Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ace Prepaid Smartphone features the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS.
Average Customer Rating:
3.488 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(377 Reviews) 362
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
81
3 stars
31
2 stars
37
1 star
79
Customer Recommendation66%247 out of 377reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
81
3 stars
31
2 stars
37
1 star
79
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

internal memory is worthless.

07/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is no led light for the camera, so no flash at all. The internal memory isn't even a gig, so it's completely worthless. You literally could not download all the apps that come as default on the phone, the kind you cant actually delete off the phone, without the phones internal memory being over full. So, god forbid you try to download some apps you actually want. goodluck with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FL
No Problem With Internal Memory Here
Posted 07/23/2013
There is plenty of internal memory if you manage your apps. First, you can move to the SD card many of the apps you download and install. Simply to to Settings, Apps, and go through your list of apps and move to the SD card those you can. Second, you can remove some of the default apps by "Uninstalling Updates" from the default apps you want to remove, such as Google Movies app. It removes the updates and removes memory that was dedicated to the app. So you can free up a lot of memory by doing both of these. If you want to install hundreds of apps then buy a $300+ phone. I don't need that many apps and am very satisfied with this phone - it's the best Straight Talk has to offer. Love my phone!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Piece Of Junk

08/15/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes for this Straight Talk phone. Since it supposedly uses the Verizon towers, I thought the network would be great. Definitely not the case. The net is so slow to load. Sometimes, you have to press a link multiple times to get the page to load. The phone often closes the browser for no apparent reason while you are reading a webpage. Switching to WiFi basically doesn't help one bit. Sometimes, switching to WiFi makes it even slower. Scrolling freezes up multiple times or just sits there. Downloading more than a few apps clogs up the RAM, which is barely enough room for more than 3 or 4 apps. The microSD card doesn't allow you to move programs to it so it's basically useless.
I don't know what these other reviewers are getting out of this phone. I think the phone is horrible and after 2 weeks, I'm about to return it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

garbage

08/17/2013
By ,
cheyenne, wy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
junk is the nicest word I can used for this paper weight. replaced it once already thinking I may have just gotten a bad one but the second one is just as bad. the phone constantly changes my settings, lags horribly, have to restart multiple times a day and after a couple of weeks of use the external speaker blew. stay far far away from this garbage. spend a little extra for a better phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Buyers Beaware !!!

08/19/2013
By ,
virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm hoping I save someone else a few dollars. This phone is a piece of junk. There is not a day that goes by that I do not want to throw it on the ground and roll over it 10 times. I have been a smart phone user for years. To help with budget restraints I decided to switch to Straight Talk. The service is good but please please choose another phone. It take about 40 mins to send pic messages. It takes anywhere from 2 to 5 mins to place a call. Apps dont work. Low storage. Will not stay on the internet, blinks back to home page. It's only good for texting once the texting screen stops blinking. Choose another phone. My worse phone purchase ever!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Would not recommend

09/01/2013
By ,
Vincennes, in
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone in July of 2013 and as of August 2013, I can only use speaker phone for phone calls because no one can hear me. I can hear them but when I speak into the phone, it sounds very "muffled". I did some research and it turns out this is a common defect with this phone (that is how I learned that you could actually use speaker phone and people would be able to hear you), so order at your own risk. It did work well for about 1-2 months, just long enough for me to not be able to return it. If you do buy it, be sure to get some kind of insurance on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Posted 09/07/2013
Had the same problem brought it at walmart on august 1, 2013 and on september 2, 2013 the speaker went out and only could use speaker phone, couldn't take it back to walmart because it been over 15 days. like the phone besides that.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

NOT what I expected for the amount I paid for.

