Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

The H883G W1 Straight Talk Huawei Windows 8 Phone features the Windows Phone 8 OS, a four inch touchscreen and a five megapixel camera with a video recording function. This smartphone also has a microSD slot for an SD card up to 32GB, so you can add plenty of extra storage space for music, videos, pictures and apps. With 3G/WiFi connectivity, the prepaid Huawei smartphone can also to browse the Internet and download your favorite apps on Google Play. The phone is Hearing Aid Compatible (HAC) and it comes complete with a battery, a charger, an activation card and a manual.
Average Customer Rating:
3.947 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation74%42 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone
06/18/2013
By ,
mount holly,n.c.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is not what it appears to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-71points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Birmingham, AL
?
Posted 06/25/2013
Could you please explain? What's wrong with this phone? You are giving it one star rating but not saying anything about it.
+3points
Customer Avatar
How so?
Posted 06/21/2013
Could you elaborate a little on why it isn't what it seems?
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Not a good smartphone

08/06/2013
By ,
Flushing
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
no apps but that is not very bad. the windows store is very slow while searched. even the basic app like web browser internet explorer on windows phone is a very poor browser, it does not load pages good enough and makes too much mistakes. the other browser available is also poor in performance. only 512mb ram makes browser and windows store very slow. all other basic apps are fine but browsing is the basic for every smartphone. this phone can not do this well. chatting on Skype makes phone very hot. windows phone 8 is more bad than traditional windows found on laptops and desktops.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-11points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

One month later, still no service

09/06/2013
By ,
Imperial Beach CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yeah we have the phone. The only good thing was it came a day earlier than expected. Oh and it stays charged. And you can make a call; not receive one though.
You can't text.
You can't get any internet.
You can get the run around trying to get your phone fixed.
My husband wanted a Windows Phone. He has a Windows "outgoing calls only" phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT GET!!!!

10/15/2013
By ,
Ontario, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am disappointed with this phone not the service. I love the straight talk service, i haven't had any problems with it. The phone on the other hand I HATE! I spent 300$ on the phone and I have had it for 4 months. I loved it at first but now I hate it. It does not have many popular apps that the IPhone and Android have like Instagram or SMS pro. I bought a 16gb SD card that is not even half way full but it wont let me take pictures or text people back with out deleting pictures, saying there is no storage. It turns off randomly, the apps that I do have don't work most of the time. They randomly close, and pandora skips constantly. SAVE YOUR MONEY and GET A GOOD PHONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

waste of time and money!!!

11/11/2013
By ,
Gibsonton FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this thing a few months ago, and as you can tell from the price drop since that time, it's not such a good phone. this thing has severely disappointed after this short time. the headphone jack no longer works, the outer loud speaker is blown out, there's a red line down the screen (didn't even drop it), even with a large gig memory card the data tops out and fills the phone up. of course there's the lack of battery life to account for. the system it runs on can't take much work before it forgets what it's doing. all in all i'd say i wasted money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Hoeeivle review
Posted 12/02/2013
Sounds to me like this guy doesnt take care of his stuff. The 1.2 dual core processor alone boasts test speeds that were amazing. Also sounds like this guy leaves his phone plugged in entirely too often and wore out his battery as a test the phone ran over 7 hours of video playbak at half birghtness. This guy is disgruntled for what ever reason but most likely his own operator failures.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Unhappy with this phone

11/22/2013
By ,
Charleston, WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed in this phone. I didn't get a chance to use this because the Huawei phone was delivered with the wrong size battery twice. I gave up in trying to get this phone . I even called the manufacture to inform them that the battery was wrong. The manufacture was unable to send the correct battery stated they didn't sale parts for the phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Poor Quality for The Price

12/30/2013
By ,
Selden NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone Dec. 26. I returned it this morning. The phone kept freezing up. I kept getting a message across the screen that said "resuming". Resuming what, i have no idea because I could not exit from this no matter what I tried. I could not turn the phone off. After 5 minutes of "resuming" the phone turned itself off and I was unable to turn it back on. I took the battery out and waited a few minutes, put it back in, and it started back up. Taking the battery out was the only way out of this "resuming" lockup. This happened way too many times. For $200, I should have a phone that I can use when I need it, and not worry about this "resuming" situation. I could not even make an emergency call if i needed to. The service kept going out too frequently. And that vibration every time you went to access something became quite annoying. But the lock up problem was horrible. I would not buy again and would not recommend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Worst phone.

