Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ace Prepaid Smartphone provides a convenient monthly plan and a versatile Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) device. A four-inch touchscreen allows you ample space to interface with your phone. You can record video and take pictures and share them with friends and on your favorite social networking sites with Straight Talk Android Phone. This Huawei phone will accommodate microSD cards in sizes up to 32GB (sold separately), which can be used with the phone to save your captured images and footage. You can browse the internet on Straight Talk's 3G network, or take advantage of WiFI speeds anywhere there is an available wireless connection. This Straight Talk smartphone is also designed for use with hearing aids.
Average Customer Rating:
3.671 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(304 Reviews) 289
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
70
3 stars
23
2 stars
28
1 star
51
Customer Recommendation71%215 out of 304reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
348 Questions | 660 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
70
3 stars
23
2 stars
28
1 star
51
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

NOT what I expected for the amount I paid for.

09/07/2013
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good phone to begin with but there are a lot of issues I've had with it. VERY limited internal storage space and even with an 4GB SD card I can only download a few applications. Can't move things directly to the SD card so it was very pointless. Doesn't download my photo messages all the time. Notifications will pop up saying that my camera has stopped working and I have to restart my phone to get it to work. Also another notification will come up saying that 2D Home (The main screen when I unlock my phone) has stopped working. The lights on the bottom, (back, home, menu) glitch and don't always work. Occasionally the sound will glitch and I'll be in an application with the sound turned down but it suddenly gets loud. My Play Music doesn't always come up I end up having to go to my file manager and open some music files for all of my music library to show up. Most likely than not I cannot make phone calls. I will dial the number or press call from my recent calls or contacts and it doesn't do anything. I will then exit and start to text the person or try calling again and that's when it will sometimes start to call so I'll end up having two calls at the same time going to the same person. Also it's a heavier phone, I was hoping for a skinnier and lighter phone. I did get the 2-year contract and I would DEFINITELY recommend paying the extra money for that if you decide to get this phone just with the issues I've had, I do plan to return it and I am going to try a different phone and I'd be very upset if I didn't get my money back for a phone with such problems.
The only pros I found with this phone was nice speakers, and 5MP camera, and as a 17-year-old those are very nice to have, I know that the LG Optimus Showtime has a front-facing camera as well as a 5MP camera so I am considering buying that.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not good for extended use; Horrible GPS

06/17/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first started using this phone I was impressed with it. It was faster than my other phone and had a far greater capacity. Within a few months I began to notice it slowing down and starting to lock up repeatedly. I've now had it for about a year and it is pretty much worthless. I have to restart the phone almost daily while using it due to it locking up when using apps. This includes the built in browser and email. I have factory reset the phone twice and this has not helped. I think the software/hardware are just no built to last. My friend still has the same phone as I used to have - an LG from 4 years ago - and I am amazed every time I use it. I am so used to the poor performance and very very slow functioning of this phone that I forget how a phone should work. Also, this phone has a HORRIBLE GPS. Even living in Indianapolis and traveling on Interstates, it constantly looses its GPS signal or says that I am miles away from where I am. I no longer even try to use the GPS - I map it once and then manually move the map as it serves to only frustrate and confuse me when it gets so lost. I would NOT recommend this phone to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

straight talk is great

10/30/2013
By ,
Cherokee, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Straight talk is the must awesome phone service providers in this area. But my huawei phone is a piece of trash. It had 3 gigs of memory I put an 8 gig memory card in it. And ask I have is low storage messages spots that don't work right it freezes. Now if it was just my phone I would say it's defective. But I bought 3 of them at the same time and every one of them is going in the trash as soon as we can afford different phone. I am really disappointed in these phones. I have installed so cleaners I have installed every thing I can think of to help with the low storage thing. Even tried an upgrade. My phone had 1.67 gigs of memory left my memory card had 5.4 left. Really these phones are trash....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone
09/24/2013
By ,
Anderson, In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this phone after reading reviews could not get wifi with it at all, connection constantly timed out. After talking to tech support it was determined I needed to replace phone. After receiving the 2nd phone I encountered the exact same issues. After again talking with tech support for an extend amount of time it was determined that this model does not work in my area. It should be noted that Verizon wireless is normally very good in this area. And I have used it before with no problems
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT BUY....

