Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ace Prepaid Smartphone provides a convenient monthly plan and a versatile Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) device. A four-inch touchscreen allows you ample space to interface with your phone. You can record video and take pictures and share them with friends and on your favorite social networking sites with Straight Talk Android Phone. This Huawei phone will accommodate microSD cards in sizes up to 32GB (sold separately), which can be used with the phone to save your captured images and footage. You can browse the internet on Straight Talk's 3G network, or take advantage of WiFI speeds anywhere there is an available wireless connection. This Straight Talk smartphone is also designed for use with hearing aids.
Average Customer Rating:
3.614 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(324 Reviews) 309
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
71
3 stars
25
2 stars
32
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation69%223 out of 324reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
361 Questions | 679 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
71
3 stars
25
2 stars
32
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

You WILL want an SDcard, internal storage limited

07/11/2013
By ,
Aiken, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The internal storage is 2.75 GB, but for some reason the space allocated to apps is limited to about 700 MB. That includes data for apps. So if you download your Google play songs, books, etc. that runs out quickly. The fix for this is to get an SDcard and enable it as the default storage location.
To do this, Go to "Settings" > "Storage" > "Default storage location" > "SDcard". You'll get a warning about how it may affect apps that have data stored internally. If you do this before downloading a bunch of data, it won't be any consequence. If you've already downloaded data that was stored internally, you'll want to "Clear Data" for those apps, and re-enter your account info, then download the data again. This time it should go to the SDcard.
This is a great phone. The specs don't list it, but it has a front 2MP camera, GPS, and FM tuner. The dual-core 1GHz processor renders video well and makes this a smooth operating phone. For the $150 price tag this is a lot of phone. It exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+200points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FL
More Memory Savings Ideas That Work On This Phone
Posted 07/15/2013
OK, there are three additional things you can do to free up available memory to download apps.
First, you can semi-uninstall apps that you don't want. For instance, to remove Google Play Books, go to Apps and then click on Google Play Books. Then click on "Uninstall Updates".Then you will get a message that Google Play Books will revert to factory version. The strange thing is that it will remove Google Play Books and free up that space. I did this to some of the large apps.
Second, after you install an app you downloaded from Google Play, you have the option to move some of them to the SD card. Again, go to Apps and click on the app you just downloaded and see if it gives you the option to move the app to SD card. Over 50% of apps I downloaded allowed me to move them to the SD card.
Third, do not let apps automatically update. Otherwise you may end up getting back some of the default apps you intentionally removed (such as Google Play Books).
Using these techniques I have a considerable number of apps and space left over. This is by far the best Straight Talk phone there is and I am very happy with it.
+9points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not Impressed

03/03/2014
By ,
Newport News, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had this phone since October. I thought some of the issues I were having was because this was my first smartphone. I like that is it thin. I have had the following issues:
1. Pictures being sent via text can take DAYS to get to the intended party. I mean like 4-5 days.
2. Cannot receive certain pictures via text and then when it says download I am unable to download because "not enough memory".
3. Sometimes the phone just freezes and I have to restart the phone.
4. Internet and apps sometimes kick me out for no reason. Really aggravating when trying to use Maps.
5. Unable to play the music on my phone through my Bluetooth or any program on the phone.
6. Sometimes people don't even receive a text message that I send.
I do have a 16mg SD card in the phone for storage of my music, pictures and apps that I can move. I don't think that it is the service through Straight Talk because I know others who have a nicer smartphone and are on ST and they have no problems. I am looking at trying another phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
No memory
Posted 06/30/2014
My husband has the same phone with a 34 gb card and he can no load anything or even put in a contact because it said he had no memory left.
He only has 2 games and nothing else .
0points
Customer Avatar
ditto
Posted 05/03/2014
My husband and I both have this phone and though it is tough enough to stand up to my one year old, I have had all of the problems that you have. My husband will send me a picture or text and I will get it randomly the next week.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent phone for the money

