Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

The H883G W1 Straight Talk Huawei Windows 8 Phone features the Windows Phone 8 OS, a four inch touchscreen and a five megapixel camera with a video recording function. This smartphone also has a microSD slot for an SD card up to 32GB, so you can add plenty of extra storage space for music, videos, pictures and apps. With 3G/WiFi connectivity, the prepaid Huawei smartphone can also to browse the Internet and download your favorite apps on Google Play. The phone is Hearing Aid Compatible (HAC) and it comes complete with a battery, a charger, an activation card and a manual.
Average Customer Rating:
3.72 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation69%52 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
89 Questions | 135 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone
06/18/2013
By ,
mount holly,n.c.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is not what it appears to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Birmingham, AL
?
Posted 06/25/2013
Could you please explain? What's wrong with this phone? You are giving it one star rating but not saying anything about it.
+4points
Customer Avatar
How so?
Posted 06/21/2013
Could you elaborate a little on why it isn't what it seems?
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT GET!!!!

10/15/2013
By ,
Ontario, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am disappointed with this phone not the service. I love the straight talk service, i haven't had any problems with it. The phone on the other hand I HATE! I spent 300$ on the phone and I have had it for 4 months. I loved it at first but now I hate it. It does not have many popular apps that the IPhone and Android have like Instagram or SMS pro. I bought a 16gb SD card that is not even half way full but it wont let me take pictures or text people back with out deleting pictures, saying there is no storage. It turns off randomly, the apps that I do have don't work most of the time. They randomly close, and pandora skips constantly. SAVE YOUR MONEY and GET A GOOD PHONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Not a good smartphone

08/06/2013
By ,
Flushing
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
no apps but that is not very bad. the windows store is very slow while searched. even the basic app like web browser internet explorer on windows phone is a very poor browser, it does not load pages good enough and makes too much mistakes. the other browser available is also poor in performance. only 512mb ram makes browser and windows store very slow. all other basic apps are fine but browsing is the basic for every smartphone. this phone can not do this well. chatting on Skype makes phone very hot. windows phone 8 is more bad than traditional windows found on laptops and desktops.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

One month later, still no service

09/06/2013
By ,
Imperial Beach CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yeah we have the phone. The only good thing was it came a day earlier than expected. Oh and it stays charged. And you can make a call; not receive one though.
You can't text.
You can't get any internet.
You can get the run around trying to get your phone fixed.
My husband wanted a Windows Phone. He has a Windows "outgoing calls only" phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Worst phone.

01/17/2014
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst phone I ever had. Can not move any app's to your memory card. So the memory in the phone gets use up fast, and it is slow on the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

worst phone ever.......

06/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is the worst phone I have ever had. I bought this phone an upgrade from my 30 dollar phone, but now I prefer my 30 dollar phone over this phone. I do not recommend this phone to anyone. It is a huge disappointment. Do not waste your money. If you're getting the phone with straight talk, prepare to be frustrated. They do not help you when it breaks. My phone was replaced after it broke the first time and a couple months later it was broke again. No one get this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Harrisbug, PA
Posted 08/05/2014
could it be that you keep breaking the phone?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone, horrible service/connection

06/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone ( or the one I had ) operated on the T Mobile network.....which STINKS. I loved the phone and the Windows OS worked great. Good camera.....and YES I love the Windows OS!! It is limited in some ways compared to Android but I think it will continue to evolve. Stay away from ANYTHING on the T Mobile Network. GAG
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

STRAIGHT TALK HUAWEI H883G

07/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LIKE PHONE I HAV ISSUES AT HOME DROP CALLS DEAD SPOTS IN MY HOME IS THERE A ANTENNA THAT WILL HELP
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Does not bode well

08/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice phone if you never had a phone. Much like when Mac started up against Microsoft. Nice product but nothing you have works on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

