Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for ELGATO Elgato Game Capture HD

ELGATO Elgato Game Capture HD

The Elgato Video Capturing Device lets you easily record your gameplay from PlayStation or Xbox games and export them to your computer, whether Mac or PC. Flashback recording means that you can even capture gameplay from after the fact, so you're less likely to lose important or exciting images.
Average Customer Rating:
4.543 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%32 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Excellent Passthrough device.

07/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for casual streaming; quality is superb on both ends. One thing to note is that quality is set low by default so some setup is required before you start.
The default video editing software is rather strange in that it will store two copies of any video saved. To completely remove a video, either open the recording log manually or use the software to delete it.
The PS3 cable connection can be used to connect both a PS3 and any other HD console to one input, making it a convenient way to manage consoles and connect multiple consoles to one television.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Movies and More

02/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this to capture old home movies, but wanted more than a basic unit. It worked well once I figured out how to capture the older format of video. The directions are not the best, but with some basic knowledge of video and a little time I was able to get it to capture the video without upconverting.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Best Recorer on the self!

03/25/2014
By ,
Minnoka, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a very easy setup! It comes with "ALMOST" everything you need! I made a montage, I thought it was gonna be laggy! It was nice! If you are new to youtube or recording get this!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Works Ok...

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Elgato Game Capture HD to fill my game recording needs. As this was the highest ranked for the price, naturally I chose it. And for the most part itworked well. The problem I did come across will be the issue other customers will come across inevitably, if they have a basic laptop or PC. The issue is a lag between the tv and the actual recording of the screen. This doesn't make the system inoperable by any means,you just have to wait for the Elgato to catch up to your stopping point before stopping the recording process. Otherwise, it's just an annoying error. Otherwise I recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Simple to use.

07/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent video quality and extremely easy to use software. Excellent capture card especially for a first timer like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Elgato Game Capture HD

works Great

12/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Works great

02/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 14 year old son loves this. Works great and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Easy setup, easy application download.

07/31/2014
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User friendly, great picture quality. Would def. recommend. If I had to give a negative it would be that the video editing that the program does is limited. Still a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Elgato Game Capture HD

stary away

01/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not worth it
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Nice and easy

01/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captured from my Xbox 360 and Xbox One no problems whatsoever. My 12 year old uses it daily to post video to youtube.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Elgato Game Capture HD

A Great Purchase

10/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is such a great product! It comes with everything that you need except for another HDMI Cable.If you could have a great game recorded you just have to plug this in and Bam! Instant YouTube video :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Elgato Game Capture HD

good recording device

04/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
records my gameplay very well really recommend it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Waste of money. Too complicated.

01/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Requires a lot of installment have to have windows 7 or 8 even though
I do and it still don't work. Suks. Waste of money.
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Great Video Capture

02/08/2014
By ,
Ann Arbor, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use every nigh about 3 hours capturing IPTV video then upload youtube, well design and smooth operations.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Elgato Game Capture HD

it is awesome

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I got the Elgato game capture, I can make 1080p vids. I've received 34 views aand 18 likes. BEST 5 WEEK ALLOWANCE EVER!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Elgato Game Capture HD

AMAZING

01/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is definitely needed for any youtubers out there this is definitely the best game capture device I have ever used and it makes awesome gameplay
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Elgato Game Capture HD

I se regular mailing and it was here in 3 days.

01/18/2014
By ,
tampa, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is really enjoying the Elgato. He said it was easy to hook up and easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Great Christmas Gift for Grandson

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
He loves it. It was easy to install and easy for a 12 year old to use. He's used it almost everyday since he got it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Great for capturing play. Lowest price

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Capture card works like a charm. Does everything it is suppose to. Walmart had the lowest price by far .
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Elgato Game Capture HD

The Best on the West

11/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this everyday possible for making Call Of Duty videos on my Xbox for youtube. Great quality 1080p+ videos.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next