Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.351 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(322 Reviews) 299
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
100
4 stars
87
3 stars
32
2 stars
32
1 star
71
Customer Recommendation65%208 out of 322reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
368 Questions | 719 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
100
4 stars
87
3 stars
32
2 stars
32
1 star
71
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Battery wont stay charged

04/23/2014
By ,
Te Te
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this phone in November. Very, very very, very, very disapointed since the battery wont hold charge!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Has it's flaws

04/22/2014
By ,
Staten Island NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first android phone and being a bit older I find it a bit confusing but with the help of my grandchildren I am getting there. The 3G is fine for me. The phone could be a bit louder but that could be do to age (mine). I am having fun with apps and enjoy the phone and all in all I am happy with the purchase BUT. There are a few things that kind of bug me and I or anyone else cannot figure out a solution. First you can not delete the frequently called#s at the front of the contact list. When the phone rings and I take it out of my pouch if I touch the screen I lose the call and when I get a text message In order to read it I have to enter my lock code which I do not have to do when I get a call. I do really like the phone but I am being a little stingy about expectations as the frequently called list really bothers me and I have tried many apps that supposedly can do it and none work
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The WORST EVER!!!!

04/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my first "smart phone". It does what it wants, when it wants! Sometimes you can connect to wi-fi, SOMETIMES! It will lock itself, meaning you can not do anything! You can't shut it off, return to the home screen, NOTHING!! It will NOT perform system update. The poor little droid falls over on his back & gets a red exclamation mark in a yellow triangle. This phone has issues!! The only reason I gave the value 3 stars is because I got the Black Friday price!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great alternative to the more expensive phones

04/15/2014
By ,
LaGrange, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the Galaxy Centura about a week ago, based off the positive reviews on this site. I had a Galaxy Precedent, which was just as good a phone, but operated off the Sprint network, which gave me really spotty-poor coverage beyond the city limits.
I am extremely pleased with the price, and also with the capabilities of the phone. Although, one thing I might add is that some of the 1 star ratings mentioned that you cannot hear very well on the phone, and unfortunately, they are somewhat right. I think they exaggerated quite a bit with only 1 star, but so far, that has been the only drawback for me.
I would highly reccommend this phone for someone who wants the features of a smart phone, but doesn't want to pay the high price. The I-Phones and galaxies on the straighttalk plan start at around $300, and go up to around $600. Not gonna do it!! And not gonna pay the high monthly prices, along with lengthy contract, that Verizon requires.
Absolutely love my straighttalk plan, and now love my new Galaxy Centura.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Do not buy this phone!

04/13/2014
By ,
Salem, Or
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my first one Nov 2013 for $99 at Walmart. Since it was my first android phone, I didn't want to pay too much for a phone. In Jan 2014 the phone would not charge. I called Straight Talk and they said to send it back, which I did. They sent me a replacement phone which was a refurbished phone. Not happy with that since I had bought new, I expected a new replacement. Now it is April 2014 and this phone will not charge. I called Straight Talk again and we are in the process of sending mine back and getting another replacement. I ask if I could get a new one this time and she said she didn't have any control over whether I got a new or refurbished replacement phone. The only thing I can say nice about he phone is that it looks nice. Phone coverage in my area is good too, but doesn't do me any good if I can't get the the phone to work. My recommendation is not to waste your money. Spend a little more and get a better product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Very Disappointed

04/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really, really wanted to like this phone but it is horrible. The service is good, IF you can get the actual phone to connect and make a call. I don't know how many times I have spent 5 mins trying to make a call or text while it "glitches". It shuts itself off for no reason. The phone is very touchy and my widgets constantly disappear off the main screen. The apps only update half the time, but more often than not they fail to update. I don't know how many times I try to make a call...doesn't go through...then a min later it is "merging calls". I personally find it harder than most phones to text on. I am constanly getting the wrong letter, and it is not like I have sausage fingers. I am suprised I have not smashed it yet. Very, very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Total Piece of Junk

04/11/2014
By ,
down south
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Im on my 2nd one in 4 months. the first one quit making any sound. no ringer, music, etc. Its a common problem with this phone. Also it freezes up. ALL the time. And sometimes it takes 20 minutes to make a phone call. If you want something that works, dont get one of these. I give it one star only because there is no option to leave none.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good phone until you start to really use it

