Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.012 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(594 Reviews) 571
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
133
3 stars
48
2 stars
76
1 star
181
Customer Recommendation55%324 out of 594reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
491 Questions | 992 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
133
3 stars
48
2 stars
76
1 star
181
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

WORST PHONE I EVER OWNED.

03/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is by far the worst phone i have ever had. It freezes after every application i open, it can be the alarm clock app, and itll freeze. When the phone freezes, you have about a 12% of it un-freezing, if it doesnt, you have to take the battery out, and put it back in, wait about 5 minutes for it to reboot, just for it to freeze again. On a good day, the phone will only freeze about 5-10 times. Not even kidding. There is no back camera, and the back camera is so terrible, it cant even read bar codes. Only good thing i can say, is its very durable. I've slammed this phone on the floor, door, walls, everything, many times. And not one scratch. This, and the data usage. With 90MB of data, i can sit and play online games, facebook, pandora, all that for a few hours. But, don't bother trying, because the phone will FREEZE! I hate this phone so much. I should've just spent an extra 20 and got the ZTE Valet.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Okay at first then Bad

03/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked great for awhile, speed and service were fast. Several months later phone would shut off by its self, lock up, battery suddenly go dead when full charged.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

awful.

03/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
had this phone for a year now. finally going to buy a new phone today to replace it. Had trouble on day 1 (it wouldn't send text messages at first, after 1 hour on the phone with customer service with them resetting the phone etc...it finally worked) then the very next day it wouldn't send pictures (another long phone call to tech support) it tends to shut down whenever it feels like it, and then will not turn back on unless I take it apart & remove the battery. It does this at least once a week on average. It also likes to freeze up, and I need to restart it. I only have about 5 apps on this phone, because almost every one I download doesn't work on this phone. Including my bank's check deposit feature (where you take a picture of the check) any app I need, I have downloaded on my husband's iphone. finally has enough of this piece of junk.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Slooooooooooooooowww!

03/18/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought 3 of these at a Black Friday sale. My son gave up on his after a month or 2. The battery wouldn't hold a charge. Takes forever to open an app, just to make a phone call takes at least 30 seconds just to dial. Sometimes over a minute, just for the dialer to launch and start dialing. My fiance has this same phone. Hers locks up several times a day. Mine wants to update the OS at least once a week, hers never does. I never see any difference after it updates. If you use the wifi at home when you leave the house the mobile data won't work until you shut wifi off and toggle mobile data off then back on or reboot the phone.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Freeze Hazard

03/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't like this phone. It freezes all the time and the it won't keep the correct time.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

NEVER getting another one again!

03/07/2015
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my very first smart phone I have ever owned and it was within my price range. Within the first 2 days it started freezing, wouldn't download apps, people with iPhones try to send me picture messages I cannot get due to it saying download, unable to download. Freezes constantly or won't accept apps to be installed. So very angry at this point I am ready to drop kick it, but I haven't damaged it in any way due to invalidating the warranty I purchased. There are times I will try to place a call, and it will take up to a full minute before the call goes through. Then I don't even know if it did. I dial, the screen will go back to home screen, then a minute later decide to call whomever I was trying in the first place. Time will switch back and fourth from current to either 12 hours later or 12 hours earlier. Even the date will sometimes reset. So very angry with this phone. I have had it for 6 months and never want to see it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Low processing power; apps crash a lot.

02/26/2015
By ,
North Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The price is good, but there are plenty of other phones out there for either a similar price or just a little bit more that would be a better choice.
The apps crash. A LOT. Very frequently. And, when that happens, the phone freezes and the only way to fix that is to literally pop the back off and take the battery out. Which, when you're using a GPS app and you're going 70 mph on a freeway, the last thing you wanna be doing is fumbling with your phone trying to fix it.
I suppose if you're using this phone for only calls, texts, and taking pictures it'd be okay-ish, though that kind of defeats the purpose of having a smartphone if you're not going to use any apps.
My recommendation for an alternative would be the LG Optimus Fuel (which you can find here on this website.) It has a similar price, a better battery, a better processor, better memory, and it's an upgrade to Android 4.4 (KitKat) as opposed to the Centura which is just a Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich.)
In the end, I believe there are much better all around phones out there. Not only in processing, but even in price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Wish I'd never bought this

02/25/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This worked great for about 3 months and I've been fighting with it ever since. It turns off at random times, it doesn't keep time (therefore the alarm doesn't go off when its supposed to# it freezes so often sometimes I'm forced to hard reboot dozens of times, camera isn't fantastic #and it doesn't have a forward facing cam for those who dig selfies,) and it goes through a ridiculous amount of battery power. I do NOT recommend this phone, but there's no way I'm buying a $300-700 iPhone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

JUNK

02/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Freezes up all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

This is no smartphone

02/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has messed up since day 1. It kept on saying "do not turn off, initializing" for over a whole day. I finally had to turn it off and restart it. It frequently freezes. Apps frequently crash. I've tried factory resets and removing the battery and everything under the sun.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

straight talk phone

02/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love straight talk there the best company every I never go with any body else
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

smarter than me

02/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone does more than I could ever imagine and so easy to use.u
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Dont Bother

01/30/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've only had this phone since Sept,2014 and it like everything was not right, it started freezing up on me and the phone would get really hot, and in the middle of a game it would just quit on me sorry to say not happy with it
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

first smartphone

01/29/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was my first smartphone that I have purchased from Straight Talk. I have owned several Samsung phones and never had a problem but this one was totally different. The time changes on you periodically, when on facebook it freezes and have to reboot. Now out of nowhere it will just shut itself off. Have to remove battery to cut back on, won't do anything. I really did love this phone, purchased it in June 2013. Now i just think it is time to upgrade but not sure of which phone to go with now. None of the phones I see from Straight Talk have more than 3 stars, don't want to pay $300 for a phone either.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Don't buy this phone!

01/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am currently shopping for a new phone. I have only had this phone for less than a year and it is constantly freezing up on me to the point where I have to take the battery out and reload it!!! This happens to me at least 90% of the time. It is so frustrating. The time changes on it all by itself, I have woken up late because of this because I use my phone as an alarm clock. It "crashes" all the time and I am rarely on the internet with it. There are better phones out there, don't waist your money on this one!!! I am very disappointed it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

phone

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like the phone just trying to get use to it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great little phone

01/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
purchased phone when a friend needed it in a pinch. Works great, easy to use!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Inexpensive, but functional

01/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It may not have a quad core processor or a top of the line camera, but it's quite usable, and it costs a small fraction of what many phones cost. I'm not afraid to carry it around in my pocket. It's a little smaller than some phones, so it's easier to carry around. For as much plastic as they use, it seems relatively durable. I dropped my first one in water, so this is a replacement. I bought the same phone again. My only complaint is that I had to order it, rather than having it stocked in my local store. If you need to have a built-in barometer, go ahead and spend a ton of money on a fancy phone. I'd rather not spend the money on bells and whistles I don't need. There isn't much this phone can't do, albeit a little slower.
I would describe this phone as high in value.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

NOOO

01/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would not buy took it back
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

i love samsung phones!

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love the reception the best. I had an lg and it had terrible reception. I love the keyboard, and the ease of use. great phone
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 572 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next