Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ace Prepaid Smartphone provides a convenient monthly plan and a versatile Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) device. A four-inch touchscreen allows you ample space to interface with your phone. You can record video and take pictures and share them with friends and on your favorite social networking sites with Straight Talk Android Phone. This Huawei phone will accommodate microSD cards in sizes up to 32GB (sold separately), which can be used with the phone to save your captured images and footage. You can browse the internet on Straight Talk's 3G network, or take advantage of WiFI speeds anywhere there is an available wireless connection. This Straight Talk smartphone is also designed for use with hearing aids.
Average Customer Rating:
3.725 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(295 Reviews) 280
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
70
3 stars
21
2 stars
24
1 star
48
Customer Recommendation73%214 out of 295reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
346 Questions | 656 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
70
3 stars
21
2 stars
24
1 star
48
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

no internal memory

04/19/2014
By ,
nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very bad phone going to trade for another phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Huawei ascend

05/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my 1st "smart-phone". It is a great price, but VERY frustrating. There are NO instructions on how to use the phone, only a booklet of "tips". After 3 weeks of owning the phone I'm starting to figure a few things out. The most frustrating thing is going online. I will be on one a forum reading through threads and all of a sudden the browser just closes...not just occasionally, but about every 2-3 minutes. I have tried Google Chrome and I can't get it to work...it doesn't close like the "browser" does, but I can't get Chrome to work either. Most of the time I am running off our Wi-Fi at home. It doesn't matter if I'm on the Wi-Fi or running off of the phone data...the browser closes all the time. It's so frustrating I'm ready throw the phone against the wall. Guess it's time to call the company...doubt it will help, but you never know.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

straight talk is great

10/30/2013
By ,
Cherokee, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Straight talk is the must awesome phone service providers in this area. But my huawei phone is a piece of trash. It had 3 gigs of memory I put an 8 gig memory card in it. And ask I have is low storage messages spots that don't work right it freezes. Now if it was just my phone I would say it's defective. But I bought 3 of them at the same time and every one of them is going in the trash as soon as we can afford different phone. I am really disappointed in these phones. I have installed so cleaners I have installed every thing I can think of to help with the low storage thing. Even tried an upgrade. My phone had 1.67 gigs of memory left my memory card had 5.4 left. Really these phones are trash....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Huawei Ascend did not work at my house.

09/01/2013
By ,
Cleveland GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone did not work at my house, even with great wifi reception. Returned to local Walmart with no problems, so that part was good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

NOT what I expected for the amount I paid for.

09/07/2013
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good phone to begin with but there are a lot of issues I've had with it. VERY limited internal storage space and even with an 4GB SD card I can only download a few applications. Can't move things directly to the SD card so it was very pointless. Doesn't download my photo messages all the time. Notifications will pop up saying that my camera has stopped working and I have to restart my phone to get it to work. Also another notification will come up saying that 2D Home (The main screen when I unlock my phone) has stopped working. The lights on the bottom, (back, home, menu) glitch and don't always work. Occasionally the sound will glitch and I'll be in an application with the sound turned down but it suddenly gets loud. My Play Music doesn't always come up I end up having to go to my file manager and open some music files for all of my music library to show up. Most likely than not I cannot make phone calls. I will dial the number or press call from my recent calls or contacts and it doesn't do anything. I will then exit and start to text the person or try calling again and that's when it will sometimes start to call so I'll end up having two calls at the same time going to the same person. Also it's a heavier phone, I was hoping for a skinnier and lighter phone. I did get the 2-year contract and I would DEFINITELY recommend paying the extra money for that if you decide to get this phone just with the issues I've had, I do plan to return it and I am going to try a different phone and I'd be very upset if I didn't get my money back for a phone with such problems.
The only pros I found with this phone was nice speakers, and 5MP camera, and as a 17-year-old those are very nice to have, I know that the LG Optimus Showtime has a front-facing camera as well as a 5MP camera so I am considering buying that.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

garbage

08/17/2013
By ,
cheyenne, wy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
junk is the nicest word I can used for this paper weight. replaced it once already thinking I may have just gotten a bad one but the second one is just as bad. the phone constantly changes my settings, lags horribly, have to restart multiple times a day and after a couple of weeks of use the external speaker blew. stay far far away from this garbage. spend a little extra for a better phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT BUY....

