Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.132 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(379 Reviews) 356
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
91
3 stars
33
2 stars
45
1 star
104
Customer Recommendation58%219 out of 379reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
394 Questions | 773 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
91
3 stars
33
2 stars
45
1 star
104
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

ok, but not great

07/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had this phone for a year. It was pretty new when I bought it so not many reviews yet. It's ok - internet is kind of slow. Mostly the phone works for what I need. My biggest problem is it keeps dropping 3G connectivity. I have to call the "reprogram your phone" # that customer service gave me to get back online. It's always gotten me back online but I have to do it several times/week. There are newer and better things out there now, so buy one of those.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Big Disappointment

07/23/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bad: I have had the phone for 2 weeks, and for the first couple of days, the phone would not keep the correct time even with the proper auto settings. The phone freezes at will and needs to be rebooted. My error for not realizing there was no flash for the camera, so now I need to edit every picture. I thought I was stepping up from a Huawei to a Samsung but it appears that the Huawei Premia got a bum rap having the wrong carrier. The Huawei would be a much better phone with Straight Talk as a carrier. Ironically the price was identical for each phone.
The good: I now have cell phone coverage in places I didn't have before with another cell phone carrier. Although the phone is smaller than a Huawei, the advantage of the Samsung is it is easier to carry.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Worst phone ever!

07/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst phone does not keep time for God's sake!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Horrible

07/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this phone had it for 7months and I had problems starting it freezes and when I take it off the charger it keeps beeping and keeps going in between charging and not charging have to take the batterie out and put it back in and my phone will go black and say os reboot or take batterie out
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

bad phone

07/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband purchased this phone as a valentine gift. It worked well for 2 months and then i started having problems charging it. I would not recommend this phone. Straight Talk cell coverage is great and I've never experienced problems with dropping calls. The customer service is fair. They are not in America so their English is poor. Since February, I have had 3 phones through them and that's ridiculous. My advice is to use the "bring your own phone" plan!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

WORST S.T Phone EVER.

07/15/2014
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ruined my last android phone with Straight Talk by accidentally leaving it where my dog could find it and this is the phone I chose as a replacement. Worst idea ever. Had I had time, I should have come on here to check reviews but I was without, and bought it because I figured it had to be an upgrade since it was almost $100. Nope. I do not have a vast amount of apps, just the typical ones like Pintrest, Facebook and ONE game. It is super slow, and lags during games. Takes FOREVER for anything to load and crashes AT LEAST twice a day..and don't get me started on it freezing. I have to take it apart and pull the battery daily. It also changes time zones without any reason in the middle of the night, so good luck using the alarm feature. I have been late to work 4 times before I learned my lesson and bought a clock radio.
Needless to say, this thing is now sitting in my night stand drawer and I have resulted back to my pre-smartphone cell until I find a new one. If I hadn't just given up until the next couple of days when I can go pick out a better one...it would be in pieces under my car tire..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Stay away from this cell.

07/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't keep track of time. It will randomly change time on you so don't count on setting an alarm on it. Even after doing the android update (which is another problem) which says it fixes it. You have to factory reset the device each time there's an update for it. Has a hard time staying connected to any network, even if you're standing right next to your wireless router, it'll drop the signal. Debugging mode doesn't work so good luck trying to connect it to your PC besides to charge it. Don't bother calling either StraightTalk or Samsung about it cause one will tell you to call the other to fix it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Bought two, both are paperweights

07/14/2014
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone to get an entry level smartphone since I was not sure if I would stay with Straight talk when I signed up after coming from a regional carrier (US Cellular). Straight talk as a service I would wholeheartedly recommend, as long as you don't call customer service (they read from scripts and told me to call them when my phone had an issue- it was intermmitment, so that really was not possible). This phone locks up all the time. It took me 8 minutes to make a phone call once because it kept returning to the home screen.
When switching between apps it will often lock up. I do not use any unusual apps on my phone either- twitter, netflix, Hulu plus, and some banking apps. I have tried uninstalling all of the apps and re-installing them and the phone acts the same way.
Customer service will not be helpful nor sympathetic at all. There is no reason this phone should be sold at all. It is broken from the get-go.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Worst phone purchase I have ever made

07/13/2014
By ,
Watertown, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone 5 months ago after my Samsung Galaxy Illusion (owned 2.5 years) started having trouble recharging at the connection point. I was already aware that I was downgrading a bit on the processor, but I was surprised at just how much slower it was. Still, I'm not too impatient, so I've dealt with slightly longer wait times. However, almost straight from the box, this phone started freezing up all of the time, making me have to do hard resets, or it spontaneously resets on its own for no apparent reason. It has a lot of trouble picking up signal, no matter where I am. The real kiss of death, however, is that this phone DOES NOT RECEIVE GROUP TEXT MESSAGES!!! Please be aware of this before you purchase it, because Straight Talk's Customer Service will only apologize over and over for this but not give you any kind of real help or offer you any kind of credit. It also only sporadically downloads other MMS (picture) texts. The description of this phone on both the Straight Talk and Walmart sites are misleading, as both state they receive MMS messaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Bought as a gift, they were happy.

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought as a birthday gift for a 16 old girl. She was really happy to receive it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Too good to be true.

