Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

This Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S III features the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS and a 1.5GHz advanced dual-core Qualcomm processor. With access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play, enjoy 3G/WiFi connectivity and a virtual QWERTY keyboard with predictive text. The Straight Talk Samsung phone offers a back 8 megapixel camera and a front 1.9 megapixel webcam so you can easily take amazing pictures or keep in touch with friends and family. With this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S III, you can enjoy the Straight Talk $45/30-day unlimited service plan or the $60/30-day unlimited international service plan.
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(165 Reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
41
Customer Recommendation73%120 out of 165reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
41
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

Awesome phone...please read!

06/08/2013
By ,
hanover, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is just like any other galaxy s3, it is a great phone. it is lightning fast anf has a great screen. the settings and camera features are great. This phone runs on Sprint towers so you need to cck how well sprint works in your area ignore all the other reviews i have good sprint in my area!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
+49points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
sprint / verizon
Posted 08/04/2013
If phone is listed as cdma-s it is on sprint towers ,,
if the phone is listed as cdma-v it is on the verizon networks.
+3points
Customer Avatar
west sacramento,ca
great phOne
Posted 08/01/2013
I see alot of you guys say they run off sprint but they dont it runs off of verizon wireless the best network around
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

Best Smart Phone Yet!!

06/17/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted the S3 ever since it came out but did not want to pay the hefty monthly bill other companies require in order to have it. I was very happy to hear that the S3 was being offered on straight talk & the fact that the Iphone was also being offered did not make me reconsider my purchase for the pricier Iphones being offered. I have just received the Android update 4.1.2 Ice Cream on my S3 as well & I am glad those added features are being offered to s3 users considering how much we paid for the phone! To me the s4's bigger screen & few other updates were not worth the additional cost or waiting time, none of those updates were things I couldn't live without & some of them were things that Samsung would be pushing to the S3 in way of System updates later on anyway. The phone is sleek, the color is great, S Voice is really awesome, Graphics are awesome, The volume could be just a little bit higher for me, The space just on the phone itself is really awesome!! The only issues I have faced are that the Straight talk easy exchange warranty is not available with this phone because of the purchase price, the wal-mart warranty is also not available because of the purchase price & so I need to find a warranty company for the phone. Also my contacts keep getting lost but I think this has something to do with Google contact importing & storing new contacts to the database rather than a issue with the phone itself. I did purchase the Otterbox defender for the phone which I love as well even though it is bulky - the protection is needed! The plastic piece that comes with the otter box is cracked so I need to return that to get a new one but this phone is great. Importing my old phone number from straight talk to the new phone with straight talk was easy. All of my pictures and contacts pulled over. My old phone and new phone were both Android so that made things rather simple. Oh one more issue I did have was in wireless / mobile data availability. The Mobile data network for 4g Coverage was not available in my area so I had to switch to the 3G coverage network but I can switch back to 4g easily if I am in an area that supports 4g networks. Wifi connectivity is very fast & reliable even on the straight talk service!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

Fantastic Phone !!!

06/27/2013
By ,
Poquoson, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have noticed that all of the negative reviews for this phone seem to be because of Sprint being the carrier and this is certainly understandable if you have poor Sprint coverage in your area or where you travel. Fortunately I have good Sprint voice and 4G LTE data coverage both where I live and work and I do very little traveling and so being outside of the coverage area is not a problem for me. And the phone is simply amazing! It has more features and capabilities than I could possibly name here. It has everything I need in a smartphone and is very fast with LTE. And the battery will easily last 36 to 48 hours between charges with normal use. Overall, I would recommend this phone to anyone who has good Sprint coverage in their area and the places they travel. I definitely recommend going to Sprint.com and researching if you have their 4G LTE coverage in your area and the places you may be traveling before you buy! This is certainly true with any phone and carrier. If you have the coverage, this is a simply amazing and fantastic phone!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

Excellent Deal

07/05/2013
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordering it at Walmart was a heck of a lot easier than ordering it from Straight Talk's website and it even saved me money shipping it directly to the store! Only problem is that it's advertised as 4G and it is not because per Straight Talk they don't have 4G capability yet. Other than that the phone is awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

Worth it

07/20/2013
By ,
Tucson, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I feel like it is a decent phone, the service is my area is not too bad, and at home and school i have wi-fi just in case. The phone is easy to use and has all the features that I was looking to have in a phone, and a few others that i didn't know existed. like I say it was worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great phone which is also a mini computer, camera,