10/08/2013
By ,
Valdosta GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of them. One for myself and one for my wife. I cannot explain the frustration we experienced with these phones. We had many of the same problems as all the other one star ratings. These phones don't even deserve one star. After only a month I purchased two iPhone 5's to replace these horrible phones. Now I'm really loving the straight talk service. Please pick another phone. I recommend the iPhone but if that too pricey do your homework..
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Piece Of Junk

08/15/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes for this Straight Talk phone. Since it supposedly uses the Verizon towers, I thought the network would be great. Definitely not the case. The net is so slow to load. Sometimes, you have to press a link multiple times to get the page to load. The phone often closes the browser for no apparent reason while you are reading a webpage. Switching to WiFi basically doesn't help one bit. Sometimes, switching to WiFi makes it even slower. Scrolling freezes up multiple times or just sits there. Downloading more than a few apps clogs up the RAM, which is barely enough room for more than 3 or 4 apps. The microSD card doesn't allow you to move programs to it so it's basically useless.
I don't know what these other reviewers are getting out of this phone. I think the phone is horrible and after 2 weeks, I'm about to return it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not worth it

10/25/2013
By ,
Valdosta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this phone for a little over three months and had nothing but problems with it!!
I refuse to even activate it for my son. The entire phone crashed at least once a week there is NO tech support no one could answer any of my questions.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Would not recommend

09/01/2013
By ,
Vincennes, in
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone in July of 2013 and as of August 2013, I can only use speaker phone for phone calls because no one can hear me. I can hear them but when I speak into the phone, it sounds very "muffled". I did some research and it turns out this is a common defect with this phone (that is how I learned that you could actually use speaker phone and people would be able to hear you), so order at your own risk. It did work well for about 1-2 months, just long enough for me to not be able to return it. If you do buy it, be sure to get some kind of insurance on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Posted 09/07/2013
Had the same problem brought it at walmart on august 1, 2013 and on september 2, 2013 the speaker went out and only could use speaker phone, couldn't take it back to walmart because it been over 15 days. like the phone besides that.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Save your receipt

02/01/2014
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not sure if I got a lemon but the phone was so glitchy that it went back to the store. To answer a call (with all apps closed) I had to do face recognition, enter my pin and close 3 apps that ALWAYS opened. For ever incoming call. I put in a 16G SD card, even though there was plenty of space and everything was moved over to SD card, phone said it was low on memory and was completely frozen. You can have a total of 13 apps, including the preinstalled ones.
Absolutely NOT worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

DO not recommend

01/19/2014
By ,
Gainesville, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My boyfriend and I both got this phone and let me tell you its not worth the money. They freeze up , most the apps dont work correctly. Its slow and its lags going from one thing to another. Sometimes I will attempt to call someone and it takes a few minutes for it to go through. Its just seriously the worst phone ive ever had.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not good for extended use; Horrible GPS

06/17/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first started using this phone I was impressed with it. It was faster than my other phone and had a far greater capacity. Within a few months I began to notice it slowing down and starting to lock up repeatedly. I've now had it for about a year and it is pretty much worthless. I have to restart the phone almost daily while using it due to it locking up when using apps. This includes the built in browser and email. I have factory reset the phone twice and this has not helped. I think the software/hardware are just no built to last. My friend still has the same phone as I used to have - an LG from 4 years ago - and I am amazed every time I use it. I am so used to the poor performance and very very slow functioning of this phone that I forget how a phone should work. Also, this phone has a HORRIBLE GPS. Even living in Indianapolis and traveling on Interstates, it constantly looses its GPS signal or says that I am miles away from where I am. I no longer even try to use the GPS - I map it once and then manually move the map as it serves to only frustrate and confuse me when it gets so lost. I would NOT recommend this phone to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

internal memory is worthless.

07/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is no led light for the camera, so no flash at all. The internal memory isn't even a gig, so it's completely worthless. You literally could not download all the apps that come as default on the phone, the kind you cant actually delete off the phone, without the phones internal memory being over full. So, god forbid you try to download some apps you actually want. goodluck with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FL
No Problem With Internal Memory Here
Posted 07/23/2013
There is plenty of internal memory if you manage your apps. First, you can move to the SD card many of the apps you download and install. Simply to to Settings, Apps, and go through your list of apps and move to the SD card those you can. Second, you can remove some of the default apps by "Uninstalling Updates" from the default apps you want to remove, such as Google Movies app. It removes the updates and removes memory that was dedicated to the app. So you can free up a lot of memory by doing both of these. If you want to install hundreds of apps then buy a $300+ phone. I don't need that many apps and am very satisfied with this phone - it's the best Straight Talk has to offer. Love my phone!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Worst phone I have ever owned!

04/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had nothing but problems with this phone from the start. First, it is a hit or miss if I can send MMS messages. Wifi has to be off and I have to be very patient. It is near impossible to receive MMS messages from ANYONE. Wifi or not. I have called customer service and they were the worst help. There is no known solution to this issue and many people complain. I have asked about my APN, battery, memory and apparently nothing is the cause. That is another thing, the memory is horrible. There is never enough space on the phone for apps. I deleted all 600 songs off my phone and I can still only have 5 apps max. Picture quality is mediocre, the sound is poor, screen display is alright, the phone is ridiculously slow and works best on Wifi, and my phone reset automatically at least 5 times a day. Battery is getting worse and worse, the phone does not save my ringtones when I customize them, apps and music force close constantly, and the speaker on the phone calls drop out and the other person cannot hear me. I have had this phone barely a year and it has been a complete waste of money. Research reviews from others and read what they have to say if this does not make you weary. I didn't listen and purchased the phone anyways. Too late to return it by the time customer service responded to me. AVOID COMPLETELY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

