Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LG LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LG LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

The LG 42LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV is a Smart TV which allows you to access premium content providers like Hulu Plus, Netflix and YouTube directly from your TV. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the LG 47" LED HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation99%118 out of 119reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

A very good buy for HDTV

05/20/2013
By ,
Indiana, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 2 main standout points of this HDTV is picture quality and the built-in computer for internet browsing and watching movies, like NetFlix.
The picture you get out-of-box is not the picture you want to use. Stand close to the TV, and work your way through Picture Wizard II, a couple of times. The Wizard will take you through many steps, which adjust all the quality aspects of the picture. When you are done, you will have a near perfect picture. I rate the picture as 92, on a 0-100 scale.
The next aspect of this TV is the "smart" feature. To use the "smart" feature you must provide a connection to the Internet. I can connect using the ethernet (LAN) cable from the modem, or I connect wirelessly using the WiFi signal from my LinkSys router. You are able to connect a mouse and keyboard to the back of the set - my mouse is wired and my keyboard is wireless. Unfortunately, LG provides little documentation, as to how you use the Internet features (or the TV setup). I had to figure that out for myself. LG customer support only provides a small amount of help. I do recommend updating the Internet Browser software (a simple download, eg. you will get FlashPlayer 11), because the original software was no good. Once the TV is connected to the Internet, you can do the usual things. I can buy things on eBay, I can search Google, or I can send eMail (gmail). LG's software is not fully debugged, so you are still better off using your desktop computer to surf the net. The "smart" TV lets you watch NetFlix, Hulu, vudu, You Tube, CinemaNow, MLBTV, Skype, etc. Many of the websites are subscription.
Note, that there are 3 HDMI and 3 USB ports on the computer. There are audio in and audio out jacks. Inputs for DVD and over-the-air (or cable) signals and tape player and gamers are on the back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 2 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

Great TV Overall.

06/21/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almost everything on this tv has met my expectations. The only thing that was disappointing was there is no red white audio (analog) out on this tv only optical out (digital). My external speakers that I bought a few years back only have the analog audio so I had to buy a digital to analog converter ($60) and an optical cable to hook up my speakers. It works most of the time but for some applications the audio is out of sync with the video, a problem that i think can be attributed to the converter.
Most of the newer external speakers you can buy now are upgraded to digital sound so this might not be an issue for some people. The tv speakers are not bad if you dont have an external sound system. Just note that the tv speakers and an external sound system cannot be used at the same time on this tv. You can only use one or the other (but its pretty easy to switch between them).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV
06/10/2013
By ,
Oswego NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the LG. Has a wide viewing angle and the picture is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

overall good buy

12/10/2013
By ,
Fort WOrth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
overall this LCDTV is a good buy. if you want a good SMART TV at a lower cost, this is the TV you should get. It doesn't have all the features a more expensive TV has, but it does allow access into network, and have the features you need.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

Great smart TV but there are some issues.

11/13/2013
By ,
Lyndhurst NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great smart TV if you would like to use internet as a key source of programes. But I was using regular TV without cable and was able to catch all the local TV channels, but this smart TV is unable to catch most of them. If you do not mind about this, this is a great TV! It is easy to install, set up and operate. Picture quality is great too.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

I would tell my friends to buy this TV

11/13/2013
By ,
Easley SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This LG is really a step up from my Sony 40" Brava. I have only just started to use some of the many features
The wyfi was easy to set up . I also bought the Magic remote which is an extra but eliminates all other remotes . The TV setup takes little time [very simple]. I just need more time to use the many apps that are pre loaded. I will buy one for my daughter for Xmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

Nice Smart TV

01/10/2014
By ,
Jasper, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't buy this because of the 3D feature, and only partly for the "Smart" stuff. Turns out it was the same price as the non-Smart non-3D version, so why not. Several reviews complained about the sound being poor, but I have not found that to be true. It sounds as good, if not better, than any other TV I've owned (the only way you're going to get theater quality sound is thorugh a surround sound system). The 3D function actually works quite well. The Smart features are fun too, though the optional remote probably makes web surfing a lot easier. I downloaded a remote app for my Droid and it does make it easier, but searching for YouTube videos is still a bit of a chore. So far, everything we've watched shows good picture quality. The only feature that would be nice would be PIP
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

Wonderful TV!