01/17/2014
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst phone I ever had. Can not move any app's to your memory card. So the memory in the phone gets use up fast, and it is slow on the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

do not buy this phone

07/05/2013
By ,
maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First off the phone is a great phone. it's fast, has enough room to store all kinds of stuff and the windows 8 interface is good, that is where it stops. I have been with straight talk for over 4 years, I have has this phone for 45 days and the phone itself is good but straight talk is for the birds. I have had NO mms since day one, have spoken to at least 10 people at straight talk and they say it is not on there end. from June 4th to July 4th I used 163 MB of data, when my phone service renewed on July 4th my internet would no longer work. called straight talk and after 37 minutes on the phone they sent me to a auto message saying i was using high amounts of data and the phone system hung up on me....REALLY. the phone now has a purple line going up the middle of the screen and even after restoring it the line is still there. I have called straight talk more then once about this phone and have tried to get them to either replace the phone or refund my money, all they do is keep side stepping it and try to fix my phone through the system. called AT&T for which the phone runs on through straight talk and they were totally lost as to why it will not send or receive pictures via text. ask a straight talk rep for the internet apn and the mms apn's are like trying to milk a bull, they will not give you them you have to google the heck out of the internet to try and find them.
Is the phone a good phone....YES is the service that comes along with it.... NO.
I am calling them once again today to try and get my money back and I will NOT be buying another straight talk phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Crystal Falls MI
Posted 08/03/2013
I think your internet was slow and why you could not send messages is because you may of ran out of room on your memory card that would be my guess
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Fast but buggy

05/25/2013
By ,
GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is fast and furious. The Windows 8 interface is streamlined and the apps fly with the 1.2 GHz dual-core processor. Web browsing is a bit slow, even when using a fast WiFi connection. The phone got stuck a few times and I had to remove the battery to restart it, which is not something you want to do because of the phone's flimsy back cover. The last straw occurred when the battery was showing 0% after being plugged in all night. Removing the battery yet again solved the problem temporarily as the battery showed 100% again. The phone looks and feels good, but is too buggy for me to recommend it to anyone. Needless to say, I returned mine two days after I purchased it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Not sure what to think

09/09/2013
By ,
Eau Claire, Wi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this phone the other day and immediately had problems. While the set up was a little different, it wasn't hard to figure out. Calls and texts worked immediately as I had expected since I had just placed my old SIM card into it. However, the internet ONLY worked when I was in an area that had Wi-Fi, which I wasn't happy about. I couldn't use it outside or in the car like my other phone. I downloaded a few apps including Facebook and realized they only had Pinterest Lite which I didn't like, and no Candy Crush. While this might not be a big deal to some, these are the only 3 apps I use and I would like to have access to them If I'm buying a new phone. Anyways, after about 2 hours my calling and texting stopped working and the internet all together (even in Wi-Fi areas) I called Straight talk and after talking to 4 people was told AT & T had an outage and to wait 24 hours. I did. And still nothing worked, I called again and they said to wait an additional 24 hours. After not having a phone for 2 days I decided to return it and get my money back. Only way i'll be using Straight Talk is if the phone uses Verizon towers. This one, however, does not. This phone wasn't for me, but maybe you'll have better luck in your area.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Not as good as I had hoped it would be.

10/22/2013
By ,
Iowa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading many reviews and comparisons online about this phone, I was very excited to get it. I have had this phone for four days and am already disappointed with my purchase. I'm going back to Android.
The screen size is great and so is the camera with flash. I love it that I can have both my work and personal e-mail accounts linked on this phone. I love the tiles and the ease of use. The internet browser doesn't spontaneously close while in the middle of reading something.
Now for the bad. The internet browser is awful. I need the capability to click on drop-down headers and it won't do that. I just keeps bringing me back to the same screen. I have to type in a paragraph to find anything. I'm used to putting in a few words that will find what I want. In the IE browser, there is no comma in the keyboard...weird. I can't have more that one browser window open at a time and I can't close one that I don't want to leave up.
Facebook is quite lacking. Can't get notifications to push through on my phone. Can't tag anyone when sharing a photo. Can't enlarge a photo when viewing it.
Forget about watching any YouTube videos. It buffers too much and takes three times longer to watch than it should.
It has already frozen on me trying to type an e-mail.
I had read that the phone was very fast when processing. I haven't experienced this. My two year old Android works faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

good windows phone for ST but eh...

10/24/2013
By ,
hermitage, pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
decent size phone. notifications (calls, texts) are NOT loud at all. does not run on google play, it runs on windows/microsoft store. keyboard is decent, but not my favorite, but im snoopy on my phones........only had it for two months and wish i could return it :(
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Okay phone for a beginner, teen, or kid

11/13/2013
By ,
Clovis CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Like every other phone there are good and bad things about this phone. This phone is an average touch screen phone but to me there are more of the bad than the good. I'll start out with the good things of this phone. When connected to wifi this phone works pretty fast depending on your wifi connection. The battery life is also good depending on how much you charge it or use it. The camera is also pretty good but sometimes the pictures you take are yellowish orange. The bad things about this phone is that in order to see your battery life while you use the phone, you have to download the app for it which is kind of weird, the phone will also just shut down when it is on low battery and wont turn on until you charge it and its fully charge. The gbs for this phone are also very little so if your planning onto download games and apps i highly recommend you to buy a micro sd card. What annoys me a lot about this phone is that when it dies or you run out of battery and turn it back on, you have to keep resetting your date and time even though you have it on automatic. its not like an iphone or other phones where you just turn it on and it will give you the right time. for this phone you'll have to keep changing it and resetting it. If these bad things about this phone dont matter to you or its ok i highly recommend this phone but if it does matter to you highly recommend you to not get it .
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

