Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ace Prepaid Smartphone provides a convenient monthly plan and a versatile Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) device. A four-inch touchscreen allows you ample space to interface with your phone. You can record video and take pictures and share them with friends and on your favorite social networking sites with Straight Talk Android Phone. This Huawei phone will accommodate microSD cards in sizes up to 32GB (sold separately), which can be used with the phone to save your captured images and footage. You can browse the internet on Straight Talk's 3G network, or take advantage of WiFI speeds anywhere there is an available wireless connection. This Straight Talk smartphone is also designed for use with hearing aids.
Average Customer Rating:
3.599 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(332 Reviews) 317
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
141
4 stars
72
3 stars
25
2 stars
33
1 star
61
Customer Recommendation68%227 out of 332reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
368 Questions | 687 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
141
4 stars
72
3 stars
25
2 stars
33
1 star
61
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

no internal memory

04/19/2014
By ,
nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very bad phone going to trade for another phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Hate this phone!

06/25/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for a while now, and it just keeps getting worse as time goes on. 90% of the time it will not allow me to call anyone. It will just show a message saying its stopped working and I can either wait or close it out. Most definitely not useful if there were an emergency. It has poor internal memory, and even though I have a good sized memory card in it, most of apps won't go onto the memory card or something because it constantly tells me I do not have enough room even though I have most of the memory card empty. Having to restart the phone constantly by either just turning it off or pulling out the battery helps for a short time but within a day its back to acting up, even after doing a factory restart and wiping the whole thing. Will be buying a different phone soon, I've put up with it for too long....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Terrible product

07/29/2014
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I had done more research before buying this phone.
I had installed 7 or 8 apps (no games) when the phone starts telling me I am low on space. Have uninstalled 3 of them and still low on space. All the space is being used by factory installed apps (most of which I don't use). You can not uninstall these apps nor can you stop them from being updated (according to Straight Talk Customer Service).
I'm ready to go back to my other smart phone!
If you are looking for a phone that you can install the apps you want, this is not the phone for you.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

One of the worst phones I've owned

09/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really don't have anything good to say about the phone except maybe that at least it turns on...sometimes.
- When you click the on button to wake your phone up it sometimes takes up to 4 to 5 times to get the actual screen itself to light up
-the messaging crashes 3/5 of the times that I use it. At least 5 to 6 times a day it crashes.
-Even though I have my settings set to vibrate when I get a text it more often than not does not go off to let me know I have a text and the little message symbol doesn't appear at the top like it should.
-The memory usage is just horrible, and if you get an SD card, good luck getting it to work because even though I have a 16 gb sd card along with the 8gb internal memory, it still says I am too low on space even though I go in the settings to check my storage space and it says I have well over 4 gigs to use.
-sending/receiving pictures well...yeah if you get this phone just assume that's not going to happen because I haven't been able to download a picture once and I've had this phone for about 6 months.
-Apps and internet, just no. Apps work HORRIBLY in the phone, every single one of my apps crashes every other time I use it and I know it's the phone itself seeing as other phones do not have the same issue. The internet, I'll be in the middle of searching something and it'll just kick me out.
Honestly, DON'T DON'T DON'T DON'T i repeat DON'T buy this phone. It's so NOT worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

DO not recommend

01/19/2014
By ,
Gainesville, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My boyfriend and I both got this phone and let me tell you its not worth the money. They freeze up , most the apps dont work correctly. Its slow and its lags going from one thing to another. Sometimes I will attempt to call someone and it takes a few minutes for it to go through. Its just seriously the worst phone ive ever had.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not the best phone

12/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My phone was great two months later everything would close, I'd have to re start my phone or force close EVERYTHING. it's been over a year and I still have it but I'm getting a new one because now I can't even text or even look at text. I wouldn't get this phone if you're looking for long term phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Phone Great-Straight Talk Not

09/22/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband loves the phone but HATES Straight Talks service. No service at all in some areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT BUY....

10/08/2013
By ,
Valdosta GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of them. One for myself and one for my wife. I cannot explain the frustration we experienced with these phones. We had many of the same problems as all the other one star ratings. These phones don't even deserve one star. After only a month I purchased two iPhone 5's to replace these horrible phones. Now I'm really loving the straight talk service. Please pick another phone. I recommend the iPhone but if that too pricey do your homework..
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Huawei Ascend did not work at my house.

09/01/2013
By ,
Cleveland GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone did not work at my house, even with great wifi reception. Returned to local Walmart with no problems, so that part was good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Buyers Beaware !!!