09/07/2013
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good phone to begin with but there are a lot of issues I've had with it. VERY limited internal storage space and even with an 4GB SD card I can only download a few applications. Can't move things directly to the SD card so it was very pointless. Doesn't download my photo messages all the time. Notifications will pop up saying that my camera has stopped working and I have to restart my phone to get it to work. Also another notification will come up saying that 2D Home (The main screen when I unlock my phone) has stopped working. The lights on the bottom, (back, home, menu) glitch and don't always work. Occasionally the sound will glitch and I'll be in an application with the sound turned down but it suddenly gets loud. My Play Music doesn't always come up I end up having to go to my file manager and open some music files for all of my music library to show up. Most likely than not I cannot make phone calls. I will dial the number or press call from my recent calls or contacts and it doesn't do anything. I will then exit and start to text the person or try calling again and that's when it will sometimes start to call so I'll end up having two calls at the same time going to the same person. Also it's a heavier phone, I was hoping for a skinnier and lighter phone. I did get the 2-year contract and I would DEFINITELY recommend paying the extra money for that if you decide to get this phone just with the issues I've had, I do plan to return it and I am going to try a different phone and I'd be very upset if I didn't get my money back for a phone with such problems.
The only pros I found with this phone was nice speakers, and 5MP camera, and as a 17-year-old those are very nice to have, I know that the LG Optimus Showtime has a front-facing camera as well as a 5MP camera so I am considering buying that.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 7 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

not worth your time

09/10/2013
By ,
moline il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone because it was a decent price. this phone also has 5 mag pics camera. However, this is the worst phone Ive ever had. The battery wont stay charged, and gets hot after 15 mins and says warning turn off phone. The internet is slow, along with everything the phone does. you will have no service even though it says it will work in your zip code. taking this phone back to the store where it belongs.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

didn't work when I got it.

09/25/2013
By ,
Buffalo NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't work when I got it . Only way to get a new one was to send it back and wait for them to send a new one leaving me with nothing to use for a couple of weeks which was unacceptable. Took it back to Walmart and got a Samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Not worth it

10/25/2013
By ,
Valdosta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this phone for a little over three months and had nothing but problems with it!!
I refuse to even activate it for my son. The entire phone crashed at least once a week there is NO tech support no one could answer any of my questions.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

This phone is an overpriced paper weight!

11/08/2013
By ,
Concord, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For the first 3 days I had this phone I thought it was pretty good. I had to switch from contract phones because of the price. I tried to get this phone to meet in the middle, medium price -- hoped for medium satisfaction. Not even close.
I couldn't even fit half the apps from my Google account onto this phone from my old phone. While the amount of storage for the phone isn't too low, I didn't notice any where on the packaging that it said the storage aloud for apps is allocated. And it isn't even close to the amount of memory on the phone. I have like 75% of the memory on the phone free but I can't even download another app. On my old phone, which yes was a top of line, I never maxed out how many apps I could fit. I don't have barely any apps and am already maxed out. I am talking 2 pretty fair size games and a SMALL handful of small apps, like 4 or 5.
Sending pics or receiving multimedia messages is horrible, especially sending. Receiving it will not receive maybe 1 out of 10 pic messages. But sending them sometimes take 10+ minutes (not exaggerating) or doesn't send them at all. And sometimes it will send them in about 1 minute (still pretty long for smart phones). And no it isn't service. This is with full Wi Fi connection and 3 bars of service.
I could go on and on about things I've encountered on this phone that frustrate me to the point of going back to a contract phone (yes I am). I would say go all or nothing. Pay for the contract or get a cheap phone and expect to do nothing "special" on it. You get what you pay for. Trying to get these cheaper smart phones is a horrible way to go.
The Straight Talk service is awesome, but I have not found a phone they have that can compete with top end smart phones out on other services -- it is disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

NOT ENOUGH MEMORY!!

01/03/2014
By ,
tri cities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not recommend this phone the phone only has 287 mb of system ram and only 630 mb of internal storage memory. Apps crash and close and phone freezes constantly this phone is not worth the money the phone does not have enough memory to function correctly. Straight talk has no support and extremely poor customer service. I've returned the phone After 2 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

DO not recommend

01/19/2014
By ,
Gainesville, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My boyfriend and I both got this phone and let me tell you its not worth the money. They freeze up , most the apps dont work correctly. Its slow and its lags going from one thing to another. Sometimes I will attempt to call someone and it takes a few minutes for it to go through. Its just seriously the worst phone ive ever had.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 13 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Not so great phone

01/20/2014
By ,
Adrian, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
screen freeze, apps not loading or taking to long to load and the people I call cant hear me sometimes!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 14 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Don't waste your time and money!!

