Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

The H883G W1 Straight Talk Huawei Windows 8 Phone features the Windows Phone 8 OS, a four inch touchscreen and a five megapixel camera with a video recording function. This smartphone also has a microSD slot for an SD card up to 32GB, so you can add plenty of extra storage space for music, videos, pictures and apps. With 3G/WiFi connectivity, the prepaid Huawei smartphone can also to browse the Internet and download your favorite apps on Google Play. The phone is Hearing Aid Compatible (HAC) and it comes complete with a battery, a charger, an activation card and a manual.
Average Customer Rating:
3.72 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation69%52 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
90 Questions | 135 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Fast but buggy

05/25/2013
By ,
GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is fast and furious. The Windows 8 interface is streamlined and the apps fly with the 1.2 GHz dual-core processor. Web browsing is a bit slow, even when using a fast WiFi connection. The phone got stuck a few times and I had to remove the battery to restart it, which is not something you want to do because of the phone's flimsy back cover. The last straw occurred when the battery was showing 0% after being plugged in all night. Removing the battery yet again solved the problem temporarily as the battery showed 100% again. The phone looks and feels good, but is too buggy for me to recommend it to anyone. Needless to say, I returned mine two days after I purchased it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone, horrible service

12/08/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So, I got this phone months ago. From the get go, I noticed that the internet would go out in certain spots. I thought nothing of it, since I wanted this phone so much. After going down to Southern California, I noticed that it didn't work right there either. It didn't work in Denver either. So, after procrastinating calling Straight Talk, I did. I was on hold for half an hour to be told that "the area you are in is weak. Try other areas. Goodbye". I have called them multiple times, and each time I am told to deal with a horrible connection. All together, the phone works really good. I like the set up, but I wish there was more apps on the Store. So, the phone is great, but the service is horrible.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

I am loving it!

07/03/2013
By ,
Rockford IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this phone last month and I am loving everything about it! It is really a magnificent phone and it is highly recommended. I am looking for the perfect case now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
EDIT YOUR APN
Posted 09/23/2013
If you are having data or MMS issues try this link before you return your phone, or calling Straight Talk.
http://straighttalkwindows.com/activating-straight-talk-internet-data
0points
Customer Avatar
Crystal Falls MI
Phone cses
Posted 08/03/2013
You can get phone cases on amazon just type in Straight Huawei H883G and you can get all different kinds of cases that don't cost much.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 24 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone!

08/20/2013
By ,
Somerset, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first Windows phone and I was surprised how easy it was to learn after years of working with Android. The applications and web browser both run super fast and it's easy to navigate. The only downside is the storage, but it's more than enough to download the essential apps. Also, I haven't had any problems using this phone with Straight Talk. I was able to port my number right away and the reception is great. I tried sending a picture message right away because some of the other users reported that it wouldn't work, but it went right through. Overall I am very happy with this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Love this Phone

06/03/2013
By ,
Parkersburg, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Somewhat dificult to set up, afterwards great! Not a big fan of the App selection. Phone is quick, thin and has a nice feel.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Alma, AR
Posted 07/13/2013
Difficult to set up? This is so much easier than any iPhone or Android phone I've set up. I worked Best Buy mobile, Walmart connect center and at Verizon for a total of 4 years.
And as far as app selection there are 160,000. I'm sure you can find something. More and more developers are hoping onto the OS
0points
Customer Avatar
fayetteville
What Service
Posted 06/18/2013
What service provider, Verizon, at and t or t mobile
0points
Customer Avatar
Melbourne, ARK
Whats wrong with the apps? I have the galaxy 2
Posted 06/12/2013
I have the galaxy 2 so I was curious on the apps
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 26 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

do not buy this phone

07/05/2013
By ,
maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First off the phone is a great phone. it's fast, has enough room to store all kinds of stuff and the windows 8 interface is good, that is where it stops. I have been with straight talk for over 4 years, I have has this phone for 45 days and the phone itself is good but straight talk is for the birds. I have had NO mms since day one, have spoken to at least 10 people at straight talk and they say it is not on there end. from June 4th to July 4th I used 163 MB of data, when my phone service renewed on July 4th my internet would no longer work. called straight talk and after 37 minutes on the phone they sent me to a auto message saying i was using high amounts of data and the phone system hung up on me....REALLY. the phone now has a purple line going up the middle of the screen and even after restoring it the line is still there. I have called straight talk more then once about this phone and have tried to get them to either replace the phone or refund my money, all they do is keep side stepping it and try to fix my phone through the system. called AT&T for which the phone runs on through straight talk and they were totally lost as to why it will not send or receive pictures via text. ask a straight talk rep for the internet apn and the mms apn's are like trying to milk a bull, they will not give you them you have to google the heck out of the internet to try and find them.
Is the phone a good phone....YES is the service that comes along with it.... NO.
I am calling them once again today to try and get my money back and I will NOT be buying another straight talk phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Crystal Falls MI
Posted 08/03/2013
I think your internet was slow and why you could not send messages is because you may of ran out of room on your memory card that would be my guess
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

