Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for ELGATO Elgato Game Capture HD

ELGATO Elgato Game Capture HD

The Elgato Video Capturing Device lets you easily record your gameplay from PlayStation or Xbox games and export them to your computer, whether Mac or PC. Flashback recording means that you can even capture gameplay from after the fact, so you're less likely to lose important or exciting images.
Average Customer Rating:
4.585 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation93%38 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Webcasting Wonder

06/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Elgato Game Capture HD. Unlike most owners, I don't use it to capture games. I use it to broadcast live content (e.g. lectures) on the web. It's a great little device for that. You simply hook up an HD camcorder, blend in some audio from a microphone or other sound source, and you're good to go! You can even record the event you're broadcasting to disc for editing and a later upload to YouTube. Elgato's software is easy to use and it does the job well. This digitizer also works with other software like Open Broadcaster. I tried it, but I like the Elgato software better.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Excellent Passthrough device.

07/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for casual streaming; quality is superb on both ends. One thing to note is that quality is set low by default so some setup is required before you start.
The default video editing software is rather strange in that it will store two copies of any video saved. To completely remove a video, either open the recording log manually or use the software to delete it.
The PS3 cable connection can be used to connect both a PS3 and any other HD console to one input, making it a convenient way to manage consoles and connect multiple consoles to one television.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Best Recorer on the self!

03/25/2014
By ,
Minnoka, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a very easy setup! It comes with "ALMOST" everything you need! I made a montage, I thought it was gonna be laggy! It was nice! If you are new to youtube or recording get this!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Amazing!

05/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Haven't had a problem so far, and it's working well on my Toshiba laptop, that's a dual core 1.90 GHz. I only get a 2 to 5 second lag from the Elgato to my laptop. Not bad at all.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Live Streaming...

03/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This review is not just on the hardware but it's ability to live stream with "custom RTMP stream." The Elgato HD60 works just as well. I use this on our church camera hdmi out and we are now streaming live. :)
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Amazing elgato!

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Second type of capture card I've ever bought, I am NOT disappointed in the slightest. Did a lot of research before purchasing and I would definitely buy it again!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Nice and easy

01/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captured from my Xbox 360 and Xbox One no problems whatsoever. My 12 year old uses it daily to post video to youtube.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Works great

02/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 14 year old son loves this. Works great and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Elgato Game Capture HD

exactly what I was looking for.

05/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Work good my son is using it to record himself playing video games.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Simple to use.

07/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent video quality and extremely easy to use software. Excellent capture card especially for a first timer like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Easy setup, easy application download.

07/31/2014
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User friendly, great picture quality. Would def. recommend. If I had to give a negative it would be that the video editing that the program does is limited. Still a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Great Video Capture

02/08/2014
By ,
Ann Arbor, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use every nigh about 3 hours capturing IPTV video then upload youtube, well design and smooth operations.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Elgato Game Capture HD

good recording device

04/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
records my gameplay very well really recommend it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Elgato Game Capture HD

I se regular mailing and it was here in 3 days.

01/18/2014
By ,
tampa, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is really enjoying the Elgato. He said it was easy to hook up and easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Movies and More

02/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this to capture old home movies, but wanted more than a basic unit. It worked well once I figured out how to capture the older format of video. The directions are not the best, but with some basic knowledge of video and a little time I was able to get it to capture the video without upconverting.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Elgato Game Capture HD

don't look any further

04/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's the best, it will records from any source.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Elgato Game Capture HD

it is awesome

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I got the Elgato game capture, I can make 1080p vids. I've received 34 views aand 18 likes. BEST 5 WEEK ALLOWANCE EVER!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Elgato Game Capture HD

easy setup

12/19/2013
By ,
Howard Beach NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
received it today and so far love it, easy set up just screw the legs on.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Elgato Game Capture HD

The Best on the West

11/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this everyday possible for making Call Of Duty videos on my Xbox for youtube. Great quality 1080p+ videos.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Elgato Game Capture HD

Great gaming recorder

12/29/2013
By ,
Asheboro,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves his new gaming recorder.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next