Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ace Prepaid Smartphone provides a convenient monthly plan and a versatile Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) device. A four-inch touchscreen allows you ample space to interface with your phone. You can record video and take pictures and share them with friends and on your favorite social networking sites with Straight Talk Android Phone. This Huawei phone will accommodate microSD cards in sizes up to 32GB (sold separately), which can be used with the phone to save your captured images and footage. You can browse the internet on Straight Talk's 3G network, or take advantage of WiFI speeds anywhere there is an available wireless connection. This Straight Talk smartphone is also designed for use with hearing aids.
Average Customer Rating:
3.553 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(340 Reviews) 325
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
141
4 stars
73
3 stars
26
2 stars
33
1 star
67
Customer Recommendation67%228 out of 340reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
381 Questions | 693 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
141
4 stars
73
3 stars
26
2 stars
33
1 star
67
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

internal memory is worthless.

07/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is no led light for the camera, so no flash at all. The internal memory isn't even a gig, so it's completely worthless. You literally could not download all the apps that come as default on the phone, the kind you cant actually delete off the phone, without the phones internal memory being over full. So, god forbid you try to download some apps you actually want. goodluck with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FL
No Problem With Internal Memory Here
Posted 07/23/2013
There is plenty of internal memory if you manage your apps. First, you can move to the SD card many of the apps you download and install. Simply to to Settings, Apps, and go through your list of apps and move to the SD card those you can. Second, you can remove some of the default apps by "Uninstalling Updates" from the default apps you want to remove, such as Google Movies app. It removes the updates and removes memory that was dedicated to the app. So you can free up a lot of memory by doing both of these. If you want to install hundreds of apps then buy a $300+ phone. I don't need that many apps and am very satisfied with this phone - it's the best Straight Talk has to offer. Love my phone!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Piece Of Junk

08/15/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes for this Straight Talk phone. Since it supposedly uses the Verizon towers, I thought the network would be great. Definitely not the case. The net is so slow to load. Sometimes, you have to press a link multiple times to get the page to load. The phone often closes the browser for no apparent reason while you are reading a webpage. Switching to WiFi basically doesn't help one bit. Sometimes, switching to WiFi makes it even slower. Scrolling freezes up multiple times or just sits there. Downloading more than a few apps clogs up the RAM, which is barely enough room for more than 3 or 4 apps. The microSD card doesn't allow you to move programs to it so it's basically useless.
I don't know what these other reviewers are getting out of this phone. I think the phone is horrible and after 2 weeks, I'm about to return it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

garbage

08/17/2013
By ,
cheyenne, wy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
junk is the nicest word I can used for this paper weight. replaced it once already thinking I may have just gotten a bad one but the second one is just as bad. the phone constantly changes my settings, lags horribly, have to restart multiple times a day and after a couple of weeks of use the external speaker blew. stay far far away from this garbage. spend a little extra for a better phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Buyers Beaware !!!

08/19/2013
By ,
virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm hoping I save someone else a few dollars. This phone is a piece of junk. There is not a day that goes by that I do not want to throw it on the ground and roll over it 10 times. I have been a smart phone user for years. To help with budget restraints I decided to switch to Straight Talk. The service is good but please please choose another phone. It take about 40 mins to send pic messages. It takes anywhere from 2 to 5 mins to place a call. Apps dont work. Low storage. Will not stay on the internet, blinks back to home page. It's only good for texting once the texting screen stops blinking. Choose another phone. My worse phone purchase ever!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Huawei Ascend did not work at my house.

09/01/2013
By ,
Cleveland GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone did not work at my house, even with great wifi reception. Returned to local Walmart with no problems, so that part was good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Would not recommend

09/01/2013
By ,
Vincennes, in
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone in July of 2013 and as of August 2013, I can only use speaker phone for phone calls because no one can hear me. I can hear them but when I speak into the phone, it sounds very "muffled". I did some research and it turns out this is a common defect with this phone (that is how I learned that you could actually use speaker phone and people would be able to hear you), so order at your own risk. It did work well for about 1-2 months, just long enough for me to not be able to return it. If you do buy it, be sure to get some kind of insurance on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Posted 09/07/2013
Had the same problem brought it at walmart on august 1, 2013 and on september 2, 2013 the speaker went out and only could use speaker phone, couldn't take it back to walmart because it been over 15 days. like the phone besides that.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

NOT what I expected for the amount I paid for.

09/07/2013
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good phone to begin with but there are a lot of issues I've had with it. VERY limited internal storage space and even with an 4GB SD card I can only download a few applications. Can't move things directly to the SD card so it was very pointless. Doesn't download my photo messages all the time. Notifications will pop up saying that my camera has stopped working and I have to restart my phone to get it to work. Also another notification will come up saying that 2D Home (The main screen when I unlock my phone) has stopped working. The lights on the bottom, (back, home, menu) glitch and don't always work. Occasionally the sound will glitch and I'll be in an application with the sound turned down but it suddenly gets loud. My Play Music doesn't always come up I end up having to go to my file manager and open some music files for all of my music library to show up. Most likely than not I cannot make phone calls. I will dial the number or press call from my recent calls or contacts and it doesn't do anything. I will then exit and start to text the person or try calling again and that's when it will sometimes start to call so I'll end up having two calls at the same time going to the same person. Also it's a heavier phone, I was hoping for a skinnier and lighter phone. I did get the 2-year contract and I would DEFINITELY recommend paying the extra money for that if you decide to get this phone just with the issues I've had, I do plan to return it and I am going to try a different phone and I'd be very upset if I didn't get my money back for a phone with such problems.
The only pros I found with this phone was nice speakers, and 5MP camera, and as a 17-year-old those are very nice to have, I know that the LG Optimus Showtime has a front-facing camera as well as a 5MP camera so I am considering buying that.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

not worth your time

09/10/2013
By ,
moline il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone because it was a decent price. this phone also has 5 mag pics camera. However, this is the worst phone Ive ever had. The battery wont stay charged, and gets hot after 15 mins and says warning turn off phone. The internet is slow, along with everything the phone does. you will have no service even though it says it will work in your zip code. taking this phone back to the store where it belongs.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not what I expected

