Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ace Prepaid Smartphone provides a convenient monthly plan and a versatile Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) device. A four-inch touchscreen allows you ample space to interface with your phone. You can record video and take pictures and share them with friends and on your favorite social networking sites with Straight Talk Android Phone. This Huawei phone will accommodate microSD cards in sizes up to 32GB (sold separately), which can be used with the phone to save your captured images and footage. You can browse the internet on Straight Talk's 3G network, or take advantage of WiFI speeds anywhere there is an available wireless connection. This Straight Talk smartphone is also designed for use with hearing aids.
Average Customer Rating:
3.621 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(314 Reviews) 299
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
134
4 stars
70
3 stars
23
2 stars
31
1 star
56
Customer Recommendation69%217 out of 314reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
356 Questions | 668 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
134
4 stars
70
3 stars
23
2 stars
31
1 star
56
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

garbage

08/17/2013
By ,
cheyenne, wy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
junk is the nicest word I can used for this paper weight. replaced it once already thinking I may have just gotten a bad one but the second one is just as bad. the phone constantly changes my settings, lags horribly, have to restart multiple times a day and after a couple of weeks of use the external speaker blew. stay far far away from this garbage. spend a little extra for a better phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Huawei Ascend did not work at my house.

09/01/2013
By ,
Cleveland GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone did not work at my house, even with great wifi reception. Returned to local Walmart with no problems, so that part was good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

slow no matter what

11/24/2013
By ,
georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this phone will not download my mms messages nor could a tech help me resolve the issue. even with wifi on sitting next to my wireless router it will not download them and it is also very slow. very disappointed. camera does not take good pictures at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Low Memory

01/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The ram is 387 mb and the internal storage memory is 630 mb apps crash and close phone lags and hangs up straight talk has no support and incompetent and unskilled customer Service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not worth it

10/25/2013
By ,
Valdosta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this phone for a little over three months and had nothing but problems with it!!
I refuse to even activate it for my son. The entire phone crashed at least once a week there is NO tech support no one could answer any of my questions.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

no internal memory

04/19/2014
By ,
nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very bad phone going to trade for another phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Basic smart phone

12/05/2013
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone works well until you load a few apps then it freezes and gets slow. Internal memory and RAM not sufficient. Constant warnings of low storage even with a 32 gig sd card installed. Not all apps will run or transfer to the SD card. Beware!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Would not recommend

09/01/2013
By ,
Vincennes, in
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone in July of 2013 and as of August 2013, I can only use speaker phone for phone calls because no one can hear me. I can hear them but when I speak into the phone, it sounds very "muffled". I did some research and it turns out this is a common defect with this phone (that is how I learned that you could actually use speaker phone and people would be able to hear you), so order at your own risk. It did work well for about 1-2 months, just long enough for me to not be able to return it. If you do buy it, be sure to get some kind of insurance on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Posted 09/07/2013
Had the same problem brought it at walmart on august 1, 2013 and on september 2, 2013 the speaker went out and only could use speaker phone, couldn't take it back to walmart because it been over 15 days. like the phone besides that.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Phone Great-Straight Talk Not

09/22/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband loves the phone but HATES Straight Talks service. No service at all in some areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

NOT ENOUGH MEMORY!!

01/03/2014
By ,
tri cities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not recommend this phone the phone only has 287 mb of system ram and only 630 mb of internal storage memory. Apps crash and close and phone freezes constantly this phone is not worth the money the phone does not have enough memory to function correctly. Straight talk has no support and extremely poor customer service. I've returned the phone After 2 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Save your receipt

02/01/2014
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not sure if I got a lemon but the phone was so glitchy that it went back to the store. To answer a call (with all apps closed) I had to do face recognition, enter my pin and close 3 apps that ALWAYS opened. For ever incoming call. I put in a 16G SD card, even though there was plenty of space and everything was moved over to SD card, phone said it was low on memory and was completely frozen. You can have a total of 13 apps, including the preinstalled ones.
Absolutely NOT worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Huawei H881C Ascend Plus

04/06/2014
By ,
LaGrange, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this phone, you will drop calls no matter where you are, you will not receive your text messages!!! I've dealt with technical support numerous times and still nothing works! Now its down to being without a phone until I can send this one back for a replacement, in which case I don't see this working since other family members have the same phone and have the same results!!! So only buy this phone if you want PROBLEMS!!! Only reason there's a rating on here is due to the fact that I had to so it would be submitted!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND! DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