great phone with limited apps

01/13/2014
By ,
Durham, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the phone but because of the limited apps I chose to return it and go with an android. The main reason for the Switch though is the at&t reception which was very poor in my area. Great phone poor reception
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone
06/01/2013
By ,
edwardsville, il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
have had this phone for 3 days and am really pleased. i have already been using a windows phone for a year(samsung focus) so am used to this operating system. smooth, simple to use and fun. the only reason i gave it a 4 for expectations is the display and the keyboard. the display is very good but compared to my old samsung focus super amoled screen, it is not as clear, colors are not as vivid and it is not as bright. the keyboard seems a little sluggish to me. all in all the internet experience is fast and fluid. decent camera. well worth the money. have been with straight talk for 3 years and am convinced it is the only way to go. contracts are ridiculously expensive. speaker is loud and calls are clear at both ends. fantastic battery life. no regrets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+128points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Phone is great, Straight talk is the issue

06/08/2013
By ,
Nebraska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone itself is great. It is fast, easy to navigate. I enjoy the phone and would recommend it to anybody for the price.
The problem I have had is with Straight talk. They do not have their system set up for this windows phone properly so I am unable to send or receive MMS messages. I spent hours on the phone with straight talk, and eventually they told me it was a problem with the phone I bought. I took it back and bought a new one, and still have the same problem. Just thought I would share this so people understand the situation at hand when buying this Windows phone
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+93points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Denver
can you play candy crush on this phone
Posted 10/16/2013
hi I was wondering can you play candy crush saga on this phone cause I have this phone on lay way but I want candy crush on it let me know if you know we can download candy crush game thanks
0points
Customer Avatar
Wisconsin
APN settings
Posted 07/28/2013
I have some APN settings you could try. I had the same issues with an old phone that I purchased and transferred my SIM to and for about a week I tried everything and finally found my friend had a gsm sim and looked at her settings, put them into my phone and VIOLA!!!
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Decent Phone, A Few Drawbacks

07/05/2013
By ,
Small Town, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When this phone first came out, I was super excited that Straight Talk was finally offering a Windows phone. The only thing that bothered me about it was that the phone was a brand I wasn't familiar with (Huawei).
I finally decided to try it a couple of days ago, however, and so far I'm a happy customer.
A couple of things I don't like about the phone are:
-The camera is not built into the phone like it is on, say, an iPhone. The lens sticks out a teeny bit so when you set your phone down on it's back, it's resting on the camera lens. This might not be a big deal for other people but I'm a photographer so my lens are treated with extra special care.
-The back cover for the phone is super flimsy and hard to take off. I feel like it would be easy to snap it right in half if you weren't careful in removing it. Luckily, I haven't had any reason to take it on and off other than for the initial set up of the phone.
-There are practically NO cases for this phone. I've found a sturdier one on Amazon (a boring black and blue for color), a couple of hard back covers that really don't protect the phone, and that's it. If you're a clutz like me and have an issue with dropping your phone, then beware! :P
I'm sure the lack of cases is due to the fact that this phone is pretty new and a not yet popular brand as well.
Other than that, this seems like a pretty decent phone. It's super fast when connected to WiFi, call quality is decent, the keyboard is pretty quick, music quality is excellent (sounds like my iPod), data seems to work pretty well, battery life is good...
Overall, it's a pretty decent phone for a prepaid. I think it's one I'll be keeping unless I run in to problems within the next few days.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone
07/16/2013
By ,
Midland, Mi.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall phone is very responsive with a ok camera,4 GB internal memory is ok just wish you could send apps to SD at least you can send all pics and music to sd. There is a small learning curve coming from an android phone but not too bad, love the live tiles, cloud drive and the fact my cell phone bill is now 1/2 of what I use to pay !!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 20 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Good phone for the money, Here's the good and bad.

07/22/2013
By ,
Springfield, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The good.
This phone has1.2GHZ Dual Core Processor4 GB internal memory, if you want to store alot of music videos and photo i recommend a getting a microSD card. A 32GB microSD card is the largest this phone can support.
Camera's
rear facing cam is a 5 megapixel camera and video recorder LED flash
front facing camera is a VGA 0.3 megapixel camera and video recorder
4'' IPS LCD touchscreen made of Gorilla Glass (high scratch resistance)
The best thing about this phone it uses AT&T network in my area. (most of straight talks smart phones use Sprint's network and their coverage is terrible.)
Easy to set up just follow the steps on the screen or open manual.
If you have a Xbox 360 get the smart glass app to use this phone with your Xbox 360
The Bad
As of right now the Apps in Windows Phone store are lacking
One last thing
Also you can take the sim card out of this phone and put it into any at&t smart phone change the apn settings on the phone to straight talks and your golden.
Any questions feel free to ask!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
RTP, NC
You can use Skype for video calls
Posted 03/12/2014
I am able to use Skype on this W1 phone to video chat with Iphone or Ipod Touch with Skype on it.
0points
Customer Avatar
Hensley AR
Need More info
Posted 09/16/2013
Do you know if this phone has face time chat like the I phone's since it says it has a front facing camera?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next