Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

The H883G W1 Straight Talk Huawei Windows 8 Phone features the Windows Phone 8 OS, a four inch touchscreen and a five megapixel camera with a video recording function. This smartphone also has a microSD slot for an SD card up to 32GB, so you can add plenty of extra storage space for music, videos, pictures and apps. With 3G/WiFi connectivity, the prepaid Huawei smartphone can also to browse the Internet and download your favorite apps on Google Play. The phone is Hearing Aid Compatible (HAC) and it comes complete with a battery, a charger, an activation card and a manual.
Average Customer Rating:
3.947 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation74%42 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

A smart phone that really is 'smart.'

02/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although the Windows phone doesn't have as many apps yet as Android and iPhone, it's (hopefully) a growing market. It has the most common ones such as Angry Birds, but I'd advise you to check out the app store first if there is a specific one you simply can't live without. I took a chance on this phone and am glad I did. I like the operating system - it's smooth and customizable. It's very attractive and I like the fact you can add a memory card. Installation is not the best since the card slot is next to the battery but it's not a big problem. I have downloaded my own music, photos, and vids and it works with everything so far. It's easy to change lock screens, wallpaper, and ringtones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 22 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Great to be back to windows

01/17/2014
By ,
Sarasota Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is windows and I am saying just like using your Tablet or laptop. Meets all expectations of a window product. Will never again have anything to do with Android.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 23 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

out perform iphone and android

08/01/2013
By ,
WEST COVINA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i gotta say this phone out perform my iphone 4 they say the brand is in the low side but boy i am happy i got it it is super fast quality is great camera is better than my old iphone 4 the live tiles are amazing and i get 4g in my area windows phone is way better than the iphone and android HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR THE PRICE YOU ARE GETTING ALOT OF PHONE FOR A REASONABLE PRICE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 24 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Great value

02/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter loves this phone. She hasn't had it long just about 1 1/2 wks. But so far, it's great.
She uses it for all her social networking, texting, phone calls, etc.
The front facing camera for skype is pretty low quality, but honestly that was expected since her laptop has the same problem. However, the back facing camera takes some really nice and clear pictures. Also, the video quality for music videos and movies is excellent.
We bought a 16gb micro sd card straight off so I'm not sure about the phones memory on its own.
But if you love Windows 8 then this phone is definitely a deal for this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Very Nice Phone

12/29/2013
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the phone. Still learning how to use some of the features. It is not clear how to
delete unwanted items.
However, this phone is a big upgrade over my previous phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 26 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

great camera for a beginner

02/18/2014
By ,
Port Huron, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Still learning how to use all the features of the camera. Seen easy to use. May not have all the memory I want.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Might be good but has some issues!

09/25/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone b/c of the high Mega pixal camera and fast processor. It started out with amazing pictures, but has decreased as space quickly disappeared. I had the phone a few weeks and it already ran out of room on the HD. It had an issue, it won't link up with the computer with a SD card in it, so transferring was difficult at first. So with only a few apps it quickly runs out of room. Also I came from an android phone and the microsoft store does not have nearly the apps for free or selection that android does.
So what does this phone do well? It's pretty fast most of the time, quickly updates me on my apps and what's going on, takes pretty decent pictures/video as long as I download them to my computer often, and has a long life.
Good Luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 28 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Worst phone.

01/17/2014
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst phone I ever had. Can not move any app's to your memory card. So the memory in the phone gets use up fast, and it is slow on the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

great value for the price and no hidden monthly ch

02/08/2014
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am going to love this phone once I get it figured out. It does so much, it is amazing.
Going from a regular tracfone to this phone is quite a difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Not as good as I had hoped it would be.

10/22/2013
By ,
Iowa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading many reviews and comparisons online about this phone, I was very excited to get it. I have had this phone for four days and am already disappointed with my purchase. I'm going back to Android.
The screen size is great and so is the camera with flash. I love it that I can have both my work and personal e-mail accounts linked on this phone. I love the tiles and the ease of use. The internet browser doesn't spontaneously close while in the middle of reading something.
Now for the bad. The internet browser is awful. I need the capability to click on drop-down headers and it won't do that. I just keeps bringing me back to the same screen. I have to type in a paragraph to find anything. I'm used to putting in a few words that will find what I want. In the IE browser, there is no comma in the keyboard...weird. I can't have more that one browser window open at a time and I can't close one that I don't want to leave up.
Facebook is quite lacking. Can't get notifications to push through on my phone. Can't tag anyone when sharing a photo. Can't enlarge a photo when viewing it.
Forget about watching any YouTube videos. It buffers too much and takes three times longer to watch than it should.
It has already frozen on me trying to type an e-mail.
I had read that the phone was very fast when processing. I haven't experienced this. My two year old Android works faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 31 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

waste of time and money!!!