12/06/2013
By ,
CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been with ST for about 3 years and this is my first Android phone. I've had the phone for about 2 weeks and it's a great phone for the money. I was able to easily switch the network (Verizon) to this phone from my other phone. I was also able to easily transfer all of my contacts to this phone via Bluetooth from my old phone. I come with 2 browsers installed, Google Chrome and Firefox mobile (not labelled as such, but it's by Mozilla). Both seem to work pretty well. The pages that don't load on Chrome always come up on Mozilla, so I primarily use that one.
It's not too big and not too small. The battery has sufficient life to run my applications, as long as I'm not streaming audio or video too long. I've got about 30 additional apps installed from Google play and the phone runs them all flawlessly. I really don't have any complaints about the phone except for the fact I can't find a case for it at Walmart so I got one off eBay. I would recommend this phone to anyone considering an Android device.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+145points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Palm Beach Gardens Fl.
Verizon or AT&T ?
Posted 12/21/2013
I wanted to stay with Straight Talk and bought a Samsung Galaxy II but they switched carriers to AT&T, Verizon works great in Palm beach County, AT&T looses signal right after connection it seems all name brand phones have AT&T carrier so will stick with the Huawei as have had one, a ascend for 2 years and even though screen cracked phone still works but speaker can be hard to hear once in a while
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Don't send me; I'll send you.

09/21/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although this product offers all the features that I was looking for, it seems that there may be some inherent issues with regard to some of the functions/features. Since I've had this phone (1 week), there has been 2 occasions where I've had to troubleshoot it (turn off, remove the battery and turn on) in order to reestablish the speaker and bluetooth features. For no apparent reason they just randomly stopped working. Also, I've been working with StraightTalk Tech Support for the last week to determine why I can't receive MMS (photos) via text message and the matter still isn't resolved. I can send but not receive. I can however, receive photo and audio files via emails. The speech recognition feature is barely adequate. The phone hardly ever recognizes the call I'm trying to place vocally. These may be flaws with my phone in particular but as these features are things that I frequently look forward to using, I find this phone inadequate for my needs. This may be an isolated case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Smartphone

07/18/2013
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My girlfriend has had this phone for 2 weeks and so far its been flawless. We live in the country of South Carolina where PREPAID smartphones won't work but this one has good reception and signal. Make sure you type in your zip code here on the website to make sure it will work in your area. This Phone operates with no lag. She plays Candy Crush all the time, listens to Pandora iheart radio and Ive watched movies on Crackle and videos on Youtube and not one freeze up. The description states that the camera is only on one side but its not. There is a camera on both sides of the phone which is a plus. Has all the google apps and plenty of extras to download. Navigation works great and also the Locals App which I like to look up gas stations, hotels, restaurants, and more work perfect. We are going to buy another one for me this weekend since I have tested and played with it for the past few weeks and like it. This will be my first smartphone and I will be switching from net 10 to straight talk because they are the cheapest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Columbia City, Indiana
Posted 10/02/2014
Mine worked great after 2 weeks also, but not much longer after that, i've had this phone for less than a year and i am already phone shopping and I will never go with another Huawei brand phone, nor will I ever go with another phone that uses verizon towers as a prepaid phone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

An amazing phone for an excellent price!