08/19/2013
By ,
virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm hoping I save someone else a few dollars. This phone is a piece of junk. There is not a day that goes by that I do not want to throw it on the ground and roll over it 10 times. I have been a smart phone user for years. To help with budget restraints I decided to switch to Straight Talk. The service is good but please please choose another phone. It take about 40 mins to send pic messages. It takes anywhere from 2 to 5 mins to place a call. Apps dont work. Low storage. Will not stay on the internet, blinks back to home page. It's only good for texting once the texting screen stops blinking. Choose another phone. My worse phone purchase ever!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Would not recommend

09/01/2013
By ,
Vincennes, in
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone in July of 2013 and as of August 2013, I can only use speaker phone for phone calls because no one can hear me. I can hear them but when I speak into the phone, it sounds very "muffled". I did some research and it turns out this is a common defect with this phone (that is how I learned that you could actually use speaker phone and people would be able to hear you), so order at your own risk. It did work well for about 1-2 months, just long enough for me to not be able to return it. If you do buy it, be sure to get some kind of insurance on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Posted 09/07/2013
Had the same problem brought it at walmart on august 1, 2013 and on september 2, 2013 the speaker went out and only could use speaker phone, couldn't take it back to walmart because it been over 15 days. like the phone besides that.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

NOT ENOUGH MEMORY!!

01/03/2014
By ,
tri cities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not recommend this phone the phone only has 287 mb of system ram and only 630 mb of internal storage memory. Apps crash and close and phone freezes constantly this phone is not worth the money the phone does not have enough memory to function correctly. Straight talk has no support and extremely poor customer service. I've returned the phone After 2 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not so great phone

01/20/2014
By ,
Adrian, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
screen freeze, apps not loading or taking to long to load and the people I call cant hear me sometimes!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

not enough internal memory

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't transfer apps to the SD card just a few apps and the internal memory is used up sending back for a refund
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

HATE this phone

05/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You get what you pay for. I have had this phone 2 months and hate it. I bought a 16 GB card for it for my apps, it still freezes up, says low on memory, and acts like it is possessed half of the time. It will randomly dial people when I am not even holding it. When I try to call someone and click their name it has to think for a while before it will dial them. As soon as I save the money I am going with a better phone.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

slow no matter what

11/24/2013
By ,
georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this phone will not download my mms messages nor could a tech help me resolve the issue. even with wifi on sitting next to my wireless router it will not download them and it is also very slow. very disappointed. camera does not take good pictures at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Don't waste your time and money!!

02/02/2014
By ,
Prescott Valley, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't even know where to begin with this phone... I am SO disappointed in this phone I'm honestly tempted to beat it with a baseball bat when I can finally afford to get a different one. I'll try to summarize the main part of my issues with this phone.
-NO MEMORY, even with me saving all my programs to the SD Card I have it constantly gives me error messages saying there's no space. And honestly I have Candy Crush, Facebook and maybe 8 other necessity apps like my banking app.
-I used to use my past phones as music players by plugging in the AUX cable in my car, either listening to saved music or iHeartRadio.. it never gets through one song on iHeartRadio without buffering unless I'm connected to WiFi and it randomly completely shuts the music off that I have saved on my phone.
-Surfing the internet: Forget even trying, I can get through maybe a paragraph of reading something and it completely backs out of Browser and goes to my home screen, then I have to go back and find what I was reading all over again. Downloading Google Chrome helped a tiny bit with this issue, however due to the very minimal memory space and Chrome taking up A LOT of memory this was a temporary fix to a long term problem.
-I will often miss calls and texts for no reason, whether I'm in WiFi areas or not. People will send me texts and I either won't receive them at all or I will receive them hours later.
-When not connected to WiFi the phone almost never receives 3G, it always lags all the way down to 1X or even no signal whatsoever.
Honestly, I have many more complaints but I just don't have the time to list them all. Save yourself and avoid this phone completely!!!!
I don't know where the other reviewers got their phones from because even the guy who works at Walmart who helped me out with this one warned me that this is a "Monday Phone", which I'm not even sure what he meant but that but I thought the odds would be in my favor... worst phone I have ever had!!!!!! The Galaxy Proclaim is WAY cheaper and when I had it, I never had one problem with it at all!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Freezes often

03/03/2014
By ,
Sioux City IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had the phone for 5 days. when you click to call someone it freezes then calls the person like 10 times. Also I've had people call me and they can't hear me. A lot of the time I pull down the notification menu and there is nothing there. Very disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Was great for a year

08/16/2014
By ,
Williamsport, Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this phone for a year and it started acting up. At first the sound went. People would call and I couldn't hear if someone was talking in the room. Then the ringtone did the same thing. Finally it started sending all my calls to voice mail and dialing people on my phone list while I was conversing with other people making it a conference call.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not what I wanted at all

01/13/2015
By ,
Aberdeen, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this phone for almost a year now. My screen is all distorted, it drops calls randomly when I am in the best service areas, but worst of all... the internal memory is garbage! So low. So - it's a great phone if you need it strictly for making calls and checking your FaceBook. Anything else and you will deal with constant freezing of the screen, app crashing, the works. Screen freezing even while dialing phone numbers! Just ridiculous.
I love the way it feels while holding it, it is pretty sleek. And the camera is pretty good as long as you get an SD card to hold the pictures you take. Other than those two things, the phone was awful. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone I know.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 318 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next