Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Huawei H881C Ace Prepaid Smartphone features the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS.
Average Customer Rating:
3.485 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(369 Reviews) 354
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
78
3 stars
31
2 stars
37
1 star
77
Customer Recommendation65%241 out of 369reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
399 Questions | 713 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
78
3 stars
31
2 stars
37
1 star
77
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Very cheap - you get what you pay for

07/04/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I expected this phone to act like a $150 phone, which was the original price, but it really acts like a $30 phone. Very, very basic smart phone. It only lets you download 4 simple apps, then the memory is full. The internet is really slow, and crashes often. Even the apps crash every now and again. Wish I had saved up and bought a better, higher end model.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Very good phone.

07/24/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In all honesty, it was a very annoying en-devour to actually RECEIVE the phone -- but that's a whole different story completely unrelated to this one. When I finally got the phone, it wouldn't turn on at first, but after charging it a bit I realized the battery was just dead. The camera is of decent quality -- they don't mention the front facing camera, its not that great quality .3MP I think, but certainly not that bad either. It runs on verizon towers and so far has worked pretty good on that end. The Ice Cream Sandwich OS is a huge step up, runs very smooth compared to what I had previously had (Samsung Galaxy Proclaim,) and honestly overall the phone has been great. I have never really heard good of Huawei but this phone is very good for the price. My only real complaints are that the speaker is a little more quiet than I would desire, and you cannot use the FM radio without the headphones plugged in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Don't waste your money.

06/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very hesitant to buy a smart phone after having very good success with my previous phones. The price of this phone pursueded me to try it knowing that if I didn't like it I wouldn't have wasted too much money. Well, I wasted my money. More often than not, this phone tells me it has stopped responding and asks me if I want to close it. Half the time, it doesn't notify me when I have a text. I have to check it frequently to see if I have missed a text. If your looking for a phone that will make simple calls and texts, then don't buy this one because it doesn't do either consistently.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Makes a Fabulous IP Camera

04/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've got a good, high-speed smartphone with a big screen, so that's not what I was looking for here. What I needed was some inexpensive IP cameras to use for a low-end security application. And, $30 each was the Perfect Price!!
You can buy these android phones by the boatload without a contract for $30 each. Use WIFI to download a free IP Camera app and you are in business. These things are perfect, 5MP camera, complete with power supply and battery backup. I used this model for some applications where I wanted to zoom in to see details, and the 5MP camera made a big difference over the $20 phone's 3MP camera.
In fact, I've build some waterproof boxes by sandwiching the phone between a couple glass panes. (Just don't seal it with regular silicone caulk; acid in it cause corrosion.) I used an off-the shelf solar panel with an automotive charger adapter to keep the battery up. Wonderful.
Don't know anything about it's phone quality (data is turned off), the network, sound (never used them) or CPU speed, other than it works great for my application.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Love this phone!

07/30/2013
By ,
Southeast Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the phone almost a month and love it. It does everything that the most expensive phones do using the multitude of available free apps. The Android platform takes a little effort to get used to but is great when you figure it out. There is a wealth of info about Androids available on the Internet and even on YouTube. I did install a 32 gig SD card and have no problems with memory. There are lots of cases available on Ebay. The call clarity is much better than my old Blackberry and every bit as good as my flip phone. The cell service has been excellent. I'm not one to stream video or music on my phone so that is no problem for me. I use the Internet a lot so the WiFi is wonderful. The 3G is also great and since I rarely go to places where 4G is available, I certainly don't miss it. I highly recommend this phone. My friends with expensive phones are jealous.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone

07/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

NOT SO GREAT!!!

06/29/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone needs improvements! This phone is rather slow and the memory is terrible. Even with a SD card many apps can't transfer to the SD card so you have no other choice but to allow the apps on your phone memory. I did buy this phone on clearance for only $26, so I think it's worth the $26. If I had a paid more than that, I would SURELY send back!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

FRUSTRATED!!

04/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has been NOTHING but frustration since I bought it!! IF I had the money, I'd SMASH it into a million pieces!! One day I was sending my daughter a text message...and the message went out to EVERYONE in my phonebook!! NOT GOOD!! The message was private!! I've had people I don't know, call me and ask WHY?? I keep calling and hanging up on them??? It calls numbers of people on its own... HOW does it do that?? I also can get a text message from someone, says "download", I click on it....it then says "downloading"...then it tells me that it can't download it. I then text the person that sent it, asking what they sent, only to be told they didn't SEND me anything!! So, where?? did the text come from??? It also kicks me off an app ALL of the time!! I can be on Facebook and all of a sudden it takes me back to the app page, or getting an email it returns to app page...I'm SO SORRY I bought this phone!! I don't know how people aren't having issues with it!! I've tried several times to have ST people help me... WHAT A JOKE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Way better than I thought it would be.