11/27/2013
By ,
Thomasville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a Straight Talk customer for years now. I recently moved to a new area and my LG Optimus Q (running on Sprint) wouldn't get a signal. My wife upgraded to a LG Showtime (runs on Verizon) and it worked great. I compared the Huawei Ascend Plus and the LG Showtime and the only difference was the Ascend Plus doesn't have a flash built in for the camera. I couldn't see paying $70 extra for the Showtime when I don't need the flash. I have had the Ascend Plus for a few weeks now and I am blown away with its features. The 5 megapixel camera with a front facing option is excellent for Skype and works great! I also like the upgraded Android software. It is much faster than my old phone and it is easier to use. I was a bit skeptical about the touch pad key board but the large screen makes it easy. One last thing to point out is that the battery lasts forever. I usually go 3-4 days between charges, and that is with a lot of internet browsing. If you are thinking about upgrading you will not be disappointed with this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+204points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Concurred initially
Posted 08/15/2014
After a few months of use, I became more & more dissatisfied. Problems are not resolvable long-term. Tired of constant maintenance on our two twin phones. (Hubby isn't tech savvy & easily frustrated.) Phone is not reliable & constantly having memory issues with the small internal storage even using SD storage as default storage upon set-up. After less than a year, I am phone shopping!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Holden Beach, NC
Yes amazing phone
Posted 01/27/2014
,but I prefer the LG 86C aka Showtime. LG 86C has a slightly larger screen, is thinner, and has more internal storage space available for Apps. Both phones run Android 4.0.4 very quickly.
It is no longer available directly from StraightTalk, but can be found refurbished at Walmart and other sites.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Citrus Springs, FL
Charge
Posted 12/23/2013
Are you kidding me? 3-4 days without a charge. I can't even go a day.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great purchase indeed

03/21/2014
By ,
Fort Payne, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phone is fantastic.. you get roughly 1.5 Gb internal memory, which is quite a bit for internal memory on a phone. You will need a micro sd 8gb or better ( more is def. Better) to hold more apps, music, pics etc. This was an upgrader from an old slider keyboard phone which finally kicked the bucket. Found that after transferring my number to this new one that I could nether send or receive pictures. This is in no way an issue to the phone itself for all those that complained about it and returned a perfectly good phone Back to the store. Just turn off your phone for a few minutes and then restart it.. if this doesn't work then you call Straight Talk and they will fix the problem. Something in the programming is the issue and quite fixable. The camera takes very nice clear pictures with a front and rear facing camera. Battery time is not that great.. but ive found if you stop all apps from running in the background and turn off wifi when not in use that it preserves the battery nicely. So yes this is a great phone for the price with hardly any issues that I have found thus far.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Read Reviews before purchase

12/02/2013
By ,
Daytona Beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did a lot of research before I bought this phone. I knew going in it was not a beginners phone. Built in memory in this phone is very limited. I added the 32G memory card right out of the gate.
It is more memory than I will need but if your into music then you will want it. The issue of memory is solved by getting a app transfer program and placing all your apps into the sd memory. There are several good ones online, but all require that you get into the developers section of the phone and make some changes. I would not recommend that action for a beginner.
All of the other issues with this phone are minor. Most involve where you use it and how good a signal you have from Verizon. I live on top of a Verizon tower so it is no issue for me. Price, Quality and Verizon towers make this phone a excellent value. Still working on getting the phone to transfer files to my wife's phone via bluetooth but bluetooth works good on my Garman in the car.
None of the local stores or flea markets have the cases or screenguards for this phone, but there are 100's online to choose from.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Memory Card
Posted 05/25/2014
I have not bought this phone yet, still researching. Can someone please tell me how to install a memory card. I have read that is hard to do. Thank you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Worst Phone ive Ever Had!

10/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone in March of 2014. Shortly after (maybe a couple months) I noticed apps were slow to open or they crash. I don't even have many apps installed on the phone. About 7 or 8 and no matter which app I open the app crashes (Facebook, Instagram, Weather..all of them). I can't even make phone calls back to back. After I hang up and try to dial someone else the phone lags and takes a minute to dial the next person. There are times when trying to text it wont let me type. I hit keys and nothing happens. Can't feel the phone when it is set to "vibrate" mode either. I havent called Straight Talk just because I dont care to speak to people who cant speak English and send you in circles not correcting the problem. Never have I had so many problems with a phone before. I can't update my apps either because I get a message saying I dont have enough storage yet my settings show I have plenty. I used to have to uninstall an app then reinstall it to get an update which now I still cant reinstall so I lost my apps I uninstalled and cant get them to download again. The only good thing about the phone is the light indicator. Worst piece of trash Ive ever spent money on.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not worth $129