NO UPDATES

07/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If You like Windows Phones, don't buy them from Straight Talk. Try T-Mobile because Straight Talk does not offer Windows 8.1 or any updates for that matter. There are a few bugs that Microsoft fixed but Straight Talk will not give the updates so you are buying a broken phone. Be warned, there are crashes and hangs and your memory runs out. eventually you have to reinstall the phone and start again. This needs to be done about once a month and then you still get the crashes.
If you want a no contract windows phone, get it from T-Mobile as they offer 8.1.
Below is a response from Microsoft clearly stating that they will not give the fixes for this phone. So they are selling a broken phone through Straight Talk as a result.
[I] I am e-mailing you in reference to the issue of not receiving the update to your phone. We have communicated these concerns with Straight Talk. Unfortunately, it does not look like we are able to influence their release of update 3 at this time.
I see you are already aware of your options and choices regarding this, so I'll spare you that list. We are going to go ahead and archive this case at this time. If you have any further questions or anything regarding this issue, feel free to reply to the e-mail and we'll address it as best we can.
Thank you for your patience in this matter. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.[/I]
I thought Satya Nadella was taking a mobile first approach, obviously not.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Saint Johnsbury, VT
Windows 8.1
Posted 09/06/2014
The Windows 8.1 update is not based on your carrier, so it has absolutely NOTHING to do with Straight Talk. Right now the ONLY way to get the 8.1 update is to be registered as a Windows developer, and then to download the developers app from the Windows Store. As 8.1 is still being developed and is still in beta, use your discretion, however I have upgraded to it and have not had any problems.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

HUGE Irreversible Storage Issue!

09/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Short:
This phone will not delete many files including temporary internet files, making it eventually full of storage and only temporarily resolved through a factory reset.
The Long:
This phone comes with windows 8. Windows 8 has an issue where you can't delete files sorted as "Other". This can be many things, including temporary internet files and items downloaded through apps. Windows has an update for this phone, which fixes this issue, but this is of no use to Straight Talk users. Straight Talk does not allow phones to be updated, blocking any ability for you to go from windows 8 to 8.1. This means that you will eventually run out of storage space thanks to your "Other" section. The only temporary solution is to reset the phone, which just starts you all over again with the eventual full storage and no hope of an update to permanently fix the issue. Avoid purchasing this phone, or any phone through Straight Talk that starts with windows 8, and you will be happier for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Poor Customer Service

07/04/2014
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchase this phone in Dec as a gift for myself. It broke late June and since I had a warranty I called to check to replace the phone. I ask the rep do I get a used one, my repair one or a new one. "Oh yes you will get a new phone". When I got the box to ship my phone to them I call back and told the rep that I worry about sending my phone and not sure what I will get back. Again I ask do I get my back repair or a new one. AGAIN "Oh you will get a new phone". So yesterday in the mail I got the phone and it was a rebuilt one. I called and told by several reps said its not in the notes that I would get a new phone. I ask are you saying I got to suck it up and take this phone. Rep said "yes you do". I told the reps the calls was on their recorded line what I was told. Every time I was being transfer to a supv they disconnect the call. So $200 of my money is gone.
BTW I also paid for their $20 replacement plan on their site and that didn't help me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

waste of time and money!!!

11/11/2013
By ,
Gibsonton FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this thing a few months ago, and as you can tell from the price drop since that time, it's not such a good phone. this thing has severely disappointed after this short time. the headphone jack no longer works, the outer loud speaker is blown out, there's a red line down the screen (didn't even drop it), even with a large gig memory card the data tops out and fills the phone up. of course there's the lack of battery life to account for. the system it runs on can't take much work before it forgets what it's doing. all in all i'd say i wasted money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Hoeeivle review
Posted 12/02/2013
Sounds to me like this guy doesnt take care of his stuff. The 1.2 dual core processor alone boasts test speeds that were amazing. Also sounds like this guy leaves his phone plugged in entirely too often and wore out his battery as a test the phone ran over 7 hours of video playbak at half birghtness. This guy is disgruntled for what ever reason but most likely his own operator failures.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Unhappy with this phone

11/22/2013
By ,
Charleston, WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed in this phone. I didn't get a chance to use this because the Huawei phone was delivered with the wrong size battery twice. I gave up in trying to get this phone . I even called the manufacture to inform them that the battery was wrong. The manufacture was unable to send the correct battery stated they didn't sale parts for the phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Would not know

09/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Online indicated phone would work in our zip code area. Got the phone did not work, Went to Walmart tried to buy a different phone. Would not transfer phone number to new phone, Had to purchase new card and get new phone number to get old phone to work. Customer service at Walmart store great.
WILL NOT BUY A PHONE FROM WALMART ON LINE AGAIN.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Poor Quality for The Price

