Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.071 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(434 Reviews) 411
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
99
3 stars
38
2 stars
58
1 star
122
Customer Recommendation56%241 out of 434reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
434 Questions | 867 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
99
3 stars
38
2 stars
58
1 star
122
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

great starter smart phone

09/29/2014
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought for my son an he loves it no problem very easy to work
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I wouldn't tell anyone to buy this phone

09/29/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this phone at a good price so I was very happy. Everything came to the house good in no time. But the phone doesn't hold a charge. I would have to charge it 3 times a day or more to use it. Then the phone would shut off by it's self for no reason. I took it to the store and they said I'd have to send it out to see whats wrong. No phone to use in the mean time. Not worth the trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Phone shuts itself off ... disappointing

09/29/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the first Samsung phone I've been disappointed in. I've been having trouble almost since Day 1 with this Centura model. 1) The telephone keypad dims itself when I'm trying to pick up voice mails; I can't put in my password because the screen goes black on-and-off throughout the process. I've had try and get voice mails again-and-again. 2) Even when I'm not using it, it will shut itself off; I can feel a strong vibration and I know it's stopped working. 3) Sometimes the phone freezes up and I have to remove the protective cover I put on it and open it up and pull the battery out.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good basic smart phone

09/29/2014
By ,
Mechanicsburg, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
locks up sometimes and is very slow with some apps
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

You get what you pay for.

09/29/2014
By ,
Mississippi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is horrible. The phone freezes up, it will exit your apps by itself, and half of the time it never lets me text back. I never get calls or text messages. My mom has this phone as well and she hates it too. Will Not Buy Again!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

awesome

09/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got it for my son and he loves it !!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Not worth it

09/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had my phone for 2 weeks because my old phone wasn't working right had it for over 2 years, anyways this was an upgrade so I thought. It stops working like it freezes up you can touch the home button but nothing happens. I have to take the battery out and put it back in in order for it to work again. Other than it freezing up on me its ok I guess. If you like speed dials this is also different it has a direct dial which you can put on your main screen but your more prone to butt dial. Hope this helps
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

cheap trainer for newbies

09/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my homework on this one and saw all the issues people were having with it. Let me state that I am a complete newbie in the world of smartphones, apps, and the rest. I got it, used it for a week or so, then started fooling around with the settings, etc in order to learn the whole "smartphone" thing. For my purposes it is perfect. Is it a perfect phone? no. I've managed to mess it up a few times..... Some of the things:
"app launcher failed" has happened to me. This is after installing third party apps. I eventually had to do a full reset to fix it.
I set the alarm one night and the next morning the battery was completely dead...needless to say, the alarm didn't go off. Weird.
The time on the phone changed once, no biggie, it fixed itself.
--Pretty minor stuff in my opinion, especially when you factor the $29.88 price. I bought the insurance, and I'm thinking of buying another one of these phones as a spare. It makes wonderful phone calls, email/internet works, the android stuff all works as well as it should (I think). Overall it is a great phone for the smartphone newbie.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

IT WORKS FINE.......

09/26/2014
By ,
HOMOSASSA, FLORIDA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
IT MEETS EXPECTATIONS BECAUSE FOR THE PRICE I DID NOT EXPECT MUCH.
IT WORKS WELL A FOR MY NEEDS IT IS FINE..........
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good low price, how to avoid lockups, or just slow

09/25/2014
By ,
PHX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have found that my friend and mine did for a while freeze lots. We narrowed down to the add-on programs we use. removed the ones not needed. Keep in mind each program will need updates, more mean more downloading, possible slow down of phone response too. My friend gets frustrated and says she may go back to flip and give everything up, I decided not to let emotions keep me from getting any new features. You may need to compromise or upgrade to a premium galaxy model.
Then I was able to resolve by backing up phone first, copy entire files in both storage loc, int and ext sd and get a complete backup program at Play Store. When you reset d a factory back/restore it erases everything on sd card. I have found some of the files saved, are not restored on when it done. Besides its just a good idea to do.
My phone works much smoother, I changed upgrades to download only on WiFi. I speculate some programs are not able to restore because other apps installed changed them too. Backup/Restoring is like recompiling your personalized smart phone to optimize its resources.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for the price

09/25/2014
By ,
Mobile, Al
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's taking me a while to learn but I'm getting there. I'm still learning something new every day but so far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Terrible Quality!

