Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Splat Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

Splat Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

The Splat Complete Hair Color Kit's unique formula gives hair extremely vivid color! It forms a protective shield that prevents the color from washing out.
Average Customer Rating:
3.077 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation62%8 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

It was ALRIGHT

09/11/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this dye to dye my hair tips sort of a deep dark red. The bleach worked very well and i actually kept the blonde tips for a few days before dying it red. After about 15 minutes with the dye in my hair i washed it out and it turned out to be a really pretty color, not the red i wanted but still really pretty. I found some advice online that told me to shower with cold water and to only wash my hair once in 3 days. I followed these guidelines but still after about a week and a have my hair looks sort of orange now and im pretty sure i going to cut it off since i dont want it anymore. I think its a good value if you only want your hair for a month, dont let the bad reviews stop you. Im only 13 and this kit was extremely easy for me to use and if you are interested you can see my hair below after the bleach and after the red ( the red is actually quite a bit darker than the picture)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
That doesn't look like the right color you posted
Posted 06/18/2014
R u sure you didnt use the other red because your hair is like a bright clown red everyone else's online is a dark burgundy red like on the box.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

Great color very bright. Color bleeds and stains.

02/19/2014
By ,
Lawrence, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great if you want bright color. You don't have to use the bleach when you dye. The bottle may seem small but it is very runny so one bottle should be enough for shoulder length hair. The only bad things are that for the first couple days that it gets wet (like in the shower or in the rain) it bleeds color, this means the color you have the first day will not be the color you have later. Also this product will stain any surface it touches. My tub is pink which will come off with bleach (my advice is to wait a couple days until your hair stops bleeding color. ) It will come off of walls with alcohol and baking soda. If you get it on your hands just wash with soap and baking soda.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

Great hair dye for Red!

05/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently have dyed my dark hair to this beautiful crimson red/magenta. I have been dying my hair for years and this has to be my favorite. Its a two step process so if you have dark hair, you have to bleach it for this color to take well and last really long. I had black. Bleaching your hair is a at your own risk, no bleach is non harmful to your hair. I left the bleach on for about 30 min till it was a orange base color instead of super yellow, i did not want a bright bright red. Dont use shampoo just Wash it out really well and let it air dry because your hair will be brittle after the bleach. This is red dye, it stains and it will get everywhere be prepared to clean up and protect anything white. Use vaseline for your skin and gloves for your hands, this is hard to get off. I use a 99cent lemon wood floor soup to remove any stains, trick I learned in art school. After dying wash out again really well without shampoo. Allow the dye to settle for a day ortwo before a good wash. This dye is strong and will leave your scalp stained, just scrub well when shampooing. You must do your hw and be prepared to taken on a second job of mainting red hair, or else it will fade out quickly no matter what dye you use. And red hair will always bleed red dye when washing. Use cold water only, hot fades out any color quickly. I use matrix color care shampoo and a regular conditioner- with a drop of red dye in it every two washes. It adds color to your hair without being harsh. Hope this helps, i wish someone had before I first dyed my hair this color
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

Love this dye!

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dye was easy to use. I just recommend putting a towel around your shoulders and wearing an old shirt. Clip your hair up after your done. This didn't stain my tub after like most people are saying. This dye stayed in for 2 months, the same color it was the day I dyed it. I bleached it to change my hair color. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

Horrible Product

07/13/2014
By ,
Spokane, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this color hoping it was going to be the one that I had been looking for. When I used the bleach kit that came with the it made my hair a horrible orange, easy to fix just went out and bought some good bleaching powder and developer and fixed my hair to a nice shade of blonde. I decided to keep my hair the blonde so my sister said she wanted it. So we bleached her hair (with the expensive bleaching powder and developer) then dyed her hair with the splat color, left it on the amount of time that it said to. We rinsed her hair until it came out clear, however the color died EVERYTHING, our bathtub now looks like a murder happened in it. When the color was coming out it started to burn her skin and that was with very little contact with it. It is not a deep crimson it is a light pink. Never before have I had a problem this bad. I will NEVER buy splat again, if I see anyone looking at the product I will tell them if they used it they will end up more disappointed than happy so hopefully no one will be as disappointed as my sister and I are. The label on the box should warn everyone that it will bleed with any kind of contact with water/sweat. Hand sanitizer is the best thing to have on hand, just touching my sisters hair now dyed anything, hand sanitizer at least cleans it off again.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

Great color but not easy to use.

07/31/2014
By ,
Whitehall, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend for someone who knows how to dye hair. Difficult to do by yourself but color looks very nice when completed.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

Crimson Is Awesome Color

02/17/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I dyed my daughter's hair with Splat Crimson Obsession and it turned out just that, crimson without bleaching and her hair is medium brown naturally. It is not supposed to be a bright red, it is supposed to be dark, so if you are looking for a bright red you need to go with Rasberry. I've tried several different brands on her hair since then and none of them turned out as pretty or lasted as long.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

color fades fast

03/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The color is already fading out of my hair and it has been only a week. Usually when i get red or regular hair dyes it stays in and doesnt fade that fast. Also it stains too easily.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

Great!(:

05/09/2013
By ,
Port Huron, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It definitely did not turn out the red as shown on the box, but it still turned out great. I absolutely love the color it turned out. It didn't turn a bright pink, but the same as a manic panic red i had used before. And it lasts a bit longer :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

Love this color

10/22/2013
By ,
Akron, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was my first experience with Splat and I will say that it is extremely messy and stains quickly. The color however is BEAUTIFUL. I didn't bleach my hair prior to coloring only because my hair was already a very light blonde and the color turned out exactly as on the box. I have washed my hair 3 times since (once a week with sulfate free conditioner only) and the color is lasting nicely.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

Never again!

11/26/2013
By ,
VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been dying my hair for years and years with many different brands/colors and when I saw this beautiful color I was so excited. My hair normally takes to any color I have thrown at it... except this one. My problems are that the dye is BEYOND runny (it was like using pure water), it stains anything it touches (I know hair dye stains but this one got on my wrist and would not come off for well over a week). The only thing it would not stain is my hair as the color came out totally different from the color on the box and was majorly uneven. I will never use this brand again... as a matter of fact I make a face at it on the shelf every time I walk by it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

03/19/2013
By ,
raleigh, nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst hair color ever!!!!!!!!!! I dye my hair bright red with manic panic, adore, and many other brands. I have used splat luscious raspberries many times and had great results, so i saw this and thought hmm maybe this will look cool! cause its a darker red. WRONG. it turned my beautiful bright red hair dark muddy brown! almost black! with a slight red tint. so ugly. i am so disappointed. i have shampooed it with dish soap 7 times and it wont come out. at all. DO NOT BUY YOU UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR BLEACHED HAIR TO TURN BLACK.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Splat Complete Hair Color Kit, Crimson Obsession

Color not as portrayed.

03/22/2013
By ,
Bradenton, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had slightly different results from the previous reviewer although in the end still bad. I used the bleach first as directed for truer color results. My hair turned out a very bright,not all that pretty pink. Was NOT the pretty deep red on the box. Went to my hairdresser to try and pull the pink out, used 40 developer with green and blue shots, after an hour the pink had lightened to cotton candy colored but in the end would not budge. Apparently it is a metallic dye or something. We ended up going over it with pravana vivid since we could not pull the color out. Oh well.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.