Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ace Prepaid Smartphone features the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS.
Average Customer Rating:
3.485 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(367 Reviews) 352
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
145
4 stars
78
3 stars
31
2 stars
36
1 star
77
Customer Recommendation65%240 out of 367reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
397 Questions | 704 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
145
4 stars
78
3 stars
31
2 stars
36
1 star
77
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

nice phone.

07/23/2013
By ,
huron,s.d.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little reluctant over the brand of the phone because I had no experience with it. The reviews were positive. I was comparing it to the LG Showtime which was $50 more. The Showtime has a flash on the camera and is about 1/3 inch bigger. Beyond that, that's it.
The Huawei has preformed well. Fast and reliable. A step up from my Samsung Proclaim. The Proclaim was the first smart phone on straight talk offered in our zip code. It sold like hot cakes here. It served it's purpose but the Plus has a far better and advanced system. I had to special order a protector case and screen protector off the Amazon site (Bundle package with stylus pen). Looks amazing. No problem there. Now I have a very functional phone that looks and preforms just like the very expensive ones. Netflix works fine. Browser works well, too.
For the price, it's a pretty fair deal. Unless you're hung up on trendy brand names you might want to consider this one. The smart phone industry has come a long way. Why spend hundreds of dollars if you're just texting and just social networking most of the time? Things that work, get used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Very Good Value

07/23/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 4th ST phone and my second android. My previous android was a low end LG. The experience with this phone is 3X better than the previous. So far it runs every ap smoothly, Runs Youtube videos without a glitch when signal is 2 bars or more (though there may be some buffering at the beginning). This phone runs on Verizon which is much better and faster in the area where I live, rural Michigan. I should have been on Verizon long ago.
The look and feel of this phone are quality. The 4" display is beautiful and it's a good blend; big enough screen yet still small enough to fit in a pocket. It feels thin and sleek and not bulky. While I would not claim this to rival an I-phone it does have that look and feel and a similar experience. For the $$ you will be hard pressed to find a better bang. Compared to an iphone t's 500% cheaper and 80% as good in my opinion. No brainer for a cheap skate like me.
Do yourself a favor and buy a micro SD card immediately (well under $10). Then go into "Settings, Storage, Default storage location" and set the SD card as the default storage location for installed aps. This will prevent you from running out of memory quickly by installing too many aps.
The only area I would appreciate a little more performance is with the battery life. The phone has a 1750 mAh battery, which is big. However, battery performance is just average. Not a deal breaker, if you want a fancy phone with the bells and whistles this is the price you pay. Having a charger in the office or car to top it off is nice to have with this phone.
We shall see how this phone does over time. My LG developed lots of bugs and glitches after a while. So far this phone has exceeded expectations. If you want a great Android on ST through Verizon this phone will not dissapoint. I doubt there currently an ST phone that delivers more bang for the buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Posted 07/23/2013
I would like to ad that this phone comes with an FM tuner and it's a good one. It receives FM broadcasts very well. I use this feature a lot to listen to baseball games.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 23 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

THIS IS THE BEST CELL PHONE. THE PICS R GREAT .

07/23/2013
By ,
PELL CITY, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT RUNS ON VERIAON N GREAT COVERAGE N ALA. IT ADAPS WELL TO FIT WHAT YOU NEED. IT IS THIN N VERY LIGHT. YOU CAN B TALKING ON THE PHONE N A TEXT COME IN IT BEEPS N UR EAR N YOU CAN READ TEXT N WHO SENT IT WHILE TALKING ON PHONE .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Great smart phone for beginner.

07/24/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is greatly improved over my previous LG Optimus. It keeps a charge, has a very nice speaker (I use the alarm feature daily), is easy to navigate and fits my needs. I like the size of the phone and the screen. Also, I get better clarity and reception with it than my home phone, and will soon get rid of it altogether. Some things are intuitive and some are taking a little time to learn. It plays music, movies, swypes and reads books -- what more do you want? The Contacts feature holds not just names, but addresses too. It has a front and rear facing camera, and I found out I can take a picture in less than desirable light and edit it very nicely. I'm still learning it but all in all am very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone
07/24/2013
By ,
Scranton, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must admit, I never heard of the Huawei brand until I started shopping for smart phones. This phone has exceeded my expectations! Great value, great sound and most important, good clear reception on all calls. Very fast when I use the internet too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Very good phone.

07/24/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In all honesty, it was a very annoying en-devour to actually RECEIVE the phone -- but that's a whole different story completely unrelated to this one. When I finally got the phone, it wouldn't turn on at first, but after charging it a bit I realized the battery was just dead. The camera is of decent quality -- they don't mention the front facing camera, its not that great quality .3MP I think, but certainly not that bad either. It runs on verizon towers and so far has worked pretty good on that end. The Ice Cream Sandwich OS is a huge step up, runs very smooth compared to what I had previously had (Samsung Galaxy Proclaim,) and honestly overall the phone has been great. I have never really heard good of Huawei but this phone is very good for the price. My only real complaints are that the speaker is a little more quiet than I would desire, and you cannot use the FM radio without the headphones plugged in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone

07/25/2013
By ,
White Mountains, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone about 6 wks now. I'm very happy with it, the touch screen is very responsive,
easy to use, speaker phone is pretty good. My husband has an Iphone and he is impressed with the Huawei, for the money you get a lot of phone. This is my primary phone, no land line so it gets a lot of use. The battery life is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent phone, great value

07/25/2013
By ,
Bristol, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only owned this phone for a week but it has been great. I have been a straight talk customer for 3 years and wanted to upgrade to a smartphone. The Huawei 881C was the highest rated non-contract phone on Walmart.com (higher than Samsung S3 and iPhone). I'm glad I trusted these reviews. The phone size is perfect and it has features that other phones twice as expensive, do not have. Easy to turn data on/off. Battery life is good. Easy sync to email. For $149, this is an excellent value. And with StraightTalk, <$42 a month for unlimited talk, text and data, if you pay for at least 3 months in advance. I'm very happy with this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Most bang for your buck

07/26/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My previous phone was the Samsung Proclaim/Precedent and this Huawei blows it away. A huge selling point is that this phone runs on the Verizon network unlike the other straight talk androids that run on the Sprint network. Internal memory for apps isn't the greatest but its still more than my old Samsung. To create more space I've rooted my phone, partitioned my sd card and used link2sd so that all my apps are now installed on the sd card. No more memory issues. The 5mp rear camera is great. This phone is also a lot larger than my old one. For the price you cannot beat this phone. Get one now!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone.

07/27/2013
By ,
Hudsonville, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is by far the best phone I have ever bought. I love the fact that I don't need to text anymore. I just us the mic. and talk into it and it will type what I say. I takes good pictures. My son loved this phone so much after using mine he ordered one for himself a week later. I like the price and that I don't need to sign a two year contract.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

So far so good.

07/28/2013
By ,
Fredericksburg VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone for a novice user. I got it about a week ago and have liked it very well so far. Very easy to use and modern design. Do not be turned off by the Huawei branding - the product quality is equal to Samsung, just cheaper! If you order, do so directly through straight talk to get a $20 Walmart gift card as part of the deal for the same price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Nice for the price

07/28/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Ascend Plus to replace my LG Optimus Q which at best was an "OK" phone. The Ascend Plus is my 2nd Android with Smart Talk, my 3rd phone with them overall. I like the larger screen, the newer Android, the extra memory, and the front facing camera - and to be back on Verizon instead of Sprint. It is responsive, fast, sounds good, looks good, and the battery seems to be very good. The memory available for apps is not the same as the total memory on the phone - that's normal, but at around 640mb it's more than enough for me. I am very pleased with what I got for my $149 purchase. I am not the type of person who would ever pay $850 for an iPhone 32gb, though would gladly accept one as a present :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Great!!

07/30/2013
By ,
Athens, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with the Straight Talk service and our Huawei phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Love this phone!

07/30/2013
By ,
Southeast Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the phone almost a month and love it. It does everything that the most expensive phones do using the multitude of available free apps. The Android platform takes a little effort to get used to but is great when you figure it out. There is a wealth of info about Androids available on the Internet and even on YouTube. I did install a 32 gig SD card and have no problems with memory. There are lots of cases available on Ebay. The call clarity is much better than my old Blackberry and every bit as good as my flip phone. The cell service has been excellent. I'm not one to stream video or music on my phone so that is no problem for me. I use the Internet a lot so the WiFi is wonderful. The 3G is also great and since I rarely go to places where 4G is available, I certainly don't miss it. I highly recommend this phone. My friends with expensive phones are jealous.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

grrrrrrreat !

08/06/2013
By ,
dothan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i've only had it for a few days now but it's better than I thought it would be.it's fast,voice is clear,speakers are loud enough and it's simple to set up..i'm loving it..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Everything I need in a smartphone, and economical!

08/09/2013
By ,
East Stroudsburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My only complaint is the $60 international card does not let you dial direct to the out of the country number!!!! Annoying!!! Had to order a case online, but that was fine!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

easy to use and dependable

08/10/2013
By ,
Sedalia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The battery life is good, charges fast, transfer of contacts easy, sound quality very good, voice text is very often perfect. I love this phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for the money.

08/14/2013
By ,
Hoschton, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews on this phone I decided to purchase it. This phone does everything I want it to do and for less money then the other phones I was considering. I have had the phone for 2-3 weeks and I am happy with it. Easy to use with instructions that are included and great customer support if you have any questions. I purchased a cover for it online and protected the screen with Ghost Armor that I had installed at the Mall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Love this phone!

08/14/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is everything I hoped for and more. The voice recognition is awesome and makes texting a breeze. I purchased this as a replacement for my Verizon contract and save a bundle. The fact that this runs on Verizon per other reviews is the main reason I purchased it. It has not disappointed a bit!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone
08/17/2013
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had this phone for a week now, and I love it! I have owned iphones, galaxy's, and ST phones all (No Contract# and this is the best so far. I purchased this because I won't use anything but Verizon from now on, the others just don't have the coverage in Utah. This phone is slim, easy to hold in your hand and fast. Comparing it to my last Galaxy3 I would safely say it's a 10 times better value. No more pic messaging problems I had with other "Sim" phones on ST, and the camera is clear and good quality. If you don't need every bell and whistle that comes along #and they will keep coming forever# you will love this phone and save a ton of $$$$.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 353 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next