09/25/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Seems like a great phone for the money, but after going through 2 of them in the last month obviously there not. they are very glitchy and freeze a lot requiring a reset just to bring the phone back to operation again. I would not recommend this phone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

A GOOD CHOICE

09/24/2014
By ,
Temple Hills, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LIKE THE PHONE. I HAVE NOT USED IT BECAUSE I STILL HAVE 14 SERVICE DAYS LEFT ON MY OTHER PHONE, I CANNOT TRANSFER MY SERVICE PLAN OVER. THIS NEW PHONE I PURCHASED IS A ANDROID AND MY PLAN IS NOT COMPATIBLE AND THIS PHONE REQUIRES THE 45.00 UNLIMITED PLAN. YOU CAN CHECK BACK AFTER 14 DAYS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

like it a lot

09/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my daughter and she really likes it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

this was my second phone like this

09/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone, great value!

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is outstanding, runs on the verizon towers with the straight talk $45.00 no contract.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good Price for a Bad Phone

09/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone 3 weeks ago. It worked fine. Up until now. These past few days my phone freezes out of nowhere. The only way I can get it to work again is by removing and putting back the battery which I'm sure isn't good for the phone. It will go back on but takes forever to start up. I deleted all my music off, and a lot of my apps that aren't basic (games like Candy Crush, Facebook app, Twitter app, etc.) I only use this for basic use only. And I only really have the basic apps now
Go google about this phone. Many people have the same problem with this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura

09/21/2014
By ,
Lynnwood, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This would still be a great phone, for twice the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Poor excuse for a Samsung Galaxy

09/21/2014
By ,
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my second smartphone, my first being the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. I received this phone in December after my Proclaim's keyboard stopped functioning after ownership of 10 months, and I was hoping it would be an upgrade. I was wrong.
This phone has very little internal storage. That could easily be solved by purchasing a large external micro SD card, though.
The phone is very slow and laggy; sometimes it takes ten minutes or longer for apps to load. The camera quality is poor and most of my pictures come out extremely grainy or blurry, no matter how still I hold it.
The battery life is horrible. I'll start my day at 5:30am with my phone at 100% battery, and I don't use my phone at school at all but sometimes it won't even be past 2:00pm and my phone will be dead or nearly dead, even if I haven't used it all day aside from checking the time every few hours.
If the phone dies, when you turn it back on the time will usually be wrong. This annoyance has made me late for school several times because my alarm didn't go off at the correct time. (Seriously, I refuse to turn off my phone because I'm scared the time will become wrong again.)
The 3G sometimes doesn't work. Like if I'm not connected to wifi I can't get on facebook or use any apps that need the internet even though my service plan is still activated. But this is only sometimes; this can be fixed occasionally by restarting the phone but that doesn't work every time, and it also leaves you at risk for the time becoming wrong.
Sometimes when sending a picture message, it will send the photo I'm sending, but also send a random photo from my gallery. I have no idea why or how.
The only reason I gave the "meets expectations" value a "fair" instead of "poor" is because after my Proclaim, (which experienced several of the same problems I see with the Centura) I wasn't expecting it to be much better. It did meet my expectations, my expectations of it being not worth the 100$ my dad spent on it. I will continue to use my Centura until it either breaks, or I decide to throw several hundred dollars on a better phone. I want the Galaxy S5 but I'm not prepared to throw 600$+ at a phone, so I'll live with my Centura for now.
The only good thing I can think about it, is that it's durable. I've dropped, thrown, and hit this phone several times over the 9 months I've had it, and it hasn't broken yet. I see all these horror stories about people dropping their iPhones 6 inches off the floor and it shattering, but these awful Galaxies seem to hold up pretty well. My Proclaim fell about 9 feet from the top row of bleachers at my school's gym, and it just had a dent in the side after that, but that didn't affect anything.
It makes calls and sends texts just fine, so if you're looking for a pretty cheap smartphone to do nothing but make calls and send texts, and you don't care about if the time is wrong, then this phone would be alright, I suppose.
All in all, I would not tell a friend to buy this phone. I wouldn't even tell someone I hate to buy this phone. No one should have this phone. It's an awful phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

netdummy

09/20/2014
By ,
williston N.D.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have no problems with this phone does everything I want to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 412 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next