Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LG LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

LG LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

The LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV features LED backlighting for amazing brightness, clarity and contrast detail. With TruMotion 120Hz your sports and action movies will look crystal clear with no motion blur. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the LG 42" LED HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
23
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%104 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
23
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

Excellent EXCEPT for one thing!

06/03/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this product for about a week and love it (so far). Picture quality is great, sound is very good for an LED television. HOWEVER, LG seems to be falsely claiming 120hz refresh rate or what they refer to as TruMotion 120hz. The LN5300 is a 60hz set, while the LN5400 is supposed to be a 120hz set. I contacted LG support about the issue and was told its a firmware update (no TruMotion setting in the menu) that should resolve the issue. However, I've also noticed similar problems with LG's 2012 line of televisions (purchased/returned LS4600 to be specific). I'm very disappointed that LG resorts to such marketing tactics. If your claiming to sell a 120hz set than do it, otherwise don't lie to customers or give excuses! Overall great TV if your not looking for smooth motion (sports programs, video gaming). Hope LG takes customer reviews seriously and makes some changes...
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Minnesota
i wont buy it
Posted 09/02/2013
I am changing the order for 2 sets to the VISIO 120 HZ
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

Excellent Mid Size TV

06/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased an LG because my 56" Samsung caught on fire not once but twice. I shopped on QVC first to get the sales pitch and see the TV, then searched for the price second, finding Walmart had the best price and free shipping, and also the digital tuner option not listed at QVC (I really hate paying for cable).
I miss seeing the upcoming programs that used to be available on my old TV, but the picture quality of this LG TV is outstanding. I have an indoor antenna and the picture is crystal clear. I was picking up only 4 major channels with the old Samsung, but with the new LG, I get about 56 stations without cable, very happy.
Great product and this was my very first purchase at Walmart ever. Never even been into their stores. Fed Ex Delivered this TV by the date promised in perfect condition.
The best part about this TV is it's super slim profile and I can actually carry it and move it around.
Thanks Walmart for the super low price and great service. Great first time shopping experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

GOOD TV

09/03/2014
By ,
Texas Hill Country
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this TV so much I now have 2 of them --same model-- one for the living room and one for the master bedroom. I bought the first one around Christmas 2013 and the second one at the end of August 2014. The picture is beautiful; the sound is great, and the controls are easy to operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

I was very happy with this entire purchase.

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My television was delivered on time. Easy to install and has great picture and sound quality.
I was very happy with the value of this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great value.

08/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Store employee was very helpful loading the tv into my car. Product arrived in good shape and performs as expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

the price at the time was limited

06/30/2014
By ,
Ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tv, worth buying and can't go wrong with the price so more or less you just got to wait to catch the deals and be ready to buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

No need to spend more

07/03/2014
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent picture with just the normal cable input. Add the HDMI cable (cheap) and it is even better. There is no need to get anything more expensive in this size TV. I only wish it has connections for external speakers, but could not find that even on more expensive TVs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

Excellent Picture, but

12/05/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Poor sound quality. I had to buy a separate sound board to get good sound. The literature says 120 Hz update rate, the the "info bubble" always displays 60 Hz. Still the picture captures action scenes clearly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

This tv stopped turning on after 2 weeks

01/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tv stopped turning on after 2 weeks and seems to be a common problem for these models according to lg customer service.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great tv

07/05/2013
By ,
Cranston, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have another LG i paid 1200.00 for. This one I paid 490.00 and the quality is the same, the sound is a bit different but overall its awesome for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great picture, easy setup....no regrets

01/26/2014
By ,
Bellevue, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my first LG LCD display TV eight years ago and loved the picture quality. I needed a bigger screen size this time but I really wanted the same quality picture. It's seemed an LED model was the way to go. After reading many reviews I choose another LG and with a tight budget this was by far the best buy. The performance is outstanding with a great picture (after a little adjusting), excellent for watching sports no regrets on this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

Love it!

07/06/2013
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is such a nice picture and I am very happy with it! My old TV was very heavy and although it still had a great picture, I decided to go to the trim light weight TV and I'm so happy with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

Quality LG TV

03/13/2014
By ,
Dubuque, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TV has an awesome picture. Most of my TV's are LG brand because they are a quality brand. I have never had an issue with any of my LG's. With an HD box, the picture quality is amazing. The size and price are very reasonable compared to other brands.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

Love my new LG TV!

03/14/2014
By ,
Newport, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! Great picture clarity, color, detail and sound. I have no complaints. But if I were to make changes, I'd add a headphone jack and more HDMI ports.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

Did not have the hdmi ports it claimed

12/29/2013
By ,
Marshall TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Getting ready to repackage and return! This tv was supposed to have 2 hdmi ports but only has one!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great TV and the price was right.

12/23/2013
By ,
New Orleans, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great TV and a good price. Set up was easy. Picture and sound are excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great picture quality

12/24/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time owning an LG product. Satisfied so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for LG 42LN5400 42" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.11" ultra-slim) HDTV
Based on the average of (90) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5