Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ace Prepaid Smartphone provides a convenient monthly plan and a versatile Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) device. A four-inch touchscreen allows you ample space to interface with your phone. You can record video and take pictures and share them with friends and on your favorite social networking sites with Straight Talk Android Phone. This Huawei phone will accommodate microSD cards in sizes up to 32GB (sold separately), which can be used with the phone to save your captured images and footage. You can browse the internet on Straight Talk's 3G network, or take advantage of WiFI speeds anywhere there is an available wireless connection. This Straight Talk smartphone is also designed for use with hearing aids.
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(254 Reviews) 239
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
120
4 stars
64
3 stars
18
2 stars
15
1 star
37
Customer Recommendation76%194 out of 254reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
327 Questions | 606 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
120
4 stars
64
3 stars
18
2 stars
15
1 star
37
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Huawei Ascend did not work at my house.

09/01/2013
By ,
Cleveland GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone did not work at my house, even with great wifi reception. Returned to local Walmart with no problems, so that part was good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

internal memory is worthless.

07/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is no led light for the camera, so no flash at all. The internal memory isn't even a gig, so it's completely worthless. You literally could not download all the apps that come as default on the phone, the kind you cant actually delete off the phone, without the phones internal memory being over full. So, god forbid you try to download some apps you actually want. goodluck with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FL
No Problem With Internal Memory Here
Posted 07/23/2013
There is plenty of internal memory if you manage your apps. First, you can move to the SD card many of the apps you download and install. Simply to to Settings, Apps, and go through your list of apps and move to the SD card those you can. Second, you can remove some of the default apps by "Uninstalling Updates" from the default apps you want to remove, such as Google Movies app. It removes the updates and removes memory that was dedicated to the app. So you can free up a lot of memory by doing both of these. If you want to install hundreds of apps then buy a $300+ phone. I don't need that many apps and am very satisfied with this phone - it's the best Straight Talk has to offer. Love my phone!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone
09/24/2013
By ,
Anderson, In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this phone after reading reviews could not get wifi with it at all, connection constantly timed out. After talking to tech support it was determined I needed to replace phone. After receiving the 2nd phone I encountered the exact same issues. After again talking with tech support for an extend amount of time it was determined that this model does not work in my area. It should be noted that Verizon wireless is normally very good in this area. And I have used it before with no problems
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Frustrated!!!!!!!!

11/05/2013
By ,
Kirtland, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I live in Kirtland NM and was told this phone runs off of Verizon towers and would be the best phone for my area. It has good reception and overall no complaints with the service EXCEPT.... While using the web it will kick you back to the home screen for no apparent reason.... many times in just a few minutes. Frustrating!! Also, when I receive a text msg and I try to reply the phone will just kick me out and return to the home screen! Love the price I pay for the service but beginning to wonder if it is even worth it, anymore! Maybe I just have a horrible phone but in my experience I don not recommend this phone as it has caused me A LOT of headaches!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rockaway, NJ
Install Google Chrome
Posted 01/15/2014
I had a similar experience with the default browser spontaneously closing. I installed the Google Chrome browser and have been much happier with it. It loads almost every webpage I've tried and allows me to even view youtube and netflix videos so I don't need to load the associated apps. I have heard that Firefox works even better, but I've never tried it because Chrome works well. I have occasionally had problems with text messaging, but for the most part texting works fine and is reliable. I'm actually amazed with what I can do with a handheld computer and phone that I bought new for only $130.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

didn't work when I got it.

09/25/2013
By ,
Buffalo NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't work when I got it . Only way to get a new one was to send it back and wait for them to send a new one leaving me with nothing to use for a couple of weeks which was unacceptable. Took it back to Walmart and got a Samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Internet unreliable on this phone

10/02/2013
By ,
Gainesville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for two weeks. Phone calls on the Verizon network work fine. One of the main benefits of a smartphone is the ability to access the internet. I found that internet pages load slowly. The phone has been cutting off from the internet and going to the home screen for every single webpage that I visit. If you are a heavy internet user then I would not recommend this phone. I'm perplexed why this phone received so many great reviews; could be possible that I got one of the defective phones?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
same problem
Posted 10/07/2013
I am also experiencing the same problem with internet on this phone. I have the Firefox app installed and it constantly takes me back to the home screen. Not as frequently as Conviviality but still it is a bit aggravating when you need to use it. Does anybody have a solution for this problem yet?? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Would not recommend

09/01/2013
By ,
Vincennes, in
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone in July of 2013 and as of August 2013, I can only use speaker phone for phone calls because no one can hear me. I can hear them but when I speak into the phone, it sounds very "muffled". I did some research and it turns out this is a common defect with this phone (that is how I learned that you could actually use speaker phone and people would be able to hear you), so order at your own risk. It did work well for about 1-2 months, just long enough for me to not be able to return it. If you do buy it, be sure to get some kind of insurance on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Posted 09/07/2013
Had the same problem brought it at walmart on august 1, 2013 and on september 2, 2013 the speaker went out and only could use speaker phone, couldn't take it back to walmart because it been over 15 days. like the phone besides that.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Lags verry badley

09/15/2013
By ,
hilmanton, nh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
so you will read this thinking i got a defective phone i called straight talk and my phone is normal at first i could not use any google products beacuse lac of memory u need to buy memory and then straight talk will show you how and you can nou use netflix
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not what I expected