One of the worst phones I have had

09/16/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a Samsung Proclaim before this one. That was a better phone. I thought with a newer OS this phone would be better. Nope! It bounces me out of messaging, freezes constantly. apps shut down all the time, lags....it is just a pain in the butt whenever I am using it. I have no idea how it has gotten so many positive reviews. I'm getting a different phone as soon as I can afford to. Do not buy this awful phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Internet unreliable on this phone

10/02/2013
By ,
Gainesville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for two weeks. Phone calls on the Verizon network work fine. One of the main benefits of a smartphone is the ability to access the internet. I found that internet pages load slowly. The phone has been cutting off from the internet and going to the home screen for every single webpage that I visit. If you are a heavy internet user then I would not recommend this phone. I'm perplexed why this phone received so many great reviews; could be possible that I got one of the defective phones?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
same problem
Posted 10/07/2013
I am also experiencing the same problem with internet on this phone. I have the Firefox app installed and it constantly takes me back to the home screen. Not as frequently as Conviviality but still it is a bit aggravating when you need to use it. Does anybody have a solution for this problem yet?? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Don't waste your time and money!!

02/02/2014
By ,
Prescott Valley, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't even know where to begin with this phone... I am SO disappointed in this phone I'm honestly tempted to beat it with a baseball bat when I can finally afford to get a different one. I'll try to summarize the main part of my issues with this phone.
-NO MEMORY, even with me saving all my programs to the SD Card I have it constantly gives me error messages saying there's no space. And honestly I have Candy Crush, Facebook and maybe 8 other necessity apps like my banking app.
-I used to use my past phones as music players by plugging in the AUX cable in my car, either listening to saved music or iHeartRadio.. it never gets through one song on iHeartRadio without buffering unless I'm connected to WiFi and it randomly completely shuts the music off that I have saved on my phone.
-Surfing the internet: Forget even trying, I can get through maybe a paragraph of reading something and it completely backs out of Browser and goes to my home screen, then I have to go back and find what I was reading all over again. Downloading Google Chrome helped a tiny bit with this issue, however due to the very minimal memory space and Chrome taking up A LOT of memory this was a temporary fix to a long term problem.
-I will often miss calls and texts for no reason, whether I'm in WiFi areas or not. People will send me texts and I either won't receive them at all or I will receive them hours later.
-When not connected to WiFi the phone almost never receives 3G, it always lags all the way down to 1X or even no signal whatsoever.
Honestly, I have many more complaints but I just don't have the time to list them all. Save yourself and avoid this phone completely!!!!
I don't know where the other reviewers got their phones from because even the guy who works at Walmart who helped me out with this one warned me that this is a "Monday Phone", which I'm not even sure what he meant but that but I thought the odds would be in my favor... worst phone I have ever had!!!!!! The Galaxy Proclaim is WAY cheaper and when I had it, I never had one problem with it at all!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Frustrated!!!!!!!!

11/05/2013
By ,
Kirtland, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I live in Kirtland NM and was told this phone runs off of Verizon towers and would be the best phone for my area. It has good reception and overall no complaints with the service EXCEPT.... While using the web it will kick you back to the home screen for no apparent reason.... many times in just a few minutes. Frustrating!! Also, when I receive a text msg and I try to reply the phone will just kick me out and return to the home screen! Love the price I pay for the service but beginning to wonder if it is even worth it, anymore! Maybe I just have a horrible phone but in my experience I don not recommend this phone as it has caused me A LOT of headaches!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rockaway, NJ
Install Google Chrome
Posted 01/15/2014
I had a similar experience with the default browser spontaneously closing. I installed the Google Chrome browser and have been much happier with it. It loads almost every webpage I've tried and allows me to even view youtube and netflix videos so I don't need to load the associated apps. I have heard that Firefox works even better, but I've never tried it because Chrome works well. I have occasionally had problems with text messaging, but for the most part texting works fine and is reliable. I'm actually amazed with what I can do with a handheld computer and phone that I bought new for only $130.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

FRUSTRATED!!

04/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has been NOTHING but frustration since I bought it!! IF I had the money, I'd SMASH it into a million pieces!! One day I was sending my daughter a text message...and the message went out to EVERYONE in my phonebook!! NOT GOOD!! The message was private!! I've had people I don't know, call me and ask WHY?? I keep calling and hanging up on them??? It calls numbers of people on its own... HOW does it do that?? I also can get a text message from someone, says "download", I click on it....it then says "downloading"...then it tells me that it can't download it. I then text the person that sent it, asking what they sent, only to be told they didn't SEND me anything!! So, where?? did the text come from??? It also kicks me off an app ALL of the time!! I can be on Facebook and all of a sudden it takes me back to the app page, or getting an email it returns to app page...I'm SO SORRY I bought this phone!! I don't know how people aren't having issues with it!! I've tried several times to have ST people help me... WHAT A JOKE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 281 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next