Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Coby COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coby COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

The Coby MID4331-4 4.3" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 has everything you need to connect on the go. Get hours of use with the rechargeable lithium-polymer battery.
Average Customer Rating:
3.549 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
22
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation76%54 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
22
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

Lightweight pocket sized Android 4 tablet.

04/13/2013
By ,
West Bend, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the tablet as a small portable notepad, e-reader, and MP3 player. It's perfect for these simple tasks. It's a good size and fits in the front pocket of a dress shirt. There are very few small android tablets on the market, so it's hard to compare it to others. I was surprised by how light the tablet feels compared to a 7" tablet that I was using. The touch screen is very responsive. The WIFI on the tablet easily connected to a public hot-spot without any problems. I read a review on a different site that found a problem with authentication on secure WIFI connections found with auto detection (like a home network), but there apparently is an easy fix. I have no idea if the tablet works on a home WIFI. The battery life is about 2-hours with constant use, but longer for e-reading. The GetJar source for APPS is not very good, but 1Mobile is good and you can find the download for this market online. The Google Play store is not included, but Google doesn't allow the affordable tablets to include their market, so I've never really missed their exclusive club. For the price, I'm happy with the tablet.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 2 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

Superb for Kindle reader

05/01/2013
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had the tablet just over one day, but I downloaded the Amazon store feature and the Kindle app without a hitch. Both work perfectly. I had no trouble connecting with my home wiifi. I haven't yet figured out how to download contacts from my phone to the Coby. I don't want to have to add them all manually. I can't find bluetooth, so I'm assuming it doesn't have it. Since I mainly want an eReader and don't care about gaming or internet, this tablet is perfect for me. It fits in my purse so I can read anywhere I have down time. I'm sure music will work fine as well but I haven't downloaded any yet. I am thrilled it isn't connected to Google. I got Skype from the Amazon store free, and I'm only beginning. I just need to get an expansion card. It will recognize up to 32 mb. I will use the calendar, calculator, and a calorie counter if I can find one. So far I'm a happy camper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 3 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

Great little tablet

04/16/2013
By ,
jax, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little tablet, It meets all my expectation. My son loves it. I will highly recommend it. Thanks for such a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 4 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

not bad for price

04/19/2013
By ,
Denison, IA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this tablet for my mine year old daughter who desperately wanted one. Not having much money to spend,I looked a round and came up with the Coby. She plays games that she downloads on the downloader that came on the tablet. I don't like it near as much as google play, but it seems to fit her needs. Some times it seems to drop the WI fI a lot. The closer to the router you are the better. Other wise is a good little (4.3" is as big as my whole phone (: ) I wouldn't get it for myself but great for my daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 5 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

Better than I ever expected for a $50 tablet

04/23/2013
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical on this purchase, but knowing that if the product was unsatisfactory, I could return it without much difficulty to my local Walmart store (I used the always excellent Walmart.com "Ship to Store" option). After 2 weeks, I am quite impressed.
I already own a Samsung Galaxy 2 tablet which retails for $249, so I have a benchmark (although an unfair benchmark) to compare the Coby Kyros mini tablet against. No, its not a mini Galaxy 2, but at a fifth of the cost, the Coby mini performs far beyond my expectations. The build quality is surprisingly good, and the side buttons for power and volume have a solid feel. Screen brightness and resolution are both very good. The screen is responsive using a capacitive stylus, although it requires slightly more pressure than my Galaxy 2... nothing problematic though. Initial connection to wi-fi takes longer than my Samsung Galaxy, but once connected, it is stable, and signal range is acceptable. I have used the unit in a walled room approx 35 feet from my router without any problems.
I expected that its inability to download applications from the Google Play store would be a problem, but that has been a complete non-issue. The first thing I did was use the pre-installed browser, navigate to the Opera website, and download both the Opera Mobile and Opera Mini browsers... IMHO, the best browsers for mobile android devices as displayed text always "fits and aligns" perfectly on the screen using the browsers' auto-wrap feature. Using the slimmed down Opera “mini” browser, the little Coby is fast (though the full featured Opera “mobile” browser is required to properly view some websites, which is why I use both).
I then wanted to download some of my core applications. As other reviewers have noted, the Google Play store cannot be used here as the Coby is not compliant with Google Play. Instead, the Coby unit had the Getjar downloader application pre-installed. I found some, but not all, of my wanted apps on the Getjar site and had no issues downloading and installing them onto the little Coby. For those applications that were not on the Getjar site, I went to the Opera mobile store (which is auto-programmed as a favorite “speed dial” in both of the aforementioned Opera browsers), and found all of my remaining apps there. Again, they downloaded properly from the Opera mobile store, and installed flawlessly.
I listen to quite a bit of streaming audio using the "TuneIn" internet radio application. The volume coming out of the Coby's miniature mono speaker isn't much, but what is there is at least clean and not distorted. Using headphones, the sound is fine, though a tad lacking in bass. I am getting over 5 hours of battery usage on a charge.
This is not a Samsung Galaxy or iPad replacement, but at 50 bucks, it’s a shirt-pocket sized bargain. So far, I couldn’t be more pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Review 6 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