10/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone in Nov. 2013 as a christmas gift and i can honestly say this phone is not worth having. it locks up, operates slower than molasses running up hill, apps crash frequently, the web browser has a very nasty habit of closing the web page you are in the process of reading which is really annoying, straight talk advertises 3g speeds upto 3gb but this phone uses verizon towers so about the only time you will get 3g for more than 5 seconds is around 3am, otherwise data is incredibly slow unless you are connected to wifi. it sometimes can take this phone a week to send a photo through text and occasionally the phone will decide you can't get into your text messages, you will open your texting screen and it will immediately close and you have to restart the phone to even view messages, also you can not save apps to the sd card and you have less than 1gb able to save apps. the speaker volume while in a call is very low compared to other phones i have had and at times i have had trouble hearing the person on the other end of the conversation. skip this phone and go with something else
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Better than other ST phones i've had

05/19/2013
By ,
El Paso, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had a lot of the other Straight talk phones and mainly bought phone cause it runs on Verizon network unlike my Samsung which ran on Sprint. Here in my area Sprint is the worst.
Call quality is good and camera is better than other prepaid phones ive had (5MP) and has front facing camera too. No Flash
Youtube viewing on 3G was surprisingly fast it didnt have to buffer which most other phones did but always depends on your location to towers i am guessing.
Supports sd card up to 32GB but doesnt include one.
Only Power On/OFf & Volume buttons everything else you use the touch screen
1ghz processor
2.67 GB internal memory i believe
3G
Android 4.0
FM Radio
Mp3 player
Chrome browser and internet browser
Navigation
Quickoffice
Preloaded YouTube & Google+
Features storage display that allows you to see how much storage you are using up with apps, pictures, music, downloads etc..
Also Data Usage which allows you to see how much data and in what you are using it.
By the way this is a pretty decent new phone so theres not much out there about it. i couldn't find any cases for it or reviews.I really believe its a good phone ^_^ i love it so far
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+292points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
Glens falls
Huawei H881C Ascend
Posted 09/27/2013
does this phone have 2 camras?
0points
Customer Avatar
Georgia
Yes, you can flip the camera lens to front facing!
Posted 09/26/2013
I have owned a ton of phones in my lifetime and 3 on Straight Talk. This one is by FAR the best I have ever owned next to my Motorola. ;-) You can find covers for it on Amazon and auction sites. I just bought one last week right after I bought the phone. Do invest your time in setting everything just right on it to get the very best performance. My battery can last up to 20 hours before it's down to even 50% because I turn off data during the day and at night while sleeping. I keep it on because my husband is a police officer and works at night. I need that lifeline open. The camera can take front facing pics or turn it back around to take them of other people. It's pretty neat! There is no flash, but it will focus... and regardless of what many think, it DOES work on Verizon, even though the ST website says nothing about that. Good luck! I hope you love yours as much as I love mine! I plan on buying 2 more for our household.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Wellsboro, PA
Rooted
Posted 07/26/2013
Installed a bunch more apps afterwards.
0points
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Huawei is big globally, just not in the USA
Posted 07/25/2013
Don't be scared by the no name brand "Huawei". While the brand is almost unheard of here in the USA they are the 6th biggest cell phone maker in the world. They are a Chinese company with more market share than HTC, Sony, TCL, and Motorola, and just slightly less then ZTE and LG. About 1/3 that of Apple. By the way it's pronounced "WAH-way" and the 881C is a very nice phone.
.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Does this have a flash for the camera?
Posted 07/07/2013
I need to know
-1point
Customer Avatar
Festus, MO
Question Regarding Review
Posted 05/22/2013
You said that this phone has a front facing camera? It isn't listed on the Walmart description of the phone. Just looking for clarification. Thanks!
+2points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 12 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

nice phone.

