Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.031 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(588 Reviews) 565
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
133
3 stars
48
2 stars
75
1 star
176
Customer Recommendation55%324 out of 588reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
486 Questions | 991 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
133
3 stars
48
2 stars
75
1 star
176
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Low processing power; apps crash a lot.

02/26/2015
By ,
North Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The price is good, but there are plenty of other phones out there for either a similar price or just a little bit more that would be a better choice.
The apps crash. A LOT. Very frequently. And, when that happens, the phone freezes and the only way to fix that is to literally pop the back off and take the battery out. Which, when you're using a GPS app and you're going 70 mph on a freeway, the last thing you wanna be doing is fumbling with your phone trying to fix it.
I suppose if you're using this phone for only calls, texts, and taking pictures it'd be okay-ish, though that kind of defeats the purpose of having a smartphone if you're not going to use any apps.
My recommendation for an alternative would be the LG Optimus Fuel (which you can find here on this website.) It has a similar price, a better battery, a better processor, better memory, and it's an upgrade to Android 4.4 (KitKat) as opposed to the Centura which is just a Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich.)
In the end, I believe there are much better all around phones out there. Not only in processing, but even in price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Wish I'd never bought this

02/25/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This worked great for about 3 months and I've been fighting with it ever since. It turns off at random times, it doesn't keep time (therefore the alarm doesn't go off when its supposed to# it freezes so often sometimes I'm forced to hard reboot dozens of times, camera isn't fantastic #and it doesn't have a forward facing cam for those who dig selfies,) and it goes through a ridiculous amount of battery power. I do NOT recommend this phone, but there's no way I'm buying a $300-700 iPhone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

JUNK

02/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Freezes up all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

This is no smartphone

02/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has messed up since day 1. It kept on saying "do not turn off, initializing" for over a whole day. I finally had to turn it off and restart it. It frequently freezes. Apps frequently crash. I've tried factory resets and removing the battery and everything under the sun.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

straight talk phone

02/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love straight talk there the best company every I never go with any body else
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

smarter than me

02/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone does more than I could ever imagine and so easy to use.u
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Dont Bother

01/30/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've only had this phone since Sept,2014 and it like everything was not right, it started freezing up on me and the phone would get really hot, and in the middle of a game it would just quit on me sorry to say not happy with it
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

first smartphone

01/29/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was my first smartphone that I have purchased from Straight Talk. I have owned several Samsung phones and never had a problem but this one was totally different. The time changes on you periodically, when on facebook it freezes and have to reboot. Now out of nowhere it will just shut itself off. Have to remove battery to cut back on, won't do anything. I really did love this phone, purchased it in June 2013. Now i just think it is time to upgrade but not sure of which phone to go with now. None of the phones I see from Straight Talk have more than 3 stars, don't want to pay $300 for a phone either.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Don't buy this phone!

01/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am currently shopping for a new phone. I have only had this phone for less than a year and it is constantly freezing up on me to the point where I have to take the battery out and reload it!!! This happens to me at least 90% of the time. It is so frustrating. The time changes on it all by itself, I have woken up late because of this because I use my phone as an alarm clock. It "crashes" all the time and I am rarely on the internet with it. There are better phones out there, don't waist your money on this one!!! I am very disappointed it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

phone

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like the phone just trying to get use to it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great little phone

01/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
purchased phone when a friend needed it in a pinch. Works great, easy to use!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Inexpensive, but functional

01/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It may not have a quad core processor or a top of the line camera, but it's quite usable, and it costs a small fraction of what many phones cost. I'm not afraid to carry it around in my pocket. It's a little smaller than some phones, so it's easier to carry around. For as much plastic as they use, it seems relatively durable. I dropped my first one in water, so this is a replacement. I bought the same phone again. My only complaint is that I had to order it, rather than having it stocked in my local store. If you need to have a built-in barometer, go ahead and spend a ton of money on a fancy phone. I'd rather not spend the money on bells and whistles I don't need. There isn't much this phone can't do, albeit a little slower.
I would describe this phone as high in value.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

NOOO

01/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would not buy took it back
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

i love samsung phones!

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love the reception the best. I had an lg and it had terrible reception. I love the keyboard, and the ease of use. great phone
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Slows Down Very Quickly

01/18/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you're looking to get your first smart phone or consider yourself "smart phone challenged" this phone is probably fine. While I was initially disappointed there was no front camera, I was fine with it because for the first few months the phone was great. As I added more apps the phone began to freeze and I would need to restart it at least once a day. I also discovered that as apps updated, the phone was no longer updated enough to use them. As my first smart phone it was great, but if you want something fast and updated I wouldn't recommend this at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Not Smart !

01/17/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sorry to say but this smart phone did not work for me. The calls kept on dropping so I had to return it to the store. I reactivated my old tracfone that was not "smart" but works fine without calls being dropped. I attributed the bad service to Verizon which carries its air waves.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Above average Smart Phone

01/14/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Instructions should include; how to transfer contacts and apps. Had to go to Verizon for this.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

techie

01/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice phone if u need a "pay as u go "phone
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

NOT A GOOD PHONE

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It freezes several times a day it is very slow it shuts off randomly through out the day and night i have to turn it back on so many times it gets very tiring.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Memory problems causing frustrating issues!!

01/13/2015
By ,
Pittsfield, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone does have a fast decent processor but lousy memory space that can cause freeze-ups, annoying screens that change when you're not even touching the phone, but just turning on the power, sometimes the time it takes to reboot will and has taken me 20-30 min. to finally behave like it should. My best advice and smartest thing you should do if you're considering to buy, is to purchase a MicroSD card and download a file manager ( I'm using one called "File Manager (Explorer) by Cheetah Mobile app for more space which I downloaded free on Google Play Store app on this phone and do this right away before having this phone more than 2 weeks if you want to avoid these bad issues if you are a heavy user (music, pictures, etc). Believe me, it will only be more frustrating trying to "reset" as you would lose everything. If you get these issues and you didnt take my advice, buy another phone...avoid the headache. Worst smartphone ever!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 566 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next