06/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a believer in touch tech but this phone is great and works better than my friends phones even the IPhone 4s.
I was hard to find a case that would work on this model but eBay took care of that.. they only have a silicone case but its nice. it even came with screen protectors all for around 5 bucks.
Front cam works better than my old phones only cam with nice res and the rear cam is great so I'm pretty happy with that.
Only con I would say is the built in Google apps update and I will never use them referring to magazines, Books, ect..
All in all, really happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+112points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
vero beach, fl
hard case
Posted 09/05/2013
I found several hard ruberized cases for this phone on ebay at reasonable prices.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Senior's easy to use phone

01/01/2014
By ,
Palm Beach Gardens Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been with ST for 1 year, bought a Huawei H866c a Android version , the phone was easy to navigate although phone was primary just a phone, but could clearly hear it and wasn't losing calls like I did with AT&T, I broke the screen somehow while it was in my pocket. I upgraded to a H88ic I can hear clearly and even had to turn down volume at times, the keys are bigger and I learning new apps. I use this phone for personal and business use and talk to contractor's through out the United States. I would highly recommend this phone to anyone with a hearing problem and is a little slow in thinking process. This phone is easier to use than a Samsung Galaxy 2 which I bought and returned in 3 days, couldn't hear it , the carrier was AT&T and it couldn't hold a signal.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

great phone for price

06/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phome before and it was inevitable when my daugter needed a phone this was the one to buy. Especially since it was only $30 vs $180 (what I paid for it the first time I owned it. )
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Not worth $129

10/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone in Nov. 2013 as a christmas gift and i can honestly say this phone is not worth having. it locks up, operates slower than molasses running up hill, apps crash frequently, the web browser has a very nasty habit of closing the web page you are in the process of reading which is really annoying, straight talk advertises 3g speeds upto 3gb but this phone uses verizon towers so about the only time you will get 3g for more than 5 seconds is around 3am, otherwise data is incredibly slow unless you are connected to wifi. it sometimes can take this phone a week to send a photo through text and occasionally the phone will decide you can't get into your text messages, you will open your texting screen and it will immediately close and you have to restart the phone to even view messages, also you can not save apps to the sd card and you have less than 1gb able to save apps. the speaker volume while in a call is very low compared to other phones i have had and at times i have had trouble hearing the person on the other end of the conversation. skip this phone and go with something else
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

horrible phone

06/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I purchased the phone the speaker was broken. At no fault at Walmart I am sure. Some of the functions like gps did not work on the phone. I play on purchasing a completely different phone here shortly and will not be using straight talk. I have never been so disappointed with straight talk in the many years I have been using them but they are not for me anymore
Recommends this product? No
From TracFone Wireless07/06/2015
Hi. We apologize for this inconvenience. We would need to gather more information. To better assist you, please send us an email at ST.CorpResolutionTeam@straighttalk.com. Please include your name, phone number and the serial number or the IMEI/MEID of the phone. TracFoneWireless
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Nice phone for the Money

08/23/2013
By ,
Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off this is a dual core 2ghz phone so its pretty fast and it doesn't lock up or typically lag. The internal Gpu graphic card is an Adreno 203 which can play some games pretty well but don't expect them all to work after all its a 150.00 dollar phone. Its internal memory is a bit on the low side 512 but the phone works pretty fast when properly set up. I rooted the phone with srs root and got rid of the useless apps that took up space and used an app called force2sd to clear out the apps stored on the phones memory and transferred them to the sd card to speed up the phone even more. The call quality is good fairly loud and the speakerphone is good could be a little louder. The battery life is awesome especially when rooted and properly set up. The internet works pretty well . I had a small problem had to call straight talk and have them switch me to better towers but it did the trick. The camera is ok 5mp has no flash though. Has a front facing camera as well. The screen is nice and clear
And the phone design is pretty nice. I had the lg showtime and it lagged and the browser would always crash and had battery issues. For those wondering if this phone is better than the showtime speed wise and battery life it is . Overall pretty happy with this phone and recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ca
Please disregard above memory comment
Posted 08/23/2013
Ive been using different aps regarding internal memory on this phone and some have told different results. my apologies. Internal memory shows 629mb with 388mb free
+1point
Customer Avatar
Ca
A few corrections
Posted 08/23/2013
Phone is a 1ghz dual core and memory not 100 percent sure but specs say 6Gb internal 712mb for system
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 35 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Love This Phone!!!

06/17/2013
By ,
Davenport, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Straight Talk Smart Phone and was going to be my last, but I decided to try a phone that worked on the Verizon Network. I have service everywhere...I've not lost or dropped a call, or been in a location where my phone or internet hasn't worked. I've downloaded a ton of games for the kids and still have a ton of memory. Would recommend this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jc
need to know if it
Posted 09/28/2013
has mp3 player so I can put songs on it to listen to in my car? thank you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 36 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

good for the $

06/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This smart phone has a good size screen for the $. Has it's Lil quirks.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

I love this phone!!