10/08/2013
By ,
Valdosta GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of them. One for myself and one for my wife. I cannot explain the frustration we experienced with these phones. We had many of the same problems as all the other one star ratings. These phones don't even deserve one star. After only a month I purchased two iPhone 5's to replace these horrible phones. Now I'm really loving the straight talk service. Please pick another phone. I recommend the iPhone but if that too pricey do your homework..
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

DO not recommend

01/19/2014
By ,
Gainesville, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My boyfriend and I both got this phone and let me tell you its not worth the money. They freeze up , most the apps dont work correctly. Its slow and its lags going from one thing to another. Sometimes I will attempt to call someone and it takes a few minutes for it to go through. Its just seriously the worst phone ive ever had.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

no internal memory

04/19/2014
By ,
nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very bad phone going to trade for another phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Huawei Ascend did not work at my house.

09/01/2013
By ,
Cleveland GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone did not work at my house, even with great wifi reception. Returned to local Walmart with no problems, so that part was good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

internal memory is worthless.

07/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is no led light for the camera, so no flash at all. The internal memory isn't even a gig, so it's completely worthless. You literally could not download all the apps that come as default on the phone, the kind you cant actually delete off the phone, without the phones internal memory being over full. So, god forbid you try to download some apps you actually want. goodluck with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FL
No Problem With Internal Memory Here
Posted 07/23/2013
There is plenty of internal memory if you manage your apps. First, you can move to the SD card many of the apps you download and install. Simply to to Settings, Apps, and go through your list of apps and move to the SD card those you can. Second, you can remove some of the default apps by "Uninstalling Updates" from the default apps you want to remove, such as Google Movies app. It removes the updates and removes memory that was dedicated to the app. So you can free up a lot of memory by doing both of these. If you want to install hundreds of apps then buy a $300+ phone. I don't need that many apps and am very satisfied with this phone - it's the best Straight Talk has to offer. Love my phone!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Buyers Beaware !!!

08/19/2013
By ,
virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm hoping I save someone else a few dollars. This phone is a piece of junk. There is not a day that goes by that I do not want to throw it on the ground and roll over it 10 times. I have been a smart phone user for years. To help with budget restraints I decided to switch to Straight Talk. The service is good but please please choose another phone. It take about 40 mins to send pic messages. It takes anywhere from 2 to 5 mins to place a call. Apps dont work. Low storage. Will not stay on the internet, blinks back to home page. It's only good for texting once the texting screen stops blinking. Choose another phone. My worse phone purchase ever!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not worth it

10/25/2013
By ,
Valdosta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this phone for a little over three months and had nothing but problems with it!!
I refuse to even activate it for my son. The entire phone crashed at least once a week there is NO tech support no one could answer any of my questions.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

FRUSTRATED!!

04/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has been NOTHING but frustration since I bought it!! IF I had the money, I'd SMASH it into a million pieces!! One day I was sending my daughter a text message...and the message went out to EVERYONE in my phonebook!! NOT GOOD!! The message was private!! I've had people I don't know, call me and ask WHY?? I keep calling and hanging up on them??? It calls numbers of people on its own... HOW does it do that?? I also can get a text message from someone, says "download", I click on it....it then says "downloading"...then it tells me that it can't download it. I then text the person that sent it, asking what they sent, only to be told they didn't SEND me anything!! So, where?? did the text come from??? It also kicks me off an app ALL of the time!! I can be on Facebook and all of a sudden it takes me back to the app page, or getting an email it returns to app page...I'm SO SORRY I bought this phone!! I don't know how people aren't having issues with it!! I've tried several times to have ST people help me... WHAT A JOKE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Frustrated!!!!!!!!