09/10/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my first time going with a Straighttalk phone. I don't think that I would ever buy a phone from the company again if I could. The first of these phones broke after only having it for three days. First time I dropped it and the screen shatters. Definitely not a phone for anyone who might happen to drop anything in their lives. Thank goodness I thought ahead and bought a warranty. Now on to my second phone and the apps quit working, the camera barely works on a good day, and furthermore the internet will randomly quit. These problems make the phone a pain to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

not worth your time

09/10/2013
By ,
moline il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone because it was a decent price. this phone also has 5 mag pics camera. However, this is the worst phone Ive ever had. The battery wont stay charged, and gets hot after 15 mins and says warning turn off phone. The internet is slow, along with everything the phone does. you will have no service even though it says it will work in your zip code. taking this phone back to the store where it belongs.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

slow no matter what

11/24/2013
By ,
georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this phone will not download my mms messages nor could a tech help me resolve the issue. even with wifi on sitting next to my wireless router it will not download them and it is also very slow. very disappointed. camera does not take good pictures at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not worth it

10/25/2013
By ,
Valdosta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this phone for a little over three months and had nothing but problems with it!!
I refuse to even activate it for my son. The entire phone crashed at least once a week there is NO tech support no one could answer any of my questions.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

This phone is an overpriced paper weight!

11/08/2013
By ,
Concord, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For the first 3 days I had this phone I thought it was pretty good. I had to switch from contract phones because of the price. I tried to get this phone to meet in the middle, medium price -- hoped for medium satisfaction. Not even close.
I couldn't even fit half the apps from my Google account onto this phone from my old phone. While the amount of storage for the phone isn't too low, I didn't notice any where on the packaging that it said the storage aloud for apps is allocated. And it isn't even close to the amount of memory on the phone. I have like 75% of the memory on the phone free but I can't even download another app. On my old phone, which yes was a top of line, I never maxed out how many apps I could fit. I don't have barely any apps and am already maxed out. I am talking 2 pretty fair size games and a SMALL handful of small apps, like 4 or 5.
Sending pics or receiving multimedia messages is horrible, especially sending. Receiving it will not receive maybe 1 out of 10 pic messages. But sending them sometimes take 10+ minutes (not exaggerating) or doesn't send them at all. And sometimes it will send them in about 1 minute (still pretty long for smart phones). And no it isn't service. This is with full Wi Fi connection and 3 bars of service.
I could go on and on about things I've encountered on this phone that frustrate me to the point of going back to a contract phone (yes I am). I would say go all or nothing. Pay for the contract or get a cheap phone and expect to do nothing "special" on it. You get what you pay for. Trying to get these cheaper smart phones is a horrible way to go.
The Straight Talk service is awesome, but I have not found a phone they have that can compete with top end smart phones out on other services -- it is disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

NOT ENOUGH MEMORY!!

01/03/2014
By ,
tri cities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not recommend this phone the phone only has 287 mb of system ram and only 630 mb of internal storage memory. Apps crash and close and phone freezes constantly this phone is not worth the money the phone does not have enough memory to function correctly. Straight talk has no support and extremely poor customer service. I've returned the phone After 2 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Piece Of Junk

08/15/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes for this Straight Talk phone. Since it supposedly uses the Verizon towers, I thought the network would be great. Definitely not the case. The net is so slow to load. Sometimes, you have to press a link multiple times to get the page to load. The phone often closes the browser for no apparent reason while you are reading a webpage. Switching to WiFi basically doesn't help one bit. Sometimes, switching to WiFi makes it even slower. Scrolling freezes up multiple times or just sits there. Downloading more than a few apps clogs up the RAM, which is barely enough room for more than 3 or 4 apps. The microSD card doesn't allow you to move programs to it so it's basically useless.
I don't know what these other reviewers are getting out of this phone. I think the phone is horrible and after 2 weeks, I'm about to return it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Buyers Beaware !!!

08/19/2013
By ,
virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm hoping I save someone else a few dollars. This phone is a piece of junk. There is not a day that goes by that I do not want to throw it on the ground and roll over it 10 times. I have been a smart phone user for years. To help with budget restraints I decided to switch to Straight Talk. The service is good but please please choose another phone. It take about 40 mins to send pic messages. It takes anywhere from 2 to 5 mins to place a call. Apps dont work. Low storage. Will not stay on the internet, blinks back to home page. It's only good for texting once the texting screen stops blinking. Choose another phone. My worse phone purchase ever!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Low Memory

01/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The ram is 387 mb and the internal storage memory is 630 mb apps crash and close phone lags and hangs up straight talk has no support and incompetent and unskilled customer Service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

One of the worst phones I have had

09/16/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a Samsung Proclaim before this one. That was a better phone. I thought with a newer OS this phone would be better. Nope! It bounces me out of messaging, freezes constantly. apps shut down all the time, lags....it is just a pain in the butt whenever I am using it. I have no idea how it has gotten so many positive reviews. I'm getting a different phone as soon as I can afford to. Do not buy this awful phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

DO not recommend

01/19/2014
By ,
Gainesville, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My boyfriend and I both got this phone and let me tell you its not worth the money. They freeze up , most the apps dont work correctly. Its slow and its lags going from one thing to another. Sometimes I will attempt to call someone and it takes a few minutes for it to go through. Its just seriously the worst phone ive ever had.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Basic smart phone

12/05/2013
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone works well until you load a few apps then it freezes and gets slow. Internal memory and RAM not sufficient. Constant warnings of low storage even with a 32 gig sd card installed. Not all apps will run or transfer to the SD card. Beware!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 240 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next