07/23/2013
By ,
huron,s.d.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little reluctant over the brand of the phone because I had no experience with it. The reviews were positive. I was comparing it to the LG Showtime which was $50 more. The Showtime has a flash on the camera and is about 1/3 inch bigger. Beyond that, that's it.
The Huawei has preformed well. Fast and reliable. A step up from my Samsung Proclaim. The Proclaim was the first smart phone on straight talk offered in our zip code. It sold like hot cakes here. It served it's purpose but the Plus has a far better and advanced system. I had to special order a protector case and screen protector off the Amazon site (Bundle package with stylus pen). Looks amazing. No problem there. Now I have a very functional phone that looks and preforms just like the very expensive ones. Netflix works fine. Browser works well, too.
For the price, it's a pretty fair deal. Unless you're hung up on trendy brand names you might want to consider this one. The smart phone industry has come a long way. Why spend hundreds of dollars if you're just texting and just social networking most of the time? Things that work, get used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Good Phone. Very Pleased

11/10/2013
By ,
Winchester, Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked this phone up because I broke my Samsung and needed a phone that ran on Verizon towers ASAP and this was the Only one they had on the shelf that did. Honestly I expected to throw it in a drawer after I got back to a store with a better selection.
I am perfectly happy with the phone and the way it works. I installed a 32gb card before I ever booted it the first time and it stores and runs all my apps and I am a VERY app intensive person. I use it for business as well as personal with some very intensive apps like a card reader, materials estimator, billing app, geocaching and about 200 service manuals in Ebook format. The camera takes fantastic pics and video which is great for job pics to send to customers and photos of the grand-babies. I did have an issue with MMS messages with the stock app but I just downloaded the app I had been using on my previous phone and Problem Solved.. The only problems I have had otherwise were from MY failing to read the manual first and Not any issues with the phone itself.
I am very picky about my equipment and if this phone quit today I would buy another just like it. The only thing I don't like is I cant turn off stock apps that I will never use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Very good phone

06/16/2013
By ,
Salem, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,This is a very good phone, quick and responsive, 1ghz processor, and it is in fact dual core, because I ran a quadrant standard which is a test to test the phone capabilities. Sound quality is excellent, screen is nice and bright. I saw the price 150.00 and was very skeptical as why so cheap, here's a few reasons, phone does not come with sd card so you'll have to get your own you can get them pretty cheap, phone does not have a flashlight for camera, but still pretty decent for snapping pics, also does have a front facing camera for skyping, or video calling, I also think the brand huawei is not that much of a household name as samsung, htc, lg, but works just as good. If you want a good phone for calling, texting, and browsing the web, this is the phone to get for 45 dollars unlimited talk, text, web.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+174points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
NY
Dual Cameras?
Posted 08/22/2013
I wanted to make sure your post was not a typo.. it DOES have 2 cameras? All the sites with specs only list the 5mp rear camera. Thanks
0points
Customer Avatar
Grove, OK
I found your review very helpful.
Posted 08/01/2013
Thank you for your review on this phone. I have been looking to replace my Nokia E5 that I have had with ST for a while now, but wanted to upgrade to something that was capable of video calls, as I use skype a lot. Yours was the only review I found that even mentioned it. Definitely will be checking into this one. :)
+1point
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Huawei a big brand globally, just not in USA
Posted 07/25/2013
Don't be scared by the no name brand "Huawei". While the brand is almost unheard of here in the USA they are the 6th biggest cell phone maker in the world. They are a Chinese company with more market share than HTC, Sony, TCL, and Motorola, and just slightly less then ZTE and LG. About 1/3 that of Apple. By the way it's pronounced "WAH-way" and the 881C is a very nice phone.
+4points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 15 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone!

07/14/2013
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for almost a week, & so far it is everything i was hoping it would be. The screen is big and very clear. Everything runs smooth and you can customize the home screens in a lot of different ways. It doesn't come with an SD Card, so i would suggest getting one if you buy this phone. The phone looks very nice on the outside, it doesn't look cheap like a lot of other Straight Talk phones. Both front and back cameras are of decent quality, although there is no flash. My battery life lasts around 24 hours, but i mostly use my phone for texting, calling & occasionally checking Facebook or playing games. The only negative thing with this phone that i have noticed is that the battery gets fairly hot once in a while. It's only while i'm playing games, but it cools off quickly after i close the app.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

FRUSTRATED!!