04/08/2014
By ,
Huron, SD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I initially thought this was a very good phone. I knew I wasn't getting an iPhone but figured for $100 it would at least be decent. Phone worked great for about 6 months. The last couple months have been annoying. Phone will freeze almost daily. My keyboard doesn't work half the time. I just got off the phone with Straight Talk and they basically told me this is a limited phone and I can't expect much from it. I should only download the "essential" apps. That's all I had. I had maybe 2 games on my phone. The rest were apps such as kindle reader, wonderlist, pandora, map my run and a couple radio stations. The GPS takes 5-10 minutes to locate my signal. When turning wifi on and off sometimes it would freeze the phone. If you're going to the VERY basic functions of a "smart phone" this might be ok for you. If you want somewhat normal functions then this won't work for long.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone

04/04/2014
By ,
Slidell, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone! I have had this phone for a couple of weeks now and have had NO problems. Although I am still learning everything it will do, it far exceeded my expectations. I had read some folks complaints about a clockclock/time problems and I have not had that issue (yet) and I don' t expect to. I would recommend this phone absolutely. Great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Frustrating phone

04/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is my second Centura from Walmart and through StraightTalk. I am switching after about 10 months of use. The first phone was returned to the store within 2 weeks as it would not keep time and would shut off at random times. This phone seemed to work much better and has had no problem keeping time, but has its own glitches that I have now grown tired of. Various apps cause the phone to freeze entirely, while receiving group texts from iPhones is a nightmare. More often than not, when receiving a text from an iPhone I get a "Download" option, then a subsequent "Download failed" message. The download continues to attempt itself for hours afterwards, producing even more "download failed" messages. They have all attempted to change the settings on their phone but to no avail. My iPhone friends have adjusted and now no longer text me, but rather just call. I am giving it 2 stars because there have not been any problems with calling people, but problems with just about every other aspect.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Junk

04/02/2014
By ,
AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I would have listened to all the bad reviews, but I didn't.. All the same problems happened to me, clock changing, locks up, shuts off on its own, works good for half the day then gets slow and starts acting up.. This phone is JUNK!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great for beginners, minus the glitches.

04/01/2014
By ,
Concord, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm 35 and this is my first smartphone. I've come out of the dark ages! This phone is very easy to use. I thought it would take me a long time to figure everything out, being new to touch screens and auto-correct, but it was really a snap. The screen is beautiful and crisp; the camera takes clear pictures; and everything is user-friendly. I've had it for about a month now and I'm a pro....I think. ;) The only complaint I have about the phone is that for me, at least, it tends to freeze at least once daily. Usually it's when something is being updated, but other times it's when I'm trying to charge it. When this happens, I usually have to shut it off and turn it back on again, to correct the issue. Also, even though I have only half of the phone's memory occupied, my apps tend to run slow. Being a first timer, I'm not sure if this is normal behavior for a smart phone or not. That being said, overall it is a good phone for the price. The freezing and crashing happens just enough to be annoying but not enough that I worry too much. I'd recommend it to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Low battery performance; low memory

04/01/2014
By ,
Mesa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted maps on my phone. So I bought the Samsung S738C. This S738C was disappointing. It seems like a very low quality phone. The performance is inconsistent; the battery lasts for only one day; it's difficult to navigate, and it seems to have very little memory. I originally didn't believe some of the negative reviews but I eventually had to buy another phone at the same Walmart, and even paid more.
Samsung is a good manufacturer but I do not think this particular phone is a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

GREAT PHONE

04/01/2014
By ,
GEORGIA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best phone I've ever owned
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good beginner smart phone

03/04/2014
By ,
Michigan City, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this phone for my husband who fought to keep his old flip phone. It took about a week for him to get used to the menus but he loves it now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

good phone for the money

02/26/2014
By ,
floral park, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it has all the features I was looking for for my son (who wanted IPhone for Christmas). He is happy with it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Worth the money

02/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first smart phone. It's alright, but of course it has it's pros and cons. Works the way it needs to but can be slow at times. Also tends to crash at moments. But if you're looking for a cheap start up smart phone, I can't complain.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great second phone for the learner

02/13/2014
By ,
location
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
meets and exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

this is a wonderful phone gives great clear pic

02/11/2014
By ,
st. cloud, minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i would lower the price to $80 instead of the regular price of $99
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

GOOD PHONE

02/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have been using this phone for a week, went from Verizon to straight talk this phone gives good service in my area wilson nc
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 300 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next