Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ace Prepaid Smartphone provides a convenient monthly plan and a versatile Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) device. A four-inch touchscreen allows you ample space to interface with your phone. You can record video and take pictures and share them with friends and on your favorite social networking sites with Straight Talk Android Phone. This Huawei phone will accommodate microSD cards in sizes up to 32GB (sold separately), which can be used with the phone to save your captured images and footage. You can browse the internet on Straight Talk's 3G network, or take advantage of WiFI speeds anywhere there is an available wireless connection. This Straight Talk smartphone is also designed for use with hearing aids.
Average Customer Rating:
3.638 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(312 Reviews) 297
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
134
4 stars
70
3 stars
23
2 stars
31
1 star
54
Customer Recommendation70%217 out of 312reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
356 Questions | 668 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
134
4 stars
70
3 stars
23
2 stars
31
1 star
54
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Way better than I thought it would be.

06/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a believer in touch tech but this phone is great and works better than my friends phones even the IPhone 4s.
I was hard to find a case that would work on this model but eBay took care of that.. they only have a silicone case but its nice. it even came with screen protectors all for around 5 bucks.
Front cam works better than my old phones only cam with nice res and the rear cam is great so I'm pretty happy with that.
Only con I would say is the built in Google apps update and I will never use them referring to magazines, Books, ect..
All in all, really happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
vero beach, fl
hard case
Posted 09/05/2013
I found several hard ruberized cases for this phone on ebay at reasonable prices.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 22 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Very Pleased!

06/21/2013
By ,
Fayetteville,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great phone for the price! newer operating system (4.0) so apps seem to work better and faster compared to my first straight talk phone (2.3) which was horrible with apps! both being Huawei brand. this phone reminds me a lot of my LG Nitro I had with AT&T under contract.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

So love this Cell Phone..

06/13/2013
By ,
Orange ,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a really nice Cell,
Great Over all Use,
Cons,The battery gets hot
while playing on the cell...
Don't last as long,but not
a problem...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

A really good upgrade phone.

07/07/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is really good, if you have had a Huawei phone before. I had a Huawei Ascend Y phone and I got the Ace. It feels like an iphone or a droid. I like the front camera feature. The camera is real nice. I totally recommend it. *****
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Straight Talk Huawei Ascend II Prepaid Cell Phone
2.8 out of 5(243)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone

12/13/2013
By ,
Heidelberg ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The phone is great and I receive it very fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Amazed in Wisconsin

08/23/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is far and away the best phone I have ever had. Allow me to explain why...
I have always had a contract with a "major" cellular provider for the last 20yrs (basically since I have had a cell phone). I always upgraded every 2yrs to the newest $.01- $19.99 phone deal that they had. The phones were cheap as long as you signed on the dotted line. You know the drill- Wait 2 yrs, upgrade to new phone, wash and repeat... I had a family and could never afford the "data" package, plus I never really had a use for it. Well, now the kids are older, have jobs and are more independent. Plus technology is much cheaper now. Basically I figured the time is right to treat myself to a better phone.
I was paying $125.00 a month (for 2 lines, mine and my daughters) for unlimited talk and text ONLY! Now, with straight talk, I get unlimited talk, text, AND data for $45 a month! With taxes for 2 lines is less than $100. I am saving $25 a month and I have the web! BONUS!! Sign me up.
I have done a ton of research on these straight talk phones. This is one of their newest (and best) models. It has: 5 mega pixel camera (no flash though), 1GHz processor (which is faster than almost all of the other phones in this price range), Android 4.0 (again better than the others in this range), a nice big screen, 3g/wi-fi... Basically you get a lot for the price, a super awesome deal compared to similar phones in this price range.
If you are worried about the brand name, Huawei, dont be. Solid phone, runs great.
Be aware of the code on the bottom left of the package of these straight talk phones. CDMA-V, CDMA-S or GSM-A, GSM-T. This is very important! The "V" means this phone runs off of Verizon cell towers, which works well in my area (this phone is a CDMA-V). The "S" means Sprint towers, very poor in my area. The "A" means AT&T towers. The "T" means T-Mobile towers. Do your homework and check to see who has the best coverage in your area before you buy. The sales associate at Walmart told me the CDMA-S (or Sprint) phones get returned a lot due to the shoddy coverage in the Wisconsin area. Personally, I dont understand why they would even sell the Sprint phones at a Wisconsin Walmart then? Whatever. Glad I researched!
If you do buy this phone, GET A microSD card, you are going to need it!!!!!!! The phone memory says 2.2GB but only 153 MB is for apps (some apps are that big by themselves)! I got a 32GB card, more than enough for whatever apps or things you want to download. As soon as you open the package, put the SD card in, turn on the phone, run through the tutorial, then go to your "settings">"storage">and change the "default storage location" to the SD card you just installed. Now everything you download will be on your SD card and not your tiny storage built into your phone.
Bottom line- great phone for the price, great deal overall. So good in fact that I bought 3 more for my family members! I am very satisfied and recommend this phone highly. Well worth the money! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Happy I picked this phone!!