09/10/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my first time going with a Straighttalk phone. I don't think that I would ever buy a phone from the company again if I could. The first of these phones broke after only having it for three days. First time I dropped it and the screen shatters. Definitely not a phone for anyone who might happen to drop anything in their lives. Thank goodness I thought ahead and bought a warranty. Now on to my second phone and the apps quit working, the camera barely works on a good day, and furthermore the internet will randomly quit. These problems make the phone a pain to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Lags verry badley

09/15/2013
By ,
hilmanton, nh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
so you will read this thinking i got a defective phone i called straight talk and my phone is normal at first i could not use any google products beacuse lac of memory u need to buy memory and then straight talk will show you how and you can nou use netflix
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

One of the worst phones I have had

09/16/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a Samsung Proclaim before this one. That was a better phone. I thought with a newer OS this phone would be better. Nope! It bounces me out of messaging, freezes constantly. apps shut down all the time, lags....it is just a pain in the butt whenever I am using it. I have no idea how it has gotten so many positive reviews. I'm getting a different phone as soon as I can afford to. Do not buy this awful phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Phone Great-Straight Talk Not

09/22/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband loves the phone but HATES Straight Talks service. No service at all in some areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone
09/24/2013
By ,
Anderson, In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this phone after reading reviews could not get wifi with it at all, connection constantly timed out. After talking to tech support it was determined I needed to replace phone. After receiving the 2nd phone I encountered the exact same issues. After again talking with tech support for an extend amount of time it was determined that this model does not work in my area. It should be noted that Verizon wireless is normally very good in this area. And I have used it before with no problems
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

didn't work when I got it.

09/25/2013
By ,
Buffalo NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't work when I got it . Only way to get a new one was to send it back and wait for them to send a new one leaving me with nothing to use for a couple of weeks which was unacceptable. Took it back to Walmart and got a Samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Internet unreliable on this phone

10/02/2013
By ,
Gainesville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for two weeks. Phone calls on the Verizon network work fine. One of the main benefits of a smartphone is the ability to access the internet. I found that internet pages load slowly. The phone has been cutting off from the internet and going to the home screen for every single webpage that I visit. If you are a heavy internet user then I would not recommend this phone. I'm perplexed why this phone received so many great reviews; could be possible that I got one of the defective phones?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
same problem
Posted 10/07/2013
I am also experiencing the same problem with internet on this phone. I have the Firefox app installed and it constantly takes me back to the home screen. Not as frequently as Conviviality but still it is a bit aggravating when you need to use it. Does anybody have a solution for this problem yet?? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not happy with this phone

10/02/2013
By ,
Clarion, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just purchased this phone yesterday and will be taking it back to wal-mart. This phone only uses verizon towers and is not conected with verizon. I could not get it to take my verizon e-mail account or download sugar crush on facebook. I was told that when traveling and I do a lot of traveling that there are areas where you will loose service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT BUY....

10/08/2013
By ,
Valdosta GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of them. One for myself and one for my wife. I cannot explain the frustration we experienced with these phones. We had many of the same problems as all the other one star ratings. These phones don't even deserve one star. After only a month I purchased two iPhone 5's to replace these horrible phones. Now I'm really loving the straight talk service. Please pick another phone. I recommend the iPhone but if that too pricey do your homework..
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not worth it

10/25/2013
By ,
Valdosta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this phone for a little over three months and had nothing but problems with it!!
I refuse to even activate it for my son. The entire phone crashed at least once a week there is NO tech support no one could answer any of my questions.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

straight talk is great

10/30/2013
By ,
Cherokee, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Straight talk is the must awesome phone service providers in this area. But my huawei phone is a piece of trash. It had 3 gigs of memory I put an 8 gig memory card in it. And ask I have is low storage messages spots that don't work right it freezes. Now if it was just my phone I would say it's defective. But I bought 3 of them at the same time and every one of them is going in the trash as soon as we can afford different phone. I am really disappointed in these phones. I have installed so cleaners I have installed every thing I can think of to help with the low storage thing. Even tried an upgrade. My phone had 1.67 gigs of memory left my memory card had 5.4 left. Really these phones are trash....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Frustrated!!!!!!!!

11/05/2013
By ,
Kirtland, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I live in Kirtland NM and was told this phone runs off of Verizon towers and would be the best phone for my area. It has good reception and overall no complaints with the service EXCEPT.... While using the web it will kick you back to the home screen for no apparent reason.... many times in just a few minutes. Frustrating!! Also, when I receive a text msg and I try to reply the phone will just kick me out and return to the home screen! Love the price I pay for the service but beginning to wonder if it is even worth it, anymore! Maybe I just have a horrible phone but in my experience I don not recommend this phone as it has caused me A LOT of headaches!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rockaway, NJ
Install Google Chrome
Posted 01/15/2014
I had a similar experience with the default browser spontaneously closing. I installed the Google Chrome browser and have been much happier with it. It loads almost every webpage I've tried and allows me to even view youtube and netflix videos so I don't need to load the associated apps. I have heard that Firefox works even better, but I've never tried it because Chrome works well. I have occasionally had problems with text messaging, but for the most part texting works fine and is reliable. I'm actually amazed with what I can do with a handheld computer and phone that I bought new for only $130.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 326 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next