Truly Impressive Tablet

05/26/2013
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paid 55bucks at Big Lots cuz I didn't want to wait for site to store. I downloaded 2 apps and integrated their services so that texting and calling in&out is 100% free, no credits to earn or minutes to buy! ! Only thing I cannot get it to do so far is receive pics or vids(still think its possible). Next week my cell service contract ends and I will port my number to google voice and valla! Free cell phone service! It fits in your shirt pocket or pants pocket !!!!Complaints about reception is redundant within these reviews, at my home reception wass junk - at work, and public wifi's its awesome. I asked IT guys at work and they told me to get a wifi repeater for home, I did and now it works great at home as well :D I was going to dump everything this lil tablet came with and install Windows 8 but after doodling with it for over a month I have decided to leave it as is. Streams video just like a desktop, plays music well. I don't understand how anyone could give this 50buck gadget a bad review. I am truly impressed , so much that I bought two more in case they quit making them...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

great for children and lil hands

05/10/2013
By ,
cleveland, ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a great tablet for anyone with little hands, the screen is small and so is the tablet. i bought this for my 5 yr old so she could stay off my cellphone playing games. it is a great tablet for little ones because there are so many apps that can be downloaded they can learn from or just play games with.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 8 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

Super Long Battery Life - Lots of Apps thru Amazon

06/03/2013
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this very compact tablet to use as a long-battery-life ereader for a cross-country trip. It works just fine for books in ePub format. By enlarging the font, I have no trouble reading my books. It lasts about 6 hours on a charge, so it got me through the long airline flights with juice to spare.
The browser is good. I enjoyed watching YouTube in my hotel room. (Beats the garbage on TV!)
Plenty of apps are available through Amazon's appstore.
It has a decent camera, charges via USB port, and plays MP3 music.
I have one small complaint: The soft menu (the icons that will take you "back," "home," or display the application menu) at the bottom of the screen is a bit small. I have trouble hitting them accurately. Maybe I'll get better with practice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

So Far Pretty Good !

04/23/2013
By ,
Northern NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is not a bad little Tablet for the money.., particuliarly if you don't mind the absence of it
being rooted or supporting the Google Play market... Only had it for a week so my experience in its use is on the "skimpy" right now.. I bought it mostly for the tablets ultra-portability that I could check email and do some web surfing while "on the go" The touchscreen is a tad over-sensitive when scrolling down checking thru emails and scrolling top to bottom of a webpage.. Its very easy to mistakenly touch one of the pages hyperlinks (not intending to load) the corresponding page that belongs to that link. This seems to be due to the combination of the small screen and the units touch screen over sensitivity...
This is my 2nd Colby Tablet and they've improved much over the less than desirable MID7015 I bought about 2 yrs ago. My old 7" Coby was junk !! I've had no trouble connecting this little guy to my Router used for my home wireless broadband; (one user had mentioned it was at 1st troublesome) and also Wi-Fi hotspots such as found at Starbucks, DD's etc. Like all small tablets in this price range the wireless antenna's reception strengths are not very good. If I am 30ft from the Router upstairs I can still manage to get 2 of 4 bars and usually maintain the connection.. I also bought it for "notes on the go" and the compass feature. I've used "Compass" to test it and it seemed to work okay for the 1st use and doesn't seem to be dependent on a wireless connection. Battery life for mine is about 2.5 to 3 hrs with wireless on n using for web and email. Comes with a nice little velvet pouch to cover it. Hvn't tried the USB other than for charging. So with more time we'll see how well this little puppy holds up.. Satisfied for now :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