08/27/2013
By ,
Kenmore,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone and i couldn't be happier with my purchase. Called Straight Talk to transfer my old cell number from another carrier and it was done in 10-15 minutes. Reception is great on the Verizon towers. Have used Google to look up things and is quite fast. The biggest plus is that I am paying $20 less a month for full service compared to the almost $70 i was paying for just talk & text. And for those that have never heard of Huawei...they are the largest telecommunications equipment maker in the world, having overtaken Ericsson in 2012. Anyway...love the phone and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good phone that won't brake the bank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone
08/17/2013
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had this phone for a week now, and I love it! I have owned iphones, galaxy's, and ST phones all (No Contract# and this is the best so far. I purchased this because I won't use anything but Verizon from now on, the others just don't have the coverage in Utah. This phone is slim, easy to hold in your hand and fast. Comparing it to my last Galaxy3 I would safely say it's a 10 times better value. No more pic messaging problems I had with other "Sim" phones on ST, and the camera is clear and good quality. If you don't need every bell and whistle that comes along #and they will keep coming forever# you will love this phone and save a ton of $$$$.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

easy to use and dependable

08/10/2013
By ,
Sedalia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The battery life is good, charges fast, transfer of contacts easy, sound quality very good, voice text is very often perfect. I love this phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Good phone, easy to change over from Verizon

09/22/2013
By ,
Curtis, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I got this phone I did not transfer my number over from Verizon at the time because I have more than one phone on the Verizon account. (Big mistake, easier and cheaper to do right away)
But I got another phone from straight talk and transferred the number from Verizon to the new phone. The woman from straight talk was patient and helpful. It was an good experience.
Now to the Huawei H881c.
I have owned it for over 3 weeks. I live in Michigan's Upper Peninsula and Verizon works the best. (but still not great a lot of dead spots) I have traveled all the over northern Michigan and the UP testing this phone. I find it is slower loading than my Motorola Bionic Droid, the voice on Google navigation sounds like she has a cold, but the sound quality of the phone portion of speaker is very good. The screen looks just like my Verizon so the learning curve was only minutes. It picks up Verizon towers as well as did the Motorola Bionic. Everything transferred from my Verizon to Straight talk with ease, phone numbers, email addresses everything. (I have a Gmail account) My phone bill is cut in half. If you can't live with a 20% speed drop in loading for a $45 savings don't get this phone. I can live with it, we are talking just seconds. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone
07/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent large screen easy messaging and surfing the web apps and games run smoothly. But the price is what stands out here!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Smartphone

07/18/2013
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My girlfriend has had this phone for 2 weeks and so far its been flawless. We live in the country of South Carolina where PREPAID smartphones won't work but this one has good reception and signal. Make sure you type in your zip code here on the website to make sure it will work in your area. This Phone operates with no lag. She plays Candy Crush all the time, listens to Pandora iheart radio and Ive watched movies on Crackle and videos on Youtube and not one freeze up. The description states that the camera is only on one side but its not. There is a camera on both sides of the phone which is a plus. Has all the google apps and plenty of extras to download. Navigation works great and also the Locals App which I like to look up gas stations, hotels, restaurants, and more work perfect. We are going to buy another one for me this weekend since I have tested and played with it for the past few weeks and like it. This will be my first smartphone and I will be switching from net 10 to straight talk because they are the cheapest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Columbia City, Indiana
Posted 10/02/2014
Mine worked great after 2 weeks also, but not much longer after that, i've had this phone for less than a year and i am already phone shopping and I will never go with another Huawei brand phone, nor will I ever go with another phone that uses verizon towers as a prepaid phone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 33 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Glad I jumped ship!