02/02/2014
By ,
Prescott Valley, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't even know where to begin with this phone... I am SO disappointed in this phone I'm honestly tempted to beat it with a baseball bat when I can finally afford to get a different one. I'll try to summarize the main part of my issues with this phone.
-NO MEMORY, even with me saving all my programs to the SD Card I have it constantly gives me error messages saying there's no space. And honestly I have Candy Crush, Facebook and maybe 8 other necessity apps like my banking app.
-I used to use my past phones as music players by plugging in the AUX cable in my car, either listening to saved music or iHeartRadio.. it never gets through one song on iHeartRadio without buffering unless I'm connected to WiFi and it randomly completely shuts the music off that I have saved on my phone.
-Surfing the internet: Forget even trying, I can get through maybe a paragraph of reading something and it completely backs out of Browser and goes to my home screen, then I have to go back and find what I was reading all over again. Downloading Google Chrome helped a tiny bit with this issue, however due to the very minimal memory space and Chrome taking up A LOT of memory this was a temporary fix to a long term problem.
-I will often miss calls and texts for no reason, whether I'm in WiFi areas or not. People will send me texts and I either won't receive them at all or I will receive them hours later.
-When not connected to WiFi the phone almost never receives 3G, it always lags all the way down to 1X or even no signal whatsoever.
Honestly, I have many more complaints but I just don't have the time to list them all. Save yourself and avoid this phone completely!!!!
I don't know where the other reviewers got their phones from because even the guy who works at Walmart who helped me out with this one warned me that this is a "Monday Phone", which I'm not even sure what he meant but that but I thought the odds would be in my favor... worst phone I have ever had!!!!!! The Galaxy Proclaim is WAY cheaper and when I had it, I never had one problem with it at all!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Have not been able to activate it through straight

03/12/2014
By ,
Erie, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have no idea how this product is i have been trying to activate it since yesterday without success i had an old straight talk phone bought this new one transferred my number and am still waiting and without a phone now today can not even get through to the customer service number not a pleasant experience at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

not enough internal memory

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't transfer apps to the SD card just a few apps and the internal memory is used up sending back for a refund
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 17 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

FRUSTRATED!!

04/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has been NOTHING but frustration since I bought it!! IF I had the money, I'd SMASH it into a million pieces!! One day I was sending my daughter a text message...and the message went out to EVERYONE in my phonebook!! NOT GOOD!! The message was private!! I've had people I don't know, call me and ask WHY?? I keep calling and hanging up on them??? It calls numbers of people on its own... HOW does it do that?? I also can get a text message from someone, says "download", I click on it....it then says "downloading"...then it tells me that it can't download it. I then text the person that sent it, asking what they sent, only to be told they didn't SEND me anything!! So, where?? did the text come from??? It also kicks me off an app ALL of the time!! I can be on Facebook and all of a sudden it takes me back to the app page, or getting an email it returns to app page...I'm SO SORRY I bought this phone!! I don't know how people aren't having issues with it!! I've tried several times to have ST people help me... WHAT A JOKE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

no internal memory

04/19/2014
By ,
nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very bad phone going to trade for another phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Not for advanced users

04/24/2014
By ,
Montana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for a couple months and am not impressed. Phone internal memory is way to small for average use. Even using an external memory does not help because some of the data needs to be directly on the phone itself. Bluetooth does not always preform normally and has trouble transferring data to other devices ie (mobile phones, PCs and audio devices).
This phone lags and freezes under normal operations.
My phone has stopped loading the android operating system and will not load past the initial loading screen.
Good Price but poor quality and usefulness.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Worst phone I have ever owned!

04/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had nothing but problems with this phone from the start. First, it is a hit or miss if I can send MMS messages. Wifi has to be off and I have to be very patient. It is near impossible to receive MMS messages from ANYONE. Wifi or not. I have called customer service and they were the worst help. There is no known solution to this issue and many people complain. I have asked about my APN, battery, memory and apparently nothing is the cause. That is another thing, the memory is horrible. There is never enough space on the phone for apps. I deleted all 600 songs off my phone and I can still only have 5 apps max. Picture quality is mediocre, the sound is poor, screen display is alright, the phone is ridiculously slow and works best on Wifi, and my phone reset automatically at least 5 times a day. Battery is getting worse and worse, the phone does not save my ringtones when I customize them, apps and music force close constantly, and the speaker on the phone calls drop out and the other person cannot hear me. I have had this phone barely a year and it has been a complete waste of money. Research reviews from others and read what they have to say if this does not make you weary. I didn't listen and purchased the phone anyways. Too late to return it by the time customer service responded to me. AVOID COMPLETELY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 363 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next