04/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has been NOTHING but frustration since I bought it!! IF I had the money, I'd SMASH it into a million pieces!! One day I was sending my daughter a text message...and the message went out to EVERYONE in my phonebook!! NOT GOOD!! The message was private!! I've had people I don't know, call me and ask WHY?? I keep calling and hanging up on them??? It calls numbers of people on its own... HOW does it do that?? I also can get a text message from someone, says "download", I click on it....it then says "downloading"...then it tells me that it can't download it. I then text the person that sent it, asking what they sent, only to be told they didn't SEND me anything!! So, where?? did the text come from??? It also kicks me off an app ALL of the time!! I can be on Facebook and all of a sudden it takes me back to the app page, or getting an email it returns to app page...I'm SO SORRY I bought this phone!! I don't know how people aren't having issues with it!! I've tried several times to have ST people help me... WHAT A JOKE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

really surprised

07/05/2013
By ,
akron, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the phone is great...its a lot better then what i thought it was going to be....the android 4.0 (ice cream sandwhich) works great on this phone the screen is nice and clear...skype works well with this phone on the straight talk network i have skyped on both wifi and network and it both worked well....im not into all the app games out there so i only have filled 1.5 home screens not i cant say for sure if you load it up with tons of stuff how it will run also the ringtones that were set up already where quite so change when you get it to make sure you dont miss calls texts and what not.......if your on a budget but want a updated phone this is a great buy for the ticket price....one last thing i didnt know this before i got it but it does come with mic-earbuds great bonus!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not the smartest phone, but decent for the price

10/08/2013
By ,
Cowtown, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Summary: A lot cheaper than the Samsung Galaxy or other expensive phones, and you get what you pay for...
Pros:
Apple and galaxy phones for the Verizon network (or straight talk contracted to Verizon) are expensive... This was cheaper at $150.
Arrived as expected
Performs as advertised
Android operating system 4.1 has matured over the different versions.
Screen is large, fairly decent, controls have been working.
Cons:
My biggest complaint: It has very little working memory, which can be an issue if you try to load large html files. This means large files will not load, and there are other performance impacts.
Speed is 3G
No zoom on the camera.
speaker is not very loud / clear
There may be funky things regarding headsets (like if you use expensive ones designed for iPhones or something else). I have 4 pin Klipsch S4, and the mic doesn't work (blogs have various things to try).
Battery life is as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Better than I expected

06/19/2013
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a smartphone with an affordable data plan. I was about sold on the Galaxy S3 but the price was pretty high. Never heard of Huawei but the reviews were very good and the price for an Android 4 box was great so decided to give it a try. I wanted Verizon network so that was a big factor in the decision. Bought their 30 day unlimited card and fired it up. It found my wireless network instantly and set up without trouble. And it's FAST! Gmail works better than on my laptop. So how does it work as a phone. Went to the Straighttalk website and went thru their process. No sweat including transferring my old number (from Verizon# to this phone. A couiple of hours later, I was in business. Called several friends around the country; loud and clear. Drove out in the back country where my old LG had problems; No prob Solid 2 bars and good reception. Email even worked!
Cons: Hassle transferring my old Phone book #over 200 numbers) but it is doable using the import/export functions.
Really worthless manual with the phone, but the full manual with good directions is available on the Tracphone Website.
Battery life could be better but considering how I use it, it's OK.
All in all, I have to agree with the 5 star rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ascend Plus Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone

07/09/2013
By ,
Greenville NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So i went from a galaxy s like the first one to this phone. Im the type that needs internet, wifi connectivity, game apps like candy crush, etc. and with this phone i have been able to do all of the above so far only had it about a week and a half. I keep 2 out of 3 bars kinda slow when im in my house but other than that it gets good service. When too many apps open phone runs slow task manager or task killer will help that. Phone gets hot at times but that maybe b/c im playing a game or on the internet. Battery lasts for a good amount of time i forgot to put it on the charger last night so it lasted for about a day and a half thats very good coming from someone who's previous phone was dying every couple of hrs. Overall good phone so far. Very pleased with my purchase as well as my straight talk service
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 310 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next