Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

The H883G W1 Straight Talk Huawei Windows 8 Phone features the Windows Phone 8 OS, a four inch touchscreen and a five megapixel camera with a video recording function. This smartphone also has a microSD slot for an SD card up to 32GB, so you can add plenty of extra storage space for music, videos, pictures and apps. With 3G/WiFi connectivity, the prepaid Huawei smartphone can also to browse the Internet and download your favorite apps on Google Play. The phone is Hearing Aid Compatible (HAC) and it comes complete with a battery, a charger, an activation card and a manual.
Average Customer Rating:
3.812 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation70%45 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
83 Questions | 132 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Fast but buggy

05/25/2013
By ,
GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is fast and furious. The Windows 8 interface is streamlined and the apps fly with the 1.2 GHz dual-core processor. Web browsing is a bit slow, even when using a fast WiFi connection. The phone got stuck a few times and I had to remove the battery to restart it, which is not something you want to do because of the phone's flimsy back cover. The last straw occurred when the battery was showing 0% after being plugged in all night. Removing the battery yet again solved the problem temporarily as the battery showed 100% again. The phone looks and feels good, but is too buggy for me to recommend it to anyone. Needless to say, I returned mine two days after I purchased it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

I am loving it!

07/03/2013
By ,
Rockford IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this phone last month and I am loving everything about it! It is really a magnificent phone and it is highly recommended. I am looking for the perfect case now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
EDIT YOUR APN
Posted 09/23/2013
If you are having data or MMS issues try this link before you return your phone, or calling Straight Talk.
http://straighttalkwindows.com/activating-straight-talk-internet-data
0points
Customer Avatar
Crystal Falls MI
Phone cses
Posted 08/03/2013
You can get phone cases on amazon just type in Straight Huawei H883G and you can get all different kinds of cases that don't cost much.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 23 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone!

08/20/2013
By ,
Somerset, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first Windows phone and I was surprised how easy it was to learn after years of working with Android. The applications and web browser both run super fast and it's easy to navigate. The only downside is the storage, but it's more than enough to download the essential apps. Also, I haven't had any problems using this phone with Straight Talk. I was able to port my number right away and the reception is great. I tried sending a picture message right away because some of the other users reported that it wouldn't work, but it went right through. Overall I am very happy with this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Love this Phone

06/03/2013
By ,
Parkersburg, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Somewhat dificult to set up, afterwards great! Not a big fan of the App selection. Phone is quick, thin and has a nice feel.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Alma, AR
Posted 07/13/2013
Difficult to set up? This is so much easier than any iPhone or Android phone I've set up. I worked Best Buy mobile, Walmart connect center and at Verizon for a total of 4 years.
And as far as app selection there are 160,000. I'm sure you can find something. More and more developers are hoping onto the OS
0points
Customer Avatar
fayetteville
What Service
Posted 06/18/2013
What service provider, Verizon, at and t or t mobile
0points
Customer Avatar
Melbourne, ARK
Whats wrong with the apps? I have the galaxy 2
Posted 06/12/2013
I have the galaxy 2 so I was curious on the apps
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 25 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

do not buy this phone

07/05/2013
By ,
maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First off the phone is a great phone. it's fast, has enough room to store all kinds of stuff and the windows 8 interface is good, that is where it stops. I have been with straight talk for over 4 years, I have has this phone for 45 days and the phone itself is good but straight talk is for the birds. I have had NO mms since day one, have spoken to at least 10 people at straight talk and they say it is not on there end. from June 4th to July 4th I used 163 MB of data, when my phone service renewed on July 4th my internet would no longer work. called straight talk and after 37 minutes on the phone they sent me to a auto message saying i was using high amounts of data and the phone system hung up on me....REALLY. the phone now has a purple line going up the middle of the screen and even after restoring it the line is still there. I have called straight talk more then once about this phone and have tried to get them to either replace the phone or refund my money, all they do is keep side stepping it and try to fix my phone through the system. called AT&T for which the phone runs on through straight talk and they were totally lost as to why it will not send or receive pictures via text. ask a straight talk rep for the internet apn and the mms apn's are like trying to milk a bull, they will not give you them you have to google the heck out of the internet to try and find them.
Is the phone a good phone....YES is the service that comes along with it.... NO.
I am calling them once again today to try and get my money back and I will NOT be buying another straight talk phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Crystal Falls MI
Posted 08/03/2013
I think your internet was slow and why you could not send messages is because you may of ran out of room on your memory card that would be my guess
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

out perform iphone and android

08/01/2013
By ,
WEST COVINA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i gotta say this phone out perform my iphone 4 they say the brand is in the low side but boy i am happy i got it it is super fast quality is great camera is better than my old iphone 4 the live tiles are amazing and i get 4g in my area windows phone is way better than the iphone and android HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR THE PRICE YOU ARE GETTING ALOT OF PHONE FOR A REASONABLE PRICE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

My first Windows phone...