11/11/2013
By ,
Gibsonton FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this thing a few months ago, and as you can tell from the price drop since that time, it's not such a good phone. this thing has severely disappointed after this short time. the headphone jack no longer works, the outer loud speaker is blown out, there's a red line down the screen (didn't even drop it), even with a large gig memory card the data tops out and fills the phone up. of course there's the lack of battery life to account for. the system it runs on can't take much work before it forgets what it's doing. all in all i'd say i wasted money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Hoeeivle review
Posted 12/02/2013
Sounds to me like this guy doesnt take care of his stuff. The 1.2 dual core processor alone boasts test speeds that were amazing. Also sounds like this guy leaves his phone plugged in entirely too often and wore out his battery as a test the phone ran over 7 hours of video playbak at half birghtness. This guy is disgruntled for what ever reason but most likely his own operator failures.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 32 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

awesome camera, sweet set up

10/13/2013
By ,
williamstown, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i had problems in my area with every phone i ordered from walmart.com
i ordered this because i had ordered a t-mobil phone that was windows. there is no t-mobil towers up here so i sent that back, but wanted to stay with the windows set up. i programed all my phone numbers in it and took tons of pictures. it has a flash. and front and back facing cameras. but .........it is an att phone. it never came on up here. i love the set up and pictures are awesome. i can not say how the internet is on it. i had to send it back and go with a verizon phone. i have not found as good a camera phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 33 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk -Huawei-Windows/8-Smart Phone

01/18/2014
By ,
N.B.Mass.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spectacular !!!! Great-Price !!! I have actually found this phone to be "just a little" superior to regular "Androids". Great pic's-works Excellantly. Use your Microsoft Acc'nt.to activate the Phone and away you go !!! Hotmail syncs all your acc'nts,Microsoft Store,ect,ect. ENJOY !!!! Straight Talk Service is "Spectacular".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Not sure what to think

09/09/2013
By ,
Eau Claire, Wi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this phone the other day and immediately had problems. While the set up was a little different, it wasn't hard to figure out. Calls and texts worked immediately as I had expected since I had just placed my old SIM card into it. However, the internet ONLY worked when I was in an area that had Wi-Fi, which I wasn't happy about. I couldn't use it outside or in the car like my other phone. I downloaded a few apps including Facebook and realized they only had Pinterest Lite which I didn't like, and no Candy Crush. While this might not be a big deal to some, these are the only 3 apps I use and I would like to have access to them If I'm buying a new phone. Anyways, after about 2 hours my calling and texting stopped working and the internet all together (even in Wi-Fi areas) I called Straight talk and after talking to 4 people was told AT & T had an outage and to wait 24 hours. I did. And still nothing worked, I called again and they said to wait an additional 24 hours. After not having a phone for 2 days I decided to return it and get my money back. Only way i'll be using Straight Talk is if the phone uses Verizon towers. This one, however, does not. This phone wasn't for me, but maybe you'll have better luck in your area.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 35 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

The "Smartest" Phone!

12/30/2013
By ,
Jamestown NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smart choice. Smart plan. Smart phone. If you are not a Straight Talk consumer then smarten up. Get this phone and the $45 a month unlimited plan and tell your contract service company that you've "smartened" up. We have been Straight Talk consumers now for several years with never an issue. When I hear what other people pay for their phones and contract plans I just cringe at the thought. Note that for some reason this phone does not include an SD Micro card. Had to purchase and install for about $25.00. Other than that this phone and plan are amazing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

thinking

01/17/2014
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if i had a smartphone with min. on it but its broke lol and i buy this one could i use the min. off old one for new one one instead of buying a new card? the day i bought more min. for it it broke so its pretty much all still there
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Unhappy with this phone

11/22/2013
By ,
Charleston, WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed in this phone. I didn't get a chance to use this because the Huawei phone was delivered with the wrong size battery twice. I gave up in trying to get this phone . I even called the manufacture to inform them that the battery was wrong. The manufacture was unable to send the correct battery stated they didn't sale parts for the phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 38 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

great phone

01/20/2014
By ,
fayetteville,tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone and the service I received
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT GET!!!!

10/15/2013
By ,
Ontario, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am disappointed with this phone not the service. I love the straight talk service, i haven't had any problems with it. The phone on the other hand I HATE! I spent 300$ on the phone and I have had it for 4 months. I loved it at first but now I hate it. It does not have many popular apps that the IPhone and Android have like Instagram or SMS pro. I bought a 16gb SD card that is not even half way full but it wont let me take pictures or text people back with out deleting pictures, saying there is no storage. It turns off randomly, the apps that I do have don't work most of the time. They randomly close, and pandora skips constantly. SAVE YOUR MONEY and GET A GOOD PHONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 40 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

great phone with limited apps

01/13/2014
By ,
Durham, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the phone but because of the limited apps I chose to return it and go with an android. The main reason for the Switch though is the at&t reception which was very poor in my area. Great phone poor reception
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 53 total reviews