got in his cab 58 seconds. unpacked and found where back leg goes is bent where shipper droped it on the ground. I bought the 3 year extended so i called the warranty people they said take it back to the store, i'm 58 and diabled thats why i had it deliverd ! So they give me the manufactures phone number because not only is it bent but one of the peddle parts is missing a bearing and that call was on 10/22/14 and now it's 11/2/14 and still no parts. no more wallmart delivery's for me.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

The Best elliptical and bike in one

03/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We Just love this proform hybrid elliptical. It took my husband about two hours to put together out of the box. Instructions were very easy to read and follow. It was Packed very well. All the hardware for assembly was packaged in a nice pack clearly labelled. It is Very well made and very sturdy. Doesn't rock back and forth like some do. Easy to use. Very comfortable seat, Great work out. Easy on the knees especially if you have arthritis or knee issues. I have a bad back and neck and it really helps me with my pain . I can only use it for short periods at a time. But I love it. My teenage daughter also loves it as well! she can use her ipad and get a good workout as well. My husband loves it too he was injured in an accident that left him disabled so this helps quite a bit with his pain. It is so much fun for the whole family. We highly recommend! :)
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Good value for the money.

11/12/2013
By ,
Albany, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The following represents some of my thoughts/observations regarding the Proform Hybrid Trainer Elliptical. Since they are cheaper by the dozen...good luck.
1. The equipment is very solid.
2. Assembly took 2+ hours.
3. Directions were adequate.
4. Most small parts (Nuts & Bolts) are clearly labled and put on a cardboard card for easy identification.
5. Purchased on line with free delivery to the house. If purchased at store it would have been approx. $50 more.
6. Connecting wiring was a little tricky, match wire colors. Directions could be improved.
7. Left/Right parts were clearly labled.
8. Noticed many of the poor ratings were related to missing parts, not the product itself.
9. Assistance assemblying is not absolutly necessary but you will find it a big help at times. Maybe I could have finished in less than 2 hrs if I had an assistant.
10. FYI The seat is stationary and the bike pedals must be moved on rails to adjust to a persons leg lenth.
11. Display should have a tilt feature. When using the bike it could be difficult to see.
12. Bought the bike for my wife as an anniversary present. Next time I will just take her out to dinner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Notice the picture's of Operator's on machine !

04/18/2014
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked around for an Elliptical for my 70 yr. old mother to use, as her knees are not in great shape.. After trying out this machine at my local Walmart store, I decided to purchase one after a week of searching other Sporting Good stores.. I wanted to buy at the Walmart store, but they did not have any in stock, so, I had to order online.. I placed my order, for the price of $377.99 the week of April 7, 2014, it came April 17 in great shape..Did take appx. 2 hrs. to assemble by myself. Machine is SMOOTH and no SOUNDS..However, the Heart Monitor is USELESS, as the handle bars, DO NOT, move forward far enough to reach! And, the seat DOES NOT move, and is in a FIXED position...LOOK at the pictures. I do like this machine, and recommend it.. And, by the way, as of this review, April 18, the price is now $399.00!! WOW! REALLY?!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Luis Obispo, CA
What about pictures?
Posted 10/03/2014
I read your review and I do not understand what you are saying to look for.
Also, I am writing this on October 3, 2014 and the price is $377.00 (and has been for the last several months that I have contemplated buying this machine.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Got more for my money. GREAT !!!!

10/07/2014
By ,
Morganton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not like the looks of the box the Pro Form came in it had a lot of damage, but once I got it unpack, every thing was OK. It took about 4 hours to get it put together, I took my time. I have had the Fro Form for about a week and I am doing short 3 minute sessions 3 times a day. I do not want to burn myself out. The display is easy to read and the resistance works great. The main thing is, it is very, very quiet and very, very smooth operating. It looks like it is just what I need.
Note: The Pro Form did not come with a graph showing what each of the apps are doing. I have called but Pro Form has not call back yet.
Overall it is GREAT I LOVE it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

great for the price

10/14/2014
By ,
riverside ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I dont know how much time it really takes to assemble if you are serious but i guess about 2 hours, it took me 12 with pool break mall break but 5 months later and 35 pounds less it works fine
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Gets the job done.