10/12/2013
By ,
Pengilly MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After being tied to Verizon for my 2yr contract, I was able to opt out, and go to straight talk. I've debated on getting a windows phone for awhile now (Had Android for my time with Verizon). When I saw Straight Talk was going to offer their own Windows phone I was pretty excited. Sure I could of bought an unlocked Windows phone then got the sim card from Straight Talk, but this just seemed simpler. And my local Walmart stocked them also so it saved me the wait time of ordering online. Now on to the phone itself...
Seems to be well built, and has alot of nice features. I'm not going to re-list them but they do make for a phone that works smoothly, and has pretty decent battery life. I've had mine for 10 days now, and I can get more than a full day of use out of it without having to plug it in. Something I was never able to do with my old Android phones. Only real accessory your going to want to get with this phone is a micro sd card. The on board 4GB of memory isn't anything. The OS takes up almost half of it. Start downloading apps, taking pics, and you'll quickly be at your limit. It says it will support up to a 32GB card. I was happy to see my 64GB card works in the phone just fine. You can set the phone up so apps, and photos are saved automatically to the sd card. Another think I like about the Windows OS is that it's alot more stable than Android. I haven't had to restart the phone yet due to slow performance.
As for the things you read about the APN settings online.... I just left mine set to the stock settings on the phone. I've been able to send and receive mms messages just fine. This is a GSM phone, and it uses ATT towers. So if ATT offers good coverage in your area this phone will work just fine for you.
Only real complaint is the Windows app market isn't nearly the size as either Android or Apples. Where they have over 800,000 apps available... Windows only has about 275,000 available. But coming late to the game that's to be expected.
Overall I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. And I would recommend it as a good smartphone to use with Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Staight Talk Windows phne

01/20/2014
By ,
Payette
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is a great buy. I am still greatly impressed by the amount of data that I have on my phone and it still has not yet to slow down in speed. This Window 8 phone allows me to retrieve files off my computer at home from my phone. I can access my xbox from my phone. My husband who has a Iphone says that my phone is much better than his when it comes to accessing his home computer from his phone. I high recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Might be good but has some issues!

09/25/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone b/c of the high Mega pixal camera and fast processor. It started out with amazing pictures, but has decreased as space quickly disappeared. I had the phone a few weeks and it already ran out of room on the HD. It had an issue, it won't link up with the computer with a SD card in it, so transferring was difficult at first. So with only a few apps it quickly runs out of room. Also I came from an android phone and the microsoft store does not have nearly the apps for free or selection that android does.
So what does this phone do well? It's pretty fast most of the time, quickly updates me on my apps and what's going on, takes pretty decent pictures/video as long as I download them to my computer often, and has a long life.
Good Luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Not as good as I had hoped it would be.

10/22/2013
By ,
Iowa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading many reviews and comparisons online about this phone, I was very excited to get it. I have had this phone for four days and am already disappointed with my purchase. I'm going back to Android.
The screen size is great and so is the camera with flash. I love it that I can have both my work and personal e-mail accounts linked on this phone. I love the tiles and the ease of use. The internet browser doesn't spontaneously close while in the middle of reading something.
Now for the bad. The internet browser is awful. I need the capability to click on drop-down headers and it won't do that. I just keeps bringing me back to the same screen. I have to type in a paragraph to find anything. I'm used to putting in a few words that will find what I want. In the IE browser, there is no comma in the keyboard...weird. I can't have more that one browser window open at a time and I can't close one that I don't want to leave up.
Facebook is quite lacking. Can't get notifications to push through on my phone. Can't tag anyone when sharing a photo. Can't enlarge a photo when viewing it.
Forget about watching any YouTube videos. It buffers too much and takes three times longer to watch than it should.
It has already frozen on me trying to type an e-mail.
I had read that the phone was very fast when processing. I haven't experienced this. My two year old Android works faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Great to be back to windows

01/17/2014
By ,
Sarasota Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is windows and I am saying just like using your Tablet or laptop. Meets all expectations of a window product. Will never again have anything to do with Android.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Not sure what to think