12/30/2013
By ,
Selden NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone Dec. 26. I returned it this morning. The phone kept freezing up. I kept getting a message across the screen that said "resuming". Resuming what, i have no idea because I could not exit from this no matter what I tried. I could not turn the phone off. After 5 minutes of "resuming" the phone turned itself off and I was unable to turn it back on. I took the battery out and waited a few minutes, put it back in, and it started back up. Taking the battery out was the only way out of this "resuming" lockup. This happened way too many times. For $200, I should have a phone that I can use when I need it, and not worry about this "resuming" situation. I could not even make an emergency call if i needed to. The service kept going out too frequently. And that vibration every time you went to access something became quite annoying. But the lock up problem was horrible. I would not buy again and would not recommend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alpena, Mi.
Mines working great!
Posted 04/25/2014
I haven't have any problems with it for 6 months now, maybe there's something wrong with the one you got. Sorry to hear this because it's a fun phone and very smart, almost as good as my laptop.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

do not buy this phone

07/05/2013
By ,
maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First off the phone is a great phone. it's fast, has enough room to store all kinds of stuff and the windows 8 interface is good, that is where it stops. I have been with straight talk for over 4 years, I have has this phone for 45 days and the phone itself is good but straight talk is for the birds. I have had NO mms since day one, have spoken to at least 10 people at straight talk and they say it is not on there end. from June 4th to July 4th I used 163 MB of data, when my phone service renewed on July 4th my internet would no longer work. called straight talk and after 37 minutes on the phone they sent me to a auto message saying i was using high amounts of data and the phone system hung up on me....REALLY. the phone now has a purple line going up the middle of the screen and even after restoring it the line is still there. I have called straight talk more then once about this phone and have tried to get them to either replace the phone or refund my money, all they do is keep side stepping it and try to fix my phone through the system. called AT&T for which the phone runs on through straight talk and they were totally lost as to why it will not send or receive pictures via text. ask a straight talk rep for the internet apn and the mms apn's are like trying to milk a bull, they will not give you them you have to google the heck out of the internet to try and find them.
Is the phone a good phone....YES is the service that comes along with it.... NO.
I am calling them once again today to try and get my money back and I will NOT be buying another straight talk phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Crystal Falls MI
Posted 08/03/2013
I think your internet was slow and why you could not send messages is because you may of ran out of room on your memory card that would be my guess
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Okay phone for a beginner, teen, or kid

11/13/2013
By ,
Clovis CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Like every other phone there are good and bad things about this phone. This phone is an average touch screen phone but to me there are more of the bad than the good. I'll start out with the good things of this phone. When connected to wifi this phone works pretty fast depending on your wifi connection. The battery life is also good depending on how much you charge it or use it. The camera is also pretty good but sometimes the pictures you take are yellowish orange. The bad things about this phone is that in order to see your battery life while you use the phone, you have to download the app for it which is kind of weird, the phone will also just shut down when it is on low battery and wont turn on until you charge it and its fully charge. The gbs for this phone are also very little so if your planning onto download games and apps i highly recommend you to buy a micro sd card. What annoys me a lot about this phone is that when it dies or you run out of battery and turn it back on, you have to keep resetting your date and time even though you have it on automatic. its not like an iphone or other phones where you just turn it on and it will give you the right time. for this phone you'll have to keep changing it and resetting it. If these bad things about this phone dont matter to you or its ok i highly recommend this phone but if it does matter to you highly recommend you to not get it .
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Not as good as I had hoped it would be.

10/22/2013
By ,
Iowa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading many reviews and comparisons online about this phone, I was very excited to get it. I have had this phone for four days and am already disappointed with my purchase. I'm going back to Android.
The screen size is great and so is the camera with flash. I love it that I can have both my work and personal e-mail accounts linked on this phone. I love the tiles and the ease of use. The internet browser doesn't spontaneously close while in the middle of reading something.
Now for the bad. The internet browser is awful. I need the capability to click on drop-down headers and it won't do that. I just keeps bringing me back to the same screen. I have to type in a paragraph to find anything. I'm used to putting in a few words that will find what I want. In the IE browser, there is no comma in the keyboard...weird. I can't have more that one browser window open at a time and I can't close one that I don't want to leave up.
Facebook is quite lacking. Can't get notifications to push through on my phone. Can't tag anyone when sharing a photo. Can't enlarge a photo when viewing it.
Forget about watching any YouTube videos. It buffers too much and takes three times longer to watch than it should.
It has already frozen on me trying to type an e-mail.
I had read that the phone was very fast when processing. I haven't experienced this. My two year old Android works faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Fast but buggy

05/25/2013
By ,
GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is fast and furious. The Windows 8 interface is streamlined and the apps fly with the 1.2 GHz dual-core processor. Web browsing is a bit slow, even when using a fast WiFi connection. The phone got stuck a few times and I had to remove the battery to restart it, which is not something you want to do because of the phone's flimsy back cover. The last straw occurred when the battery was showing 0% after being plugged in all night. Removing the battery yet again solved the problem temporarily as the battery showed 100% again. The phone looks and feels good, but is too buggy for me to recommend it to anyone. Needless to say, I returned mine two days after I purchased it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next