11/05/2013
By ,
Kirtland, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I live in Kirtland NM and was told this phone runs off of Verizon towers and would be the best phone for my area. It has good reception and overall no complaints with the service EXCEPT.... While using the web it will kick you back to the home screen for no apparent reason.... many times in just a few minutes. Frustrating!! Also, when I receive a text msg and I try to reply the phone will just kick me out and return to the home screen! Love the price I pay for the service but beginning to wonder if it is even worth it, anymore! Maybe I just have a horrible phone but in my experience I don not recommend this phone as it has caused me A LOT of headaches!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rockaway, NJ
Install Google Chrome
Posted 01/15/2014
I had a similar experience with the default browser spontaneously closing. I installed the Google Chrome browser and have been much happier with it. It loads almost every webpage I've tried and allows me to even view youtube and netflix videos so I don't need to load the associated apps. I have heard that Firefox works even better, but I've never tried it because Chrome works well. I have occasionally had problems with text messaging, but for the most part texting works fine and is reliable. I'm actually amazed with what I can do with a handheld computer and phone that I bought new for only $130.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Basic smart phone

12/05/2013
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone works well until you load a few apps then it freezes and gets slow. Internal memory and RAM not sufficient. Constant warnings of low storage even with a 32 gig sd card installed. Not all apps will run or transfer to the SD card. Beware!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Would not recommend

09/01/2013
By ,
Vincennes, in
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone in July of 2013 and as of August 2013, I can only use speaker phone for phone calls because no one can hear me. I can hear them but when I speak into the phone, it sounds very "muffled". I did some research and it turns out this is a common defect with this phone (that is how I learned that you could actually use speaker phone and people would be able to hear you), so order at your own risk. It did work well for about 1-2 months, just long enough for me to not be able to return it. If you do buy it, be sure to get some kind of insurance on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Posted 09/07/2013
Had the same problem brought it at walmart on august 1, 2013 and on september 2, 2013 the speaker went out and only could use speaker phone, couldn't take it back to walmart because it been over 15 days. like the phone besides that.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

not worth your time

09/10/2013
By ,
moline il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone because it was a decent price. this phone also has 5 mag pics camera. However, this is the worst phone Ive ever had. The battery wont stay charged, and gets hot after 15 mins and says warning turn off phone. The internet is slow, along with everything the phone does. you will have no service even though it says it will work in your zip code. taking this phone back to the store where it belongs.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not what I expected

09/10/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my first time going with a Straighttalk phone. I don't think that I would ever buy a phone from the company again if I could. The first of these phones broke after only having it for three days. First time I dropped it and the screen shatters. Definitely not a phone for anyone who might happen to drop anything in their lives. Thank goodness I thought ahead and bought a warranty. Now on to my second phone and the apps quit working, the camera barely works on a good day, and furthermore the internet will randomly quit. These problems make the phone a pain to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Phone Great-Straight Talk Not

09/22/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband loves the phone but HATES Straight Talks service. No service at all in some areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Nothing works quickly and NO Memory!!

01/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had it for a few weeks, but thinking of returning it. I just don't want the hassle of that AGAIN. The phone is VERY slow and takes a lot of time to switch from one app to the next (ie: going from Pandora to Facebook to texting...) When the screens are in transition, the go black and and stay like that for a good 45 seconds to a minute on average... Making a quick, emergency phone call is not a possibility I guess. There is also very little storage on this phone. I have about 130 pictures, 1 -2 minute video, and 4 apps (Bible, Facebook, Pandora, and Weather Channel) and I'm at about 90% capacity. I've saved 2 of the apps to my SD card, but some apps; such as Facebook; you can only save to your phone. The update of FB wouldn't even download because there was no more room for it. I would say that about 80% of the time I am using my Swype keyboard it doesn't work and the buttons completely freeze up. I have looked like an idiot more times than not on some of my Facebook statuses because the keyboard typed something else...kind of like an auto correct gone crazy. Would NOT recommend this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Was great for a year

08/16/2014
By ,
Williamsport, Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this phone for a year and it started acting up. At first the sound went. People would call and I couldn't hear if someone was talking in the room. Then the ringtone did the same thing. Finally it started sending all my calls to voice mail and dialing people on my phone list while I was conversing with other people making it a conference call.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 290 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next