Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ace Prepaid Smartphone provides a convenient monthly plan and a versatile Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) device. A four-inch touchscreen allows you ample space to interface with your phone. You can record video and take pictures and share them with friends and on your favorite social networking sites with Straight Talk Android Phone. This Huawei phone will accommodate microSD cards in sizes up to 32GB (sold separately), which can be used with the phone to save your captured images and footage. You can browse the internet on Straight Talk's 3G network, or take advantage of WiFI speeds anywhere there is an available wireless connection. This Straight Talk smartphone is also designed for use with hearing aids.
Average Customer Rating:
3.534 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(348 Reviews) 333
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
143
4 stars
73
3 stars
29
2 stars
33
1 star
70
Customer Recommendation67%232 out of 348reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
392 Questions | 700 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
143
4 stars
73
3 stars
29
2 stars
33
1 star
70
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Piece Of Junk

08/15/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes for this Straight Talk phone. Since it supposedly uses the Verizon towers, I thought the network would be great. Definitely not the case. The net is so slow to load. Sometimes, you have to press a link multiple times to get the page to load. The phone often closes the browser for no apparent reason while you are reading a webpage. Switching to WiFi basically doesn't help one bit. Sometimes, switching to WiFi makes it even slower. Scrolling freezes up multiple times or just sits there. Downloading more than a few apps clogs up the RAM, which is barely enough room for more than 3 or 4 apps. The microSD card doesn't allow you to move programs to it so it's basically useless.
I don't know what these other reviewers are getting out of this phone. I think the phone is horrible and after 2 weeks, I'm about to return it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

garbage

08/17/2013
By ,
cheyenne, wy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
junk is the nicest word I can used for this paper weight. replaced it once already thinking I may have just gotten a bad one but the second one is just as bad. the phone constantly changes my settings, lags horribly, have to restart multiple times a day and after a couple of weeks of use the external speaker blew. stay far far away from this garbage. spend a little extra for a better phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

NOT what I expected for the amount I paid for.

09/07/2013
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good phone to begin with but there are a lot of issues I've had with it. VERY limited internal storage space and even with an 4GB SD card I can only download a few applications. Can't move things directly to the SD card so it was very pointless. Doesn't download my photo messages all the time. Notifications will pop up saying that my camera has stopped working and I have to restart my phone to get it to work. Also another notification will come up saying that 2D Home (The main screen when I unlock my phone) has stopped working. The lights on the bottom, (back, home, menu) glitch and don't always work. Occasionally the sound will glitch and I'll be in an application with the sound turned down but it suddenly gets loud. My Play Music doesn't always come up I end up having to go to my file manager and open some music files for all of my music library to show up. Most likely than not I cannot make phone calls. I will dial the number or press call from my recent calls or contacts and it doesn't do anything. I will then exit and start to text the person or try calling again and that's when it will sometimes start to call so I'll end up having two calls at the same time going to the same person. Also it's a heavier phone, I was hoping for a skinnier and lighter phone. I did get the 2-year contract and I would DEFINITELY recommend paying the extra money for that if you decide to get this phone just with the issues I've had, I do plan to return it and I am going to try a different phone and I'd be very upset if I didn't get my money back for a phone with such problems.
The only pros I found with this phone was nice speakers, and 5MP camera, and as a 17-year-old those are very nice to have, I know that the LG Optimus Showtime has a front-facing camera as well as a 5MP camera so I am considering buying that.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

not worth your time

09/10/2013
By ,
moline il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone because it was a decent price. this phone also has 5 mag pics camera. However, this is the worst phone Ive ever had. The battery wont stay charged, and gets hot after 15 mins and says warning turn off phone. The internet is slow, along with everything the phone does. you will have no service even though it says it will work in your zip code. taking this phone back to the store where it belongs.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not happy with this phone

10/02/2013
By ,
Clarion, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just purchased this phone yesterday and will be taking it back to wal-mart. This phone only uses verizon towers and is not conected with verizon. I could not get it to take my verizon e-mail account or download sugar crush on facebook. I was told that when traveling and I do a lot of traveling that there are areas where you will loose service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT BUY....

10/08/2013
By ,
Valdosta GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of them. One for myself and one for my wife. I cannot explain the frustration we experienced with these phones. We had many of the same problems as all the other one star ratings. These phones don't even deserve one star. After only a month I purchased two iPhone 5's to replace these horrible phones. Now I'm really loving the straight talk service. Please pick another phone. I recommend the iPhone but if that too pricey do your homework..
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

straight talk is great

10/30/2013
By ,
Cherokee, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Straight talk is the must awesome phone service providers in this area. But my huawei phone is a piece of trash. It had 3 gigs of memory I put an 8 gig memory card in it. And ask I have is low storage messages spots that don't work right it freezes. Now if it was just my phone I would say it's defective. But I bought 3 of them at the same time and every one of them is going in the trash as soon as we can afford different phone. I am really disappointed in these phones. I have installed so cleaners I have installed every thing I can think of to help with the low storage thing. Even tried an upgrade. My phone had 1.67 gigs of memory left my memory card had 5.4 left. Really these phones are trash....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Worst ever!!