A cool little smartphone (without the phone)

07/06/2013
By ,
Bethlehem, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this device primarily on price point and really can't complain. Just wanted a portable device to play videos for my son. Obviously, it is more than a media player and I'm digging into the other functions as we go along. Battery life is respectable and haven't noticed any ill-behavior like freeze ups and spontaneous restarts. This is my first Android device so perhaps my expectations are not high. However, my son has an iPad mini and an iPod so I have some reference point. Frankly, I have more difficulty with touchscreen responsiveness on the iPad mini than with this smaller device.
Was able to connect to my router easily but had to fiddle around to get IP. Also, had an issue with not being able to eject the micro SD card once but muddled through both problems eventually. Wifi range is rather short and haven't found a workaround yet.
BTW, the absence of cellular is not an issue (although there are apps that provide VoIP so cellphone function can be simulated). If you want a smartphone, then get a smartphone. Overall, quite satisfied with this little contraption.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4
05/20/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great fast connection
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 12 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4
04/23/2013
By ,
Brookhaven, MS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It wasn't what I expected but its worth it for the price I paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 13 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

Great for a young child.

05/28/2013
By ,
columbus, Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves his tablet. It is easy to setup and use. Great for a small child.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4
05/10/2013
By ,
Rochester, In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
its small enough to carry around ,just like your smart phone, its nice and handy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 15 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

Pocket Netflix

05/08/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this little Coby a few days ago,and I tried to get Netflix, and wasn't able to,until I went to 1Mobile and downloaded the Netflix Android App 2.2 and now I have it in my shirt pocket,the Coby 4.3 that is, now if only my doctor's office has wifi ?
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4
04/23/2013
By ,
San Antonio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is very satified with the product. Downloads music, plays games.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

Awesome

06/21/2013
By ,
San Antonio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only had the Coby for a couple of weeks, but it is just as good as my Nook Color, in fact, found a Nook App and I can read my nook books on this. Smaller and easier to take with me to places like the store, etc. Already bought 2 more for family and friends. Wi-Fi works perfectly. Able to play all my videos. Really hope it holds up because I love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

Overall is good but...

06/18/2013
By ,
Dunedin, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This little tablet does what it says, it's good but with some drawbacks. You can't download any apps from Google Apps as it doesn't come with Google Play. Downloaded Opera and Opera Mini browsers although the browser that comes with the tablet is perfectly fine.
The camera is working but with some problems like vertical purple and green lines that show every now and then. Tried to contact Coby Support Center a week ago and I'm still waiting for their reply.
I enjoy surfing the web and playing some apps, the touch screen is very good but you have to have small fingers.
I would recommend this Coby tablet to anyone who just want to have one that is light and small to carry around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

Awesome little tablet!!

06/21/2013
By ,
Lafayette, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mini-tablet is everything I expected and more! One of the best purchases I have ever made! No problems with it whatsoever, and I am extremely happy with this purchase! It's amazing what this tablet can do for what I paid for it, which was only about forty dollars! Yep, I'm a happy camper alright..lol.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for COBY 4.3" Tablet 4GB MID4331-4

Worth every Pennie!

06/19/2013
By ,
Arlington,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered 2 for my children 2 wks ago. They love em! It keeps them busy and out of my way. U can download free games. It also comes with a Youtube app already on it. & for $40 u can't beat that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1 2 3 Next