08/12/2013
By ,
Park City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It just took me a day to learn the basic operations of this phone. The "Quick Reference Manual" has more details than the Services Guide which is mainly full of "Terms & Conditions". When calling a doctors office recently where you push this or that button and before I got to the right office my phone went black. I got cut off of the phone call before I could get my screen back to push another set of buttons to reach the right office so I wasn't happy with that because I had to start all over again. I am still, after a couple of weeks use, trying to find more details on operations. For instance, I want to post some pictures & videos on Facebook but cannot find any instructions on how to do that. I can't find any information on how to get pictures or videos out of the phone itself. Also, I want to delete a bunch of pictures & videos but, again, cannot find any information on how to do that. I am checking different internet sites but haven't found one giving me the information I need. I wish and am hoping there is a Samsung site with a manual giving all information on what is possible and ways to do various operations. I am not using my Gmail through my phone because, after my pictures experience, I don't want a bunch of emails coming in and not be able to delete or know how to handle them so I am using my laptop for all emails. I haven't explored other operations yet as I was busy with a big community event where I took a lot of pictures & videos that are now locked in my phone. In the middle of videoing the finish of a major bike race a phone call came in stopping the video right when the first group went through the finish line. I want to find out if I can turn my phone off so that doesn't stop a video again or how to handle that. I have had Straight Talk with an older phone for about 5 years and was pleasantly surprised that I could have this top rated phone with an inexpensive monthy $45 service. The only other thing I would like from Walmart or Samsung is an insurance plan to cover loss, theft, water damage. I am still checking on other companies coverage but would have liked a discounted coverage plan through Walmart as this is a pretty expensive phone. I would post a picture or video of my phone below where this review says it is optional but I can't find out how to do that. Oh, I also bought Offgrid, a thin battery case when I bought my phone. This battery case is a protection case but also offers 4.5 hours charging time and the case also came with a screen protector.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

Awesome phone!

08/15/2013
By ,
St Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 6 of these for my Family and I and we love them!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone
08/16/2013
By ,
kingston, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone and works great with straight talk !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

Easy to use!!

08/28/2013
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves this phone. He is in middle school and has had no problems setting it up. It is very user friendly even for first time smart phone users. We have a few samsung products in our household and they have always been reliable so we bought this phone. It is very light, thin and the display is very bright/colorful.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

Awesome phone

08/29/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome phone. If it were on the Verizon network it would be the absolute best phone out there. As it is on the Sprint network it has limitations, but otherwise it is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

Love the phone!!!!

08/29/2013
By ,
Matthews, In.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the phone but do not get a good signal. It will whistle when I have no message and not whistle a lot of the time when I have a message. Have had calls cut off because of no signal. Sometimes hard to navigate to the site I want to go to. Maybe with more time I can find my way around better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

Purchased for my husband's birthday this month

08/29/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband had the Galaxy S II before but absolutely loves some of the newer features or bells and whistles if you will. He loves this phone almost a month later is still learning new commands. He especially loves the option where he can take like 20 photos with one click, and he absolutely loves the speed of the phone and the talk command.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

Nice phone

08/31/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Android Phone, reception a little weak in several areas but has not failed to work. Takes good pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone
09/21/2013
By ,
Fleming Island , Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone. If you've never owned a smartphone you may need someone help you set it up. Also you can go online a get the user manual, which will help.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

great phone !

10/10/2013
By ,
duluth,mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone and delivery was on time actually I got it the day before.thanks a bunch.ill be doing more online purchases
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

Easy

10/27/2013
By ,
Branson, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

A GOOD PHONE

11/02/2013
By ,
surf city nc.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LIVE IN fl AND SO FAR THERE ARE ONLY A FEW PLACES I DONT GET COVERAGE WIOTH THIS PHONE ITS QUICK AND RELIABLE
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

It pays to buy this product

11/02/2013
By ,
orlando FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this same phone from another carrier and I paid over $100 a month after taxes with a two year contract. On top of that I pay $200 upfront for the phone. If you buy this galaxy you will paid $425 taxes included for the phone and $48.70 a month for your services internet included. Do the math you will save more than $1200 on that two years if you choose straight talk. That is way I said it pays to buy this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

Amazing Phone! RUNS OFF VERIZON TOWERS

11/03/2013
By ,
Princess Anne, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I called straight talk before I purchased this phone to see what towers this phone would run off of, in my area it will be running off of verizon towers. SO it is available for verizon now which makes it ten times better!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+20points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
There are TWO versions of the SIII !!! Beware!
Posted 12/17/2013
Anybody who may be reading this review, it should have been posted under the S968C as this particular phone, the S960L is NOT on Verizon but on Sprint.
Straight Talk has TWO versions of the SIII that are being sold through Walmart.
One is this phone, the S960L, which uses Sprint and is a true 4G LTE device.
The other is the S968C which uses Verizon but is limited to 3G only.
Both phones have essentially the same features and are the same price. Be sure when ordering that you are choosing the one you desire. The Verizon version will not mention anywhere in its description that it is LTE where the Sprint version will.
+1point
There are TWO versions of the SIII !!!
Posted 12/17/2013
Anybody who may be reading this review, it should have been posted under the S968C as this particular phone, the S960L is NOT on Verizon but on Sprint.
Straight Talk has TWO versions of the SIII that are being sold through Walmart.
One is this phone, the S960L, which uses Sprint and is a true 4G LTE device.
The other is the S968C which uses Verizon but is limited to 3G only.
Both phones have essentially the same features and are the same price. Be sure when ordering that you are choosing the one you desire. The Verizon version will not mention anywhere in its description that it is LTE where the Sprint version will.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Pre-Paid Smartphone

this is an awesome device!!!!

12/04/2013
By ,
va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AWSOME!!!! More than my expectations. Wish everyone I know had one of these. Clear sound, easy instructions, voice activated and sooooooooooooo much more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
1-20 of 156 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next