07/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is not good, it takes days to send pictures through text...
all my apps say they are not responding... so they close.
the camera does not work all the time
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not good for extended use; Horrible GPS

06/17/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first started using this phone I was impressed with it. It was faster than my other phone and had a far greater capacity. Within a few months I began to notice it slowing down and starting to lock up repeatedly. I've now had it for about a year and it is pretty much worthless. I have to restart the phone almost daily while using it due to it locking up when using apps. This includes the built in browser and email. I have factory reset the phone twice and this has not helped. I think the software/hardware are just no built to last. My friend still has the same phone as I used to have - an LG from 4 years ago - and I am amazed every time I use it. I am so used to the poor performance and very very slow functioning of this phone that I forget how a phone should work. Also, this phone has a HORRIBLE GPS. Even living in Indianapolis and traveling on Interstates, it constantly looses its GPS signal or says that I am miles away from where I am. I no longer even try to use the GPS - I map it once and then manually move the map as it serves to only frustrate and confuse me when it gets so lost. I would NOT recommend this phone to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

not enough internal memory

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't transfer apps to the SD card just a few apps and the internal memory is used up sending back for a refund
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not impressed

09/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone in Feb and it was awesome for first few months then had to reboot it for it to be more laggy and slow, it has poor sound quality during calls and takes way too long to load apps and type my texts making me have to retype again. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone its affordable but not worth in the end.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Worst phone I have ever owned!

04/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had nothing but problems with this phone from the start. First, it is a hit or miss if I can send MMS messages. Wifi has to be off and I have to be very patient. It is near impossible to receive MMS messages from ANYONE. Wifi or not. I have called customer service and they were the worst help. There is no known solution to this issue and many people complain. I have asked about my APN, battery, memory and apparently nothing is the cause. That is another thing, the memory is horrible. There is never enough space on the phone for apps. I deleted all 600 songs off my phone and I can still only have 5 apps max. Picture quality is mediocre, the sound is poor, screen display is alright, the phone is ridiculously slow and works best on Wifi, and my phone reset automatically at least 5 times a day. Battery is getting worse and worse, the phone does not save my ringtones when I customize them, apps and music force close constantly, and the speaker on the phone calls drop out and the other person cannot hear me. I have had this phone barely a year and it has been a complete waste of money. Research reviews from others and read what they have to say if this does not make you weary. I didn't listen and purchased the phone anyways. Too late to return it by the time customer service responded to me. AVOID COMPLETELY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Piece of junk

05/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is a serious piece of junk. The processor isn't powerful enough to do anything. I can't even play Candy Crush on this phone. I installed the app and I get an orange King screen between every move while the processor thinks about what to do next! There is a serious lag when scrolling in the browser or the Facebook app, and trying to watch a video is a joke--lag, lag, lag, and not from the internet connection! When updating the apps that came installed on the phone, the thing ran out of room for updates since it only allocates 500 MB of storage to apps! If you purchase this phone, make sure you purchase the insurance that comes with it, since you will undoubtedly be throwing the thing at the wall quite often. I am going to try to switch my HTC Evo over to the Straight Talk unlimited plan, which is a decent plan, even though it is two years old, because this brand new Huawei is the worst phone I've ever owned. SAVE YOUR MONEY.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!

07/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is no good. it doesn't let me get incoming calls it barely ever lets me make a call and when I do it drops the calls and I can't get text messages barely at all and I can't use it as an alarm to wake up for work because it won't even go off like it should and I can't even play games on my phone cuz as soon as I get on a game the screen goes blank like black and a few minutes later its back on the home screen of the phone. the only thing its good for is listening to music. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not for advanced users

04/24/2014
By ,
Montana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for a couple months and am not impressed. Phone internal memory is way to small for average use. Even using an external memory does not help because some of the data needs to be directly on the phone itself. Bluetooth does not always preform normally and has trouble transferring data to other devices ie (mobile phones, PCs and audio devices).
This phone lags and freezes under normal operations.
My phone has stopped loading the android operating system and will not load past the initial loading screen.
Good Price but poor quality and usefulness.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 300 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next