11/05/2013
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is horrible!! I thought I was upgrading when I bought this. I was WRONG!! All my apps freeze and close, it is almost impossible to send or receive a text, and it calls people at random times without being touched!! I paid almost $200 for this useless piece of junk, and I'm stuck with it. I hope I don't need to use my phone in the case of an emergency...cause it won't dial!! PLEASE save yourself the aggravation, reconsider another phone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

slow no matter what

11/24/2013
By ,
georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this phone will not download my mms messages nor could a tech help me resolve the issue. even with wifi on sitting next to my wireless router it will not download them and it is also very slow. very disappointed. camera does not take good pictures at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Low Memory

01/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The ram is 387 mb and the internal storage memory is 630 mb apps crash and close phone lags and hangs up straight talk has no support and incompetent and unskilled customer Service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Nothing works quickly and NO Memory!!

01/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had it for a few weeks, but thinking of returning it. I just don't want the hassle of that AGAIN. The phone is VERY slow and takes a lot of time to switch from one app to the next (ie: going from Pandora to Facebook to texting...) When the screens are in transition, the go black and and stay like that for a good 45 seconds to a minute on average... Making a quick, emergency phone call is not a possibility I guess. There is also very little storage on this phone. I have about 130 pictures, 1 -2 minute video, and 4 apps (Bible, Facebook, Pandora, and Weather Channel) and I'm at about 90% capacity. I've saved 2 of the apps to my SD card, but some apps; such as Facebook; you can only save to your phone. The update of FB wouldn't even download because there was no more room for it. I would say that about 80% of the time I am using my Swype keyboard it doesn't work and the buttons completely freeze up. I have looked like an idiot more times than not on some of my Facebook statuses because the keyboard typed something else...kind of like an auto correct gone crazy. Would NOT recommend this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Huawei H881C Ascend Plus

04/06/2014
By ,
LaGrange, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this phone, you will drop calls no matter where you are, you will not receive your text messages!!! I've dealt with technical support numerous times and still nothing works! Now its down to being without a phone until I can send this one back for a replacement, in which case I don't see this working since other family members have the same phone and have the same results!!! So only buy this phone if you want PROBLEMS!!! Only reason there's a rating on here is due to the fact that I had to so it would be submitted!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

no internal memory

04/19/2014
By ,
nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very bad phone going to trade for another phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not for advanced users

04/24/2014
By ,
Montana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for a couple months and am not impressed. Phone internal memory is way to small for average use. Even using an external memory does not help because some of the data needs to be directly on the phone itself. Bluetooth does not always preform normally and has trouble transferring data to other devices ie (mobile phones, PCs and audio devices).
This phone lags and freezes under normal operations.
My phone has stopped loading the android operating system and will not load past the initial loading screen.
Good Price but poor quality and usefulness.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Piece of junk

05/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is a serious piece of junk. The processor isn't powerful enough to do anything. I can't even play Candy Crush on this phone. I installed the app and I get an orange King screen between every move while the processor thinks about what to do next! There is a serious lag when scrolling in the browser or the Facebook app, and trying to watch a video is a joke--lag, lag, lag, and not from the internet connection! When updating the apps that came installed on the phone, the thing ran out of room for updates since it only allocates 500 MB of storage to apps! If you purchase this phone, make sure you purchase the insurance that comes with it, since you will undoubtedly be throwing the thing at the wall quite often. I am going to try to switch my HTC Evo over to the Straight Talk unlimited plan, which is a decent plan, even though it is two years old, because this brand new Huawei is the worst phone I've ever owned. SAVE YOUR MONEY.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

HATE this phone

05/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You get what you pay for. I have had this phone 2 months and hate it. I bought a 16 GB card for it for my apps, it still freezes up, says low on memory, and acts like it is possessed half of the time. It will randomly dial people when I am not even holding it. When I try to call someone and click their name it has to think for a while before it will dial them. As soon as I save the money I am going with a better phone.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND! DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

07/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is not good, it takes days to send pictures through text...
all my apps say they are not responding... so they close.
the camera does not work all the time
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!

07/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is no good. it doesn't let me get incoming calls it barely ever lets me make a call and when I do it drops the calls and I can't get text messages barely at all and I can't use it as an alarm to wake up for work because it won't even go off like it should and I can't even play games on my phone cuz as soon as I get on a game the screen goes blank like black and a few minutes later its back on the home screen of the phone. the only thing its good for is listening to music. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Terrible product

07/29/2014
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I had done more research before buying this phone.
I had installed 7 or 8 apps (no games) when the phone starts telling me I am low on space. Have uninstalled 3 of them and still low on space. All the space is being used by factory installed apps (most of which I don't use). You can not uninstall these apps nor can you stop them from being updated (according to Straight Talk Customer Service).
I'm ready to go back to my other smart phone!
If you are looking for a phone that you can install the apps you want, this is not the phone for you.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Worst Phone ive Ever Had!

10/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone in March of 2014. Shortly after (maybe a couple months) I noticed apps were slow to open or they crash. I don't even have many apps installed on the phone. About 7 or 8 and no matter which app I open the app crashes (Facebook, Instagram, Weather..all of them). I can't even make phone calls back to back. After I hang up and try to dial someone else the phone lags and takes a minute to dial the next person. There are times when trying to text it wont let me type. I hit keys and nothing happens. Can't feel the phone when it is set to "vibrate" mode either. I havent called Straight Talk just because I dont care to speak to people who cant speak English and send you in circles not correcting the problem. Never have I had so many problems with a phone before. I can't update my apps either because I get a message saying I dont have enough storage yet my settings show I have plenty. I used to have to uninstall an app then reinstall it to get an update which now I still cant reinstall so I lost my apps I uninstalled and cant get them to download again. The only good thing about the phone is the light indicator. Worst piece of trash Ive ever spent money on.
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 334 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next