02/04/2014
By ,
Erie, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this TV to replace a smaller 32" TV. I wasn't initially thinking about purchasing a Smart TV, but the reasonable price (this was a $1000.00 TV for $621.00), the high review ratings and all the great added perks made it hard to beat! The TV was very easy to set up and after I spent a couple of hours playing around with the remote, I learned about all the neat features this TV has. The picture quality is excellent and the sound quality is great too. I wanted to buy a second one for my family room, but it was no longer in stock online. This is the best TV we've ever owned!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

Good smart TV to choose but mine has a defect

03/01/2014
By ,
folsom, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This TV has good features for the price which match with high end smart TV. Below are the pros and cons of this.
Pros:
Good Picture quality
Nice smart app feature and browser is an added advantage.
Apps are good and not hanging in the middle due to the dual core processor which is an added advantage.
Cons:
Bad remote
Poor sound
poor build quality
Overall this is a good TV but mine has a defect which found recently only so planning to return.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Review 10 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

Great TV

12/28/2013
By ,
akron,ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before buying this tv, and while I was not familiar with the LG brand i took a chance. I love the TV the picture is excellent. I have seen some complaints about the sound, but I have no problem with it at all. I dont want the effect of a room sized 500 watt stereo coming out of my tv.I like a bright, intense highly colored picture on a tv and this has all of that. I would recomment this to anyone, i know its not the highest priced model, but for me its about watching tv,I dont want it to be a smartphone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

Very good TV

02/01/2014
By ,
Sault Ste Marie, ON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a Samsung 6350 a couple of months ago and was very happy with this TV. I decided that I would like a smaller version of this TV for our cottage but after some research I decided the try this 47inch LG and I am glad that I did. It matches up to the Samsung but I saved enough to get a sound bar to enhance my TV viewing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

Great tv

02/10/2014
By ,
Arlington, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought a couple months ago, you get a really great tv for the price. I love the internet built into it. Only complaint you have to purchase the magic remote separately, it makes surfing the internet easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

Timely delivery, good quality, fair deal.

12/01/2013
By ,
Southwestern Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very timely delivery, easily installed. Did not have to leave town and got a fair deal without having to deal with the Black Friday zoo. I was able to spend my holiday with family and friends which is more important than the approximate $75.00 savings if I had waited for Black Friday weekend or for that matter left all of them just to go shopping with a bunch of crabby mean people on Thanksgiving.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

very smart tv

01/17/2014
By ,
South Central Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first smart tv, I'm going to learn how to use some of the features that I'm unfamiliar with. The picture quality is great and the sound is better than that of my 55" so overall I'm quite happy with the purchase, btw delivery was fast and free, I like that a lot !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

Great LG TB

02/10/2014
By ,
Whittier CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love everything about it. My second LG TV
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

TV was defective and quality of picture was bad.

10/27/2013
By ,
Columbia, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TV was defective because quality of picture was poor. Picture faded in and out.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 17 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

very pleased with the LG 47" led/HD smart tv

12/27/2013
By ,
fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very pleased with the LG 47" led/HD smart tv;
only suggestion would be: to have a small version or "get started" printed owners guide in the box with the tv so you don't have to go on line to see what the options are before you actually set up the tv
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

I give this TV a excellent rating and price.

12/27/2013
By ,
Moores Hill, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always heard that LG is an excellent brand. I was not disappointed when I took the TV out of the box. I have only had it for 2 days now and I am very pleased with it. It was also an excellent price, I saved $300.00 on the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

Great TV

02/01/2014
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for LG 47LN5700 47" 1080p 120Hz LED (3.17" ultra-slim) Smart HDTV

Great Bedroom TV

12/09/2013
By ,
Fairfax, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy install (replaced older LG mounted on wall). Easy setup and well thought instructions for setup. Excellent picture and with auto-dim feature, really helps in low light while back lighting effortlessly enhances high light situations. Great TV for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next