ok

08/31/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
its different
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

out perform iphone and android

08/01/2013
By ,
WEST COVINA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i gotta say this phone out perform my iphone 4 they say the brand is in the low side but boy i am happy i got it it is super fast quality is great camera is better than my old iphone 4 the live tiles are amazing and i get 4g in my area windows phone is way better than the iphone and android HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR THE PRICE YOU ARE GETTING ALOT OF PHONE FOR A REASONABLE PRICE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

very user friendly smartphone

08/17/2014
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This smartphone is very easy to use right out of the box. There's was no curve to learning the apps, where things where or how to input information. Easy set up, easy pin and unpin from the home screen. Lots of options in the store, lots of common apps, facebook, pinterest, twitter, etc.
My husband used the phone for a few minutes and decided he also wanted this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

good phone

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of bells and whistles for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Does not bode well

08/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice phone if you never had a phone. Much like when Mac started up against Microsoft. Nice product but nothing you have works on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

I like it

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the phone for a week and I like it a lot better then the android phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

My first Windows phone...

10/12/2013
By ,
Pengilly MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After being tied to Verizon for my 2yr contract, I was able to opt out, and go to straight talk. I've debated on getting a windows phone for awhile now (Had Android for my time with Verizon). When I saw Straight Talk was going to offer their own Windows phone I was pretty excited. Sure I could of bought an unlocked Windows phone then got the sim card from Straight Talk, but this just seemed simpler. And my local Walmart stocked them also so it saved me the wait time of ordering online. Now on to the phone itself...
Seems to be well built, and has alot of nice features. I'm not going to re-list them but they do make for a phone that works smoothly, and has pretty decent battery life. I've had mine for 10 days now, and I can get more than a full day of use out of it without having to plug it in. Something I was never able to do with my old Android phones. Only real accessory your going to want to get with this phone is a micro sd card. The on board 4GB of memory isn't anything. The OS takes up almost half of it. Start downloading apps, taking pics, and you'll quickly be at your limit. It says it will support up to a 32GB card. I was happy to see my 64GB card works in the phone just fine. You can set the phone up so apps, and photos are saved automatically to the sd card. Another think I like about the Windows OS is that it's alot more stable than Android. I haven't had to restart the phone yet due to slow performance.
As for the things you read about the APN settings online.... I just left mine set to the stock settings on the phone. I've been able to send and receive mms messages just fine. This is a GSM phone, and it uses ATT towers. So if ATT offers good coverage in your area this phone will work just fine for you.
Only real complaint is the Windows app market isn't nearly the size as either Android or Apples. Where they have over 800,000 apps available... Windows only has about 275,000 available. But coming late to the game that's to be expected.
Overall I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. And I would recommend it as a good smartphone to use with Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Good phone, works well in our rural area.

08/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had this particular phone already, so I ordered one for a friend. It takes some getting used to the tiles but overall I like mine quite well. Only wish the ringer was a little louder.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

A smart phone that really is 'smart.'

02/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although the Windows phone doesn't have as many apps yet as Android and iPhone, it's (hopefully) a growing market. It has the most common ones such as Angry Birds, but I'd advise you to check out the app store first if there is a specific one you simply can't live without. I took a chance on this phone and am glad I did. I like the operating system - it's smooth and customizable. It's very attractive and I like the fact you can add a memory card. Installation is not the best since the card slot is next to the battery but it's not a big problem. I have downloaded my own music, photos, and vids and it works with everything so far. It's easy to change lock screens, wallpaper, and ringtones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

07/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Phone and service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

worst phone ever.......

06/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is the worst phone I have ever had. I bought this phone an upgrade from my 30 dollar phone, but now I prefer my 30 dollar phone over this phone. I do not recommend this phone to anyone. It is a huge disappointment. Do not waste your money. If you're getting the phone with straight talk, prepare to be frustrated. They do not help you when it breaks. My phone was replaced after it broke the first time and a couple months later it was broke again. No one get this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Harrisbug, PA
Posted 08/05/2014
could it be that you keep breaking the phone?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 38 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Very Nice Phone

12/29/2013
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the phone. Still learning how to use some of the features. It is not clear how to
delete unwanted items.
However, this phone is a big upgrade over my previous phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Might be good but has some issues!

09/25/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone b/c of the high Mega pixal camera and fast processor. It started out with amazing pictures, but has decreased as space quickly disappeared. I had the phone a few weeks and it already ran out of room on the HD. It had an issue, it won't link up with the computer with a SD card in it, so transferring was difficult at first. So with only a few apps it quickly runs out of room. Also I came from an android phone and the microsoft store does not have nearly the apps for free or selection that android does.
So what does this phone do well? It's pretty fast most of the time, quickly updates me on my apps and what's going on, takes pretty decent pictures/video as long as I download them to my computer often, and has a long life.
Good Luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

STRAIGHT TALK HUAWEI H883G

07/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LIKE PHONE I HAV ISSUES AT HOME DROP CALLS DEAD SPOTS IN MY HOME IS THERE A ANTENNA THAT WILL HELP
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 71 total reviews