01/15/2014
By ,
Stockton, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am burning calories and it gets the job done. I am 6' 270 lbs. and the stride does not bother me. I am more interested in burning the calories, vs. the complaints about the machine. It will get the job done for the price of this machine. It does get a little shaky when the resistance is high and you are moving at a fast pace, with a little squeaks here and there but again, I have 270 lbs. of weight working a lightweight machine. I do wish it had a tone signal when in trainer mode to let you know when the resistance is changing and a backlit display. Overall it is a great little machine. Took about two hours to put together, by myself, so give yourself some time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

seat

09/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Should be adjustable. I am only 5foot and really cannot use this function
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Flawed but Functional - Needs Better QC

11/20/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Average Rating - A "C" Grade; Acceptable with Minor Flaws
Picked up the unit at store and brought home in the back of my SUV, it weighs about 125 lbs. (no not my SUV). Laid out inspected and accounted for all parts on garage floor then brought parts inside house for assembly. All present and in good condition, no spares of anything - be careful not to lose screws, washers etc.
Assembled alone, which isn't difficult in about 3 hours, I'm slow and deliberate with this type of work, anyone with basic hands-on skills will get it done quicker.
The assembly instructions are only fair, not clear and explicit enough on many steps.
Notes made during assembly of Pro-Form Hybrid Trainer and after using for 10 days.
1) Assembly Step 12: Mounting and Connection of handlebars; the blue wire from one handlebar sensor is short by at least 1 inch and much shorter than wires from other side sensor of handlebar.
2) Assembly Step 14: Bad location for lower mount screws, handlebar interferes with screws being tightened.
3) Assembly Step 15: 1 unusable M4 x 6mm screw (deformed head), no extras provided - so bottle holder is mounted with only one screw instead of two.
4) Usage - hand sensors don't work - perhaps related to #1 above.
5) Usage - Flywheel knocks - not as smooth or quiet running as expected.
Would I recommend this unit?
For long-term heavy usage - probably not.
For light usage or as a first machine to see how much use you get out of it - and/or possibly trading up in a few years - probably yes.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Hybrid trainer

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do not think I could be more satisfied. For the money I can't image a better product.
It rides like the expensive bikes at the gym and the elliptical feels great as well.
I had someone put it together as I am not handy! That is the only thing you have to know going in if you are not handy! Enjoy
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Awesome!

08/11/2013
By ,
Stevensville, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took a little bit of time to put together, the instructions weren't always clear but I got it done in a reasonable amount of time. I LOVE it! On lazy days I use the recumbent bike part. When I use the elliptical, even if only for a short time, I get a good workout and am building up how long I can stay on. I am quite out of shape but changing that with this equipment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Sturdy elliptical...

10/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very sturdy machine but it was a pain to put together! It took us 4 hours to get it done. Some of the pieces didn't line up with the pre-drilled holes and we had to force them in. Don't be fooled by thinking you can put it together in an hour...won't happen! Also, it is wobbly on a rug...we need to get a mat to put it on.
Other then that...it seems sturdy!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Great Elliptical and bike

01/13/2014
By ,
Blasdell, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to put together, my husband had no problems. Really need a second person to help out at times though. The wheels make it easy to move too! Only had it a few weeks but it is quiet, easy to use and works for those on the higher end of the weight limit with ease!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Works smooth and quite. Wish it had a 110 plug in.

10/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Over all easy to put together. Meets my expectations just wish it pluged in and did not run on batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ProForm Hybrid Trainer Elliptical

Good value, great workout

11/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I decided to go with this machine because it offered two workouts in one machine. I was able to put it together by myself and I chose to use my cordless drill rather than used the tools supplied. It took me about two hours to assemble. The only thing that kept me from giving the 5th star was that after about two weeks of very quiet use it suddenly developed a horrible clunking noise on the right side. I still haven't gotten rid of it completely but it is quieter after some WD-40 and some fiddling around. Not sure what that was about.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next