07/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I should of known $100 for a smart phone was too good to be true. We just moved back stateside from being overseas for 4 years. I didn't want to drop $500 on a phone. I thought Samsung name so should be good! Wrong. I should of saved my $ and gone with a Galaxy S4. It constantly freezes, it's finicky, shuts off on it's own and half the time doesn't charge. It's shut off during calls numerous times too. As far as internet browsing it's so slow I don't even use it at all.
Overall not a good phone, save up the $ and get something that works properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Terrible phone & terrible service

07/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activated this phone 2 days ago & have had terrible service. When I call people, they either hear garbling or they here constant echoing. Called Straight Talk. Their customer service was also terrible. The first rep told me phone calls sound different when you use the speaker feature and that is just the way it is. I then spoke to a supervisor who told me to try to get Wal-Mart to replace the phone. The phone couldn't be replaced because I didn't activate it right away & the supervisor said it could not be returned after 15 days. The supervisor then said I just needed to go outside when I needed to make a phone call to get better reception. That is not a solution. A phone should work straight out of the box & it should have a decent warranty. I would not recommend this phone because it lacks quality & dependability and I would not recommend Straight Talk because their customer service is substandard with regard to their problem solving (ie. don't use the speaker; go outside to make a phone call). I'll use this phone to text message this month so as not to waste the $45 phone card, but after that it will be back to a major phone service provider & a phone that has a decent warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Worst Phone Ever!

07/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this phone for 4 months and it just keeps getting worse
1. Reboots in the middle of phone calls
2 Time has been off by many hours on several occasions
3. Instead of having a QWERTY keyboard, I now have a QWERTZ keyboard as it has rearranged my letters!
Worst phone I've had in my 15 years of having cell phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good value but crashes frequently

07/06/2014
By ,
Greeneville, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really like this Android phone when it is working. However, it needs way more RAM than it has. I maybe have 10 apps on the phone and it still crashes about once per day. I had to add an extra app to clear the RAM prior to starting an app. If I don't do this the phone will lock up. The battery is great as long as you leave 3g off. Leaving 3g on allows apps to update and all of those things which drains the battery AND maxes out the RAM so simple things like making calls or accessing messages will crash the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Very bad phone, Don't buy this Phone!

07/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this Phone early in the year to replace my galaxy s2 because the charging port when bad,
It freezes up all the time,forget about videos they play super slow,buy this Phone if you only going to make calls. Got a samsung galaxy exhibit t599 instead way better phone,cost only little more,got mine on eBay for same price brand new unlocked!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

VERY POOR!!! :(

07/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is THE WORST PHONE EVER! I would tell everyone that went to buy this phone is save their money. This phone doesn't work properly. Everyone that i know that has ever bought this phone has hated it. It is very slow even if you have no downloads or apps. The camera isn't the best but isn't the worst. Also it drops calls all the time. Additionally sometimes the text messages will not send. The clock will tell you the wrong time and then you have to take time out of your life and fix it. When the phone freezes you have to take the battery out and put it back in. Whenever i put a case on the phone it over heats it then freezes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Hate this phone

07/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I never put reviews out here but for this I am because I hate this phone so much. The auto type is terrible and the phone is small that you cannot type without it always typing the wrong letter. Not to mention that the phone constantly is reseting the time and the alarm does not work then. I have had problems with it since day one. I would not recommend this phone to anyone. Save your money and go for a little more expensive one. The ZTE Majesty will be my next purchase since I cannot take this phone anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!!!

06/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The is my second straight talk samsung phone. The first one I had was pretty much just the earlier version of this one and it worked just as it should for a year and a half but I had to get a new one because the battery would not stay charged even after it was replaced. So, I was not concerned about this phone when I purchased it but it STINKS. Photos sent via text will not downloan, the clock will freeze and then be hours behind. It freezes when I am using different apps and it is INCREDIBLY slow in general....I can wait for 10 second for a screen to slide. It is not worth even a fraction of the price and instead of saving me money, it will end up costing me more because there is no way I'm going to try and exchange this for the same thing as most of the other reviews indicate that this isn't a fluke but just a bad product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

If you like frustration you will love this phone

06/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have owned this phone for about a yr now. At first it worked ok. If you scroll it down to see your messages or facebook, etc... it would not show you anything for a minute or so. Well I actually went back to walmart and asked them about the phone because sometimes it would take me 12 MINUTES to make 1 simple phone call or I would be texting someone and I would have to get in and out 3 times for it to work. The suggested the I delete some pics, the call history and my text messages which I have done and it still sometimes takes 5-8 minutes for the phone to work properly but I have to say it is running better most of the time since doing those things. I am looking to upgrade to a better phone ASAP. It's not worth all the frustration. This is my first smart phone and I have told my wife many times I should of just kept my flip phone atleast it could do the basics like calling someone without any issues!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good but I'm not sure it's worth the price

06/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don't know I just think if this had been a GSM or contracted phone it would have been way cheaper. This phone is good don't get me wrong but if I'm paying $100 bucks for a phone I'd expect a bigger screen with better resolution. I know it's affiliated with Verizon so the price is going to be a bit on the high side from at least one aspect so it's either; have more expensive phones to make up for the cheaper monthly rate or less expensive phones with a higher monthly rate. I hate to say it but if I had a choice, in the long run, this will be the cheaper way to go especially if you get the insurance. As for battery life I can't judge yet because I just purchased the phone. My last smartphone battery ran two hours asleep or active. So far it's lasted me quite a while but we'll see as time goes along, like I said though, get the insurance, it's worth it if the phone breaks or gliches just once. It's like car insurance without the monthly fee, you pay for the possibility of needing it when something goes wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 357 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next