05/19/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is Awesome. Great size .Very easy to use .and price was awesome for all it can do .Only thing thats I don't like is it dont have the 2nd music player that most androids have but there is always apps for that !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
jc
so
Posted 09/28/2013
does it have a mp3 player?
0points
Customer Avatar
Wellsboro, PA
I'm a bit disappointed and will upgrade soon.
Posted 07/24/2013
5 Megapixel camera and no flash, better be taking all your pictures outdoors. Also it does not have compass capabilities so it can't be used in geocaching via topographic map navigation.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 38 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Wow - no lag!

07/01/2013
By ,
Big Stone Gap, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is the best straight talk phone (in the less than $400 price range) on the market. It has a great size screen, android 4.0 operating system, and a good design (no cheap plastic look/feel). One of my favorite things about the phone is they seem to have everything geared towards google instead of bing (score)!!! It runs on Verizon towers so I have great service everywhere I go. It has a 5mp camera which is good for its price range but unfortunately it does not have a flash. I recently switched from Verizon to straight talk to save money and let me tell you, this baby blows my laggy lg revolution out of the water when it comes to speed. It opens/closes apps quickly, surfs the web quickly and with no problems, and you dont get the annoying system crashes and errors android is known for. It's nice to have a phone that actually functions as a phone rather than a paperweight. It has very limited memory but if you save your apps to your sd card and get a good task killer (I use "advanced task killer" - you can set it up to kill apps youre not using automatically), it will run smoothly. The battery life is average for a smartphone but it charges pretty fast - it can go from dead to full charge in 2 hours. Another thing I love about this phone is it has a data on/off button conveniently on the pull down menu so it's not a hassle to turn the data off when im not
using it (which greatly extends battery life). Overall this a great phone that is a force to be reckoned with even when compared to the most expensive phones on the market. I would recommend it to anyone who has ever wanted to smash their laggy phone against a wall.
Let's recap:
Pros
Android 4.0
Low price
Verizon network
Fast/no lag or crashes
Runs netflix/hulu smoothly
Google search/chrome
Data on/off toggle on pull down menu
Charges quickly
Large screen
Cons
No flash on camera
Low memory - can be easily fixed by storing apps to sd card (not included) and getting a task killer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+175points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent phone, great value

07/25/2013
By ,
Bristol, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only owned this phone for a week but it has been great. I have been a straight talk customer for 3 years and wanted to upgrade to a smartphone. The Huawei 881C was the highest rated non-contract phone on Walmart.com (higher than Samsung S3 and iPhone). I'm glad I trusted these reviews. The phone size is perfect and it has features that other phones twice as expensive, do not have. Easy to turn data on/off. Battery life is good. Easy sync to email. For $149, this is an excellent value. And with StraightTalk, <$42 a month for unlimited talk, text and data, if you pay for at least 3 months in advance. I'm very happy with this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Plus H881C Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone in relation to typical phone cost.

07/28/2013
By ,
Coachella Valley
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think that ALL cell phones cost much more than they need to (hence my 4/5 value score) but in the case of the Huawei Ascend Plus (also known as the Hauwei Ascend Ace) you're getting more for your money compared to other cell phones.
This phone utilizes a somewhat updated Operating System that some even prefer over the new Android 4.2. It features a 1GHz dual core processor. I'm no phone expert, but I know the processor affects speed (and these specs look comparable to other higher end phones). Straight Talk utilizes Verizon towers for this phone- enough said there.
You may have noticed that it is completely touch-screen. I prefer qwerty keyboards because my fingers are too fat to use on-screen keyboards (those with digital "buttons"). I was very hesitant about getting a phone with no key pad. But luckily, the Huawei Ascend Plus has a "swipe" feature which simplifies on-screen texting.
The downside to this phone is the camera: there is no flash and there is about a three second lag time before the picture is actually captured (meaning that you often cannot get the shot you want if you or the photographed object is moving). But the phone DOES have an additional camera that faces the screen (so you can utilize skype video chat or take a picture of yourself). I was hesitant about this phone because I really like flashlight apps that utilize the camera's flash as a flashlight. You can download apps that turn the bright lights on your screen up but it's not as bright.
The back cover (that holds the battery in) is a little flimsy. The battery doesn't last over 36 hours but that's the case for many smart phones (a good task manager application could probably help that). The phone did not come with an SD card (as some do) but I son't think you would need it anyway. The speakers have decent volume but if it isn't good enough for you, the phone came with headphones that incorporate a mic so that this can be used as a hands free device when driving.
This has the best price:quality ratio compared to all other StraightTalk prepaid smartphones that I have seen out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 355 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next