07/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading other reviews, I bought this as a replacement for a year old HTC One I had through Virgin Mobile, and I could not be happier! This phone is so much faster and smoother feeling. Texting is a breeze (Google Keyboard with swyping comes pre-installed, although the phone's keyboard and texting itself feels far more natural) and there is no lag. It was ridiculously easy to set up, also. But the best part, and the reason I bought THIS phone and switched to Straight Talk, is that it uses local Verizon towers. The other day I was about to chuck my old Sprint-based phone out the car window out of sheer frustration when Navigation wouldn't load my location after 5 mins and I needed to get somewhere! Not to mention having zero bars at my house (although by some miracle I could still send texts, though they took forever) and my phone constantly telling everyone I texted that I was in Ottawa, Canada. You really can't beat Verizon, but a basic smartphone plan through them will run you over $100. With Straight Talk, however, at $45 a month, this phone and the coverage is unbeatable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Everything I need in a smartphone, and economical!

08/09/2013
By ,
East Stroudsburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My only complaint is the $60 international card does not let you dial direct to the out of the country number!!!! Annoying!!! Had to order a case online, but that was fine!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone
08/17/2013
By ,
Tutwiler, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this phone a lot. It's the best phone that I had thus far. I give it five stars. I recommend this phone to anyone. Its call quality, touch screen, text, voice mail, speak command, 3G, WiFi, android, FM radio, navigation, MP3 player, apps and much more are all GREAT! Oh the camera is good but has no flash. Over all it a GREAT phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great smart phone.

02/09/2014
By ,
Camden,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good price. Easy to use. Runs on Verizon towers. Camera takes nice pictures. Very happy with this phone. Very easy to transfer my phone number.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Really nice phone...lots of bells and whistle

03/24/2014
By ,
Hope Mills NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to order, arrive early
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great deal for the price!!!

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this phone for over two weeks and still enjoying the upgrade to more usable RAM, front camera and 4.0 Operating System. All three of which my previous Huawei smartphone lacked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Huawei NOT well known BUT better than MOST others!

09/26/2013
By ,
Nashville, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay I have been a straight talk user in a small Ga town for many years now. I use verizon towers over any other towers in my town and we get 3G. I've owned and tried various straight talk phones: Finesse 810, Samsung R451, LG511, Nokia E5, Nokia E71 and now this phone. LET ME TELL SAY....by far this is the best phone I've owned. Now the Nokia's wouldn't work at the time I got them but I'm sure they would be great phones now because they're great phones just wasn't primed to work in my area yet. BUT back to this review. I am heavy internet, data user and texter. I stay on facebook, I play candy crush hourly lol. I would recommend if you buy this phone and you are a heavy app. user like myself then invest in a QUALITY 32MB MICROSDHC CARD. because the memory on the phone is pretty low and I have a 4gb and its working but I will be moving up. I have tango, voxer, candy crush, twitter, spotify, zedge , duck hunt, spades, youtube, chrome ALL downloaded with room to download a few more but I will be investing in a bigger card so I can get my other games. I love this phone there are few things I don't like about it but there are more things I love about it than I don't. The fact I can make the screen BIGGER by touching it and pulling out AWESOME!!! Also this phone lets you choose how you enter your text for texting, either old fashion pushing buttons...or TALKING to your phone and it puts it in for you the more you the feature the better it gets because it catches on to your accent and word formulation.....this function is called swype. There is a cool feature in the contacts part of the phone that I adore after you add someone you can press the menu button and it will give you the option to SEND ALL CALLS FROM THIS NUMBER TO VOICE MAIL!!!! So if you get that annoying person that calls you at all the wrong times just send em straight to vm lol.
Front Facing Camera: 2.5 stars: it is pretty grainy in pictures but works well with video chat.
Rear Camera: 4 stars: It takes pretty good pretty pictures just doesn't have a flash :(
Voice Recorder: 5 stars: I love this because you can recorder notes quickly and it saves automatically and you can send them as a text message. :)
Video Recorder: 5 stars: MAKES great videos and gives you the option to upload straight to youtube, twitter, facebook, email or text. :)
Swype 5 stars: I love that I can change how enter text info.
GPS 5 stars: Works great. Google maps, voice nav. turn by turn from current location to destination with a push of a button. Just like a garmin or tum tum :)
ALL IN ALL I would say invest in this phone and invest in a 32mg sd card and you got ONE HECK OF A PHONE for 45 dollars a month. If I had the money I would get the Iphone 5 but I don't so this is THE next best phone offered in my area so if you are in the NASHVILLE, GA area I recommend this phone... and this BRAND is up and coming they are gonna be come well known and become expensive too. :( Great phone for teenager to adult.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/07/2013
By ,
arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this smartphone. It is so easy to operate, and the price is great. I also like that before I purchased it there was a check to make sure it would work in my zip code.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 298 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next