09/09/2013
By ,
Eau Claire, Wi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this phone the other day and immediately had problems. While the set up was a little different, it wasn't hard to figure out. Calls and texts worked immediately as I had expected since I had just placed my old SIM card into it. However, the internet ONLY worked when I was in an area that had Wi-Fi, which I wasn't happy about. I couldn't use it outside or in the car like my other phone. I downloaded a few apps including Facebook and realized they only had Pinterest Lite which I didn't like, and no Candy Crush. While this might not be a big deal to some, these are the only 3 apps I use and I would like to have access to them If I'm buying a new phone. Anyways, after about 2 hours my calling and texting stopped working and the internet all together (even in Wi-Fi areas) I called Straight talk and after talking to 4 people was told AT & T had an outage and to wait 24 hours. I did. And still nothing worked, I called again and they said to wait an additional 24 hours. After not having a phone for 2 days I decided to return it and get my money back. Only way i'll be using Straight Talk is if the phone uses Verizon towers. This one, however, does not. This phone wasn't for me, but maybe you'll have better luck in your area.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

A smart phone that really is 'smart.'

02/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although the Windows phone doesn't have as many apps yet as Android and iPhone, it's (hopefully) a growing market. It has the most common ones such as Angry Birds, but I'd advise you to check out the app store first if there is a specific one you simply can't live without. I took a chance on this phone and am glad I did. I like the operating system - it's smooth and customizable. It's very attractive and I like the fact you can add a memory card. Installation is not the best since the card slot is next to the battery but it's not a big problem. I have downloaded my own music, photos, and vids and it works with everything so far. It's easy to change lock screens, wallpaper, and ringtones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT GET!!!!

10/15/2013
By ,
Ontario, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am disappointed with this phone not the service. I love the straight talk service, i haven't had any problems with it. The phone on the other hand I HATE! I spent 300$ on the phone and I have had it for 4 months. I loved it at first but now I hate it. It does not have many popular apps that the IPhone and Android have like Instagram or SMS pro. I bought a 16gb SD card that is not even half way full but it wont let me take pictures or text people back with out deleting pictures, saying there is no storage. It turns off randomly, the apps that I do have don't work most of the time. They randomly close, and pandora skips constantly. SAVE YOUR MONEY and GET A GOOD PHONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

waste of time and money!!!

11/11/2013
By ,
Gibsonton FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this thing a few months ago, and as you can tell from the price drop since that time, it's not such a good phone. this thing has severely disappointed after this short time. the headphone jack no longer works, the outer loud speaker is blown out, there's a red line down the screen (didn't even drop it), even with a large gig memory card the data tops out and fills the phone up. of course there's the lack of battery life to account for. the system it runs on can't take much work before it forgets what it's doing. all in all i'd say i wasted money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Hoeeivle review
Posted 12/02/2013
Sounds to me like this guy doesnt take care of his stuff. The 1.2 dual core processor alone boasts test speeds that were amazing. Also sounds like this guy leaves his phone plugged in entirely too often and wore out his battery as a test the phone ran over 7 hours of video playbak at half birghtness. This guy is disgruntled for what ever reason but most likely his own operator failures.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 36 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Unhappy with this phone

11/22/2013
By ,
Charleston, WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed in this phone. I didn't get a chance to use this because the Huawei phone was delivered with the wrong size battery twice. I gave up in trying to get this phone . I even called the manufacture to inform them that the battery was wrong. The manufacture was unable to send the correct battery stated they didn't sale parts for the phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Very Nice Phone

12/29/2013
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the phone. Still learning how to use some of the features. It is not clear how to
delete unwanted items.
However, this phone is a big upgrade over my previous phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

awesome camera, sweet set up

10/13/2013
By ,
williamstown, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i had problems in my area with every phone i ordered from walmart.com
i ordered this because i had ordered a t-mobil phone that was windows. there is no t-mobil towers up here so i sent that back, but wanted to stay with the windows set up. i programed all my phone numbers in it and took tons of pictures. it has a flash. and front and back facing cameras. but .........it is an att phone. it never came on up here. i love the set up and pictures are awesome. i can not say how the internet is on it. i had to send it back and go with a verizon phone. i have not found as good a camera phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Great value

02/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter loves this phone. She hasn't had it long just about 1 1/2 wks. But so far, it's great.
She uses it for all her social networking, texting, phone calls, etc.
The front facing camera for skype is pretty low quality, but honestly that was expected since her laptop has the same problem. However, the back facing camera takes some really nice and clear pictures. Also, the video quality for music videos and movies is excellent.
We bought a 16gb micro sd card straight off so I'm not sure about the phones memory on its own.
But if you love Windows 8 then this phone is definitely a deal for this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk Huawei H883G Windows Prepaid Smartphone

Worst phone.

01/17/2014
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst phone I ever had. Can not move any app's to your memory card. So the memory in the phone gets use up fast, and it is slow on the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 60 total reviews