Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tornados As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

Tornados As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

Enjoy the hands-free automatic operation of this electric can opener. The unique cutting design leaves no sharp edges, so you don't have to worry about cutting yourself.
Average Customer Rating:
2.324 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation41%15 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

do not buy

01/14/2014
By ,
lewistown, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this product is junk it is way to slow I could open 3 cans with my one touch compared to 1 can with this one and the tornado doesn't automatically stop when the can is done it just keeps going til u turn it off manually. where as the one touch stops once it gets the can cut the whole way around. the tornado does a bad job of cutting the can. eats batteries like crazy and is hard on the rechargeables. my hubby bought this as a replacement of my One touch cordless can opener that I had for years before I just wore it out.. I will be buying a one touch again and trashing this one. don't buy this product it is a waste of your money!!!! only reason I bought this was cause walmart stopped carrying the one touches in our store here. so I will be shopping online for a new can opener.. def is not worth the 20 bucks they charge!!! not even worth 2 bucks!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

Garbage

10/11/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this at my local store when I had to replace my old can opener that worked well for years. I am clearly not the first disappointed customer. Unfortunately, they don't post customer reviews on the store shelves. This thing opened MAYBE 5 cans before it completely stopped working, and even the 5 times it did work it took multiple attempts and was very slow. Admittedly, I didn't feel good about it when I bought it, but I never imagined it would be completely useless!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener
04/15/2013
By ,
Waterloo, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This can opener is very weak. You have to place it correctly or it will not work. It will not stop automatically. It uses twice the batteries(4 AAs) as my old opener. I could not find my old brand which I bought at WalMart witch worked very well, was very fast, and only used 2 AA batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

tornado can opener

11/14/2013
By ,
Omaha,Ne
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is not dependable at all. I am working with a second one within 3 weeks and cannot open
any cans. It did open about 3 and quit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!

12/28/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Made with cheap plastic; Difficult to get the back off to put the batteries in; Did NOT cut open the can only made indentations; Plus, the batteries wore down before it rotated completely around going very SLOWLY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

Met my expectations

06/20/2014
By ,
Detroit, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my wife, who has rheumatoid arthritis. She has used it several times and her only complaint is that it doesn't shut off automatically. it's not fast, however, it does not leave sharp edges. The magnet does not always hold the lid for removal (my wife actually has better success than I have). She had a little difficulty placing the opener onto a can with her first use, with no problems after that. I use rechargeable batteries and had to recharge them twice (not sure how often the opener is used). My wife's hands are weak and she likes the ease of the on/off button. She also says that the opener is a little heavy, however, that is not a complaint. I had bought a different cordless opener first and I had difficulty placing it on a can. She is satisfied with the Tornado opener.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

Save your money

11/15/2013
By ,
Schenectady, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing (misnamed a can opener) is actually a piece of garbage. I've tried it with two different sets of batteries and all it does is grunt. Won't even pierce the can. I'm going to return in and get a corded can opener. At least I know that will work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

Disappointed

07/17/2013
By ,
Richmond, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This can opener looks compact but DOES NOT WORK. I am disabled and have problems opening cans when fighting with arthritis pain. It does not fit on the can the way it should AND it also runs and will not stop running until I take the batteries out. Had another brand and it worked for years. This opener was cheaper than the first one I had but what good is it to be cheaper if it DOES NOT DO WHAT IT WAS PURCHASED TO DO.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

Great item

07/04/2013
By ,
Mass.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the one touch can opener at Walmart and it stopped working and died. It didn't last long at all. One of the associates told me they no longer carry that model. I don't know but wonder if they stopped selling it because of the same problems I experienced. I was disappointed in the quality of the One Touch. I purchased the Tornado And really like the look and feel. I noticed immediately that it is a better quality can opener. Two major benefits of the Tornado. First it cuts through really thick cans with no problem at all - It has a strong motor. Next The Tornado makes a safety cut so there are no sharp edges. This is great and gives me piece of mind with my grandchildren around. It also makes it safe and easy to store or even throw away cans. I would definitely recommend the a Tornado.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
wonderland
tornadocanopener
Posted 01/08/2014
I also bought the can opener at walmart..it opened a can ..but it went so slow that by the time the can was finally opened the content in the can had spoiled..i watched a 90 min movie and took potty breaks..i had totally forgotten what we was making for supper ..needless to say it was very slow...my son had went from jr high to high school...,;;;; unhappy !!!!!!!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

Junk, don't buy

03/28/2014
By ,
Sierra Vista, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
awful in every way, had to return bad unit in less than a month. It spun around the can for minutes, I only got it to quit by removing the battery. They should all go back to China.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener
05/20/2013
By ,
Akron, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sorry, but I do not like this one as well as the 1 I had before. I bought it at the Walmart store ( the other one).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener
07/11/2013
By ,
Mesa AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The battery compartment was not made right so that the batteries could stay in contact but kept falling out when you turned the item over. It was very hard to get it to work at all.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

Looks good but doesn't work

06/19/2013
By ,
Powder Springs, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is a waste of money. It doesn't work. The off button doesn't work so you must figure out how to open the battery compartment to remove batteries to shut it off. The can did not open. And all the little metal pieces popped off with the first use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

Garbage

12/02/2013
By ,
Somewhere in West Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this can opener in hopes of doing away with the corded can opener. Needless to say I will be returning this piece of garbage tomorrow. Took it out of the container and tried to open a can and it just sat there and grunted. Very disappointed!!! DO NOT BUY THIS JUNK.....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

If you can use a regular can opener DO IT!

08/31/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this for my mother with arthritis and carpel tunnel since she has trouble opening cans. It is SOOOOO SLOWWWW even with a brand new set of batteries. And on top of that it takes up to 4 times of going around the can before it finally opens (taking up to 5 minutes). The lid it cuts off is not smooth on the edges but the can is smooth. Plan on starting your meal early or having it later than expected with this can opening. Do not recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

Simply put -- Does NOT WORK

07/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for my elderly mother....thinking it would be easier for her than a traditional can opener.
She claimed it did not work...I was skeptical until I tried it out......and IT DOES NOT WORK.
Will cut an inch or so of a can top, then stop. Cannot reset it to start where left off.
Can lids became DANGEROUS with the jagged edges!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener
08/11/2013
By ,
New Hanover county,NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The can-opener does not work as it is supposed to.Also,replacing batteries is very difficult.In other words,after buying (2),that is two mistakes.Obviously,it is not made in the US.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

Will not open cans very well!

01/07/2014
By ,
va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this as a replacement for my one touch walmart used to sell. This thing is horrible. you have to struggle to get it to go. It takes forever to open one can because even with new batteries it doesn't want to go. It is made of cheap plastic. Total disappointment. I am returning it and finding my another one touch.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener

Don't Waste Your Money or Time

04/29/2014
By ,
Huntsville, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am in complete concurrence with the rest of the reviews. I cannot believe how they got on the shelves! Walmart do yourself a favor and don't order any more they will just be returned! Use the space for the One Touch
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for As Seen on TV Tornado Can Opener
08/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't believe anyone would like this... First. It would not attach correctly to the can. Then when you think it is on correctly, it runs likes it working but doesn't move, not enough power... Used 2 sets of new Duracell batteries and still didn't work. Vvvverrrrryyyy disappointed....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next